(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Dajie, not abt whether it's reliable anot. Juz that they believe the lamp will have to continue the family 'fire'.

Sue, if u getting a lamp, u have to on it whole day (the groom has to on it b4 he leave hse to fetch the bride). Not onli whole nite. My mum said get e battery one better. On till the batt flat. But tat time i cant find a nice batt op one. So got a wired one. Keep it on till next morning then off loh. The pair of lamp still on display. It has become part of the decor. hahaha...

I dun have much assets to hav a will lah. At most I die all goes to my family mah. I dun hav 'si sheng zi' to give. lolz.

Tweety, rem to send to us to view when ur PS photos r out! :D

tweety, so far non of my friends prefered Emirates yet. Some ppl like my Dad or my Mum insist they fly SIA if possible unless no flights available etc to further away countries, some friends also swear by SIA when they go business trips. Perhaps, its our national carrier so in a way its our pride also. You are not Singaporean, maybe it feels differently for you. So far my flights on SQ have been pretty good, think you are really sway cos my mum feels that SQ and BA pilots can land much smoother than others. Tho the standard of SIA has dropped (in terms of the appearance and attitude of the attendants) over the years but its still one of the best in the world. Generally, the attitudes of the stewardess towards customers are still gd, its the working attitude that made us feel that the standard has dropped cos nowadays I am not saying all but most of the new stewardess now has this attitude that it is a job not a career. When my cousin (now 40+) and ex-boss were in SIA about 20-30 yrs ago, they really want a career out of it but not the ppl now, to them its just a job that allows them to see the world, so work few yrs, see the world enough and can quit ald. Maybe also becos the demand for flight attendants are also higher, thus employers also cant be too choosy nowadays cos supply not enuff. I can feel that cos I am a Singaporean and I have quite alot of ex-classmates, friends who are in SIA now as well as relatives and friends who were in SIA last time.

To me nothing is more scary than Garuda, took once to Bali when I was a kid, so scary! The flight was delayed and I have rash from the seat , my parents suspect its the seats nt clean got bugs, I won the lucky draw air tickets, else we wouldn't have fly by the airline at all. China airline is quite gd actually, its a taiwanese carrier tho, I took a flight to hongkong b4 or was it taipei I cant remember. http://www.china-airlines.com/en/index.htm

For me, the most unpleasant flight experience I have is on Tiger Airways recently not becos of the flight attendants, airline or wat-so-ever. Its because a stupid passenger tries to pick a fight with my hb, he refused to let him go over to the other cabin to take my mum's luggage. Ask my hb to wait till everyone leave then take cos the uncle very kiasu, dowan to leave the aisle, scared he will get off the plane 10 secs later than other passengers!

Aeris, I dowan wanna have kids lei, so maybe I shld go n get lousy lamps ahahah! Better nt let my mil/hb hear abt this. My god-ma told me must on whole nite, cos I tot its jus on when i reach his hse. Oh my god, the lamp cant be the deco, its so eeky ahahah cos my mil will start to put the cheena fengshui thing in the room, maybe i go n get the modern kind n we can use it next time in our new place.

aeris,
i really wont knw if my sil had the lamps or not caz i din go to her place.But the candles were at mine.

Wow sue,
wat a long post!Thx for loving mr sia so much.
I din knw CI is fr Taiwan.

I guess many newbies feel tt way caz there r not much prospect in this dept.Chances of promotion is VERY low when the edu criteria has increased.They will join caz many dont wanna be desk bound or they r doing pt SIM degrees etc.Basically,this place is jz a stepping stone for them.U knw,see the world for a few yrs.Hoping to hook some rich man & get married.Typical.If not,then jz continue til something better comes along lor.
As for me,i had enuf of childcare so anywhere is better.Who knew i wld be here for so long either.

Bear,
I saw MEWR's ad on 2day's ST,was it "YOU" on the ad???

