(2005) Brides of year 2005

gwen ,

dun think this way ...no good oki !!! When come to marriage every gal wants to have their dream wedding and being the limelight on that nite !!
As for guys ...they are not veri good in expressing themselves and of course they feel the stress coming as is A BIG THING to every of us here !!!:P

When on my ROM day ...on the nite before i still unsure and asking myself is this guy will be the guy for my life ??? But in the end ...nothing come out from my mind !! Just relax and do thing one thing at a time dun rush everything .
After all is a grand event for both of you !

Hi Gwen

U are welcome. Of course we hope that our Hubby will involve in everything. We can slowly get them involve.. just get the right tactics.. My hubby is more involve in searching for BS , he said he like to see me wearing different gowns for him to see.. Ha Ha.. I hope he dun get bored when I go for my 1st fitting.

My overall tactics is to do have a good discussion with him over the criteria 1st like hotel venue, location, no of tables required, budget etc.. then I myself went to research all then narrow down to our criteria and show it to him.. HA Ha.. more like secretary.. We hold different roles, he is in charge of house renovation stuff, while I prepare for wedding.

so cheer up!!

try http://www.caXturedmoments.com.sg
( Change X to p).. this look quite nice.

hi cinderella,

i agree with ros & sharlene. i feel that the venue & services for the banquet is very important. looking back at the dinners i have attended, the impression left is the venue, food & services. personally, i think this is what the guests will remember, sad to admit : it's not the gown or how pretty u were on that day.

do consider carefully when u finalise on ur venue. i'm sure ur FIL has his reservation when he does not want suntec. if food is the concern, maybe can change the dishes tt he does not like?

among suntec, otani & rendevous .. the former is still the best to me

Highness,

Apparently did not visit Sattine but the bridal shop called me up after the show to see if i am interested. Too bad that day only too engross w Ritz only so did not notice about the rest.

May b u can visit other thread where they do talk about this bridal shop to get a little idea of their svcs.

Nemo:1 Oct 05 - Conrad - ? - Sam Photo - Ya**ies Production - Hillview

fkml:1 Oct 05 - Amara - KAI - ? - ? - ?

Angela:1 Oct 05 - Dragon Gate - Seletar Broadway - ? - ? - staying with MIL @ Hougang

Cottoncandy:1 Oct 05 - Meritus Mandrain - Milan - Yew Kwang - Mirage - Bt Gombak

Noah:2 Oct 05 - Conrad - Ted Wu - ? - ? - ?

Yinggal:2 Oct 05 - ? - Yvonne Creations - ? - ? - ?

Stars:8 Oct 05 - Hilton - White Link - Jon Keng - ? - Tampines

Jovia:8 Oct 05 - Marina Mandarin - Yvonne Creative - Sam Photography - Mirage Pictures -Tampines

Bubbles:8 Oct 05 - Meritus Mandarin -AllureCharix/TedCollection - ? - ? - CCK

sunnygal:9 Oct 05 - HIPV - BridalGalleryby Ming - ? - ? - ?

CaiCai:9 Oct 05 - Conrad - ? - ? - ? - ?

JXNC:9 Oct 05 - OCC - Bridal Link - Bridal Link (covers AD as well) - MIL's Place @ Jln Lebat Daun

tarepanjo:13 Oct 05 - Amara - ?(considering GHA) - CFTien - Ya**ies - Kim Tian

Gina:13 Oct 05 - Intercontinental Singapore - Dang Bridal - Jonathan Keng - Captured Moments - The Gardens @ Bishan

pjen:13 Oct 05 - pending-OCC - pending-santiago - ? - ? - staying w ILs

QiQi:16&18 Oct 05 - Intercontinental Singapore - Tan Yong - ? - ? - Bukit Batok

Germ:22 Oct 05 - Shangri-la Hotel - Ted Wu - ? - Fabian Lim - ?

Annie:22 Oct 05 - ? - Everliss - ? - ? - Sembawang

coyote,

there are a few types of frangipanni with colours that you can play around with. Also called tipani in the south pacific.

check this link out
http://www.geocities.com/gratim98/aplumeria.htm

(personally I like the yellow/pinkish type but not sure whether you can find it here...)

so with cards etc - maybe you can use nice textured ivory paper and print or stick a silk frangipanni at the front. Simple but pretty.
Scatter the table with these/petals as well.

