(2005) Brides of year 2005

levynn

i saw URS on sale over the weekend... dunno over already or not. now i'm only looking for shoes for my ROM n headache already... dunno how for the AD shoes. btw, do u ladies get the shoes 1st b4 u get the gowns, esp the EG??? or the other way round??

jellytots77

yo ladies... wow pian... come in see war hur... shot here and there.... well come on... our AD is drawing nearer... should not be bother by this kind of bo liao issue rite...

zoe... cheer up... no matter wat... we are still ur friends... truely one... yap... sometimes is really take yrs to know someone character... but once u know it... u should be happy... cos its always be late then nbr rite...

well star... i think tat we gals here hv nothing against u... and we are here to share our experience and thoughts... our joy and laughter... we hope that there should not be any war btw our thread and ur thread... we also know tat tis is a personal issue btw u and zoe... but when zoe share the previous accident tat time... she juz trying to say something tat she feel sad and unhappy abt... i dun feel there anything wrong with tat... its juz tat u are also serving SB forum too mah...

u ask urself... if she juz saying something not mention any names at all... and when we start give comments... how would u knw and will tat bother u... if u are not a regular SB surfer rite... so if u duno... and u wont be unhappy abt it and the following incidents wont happened rite...

so guess tat is alright to hop thread to see wat ppl are doing... but i feel tat is not rite for u to post out the name in the 1st place... cos now the whole world know the incident already lor...

well... we gals here also got nothing against u too... juz feel sorry and sad and unhappy when the bery 1st incident was mention lor... guess tat we shall let the thing be over...

yo gin... gal.... the one doing the wedding list is me lah... alamak.... u PM me the details lor... i will help u update... in the mean time...

joteohl

hi mei
what is ur budget? i noe of a few places that sell what u wan. however, u can do ur pic in A4 size for guest signing. i did it for my buddy las year. i noe of where to do good photo developing. but let me check wif my fren.

mei79

i_bless_u,
i got john at a special price coz my ps is with kelvin. i have yet to tok to john.. intend to tok to him abt it also as we wish to show some of the day photo during the dinner.. we think that one no problem lah.. as for the dinner highlights, will need to check with him.. my FH quite keen on the idea also..

i got him for photo, not video.. dun think they do video

jessp

Hi Vivi,

Yup.. we'll say hi to each other on 8 Oct! I'm on the ground floor ballroom. Where will you be?

Hi Wendy

MM's reno will start from Apr - Jul 05, now is reno for the shopping complex area....

i_bless_u

mei: Btw, i got my consent form back last fri!

fifidoog

hey jelly & cu2nite,
yah i agree lor. HEY girls! look, this is a site where we come together to share our joy and information. personal attacks and petty bickering should not be conducted here lor. take it among yourselves.
zoe,
have nothing against you. just relax and let it pass.
STARS,
please. if you damn buay gam buan then you take it up with zoe personally. dont come here to contaminate our site. i'm sure none of the girls here wish to read about this kind of personal issues between you 2. best you go back to your Oct05 thread and post your petty shit there. GET IT?!

claire_liu

According to my parents and ILs, they'll settle the tabling and RSVPing etc, so we just confirm our friends. According to previous family weddings, usually the wedding family will call the invited guests a few times to confirm and remind, all the way up to 2 weeks before the AD. My restaurant said they can make individual servings for veg, so not so big a headache. Only thing is gotta pay extra lah!

Just got my honeymoon plans cut short...FH's leave rejected coz of a project he has to head. Sianz, esp since I've approved my leave. Now also dun noe how. Hopefully still can take a short break. Initially wanted to take 10 days. gotta try and see if he can get 5 days.

seval

Cool it Gin!

Well, this forum and our Sept thread is a place for sharing for all happy brides, not necessary just the Sept brides, anyone is welcome here. However, we do not welcome any "intruder" who comes in to attack. Anyone is free to read any threads in the forum and is free to post too, but for a friendly purpose.

Since we all know that the "Cheapo friend" is Stars, we'll just call cheapo "Stars" from now on. She doesn't like subsitute names.

Ok, let's keep our thread free from quarrels & always a friendly one for sharing.

lynn_

eh coyote u didn't get your fushia organza huh? i tot u wanted the fushia one.. i damn bo liao, wan to do up the dumb railings near the recept area, but i kno i no time and no mood to do it lah...

still got AB box to wrap... tomorrow my gerfren's ROM, i'm bringing her the rose petals from the roses i bought last friday from far east floral. the flowers managed to last and bloom very big cos i bought the flower food, cheap at $1.70 for 20 packs... i just prepared the petals last night (i tried and 2 days in fridge ok, end of third day looks not fresh liao), very easy to prepare. did my 20 roses in less than 10 minutes...

coyote

After some tot, worry too much fushcia will spoil to bali look so tot ivory in the end. And heng took ivory.....very nice n suits theme very well. So how, u still wan ivory drape? Huh wat railing? Got a staircase where u come down to the recpt ah? Railing very easy to tie. Ceiling more work.