Queenie,
I've make an appt wif the Osteopath this afternoon.Hope it will relieve my pain.Hve seen some flight attendants set up their own business in beauty line, mayb can consider having ur own business too? Europe is a place I wanna to go.Paris & italy is the place i like most. Eventually my hb planned a holiday trip to europe last dec but i was preg. Hopefully this year able to go w/o my baby to have our 2nd HM.

Sue,

I fly wif UA,SQ,Cathay,China airline,Garuda,Sardinia, japan airline,Pakistan airline before...The airline i like most is UA and Cathay - nice food & gd service. The worst airline i could vote is Paksitan & China - cramp seat & food not nice at all.
In older days , Kerosene oil lamp was used for the wedding. When times change... battery lamp had replaced.I rem mine was turned on when I returned to my lovenest after my hb fetched me.It was switch on till the battery flat.

Rachel,
which osteopath r u gonna see?Hope u'll feel better soon.
Yeah my cols r very enterprising.We'll see when the time comes.

It's very interesting to knw how diff ppl rate their fave airlines.
The food really depends on the station u r flying fr.Caz there r so many diff caterers.If u get hot food,tt's pretty gd already when domestic flts in US,all u get is a pkt of pretzels for over 3hrs flt.

Hello!!

Dajie, ya i will enquire abt the organ donor thingy... see how..

Tweety, i think its personal preference ba... Emirates only gain recognition over the recently 5 yrs.. even so, SIA is still considered one of the best... No competition not gd also.. anyway, as Dajie mentioned, SIA got the exclusive rights to fly direct so other airlines have to have cheaper tixs to win passengers over. those who dun wanna pay more or can't afford to pay more will take other airlines lah...

I didn't know i was so inspirational, inspire u to wear bikini for ur PS too. must show us hor....

Rachel, ya its my face on the ad... i only knew they were using my photo on Sat... i think i look like an aunty in that photo!!! :P so paiseh..

Sue, need not have to get the cheena type mah. can always buy those modern ones which u can put in ur bedroom as night light.

I got no preference lah. I go for cheap cheap airfares... hehehe....

Dajie, realli loh, now like everywhere u go got fren or whoever's whoever is wif SIA or is an air stewardess. I wanted to be one last time, but after my fren said that e job is juz a 'high class waitress' serving ppl on planes, I drop e idea. I dunno wanna be a 'waitress'... (no offence to you k?)
Guess what, she joined JAL last yr to be air stewardess. PEngZ!

aeris,
no offence taken.Those offended will only think they r one.Ppl make generalizations all the time,we cant control others' gaps mah.
I like to think we r general worker eg waitressing,baby sitter,1st aider,fire fighter,safety personnels,listener,cook,baggage handlers,finder,mediators,magician r just the few.Kekekeke!!!!!!

bear,
the organ donation is jz a form u need to fill in then u will get a card.Another useless card to add to ur collection.

Despite wat alot of ppl say abt mr sia,we r alwayz full with waiting list.We fly direct to more than 80 cities in the world,who wldnt take us?

tweety,
why dont u join?We need indo stewardesses.

Cabin Crew Appointments Members

Indonesian Flight Stewardesses
We will soon be conducting a recruitment exercise in Indonesia. If you meet the following standards, we will be pleased to receive your application.

Requirements
Females who are at least 1.58m in height
Below 26 years of age
Bachelor Degree or equivalent
High level of English proficiency
Willing to be based in Singapore
Indonesian citizenship

Training
If you make it through our rigorous selection process, you will undergo about 4 months’ training. On successful completion of training you will commence flying duties.

Remuneration & Service Benefits
Apart from the opportunity to experience various cultures and meet new people from around the world, you can look forward to a total income of about S$3,500 a month, including fixed salary and variable incentive allowances. Plus an annual wage supplement of one month’s basic salary and profit-sharing bonus. You will also be entitled to free travel to any SIA destination once a year and enjoy discounted travel at other times.

