(2005) Brides of year 2005

hiyo.. blur, u very greedy hor..still wanna collect 2 times of angpows.. think the most angpows we will collect in our life will be on our BIG day!

qiqi ,

hmmm ...dun be stress join us more here
lah !

ya heard amara hotel got really good rates for weekdays but their weekend rates are high ?

hi jen
if u r keen on meritus mandarin, can intro u to my catering mgr..bubbles and i had him, and he is realli nice and helpful! =)

hi tare
yesterday, we went back to our lovenest and saw that all tiles were laid liao, today most probably doing the skirting..hehe..this sat, will be going down to confirm our carpentry and wall colors!

thanks for the comforting words,gals..

Looks like only gals will understand gals..guys somehow got a different mindset..

Asked my hubby to see how much tables he need for his side.. He no action leh..i oso dun want to nag at him..Seems like his family can only do one thing in a week.

Last last sat, told them to get a date for dec(initially they asked for lunar 12th mth), they say ask the following week.. then drag almost a week to inform us.. Now i want them to ask for Nov, in law say ask agian next weeK!!! y cant they ask for good dates for the whole year of 2005?? sigh...
Jenn,

Actually i dont have any preference, just a "nice enuff" restaurant which is not too inaccessible. Most importantly, i hope 'empress dowager" ok with it.. Somemore we dont have much $$$.

sashamama: k, i rec'd..will send back to u soonest..

cinderella: u wanna try out karen frm devotion? me also taking of going to her leh..maybe we can go and find out how her pkage is like and the charges together if u dun mind?

Sashamama,
WOw, Marina Mandarin offer u really a very good deal! $600nett, that's very cheap, even cheaper than tis yr's rate. What did they throw in for you? Are they giving you the grand ballroom?

If u take Sheraton, must choose the Cod fish....very special and nice
But the air con in the ballroom quite warm, especially the shorter part of the ballroom.

Cinderalla/Bluegenie,
U can request Karen to email u her package from her forum at "advise from the exxperts".

U can check with bearyhug with regards to the Merchant court. She managed to bargain some freebies!

Divine's package without photography is $3988, not sure if they had increased their price or not as I signed up in Apr. Robin is tied up thus cheaper. I heard from a DC bride that Robin commented taking the package with photography is cheaper than go directly to him and sign up without photography with Robin, not sure about Dang though. So far, I had not visited Robin at all, only talked to him once through phone to reserve my PS date. Ur photography package with Dang is a good deal, photography and non-photography difference only $700!!

I heard that The Edge are very good in outdoor photography. Saw a DC brides photo also very nice. Robin takes nice shots too.

Pisduck,
Is ur EC the one near to Yoi Chu Kang MRT? My HB friend's new hse also at Nuovo!!! heehhe... My reno actually took almost 4 mths though initally ID says will take shorter period.

Alot of good comments from brides using Fabian Lim, not sure about Adrian Lim though.

Rosalind,
Dun beat the dog too much.....I can't really bear to beat my dog, when my mum beat the dog, I will quarrel with her!! :P If ur dog likes to bite, I suggest u to buy some elastic toy like for dogs to bite one.....small soft balls also can, can easily be found in pet shop or supermarket pet section.

Tougei,
I do agree with u, I attended a soleumnisation during dinner, most of the guest was quite bored actually.

sharlene: thks for the info. think will need to go down and see karen for consultation though can get the pkage frm forum cos sensitive skin..

Hi gals...i am going to the intercontinental wedding show as well..maybe can meet up

As for Dang Bridal...i took up their package. Photography from anddrew choi...hence its $4,488. I top up another $200 cos i using eric tan for makeup. The gown i like is bustier gown...the top part is lace and bottom is organza..its more elaborate design so i will top up another $200. Kua rental is $80. So in all its abt $5K.

