(2005) Brides of year 2005

jellytots77

Hi jitpong..... my BS is at Tanjong Pagar.... call Paris XXXX also cannot remember.... hee hee

So anyone have hear of the BS that I sign up with.... me also sign out on impuse.... and its the one and only BS that I go during the exhibition.....

so worry that it is not good.... cos no one seem to have mention abt this BS.....

BTW can anyone tell me what is GHA and TWP is.... me bery mountain tortoise....

Hi ssmilezz and Ling...

no lah, u gals won't be the last one...
I think i'd be the one... no AD in sight yet... hahaha

hi starzy gal *waves*

icy

Hi, jellytots77
I have one at fu lu shou complex, pm me if u interested. $80 for an chuan, guo da li and weddinng date..

GHA is Golden Horse Award, TWP is The Wedding Present.
Anyway, I heard bad comments of Paris XXXX, 2 colleague went there.. ehem not very good comments from them.

Hi cookies_gal,
Yes, I am looking at venue now, in fact been to Sheraton already, will be going for Pan Pac tomorrow and Hyatt this sat for the bridal show. Should be looking for more. How abt you?

Hi Fates,
the same fates as in the one at FBO. :D

ssmilezz

Hi jellytots!

GHA = Golden Horse Awards
TWP = The Wedding Present

If you are a mountain tortise, then i must be mountain turtle. :p hehe..

Go check out your BS name lar...then post and see if anyone knows..hee...cos maybe everyone else also can't remember the name like you.

:D

Don't worry abt your BS not being happening!~ you be the ONE to make it happening okie?

Ling ~ okie, will keep you in mind. If you need company to kaypoh around BS next time, also let me know!! I will be happy to join u if u don't mind and if our timing is good enuff for both of us.

Wow, the designer name very happening boy..staniel? Sounds like stencil...or maybe a hybrid of Stanley + Daniel? = Staniel?

jitpong ~ Yah, true hor..my FH got strange taste. He doesn't like me in tube top, dunno why, to think i work so hard on my arms + shoulders ok? :D haha... DUH!! But i will *physco* him...*evil laughter bhwahahahahaa* Remember my super powerful physco skills?

Huh? Cannot "goes stan" and have to make U-turn when you are walking in the train...mafan mah...erm..how abt a shorter train? :p

So that's what you want your future WG to look like~ Ok wat...if you never try such a sweet looking gown, you'll never know if you can carry off that look!!
Maybe you can try OTR to get a feel first lor...

Actually, i didn't watch any episode of the Trisha's wedding. I find it very kua zhang, everything is done more for entertainment sake. But it's nice to have a theme hor..

jitpong

Hi jellytots

I know your BS, it is Paris de Brides rite? i think there is a thread about this under Boutique...you may wish to check it out...

I thk my Everbliss also very new in this thread, seem like I am the only bride with them...

GHA is Golden Horse Award Bridal Salon and TWP is The Wedding Present..it is a bridal boutique whereby only the gown is by the designer, they do not have inhouse photographer, they only tie up with few external photographer.

So which month you plan your AD to be in?

jitpong

Hi ssmilezz

hee...my hb dun like me in tube top too, he say i got broad shoulder and flappy arms shoud hide all these shortscoming instead of showing off them...but i managed to psycho him to accept it cos the last time i try on few bustier, it seem ok ...but still have to work on my collarbone and flappy arms....of cos i compromise with him too...promise to wear a halter neck for my EG...

When you wear the gown, it is so lovely that you forget about the mua huan and in fact think that it is worth it....if still feel mua hua maybe you can try the ball gown...

heehee think when i go for my 1st appt, should try some ball gown to see the effect.

ssmilezz

Angela ~

Me also no AD yet! *high-5* Let's see who'll be first among you, me and ling. Cos seems like only 3 of us still not decided on anything. hehee Hey i replied to the other thread. *wink*

jitpong ~ eh you still not getting your beauty zzz yet? Think this will be my last post for today. Damn tired after gym today. The silly instructor was so super siao on!! ARGH!!

haha..my FH also says my shoulders too broad. DUH~
I mean, i can't choose what sort of shoulders to have right? :p haha...

Ahh,he likes u in halter issit? So funny...my FH also prefers halters. But i rather wear a tee shirt.
more comfy mah.!

