(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

hi morning...

bear,
so sad to hear abt ur fren's bf.. In life, things happened unpredictable.. From wat u wrote, i worry for my hb as well. He also ride bike.. Can say a safety rider but as wat wxyang said.. there are simply too many careless and reckless driver.. I believer her pain n lost is really unbearable.. I tink she will need u alot.. Hope she will be able to move on with life..

queenie,
nice sexy photo.. u look so slim with flat tummy.. btw for the solemnization, I thot must be in formal attire? anyway urs are real special.. cool..

Cherz> I dry-clean mine for $12. Maybe u try and ask those in town for hw much.

Bear> Dun be sad okie, u are ald there for your fren. Cheer up for ur rom.

ILs probs are ever-present.....

anise,
formal only if held at ROM itself.If held outside,we can do as we pls lor.We even wore sandals only.I guess tt's why more ppl r doing it outside lor.Can invite more guests & more flexibility.Guess it's my tuff,they cant say much.Who r they anyway,mere civilians apptd by the presidents getting $28 for 5 mins.I was prepared if JP was gonna say s'thing.Also I wanted us to face the guests then the usual & asked him in advance abt a wk earlier but he said I can slant the table only.Also asked if my mum can do a moment's silence in respect of my dad's passing.He was ok but said once we sat bfe him,he doesnt wanna be interrupted.He also looked impatient while my mum was talking.Well,my JP is a no nonsense & rather business like,an accountant wat do u expect right?Heehee!!!

Hey everyone,just wanna remind y'all they once u r married pls remember to re-nominate ur CPF as if u nominated ur parent then once ur married it becomes invalid.If u dont re-nominate,ur CPF will auto go to ur spouse & if u dont want tt,then better do s'thing k.If i'm not wrong,CPF nomination over rides ur will.

bear: sorry to hear about your friend. Life is so fragil ....

Queenie: I'm planning to do my will and renomination after my rom. wow, your JP like

Tea:> thx! keke anyway the bicycle is there lor, then my sis say must well take a pic with it then change the colour to black and white will look very oldies... heehee

Queenie:> me also wanan c your pics lay... [email protected]

Kyra :> saw your pics liao, thx! ya, its abit blur... but really amazing tt you managed to lost 4kg b4 your ROM, teach me how lay!!!!!

Cherz :> you bought the grown from the BS,how much huh? must have cost a bomb? but really nice, can keep for AD...

Bear :> so sad to hear abt your frd story, hope she is coping well... my HB also riding bike, really worry at times lor esp. raining days... tell him to change but always say tt its easier and cheaper to mantain, co need to cut cost mah... wat to do, everything is $$$$ here!

aiyoh, very siah working here lay! anyone got lobang to work on freelance or home-based job or not????? I very siah lay, feel like quiting my job, but think of the $ then struggle on! one of my tuition frd ask me to do with her freelance tuition co-ordinator, dun knw can earn anot... cos i was previously tutoring as part-time but no more liao... dun really enjoy me work here, tat's y wana have a break to do freelance....

tea,
u like my JP?Why?Well,he did wat he was supposed to do & left.Chop chop.No need to entertain him!My hb wasnt feeling well so it was a gd thing lah.Wat to talk to him abt?Numbers?Not my cup of tea at all.Heheh..

hi gals n guys...*phew*...finally compiled some pics for u to view...oredi sent to all emails in joy's listing of our particulars. do take a look

any1 I missed out?

Da jie.. u sooooo sexy arh.. sth like bikini leh.. so special n cool... show us yr nice figure.. *envy* I like yr medicure too.. nice leh.. i also wanna lose weight for my rom next time... oh ya, yr rom n ad same day rite..

Jannie.. just finished viewing yr pix.. nice shot.. u not fat at all.. yr gown same colour as mine, but mine lighter in colour.. hehe...

queenie, my mum looks familiar? mmm...mayb bcoz she in service line ba...hey i haven seen ur pics leh...send me can? [email protected]

tweety, thanks 4 sayin me not fat... :p wif ur comments i can sleep better tonite...

