(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi ssmilezz,
Ya lah, the class quite good, i dun think i will go and read the whole book during the weekends.. it id good that someone actually lecture the whole book to us.. easier to remember also.

Hi cookies_gal,
the anybaos shared among jiemeis one lor.. no specific rate lah.. but u can hint hint ur JM where is your limit so that they wont go too fast.. For my case, normally i will bao back more during dinner if the angbaos is darm big lor.. but really hard to say one.

One i got abt $48 for opening door, shared among 4 pax, anotehr time abt $350 shared among 8 person.. so less JM also cheaper.

good morning everyone....me feel that every monday is blue and the only thing i look forward is talking to all of u...heehee

anna
that night just login to check email and can't help venturing into the forum
i went to the hi-tea at marina mandarin....not a jap buffet but they have salmon and sushi

ssmilezz
the hi-tea was quite altight...the usual food lor
chicken rice, laksa, sushi and salmon, oyster,mushroom soup,prata,sphagetti etc

the fitting quite ok...will be going down for my WG design right after my ROM as we wanted the PS to be in Oct so we can get the pics in time for printing of invites

duffy
guess i'm too late to say bon voyage but have a good trip

jelly
take care hor....me also having ulcers now

alvinanna
i am still waiting for the light at the end of the tunnel...heehee...
glad that we have settled the BS and AD dinner as well.

hi gals.... good morning.... its monday blues again... but hurray fri is a PH... so looking forward....

yap.... hving fever yesterday @ 37.3C .... wow lucky SARS period over or else have to quad at home... hee hee

well.... ops sound like the geomancer is bery bad the way i describe.... dun worry its not the geomancer lah.... its just the timing that i dun like....

k share with u all.... i have told him the AD that i want.... so he base on the AD to give me the time to step into the guy's home.... guess what the timing is 8.29am not 1 sec or 1 min more... wow .... seem hard leh... and also seem bery early leh....

so gals know what is the usually timing that the couple reach the guy hse...

and i told my parents can dun follow the geomancer timing... they said cannot since i have go and see one...

dun worry gals the geomancer is ok.... dun mistaken...... hee hee... i think is me that dun like it only....

smilez
allure c is ard tanjong pagar. along amoy st i think. went by there on sat. really very value for $ can buy a barnd new wg at 500 and a eg at ard 400. so if you gals want extra dresses can try there. they dun rent though...
i am already hungry but its just 11 now..
wat you gals all having for lunch?

hi jellytots,

my geomancer says for me is 9am to 11am.. so consider quite flexible for me.. keke.. urs perhaps more precise.

<font color="0077aa">Icy ~ haha..i think i will fall asleep during the lecture. Cannot tahan sitting down for long hrs.

Anna ~ I am also very hungry!! *high 5* but still dunno what to makan. Should be going out earlier to tabao. very busy at work today.

Jelly ~ it's like that one..once u see the geomancer, u must follow his instructions precisely lar..cannot suka suka change time. :P Just get someone u trust (not those rubber time kind of person) to be the time keeper for the AD.

That's what my kaki did. Her sis was the time keeper and was the one who reminded us what time to leave and all that.

um just a thought...
smilez jelly
actually if the time is so exact down to the exact min... then how do you know if yr watch or handphone time is the accurate time??

smilez.
actually i think my hunger is just caused by the thought of nasi padang and oso the urge tdy to get out of the office. dunno why.

Went to Sentosa last sat to see both rasa and beaufort.

Beaufort is very nice...very quite and lovely ambience..but at the price that they quote, without cards and beer, it's not very attractive. Furthermore, the menu not very good. Compared to some hotels in town, you get better perks and food at that same price (~$836 nett per table).

Rasa is much cheaper and has better perks but as many say, it is a resort where anybody can just walk in and out (so near to the public beach). They offer transport coaches for your guest so that sorts of makes it easier for them to attend.

Think I will give up beaufort...will get FH to promise to bring me there for short getaway instead. Will be planning to go see other hotels in town before deciding venue.

Hello morning all!

Hi Karan Aw! Welcome!

icy ~ wow really scary leh....so many bad experiences at M Hotel ar? I think I heard different stuffs about the hotel in terms of service and food, so mayb I'll talk to the coordinator when I'm there on the 10th..

Besides M Hotel, I am thinking of Noble House, Sheraton or Marriot. Shall see then.......

jelly ~ PM-ed my thoughts to you already

Regardin your friend's wedding at M, it's only the champagne popping that go hay-wire right? Any other horror stories??

ssmilezz ~ yo how r you girl? My weekend is great man! But abit short though........played a game of MJ on Sat, and lose $10 bucks....heheh

Hi Karen! So which other hotels are you going? Are you going to the Styles bridal show?