I don't think i like ball gowns. My backside is big enuff already..er...think the puffy effect won't look too nice on me. :D

Yah, when you go for your 1st appt, must try ok??

DOn't worry abt your arms. There's more than sufficent time for you to tone up. Can do some simple exercises at home.
Or check out http://www.shape.com There's some exercises that you can do there.

Why don't you start a Everbliss thread? Or is there a thread on it already?

greenie

hi ssmilezz,

the name of the designer is stansiel, not staniel.

ling,
dun worry, i wun tell on u... i dun even dare to go up & tell him got pple make such comment abt him... i think he noes lah, its juz his way of behaving, sometimes we all cant help it too.

jellytots, i am gog to PM u after this liao.

hi angela!

greenie

hi gals, wah, u all happening here yest ah?

leeds,
i 4got wat izzit tt i hv to PM u abt liao... izzit abt my AD photographer?
paiseh!

catura!
ur 1st fittg in July???? isnt it too late already? my PS is scheduled to b in july leh... not tryg to add on to ur pressure but i think its such a short span of time. r u wkg or studyg overseas now?

ted wu sounds good... i think its a good boutique... izzit exp?

leeds

Good morning all,

Starz, you are supposed to PM me abt the AD photographer...

Catura, me curios too, are you overseas at the moment? I agree with Starz, July for your first fitting is quite late leh. Will take them another 2-3 mths to make the dress, unless you taking OTR? Ted Wu is the designer for Evelyn Tan right? I saw her gown yesterday in the papers, WOW so nice! Bet yours would be really lovely too!

Cutiebear, Can advise me what material is good? I like flowy types, not too heavy, I like the bouncy feel.
So you got the gown then & there at Irene? How does it look like? We are all so curious to see it leh...

ane

Good Morning all

Catura, i didn't take any pics at all!! will show u after my PS

starz, i done the wrist corsages last nite, very nice leh, i like it so much!! will show u the pics tomorrow!!

leeds, I dont know what material is good leh!! my gown is bustier type lor,,, hv to wear can can!! the rest dont know how to describe liao
AH!! u saw the Evelyn Tan gown right?? the bustier one!! mine looks abit like that too!!

jellytots77

Hi icy... have drop u a PM already... T.Q.
So sad that your colleague have bad comment on the BS that I'm going.... btw can help to check with your colleague what are the things that they dun like....
Also understand that u are going to Pan Pac and the Hyatt show... so care to share some good deals when u back next week...

Hi ssmilezz (mountain turtle... heehee).... thanks for your encourgement.......

Hi jitpong... yap smart girl is Paris de Brides.... i cannot find the thread under the Boutique leh....

Hi starz.... received your PM.... thanks

query

Written here quite some time ago, don't know whether anyone still remember me.

Sorry to deviate from all the topics here.

I was currently looking for a bridal shop and would like to make a decision before husband leave for oversea assignment for 3 months. I had visited a couple of them including Ted Wu, Flamingo, jawn, Tan Yoong, Dang and a few others. So far was very impressed by jawn happy ever after and Tan Yoong.

Will be visiting a few more like Kai, Federick, Silhouette and wedding present before making any decisions. Do you all gals have any good recommendations or any experiences with the above mentioned shortlisted shops.

I seems to like everything i see everywhere.

Thanks for all your reply.

duffybuff

hi ling, starz, ssmilezz & jitpong,
i'm back! well had a wonderful time on tue :D everthing went so well...haha jus that i'm a bit nervous..paused 1 sec before i put on the ring on my hubby's finger...heheh

the photos are not ready yet cos' a few friends took them so got to wait for all the cds before i can consolidate them..

Ling, the total bill came up to be ard $2k..the dim sum was good..if u r interested, u can call China Club: Elaine Lim at 68202386

hehe..so next wk onwards hv to start my BS shopping...

ssmilezz

Hey mountain tortise..(jelly tots)

Don't be too bummed abt your BS yah? I always believe in thinking positive.

Yah, maybe Icy can find out more so at least you can be more careful and aware when dealing with them. Don't gana bullied ok?

hello Queenie~

Nice to meet you. I'm quite new here too..

Think the rest of the ladies will be able to help you out, at least those who already signed up with some BS.

hee, think it's common for us to like everything we see, but we can't have all right? so have to narrow down our choices!

