(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

i'm using cylinder cos there is no gas pipe linking to the kitchen. But i think it work out well cos I hardly cook, so the cylinder will probably last me for a long time.

DH: where is your place? I cannot remember from all the posts. :P Can only remember Anna is at the purple flats in JW and Dajie is at JW too.

cherz> dun worry. it depends on individuals not the flat la.

DH> i have been using citygas in my parents' plc and now have to use cylinder gas... need a bit of getting used to leh. if the cost diff isnt great, i may convert to citygas eventually. Yesterday nite, in the lift, i overheard a auntie complaining to her fren abt how she ran out of gas during CNY's eve when she was preparing dinner keke. i also feel that cylinder gas looked dangerous :p

anna> did u see any red/orange rugs? i saw in ikea but din really like it...

am thinking abt gg bali for a holiday and to look for household stuff. hb and i think its quite safe now, but parents think otherwise :p

yup.i am not too pantang.as long as not the previous owner own loan sharks $$ will do.my hb frenz bought a flat like dat n the loan sharks keep spraying paint on their doors...so poor thing.

hey DH,cacphin,joy,
any quotation of yr id to share wif me at [email protected] ?

sue,i dun mind a nov gathering.

supagal, hmmm i saw red rugs but orange dun think so leh... they might have in their color range but didnt display out... have to ask ellyza lor...
u going bali ar me wanted to go there also leh but alot of bombings leh quite scary also... but think go now e price quite cheap leh can consider but safety also another issue lor...

yah cylinder gas will scared out of gas during festive season than no one to deliver new cylinders... last time my mum also kana think during new yr than very difficult to get ppl to deliver... haiz...

yeah, think the problem with gas cylinder is that we don know how much gas is left... so kinda difficult to know when we need to order... mafan...

I went to collect my marriage cert today. OMG, so many pple.. waited for an hour just to get the cert.

Tea,
yr date aso quite hot ah.so everything prepared for yr rom?excited?

DH place is at bt gombak.

yeah goin off wk soon!

Joy,
Do u mind email me those furniture shop tat u been to?? Or know which shop do sell similar furniture as Ritz rymen...I like their things!!

My quote didn't come in today so sad. cos he need to be very specific abt some stuff so will only get back to us on Fri.. me so kan cheong abt it!! haizzz...heehee.. today we went to see custom made furniture... cos hubby thinking to custom make our sofa. see how lah, me more excited abt the reno...

Tea, wah ROM closer and closer liao... how's everything gg along? u must be super excited... heehee.....

DH, where's ur flat ah? u reno liao??? Taking ur PS soon right? when??? post some pixs ya?

Who was asking abt Weixiong? He this wk exams.. 3 papers in 5 days i think.. so busy studying.. Anyway here's wishing best of luck!

Cherz, i learnt that if u really believe in those supersitious thingy, then it will def come true.. so just dun think abt it... and cool down.. may be its becos u are at a cross road too so have many decisions to make...

Anyone can dun mind a gathering???

Sorry tea, ur rom wat date huh? Maybe we set it after ur ROM so u wont be so busy with stuff.

Weixiong gd luck for ur exams if u free to see!

pple> is it that exp to have curtains? i was quoted $2.1k for my 5-rm.. only full length day & nite for living.. the rest standard.. by JT..
comments, pls?
btw, anyone got the "crazy" idea of sewing ur own curtains??
i think i'm getting crazy deciding on paint color, laminate designs, and curtains..
queenie> do u have such prob that time??

Bear / Suelynn: my rom date is 12 nov. this sat. stress sia. i only know over spent liao. don even want to calculate the amount spent.

Good afternoon everyone...

wah.. so long nv come in liao.. been so busy with work.. sianz arh.. work like bull but get peanut..

Tea.. yr ROM coming ya.. how's yr preparation.. don get too tired n stress ya.. try to relax now liao.. be a pretty bride...

anyone ask abt washing bra?? I handwash with my panties leh.. hehe.. I scared the washing machine will spoil my bras.. hahaha..

everyone is busy with reno n furniture ya.. Don know when will be my turn leh.. then i can discuss like yr...

btw, all of u use cash in reno n furniture arh.. then must need a lot of $$ lor??

Tea, congrats in advance! all the best for your coming ROM....
me going to Hat Yai today liao counting down the hours liao!!

I had a very hard time yesterday from a dam nasty parent, so moody just wish to get out from this place and dun wana think of anything....

Anyway, take care gals!

