(2005) Brides of year 2005

fates

Hello ssmilezz!

Ya it's enjoyable to chat with fellow to-be brides here, sharing tips & all

My new home is at Punggol 21. Just finished renovating it and so can prepare for our 'big-day' already! So many relatives had been asking about it, so feeling abit paiseh already

Just signed up with Golden Horse Awards 3 weeks ago at a bridal show....package seems reasonable that's why we took up. I had MTM gown and EG so surfing around to check out the latest design too
How about you and the rest of the gals?

Yes yes I looking for a fengshui shifu too to look for an auspicious date. Luckily my mum and PIL not so pantang

leeds

Hi cutiebear,

Hmmm... Good idea. Maybe can ask my BS for some recommendation. Your AD is 1 day before mine!
Where's your banquet & BS?

ssmilezz

Hi jitpong!

*high-5* you also same age yah? :p So we should be of the same wavelength too...hahaha...It's very hard to marry young nowadays cos no $$$. Unless your FH is super rich or have been working for a couple of years liao, if not, it's very tough hor..

Eh, if your BS is the hardsell kind, then you better don't try soft tactic. If not, sure gana bullied. :p

Where is TWP?

Since you sign up yours already, i'm sure it must be of a certain standard mah.....hehee..."so how? my physo-ing skills working or not"

cookies_gal

Hi fates,

Welcome!
You have the same BS as starz here! You two can share your experiences then!

To jellytots77, ssmilezz and jitpong,
I must call all of you da jie already coz you are all 1 yr older than me.

Jitpong,
Correct me if I'm wrong but my impression is that Everbliss's WGs are the sweet, princess type. Nice! Sigh, I can't imagine myself ever carrying off that look! Too big-size and clumsy liao

ane

leeds,

i booked Pan Pacific Hotel and BS with Irene's Creation!!

and where have u booked yours?

greenie

ALAMAK! since when the thread is sooo active? wait up!

<font color="0077aa">jellytots!</font>
aiyoh, u r not old lah! see all the gals protesting already! hahaha.. yah, u check it out &amp; let me noe if u need my contacts.

<font color="ff6000">jitpong</font>
i agree wif ssmilezz... how can ur BS dun help u wif ur EG &amp; end up u hv to outsource? i wld think its such a failure on their side! cannot! muz make alot of noise!

<font color="119911">ssmilezz</font>
haven gone 4 my 1st appt yet! its this coming sat!

TWP is The Wedding Present.

<font color="ffff00">fates</font>
hands up! i am a GHA bride as well!!! my 1st fittg this week!
which branch r u wif? they offer u any freebies?

lux

cookies.. you same age as me!! heheh..

Anyway Hate the way HDB 'forces' us to get married within a certain timeframe. I mean it is so ridiculous that we are to ROM because of the flat and not because of anything else.. hmmp! Have to do homework for ROM package also incase cannot pull it off to convince HDB to let us till 2006 to do it with customary...

Right now me on 'standby' just incase die die have to get married.. haha..

anyway I pass by Golden horse award in Tampinese every day.. Me stay opposite them only.. See their gowns and pictures very nice..but sometimes hmmm also a bit.. weird.. but FH always remark that the guy like very 'sissy'.. haha I mean artistic ppl are like that one what.. anyway I read somewhere in their forum that ppl travel all the way from Woodlands to come to this BS so must be good lah...

Anyway they will probably be my choice if I am to get a BS... So close to my home somemore..

jitpong

Hi Jellytot

Miss your earlier msg....paiseh huh...to many msg up ther...very luan....

Yap I had went for my geomancer two weeks ago..KS mah...scared cannot booked my banquet...my AD is actually 19 Feb 05. The geomancer give me two dates only 14 and 19..but 14/2 is only 4th day of CNY, so we choose 19 instead.

I am not taking up the package with Pan Pac, cos my friend having hers there two months earlier than me...being a btb, want to be special and exlusive and prevent our common guest having the feeling of revisiting the same place with such such period..so i opt for other venue..Maybe you can attend some of the bridal show at the hotel...they do have promotion then...

Yo ssmilezz..'wee wee'

Yalor, no money to get married muuch younger so have to wait till now but at our generation now, we are still consider young to get married...haha..

Hee..ya your phycho skill very good...feel good after reading your comments....
TWP is actually at Bukit Pasoh Road post war shophouse, very near to Outram MRT station. The
designer, Patrick is very friendly let you try on his gown and not hard sell at all, even ask you to think about his package again after trying other BS.