What sort of style are you going for? Cos diff BS have diff styles so if you more or less know what you like or have in mind, it's easier to shortlist from here.

Let's see what the rest have to say!

mahjong

Hey all,

When is the Pan Pacific show? Me still looking at place for a lunch function after my ROM.

Duffybluff, where is China Club and how many people go for the lunch??? Is it a buffet?

Matthew

duffybuff

hi hi cutiebear, can share the pic of corsages. interested to learn how to make..

hi leeds, how much is yr package at BZ? need some guideline cos' me starting to source for BS now..

jellytots77

Hi duffybluff.... congrats.... as I'm new here.... so happy for u... and glad to hv u ard

Hi Queeni... welcome aboard to our big family... of bride to be....

Hi simlezz.... what an optimistic fellow u are man.... no wonder u nick urself as simlezzz.... always so happy and cheerful....

ssmilezz

Hi duffybuff!! ~

Welcome back!! hehee..good to hear everything went smoothly yah? Eh, why hesitate when u put on the ring? Kan cheong issit? kekeke..

Yes, we will be looking forward to enjoying your lovely pics.

So guess you will be busy shortlisting your BS now! Are you going down to see some of the BS?

Hi Jelly tots ~

Yeah, have to be optimistic lor..i realised that in life, if only YOU have the power to decide if you want to be happy or not. I used to think alot abt stuffs, in fact, too much lor..so always unhappy and moody. Now, very gan de kai.
heh heh heh...a lot of things are not within our control and worrying will not help at all.

I don't want to end up with wrinkles all over my face. hehee..did i tell you guys i use anti-aging products? kia su....:D

lux

smilezz and jit.. kinda envy you guys. I mean at least your FH tells you what they want you girls in.. Mine.. just tell me do whatever I want.. guess simply I always dont take his suggestion.. hmmm!

ok starz.. goodies no tell the weird designer hor!.. anyway my 'new' aunt went to take a package for a photoshoot.. my mum 'treat' for her wedding present.. She was telling me the gown some rather old and yellowish.. but she manage to locate a new one..

buffduff.. cool huh.. China club I saw this girl.. think is called muffinbear in the forum she had her dinner there and the atmosphere just feel so classy!! You must have been a happy bride!

Hey MAtt.. ever considered Altivo for a reception? ALthough not some great hill lah but rather unique.. MY frd asking for a quotation from there... when she have them I will tell you guys how much it cost.

icy

Hi jellytots77,

Heard my colleague say, they gave them only 20 pcs, so they just select 20 without additional photos. But the people told them cannot just have 20, cannot be bind into an album. Die Die must choose another 4 more. She also dun like the photographer very persistant to his style.

My Panpac appt is postponed to next wed, due to my fh's busy schedule. :"( Hyatt side, I am definately going down this saturday. I think I will also fix an appt with Hotel Intercontinental.

Hi Matthew,
If I am not wrong, Pan Pac show is over.. but they still having promotions on ocean ballroom, u can check it out.

fates

Wah this thread moves so fast!! Back to chat here today, and there alredy a big chunk of messages !

Hello again ssmilezz, starz, cookies_gal, icy & all! Yes Icy the one and only Fates! I can't log in to FBO that's y came here...heheh

Yo starz, you with the Tampines branch too? Same here! My coordinator is Amy......just booked, haven't go for any fitting yet.

leeds

Hi cutiebear,

Evelyn tan's gown is nice! Yours is similar, so must be very nice too... Can share with me the pic of your hand corsage too? Sounds interesting...

Duffybuff,

My package is $3388, got it during their roadshows. I get MTM WG & EG, OTR men's suit, photoshoot, makeup, can't remember what else. But all the packages usually give more or less the same thing lah.

jellytots77

Hi Smilezz.... me 2 sometimes like to think of unncessary things.... that what my FH said abt me.... he a "Le Kuan" pattern.... anything also bo cham.... sometime can not take his bo cham attitude also....
So what anti-aging product u use.... must be an expert on facial product huh.... if so must seek your professional advice man....

Hi Ling.... *Hi Five* too.... my FH also same same leh.... ask him nice or not just either said yes or no.... nvr comment whether where is not nice also....

Wow the way I say abt my FH like he no good man.... hee hee.... say bad things behind his back wait he will scold me when see this thread...