Bravo Lynn! On the diy part....

lynn_

9K including the BS huh? ok leh...

i dun even dare to start the calculation. angry with one gerfren, she say dun wan to bring her hubby cos "he doesn't liek to attend weddings", not as if it's a funeral lor. and she invited my hubby then-boyfriend and we both went. later she add somemore tat she dun wan to bring her son too cos must give ang bao for 2! and she invited us to her son's 1st month and 1st year birthday too. although hubby both times working but we still give for 2 persons! where got so buay zhi dong one?

she's my colleague lor, and one of my colleagues couldn't make it and my gerfren asked me if the guy give me $8 AB can or not? i was like'WAT? u didn't hold a wedding before meh???? $8 AB is AN insult. i'd rather not get anything!" i said huh? and she say should be ok rite? since he's not coming to eat anything at all...

throughly disappointed, she has selective memory loss. last time asked me to help with her rsvp for our colleagues, now i asked her to do the same she said "need to ask who's coming meh? no need lah, agar agar can liao"...

i very disappointed with some of the people around me, but at least this whole weding business lets me have a clearer picture of how some people really are... another 2 gerfrens very supportive and i'm really grateful for having true frens like them

Hi cu2nite,
Your first case, I dun understand.
Your 2nd case, usually is groom pick bride, go groom's place for tea, go new house, go bride's home for tea.
And im absolutely fine! :D

Hi Jelly,
Aiyoh..already finished the 'war' liaoz la..not war infact....

Aiyoh, can gif u here or not..lazy to PM leh. :p Wat info you need? :p

Hi J Tan,
Actually I wanted to invite stars over to chat..since she has been following our thread ma...but din noe she take it so personally then start to msg Zoeanne. Guess its not easy being nice rite? Anyway dun be so pissed off ok?

Hi Seval,
Im ok..and fine! And I really admire you for the way you present your thinking....hahahaha.. :p

Hi the rest,
We are fine...like I say...lets continue our sharing session ok? ;)

vivileow

Hi Jovia,mine shd be 2nd floor, Orion room. The 5th floor ballroom taken aready when i went to view it. Hope the new revamp MM wil b impressive.
How is your bridal services? ( i kno yours is Y creative)Me yet to source one, hope can settle it b4 CNY.
BTW have OCT brides tink of the place for honeymoon?

coyote

Ya lor Lynn, I oso tot ivory not ur theme color. I shall use them to wrap up my boys as drag queens...wahahaha...siaoz

Hmm...ur colleague really one kind leh. Nvm lah, see her true colour den next time u know who is true to u....

Btw, anything u need my help?

claire_liu

I havent called the wine contact yet, but was looking thru the wedding banquets topic. Under 'wine' and 'wine under consignment', the posts do have quite a few contacts. Can try having a look there.

Was told by mom that the contact has to charge GST, so not sure if want to get from him. The wine is Jacob's Creek, but $18+. Dun think I want to spend so much on wine for my guests
Now me also looking for alternatives.

fifidoog

hehe, yah lah. just dont like pple doing this type of attacking on a site like this lor. very irritating to read this kind of nonsense mah. damn waste time one you know? anyways so your AD 18 sep hor? same day as me!

zoeanne27

Hi Jelly

Thanks for that. I appreciate and we are true friends always. Thanks ger.. Kiss Kiss

Hi Jtan
I will let it pass..for someone who not worth me to think about...Thanks..

Hi gers of Sept Thread.
1st of all, I apologise here sincerely for causing the RUBBLES here.. Right! We are not here to argue but to share..

OK! no more about that unhappy incident...Of course, girls from Sept thread can also share unhappiness and happiness...cos we are truly & sincere friends here..

Hi Gin
I would like to announce a huge thanks for you...
Kiss Kiss too

Hi Seval
U so cute...

Hi cu2nite. thanks for ur caring sms

ok.. answer for 1)
Yes. I heard of. But hor, u said elder bro not married. how come elder bro got wife and still need to hide?

I heard that normally when brides arrive, MIL will not come out to greet her until brides enter the bridal room. Then as for elder bro not married, he cannot see the younger brother or sister get married and need to hide..The younger bro or sis stil have to go under the elder brother pants ( not wearing la) just pants hang up on the door frame..

I heard all this from my MIL. Thats why we are being rush to marry b4 my hubby's sis.. Hear liao abit crazy.. but no choice leh.. xian..
Hee hee

2) I thought suppose to go back to own bride home after groom side? Of course, in between u can go for some photoshoot lor..After everything, u can go hotel or go new house of ur home

Oh Ya, my friend maybe can help to buy the tiara.. remember i send an email out b4? anybody wants it?? See if she can help

joteohl

hi i_bless_u

u got mail!
paiseh in meeting for whole morning. managed to replied mei during a short window before lunch. so u got reply fr JP David Loh? great!

lynn_

ya lor hor? and all te while i tot she's my buddy in the orpi... nevermind, next time i know liao so won't kena eaten up by her again :p

thanks coyote, s far nothing yet... except maybe the old trick of hammering me on the head?

zoeanne27

Hi Jtan

Ur AD same as me..
Gin 's AD is on 11Sept...