Tea > Yup, my ROM package is from JHC. What is TC?

20K is really too much for furnishing/appliances in my case, afterall I am opting for minimalist layout since I want the 4 dogs to be able to run around freely. HB and I have less than 10K total savings prior to ROM, almost all have been busted on the flat purchase and ROM

Like supagal, we are going to depend on PILs, else I really don't know how we are to manage. They have once said they will set 50K aside for us, but I dont know that sum is for reno or wedding or both *SIGH* I guess for whatever sum they give us for reno, I will pluck 8-10K aside for furnishing/appliances. Agree with Queenie that big items seldom kill as their lifespan are long and usually they are the essential. Mum and MIL, being the ever-resourceful housewives have also told us they will gather the uncles and aunties to give essential appliances as gifts. Small items can really add up as the hidden costs as they are essential as well to make a house functional. Imagine one of our to-do-list would be making sure that the constant supply of toilet paper doesnt get interrupted! Have always taken such things for granted....and dont you think these small chores will make a big difference in life? I will definitely need alot of adjustment after shifting out cos I seldom lift my FAT fingers at home.....am totally dependent on Mummy Dearest....

suelynn / Jannie / minne > That weight loss is really nothing great...considering the amount of fats and cellulite that are still on me
Basically, I skipped breakfast and lunch for 2 weeks and had only light dinners. Plus I just changed a new job in late July, HB went 2 weeks reservist and dog went through major op in August, ROM alot of last min changes hence was quite stressed then also. BUT HOR...my appetite naturally returned on ROM day and I have been eating non-stop again *keke* I havent seen suelynn and Jannie but minne -- YOU ARE SO SLIM -- dont need to lose weight liao lah!

Jannie/minne > I realised the pics when we clicked on them, turned out small. The first few pics in the blog were taken by another camera, much bigger and clearer. The rest quite to strain the eyes abit =P

Tweety > Thanks for the compliment =) I quite like my dress too...it's actually a design I like from another BS....the tulle part was added in by Jessica though....she said can help to cover my tummy! I like my shoes and hairstyle that day....too bad no clear pics taken...Hrmmph!

Bear > NAH! I'm not pretty at all. The makeup artist did a good job to cover my flaws =P
40K on reno is exp to me....Care to share on your flat type and contractor? Thru PM is fine too. Mine is a resale 5rm...I think hacking will eat into the cost too....My classmate just gotten quotation for her new 5rm, 28.5K for reno with some built-in features. Have you confirmed your wedding dinner venue?

Sorrie to hear about your friend. Life is really fragile and unpredictable. What we can do as friends is to lend a shoulder to cry on and be good listening ears. On our part, must also always remind ourselves to cherish loved ones every single day. I felt closest to death when my dog was undergoing surgery. I cried buckets and felt sooooo small, so lonely, so helpless in this big world. Life has not been the same since then when I constantly remind myself that life is a blessing, a present. Riding bikes can really be dangerous. HB used to ride and he's one hell rider. Lots of accident records and scars on him. Dad was so disapproving of him when they met 7 years ago. He has since switched to driving 5 years ago. But everyday I will still nag at him to drive carefully. I drive too..we may be careful but you cant say for all other road users. GIVE A BIG HUG TO YOUR FREN and take care =)

For the wedding vows part...I didnt get the classic I DO one leh...my solemniser came prepared with a rather long version, talking about fidelity and such and it ended with " With this ring, I marry you"....
kao_wedding.gif

CPF nomination can be done through website anot? How about insurance? Do we need to nominate beneficiaries? If you choose to write a will, will that include CPF nomination, insurance and such? How much does a will cost? Got to find lawyer yah?