Oh Icy... thanks for asking ur colleague for me.... i believe some BS is like that one... want to earn your $$$ mah.... anyway I still have not went for any appointment yet.... and since I only put a min deposit of $500.... if its really really not that good will forgo my deposit then... cos once a lifetime.... mah
Wow you are bery active search for your hotels... maybe can share with us.... on the great deals... too.... btw when is your AD? Also I have drop u a PM...

greenie

hi leeds... ok i will PM u later yah.

cutiebear,
one corsage for $4 exp rite??? i dunno leh...
but u certainly sounded so excited! send me the pix when its ready ah! u created it out of ur own imagination?

gals, evelyn tan looked so pretty & lovely rite? i think ted wu muz b gd...
somehow i think after all these designers make gowns 4 celebrities, it raises up their portfolio and its more exp lor... anyway she is one pretty lady & i like her.

catura

Hello girls!!

starz,
Unfortunately I am in Sydney atm.. I wont be back until late June and my 1st appt is actually scheduled for 1st Jul.. So I assume the 1st fitting will be ard Jul? Have told them abt my prob and TW said it wouldnt be a prob.. *shrug* Hopefully all goes well.. TW's pricing is kinda on the high side but I fell in love with his gowns so...

leeds,
I didnt know TW was the designer for evelyn tan..! Would love to see the pic of the dress! Wat mag is it in?

cutiebear,
I also want to see the corsages u made!! Can can can? :D

greenie

hi catura, if urs is not MTM gowns, then i think u r pretty alrite. anyway TW understd ur predicament, so i think u r safe.

catura

starz,
Mine is MTM..!! Come to think of it.. My PS is in early Oct.. So that leaves only 4 mths to get my WG, EG & kebaya done.. OH NO *STRESSED*

Which BS are u with? Have u settled your videography yet? I got a quote from 1 that charges me $988. Is that reasonable? Have no idea wat the price range is...

ssmilezz

Hello jellytots!

yeah, i used to quarrel over little stuffs just because i have all sort of strange thoughts going thru my head. Now when i think abt it, i feel like it's very silly of me. :p

I'm trying to take care of my face cos I had very bad acne last time and was seeing a dermatologist for a period of time.

hi fates ~

Yah, this thread moving quite fast hor..hehee....i have to check in here every few hours. :D

ane

will post the pics to u once is ready!! I bought the materials from Spotlight. The flowers come with 3 in a bundle is $2.95 and the ribbon abt $1. So $4 lor,,,

Catura,
Why dont u buy your gown from Sydney?? and have your PS there??

fates

Hi ssmilezz!
Ya this thread v 'hot'! Which month is your wedding? Settle on any BS/venue yet? Choosing a place is a headache....

Yo icy!
Dunno leh.....can't log in from office here. Always got a 'Bad DNS' error....

icy

hi jellytots,
Geomancer stuff, i will let u know tonight, I only have the namecard at home. :p He will giving u timing for Guo Da Li, An chuan and time to step into the guy house. :D

Hotels Side. I have quotations from
1) Marriot
2) Sheraton Towers - Famous for food, but L shaped ballroom, match in is diagonally across.
3) Grand Hyatt
4) Merchant Court
5) Oriental
6) Hilton
7) Hotel Intercontinental
8) Pan Pacific
9) Fullerton
10) Four Seasons
11) Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
12) Marina Mandarin
13) Meritus Mandarin
14) Raffles the Plaza
15) Conrad

MY!! I just realised that I am super KS!! heehee Let me know if u want any. kekeeee

My AD on the 3rd June 2005, is a friday.. anyway must be prepared to have a weekday if u want a really good date for ur wedding. I got nagged like hell by the Geomancer for wanting weekends only.

catura

cutiebear,
I've thought of that but the timing is all wrong... hb has to be back in SG for work from Jul onwards so we wont have time to go back to Syd for the PS.. So we decided to do it all in SG instead...

starz,
I forgot to reply u.. I am not working nor studying.. Just bumming.. :D Accompanying hb while he's here in Sydney.. VERY SIAN ar...

ane

catura,,,,

u called that SIAN,,, woman of leisure leh,, not everyone have the chance ok!!!

since u not working and studying then should have alot of time to plan for yr wedding mah

if i'm u, i sure make my gown there, and have the PS in Singapore lor!!!

hee hee,, just kaypoh ok!!

catura

cutiebear,
seriously.. If I have the choice I'd rather be home in SG with my family.. It's tough to be here alone..