Tea> congrats! must be very exciting keke... i still could believe my rom is over :p

tweety> i too lazy to wash lah. everything can throw into washing machine best kekeke.

anna> my hb find OM rugs too ex leh. mayb will source ard some more. my fren recommended this plc in jln boon lay, will go and chk it out

nihpace> custom made curtains v ex. prob can try ikea. they have rather nice fabrics. my room in my ex house used ikea's curtain and curtain rod. still quite ok except the rod was slightly shaky after a few years, but guess you can just fasten it back.

Minne.. going for holiday arh.. so good arh.. enjoy yr trip k..

Supagal.. ya lor, handwash v troublesome.. u may try to put the bras into the net like what da jie said n set to gentle wash. then shld be ok ba..
r u the one purchase the branded bags from the net? so u verified at Gucci shop here ha?? they don have LV leh..

Anyone know when's Gucci sale??

btw, just found out that SAF regular is not consider civil servant for aloha resort leh.. anyone know who is consider civil servant??

My suggestion for those wanna buy rugs etc & find many places r ex is dont buy yet caz rugs isnt an important item like sofa,dining table etc.It's an accessory which u can slowly buy aft u move in & find one tt is really suitable for ur home & budget.For me,i took 2 rugs fr OM as part of the pkg as i didnt take coffee table.
Dun be like my hb fren whom felt OM rugs very ex then kan cheong went to buy a $700 rug which is even more ex & forgetting they got 2 dogs.To me,tt's foolish buying.

anna,
My glass room if u recall r using blinds & so is my balcony.My curtain person does blinds as well.
Thomson is pretty gd too,my mum used to use tt but now she's a convert to F&P lor.Make sure u dun overload ur Thomson washer or else it'll start walking like wat happen to my mum's old one.Also,if kaput,Thomson spare parts r ex jz like continental cars.

tea,
congrats woman!Finally u r officially in our married club.Heehee!!!

sue,
tis time gathering u oraganizing ah?Then hor pls wait for me pretty plzzzz!Perth was sunny but very windy & cool.This time didnt shop but will do so nx mth when i got another perth flt.

sheryl,
the quote for ur curtains incld every room?It also depends on the fabric used.I paid $1.8k for 3 rms full length + a/c window,glass rm blinds & balcony wooden blinds.U can jz get my curtain person contact to get a quote lor.
Thankfully,hb & i agreed on things like colours & wat type of tiles & laminates but we had probs like the designs & furnitures & electronic/appliances stuff.

DH,
wah u also see very far hor.6000 posts?Wow!Frankly,i feel kindda bored too caz i'm pretty much done already.Nothing much to look fwd to,pls dun mention kids hor.It's really another gd 2-4yrs caz i got company reno loan to pay up unless we strike a big lottery!Now i'm looking for a tea set plus some other smaller items like small rugs for toilets,i hvnt even got a suitable clock yet.Small bottles for sugar & other ingredients etc...Things tt u all hvnt talk abt lor.
i dun cook so i cant comment which gas is better & it wont really make much of a diff so let mil decide on tt lor.

supagal,
i wanna go bali too.I believe it's cheaper but try not to go to kuta area lor but tt's tough caz all the great stuff r all there.If i go now,it'll be the nusa dua beach.Daydreaming.....

tweety> i din get gucci, i got a dior bag and compare it with the real thing in the shop. not that i can see any diff lah.

da-jie> is nusa dua v far frm kuta? we are thinking of nusa dua but am worried if it is a hassle to travel up and down everyday. Hard Rock Hotel there is having quite a good package though

Just wanna share...
~Life's little instructions~

Sing in the shower.
Treat everyone you meet like you want to be treated.
Watch a sunrise at least once a year.
Leave the toilet seat in the down position.
Never refuse homemade brownies.
Strive for excellence, not perfection.
Plant a tree on your birthday.
Learn 3 clean jokes.
Return borrowed vehicles with the gas tank full.
Compliment 3 people every day.
Never waste an opportunity to tell someone you love them.
Leave everything a little better than you found it.
Keep it simple.
Think big thoughts but relish small pleasures.
Become the most positive and enthusiastic person you know.
Floss your teeth.
Ask for a raise when you think you've earned it.
Overtip breakfast waitresses.
Be forgiving of yourself and others.
Say, "Thank you" a lot.
Say, "Please" a lot.
Avoid negative people.
Buy whatever kids are selling on card tables in their front yards.
Wear polished shoes.
Remember other people's birthdays.
Commit yourself to constant improvement.
Carry jumper cables in your truck.
Have a firm handshake.
Send lots of Valentine cards.
Sign them, "Someone who thinks you're terrific."
Look people in the eye.
Be the first to say hello.
Use the good silver.
Return all things you borrow.
Make new friends, but cherish the old ones.
Keep a few secrets.
Sing in a choir.
Plant flowers every spring.
Have a dog/cat.
Always accept an outstretched hand.
Stop blaming others.
Take responsibility for every area of your life.
Wave at kids on school busses.
Be there when people need you.
Feed a stranger's expired parking meter.
Don't expect life to be fair.
Never underestimate the power of love.
Drink champagne for no reason at all.
Live your life as an exclamation, not an explanation.
Don't be afraid to say, "I made a mistake."
Don't be afraid to say, "I don't know."
Compliment even small improvements.
Keep your promises no matter what.
Marry for love.
Rekindle old friendships.
Count your blessings.
Call your mother

