(2005) Brides of year 2005

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOSIE!

hehe, 1yr older liao, must be wiser,but always pretty 1 lah....

odiey,jelly,

would chk my email for ur email address,then fwd the website to u, here in Switzerland the pc xiao xiao 1,super slow, still on dial up, can die, wait like xiao just to come into this forum. Argh....but dun worry k? would try my very best to fwd asap.

janice,

u flu must take care yah....but look on the bright side, sick can't eat can lose weight, hehe no need to detox. we die die would try make our own corsage. wo3 you3 xing4 xin1, we can do it!

zoeanne,

me used to thk Switzerland very romantic oso,I 1st time see snow was in Switzerland. but very qi1 liang2, no love 1 to see with me then. now,hubby with me but no snow leh....sigh...

butter,

wah, u Jan gg for PS liao, me now kan chiong again, haven't got any gowns yet leh. planning to PS in Jun, u thk would be too late? if now I go to a BS, start conceptualising and then MTM my gown, do u thk still can make it???

gals,

thk hor, I may oni come in again when get back SIN, coz the system here really too slow liao...chelat lah, addicted to this thread, yet still got many other threads to chk out to do my banquet research....hiya!

see how,if hand too itchy even wait hrs would come chat again. hehe! take care!

highness, ohhh how u fax over? can u send me also so that i can fax over? i do not have any forms leh...

Ming, i will be going with my FH.. wow.. u confirm ur gowns liao eh? cool.. how much are u paying for the whole package?

Hi Sasha

MM package sounds great... I've worked there before too... heehhheee...
166083.gif
but that's more attachment lah... quite a nice place to hold wedding but personally, I still prefer Sheraton.

I have recently gone there for a wedding... really loves the laser show they have for the 1st dish, the food is nice, big foyer for guests to hang around before dinner... actually didn't quite notice the L-shape set up because the stage is set up in the junction of the L.. u r there only to see the couple mah... so who's sitting on the other side of the L doesn't really matter... Very grand ballroom too... service much better as compared to 3 yrs back when I went there for another AD... So, should be okie...

But of course, if u wanna save some cost
166084.gif
and trouble, it might be easier to juz hold it in MM then dun have to worry about all the extra things...

Hi Tou2

Sorrie... can't help much...

Any way.. need some advice from u gals... if yr boss wanna put a staff that she can't work with under you, would u accept?

Hi GALS

I AM BACK..Hee

Hi qiqi
long time never see you here liao..hows everything?

Josie

Happy Bird day....so is it yesterday or today?

Jelly

got KTV ah...too bad me lousy singer...if i go you all got bring more cotton buds...kekeke

pigger

me saw your ROM photos..wa...slim slim..pretty pretty...

josie
u changing your photographer?got better deals?share share?

Tan ,

wow a long distance wishing from you all the way from switerland hee hee :P so nice of you !!
I no need to be wiser hhha but must be more pretty only . Cannot have the best for both world hahaha ....me no greedy :P
Take care and see you soon in Spore !

Zoe ,
me going second fitting but have not design my gowns ...only doing it in DEC ....PS in MARCH . butter lagi early hahaha jan PS leh . so i`m not the earliest of all lah :P

Miss blur.. how to send u? u got buy the latest style wedding mag? the form is inside..
I oso dunno if they received my fax.. never call me to confirm leh..

smile smile ....hee hee you r back :P
so happy n glad you are with us again !!

hmmm ya thinking of changing meeting them tomo and will let you know again after that .

Actually they are not as cheap as Stanley ...and some more EX but my budget for both video and photography for AD at 1500 but now seem like going up to 2100 . sigh ....ehhh BUT :p HEHEHEH i they like their styles .

email me when you free at my office we will toke more
miss you

oh ya ..thank for wishing too ...tomo is my BIRTHDAY ! Pre-wishing :P

Hi Tan

Ya lor.. I also seem addicted liao. Got PC, sure log in to see got reply and chat anot.. Ha Ha
I think we get addicted here till Sept 05 and even after our AD..Ha Ha.. nice to have bunch of regular friends here..