Application Details
If you measure up to our requirements and are interested to apply, please visit www.sqcentre.com/cabincrewrecruit for more details.
Interviews will be conducted in Jakarta.

hahaha. sue, then i wont get the lamp liao. i also don want kids. lol. ;) abab... then forget.

hmm... interesting topic on the airline. I am surprise emirates was top choice for your friends, tweety. no offence, but when i was travelling quite a fair bit for business, our first option is always SQ unless we don have an option. same for my collegue and friends.

anyway, tweety, you already book the tickets with one of the best airlines. only cons is the transit time. other than that, i think you will have a safe and pleasant flight. ;)

went for an interview today. OMG. intervew from hell. local company and their process is so detailed.

Part 1: MCQ test
Part 2: short answer questionnairs.
asked questions like, 'what is your expected renumeration and why?', 'how soon can you close a deal after training', 'why do you think this company can is the right company for your career growth'..etc

Part 3: go back, do up a go to market plan for the launch of 2 products and do a presentation to them on friday....

I am seriously wondering if i should do part 3. cos i am afraid they will take my idea and then use it. they have a launch coming up and worse of all, not employ me.

Wah Tea, sounds like an exam instead!! so how? when will u know the results?

We still on the topic of airlines and stewardess ah?

Aeris, some one still has to clean our shit, swept the floor, clear the plates, serve us whether on a flight or a restaurant. i think these ppl are the one that we shd thank.. each time my cleaner comes and clean my office, i will say thank you and give her present/ ang bao during CNY.

i m trying to drink more water WX... thanks for advertising for me...

Oh if u guys bo liao.. i m on the newspapers today.. H11... some ad for my co... hope it doesn't ruin ur appetite!

Aeris,ur fren said that cos she dowan u to ruin her chance mah, kekekeke! There is always 2 sides to a coin. Depends on one sees the job, to my I m just a high-class pa/clerk etc! ahahha. Maybe mid-class even.

Tea, maybe cos we are proud singaporeans kekekek. Anyway, cos it saves time also, fly direct n has city check-in etc.

bear, too bad I dun get to see lei, nvr buy papers at hm.

dajie,cos nt many ppl noe where singapore is, its nt really the chilli crab that ppl noe abt singapore, its SIA. Cos it reaches to the world more often than any other thing last time when technology n communication tools were nt so advanced.

Finally manage to copy some of the selected fotos. Resolution nt really gd tho

tea.. wah the interview so damn scary wor.. still got a research to be done.. wah.. really like exams.. the most i went thru with tests for the 1st rd onli.. Must be a big company huh...

sue,
i agree with u.
Some ppl think Sg is in China.So we're the 1st bunch of S'poreans they meet when they step on board.
When we r in airports walking in our uniforms,some ask if we r m'sians?S'times wonder where have they been all these time?In a cave?I think these r the east europeans.
Then there r those who cant get enuf of us,keep taking pics.These r those who love to do the peace signs when taking pics.

I got my cards ytd ald, its very near my hb's wkplace. Quite efficient, managed to get it 3 working days after we confirmed the templates...Now the headache will begin...Need to do guestlist....

wah tea.. dats really a veri demanding company.. so stupid to haf tis kind of test.. abit wasting of time..

I also dun haf ST, cant see bear face in it.. maybe someone can scan and send us =)

NOw in office.. super sianz.. so secretly surf net..

Ladies... I tink I'm weak... sigh... sick again... gastric not too gd, keep feel like puking. Pls dun say I'm preggy... cos my whole office think I am... I tink it's too early to start the nausea symtom! My menses is not even due yet loh.

Then this morning go see doc. Told her my gastric dun feel gd. she gave me panadol!!! Wa lau... some more waited an hr juz to see her loh!!!

Tea, tat time I took 4 tests! 1 essay and 3 MCQs. I rem one of the MCQ test is on critcal situation analysis. Give u a short passage then got 4 options for u to choose wat wld u do given tat situation. Then 60Qns I'm onli given 30mins to complete! Siao one. Then after that is to face 3 interviewer, the DCEO, Director and HR Manager. It's my most tiring interview sia.
I tink wat u said make sense. Who noes they sum up all the ideas e candidates provide n do e proposal n not hire u all? then e co damn cheapo loh...