If you cant find the flower here, maybe you can ask Villa Frangipani to use their flower logo to print on the cards - which is good publicity as well for them...

Just a thought.

Other ideas include:
flower corsages for female guests (though you got to think for something else for the men)

As wedding favours, get those small sample perfumes (goes with the whole garden smell theme thingie, i suppose)

since there's gonna be a lot of greens, use white/ivory as base colour and the selected frangipanni colour as highlights. Will be very pretty.

or if they have a small pool somewhere, scatter flowers there as well. Would the venue help you out with these?

But I think my ideas will incur a lot of costs :P so I will stop babbling.

Hi casy,

Fyi, the gals here are all so friendly and ready to help if we have qns on any issue under the sun...
A la cart = U get to mix n match of what I like n want instead of taking the whole package from BS package. Eg: Grown from TY, Photography from Tucky's / The Pond, suit from somehwhere esle....

Dear ladies , ned ur advise on where to rent a nice 'KUA n Tang Shan Zuang' cos mine is not a std package.

yah.. they called me yesterday too..
there's nothing much in this bridal thread.. heard they r new too.. keke.. jus a sudden sway for this bridal shop..

Nemo:1 Oct 05 - Conrad - ? - Sam Photo - Ya**ies Production - Hillview

fkml:1 Oct 05 - Amara - KAI - ? - ? - ?

Angela:1 Oct 05 - Dragon Gate - Seletar Broadway - ? - ? - staying with MIL @ Hougang

Cottoncandy:1 Oct 05 - Meritus Mandrain - Milan - Yew Kwang - Mirage - Bt Gombak

Noah:2 Oct 05 - Conrad - Ted Wu - ? - ? - ?

Yinggal:2 Oct 05 - ? - Yvonne Creations - ? - ? - ?

Stars:8 Oct 05 - Hilton - White Link - Jon Keng - ? - Tampines

Jovia:8 Oct 05 - Marina Mandarin - Yvonne Creative - Sam Photography - Mirage Pictures -Tampines

Bubbles:8 Oct 05 - Meritus Mandarin -AllureCharix/TedCollection - ? - ? - CCK

sunnygal:9 Oct 05 - HIPV - BridalGalleryby Ming - ? - ? - ?

CaiCai:9 Oct 05 - Conrad - ? - ? - ? - ?

JXNC:9 Oct 05 - OCC - Bridal Link - Bridal Link (covers AD as well) - MIL's Place @ Jln Lebat Daun

tarepanjo:13 Oct 05 - Amara - ?(considering GHA) - CFTien - Ya**ies - Kim Tian

Gina:13 Oct 05 - Intercontinental Singapore - Dang Bridal - Jonathan Keng - Captured Moments - The Gardens @ Bishan

pjen:13 Oct 05 - pending-OCC - santiago - ? - ? - staying w ILs

QiQi:16&18 Oct 05 - Intercontinental Singapore - Tan Yong - ? - ? - Bukit Batok

Germ:22 Oct 05 - Shangri-la Hotel - Ted Wu - ? - Fabian Lim - ?

Annie:22 Oct 05 - ? - Everliss - ? - ? - Sembawang

Think 19th Nov is the preferred date so far... guess, we will go for 19 then.... unless, there's any major objection...

- Me
- Janey
- Tou2
- Sharlene
- Minky
- Rokko
- Blue Genie

Mamakshop... of course, u r welcome to join us in this thread... u wanna join us for the gathering too?

hi watashi,
oh isit? hehe.. that's re-assuring. sure hope it'll be as grand as u n tintin say it to be! thanks gals.. ure e best! *big hug*

hi PW,
haha.. e way u describe the BS as 'marrying daughters out' is soooo funny! but make them sound v good. hey, u checked out bridal veil? ive 2 frens who were wif them n a lot of gd comments..