Hi josie
Happy Birthday to you again. May all wishes come true and stay pretty forever.. My friend is also from Oct thread, she would come in to read our posting. So happen to see you looking for Lam..and msn me to tel me about it lor..Can send song to me too.. ? I also like to know which one.. Me Kay Poh..

yo qiqi... finally... anyway we will be meeting up on 22/10 care to join us... so u hv decided Amara... heard fm my friend said that the banquet pricing vaires leh... so u went for the amara show tat day...

yo josie... u dun send 1st cos ger already email me already... tonite i go back and listen lor... thanks sweetie...

yo tan... wow dial up ya... then come back then email us lah... wait u wait until neck long long man... wow so good at swiss... can buy lots of nice chocolates man... yum yum

yo smile... come jelly give u a big hugzz hope everything is fine man... me always here for u one... so how's everything settle already... hmm no KTV liao change to dinner cos i cant make it for KTV... do join us for dinner can.... miss u leh...

Hi Smile

So long no see u here..Most likely we change to dinner liao. Since Jelly cannot make it for KTV but only for dinner. we can postpone KTV to another days... Lets see other girls' decision too..

Hi Josie..
Maybe i will go BS this Dec to see their OTR WG.. If nice, i choose my PS one.. If not nice, I going to make my MTM WG.. see how.. very confusing lor..

Hi Tan
No snow but hubby with you is also another wonderful thing right? Its only the snow where add the romance.. But no matter where u are, hubby with u, u sure happy la.. MushyMushy .. Hee Hee

Dear Rosalind:

Thanks for ur input! I'm more for MM for the perks lo.. So that we can go for a better/longer honeymoon.. But FH likes Sheraton alot for the plus pts u mentioned, esp the feel and look of the hotel and ballroom. So we giving the place another chance and see how thing go later when we speak to Eng Yan. hehe..

Will keep u gals updated!
166093.gif

Hellos Jen!

Nah...i am looking at only saturdays, and have tentatively booked 8 oct with meritus mandarin and will most likely confirm with them.

will go to the marina mandarin one though..just for fun (hubby wants to eat- $15/couple he thinks cheap)...hahahha..

let me know how it goes!

BTW, find mandarin's service a lot better. Henry my co-ordinator reverts email and other enquiries within an hour (if not in meeting). i called up intercon this morning, till now they have not emailed me the wedding show form..think this kinda thing matters to me..;p...just my opinion..

Hi bubbles

funny.... u n i ve service problems with this 2 hotel...
i ve good services from intercont while the manager from meritus mandarin sounds very impatient talking to with me.
soooo u r the 1 who ve booked with mandarin cos i'm looking at dat date too.
mmm u ve paid a deposit right?? cos the manager told me dat once u paid a deposit they will hold the date for u. i ve another 2 more dates to play with so going down on sat morn to check the ballroom n try to make a decision by this wkend.

hi tougei

i initially wan to have solemnisation before lunch(i'm having lunch instead of dinner ma) but then timing a bit rush, so thinking of having it during lunch, as an entertainment for guest also.. hehe.. anyway, now i cant have it on the same day coz its very rush. too many things to do on the same day... haiz~! are u going to have it on the same day?

hi Rosalind,
think if your puppy is notti then have to beat or scold lo (but not too harsh la) thats how it learn what can and what cannot, like kids like that. I also like dogs, but my parents dun allow me to keep them.. haiz.. maybe next time when i have my own place lo... so ur dog is alone at home when you and ur hubby go work?

hmmm..i agree with tougei lo.. if u can get along with her.. then should be ok ba.. unless got some

Lively thread here today! Farily busy with work today so can only post a few quick responses.

ying11,
You just collected your house yesterday? Where is your lovenest going to be?

Pisduck,
You may wish to call up and see whether they are willing to store your furniture for free for some more months. If you bought a fair bit of furniture from them, think you have a chance of getting them to waive the storage charges.

Sashamama,
I agree with icy. You must be particularly careful when dealing with MM becoz of their upcoming reno. Otherwise, you might run into problems that the Oriental brides had this year.

As for Sheraton, I attended a wedding there in July. I was seated on the short side of the "L". As a guest, I felt "left-out" when the couple was doing their march-in from the long side. Didn't like the feeling that I couldn't see what was happening. The other point to note is the lighting. For the earlier portion of the dinner, the lights for the entire ballroom were pretty dim - too dim in fact. Didn't notice any laser show for their first dish though...

It's a nice place to do your PS - love their waterfall.
Service and food was good - no complaints about those.

Dear Cookie's Gal:

Thanks for ur comment! Really helps a lot in our decision-making. Gotta let FH know of the poss of guests feeling left out. He even said friends can sit at the shorter side, never mind. But friends matter more to us than relatives we've never even met b4 yah? hmmm.. So it does make a diff whether the guests can see the whole march in or not..

Still love the place.. But i'd rather save the extra cash for our poss Japan honeymoon!

