(2005) Brides of year 2005

caitlyn

okay lah.. hb n i still make it a point to date.. gg to watch transformers this fri.. his company event

linda - we usually date in afternn or just dinner.. cannot sneak off after they sleep type coz isaiah tends to wake up a few times a nite.. if we not there. he gets v v upset..

gg for interview later.. keeping fingers crossed!

qq77

newbbi,
erm... those branded and well known school, usually need PV.
neighbourhood school, depends. gotta call and check if the school have PV a not.

crystal,
oic...
good luck for your interview.

caitlyn

linda - think e term is just too long. exams over but still got normal lessons for a whole month before hols! haha.. but sldnt complain since hols i dun have to come back at all unlike in local schools lah!

ting0502

Crystal- keke.. for us is we date during lunch abt twice a week.. althou only 1 hr but at least can eat properly n reali talk! Another teaching position interview? Me too totally no mood n motivation to wrk. only thing tat keeps me going is my kids…

qq77

ting,
for us, usually talk if my hb drive me to work or fetch me from work.
dinner time together is rushing ones, cos we usually have quick dinner (15 to 20 mins), order, eat and go kind. cos we try to fetch inez by 6.30pm, otherwise she will be upset and ask y we fetch her so late. cos usually by 6.30, only left with a handful children in the school.

caitlyn

ting - yup.. hardly get to talk unless sneak off on dates.. as i always fall asleep with the kids ar night! hahahha

linda + ting - rem i mentioned abt kumon before? gg for interview with the GM later..

lingling2

Linda,
i see...

crystal,
let us know if the Kumon thing materialise k =D...i quite interested too =D...i mean to sign up..haha...cos last time i taught in Kumon at the West cosat Ginza plaza before lor...hehe...
ALL THE BEST! =).

Ting,
For us, cos we hv er ren shi jie frm mon-thurs, for abt 2-3hrs lor, morning on e way to work and also aft work when we are at my MIL hse lor..cos we go over to visit my fil everyday de..

caitlyn

morning all...

linda - yup, no harm trying.. but i may not have enough start up capital as hb n i dun save so.. hahaha

newbbi - yup, will let u guys noe.. my target area is either bukit panjang or jurong west.. if open in bukit panjang u let char join me k?! wahahhahaah

caitlyn

linda - it was o-k i think.. haha.. v hard to say.. pretty informal.. even if pass also have training etc to attend.. so will not be so fast

lingling2

Crystal,
hehe...need alot of captial?

If u open at Bukit Panjang, if newar to Petir road which is at my mum plc, I will let her join u lor cos I won't be with her on wkdays so need u to help me coach her =) *specially* hor ;p..hehe

How long is e training?

caitlyn

newbbi - minimum wld need at least 50k i think.. plus must be prepared for losses etc at beginnning so v scary.. training is abt a month.. then if pass, n can find location as early as oct can start biz lor.. isiaah is attending TH.. he loves his classes there.. i am not e one who brings him so cannot say much abt the class flow etc.. but basically learn a new word (for N1) every week n rhymes..

ting0502

hi all.. bk frm lunch n feelin so sleepy now!!

crystal- wah 50k we def dun hv. haha.. initial wil sure be tough but once stable shd be ok i guess..

caitlyn

ting - haha.. was thinking if need be can sell car or watever.. see how.. or take a loan.. but also dunno if we qualify to take loan! hahahha

caitlyn

linda - yup.. but i guess for a biz, it is considered a low end start up cost?

me also sleepy.. let's keep each othre company! haha

caitlyn

linda - haha.. nt cfm yet lah! i v v risk averse.. plus it is very hard to decide.. now got a stable (not THAT stable), ok income job,relatively stress free job, time with kids.. if do kumon, i may not have time with kids.. and they only young once.. dunno if i want to give tt up so tt can make a bit more money for the future also.. sigh

ting0502

Yes yes pls keep talking.. I reali can doze off kind!

Crystal- at least u took the 1st step to go for the interview =) hee.. we def cant sell car cos highly dependent on it now. Hahhaa… I also risk adverse kind. Til now stil tinkin of wat I wana do! Rem the interview I went last wk, they were askin wat do I reali wan to do in my career, I was actually dumbfounded. Hahaha.

caitlyn

newbbi - actually hb n i are terrible in that we never follwo up with our kids on their enrichment classes.. i guess when compared to berries TH is more "academic" as they have like a "test" kinda thingy every 9th lesson where they aske the kids to recite any rhyme learnt and to read the words (but got pics so kids can look at pics).. we dun push isaiah much with regards to test.. but think TH itself drills so so far he has no major problems.. every 10th lesson of e term is a performance where kids will recite the rhymes they have learnt for the term n parents can go n watch.. this is his favourtite part
mine too!
good for building up confidence

ting - haha.. i guess i nto v career minded like u.. but at e same time, i also wonder if kids are older wat abt us? it is selfish lah.. but i guess i dun have tt kind of luxury to be rich enough to stay home so i also gotta start making some kind of plans.. my fren owns a kumon franchise.. she only open centre 3 days a week and earning quite good money so she keep encoruaging me.. but her centre is in a v good location also lah

ting0502

linda- maybe guys more into takin risks bah. hehe

Crystal- ya I did tink of tat too. cannot keep tinkin of the kids n hv to make plans for ourselves. but I stil searchin n tinkin of wat I wana do! At least for my hb, he’s more or less set in his teachin n tuition job. I suppose ur hb wil helpin u if this wrk out well? Gd money meaning 5 figure every mth? kekeke

lingling2

crystal,
ahyo, u both not terrible lah, I guess alot of parents are like us lor, where got time! =)...