So who else is going? Is this the 2nd gathering? LOLzz..

hi karen,
i have signed up for beaufort actually
have not tried their food yet so no comments but heard quite good review from the other thread

beaufort also provides transport....who did u talk to?

<font color="119911">Anna ~ either get the time keeper to set his/her watch/hp to the correct time lar..call 1711 lor....:P try to be as precise as possible. :P so this person's job duty very stressful one..hahaha!!

Karen ~ hellooo!!
See you have been very busy..hehe</font>

oh touraco
you having yr dinner at sentosa!!!
beachfront wedding ya? shld choose a nice beachy wedding gown... can go for more daring designs than the standard type then... also less hot to wear.... ;p

Hi fates,
I am also planning to go Marriott (their early bird promo looks quite attractive), Hyatt and maybe Crown Price or Holiday Inn PV.

Yes I'll be going to that show...think kysha and icy going too.

anna
not really a beachfront wedding...wanted a garden wedding actually..thought of having it in Botanical Garden but the place can't hold many pple
so it will be held in a lawn in the hotel and facing the sea on the hilltop...heehee

<font color="0077aa">Fates ~ yo! doing ok...a bit of Monday Blues...my colleague is down lar on MC..so me gotta cover her work. *sniff sniff*

I didn't play at MJ this weekend..haha..but since next weekend is going to be longer, will definately get a chance to play. :P hehee

Yah, we still haven't decide on our gathering makan place leh.....it's coming quite soon.....</font>

hi fates &amp; Karen

yes, me going! juz got my tics last Fri.

hey fates - r u the one who watched "The Passion Of Christ" last week? i watched it on sat. cried my eyes out..... heard that some people were sobbing.... It was indeed a true portrayal of Jesus's great love, i was so touched by the movie.

anna
not really a beachfront wedding...wanted a garden wedding actually..thought of having it in Botanical Garden but the place can't hold many pple
so the solemnisation will be held in a lawn in the hotel and facing the sea on the hilltop...heehee
the dinner will still be in the hotel....wait relatives complain hot if held outside

Hi touraco,

I know you have signed up for beaufort, it's a nice place...wished i was loaded enough to take the deluxe package... cos the standard chinese menu items are just like everyday items that you can order anyway (but at that price!). lemon chicken...spicy pacific clams...

I was also disappointed that there will be no cards at all...that could come up to ~$250. I know that they have transport too but it is only from 2 specfic places (Paragon or Habourfront) and after the wedding it is to Habourfront only. Compared to Rasa which gives you a bus for every 45 guest and you can determine each bus to pickup and return to a place you choose.

So you are booking the lawn??? The coordinator (should be the same 1 person for you and me lar) said that if you choose to hold it at cocktail area (just outside the Grand salon above the lawn...so same view just no grass at your feet) and if no one books that lawn on the actual day. They can shift you down for free.

touraco
oic... i stayed at beaufort before for work. wld say its nicer than rasa sentosa. i know which garden area you referring to. think its quite european style. cld hv some european looking gowns to match.

re: garden wedding - i went to hyatt to see the garden dinah was raving abt so much ... nice but i dun think it is a balinese garden.

nice to do solemnisation outdoors in the garden but must pray pray tt no rain.. dec a lot of rain.. for me i am doing it in the church so can forget abt the garden idea. ;p

time a bit slow tdy... still some time fm my lunch.

Ok...thanx for the info... I've never done jie mei from start to finish before... think I'm the first one amongst my close gal frens to have my AD!!!

~ssmilezz, we're from NUS too... but didn't do the same course as your FH.

~anna, hmm... lots of reasons but mainly coz we felt that an EC wasn't for us.
- No. 1 reason, I consider myself very old if I have to wait till 2006 before I can have my AD... I will have hardly any honeymoon period with my husband before we must start our family. Also, no way we wanted to consider staying with either parents before we got our house. The AD must be on a date such that we can move in immediately after our wedding.
- Only the 4 bedroom one appealed (we like big houses), but it's out of budget.
- Quintet is pricier on a psf basis compared with Park Green.
- Lastly, you are more constrained in terms of the interior design for a condo. A flat is so much more fun to personalise!