Yet, MM also quite dangerous wif regards to the reno.. Heard abt the Oriental saga! Will make sure it doesnt happen to us if we sign with them..

hehe..

166133.gif

Hi sashamama, heee okok at least i feel better now..heee... :P no photography is ex lor...

yawn...v sleepy...

gers...i'm quite lost as what my next step should be...i have already settled on BS, besides venue what next?

haha..Jen,
that is quite funny actually..think maybe we talked to different people in mandarin, i have not paid the deposit, but he is nice and i will 99.99% book with them..

*sob* really like inter-con..but its a full $100 more than mandarin, thats $3500 over 35 tables!

tell me how it goes lah (with mandarin as well as intercon on sun)..;)

what's your experience with Dang so far?

Hey babes!

I just emailed another updated version of our info esp for the benefit of those who've yet to receive..

Check thru and fill in the blanks when u're free then reply me with it, k?

Now left SeeSee & Blue_Genie if u're interested in sharing ur info with us!

166140.gif

now still early for us to confirm gowns lah.. maybe flipping through mag or go to wedding show for inspiration..
can enjoy these few months n CNY.. the coming CNY will be our last CNY to collect angpows liao.. after this, we'll b the one to give angpow liao! a bit scary.. ;P

Cinderella:

Me think you can start on the following if you yet to:

1) AD photographer (many popular ones are booked til 2006 lo!)
2) AD videographer (tho u indicated nil, but you might wanna consider, for all the moments to be captured in motion! hehe..)
3) Design of gowns (start sourcing for pix of gowns u like)
4) List of ur coordinators/jie meis/xiong dis and their respective duties, esp emcee and the overall i/c
5) Honeymoon! (Depends on budget & time u can spare, even a short getaway to a nearby beach resort? heard a couple went to Koh Samui for abt 6 days at abt $1200)
6) Ur flat? (So far no info from u on that.. If u need to, might source for contractor/interior designer) Even if stayin with in-laws, can go shopping for nice furnishings / little decorative items!
7) More detailed guest list?
8) Sign up for spa/facial treatments? hehe..

Just mi 8cents' worth..
166143.gif

yeah, must enjoy the fullest ...but i know that 1st year into marriage can still collect angpows ...subsequent cannot lor :P

we have lots of time to flip thru mag n tried on dresses that suit us better

highness... hhahaha.. c i so blur.. thought u have e-fax form which u can send to me.. I will go back and dig my style wedding mag out.. pai say hor... hahahah...
Ming, well, u r right har.. last time we collect ang pow.. if i m going to postpone my wedding to 2006, will make sure tt it will be after 2006 chinese new year!! then can collect one more time!!! bad right??

Hi bubbles

I din check out Dang... only went to e following:
1. Seletar broadway
2. Golden Horse award
3. Silver cloak
4. Thomson wedding
5. J & M
6. Amanda Lee wedding (gowns only)
7. Chris Ling (photography only)

1. seletar broadway: not very good services, they tried to discourage us from going down to their BS when we told them dat we like to see some of the gowns designs so dat we can see how's e work of their designer (met them at e exhibition in suntec city)
2. Golden horse award: their gowns are not bad but also we went to their exhibition so not at their BS, sales services not bad but not sure abt the after sales services. From other threads, their services are not bad.
3. Went into this BS, gowns very plain n heard dat e BS is on the verge of closing (not sure true or not) cos te main designer just gave birth n the lady help in e store only a part-timer. the part-timer very helpful and accommadating, wat u want inside the package also can give (abit too good to be true).
4. Thomson Wedding: Tried their gowns in both tanjong pagar n Thomson (went down to both BS on different days), WG designs not bad but can't say abt their EG (only seen a few, not ideal). At the moment their package is the most attractive of all i have seen. The photographer and lady boss very friendly.
5. J & M: Adrain (photographer) and chermine (MUA), very friendly n helpful... let me try e WG n even do my hair for me, but the place is small n they packed all the gowns together (EG, WG both new n old). Gowns look dirty too.
6. Amanda lee: She is very friendly n helpful, very gifted in this field, but her packaged is very X dun even include PS n is almost $4k. Loves her gowns.. if u dun ve a budget, u can go for her..
7. Chris ling: u can choose him for yr photography but he also do photos only so u can combine him with amanda lee... he very friendly n helpful... can put u at ease... but no no is got budget.

This is only my 2 cents worth... not sure if this help.