Morning peeps...

supagal, yah agree OM rugs are nice but ex lor... look ard somemore first before buying...

dajie, oh yah forgot ur home got blinds too... keekee good than i can get ur contact to quote me... after my home ready than do e blinds will it be too late? or should do now? cause my reno will be done my end of this mth leh...
my mum using thomson all e way from last time liao jus changed 2nd thomson washer... agree with u tat spares are expensive... will see if take F&P or Thomson... but most probably onli getting end of next yr...

anna,
usually for curtains/blinds they take ard 1 wk fr measuring to installing if got the materials etc so just bfe u move in shd be fine unless u dont mind the light getting in or ur neighbours being able to see u lor.
I installed a wk aft i moved in so i used an old bedsheet to hang at the wondows of my rooms.I'm a vampire so need it to be pretty dark.

anna> u must get a vaccum cleaner since you got a rug rite? i guess there is no other way to keep it clean.

we are quite adverse to getting anymore appliances as we dun hv a storeroom. my storeroom is being converted to my WIW keke...

thanks dajie... think i'll have to get it done pretty soon...

supagal, yah getting vacuum cleaner... have to if not cannot tidy e house also... but dunno wat brand to get leh... keekee... wah ur house no storeroom ar... where are u going to put things like ladders and other stuff???

GOOD AFTERNOON peeps!!!!!
yay exam over liao!!!!! yippeeeeee
sorry have not been posting coz im "hugging my best fren's leg" haa haa haa so tired. from last week until now did not sleep properly even have to take chicken essence before exam if not sure zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
gosh really miss posting in here.

anna> you wanna get a vacuum cleaner ah. im using philips one and its been really good.

da jie, saw your post on the instruction on life. agree on all those stuffs^^ but sometimes juz chose not to do them....dunno why also....

.............was reading the post from newest to oldest........gave up half way........headache....hehehe no lah juz not yet recovered from fatigue anyway
THANK YOU BEAR AND SUE for the encouragement in here and on msn hee hee hee

everyone toking about electrical appliances and tats good coz when its my turn i got alot of ppl to turn to for advise hee hee hee

minne> thanks alot but that notice is actually to let ppl know tat the plot is up for developers' bidding. we can only start to bid ard next year feb.

supagal,
the promo seems gd,just tt the airport security tax & insurance r not incld so tt can cost a hefty amt.
HRC is in the kuta area.Think Nusa Dua aint tt far off plus they hv their own shopping & entertainment area if i'm not wrong.
U did away with ur storeroom/bomb shelter?Allowed ah?Then in times of war,how???

wxyang,
finally it's over huh?Can totally relax now ay.
When results r out?

Can we poll??? Who dun mind gathering???

Shall we have it end of the mth???Weekend Weekday?

Who wanna propose the date n suggest meetup plc??

So sian hm at 9 today.....We have new mgr and my sup leaving us. interest rate increasing soon and get loads of complaints n work!!! I going mad n my colleague kept having mc!!!

HELLO!!!

I am back at work.. so much things to clear.. tot my boss will be in HQ, but she is here to bug me! hehhee.. me the ungrateful employee, boss so nice to me yet i grumble..

Wah, now curtains and blinds liao.. so ex ah!! finally got my quote for 47K.. still out of budget. but hubby decided to go ahead with it as it is very much cheaper than the IDs. But we have to cut a lot of stuff like vanity tops and extra shower screen. Also the top for the kitchen counter.. cannot use granite.. can only use postform top. what do u guys know abt postform top??

Sue u want to meet up? let me know, then i see how.. cos now i might do my reno so might be super busy....