But its good u have made the first step and your hb is supportive of your decision?

SO since your fren opened a center, you can ask her for alot of advises wor...hmm..i wonderign hor, still hv to find teachers, markers etc hor..

Ting,
Hows aldan now?

lingling2

Ting,
for me hor, after hb and I got our degree, we will save up to open a shop of our own..We are tinking of selling either children apparels or Hello kitty stuffs. That is small part of e reason y we want to study a degree in Biz =)...But duno if this dream can be materialise =D.

caitlyn

ting - think yr hubby sld also be earning good 5-figure income or near liao!
yup, my fren makes near 5 figure.. or low 5-figure for THREE days work! she doesnt want to open more days altho demand is there coz she forsee she gonna start family soon n is comfy where she is

newbbi - not easy to set up shop.. must start saving hard now also!
hb is e one tt keep pushing me to do it.. actually kumon dun really need a lot of teachers as i will be e main instructor.. more of just e markers and assistants

caitlyn

ting - kumon wun earn alot alot.. comfy enough.. hb wun help me lah.. better for him to keep his job.. i actualyl aiming to like open 3 days or so.. even earn 2-3k a mth i also happy enough.. work 3 days can get tt kinda money is good enough fo rme

qq77

ting,
i think so bah.
woman like us not very career minded one will think of family and kids first.

crystal/newbbi,
inez enrichments class all conducted in school.
so i din sign her for extra outside.
every qtr for chinese & english speech & drama, they have a report on their performance.
phonics just started this term and every week, a file will contain what they learn and a small performance report.
i only follow up and revise with her on her phonics. speech and drama, nothing for me to follow up.
then sit down with inez to do her writing/Maths/Spelling. depending on what she wants me to do with her each day.

ting0502

Newbbi- jus came bk frm seeing aldan.. he refused to let me go! One of his mood swings again. Kept clingin unto me n go mummy mummy. Hv to talk nicely to him n told him I need to get bk to wrk! tats nice to hv own shop =) I tinkin if I can set up home tuition based biz…

Crystal- no la, whr got so much. if got 5figure I dun need to wrk liao. haha.. he recently converted to full time adjunct teacher n can hv all the benefits (mc, bonus..) tat a teacher gets. More pay but tat means more wrk too lah. I see him like ok lei cos he can go bk when lessons finish… usu by 2pm.

qq77

ting,
your 2 kids really very attached to you.

so your hb no more tuition?

i hope to open a childcare.
but i need to go study first.
my aunty is my investor. but need to loop in my sisters and cousins who are teachers in pri and sec. of cos must see if they are willing a not!
to study, i will have to wait till inez is in primary school and i take on a cc job, experience myself then can venture out.
hopefully my dream can comes true.

ting0502

Linda- ya they are like super glue!! Sigh duno isit gd or bad
He stil has but trying to see if can cut dwn. also teachin in tuition centre twice a week.. if u reali open ccc, I can help u w the admin! Hehehe… tat used to be my dream too but aft wrkg in ccc now realise its not easy at all

lingling2

Morning ladies..

Linda,
Its a good idea to open cc hor...

Ting,
Sometimes kids really hv mood swings too hor..

Today is their racial and harmony day, what are your kids wearing to sch today?

ting0502

Mornin all..

Newbbi- yes aldan has extreme mood swings! Even his teacher commented tat he needs to warm up b4 he wil join in the class every morning n if he is in a bad mood, wil be worse. He wil jus sit one corner n refused to participate.
Yalor racial harmony day today.. saw the kids wearing so fanciful clothings. I esp like the indian sari, some of the girls wearing it, v nice n pretty! Keke.. gona see if can buy one for avril. wahaha

ting0502

Newbbi- I also duno whr… sm more got the sticker on the forehead. Haha.. v cute! So wat did char wear to sch today? Aldan’s wearing batik top n pants, bot frm bali frm mil.

lingling2

Ting,
sounds cute hor..

Char wore a dress with white cardigan cos I din manage to fidn any traditional costume for her lor so just let her wear dress to sch. This ger so happy lor, kept saying she nice to me over the phone =D

caitlyn

isaiah wore shirt n jeans (western mah) then caitlyn wore this cheongsam like dress.. not exactly a cheongsam.. haha.. it is a mother-daughter set but of course i din wear!

qq77

Morning ladies,
Sian, my IT just instal new version into my pc, now cannot even access the forum at all. Using iPhone to post.

Inez wore a flowery dress. Din buy any traditional costume for her.