Hi cookies_gal

ya everbliss collection is almost of those princess type..there are some very kua zhang also...and my co-ordinator say...once a lifetime only...of cos must wear something kua zhang but also nice on bride lah..seem like quite true hor..

You have lost a lot of weight rite? and targetting to lost somemore defintely can fit in.No worries, gal....bride will always be the most beautiful woman on her wedding days...irregarless of what she wears.

greenie

hi <font color="0000ff">ling!</font>

the "goot-lat" person to travel all the way from woodlands to tampines is ME lor!

wah, not bad ah... where did u read tt from? i think u read thru the previous postings rite? hahahahaaha...

the sissy guy is one of my designer!

wah, ur plc really near leh! so envious!

greenie

hi leeds,

we r not scolding u lah... juz offering our advice... FYI, me &amp; cutiebear belongs to the KS type... we like to do our homework earlier! hahaha

cutiebear is right... do the major homework 1st coz along the way as we get nearer to the date, alot of other small homework will come &amp; bother us...

its not true tt AD photography comes wif videography... they do hv tie-in wif videographers but its addn charge lor. in any case, mine does hv this option but its too exp, out of budget, so aint takg tt lor.

hi 5 lah! we same AD!

ask cutiebear, she is very experienced liao...

jellytots77

Wow......... me got so many companion... of the same agesssss..... dun protest dun protest ..... I agree we are all young and beautiful bride to be.... cheers for everyone out here....

jitpong &amp; ssmilezz .... I think i better go and book a date 1st before I can proceed with others things.... will get the contact from u later....

catura

Hi there girls!

Hope I can join u all in this thread
My AD is also on the 9 Jan! Any of you have any recommendations on videographers? Still looking for an inexpensive one

cookies_gal

Wah... getting difficult to keep track of this thread already, but it's fun seeing so many postings here!

Hmm.. if Ling signs up with GHA Tampines, the rest of you GHA brides here must tell your co-ordinators that you all helped them clinch another deal and try and get some freebie out of it.

Ling, you must try to get a good deal out of GHA if you do sign up with them! Say sth like you were recommended by so and so etc. I'm sure they will give way on something one.

I can understand what you mean about HDB..sometimes the rules in s'pore are just so
. Eg, the latest one on the windows!

Starz,
GHA has a branch in Yishun, so how come you never choose that one?

Jitpong,
Yup, must continue to lose weight, then I can wear what I want liao! But think I will not choose a sweet type of gown for my AD still, not my character lah! I believe a bride will look even more striking if she wears something she is comfortable with.

lux

starz *pengz*

talk abt coincidental.. so is you huh.. What bus you take to go to the outskirt of Tampines? haha.. ya me stay across the road blk 932.. my FH park his car there everytime he come over so we always will pass by the shop.. *snigger* as you can see we are extremely KPO!

My FH always 'perform' how the designer behave when he pass by to my frds who are thinking of signing up with the BS.. if I take up a package with them.. I think Die.. sure a lot complaints/ comments.. both from the designer and FH.. coz they probably hate each other.. haha

Ya I read somewhere lah.. me browser only.. lazy to write at times.. hahah

ane

Hi catura,

ask your BS to recommend, will be cheaper.

or u, leeds and starz can go look for a videography company,, and ask for a group discount rate!!

that's what i have done for my bridal car!! i post a thread at SB and gather a few couples and we really got a fantasic discount!!

catura

Thats a really good idea!! But... we'll have to look for a pretty big company then cos I think starz and leeds has the same AD as me?

Other than BS, AD and studio photography, hotel anything else that you all have settled? I also very KS! ahaha! I settled the above in Dec last yr.. :p

ssmilezz

Hello all!! *waves*

WAH!! So many ppl here ~ I read until quite blur liao...:p

Cookies Gal - Eh, so u &amp; Ling are our "mei mei"s.
Eh, i must confess that i ate a lot for lunch today!! Jia lat man....

Every bride will look their best on their big day as long as they are happy! One thing i noticed is, if the bride + groom are so bu fang xin abt everything on the AD, they will end up being so boggled down and will look very stressed. And it'll show in the pics. So as long as we are HAPPY (remember ah, the happiness must come from within....hehehe), you'll look radiant!!