hi biba,
oh u'd ur solemnization there?!? wow, must be reali romantic. anyway, ure right - the orig deal doesnt have many thgs. but thgs like extra night stay is act q a std thg to ask for now..
we din nego e food tasting.. wendy said its purpose was to show us the portion that will actually be served.. so i think its logical that its 10. was e orig 6? im not sure.. n as for the beer n wine, it was given cos we requested for a corkage waiver, but it seems its shang's policy not to grant it.. dats why she offered these to us instead.
we din change our room.. tho we've heard its pretty small cos its an open concept suite.. u stayed there last yr too? heard fr my dad the garden wing's reali nice, but then it's also on the other end of the hotel, so got to walk q far to e ballroom.. act i also dunno whether to change or not leh.. wat do u think?

yo witch... welcome home...got miss us... kekeke... hmm... maybe we set to meet on the 19th lor...see how the rest lor

yo dio... oic... wow hobbies hur... can meet up to diff age grp... so wat hobbies u doing... aiyo jelly bery kpo one...

yo gwen.... wat happened... dun be sad lah... anything to share with us.... come give u a hugz hugz... aiyo... me also hv arguements with FH for decision for wedding too... but hor... we will always see who reason is good then we follow lor... anyway... my FH also not so onzzz one lah... me do most of the research and ask him to go with me then comments lor...

yo sierra.... ya lor... u really need to read... lots of post man... so hw u... settle most of ur things for ur ROM already....

yo malibu... u PM me wat... nbr received leh

hi TinTin..
need your advise.. my BS package comes with AD photography, but am thinking of engaging one my own. normally how much does AD photography cost?? if i use it for additional photos, will 'lugi' or not hah?

Ashie... I'm sure yours will be a farie tale wedding... Guys in No 1 are SO SMART looking.

You know like Tom Cruise in the movie "a few good man" All so yummy...

*tin tin drooling liao* kekekeke...

tintin!
you ah... *shake head* dat one HOLLYWOOD ah.. here singapore.. best also tcs.. where got that kind of standard..?! *knock tintin out of her dream* hehe.. htb n me both v 'normal' pple.. nowhere near ur fairy tale.. unless we close our eyes n imagine =P
hey, but i realised i also like u.. i think guys look esp good in mil unif.. somehow hor.. dunno why also.. hehe.. now i noe i not alone *kekeke*

watashi,

Really depends on who you going to be engaging... there are many in the market doing AD photography. Some will even do it for FREE then some like the compass group you have to pay a premium price. Do shop around and see what's being offered in the market and go with the style you like and the price you are comfortable paying

http://www.singaporebrides.com/photographers.htm has a long list of AD photographers you can engage... Happy Shopping !

Channel 8 had this navy show where Ix Shen married Kwok Shu Shian few months ago.
The military wedding also quite stylo milo mah...

My father was from Commandos and I was once a female officer cadet and my sunday hangout gang all wear the red beret one... me from young got bad fetish for men in uniform already... kekekeke...

I tot of using frangipani too but that flower don't last. I picked up a few by the roadside and it can't stay for hrs before it turned brown. Btw, I had tat flowers (white wif yellow ctr) as my hair accessories for my outdoor PS at the beach...hehehe... It dun last, so I can't use them to deco, i dun wan the withered flowers on my guest tables....

Thanks for reminding, I remember I did save some frangipani painting long ago, will extract them out for my cards. I thinking of using white & ivory for my cards, shall see how ;)

Tks honeygem...

tintin,
you were a WHAT..??? my goodness! u so zhai ah! female cadet officer.. *faint* but no wonder, cos ur dad was a commando! wow.. then ur family must be super fit. hehe.. anyway now i see why *wink*

hey i was just thinking abt it.. e sad thg abt us is that even if we do become friends, there's no way of being able to attend one another's weddings - at least not for u, me, PW n BB..

I might join.. kekee see how.. cos I will definately be on leave on that day.. and i will be at orchard. :D

btw, anyone choice marriott banquet for wedding ? how you find marriott? can share abit..b4 i go pay desposit this week.

Ashie... all old and fat liao not fit anymore but I am hoping to start on some sport and get myself in shape before the wedding...