Weixiong yay!!! finished liao... can R&R!

ah bear,
if ur contractor quoted u so high,cant imagine wat the IDs quoted u man.Then agn,how come so steep?It's not even the final quote as for sure there will be changes.Cant imagine how much u wld hv spent aft appliances & the many many etc etc etc...Resale woes...

sue,
i doubt most of us can make it on wkday,i suggest 2 Dec Sat.

bear> hehehehe ya can r&r liao but i heard very soon gonna start on the new semester liao.......

dont know much about postform maybe da jie will know.

dajie> hehehe in times of war i don think tat tiny little shelter can do much help lah. a few missiles and poof. they did not post when the results will be out..but i think should be by the dec bah.

Poll: At the end of Nov
weixiong - unable to make it

Poll: At the end of Dec
weixiong - free

wxyang,
wat abt in btw end of Nov & end of Dec?
Sorry,I'm not too ceratin abt postform,only thing i knw is tt it may warp & then more $ will hv to be forked out.Mine is solid surface,dunno if got any other name to it.
Well,i feel tt the bomb shelter is there with a reason even if now it doesnt seem purposeful.Sad to say,we made it into a store rm like most ppl.

tweety> those with civil service card are considered civil servants. E.g. Working in Ministry and stat board.
queenie> can give me contacts for ur curtains?
bear> if not wrong, postform just means normal top with a layer of laminate but the ending got curve ones..not like the normal table where is flat.. the horizontal edges slightly curved up so that water will not drip to the floor.. something like that..

i'm free in dec..
now my house in big mess.. can give suggestions on what wall colors are nice..
now headache with wall colors, laminates, solid tops designs.. urghhh.. nearly gtg color blind..

Hiya,

Me anytime also free.. But only Nov and Nov ONLY, am i free on wkday nites... Dec onwards its back to tuition on wkdays again.. wkends shd be free lah...

Nihpac, thanks! Postform top is like what u said.. but Dajie mentioned that it will warp.. is that true? my main con says it can tahan a lil' water.. can u guys help me check with ur IDs please?? Thanks...

i m so depressed now....

Hey saw on ST dat XZQT having sales up to 50%.those buying furniture can take a look.

Weixiong,finally appeared! Really disciplined of u not goin online during exams ya. all the best to the results!

Sue/queenie, I tink wkends will be better for us. 2nd Dec is fine wif me. I cant make it on 10th Dec.

Hi peeps...

wah really busy with work these days... dunno y suddenly business so good... hopefully got bonus...keekee...
2nd dex is a friday rite? 3rd dec than is a saturday leh... 3rd think i cannot make it cause my tv tentative installation date...

weixiong, u will do well in ur exams wan lar dun worry... muz tell us when got ur results ok...

bear, postform dun really knoe leh... think like wat cacphin said laminate with curved edges lor... if can afford solid top will be better lar as scared postform not as lasting...

hi everyone...

It's been so time since i last post here.. seem like everyone toking abt electrical appliances huh.. haha... mi cant join much in this topics coz i noe nuts.. hehe.. been busy with my tuitions and bro wedding last wed.. finally it's over.. learn some mistakes dat bro make.. haha.. next time mine will be all well planned wor.. hehe..

so weixiong... finally its over huh... great!!!

as for the gathering, juz let mi noe.. if i can sure meet up.. dun mind a weekday nite coffee gathering hehe... end of dec i will be super busy with work.. need to cover colleague shift...

tks da-jie> they informed us the taxes can come up to abt $100 extra. we prob will pick a hotel in nusa dua in this case.

mine is resale flat so got no bomb shelter... even the nearby mrt, bt batok is above ground. so in times of war, we will be in trouble :p

nihpac> jus a note of advice, when choosing wall color, u may wish to go for a lighter tone than what you see on the color swatches. the color effect u saw on the swatches will be multiply by many times when you really paint on a big piece of wall. i picked a medium purple and a very light pinkish purple for my bedroom... the colors turned out to be much darker den i expected. but luckily its still ok lah.

i most prob will go bali in early dec, so prefer mid dec like 10 or 17

anna> i also headache where to put my spare chairs and mahjong table hahaha... now still got spare room so not so bad. will think about it when my spare room is coverted to kids room keke...

my hb developed some allergies recently. the doc also advised us to get a vaccum cleaner too as his allergies may be due to the dust in the house esp recently we just did intensive cleaning.

cherz> even aft 50%, xzqt is still very ex wor. the prices are easily 3-4 times OM...

cherz,
i agree with supagal tt XZQT is still ex with discount.

supagal,
at my mum's area in pasir ris,there r some bomb shetlers turned into mini marts at void decks or void deck basements.Maybe u can check out if ur area hv or not.

sheryl,
I've emailed u the cotnact.
Have u bought ur furnitures?If not difficult to choose ur wall colours.Or do u hv an idea wat colour they gonna be or u dont mind if ur wall & furnitures dont match?
For me,the colours i chose didnt turn out to be as dark as we wanted.

anna,
3rd Dec is sat,i saw wrongly.