Ling - I agree with you that some of our rules in SG are damn silly. But what to do? We are born &amp; bred in SG already so used to all these restrictions. haiyah...u like those army ppl on open mobilisation exercise. Anytime gana call up, got to rush to ROM. hehee..

What street in tampines in GHA at?

Starz - Yah, i'm also curious. Why you never go to the Yishun outlet?? You prefer the "sissy" designer issit?
just joking hor...no offense..!! Must be very excited abt your first fitting! Have you decided what to bring along ? And who's going with you?

jellytots - Book what date?
I'm a little lost now.

jitpong - oops..nearly missed you out..hehee I am still in the mist of saving up $$ leh. I think i spend the most on food. I just love to eat alot lor....

Since the BS is famous for their princesslike gowns, is that what you have in mind for your WG??

leeds

So many of us AD on 9 Jan ya.

Cutiebear,

My dinner is at Four Seasons Hotel and BS at Bridal Zone. *WOW* You got Irene Creation! I went there to check out their package and I absolutely LOVE their gowns!! So beautiful! Really really tempted to get their gown but the package not attractive, very exp right. Me so envious of you. You already got your gown? Must show me pics yah...

Starz,

Who is your photographer? Can tell me how much?

greenie

oppppsss! leeds, u dun accept PM (private message) ah? can u pls activate it under ur user profile so i can PM u?

silvery

I have yet to look for a bridal shop. Can anyone share with me what do u gals look for when it comes to choosing a bridal shop, and usually how many months in advance must u booked? My AD is Jan 8 2005. Thanks

jellytots77

ssmilezz....... me also getting lost liao.... so many ppl down here......... which means all are prepare to get marry in less then a year....
well my date mean AD....... have to get the AD 1st before I can proceed on ....

starz....... just sent u a PM, please check and revert me then..... btw when is your AD??

greenie

hey gals! tts so funnie! i posted quite early on... now where's my post? *scratch head*

anyway to answer ling, cookies gal &amp; ssmilezz's qn,

intially when i visited GHA, it was in their yishun branch, but since it was juz a recce trip, i din wan to confirm yet as i wanted to look ard 1st. they left me a gd impression and nvr hard sell. subsequently, a few wks later, i went to a bridal exhibition &amp; the 1st booth was GHA. my 2 designers were from tamp branch, thus tt explained why i am wif tamp.

i had considered gog to yishun branch 4 my AD but it will b a diff set of designers &amp; there might b some conflicts since i din deal wif them b4. and since i had my ROM gown designed there, so might as well stay there.

ling, i envy u leh... stay so near GHA...
hey u noe ah, the sissy guy is my designer leh! he is one of the main designers there. guys like tt r usually quite gd... i feel ok wif him leh.

ssmilezz,
my fren &amp; hb will b coming along wif me 4 my 1st fitting...
am not bringing much except 4 my gowns file compilation...

ssmilezz

Jellytots - i also haven't settle any fixed AD yet. Only do so end of this year. :p But i'm taking the extra/advance time to get to know and learn whatever i can from everyone lor....hee

At the rate i'm going, probably be the last in this thread. By the time it's my turn, everyone all left liao.....so sad...

greenie

hi jellytots,

sorry tt i am not able to chk on my PM now as i dun hv access to my email. will definitely revert back to u later.

my AD is 9 Jan.

greenie

hi silvery,

4 me when i look 4 BS< the 1st is budget &amp; comfort. muz b able to "connect" wif the designers &amp; u feel gd abt their gowns. some gals try on their gowns to see if they like it. likewise, u may do so.

if ur AD in jan, then u muz quickly start sourcing liao lor. i am already hvg my 1st fittg this week. good luck!

ane

Hi Catura,

Ya, look for a big company and ask for good discount, that's the way. alot of wedding event company earn big bucks on us, they always find that is a once in a life time thing, so we sure will spend on it!! so is time for us to ask for a good price!!

I have finished sourcing my march-in songs and draft out a tentative guestlist.
KS hor!!

Hi Leeds,
Yes, is the gown that make my FH spend the kind of money on the BS. tell u the truth, i regret lah
not becos of their service no good or what. but cos with that kind of money i can get a package which inclusive of car, AD Photographer, Men Suit and Tea Dress. Cos all these can easily spend addition of $2k. that is why i discourage ala-carta.
I got my first fitting last month!!