Of course, these are very personal reasons and they may or may not apply to you. You got to talk to your FH to decide what's suitable for the both of you. A house is a very big investment so you should make a careful decision and be comfortable about it no matter what others think/say.

karen
yah...true that have to pay your own for the invites,beer etc
but i love the ginger terrace(a.k.a the lawn) downstairs....can imagine me walking down the stairs to my hubby waiting there for me...heehee
so decided to take it up...

oh...rasa can customised the coach har...true that beaufort a bit inflexible on the coach part...

yah...booking the ginger terrace...$1000+++ for it though...a bit heartache....

anna
i choose beaufort cos' it's quiet and tucked away from the hustle and bustle....sort of exclusive
i went to hyatt too...the garden is nice but rental is a lot and they only have buffet
mine will be in apr...so chances of raining lower...heehee

cookies gal
thks for sharing. any idea if park green is still selling? i mean can we still get units in park green?

agree the 4 bedrm one is more appealing. for us, we are choosing between an ex and a condo. we hv dropped buying a flat as an option. ya agree abt the top date.. but i think we are ok with marrying before the house is complete.

Hi kysha,

Saw the show yesterday...agreed with straits times reviewer that show lacks soul...it justs shows that all that he had to go through all that for us, the pain and suffering, that it was God's will. I find that it is also not a good show for people who have not heard of the whole 'story' coz it really does not explain much.

but it does make Christians feel more meaningful when they perform the communion and remember that he died for our sins.

hi anna,

ehhh how to attached word doc to PM???

actually I got the marriott quote from icy (thanks icy!!), I have not contacted marriott yet.

Hi gals.... thanks for sharing... yap since like no choice then i will follow... will get time keeper then... hee hee... so stress... cos no time to sabo my FH leh... nbr mind get him to come early and gets my jie meis to sobo him... ha ha ha...

hi fates... seem like nbr received ur PM leh... can try again

yo... me going to the style wedding show too... 1st gathering still on right... is 16 Apr rite... well think we shld think of the place to meet as its only a week down....

karen
why dun you email me then? [email protected]

jelly
haha. ya no time to sabo ;p
um.. where does this sabo culture come from? i dun think it was popular during our parents time? in fact for my ad, i dun intend to hv any jie mei or bridemaid or flower gals le.. just something simple.

yaya. must decide. um...any suggest? i suggest jap food? asian food? but dunno where.. haha.

Hi anna,

Well, I am also looking for a condo. wana find somewhere in the north. I had been to Park Green, Quintet etc. However, dun find it convenient for us. Hence, our tentative plan is to prepare for our AD and settle our love nest beginning or mid next year. Hopefully by then, we will have more condo coming up. Well, as for now, both me n my hubby can only afford an EC cos we both started work in the society for less than a yr..(not much CPF) In addition, we do not want to be too "hard up" for money n eat maggie mee if we get private hsing now.hahaha.. Anyway, EC is much more bigger than private ones plus the 30K grant. That's the reason y me n my hubby decide on EC. We will be spending a lot on our ROM and AD.. haizz.. like wat i say gettting married in singapore is ex..
There's this condo near yio chu kang mrt.. not bad i guess, Grande 8. mayb you will want to go down n take a look.
Btw, I dun think we can knock down any wall. I ask this previously but came to my understanding that this is not permitted.

Germ,
I haven get my date yet. I will be going on a short holiday this wkend wif my hubby, guess most prob going to temple next wkend... will keep you update.
Yup, dun worry, I had seen Quintet, it's a nice place and is accessible... Quite like the place actually but prefer to have my hse in the north.

Karen

Yes, do agree that for those who have not read the Bible, they would not be able to relate too much to the movie. But at least it gives us a greater understanding the tremendous amount of pain Jesus went thru for us. Most of us are very "visual". Reading and hearing may not create such a great impact as compared to seeing it for yourself.

I still feel its a great movie as it has definitely touched me deeply.

hi anna... yap sabo... duno when started... but i know my parents time dun have one... i thinks is from this generation started one... still feel like sabo my FH cos... once a lifetime... he is willing to be kena sabo one mah... one of the thing i want him to do is to sing a song to me.... cos he nbr done that since we are together... nbr 1 2 open his golden mouth to sing... so cannot miss this during our AD... dun care.... ha ha ha

yo anna ~ don't know leh....nobody wanna vote or confirm a place, so most prob will just choose one when the place gets nearer! Hehehe......who knows we might just end up at a fast food joint!!!

kysha ~ yup I'm the one who watched the show on Friday night..very touching hor....so poor thing somemore.....

