(2005) Brides of year 2005

Will it exceed 5k? My BS package is about 3.2K. What other considerations we must think of? How much will photo development cost?

Hey girls! Any plans to meetup for dinner or say coffee? :P

hi dinah,
ya u r right..so can't really go for high-end BS.. thk working w a budget of $6k shld be alright.

hi icy,
so far, avg BS will cost more than $3k..usually from $3.2 to $3.8k..thk it'll be safe to budget additional $1.2-1.5k for extra photos..this rough figure gathered fm friends' wedding. but of cos' there are extremes where a friend spent additional $3k for photos lah..but not for me

oh btw, me gng down to allure later after work to chk out the gowns..

duffy - yah with a budget of $6k, you are quite safe .... i haven't even thought of my budget yet ... terrible right ... thought of going around to check things out first then work backwards .... worst case, if really budget cannot take it but i am so in love with whichever BS ... hehehe ... then shall go cajole either FH or my parents to 'help-help' a bit ... hehehehe

fates - dinner or coffee is also fine with me ... i think it will be fun for us to meet up and put a face to the names

Icy! Great but I reckon it's gonna be easy to gather so many people! Hee hee...

Icy what show are you going this weekend?

Dinah ~ Great! When do you girls intend to meet?

touraco ~ opps then you betta concentrate on your thesis. It's more imp

ssmilezz! jelly, anna, Claire? jitpong? you there?

Jitpong ~ eh, i've another silly qn. If my AD photograpy is actually just 1/2 day event..cos no dinner hor..u think it's going to be cheaper? Cos i realised that most photographers don't care how long the AD is, it just depends on how many rolls taken. True or not? *blur*

Yah, will keep all your advice in mind..ARIGATO everyone!!!!
Probably i'd prefer a MTM teadress or OTR also can.....

Oops..no one told me wat's the norm (no of pics) given in a normal BS package yet.

I don't really like KUA. CS maybe..if i can carry it off yah. I don't look very chinese. FH and I have been erm..mistaken as non-locals or malays. hahaha....maybe cos my family side has pernankan history ba...

Fates ~ yo..good idea...i don't mind. as long as we can find a suitable day hor....kopi also can..me not kopi drinker but can drink tea. hehee...

woman, u be the organisor yah? hehehee...

touraco ~ if that's the case, better work hard on your thesis. When is it due?

fates ...anytime is fine with me except first week of april - i am away in india from april 1-7 ... how about after that?

ssmilezz - you peranakan too? me too! and FH too

Hi fates,
I will be going for facial at 11.30am, then go Hotel Intercontinential at 3pm, then go pan pac setup at 6pm.. heehee maybe can see the bridal show at suntec in between. hahah pack hor.

Sunday going for a wedding dinner at "Dai Sheng", think it is a restaurant at chinatown.

Hi ssmilezz,
Seemed to be the norm, I see that BS offer photos between around 20 to 24.

Am I right, girls?

icy ~ really arh? 20- 24 is enuff to fill a normal album right? me going to eat tim sum on Sun morning at Hong Xin (Red Star) u guys been there? it's an chinatown side..very nice and authenic tim sum. The ah sums & aunties still push those traditional carts around....fh & i will have to chase around for the food we want to eat cos we too kan cheong to sit down and wait. haha. Wah...u really very busy!!!! :P Go go go!!

Dinah ~ yup!! My mom's side lor...my mama (grandmother) speaks mostly english + malay. Only a little bit of dialect. :P My grandfather too. hehee...

Yah, think we can meet up in Apr?? So we can have enuff time to arrange yah?

Which part of India are u going? I've been to Ceylon & Sri Lanka before. erm...food was wierd. :P hehee..but quite different.

I think your job is very interesting!!
Must pay well with all your overseas allowance yah? Does your FH travel too?

Didn't hear from Cookies Gal today hor....jellytots is on holiday issit?

Hi Duffybuff,

I checked out Shangrila Rasa Sentosa, yah it's $50 per pax. But the package is too comprehensive for me leh... I don't need wedding cake, hotel accomodation etc leh... It'd be funny to have all those things twice right!! hehe... I'm just looking for a simple solemnisation like Catura's. Simple, relaxed, get together dinner with a few close friends & relatives kind of thing...

Catura, Wahh I like the idea of solemnisation as the sun sets... SO romantic! I want bonfire too!! So how did you make all the arrangements?

touraco ~ what course are you pursuing now?
we can always arrange to meet up after the April 15th depending on which day is easier for everyone. hee....

Hi ssmilezz,
I think at least 24 for album, some BS says 20 photos give u then when come to selection of photos then tell u at least 24.

normal BS offer u 20 to 24 but u can fight for more mah.. once u have not sign. almost everything also okie one.

ask for those 5R album, father jackets etc. some even want those 2R or 3R min album.

I been to Hong Xin before, long queue during the sunday mornings, but their dim sum consider quite cheap and good.

Hi fates

I am alrite with kopi or dinner any weekday except Thursday, have Yoga lesson.

Hi ssmilezz

Some BS offer between 18 to 22 Photos depending on the size..15R or 18R

As for the AD photos..i thk they are based on the rolls of films they took..they dun care if you are half a day or full day...but i thk still can negotiate...but i know definitely that if your AD and Dinner falls on different day they will charge extra

smilez ~ same lah ... FH's side, his aunties and all mostly speak only english and malay ... that's it ... and my malay is so non-existent ...

i think april should be fine ... possibly mid-april ... what do you guys think? maybe we should do a poll like who will come? dinner or coffee? preference of day and time? fates ... you there? we have nominated you as organizer .. hehehe ... so you figure out lah

I'm going to New Delhi only ... and this is my first trip to India and have been hearing horror stories already ... a bit scared actually ...