Sorrie...so many questions...I know nuts about such things....Appreciate all advices. Many thanx in advance =)

queenie / suelynn / jannie > Thanks for sharing the pics. All of you are so slim =) Nice pics!

Queenie looks so chio lor. One hot babe with all the pretty chicks. You make a handsome couple with your HB. I love your eyebrow, eyelashes, diamond of your ring *blink blink* and the tattoos!

Suelynn's dress is sweet and you arent plump at all. Lovely bouquet and set-up on the table. Who's your MUA? I engaged Regine.

Jannie is SLIM too...look at your arms! U look good in that tube dress. Rachel is soooo cute too =)

And hor...all 3 venues look so unique....where ah?

kyra, thanks for ur wonderful comments :p my arms very fat leh...juz dat still photos cant c it flabbing away when i move...hahaha...
my venue is at Love That Binds, the private suite...its juz next to the ROM if u noticed...

Hi sue, i think that time you told us abt the online surveys to earn extra bucks rite? can I know more abt it, cos I get to know 1 from my frd and i wana know more abt yours... care to share?

kyra, oh...dat one ah...we at our hi-tea...its at top of the 'M' at mandarin hotel.
nice scenery but i didnt take pics wif my hubby...wat a waste...sigh...

Jannie.. then u can have a nice n sound sleep onite liao lor.. haha..

Kyra.. yr PIL so good arh.. give u 50k for u.. then we can settle alot of things liao lor... my side v poor leh.. both no savings.. my fh single parent, so his mum won be able to help lor.. all have to come from my fh n me.. haiz.. really need to save alot man..

Sue, abt the online survey, they didn sent again leh.. so far didn received anything yet...

Kyra> I engaged Regine oso. she was reccomended by 1 of my forum frens oso. hee! I like my mua alot too, hw nice I can be pretty again, tink can only do it when I take my PS n on AD.

Minne> will send u the details when I go hm.Am at work nw

Tweety > They said only...till now...I havent seen the money...so I dont dare to ask for quotations for reno or start AD preparation =( MIL has been talking about when we want to shift in, how many tables we want these days....but I dont dare to remind her about the sponsorship....

suelynn > I like regine too. The makeup was natural and everyone, including myself loves the hairdo. My sis was asking if she teaches hairstyling....that vainpot!

U intend to engage JHC for AD?

hello!! i'm back home after 3 nite's stay at Conrad. congrats to all 18th sept brides, hope u have enjoyed yourself

here's some update abt my experience:
like many of you, i was worried when it started raining early morning. i went to have a quick shower, shortly after, the make up artist came followed by jie mei & photographer, videographer.. before u know it, the groom & brothers are gate crashing hehe.. i can only make out abit of their conversations from the room.
after we left my hse to Legends, it was drizzling, not tat bad liao. we went for a briefing, changed into my tea ceremony dress then its 'jing cha' which surprising, took less than an hr. the guests later adjourned to the foyer for dim sum which we have ordered. seems to pretty much fill up their stomach as they came ard 9+ in the morning.
but i was still running co-ordinating the things and ensuring tat the relatives had their share of breakfast even after the jing cha!! my cousins were chasing me back in to relaz..
everything went on quite smoothly tat day except my hubby was abit blur tat day (too nervous) and did not really hold my hands or hug me while photo-taking!! so for those who did not had yours yet, take note. just do things slowly then you will forget abt things
oh ya, and he kept stepping on my train!! haha..
we gave mini mooncakes for the guests before the 1st dish and mini biscuits for the kids since we did not give them the mini shots as favours. wanted to do our 1st dance but brothers are not supportive & hubby does not favour it too so in the end have to drop the idea

well there were some regrets, like we did not thank some of the ppl which we wanted to & some pix were not taken too... so pls get your scripts ready & remind your frens to take pix with you days b4 the event.
but overall was great as we had an almost 100% turn up from guests, managed to walk ard to chat with frens during the luncheon. they said the food & wine (we ordered from winebos) was good even thou the serving was slow. we were so happy tat day as we wanted to remember the event & enjoy ourselves & not just go with the flow in a blurry manner!!