Yah lor so sad... BB and I became friends and we can't attend each others wedding...
*sob sob*

hi Casy,
marriot was one of me choice but could not meet their min tables. been there twice for wedding dinner, both very good experience. service & food are good. one of mt friend changed the dessert to chocolate... a variety of chocs & choc cakes served on 3-tier tray.. YUM YUM!!..

ros, suntec can or cannot up to my FIL...he haven't given any response yet...

sharlene, i also don't really know why he's not happy...sigh...think he feels he can't trust them leh..not sure also...

hi blue_genie, ok thanks

hi novgal, i agree with you for guests, the food and service will leave the deepest impression on them...i feel v lost coz if my FIL don't like, i can do nothing...

Bubbles : Mayb, will b abit hot...but i like tis kind of design leh...kekeke...no choice, vain vain...hot oso dun mind...

will chk out the website u recommend...mayb, u can try typing CS on the internet search engine...see whether got alist of website with CS design...

Stars : I haven't thou abt EG design...but i prefer pink/purple color....

Qiqi0505 : Welcome ! wow...seems like ur BS will come up to abt $6-$7K if u take up the package...since it exclude groom suit...but u will hv alot of thgs 2 co-ordinate if w/o package...more works...i very lazy...will go 4 a all-in-one BS package...

Pjen : Welcome...u got the same AD with me...kekeke...13 Oct...Thursday...

I hv ROM last yr...18 Nov...

Angela : the 2 gown is only a rough design...by then will decide...lighter gown is definitely more beta....cos we hv 2 walk ard wif a high heel shoe & hot...

yup sgn, green & ivory/white will explore on that....i oso find the colour very refreshing...hope to achieve sth nice out of tat ;)

hi casy,
act i thot of marriot too, but my mum not keen cos it doesnt haf an exclusive carpark.. i think she had prob finding the ballroom fr the carpark for my cousin's wedding once.. u might want to take note of tt. but personally i think its ok la.. u can check out the signs they provide lor.. i guess it;s plus n minus la.. central place in orchard alwas like that one.. but i rem e ballroom was q nice =) rem to negotiate! *excited for u*

tintin,
no matter how you also once-upon-a-time female officer cadet mah! haha.. can one la.. hmm, think i shd start exercising too! haf been sooooo lazy... hehe. hope we can become frens too! =)

casy dear..
act when come to this, i was v scared too.. its like a HUGE thing to do - book a hotel. then there're all the worries.. wat if this thing not good? wat if i din negotiate enough? wat if i find ano ballroom nicer? wat if.... it'll never end lor.. so for me, there was just one day my HTB came to me n said "we decided shang then shang alr.. dun think abt any other hotels"

maybe u can think that way too.. im sure there must be sth special abt marriot that has captured ur heart up to now.. so go with it.. n then aft uve signed, dun think abt all the wat if's anymore. to every decision there is alwas a good side to it as well as a bad side to it.. it's seldom perfect. n i think it's a blessing that u alr managed to book the hotel YOU WANT on the day YOU WANT!! so yeah, if u reali like e ballroom (think this' most impt) then we're all behind you!!! right gals? *wink*

have u gals decided on your gown? How do u decide wat design to choose?

I'm going to discuss the design this evening with designer... but I still have no idea wat kind of design I want... plus now still flabby... so dunno wat will look nice... seems to look 'meaty' in all the gowns i tried :p

same...hehehehe...my ROM bouquet 5.5yrs ago is using a bunch of ivory tulips surrounded by green leaves..hehehe.. I wore a cream dress :P i very sweet...wahahaha...super thick-skinned!!!

Hi Elaine77,

Glad to hear that your PS went well, except for the weather portion. I truly understand how u feel, gal. Bet I will be affected too, if weather dun turn out well. We are prepared to rescedule it to another day for the outdoor if it truly rains *keeping fingers crossed*. Yr photographer is Leon rite? I've seen his portfolio...and he is really gd! You can be ensure of his professionism. Do rem to share wif us your photos when its ready for collection...hehee..Btw, where did you go for ur outdoor? I'm planning to go sentosa for some really causal and cool photo-takings...

Update you gals after my PS! Cheers!

Hi angela,

i hv aredi confirmed Santiago liao..my ROM dress taken from Z wedding b4 i trf my package to Santi

hi tare

ya manzzz we share e same AD...bt hor haven even settle banquet place yet...

hi tare,
i agreed with u on qiqi's package ... too many things need to co-ordinate ...
Moreover, to me, it's very expensive... so i go for all-in-one BS package too.