The package comprise of made to measure wedding gown rental, mtm evening gown to keep, OTR kua rental, photograpghy from andrew choi..makeup 4 sessions from eric tan, hand bouquets and car deco and suit for hubby. If i do not need to keep the evening gown, i can have a made to measure cheong sum for rental at an additional cost of $300. Hence, its MTM wedding gown rental, MTM evening gown rental, MTM cheong sum rental, OTR kua rental. now still thinking whether i wan to be more vain...do one more cheong sum..hehe anyway this can be decided later.

Another BS i like is Tan yoong..but abit pricey...hehe and i love lace..but its not wat tan yoong specialize. Margaret brides specialize in lace but simply too ex. Sihouette is not bad. The designer Miah super friendly and nice...Blush Blush deisgner Pin also beri nice..but i think he do more of dutchess satin type of ball gown.

Hi Josie, Just on time to wish U a happy bday!!!
May all yr wishes cum true & stay Happy!!!

Aiya me so long nv cum in nv hear pple say miss me leh... so sad so sad..... Hmph!!! :-(

Btw, dinner huh... ok loh sad cannt sing liao!! Sobsob!! nvm lah, me anything one..... Dun want buffet lah very "FATTENING"leh....

Hi Jelly, no lah the favours RAsa have provide me... me doing my Maketing project loh...sianz manz...so got to check out free-lance pple... & btw me KPO one wat song u all saying i want also leh... Tell me the title i go & find....heehee

Hi Tan, where is my stuffs? heeeheee... when u back in SIN, send me yr pic okok... I kpo..... u nv share w me... I send u email liao loh.... Take yr time.. Take real care ok....

Hi Jen..thanks for the info! not sure of my budget at this point, thought i could get away with 4k in total, but looking at the majority of ya all, think all the potential plus plus could total up to 5k..BRRRHHH..rainy day, dun want to think about it..

Hi Tare,

oh..these i kinda know, just didn't expect the BS to have so many plus plus..guess still have to buy corset, shoes, bags...argh..

Hi Gina,
thanks for the info! wah you taking so many gowns ah..haha..think i will take cheaper photography..hopefully all in all dun exceed 4.5k..otherwise quite scary..
mebbe guy suit i will get elsewhere..

All
My guy quite kap one..mebbe have to tailor suit elsewhere..anyone got any recommendations? usually how much would it cost?

Thanks..hang in there the weekend is approaching!

hi yybb
tks for the big welcome ;)
actually i've been reading the forum on and off to see what's happening but didn't have much to time to post and follow up. you know how fast the forum moves
i haven't got any pics to share yet. perhaps by end Oct??

hi melodie
yah...looking forward to be your neighbour too ;P
btw, you need any recommendations for your lovenest? i'll be glad to share.

Hi Gina

I'm also going for the intercon. wedding show, if u want can meet up. So intercon hotel is also 1 of yr shortlisted venue? which venue is on yr list? so when is yr AD??
WA!!! U have also booked yr Gowns n stuffs, not like me, still undecide.

Hi Bubbles

i think my budget is abt yrs too. Dun want to spend too much cos is FH who is paying but have already warned him dat if photos very nice must buy so hehehehehe
Dun think i can go ala cart (meaning separate photographer n MUA etc) cos i will buy more photos so will ended up spending more than $8k+
But i'm thinking of taking Thomson wedding package and get a MTM EG from Amanda lee wedding (cos i love her work) dun dare to tell FH yet, cos i scare he will faint :P

hi ladies...
so mani posts liaos.. hmmm..
next gatherin change to steamboat dinner... when when?? me wana go me wana go.. hvnt had the chance to meet u gals leh.. hope i can make it tis time..

hey tan, can email me ur pics oso - [email protected]?? me oso wana kepo kepo..

hey josie - happie happie hatchday.. (hope u get this best wishes on time) hw old liaos huh?? heeeee

morning gers! what a nice day to sleep at home :P

blue_genie, no problem! which day do you prefer? I did drop some queries to Karen and she quote me for facials from $70 to $140...and we're able to pay monthly instead of the one whole package payment...so i find her quite flexible...

anyone interested to join us to devotion?

hi melodie,
You are going for your PS next week? Woah... Excited huh? Remember to show me your photos when it's done.. keke :P

starstar,
ok,I will ask.thanks again.