HI cu2nite, forget to add on..
Actually it is up to individual on the sequence.. but 1st groom place and ultimatly must go back bride home for tea ceremony..

Hi J Tan,
My AD 11 Sept la! :p
Change liaoz..ehhehe..BTW I like ur character! :D

Hi Krisjon,
Erm..we got a number of BS here..hehee...Mine is Jess Haute Couture.. :p

Aiyoh Zoeanne,
No need la! :D Ya lor Cu2nite also confused me! :p How many bros?
Tiara ah? I like tiara..but dunoe wat image i wan for my gown too...erm...can let u noe later? :p

wtan

Hi JovialGer...oic, i thot the reno starts liao coz the place is kinda "blocked" due to some reno, oh, so the reno is for the shopping complex...thanks for the updates!

Hi Stars & Helen..so shall we meet at 6.45pm next mon at Bedok MRT station control to go for the trial?

coyote

why hammer u ah? Oh...to kill u huh? Hahaha...after I realised wedding is such a wonderful experience, I wouldn't rob u away frm this experience ;)

Commented!

sun96

hi wasabi

e outing details...

Outing for Nov 05 Brides :

Date : 28 Jan 05 (Friday)
Time : 7.00pm
Venue : mySecret Garden
161 Middle Road Singapore 188978

1. little_ger
2. sun96
3. sashamama
4. Akemi
5. impulse41
6. Jen_bibi

vela

icy, not yet, shld be after CNY, oh, no, with all the goodies, sure put on weight =P

jelly angel, MIA so long, where hv u been? chosen your gown yet? when yr PS har?

little_a

din post for quite awhile.. went for my first appt yesterday and have settled my WG design.. 1st fitting is on 26 Mar =) Today will be going down to TY to take measurements for my EG. After CNY, i will have my first appt for CS.

fifidoog

zoe,
hehe. i remember yours lah. just wrong on gin's ;)

gin,
ha tankupe tankupe. yeah well, i'm like that. i just say what i think/feel lor.

sierra

cu2nite, for case 1, i've heard of that. the elder bro will have to hide in the room first when the bride comes into the hse

case 2: like the gals have said, as long as u do both tea ceremonies, the location probably wun matter. usually couples go back to their own place before going to the bride's parents' place as they wan to switch on the bedside lamp and that they have shen tai at home, so must pray first..

KrisJon: Welcome to the thread
Depends on your budget and needs, there are a lot of BS out there. You will find that some BS are good with their gowns, some stronger with their photography. Some qns that may help:
- Budget
- Style of gowns: embroidery, beading, simple/elaborate gowns, lace
- Photography: looking for all-in-one package or u have engaged external photographers
- Location of BS: tis was a criteria for me cos i think it's better to have a convenient location so that i can go there easily if there's a need
- Service of the BS: are you comfortable with the coordinator/happy with wat you see in the shop etc.. especially if you are going for made-to-measure gowns, u have to be comfortable with the designer

best way to start is to just go down to various BS and see wat they offer. All of us in this forum are using different BS, so we can probably give u an idea on how we find our BS. But ultimately, it depends on wat you want and your experience with the BS.

Enjoy!

eejean

Hi Sweet,
wah! including material? thats quite affordable..me not even looking at lace..just a simple kind for me mums...

got any pictures?

krisjon

HI Everyone...

:Gin,

So far any comments on your BS? Is their service and package good?

: Sierra

Thanks for your advice. Well, actually no budget cos my FH never set budget for the BS. So long I like it and happy. Of course, he does want a BS with good service.:p

For my BS, I am kinda of confuse which one to pick . Having a phobia of stepping in to a BS and the sales coordinator there will find all ways and means to make you sign up a package with them. I had this encounter with French Bridal and Santiago even though I emphasised that I need to consider about it. Moreover my gfs.. so have to get some tips from here.

By the way, are we allow to try the WG in the BS even though we have not sign up any packages with them??

Really need to learn some knowledge from you girls here.

damsel

Hi Cherrios,
I totally agree with you it's better to count our blessings than brood on what we dun or can't have. So where is your parent's migrating to?

sierra

KrisJon: cool! that's a good first step

Hmm, u might want to avoid those type of shops. Try going to this few, all of them allowed me to try the WG before signing up. You should really try their gowns first before signing up, cos only then can u gauge how well their designs suit u. It's no obligation:

- Wedding Present (heheh, i sign up with them)
- Silhouette (good cutting)
- Silver Cloak (if u like simplicity)
- Kai Bridal (Nice laces, a bit steeper)
- Blush Blush
- Dang Bridal (known for their cheongsams)
- Margaret's Brides (MTM gowns only, for sale, no rental. May be the one u want to see if u are planning to keep your gown, and if u like her style of design)

I've been to more, but can't really remembered. Have listed those that don't really hard-sell, so u can feel free to try the gowns. Best if u make an appt with them first before going, so that they can allocate their time for u. I know for kai bridal, you will be the only couple at the shop during your appt so that u can try and ask them all the qns.