Dajie, I'm afraid of blood. Dun dare to go donate. I scare I faint there.....

Sue, tat time WX n I printed the cards way b4 the wedding. I tink a mth after it's done, we then go collect. We still joke that e pack with the dust is ours... hahaha...

Bear, I agree. But TRY 'thanking' e cleaners at Maxwell food centre. I had bad exp there...
It was lunch time n it was packed with ppl. So my col n I managed to find a seat but the table is full with dirty dishes. We saw e cleaner nearby so we thut she will clear them by e time we come back with the food. BUT when we return with our food, the dishes r still there!!! So no choice loh. I stack them up on the tray n bring over to her. Then she scold me!!! She shouted, "Dun give me. Cant u see my trolley is full??!!" I look at her cart, no full loh and she cont to clear other table. Then I told her I need the space to put my food. Otherwise where u wan me to put all these. AND SHE IGNORED ME! So I LL hav to be bad citizen n leave them on the floor near the pillar. Then she shouted again,"Cannot put there lah!!!" By now I very pissed liao. I told her u dun wanna take it wat. if I dun put there, how I eat my food? I ignored her n place e dishes there loh. PISSED.

The 2nd incident is I witness the lousy attitude (again at Maxwell but another cleaner). The lady came back with her food wan unload them onto the table. After that, she wanted to pass the tray to the cleaner. Without warning, the cleaner shouted at her, "The stall is so near, put it back there lah!" Then he cont to mumble to himself, so near oso dunno how to put back, blah blah blah...

I tink i m sick pyschologically, the tot of my best friend in office leaving is horrid....plus my hb's fren gf jus join my co also is horrid. I got gastric pain out of no where

Aerie, Bear.. surely will show u all the photos once it's done...

Bear.. me all along wanna wear bikini, but scare too fat... so me don wanna say anything till i really ready to wear on my PS... my hb also said ok if i really want... so me go take lor.. hahaha... then after c yr PS with bikini, me feel more like it.. hahahaha...

Sue.. me also not sure which airline is good.. coz me seldom fly.. SQ definitely have better space in seat.. coz i sit in other airline before, all v cramp lor...

I saw yr PS photos.. i like all yrs in sentosa beach.. nice nice... how many in total u choose?? top up alot??

Dajie.. me can not be lah... me too short liao.. hahaha.. me the most 155 only.. no bachelor also... it's always my dream to be flight attendant, but i know i cant make it... thks..

tweety> i top up $1.2k, get back all photos in soft copy , selected n non-selected ones. I have 52 selected n edited photos. Those raw ones I dun remember hw many we will be getting ald.

All: i just emailed that company to reject the opportunity to do the presentation. Think even if i get the job, it is not suitable for my character. i spoken with more pp in the industry. they kinda micro manage and i saw a punch card machine in the office.... ehhh. i thou at this level, we don do punch card anymore...

Hoping for a better one.....

tea, gd that u reject them, i dun understand y must do presentation, is it a sales/marketing/publicity job? I went for an interview b4 that requires me to be there whole day the next day for some presentation as well, some marketing job. But more like sales job after wat I heard abt what we gonna do for the interview, trying to get free labour for the day liddat. punch card? now ppl use the access card to track even if they want to. The system can tell when they come to work ald, y so out-dated...... Am sure there are better ones out there for u!

I passed the tests, will get my pay increment n leave increased! Am so happy but means I need to stay in this dumb place for another yr.....

Hello! busy busy for the last couple of days..

Sue, i only glance through ur photos.. later will look in more detail.. congrats, got ur increment!! u sure u wanna stay on?

Tea, orh.. any more interviews coming up?

Aeris, hope u are feeling better... well some ppl will know if they are preggie at wk 3. some ppl claim that they get MS that early too, though i m skeptical. heehee.. abt the service standard, there are bound to have bad sheep around.. we only rem the bad ones, and nv the gd ones.. even i m guilty abt that...

sue: i have no problem doing presentation. do it all the time. just that i have a bad feeling they are going to steal my idea. so not that keen on it.