JC,
shall wait for your photos. keke :P
You have lobang for shopping electrical appliances for house? Let me know also !!! Coz Melodie and I are actually neighbours.. Such a small world huh...

yo qiqi... hmm... so sad cant join us for the gathering... nxt time we put one on thur lor... we choose fri cos nxt day no need to work mah... then can chat longer lor...

oh i heard fm my friends tat the amara price is decreasing leh... some ppl book bery early is at the ex price... those book at the show is more cheaper price... this i heard fm my friend one leh...

yo josie... hmm... u like tat place isit... nice rite but hor abit out of the way leh... anyway happy bday...

yo audrey... no lah where got nbr miss u... guess new job must be busy rite... aiyo... fattening meh... cos i long time nbr eat steamboat liao leh... got craving leh... aiyo u so skinny still said fat... omg... steamboat is using boil wat so okie wat no frying one leh... more healthy... kekeke... oic... favours for project... pai sei cant help much...

yo pigger... hmm... okie so u onzz hur... but got to wait for the rest whether interest in steamboat or not leh... i like to try the tien tien steamboat at bugis leh... sound bery nice is $15.80+ (10%) leh...not really ex rite...

hi shelyn.. welcome here.. how's ur prep so far??

higness, hahahha.. greedy of cos, try to get more ang bao as possible..else next time i will be the one giving ang bao..

lala, hmmm... mayb u make the initiative and go with them to ask for the date... go with them.. else they will continue to drag...
well, mayb u should ask ur MIL her preference on the hotel.. no point,u went to source and decide on one and in the end she object to it.. Also by asking her in advance would show her tt u 2 r giving her respect.. mayb when she finds tt she has ur respect n will let u do anything u wan!!

hi shelyn,
my AD on 11 Dec 05
how's your preparations?

blur, highness - think the biggest ang pow is on our BIG DAY! but some time not $$$ but others liao ...heheee

lala, cheer up
as what Blur said, u go with them to select the date

ger,
I got it. Thanks.

c1980,
that depends, we try to have it once a month but it is getting difficult when our ad get nearer.

Hi Pigger & Audrey
I try to see if i can find Tan's ROM pics and send to you..

Audrey, i help jelly send u the song. Since she email me, I email to you la..

hi cookie's gal,
will see how.... prob will contact da vinci again if there are any delays...

hi sharlene,
yep, my place opp YCK MRT. quite excited to get the place cos waited for about 3 years, liao... planning to settle my reno contractor by today.
will update you gals.... my id said reno take only 1.5 months, leh... how come yours so long? u din rush them izzit??

Hi JC, me looking fwd to ur pics too!
yah... me and yybb need ur help!
I need recommendations for curtains/fridge and washing machine. hehe...

Hi yybb, yah, so excited. Will share with u my pics when i get them. Must share with me ur's too!

Hi bubbles...heheh so far the whole package is 5.2K if i take the cheong sum...think pix have to top up another 2K to get all the pictures back...so will come up to abt 7K.

Hi Jen...My AD is on 13 OCT 2005. Thursday. I have already placed the $5K deposit liao. Hehhee.. i signed up last week...just when the perkks' details of the wedding show was known. Dun wan to sign up on wedding show itself...very chaotic.

Hi Jelly,

yah no worries if is in friday i can meet yuo gals after 10pm if you gals gng ktv or late okok!!!

Hi Pigger/Tan,

Me also want kpo leh can send to me hehehe... [email protected]

Hi Smile,
Sorry miss your msg...