afterwhich, of cos, we kept recalling tat day's happening and its a mixture of happiness & surprise

our 3 nites' stay @ conrad was pleasant too.. slept most of the time as we were lacking from it for the last few days especially. and i must say their service was really tip-top!

i've only got a few of the pix now, will try send to you gals when it ready!

ps: sorry if its too much of my wedding preps pix as we wanted to send to our overseas frens to share our joy too

supagal,
hee dats not my AD lah.coz my AD is 2007 which is still far,so my hb wanted a more special rom lor.

Bear,
so sorry to hear abt yr frenz.wah so many of our hb here ride bike ah.my hb used to ride bike aso.muz ask yr hb to b careful ya.but sometimes accidents juz happen lor.things in life is fated!

minne,
i bought the gown for $250 including alteration n dryclean.hai duno wat 2 do wif the gown now.

i aso feel like quitting my job!!

Queenie,
ooi not all number crunching r so strict n sian leh.hee me an example leh...

kyra,
wah $50K.gosh so much leh.how i wish my parents of pils will sponsor us.hai we hav to wk for every cent of our wedding!!!

jannie,
wah yr rom very touching leh!i was too nervous to be touched!

kyra> my pil oso not sponsoring anything lei, from rom to hse n wedding. So gd! I wish I have even $5k from them. My parents only say they getting us eletrical appliances like fridge, tv only.... Pils.....nvr say anything at all. We are considering using JHC again for AD, but still looking ard.

Jannie :> saw your pics liao, really nice lay... your gown colour very bright, i like it...

Kyra :> Wow your PIL very very generous lay, my PIL never mention anything at all... everything also leave to my hb and me to pay... and somemore, if we AD it will be the 1st for their family.... but no sponsership from them... kekeke! then my spendthrift hb dun save $$, now then wana start, very late lor! think my AD gotto drag very long liao... envy bear lay, her planning so much $ how to save....

Sue :> thx gal

Cherz : wait til AD still can wear mah... but $250 really good buy lay, i like your gown alot...

Coco :> Congrats gal, must have recharged yourself after those 3 days of good sleep.... envy... i wana take leave, my boss no happy lay... sad

queenie & jannie > thanks for sharing ur pixs! jannie, u not fat wor and ur dress turn up very nice. da-jie.... such a unique wedding! and u looked SO HOT hahahahaha

congrats coco!

kyra> its better b sure to start planning aft u rec the money :p i got too many frens who got played out by their PILs! but they are v generous to offer lah, my PILs din even bother. they are not even turning up for my ROM! my parents are more generous.

tks queenie for the reminder! i will hv to re-nominate. wat abt insurance? i would want to plan for my parents.

thanks gals for all the comments...tweety, dun tink tonite can sleep well liaoz...im back to office after my class...sigh...gotta rush a proj due tmr morning...sianz...

Congrats ah bear n supagal!!!! In Advance!!!

Will be collecting my fotos fr Jayce tml, cant wait! hee...Will share with all of u once I have it.

Thx for all the compliments...I'm lucky lah to be petite as it's in my family genes.I used to be skinnier,like got anaconda in my tummy.I'm still under weight for my height but heavy enuf to donate blood.
For hb & i,we didnt get any $ help fr either parents for our reno or wedding.We did it all on our own.Hb made some $ fr the sale of his previous plc so tt came in handy.I contributed thru my CPF.Timing was right too caz i got my gratuity wen it we needed most.

hi bear and supagal,
congrats gal... its ur big day =)another 2 newly wed couples borned!!!!!!

suelynn,
guess u must be excited ya.. share with us.. will be waiting...

cherz,
enjoy ur trip to bkk... I simply cant wait for mine to arrive... Really need a break at work at time..

jannie,
relax ya.. dun stress urself up.. U sure can do it... lately i also kenna shoot by a prod manager for no reason.. Gosh... realised the higher up they r, the more they dunno how to use their brain. Really!! All so sicko.. at time wish they can be brain-wash!!

kyra,
wahhh ur pil so generous.. I dun tink mine will.. The most my mil will sponsor mi electrical appliance onli.. maybe can ask ur hb to ask ask dem.. Believe it will be easier..