Actually i don't get overseas allowance ... company pays for flights, hotels, all meals and all transport while you are overseas, which we will sign on the corporate credit card ... so i don't end up having to pay out of my own pocket in that sense lah ...

No FH doesn't travel much ... he's the one who has to constantly send me and pick me from airport ... hehehe ... i usually do ask him if he wants to go with me ... so he only has to pay air ticket ... but he doesn't follow me that often ...

hi anna,
it's from a UK uni...the centre in singapore is called AEC at market street. it's pretty expensive....it costs me $22K

I thk Jellytots is on leave today....heard she mentioning something like that..

yap agreed with icy..negotiate more before you sign up..but i thk only work for those BS..high end bridal boutique will not give you extra photos cos outsource and father's jacket

hi fates,
me no problem w meeting..since u guys hv seen my face from my rom photos..nothing secretive haha

hi ssmilezz,
ya 20-24pics is the norm. but definitely not enough to fill 1 album. cos' 1 album usually range from 25-40 pages..& of cos' some pages u migt want to include more than 1 pose so definitely got to develop more.

oh just went to hong xin 3 wks back for dim sum..if u really want to go there better go super early cos' crowd will come in ard 9+ on Sun..& it's super crowded after that..patrons even walk to the carts to help themselves cos' they can't wait for the carts to come..hahah cos' the carts never come..it'll be empty by the time they reach u.. go on Sat it's better, & still must go early.

oh, jus news from boss tat i've to go thailand for work on the 2nd week of april fm 5april.

Hi anna,

I think i will DIY myself, or get a colleague to help me with it. Cos I am in the designing company. I saw one very nice website with photos and rsvp one. My designer colleague say going to help me to FOC.. I am so happy.

This is a sample one, I have but cant seemed to put the link here.. anyone interested to see i pm u. It is a flash site showcasing all the photos u have as well as RSVP.

Yo people! ~

seems like after 15 April would be better. 1st week April, Dinah & buffybuff will be outstationed too. hmm...yah, think will leave it to fates...hehee...i have to attend gym twice a week so gotta tell me when hor..

Icy/buffybuff ~ yeah, gotta go really early else all the good stuff will be taken up really fast. But one thing i don't like abt hong xin is...it's very noisy and i will walk out of the restaurant smelling like a tim sum. hair very smelly..:P

yeah, sometimes u get a lousy table (stuck at some ulu corner), the carts don't even reach you....heeee....

duffybuff ~ i didn't know the album has so many pages..aiyoh....

your job nature also requires travelling?

Dinah ~ are u going alone or with your colleagues? Just be more aware of your surroundings ok? Will you have access to internet over there?

sama sama, i notice that a lot of babas/bibis speak more english yah...have u thought abt wearing a sarong kebaya for yr wedding? :P

touraco ~ Your MBA is really expensive. and i'm sure you worked really hard too. Jia you jia you!!

Thanks gals.....you guys are great man..i ask one question, get so many responses almost immediately. heee....i will keep in mind to bargain and bargain. Just very worried cos i've never really bargained well. :P quite chin chai lor...

hi icy,
how to check if u got messages?
i go to click on the check new messages link and got a whole list of search items and that hang my explorer and i have to restart my explorer

ladies - so what say all of you to meeting up in mid-april?

smilez - it is a group of us heading up there for meetings .. so luckily won't be alone ... hehehe .. don't think i have the guts to head there along lor

i'll have internet access, but don't think will get to talking much on the forum except for after work in the evenings and india is 2 1/2 hrs behind singapore

i will be making a kebaya for my tea ceremony ... fmil is taking me to some old bibi to do the designs for the embroidery for the blouse and she's making a pair of beaded slippers for me ... so i didn't consider tea-dress, or kua or CS

Hey touraco ~

u will receive an email! It should be that email which u registered with. PM is useful if you don't want to erm..leave your email here lor..:P

touraco ~ no lar...not so "advance" lar..hahaha...:P did u check your email to see if your PM work? i test test and PM u now...

Dinah ~ luckily, u are not alone.
not so bad hor...would be quite an interesting experience.

Really? i was thinking of a kebaya too..but wonder if i can carry off the look.
Any idea where is the place your FMIL is bringing you? Is it very expensive?

I think my mama would be interested to make new kebaya & shoes. Her feet are tiny..size 4 i think. hee...

smilez ~ hehehe .. i did ask FH to go with me to india, esp since i had to stay over a weekend .. so we could go see the taj mahal ... he absolutely refused ... sigh ... but quite true, luckily have other people going with me.

i think it is relatively easy to carry off a kebaya ... or at least i think i look better in a kebaya than a CS .. i look quite funny when i tried one on previously ... hehehe

not sure where FMIL is taking me too .. but i suspect it might be quite costly ... cos FH told me that it will take about 3 months to get the whole kebaya ready because of all the handiwork .... they haven't told me the price yet ... but i am putting aside money for that lah ...

but i think you can get pretty decent kebayas and shoes around ... for about $500 total if i am not mistaken ... the shoes are expensive because of the bead work ...

Wow me gone for a short meeting, and I gotta read the archives from where I left.....You ladies are really power chatters .

So I kenna 'arrow' to be organiser ar? *pout*

So confirmed after 15th so that we can meet touraco right? How about the 16th April after work? EEErrrrrrr meet in town okay? ??

i'll go chk my mail now ...

those of you gals who want to make kebaya - go check out the anything under the sun forum - there is a posting under a place to share rom photos etc.... there is a gal there call athena. she has a lovely red kebaya,,,can find out fm her wher she did it..sorry me not considering cos no peranakan roots.. all my indo relatives will think i am mad if i do so.. haha.

you gals hv peranakan roots? yr side or fh side?