Me gng down to sign Amara banquet contract today.. heheh hope everything goes well.. jelly, yah the price is alot of different if there is wedding show... so better dun miss it and sign faster as the ballroom is quite nice and zen look... food wise my friend attend and say is nice...

hi yybb & melodie
??? wah so good to have neighbours u already knew...
where u gals staying? got your keys n renovated? me selected the flat but plan to get the keys only in jan.. plan to do reno only after wedding... time being staying at his parent's place... :p

melodie
u going PS next week!! my PS is one week after yours... where u planning to go? got anywhere in mind? u gone for your fitting bef the PS? which BS u wif?

yybb
oh ya.. my ROM's is on 28 dec... separated event... but both my FH n me plan to keep it simple... after the ceremony at registry, we'll bring our guests to a restaurant to makan... by then it'll be dinner... :p

hi starmed

We haven't gotten our keys yet. We bought Park Green.

I'm going for my o/d ps nxt week. My I/D PS will be in nov. I'm with GHA. I'm going for my 2nd fitting nxt weekend.
Which BS r u with?

Hi Audrey

I think your email is hotmail ac. Then cannot receive so big mp3 file right?
by the way, the song is "One Boy One Girl" by Collin_Raye.

By the way
I tried searching my whole email and could not find Tan photos.. Sorry. Got to wait for her to be back..

lucky you, we splitting half-half(my request) somemore i just graduated a year ago..ah..perhaps i will take WG, MUA, PS, flowers and go buy suit and cheongsum elsewhere unless the EG is really nice..

actually think that more attention will be on WG('cos first entrance), contemplating wearing that the whole night, mebbe rent a kua for morning, that is not real ex..

think the pictures will be the real killer..
getting cold hands just thinking abt it..haha..
think FH has no idea how much all this will cost..

Thanks gina, now i know how much the photos will cost! argh!

any recommendations for guy tailor?

Hi Bubbles,

My BS package costs less than $4k, inclusive of 1 MTM gown, and 1 OTR gown, kua, photo shoots (indoor/outdoor), make-up, bridal car+deco+chauffeur, flowers, suit for hubby,in-laws,father etc.. all in one! and they are very friendly, and have received good referrals from my friends too.. that's why I signed up.

May be good to consider for anyone on a budget ;p

Wow..really?
have you gone for your fitting yet? are their gowns good? is their service good? eh speak english/chinese? FH bad bad bad in chinese..
would really have to discuss with FH the exact final amount we wanna spend..

Hi Gina

dun mind me asking... if u ve booked intercon then y r u going for the wedding show???
i'm told dat they r having new wedding favors but still sourcing for them. flower arrangment also changing...
my AD will fall on a sat so very X at intercon ($918).. trying to change e date to a sunday so my FH not xiong cos he is paying for the wedding and house deco ... poor thing, so i try not to spend too much on e wedding n e house.. trying very hard ;p
dun think can go far for honeymoon since his pocket will ve a big hole after all this.. hehehehe

Hi Bubbles

I also found 1 less than $3300.
inclusive of 1 MTM gown, and 1 OTR gown, 1 OTR tea dress, photo shoots (indoor/outdoor), make-up, bridal car+deco+chauffeur, 2 sets of flowers, suit for hubby,in-laws,father, rom dress n suite, makeup n hair style etc.. can further negotiate and they are very friendly, lady boss n the photographer. BS very neat n will ve new gowns coming in at yr end or next yr. Read good reviews on e photographer's skills...
If u want MTM on both gowns just ve to add $300 so still afforable... if both yr gown are OTR, lady boss will refund u $300 or more pixs...

melodie,
sure, I will share mine once it's done. Still waiting.. Keke...
Yeah I am looking for budget curtain maker too.. Any idea where to look for?
You know what I am both excited for my wedding and our new house. So so busy nowadays...

starstar,
where's your lovenest? Maybe is near us? then we can meet up often.. haha..
Envy you lah.. can do simple wedding.. My parents will never allow that...

Sashamama..thanks for the 82pages list. I iwll go and see later.

sorry, never come in to post as I was on leave this morning and will also be on leave tomorrow. My friend's BF just passed away yesterday night. Sigh..

Cookie gal: Hahha, i very blur. Sorry, I moved in to my flat on 28.09.2003 and not 28.09.2004. So, I have been statying there for more than 1 year already. I did my reno in sept which took about 3 weeks.

hehehe..my facial package is same with Icy..