Hi silvery,
my AD same as yours!! When i chose my BS, i work according to my budget and also i must like the gown!! go "shop" around, u will be suprise that different BS will pour in different perks!! and try their gown, which is very important, find something u like before u sign up!!

lux

hey smilez... wont lah.. i confirm to be the last one.. thinking of doing mid 2006... =)

actually very useful huh.. come here and get tips.. and yes.. machiam on recall like that.. so when summon come to report think have to do ald..

anyway the 802 GHA is along ave 4.. close to TP...

starz.. I guess the sissy guy must be some sort of designer lah i mean those in this line always like that one what.. But very funny.. sometimes when we pass by in the morning 10 plus can see he standing in front of the mirror.. hmmm i think looking at himself loh.. so FH always so see liao beh tahan..

Ya lucky me... can see all the design every other week when they do their display window..

jellytots77

hi starz... its ok... i wanted to get the contact of the geomancer from you... can email me later loh.... so u have settle on your BS and banquet... so where yours

hi ling.... so good that you can enjoy all kinds of view of gowns any time u want...

hi jitpong.... actually one to send u a PM but I cannot sent leh.... u better check it out then....

jitpong

Wow this thread is super active...my eyes seeing stars already scrolling up and down the page.

Hi ssmilezz

Actually i being dreaming to wear in something very princess..real life not princess mah...so consider lucky that the BS that I sign on impulse (in fact it is the 1st BS I went to) is of this range..phew...but of cos TWP lagi good.

My friend who is with GHA also has the sissy designer and she is very happy with his service, so can say GHA bride is in good hands.

So are you actually start looking out for BS although your AD is end of next year?

Hi cookies gal

Actually i also want to lose weight, planning to wear a bustier WG, designer say must have visible collarbone to wear bustier so tell me must lose some weight to have the effect. I am very short only 1.56m so a little 'ba ba'...luckily my hb is tall if not my dream of wearing a long train will be gone.

Hi Ling
Since you walk past everyday, dun you feel like going in to try their gowns one of these days.

greenie

Ling,

hahahaha, the way u described abt the sissy guy is very hilarious!

yah lah, tell me abt it! make me so envious when u keep mentioning u can see the new designs wkly!

ssmilezz

Yo starz!

We will wait eagerly for your report after Sat yah? So excited for you! it's going to be quite fun yah? Are you the kind who can decide very quickly?

Ling ~ so we will have each other for company yah? If i push back to 2006 hor, got kaki.

I think i know where is GHA already. Yah, u can enjoy their display every week hor, must keep the other GHA's bride posted if you see something nice! hee...:p

hhahaa..i can almost imagine the sissy guy "bio-ing" himself in the mirror. So ai swee hor....like ladies like that. :p

catura

Hi Leeds,

We looked at four seasons as well for your AD. But found it quite expensive..
But i really LOVE the ballroom!

Hi cutiebear,
Not very KS.. :D at least you got those impt things done in advance
I am now trying to decide what kinds of gowns I want... Have u settled your gown designs yet?

For videographer I was thinking of miror creations. Just emailed them for their prices.b

ane

Hi Catura,

i go for OTR WG and EG. cos i'm fussy, and i scared that MTM gown will not turn out to be what i want!!

ssmilezz

hey jitpong! ~

Did u see that The Bachelorette wedding show on TV? Her wedding is really quite fairytale like. She macham like a princess boy..all pink pink and sweet sweet one...

You want to have a longgggg train issit?
I think it's nice..but my only worry is i will step and trip on my way down the church aisle...haha...

U mean your designer said bustier WG looks nice wiht ppl with visible collarbone? So how much weight you intend to lose? not too much okay? Else too thin hor..wind blow will fall down. :D

yah, i'm looking out for BS. But it's all like paper research kind. Will only do the actual leg work (going down to try, see see touch touch) closer to end of the year). But maybe FH may not have time, may need to drag my sis along or who knows i may come here and ask if anyone wants to accompany me!

catura

Hi starz,
U're already having your 1st fitting? That's fast! I wont be having my 1st fitting until July I think.. Hope it's not too late by then..

Hi cutiebear,
U're 1 smart woman I must say... def not fussy!
U think of everything... Need to learn from u more.. :D I think I better have some backup plans should things backfire..

ane

pai sei pai sei,,,,cos i KS lah,, ha ha ha

have u settled yr BS liao?? no need to think of what kind of design u like,, just take 1 day off,, go try as many as u want!! and u will know which design fit u best!!

jitpong

hi ssmilezz

Ya I watch it..that what i have in mind...long train...and with pink embriodery or beading on the train and some on the top front of the gown...very sweet rite...but dunno if my face suitable for that....haha..dun look sweet leh...