Bear: yup. got 2 more next week.

aeris & sue,
stressed ah?Are u all eating properly?

aeris,
no need to look at the blood mah jz focus on the fact tt u r saving lives!
My only regret is why din i start donating earlier,only started abt 3yrs ago.If i started say 10 yrs ago,i wld hv probably donated 40 times by now.Well,better late than never i guess.

If i were u,i'll tell the nurse tt i wanna speak to the doc tt i waited 1hr jz to get panadol,r u kidding me?I can be a doctor like tt too!
When i see my co doctors,they treat us like crap so i will tell them wat i feel,ask them wat r they planning to gimme,i'll tell them if tt's crap medication & i'll tell them wat i need.I feel they treat symptoms too lightly,it's very hard to find docs who r really caring these days.

tea,
i din knw ppl still use punch cards.I thot it's obsolete.
I'm so out of touch,i din knw interviews r such terrifying events.

aeris,
in US,japan & australia foodcourts.The customers hv to clear their own trays as in throw the waste & rtn plates etc to a designated area if not the cleaners will tell the customers off.All they do is wipe the tables & rtn the whole stack to washing area.In s'pore,this trend has been very difficult to set.Why does it work elsewhere & not here?Why overseas we s'poreans will do it & not in our own country?

sue,
tt's gd news but r u bonded now tt u cant leave?

tea,
i hope u will get s'thing u like soon.

I'm sure u all knw by now tt fr may 8th onwards,our ap will implement no liquids,aerosols & gels on board.Not even mascara or lipgloss.Can lah but muz be total quantity of 100ml & placed in ziploc bags.Or else u will hv to discard them.Best is to check in lah.

dajie: no lah. not all interviews are like this. this is just one of the interview from hell. lol. more 'i cannot believe this is happening' than scary.

Sue: i just saw your pics. nice leh. i like. your gown is interesting. layered. the back is nice too. ;)

Sue.. wah.. they return all the soft copy to u arh.. not bad hor... but yr photos are nice...

Tea.. interview need presentation one meh?? scary wor...

Thanks gals for the compliments, I only look that pretty once in my lifetime...hehe!

I am not bonded just that if I leave within a yr I will have my bonus being forfeited. Anyway, I shall jus stay n get more exp, my boss said to groom me etc...But I din really bother abt the grooming....I jus wan my bonus, I will be the most senior one after the other 2 seniors left. My sup scared of me now cos there is no one to clear shit left, ahhaha! Things so unconfirm nw, wait till after our wedding settled n see hw cos my flat shld be ready ard yr end also. Must see long term abit.

dajie> lipgloss oso cant? then ppl like me who always have dry lips how...cham... Ok, dun mean to stereotype but Asian treat ppl in those cleaning, f&B industry like slaves. We tend to take things for granted...Jus like in fast food chains, angmo countries need to pay for sauce, whereas here we jus ask for more in case cos we lazy to walk back to get more n customers need to clear own trays. I notice in bkk also the same.....

In city of the sails in kiwiland,it's 4hrs ahead & i cant sleep,so unusual for me who usually has no probs sleeping anywhere,anytime or anyhow.

Been watching too much grey's anatomy lately.Series does things.Sleep deprivation.

sue,
ur PS had the bluest sky.Wat a day it muz hv been.

Well u can bring 1 tube of lipgloss n put into a 20cm by 20cm ziploc bag.Whatever u put inside tt bag has to be less than 100ml in total capacity.Also,if u use a half filled 150ml btl for watever,it doesnt count.U'll hv to discard it.

Clear shit?Sounds like my kind of job.Hehehehe!!!!!

harlow ppl...seems like we r still on the topic of SQ... :p

tea, ur interview reaali seems to com from hell sia...still gotta take tests n do this n dat...so scary...

sue, me wanna c ur pics also leh...can send me? as for ur job, since ur weddin ard the corners den endure abit lor...dun quit at this juncture if not it might b taxin for both u n ur hb...

dajie, me started donatin blood yrs ago but didnt go on a regular basis...there r ppl who told me dat donatin blood is helpin the government to get $$$ from the ppl coz we donate for free but when the ppl used our blood they need to pay for it...is it true?

oh ya...4get to update u all on myself...today me not workin...feelin very tired n no energy...still havin morning sickness n no appetite most of the time...past few days slightly worse coz vomit after eatin so practically its like no eat at all...can onli take small amt of food...

dajie, does the ap apply to all the countries or juz certain places?