Dear gals:

An update on my banquet:

Yesterday, mi & FH went to Sheraton and talked to another of their coords Eng Yan who's very frenly and tried her best to match the perks provided by MM. I must say that it's a very good deal for the fact that mi & FH wun need to worry abt the quality of the food, service and grandeur of the hotel & ballroom.

But after serious consideration, we be taking MM lo.. Cos the price diff per table is just too great. We're looking at a $7000 diff taking into consideration the banquet costs, wine charges, and that those coming for both sides giving the same angbao.

BTW, what's the average nowadays huh? Mi & FH averaged out from $50 - $80 angbaos, we calculated based on an average of $65 per guest. Is that too much?

Anyway, that price diff meant our Japan honeymoon and also, that we'd run into further debts for the wedding other than the reno loan we need to take for the flat. So, we decided on MM.

Will be checking with Cara in a while with regards to the reno works, dunwanna repeat the Oriental saga!!!

166330.gif

Dear Cinderella:

Glad there's some use for my 8cents' worth! Hehe..

For HM, FH & I really keen on Japan.. Mi see HM very impt lo.. Think abt it..

1) Go Japan with kids
2) Go Japan with parents
3) Go Japan with best fren/s
4) Go Japan with hubby on honeymoon

All feel different lo.. Right after wedding the HM is the only HM we'd ever go on for the rest of our lives.. Other times wld just be classified under holiday travel, mi think..

Some more we be trying hard at a baby, scared my endometriosis comes back, so of cos during HM everything is right! See if we get a Japanese / Australian / Mauritian / Koh-Samui-en ! Haha..

For the facial.. I'm clueless! Not a beauty person, never finished even a lipstick before in my whole life! So need advice from the rest on that! Me need it too! hehe..

166334.gif

Dear Sharlene:

MM really offering a super good deal at $600nett on weekday lo.. It's the grand ballroom on the first floor, cos i have at least 37 tables. hehe..

Thanks for ur input on PS photogs. We viewing Robin's works this fri & The Edge's Andrew Tay's works next wed before we decide. Will keep u gals updated

166337.gif

Dear Ying11:

Sad to hear abt ur friend's BF.. Life is full of unexpected twists and turns! Can only wish for the best! Hope ur friend wld be strong

The facial package thingy sounds good! BTW, is it super nec to start on facials? How early do we have to do that from the wedding le?

166340.gif

yo pigger... rite is the one opps bugis junction lor... but hor... the gals here all scared fat one leh... must force them to eat steamboat with me... kekeke.... wait to see how the respond from the rest lor...

GALS....

yo audrey... pai sei... forget to tell u abt the song... anyway my sweetie zoe has already tell u... kekekeke... thanks zoe...

yo qiqi... this month cant go KTV cos most of the sat need to come back to off to do stock take... so if go ktv nxt day no energy to work leh... nbr mind lor nxt month we will go KTV... so where ur class.... good... u sign up with Amara today... will go update the chart...btw when is ur AD hur... kekeke

yo zoe... thanks sweetie... no worry we wait for tan to come home then email us lor... kekeke

ya so many posting i see until goggy already....thabnks all for the concerns...me recovering..but still beri tired leh...the flu bugz!!!

i m ok...then we settle for the dinner lah......

qiqi...u were the mc for the dinner that night?.....actually not sure if its the same one....the bride mom is my mom's old time fren...n when young we play together....long time no see her....bery pretty now.

butter so fast fix the PS liao ah.....next jan beri early leh....i haben even decide where to take.

josie can send me the one boy one ger song anot...i also wanna hear hear

Hi Jen!

Wow..thats not bad..;)..i dun need stuff for in-laws and my parents, or car/chauffeur, then the price may not be so high..

The package for 2005 Merchant Court is out, now got no charge for seat covers- weekend $778/$808..
maybe ya all who have not booked can go see..not bad i think?