Gosh the thought of having a lovenest is like gonna squeeze u blood dry.. hehe.. Got to fork out so much money.. damn scary.. so roughly u gals here spent 40 - 50k for everythin??

queenie,
I dinno got to re-nominate.. If we din, all will juz go to my hd huh??

gd morning gals...today not in office...will b whole dat at client place...sianz...so tired...slept onli 3hrs+ -_-

anise, thanks...u onli lately kena shoot but i get shoot most of the time...hahaha...oredi got alot of wounds on my back... :p

queenie, can i c ur pics? [email protected]

wow...who workin on their lovenest now? so many of u got PIL sponsorin ah? so nice...me will b stayin wif MIL so no "er ren shi jie" for us...

can't remember if i did nominate any1 for the CPF thing...if no nominate at all den will go to who har?

hi cherz,
enjoy your trip!!

hi bear and supagal,
congrats!!!!

hi anise,
yeah lo..the house/lovenest is really a bomb!! be prepared to spend a lot of money..our reno about 25k with aircon and furnishing set about another 8k?? definitely not cheap!

gd morning gals, most of you hv become MRS..me the last one..still another week to go..hehe but feel nothing leh..maybe too drained to think of it..when FH's grandma insists we hv our customary in lunar february or august next yr..sigh..say so easy hor..my FH also prefers lunar feb..but so fast..i told him then our finances how?? so many things to do leh..u think so easy?? restaurant, bridal shop, bridal photo shoot, every little thing..also costs..they all say like so easy..when we are paying ourselves..OUCH!

wow some of you gals have sponsor for your weddings/reno..so good..for me, will hv to spend every cent we have ar..think the 1st yr is the most siong..haha..

Bear.. today yr big day ya.. congrats...

Kyra.. at least they mention before, i think when the date is nearer they will say again ba.. don worry k.. if not 50k, few k also a relief for u mah..

coco.. u r also Mrs liao leh.. u shld have recharged by now liao lor.. glad that everything goes well for u..

cherz.. yr gown worth the $$.. it's so nice.. I think u can keep it for yr AD.. maybe can used for photoshooting or what ... after Ad then decide what to do lor..
enjoy yr trip at bkk ya...

Minne.. Me too.. everything like all from my fh n me.. both so young, no savings at all... but i believe my parents will help if i wanna buy house in future.. hehe...

Jannie.. so late arh.. must take care ya..

Sue.. i haven c yr photos leh.. can send me??

joy...ur AD in Feb den will b quite rush liaoz...gotta get prepared oredi...to the others its always an ez thing coz they onli say...no need to use their $ mah...alot of ppl also kept askin when is my AD...haha...dunno how to ans them also coz haven fix yet...my hubby kept sayin still "early" to say...sigh...

tweety, will take care...dun wish to fall sick...its a terrible feelin...felt giddy n nauseous yesterday after my lunch...today felt better but still giddy...tink not enuff rest...

oh ya...b4 i 4get...juz heard from my lecturer that there will b class on the 8th Oct leh at 2pm...will those gg to queenie's place be stayin long? my class ends at 5pm...tink earliest i can reach is ard 5.30pm-6pm or even later coz i need to rush back home to get the cheese hotdogs...hope u guys wont b leavin once i reach :p

bear> wanted to send you sms to congrat you but cant find your details in the excel file from joy. anyway HAVE A WONDERFUL AND HAPPY ROM TODAY!!!!!!

jannie> got to take care, recently my wife also feeling the same as you. where your classes held by the way? at informatics?

weixiong, my class at FTC held at starhub centre...dunno if me feelin like dat bcoz of the change in my diet lately...coz me take nite class den normally after work rush to class without dinner...den take onli some snacks after class...