Will tell u on mon.

hello gers!

sashamama: sorry, i miss ur post. maybe u can send me the file and i will put in the info myself...can't really type out all the info now as surfing net in office..not too convenient..hope u understand..lastly, my email is [email protected]. thks.

Halo everyone

Mi new in this forum... anyone having wedding on 26th Dec?? =P
wondering whether this is a popular day cos did manage to book my dinner on that day.. =(

Hi lynette,

My package cost $4,388(maybe will increase if I add photos)
So far which BS have u shortlist? Maybe you can share wif us.

Hey gals!

Anyone here whose package do not include Car Rental?
Any good deal for car rental company?

Hey Bao,

Yr fitting oso coming soon,rite? Must be excited.
Then yr BS will do up yr WG or EG on that day?

Hi janey

yes, I was thinking of doing it on the same day as well. Actually I was toying with the idea of doing it during the dinner as entertainment as well but i had an experience last week that shows that it may not be such a good idea afterall.

Just to share. I went to a wedding which includes the solemnisation immediately after the march-in. It was conducted by a very reputable JP. However, there was something about the JP's pronounication that sounded "funny". In the end there was so much stiffled laughter and whispering that it spoilt the entire atmosphere

I guess it is not easy for the guests to take it as seriously. I don't mean that they aren't sincere but most of them take this opportunity to relax, catch up with old frens, have a good dinner/lunch and go home.

Hmm...think after this experience I will hold my solemnisation privately in a function room before the dinner. Anyway, just my thots

Little gal,
Will show you the pics when everything is ok.
Probably by end of Oct or early Nov.

BTW, I notice that your BS is divine. How is it?
Is the service good? Is the price reasonable?

I am looking for a 1-stop shop.

hi sashamama, thanks for the list of things i have to do! heee... now i can work from your list to do the next steps...

i don't look nice in video, that's why i'm not looking for a videographer :P

as for honeymoon, i'm considering krabi, my brother and his gf went there and enjoyed themselves v much...but my FH thinking of Japan which i find it v v v ex...not worth it...here we're saving $ for our future, there spending on this...not feasible...

as for flat heee yah staying with in-laws, from my mother, we need to buy new bed and wardrobe...taht should be all i supposed...

i've more or less settled with my guest list liao...putting who and who in one table and all that...just hopefully no last min changes from my parents and parents-in-law lor...*pray*

as for facials...yup intend to try out karen from devotion, any comments or places you can rec me to?
166166.gif

Hi Bubbles,

Chinese custom stuff involve the things u need to buy during the Guo Da Li (eg. cakes to give to relatives) & An Chuan...not 4getting ang bow for your helpers & kids on ur AD....wine & hard liquor for your dinner...printing of invite cards, etc...really alot of hidden cost...

Hi Gina,

Where will Dang be shifting to ? They are currently still at Amara SC...so ur package consist of MTM for WG & EG ?

Hi Sweet,

Wait till your carpentry work is up...u b even more excited...kekeke

So among so many BS u hv visit, which BS do u thk u will likely take up ? which BS do u find their prices reasonable ?

HI Tarepanjo

I kind of like e gowns from Thomson wedding n Amanda Wedding but Amanda lee (too x).
i still want to see more ;p but at e moment Thomson seems to be offering e best package. Will discuss with FH to see whether can i ve amanda lee to MTM a EG for my wedding cos FH will be footing e bills... bad right??

Can anyone tell me how u shop for wedding bands???

Hi Tarepanjo

saw dat u ve booked your AD photographer and videographer right???
but u still ven't book yr BS yet??? y is dat???
r they right dat hot, if dun book not later can't find???

sorry for so many Qs

yo zoe send liao... go and check... nbr received then tell me...

yo josie...u where got PC idiot... still got use friendster... me then PC idiot man... kekeke

So sad cant join you gals coz i need to attend class every wed/fri..

Zoe, Catcha..
No lah.. im not working at SKII this is the phase that jelly gave to me... Me Customer Service in Freight Forwarding... wow sound your job is exciting y change??

Hi Josie,
yah loh so busy with study and work... haiz.. stress...

Jelly,
what you mean the prices varies? it is attractive...

Bleeze

yups my first fitting on 26/10 loh... yeah very excited and my CS goin first fitting on 20/11. Don't worie lah everying will be done up by my wedding day.

My first fitting on 26/10 is both WG and EG.

Hi Shelyn!

haha.. so great to see u.. finally found someone who had a later date than me in Dec'05..
heehee.. my AD is 23 Dec, Fri..
So where did u book ur banquet?