Later I'll go and get the tickets for the Styles show..

<font size="+1">THE 2005 BRIDES FIRST GATHERING!

Venue: TBA
Date: 16th April '04
Time: 7pm

Confirmed:
1. Icy,
2. Jitpong,
3. duffybuff,
4. Dinah,
5. Fates
6. touraco (not sure)
7. ssmilezz
8. anna
9. jellytots77
10. queenie
11. cutiebear</font>

VOTE??
Marche / Buffet (at one of the hotels) / Sakae suhi / Genki sushi / Spizza / Spaggedies /

Or there's one Marche-like restaurant at Far East Sq?

For your suggestions please

71859.gif

Hi touraco.... u too have to take care huh.... drinks lots of lots of water too....

hi fates received ur PM have sent u one too... @@ whether u received.... PM me ur comments too... hee hee...

hi smilezz... so sad u hv to cover ur colleague joh huh... do pop in when u free loh... me too in half daze half wake mood... still trying to recover from my illness.... hee hee....

yo fates... can chose a place with open space... provide no raining on that day.... hee hee... well i remember someone suggested pizza at duno holland or cross st... and also someone suggest CHIJMES... then can go china jump after dinner... hee hee just joking... me also suggested one fullerton....

maybe u should draft a list.... maybe select 3 to 4 location... then we will vote... go to the one with the most vote loh... will be easier for u also lah....

Hi anna,

Grandhill is at pasir panjang hill...its nice but it would be abit inconvenient if no car. I was there at abt 3+....u cannot see the cemetary from Quintet as it is not near. You have to drive to blk 690b, go up to the highest floor than u will be able to see. I would say it is far from Quintet.

I choose to buy EC is becuz of the 30k grant...feel that for a 1st timer it is gd to start off with ec so that we dun hve to be tied down with high installment. Resale hdb flat price is abt the same as ec so might as well buy ec if u don't have prob with the 20% downpayment.

I brought the 3 bedroom 1....do not really need 4 bedroom as only 2 of us staying. Moreover the size of the 3 bedroom looks reasonable....me don't like the bomb shelter of the 4 bedrooms also...in living room abit ugly.

If u buy those block nearer to the track...maybe will not get so much afternoon. Buying a unit that is not so high may help 2 cuz the block infront of u may help to block the sunlight away.

The psf of Quintet is actually cheaper than other ec. The price is more ex than other ec is becuz the size of Quintet unit is bigger.

Park green is actually at seng kang....

Hi blur blur,

Me actually prefer to buy somewhee in East or North but my hubby stays in the west. One side have to give in right? There is a few project in the east that is quite gd. Been to East Gallery and Haig Court....

<font color="0077aa">Touraco ~ aiyoh..wasted...will your meeting end late? If not, can always pop by still...i don't think we will go off so early. Come lar come lar.....

jelly ~ yah lor..got to cover for her. Means extra work.....:P U feeling better now??What did u have for your lunch?

so u already decided on how to tekan your FH?? What song would u like him to serenade to you? something really romantic?

Fates ~ I'm fine with anything to eat lar cos i'm going to meet u all mah..not for the food alone. hahaa.even though i am a glutton. Will probably vote for location most central.

I was thinking of buying tixs for FILs to watch. They are quite religious. heh heh...

Cookies Gal ~ what course did u and your FH do? Btw, my FH is from NTU.

Oh touraco!!
Join us after your meeting??? I don't think we'll start and makan on the dot, so you can still make it.....where's your office? We can choose somewhere nearer your office too *wink*

Hey Leeds,

How much is your monthly expenses for Planet Fitness? Was contemplatng between Planet and CAlifornia. Give me some advice.

Matthew

jelly ~ PM-ed you alraedy....hehehehe
Regarding the venue.....hard to decide now even with the list IMO...Ya you the one who suggested Black Angus right? Actually I don't mind any joints at One Fullerton...just the parking abit ex.....

ssmilezz ~ yalah I also not fussy about food and venue, but must hold 11 chatty girls lah ....heh

halo everyone.. i'm new in this forum..
planning to get married soon.. so wondering which BS is recommended?

btw, i've been to noble house for a wedding dinner before.. food is really good!! thumbs up for that!
minus point is that, it's rather open.. cos u might get people going there for family dinner..

i thot i heard rather good reviews for M hotel from another forum.. dunno about that though.. the ambience is nice there.. zen looking.

Hey Ladies,

How much is this Style's show? Is it a wedding gown's show? Where is it held??? Sounds interesting la :>

Matthew