Hi pple,
Finally got most of my things sorted out. Tom is my ROM liao.. hopefully I didnt forget anything.

finally cleared all the boxes. unpacking is damn siong sia.

Bear: wow, your quotation is so high.... but i think that is common for EM due to the bigger space? My friend's EA reno cost was also close to $50k.

hey tea,congrats to yr rom tmr!!sleep early n be mei mei.

supagal,queenie,
went to XZQT juz now.i dun c any 50% discount leh.mostly 20-25% discount.hmm dun really find the furniture there nice.haha lucky coz so ex!

Wah, then how huh? Maybe
I suggest n we have a poll la hor....

early Dec? to mid cos end dec tink closing period alot of ppl will be busy lei plus xmas....

bear> yup, will warp if u leave water for a period of time.. even solid surface will leave stains..
the thing is if there's liquid, wipe it off within an hr or so should not be a problem.. even laminate
flooring also like that.. just treat them all like wood..

queenie> thanxs! we bought the furniture liao..
we kindda know what we want, just that e colors are ambigious..
tea>congrats!!! so Mrs " "? keke..
sort of go back to our Sept where we are so excited.. is already Nov.. sigh.. time so fast..

congratz tea,

remember to show us pics!!!

cherz,
which XZQT did u go?Paragon or west coast?

sheryl,
ur ID shd be able to help on ur choice of colours or go thru home mags to hv a rough idea wat "look" u wanna achieve for ur home.

sue,
for our gathering,may i suggest an exchg of prezzies like below $20 then draw lots.S'thing gd for the home?In the spirit of xmaz...

Gonna be gone for a week...

hi everyone... just finished my rom... so tired.. think i am too numb to feel anything....

it was a very mixed feeling... somethings went as planned, some didnt... but overall, we managed to do it ok.

The morning started with cleaning of the venue where me and hubby has to scrubbed the floor, it was just so dirty.... luckily we had a few friends to help. then rushed off to shower and do up my hair and makeup. then rush down to continue with rest of deco. As everything is all setup and we were ready to go, my dad who was the witness is late. we had to start the ceremony late ... I was so annoyed cos all the guest were seated and everyone is just waiting for him. I was quite harsh with him on the phone... he lost his way... but now that i have cooled down, i was kinda glad he could still make it to be my witness. Guess all the stress and anxiety jus come in together and i snapped. called him to apologised after all the guest left. been a long long day.... i felt more like the wedding planner than the bride... but still glad that despite all the hipcupps, we managed to have a rom closed to what we have in mind.

Oh, not forgetting Dr Phua. He is a very very sweet guy. He actually talked and try to calm me down when i was screaming at my dad over the phone.

I don have any of the footage or photo yet, will try to get them and post them when I get them.

Tea, wanted to post something yesterday... but no time.. Congras! welcome to the 'Mrs CLub'. Dun worry lah, what's done is done... U must be super stressed from moving the house and having the ROM together... well everything is done liao and u have survived! When ur AD comes, u will be wiser liao! heehee...

I went to OM over the wkend.. saw some nice furniture there.. but hor, some of the furniture seems super shakey... my hubby remarked the quality is a bit low... is that true gals???

Cherz so how? u accepted HDB's offer?

Nihpac, thanks... we have told the contractor to cut down on certain stuff and give us a discount.. try to incld a granite top in the quote.. see if everything is do-able at 45K.... haizzz money!

Its Mon and back to work.... so sian.

hihi morning everyone,

tea, haven congrats u... so glad everythin went on as wat u planned.. must be a relief huh.. hehe.. welcome to the MRS club.. hehe.. rem to send mi ur pic once its ready.. dat time u fitting wan i din even receive wor.. so tis time must rem to send mi =)

queenie.. u suggested exhanging gift, but i got no home yet =( sad.... anyway see wat the rest say ya..

Hihi.. Morning all..

Congrats Tea.. Mrs now liao hor.. hehe..

Seems like everyone is talking abt reno, electric appliances that is out of me.. hehe... next time I will hv alot of ppl to ask liao.. haha...

Hi gals... monday again... think i've got monday blues...

tea, congrats...
u're MRs???

supagal, keekee my spare chairs i will store in my storeroom lor... else no space already... vacuum cleaner i haven got yet leh... now my place is still in chaos... still doing reno so dirty...