Dajie, sun was so glaring that our eyes look like jus a line.....They did some enhancment also, thats y sky so blue

jannie dear, I have uploaded into multiply ald,u can see it ald cos u are in my contacts mah. Yah la, I just tahan abit, now not so bad, cos we change focus ald n the work is more specialised. Hopefully, I get to claim my 1 week marriage leave. Some said its from date of ROM only , some say can claim from banquet date..... Take care

Hey jannie,
when my parents started donating maybe 20yrs ago,they cld nominate 1 person like their mums to hv certain priveledges when they see a doc at polyclinics.My mum got discounts for her hospilisation last yr.Now,there isnt any.One donates cause one does it with a free heart.
I not sure if one has to pay to recieve blood.
Even if muz pay,so be it,if not,many ppl will be dead.
Wat if one donates blood wen he's healthy,to be used when he needs it say during an operation.Muz pay for his own ah?
Maybe wat 1 pays is not the blood but the procedure to transfuse it?

The restrictions applys as long as u use changi ap.

Hey ladies... this couple of days very busy... hardly have time to post...
gg to the zoo later to teach but it is raining! urgh! hopefully it clears up by then...

Jannie, tahan.. part and parcel of motherhood..

Tea gd luck for ur interviews!!!

dajie> the original sky was blue but nt so nice, but they did it very well. My co has marriage leave, thus I wld wanna make full use of it! kekek My hb co dont have.....wanna go honeymoon also difficult, his leave is so little, yet I have so much....

hihi.. been busy to post.. finally got some time to really sit down and read thru the posts.. guess everyone is out since it's a sat. as for mi.. =( din go anywhere.. juz teach tuition and went granny place. hubby working ot lately..

so tea.. u rejected dat co huh.. dun be dishearten.. soon u will be able to get a job u like.. be patient ya =)

sue... mi haven see ur photo.. will go into multiply later =) i will be going for my fitting 2 weeks time.. kinda excited =) my new co oso got marriage leave.. u got to invite the pple there den can claim for the leaves n a red packet =) my ex co marriage leave look at our ROM cert =p so in the end, i gain from both side =)

queenie.. i donated blood on fri =) at my company.. got this donate blood campaign n pple jio mi so i jus go.. initially was veri frighten.. dun even dare look when they testing my iron content n when the whole process started.. everythin went thru fast.. when i look at the bag, wooo so full liao.. 2nd time in my life i donated =)

hiya peeps!!!!!
hows everyone weekend!!!!
Wifey preparing to cook dinner hee hee hee
Organized another gathering to make-up for the one i missed last time. Same place coz feel that the "cooked food" there is not bad but any suggestions are welcome^^

Gathering(Dinner) on 25th April 2007 Wednesday.
Time: 7.00pm
Attendees:
Me and Wifey
Da Jie

dajie, i think most likely paying for the service and procedure bah.

sue, i thought marriage leave is anytime within 1yr from the date you are married(ROM date). thats the policy for my co and its only 3days!!!! you got 1week!!!! wahhhhhhh

bear, you are welcome hehehehe never really thought much of water.....till recently i became really curious juz how much water we need a day. my colleagues say its 10 cups but 10 cups only how much water nia......in army we drank like 5litres a day sometime even hit 8litres!!!! in the office i normally drink 1.4litres hehehe really amazing to find out that most of the pppl are actually dehydrated.....
well its juz one of those day where my curiosity gets the better of me and i will skive during work to read more LOL!!!!

Gathering(Dinner) on 25th April 2007 Wednesday.
Time: 7.00pm
Attendees:
Me and Wifey
Da Jie
Tea