Actually if you walk straight ahead you will not step on it, but you just can't goes 'tons' as per usual, have to go around a circle so that you wont step on it...quite troublesome but really very nice...

ya lor he did say that..so now must start to hardworking...Err I think another 3kg more should be enough lah...but no worries even after losing that 3kg...will not fall even if wind blow...unless the wind is as strong as those in Australia.

You can check with your FH if he want to accompany you...in case you choose oredi, he say not nice....my hb say for gown so impt, definitely he has to scan and pass it before i can confirm the design...also siang nou jing....so far when we go shopping for my clothes, it is always he like the design and i dun like and vice versa...

catura

Yup settled! I am with Ted Wu..
I tried heaps when I was looking for BS... So much so I got sick of trying on gowns.. But as time passes I cant wait to get into my OWN gown.. heheh!

I'm not in town atm so I can just rely on my research :D

Where did u get your OTR gowns from?

jellytots77

oh so everyone watch the Bachelorette.... its so fairy tale.... and also X....... but of cos its always girls dream of wedding....

jitpong.... have drop u a PM @@ whether u have receive it.....

Wow all your BS.... seem so happening one.... but not mine man....

lux

jit/ jelly.. I mean walk past lah but the design sometimes is hmmm very avant garde until I think is really ugly.. At times pretty until you feel like going to try... But since still like yonks before I get 'recall' so put on reservist first =)

Starz do me a favour and dont mention anything to the designer aka sissy.. I read back now like super mean like that. He call what staniel or something right? Worse.. even the name so super artistic!

Anyway ya his hair also kinda funny one.. but this kinda creative stuff must this kinda ppl do than is nice one.. Look at David Gan... think is a skill..

Ya smilezz if you wanna go to GHA call me to go along lah.. I can tag along and KPO which all should know by now is my trait *snigger*

anyway the Bacherlotte.. Big budget lah.. however impt thing that the epsiodes teaches us for the past few weeks.. never to go shop for bridal stuff with guys..

leeds

Hi cutiebear,

Yah lor thats how I feel abt Irene thats why I didn't sign up with them. Their gowns are really really beautiful but the package not attractive, and can get more perks with that amt at other BS. But don't regret... I'm sure you are going to be a really beautiful bride.
and thats the important thing!

Starz, I activated my PM already.

Catura, Yah Four Seasons is quite expensive, but FH &amp; I LOVE the ballroom! So no choice lor...
Have you booked your venue already?

ane

catura,

i booked with Irene's Creation!!

trying gowns and getting OWN gown is different okie!!! ha ha ha

catura

leeds,
YAH!!! hb and I love the ballroom as well! (opps I said that already right?) :D Can even choose the plates and all.. so nice!

Yup we booked with Marriot.

cutiebear,
U no good leh!! Making me even more excited about my own gown... :D Irene's creation is the one in Delphi is it? The shop window can be seen along orchard road? I saw tis really pretty gown in the window!

Come to think of it, it's so fun that we're getting married in the same weekend!

Actually I am abit confused about something. Is jie-meis the same as bridesmaids? Been also designing my bridesmaid's dresses..

ane

hi catura,

if yr gown is MTM,, then browse through those wedding magazines,, designs are more or less the same,, just copy here and there lor!!!

The material is the thing that u have to be careful about, cos different material will turn out different effect!!

jitpong

Hi jellytot

Which BS did you sign up with...so many pple now also blurred...are you the same who is same as starz, sign up with GHA.

Recd you PM. Will reply you later when i get home to fetch the contact.

Now packing to go home...hehe

catura

cutiebear,
When I was trying on gowns I was so sure i wouldnt like duchess satin and will def go for lace.. But somehow a gown I tried in TW changed my mind.. so I'll prob go for duchess satin..

Your OTR gown have u already got it? What material is yours in? For u to be able to get an OTR gown I'm sure u're very slim! :D I too bah bah cannot wear OTR gowns..

ane

catura,

i dont know what material leh,, ha ha ha,,, cos it doesn't require any alteration at all,, and it look so fitting and slim,,,and the train is long,, so my FH love it lor