Jannie.. u must take care leh.. alot of ppl fall sick lately... where u stay.. if too far from yr course, i think don need to rush back la.. i think we all don mind u go without any food..

weixiong.. hope yr wife feeling better by now..

weixiong...so nice u can munch ur old chang kee during lesson...FTC is at starhub centre which is behind centrepoint.
how ur wife oredi har?

tweety, thanks 4 ur concern...me stayin at amk...dunno if its considered far or not but tink its ok for me to go back lah...hope u all dun eat so fast den when i reach still in time :p

Tweety :> I think my parents also will help if i ask from them lor... but dun understand why must from the girl's side lor, should'nt it be from the guy's as well...

Bear :> Congrats gal!!!

Queenie:> thx for your pics, you really a beautiful babe! nice figure, very envy lay.... dun need to worry abt diet like me... and also look young for your age... really like your ROM/AD style, very modern!

Jannnie:> me also alot of ppl asking when is my AD, but my hb say alot of $$ involved, so must wait... till now still date fix yet, no answer from him... heehee

Sue :> thx for the suvey thingy will check it out later!

hi weixiong,
bear's contact is in the list ar...how come u din see it leh?? hehe

hehe..me not yet gotten my shoes ar..and my guest list not finalised coz friends cannot confirm..so headache!!!

jannie> well actually the lecturer dont really mind this kind of stuff lah. my wife looks alrite today and so far have not heard that she is feeling unwell from her. thanks for asking
by the way if you go from centrepoint will be alot faster then you going home, grab the stuff, then go leh.

thanks for the concern tweet^^

joy> really don have leh. i also thought the list got but when i went to look through cannot find it...
for your ad, have you found your place already? got make sure that the date is available and arrange a time to go down and view it? juz give them a rough figure lor. a rough estimate will do then can also ask them if got unoccupied tables that day can the price be reduced?
and if you don mind you can ask your/his folks to fork out the money for the WHOLE AD and the ang pows they keep, see if they agree or not.
as for bridal shop...must source even faster coz hot date!

seems like alot of u are unwell, do take care!

for those preparing your AD, dun stress yourself out.. take it one step at a time. mine is over so its really a relief esp we managed to cover the banquet cost phew...

my hubby & i are not rich either so no rich parents to help ..hehe...we paid all expenses ourselves lor..

tweety, yes i'm quite recharged cos sleeping most time... we really cant bear to leave conrad yesterday since we dun have our own hme, the htl is kinda like our little hideaway during our 'honeymoon'

now we have to busy ourselves looking for our lovenest!!

queenie, may i hve a look at your AD pix?? excited to see your sexy dress leh ;p thanks thanks! pls send to [email protected]

minne, my hubby also said no $ to hold AD at such short time...so gotta save up lor... :p

weixiong, tink my lecturer does mind...haha...coz he wans full concentration during class...
had diarrhoea (3 times oredi!!!) since this morning
hubby juz pop by my client place to pass me "bao ji wan" sigh...hope im not fallin sick...dunno if i shld go to my class tonite...

i do agree if go from centrept is faster but den feel bad if i go empty-handed mah...some more a few of u "craving" for the cheese hotdog...hehehe...

wow, so many post today.

Someone asked about the nomination right. ok, if I remember correctly.. once you sign the ROM paper, all your 'asset' will go to your hubby if anything happen to you. thus you will need to do re-nomination for your CPF and insurance.

As for the house, most of us are in the Joint owner system. That means that, if anything happen to either one, the house will go to the other party. Unless you select the Tenant ... (cannot remember the term) then you can state how many % of the house each of you own. If not it is 50-50.

Congrats to all the new MRS.