BUT hor.. the gowns here arent really that nice tho.. it's kinda different? They emphasize more on cut than materials and mostly OTR... Oh well.. I dont really regret not making my gown here BUT I really regret not being able to do my PS here.. *sulk* My cousin just recently did his in Brisbane.. SO NICE!! *double sulk* ahaha!

greenie

hi catura,

ermm... then i seriously think its very rushed 4 u leh... can share how much is ur pkg? i am wif GHA, haven settled videography yet.... coz its so exp.. my budget is under $1K, preferably ard $800.

the quote of $988 quite ok... as long as they hv wat u wan, then i think u can take them.. too bad we cant share the contacts...

actually cutiebear is quite right... can MTM ur gowns there & come back 4 PS... its so rushed 4 u leh... wah u so shiok shiok eh...

ssmilezz

Hi icy ~

wow..u really did alot of research man....:p hehee...must be an expert already!!

Hi fates ~

No AD yet but i hope can be in end of Dec 05. I'm not having a dinner so no need to book any hotels or restaurant. hee....

catura

starz,
My package is $5300 (ard there.. cant rem exact figure I am blur sotong! :D) includes MTM WD, EG, photography with Utopia, makeup, flowers.. thats it.. but not including men's suit..
hb VERY reluctantly said "OK" ahahah!

I saw GHA when they had some exhibition in Suntec I think.. they were the very 1st BS I saw! Was quite impressed when that guy said something about french lace!

greenie

hi catura... wow.. tts is a very high end boutique indeed. so will u get to keep any of the gowns?

then wat made u take up TW instead of GHA in the end? hehehe...

cutiebear, i think ur pkg is ard tt price as well rite?

ane

catura,

starz is right, u and yr hubby will be SUPER rush when u guys only start all the preparation during July!! PROVIDED,,, you have finish up dealing with all the other small little stuff!! and come back FULLY for yr gown and PS ONLY!!

i'm having my 2nd fitting on July and PS on Sept leh,
make u kan jiong

the things u get from Ted Wu is almost similar as mine!! so now u hv to go look for Tea Dress, AD Photographer and Car right?? Settle liao??

jellytots77

hi icy..... wow wow you really really do homework man.... can i have the table price only for hotel 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 14 & 15.... as i believe all the perks is the same.... u can PM me on the pricing and the geomancer later.... when u get it.....
Not at all KS cos I also 1 2 start but duno where and how to go abt it.... so pls give me some pointers like calling or via intenet to search
Yap... I also hear the Holiday Inn and CHIJMES is quite a good one.... u can also check it out if you 1

Hi smilezz.... wow so good u got no dinner.... can save the $$ to go honeymoon man... so envy... also wish to be like u but parents 1 dinner leh... so sian...

catura

starz,
Unfortunately no.. we dont get to keep. I think need to pay extra $400 to keep the gown. I'll only do that IF I really LOVE the gown.. else hb say waste wardrobe space..

I didnt try on any gowns at GHA.. But then all my planner's fault la.. hehehe just kidding.. she arranged for me to see mostly high end BS.. SO.. I chose the one I liked amg all of them! heheh!

cutiebear,
U no good lar!! Always make me gan cheong!
BUT then Sept and Oct(my PS)only 1 mth apart mah.. hehehe
Then I'm not so behind.. :D (consoling myself ahahah!)

catura

cutiebear,
Opps me sotong again.. didnt see your last comment..
I got my AD photographer already.. Ray Ong, Photolanguage... tea dress I'm tailoring a kebaya... car we're using our own so settled! heheh! See I'm on top of things.. heheh *sigh of relief*

Are u girls getting bridesmaid dresses? Or asking them to wear a certain colour? I havent quite decided wat colour theme to use...

fates

Hi ssmilezz,
Wow so good no dinner....we no choice cos' hubby's relatives everytime ask when we throwing a dinner..

Icy! So many quotes liao ar!! Can share share? Can PM me number 1, 4, 5, 8, 14 & 15? I have the followings if you want:

a. raffles hotel;
b. M hotel;
c. holiday inn