(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

suelynn> hi hi you've got mail too!

twink> welcome! of cos you can join in. where is your rom date?

annabelle> wat coincidence ah.. maybe can try goodwood park or carlton? heard they are good.

doris> u got contacts? for perfect moment? U june going Jess ah, scully bump into u there. I tink I will make appt with her to see those mtm teadress for rom. Wanna see hws the workmanship like. hee!

coco> thanks! but got samples to see nt?

jaslyn & twink,wanna welcome u gals to our getting bigger family!
kao_welcome2.gif

DH,
htls r supposed to hold the booking for u for a week & inform u if someone else is interested.Screw them!

annabelle,
got tis fr another thread for outdoor ROM,hope it helps.

1. Goodwood park ($38-$40 per pax for hi-tea, $48-$55 per pax for lunch min 25 pax)
2. Marriot (Dinner $68.8 per pax min 80pax)
3. Trader Hotel $45 to $50 per pax min 100 pax
4. Carlton Hotel ($1120+++ max 30pax additional pax is $30)
5. Amara ($999nett-hightea, $1288nett-lunch, max 30pax, additional pax is $35-hightea, $45-lunch)

bear,
enjoy ur short trip.U driving up?Take care u!

jaslyn,
may i knw who's ur JP ay?

coco,
bkk for hol or work ah?Any luck with the JP?
It was fh little task but ended up i'm the one calling like crazy.Men!

suelynn> sorry i dun have any samples now. let me contact my gf to see if she can send to me but gotta wait till fri or later cos me out of town. thanks!

queenie> called JP Chan but he's not home. maybe i will try get Dr Anamah or Dr Seet?
gng bkk for workz..sianz

coco,
Dr Anamah will be away tt time.Dont wanna burst ur bubbles but gal,the popular ones r taken.U gotta play tikam already & try ur luck!

coco> My ROM date is 11 Sept 2005. We are having it at Conrad.

I haven't got my gown yet. Still thinking of where to find. Any suggestions?

All,

Spoke to the person in charge and she explained that their corporate team booked the venue before she could place a tentative reservation for us.

When she emailed me telling me that the venue is sitll available, i replied almost immediately asking her to place a reservation for me. I didn't receive any calls etc yesterday so i thought everything should be fine. I got the bad news today when i tried to make the next appt =(

Welcome Twink & Jaslyn!

Bear> We are considering whether to change dates or venues. 18th is a hot date so alot of venues already booked.

Coco> Thanks. Looks like nothing much can be done now since the company already placed a confirmed booking before the coordinator could place my reservations.

Try calling JP Chan again loh - maybe in the evenings. Good luck!

Suelynn/Queenie> They checked and said is available so i place my reservations. For whatever reasons it didn't go through loh so i guess they couldn't have hold the booking fo me =(

The in charge said she will try and talk to the corporate side and see if they start the event later. I think the chances are slim loh since they booked the place from 8 am onwards.

hi everyone!

welcome twink n jaslyn!

twink,

how r the chrages like to hav rom at conrad.shd b quite ex rite.

if u wan short gowns u can try olive suite at delfi orchard.

some of the gals recommend empire for their rom packages.

suelynn>hi! thanks. i am trying their ROM package 1st lor.. i also think that $1k is alot so have to think properly...

queenie>hi! my jp is Mr Sim Hong Boon ( tampines grassroot leader) tikam one.. cos call the JP list got no response
he is very friendly..

hi DH, Twink and cherz!!!

coco> u mean Dr Seet, the lady in the JP list?
i called her also and she said she do not know whether if she is in spore at that time so she told me to find another JP.

cherz> Thanks for the suggestion. I m looking for a long gown as I don't have pretty legs so I need a long gown to hide my legs.

Empire package provides only short dress. so I am trying to look for other options..

The quotation that I got from Conrad for my ROM is $45+++/$50+++ per pax for Hi-Tea for min of 40pax. My HB and I think its quite reasonable compared to the all the other 5* hotel which has a min capacity of at least 70-80 pax at min $50 per pax for a ROM...

And the function room is just next to the pool.

Anyone ideas where to get nice ring pillows?
I am hoping to find 1 where we can personalised and put our names and the date on it.

twink> empire has long dress too, but need to add$50 I tink, u can call n enquire. Their designs quite limited tho.... I tot of going empire oso but prefer to have my own design, so most prob go for Jess coutre.

queenie> yah, tink u all no choice gotta tikam ald, got who grab who liao

twink,
ya i dun hv nice legs either tt's why wearing pants,hahaha!!!I think Empire dresses more unique & think they r using Thai silk?
For ring pillows,check http://www.theweddinggiftshop.com.sg/bridal_03.html
Hope u can find s'thing there.

jaslyn,
yeah my JP is fr Kreta ayer.

DH,
18th Sept hot for both ROM & those doing banquet.If date is not so impt then choose another & u will hv more choices.

suelynn,
u int in JHC ah?Their ROM pkg mtm to keep better than Emp's OTR.I thot of gg to see wat's the rave all abt.Wanna go together,anyone else int?If i find her designs nice then i wont wear pants,jz to keep my options open lor.

Annabelle> Not sure if members have his hp as i think he does not give his hp no. Read from another thread it can be quite worrying on the actual day when they have no other means of contacting him.

hello gals and guy,
all going for lunch soon i suppose. been trying to cath up reading all those posts. whew!!

welcome twink!!

anyway DH> that was really some screwed up planning on the hotel side, seems like communication is not that good for their internal. so you got any backup in mind?

Bear> you were saying your fh not excited one so i say dont compare lor

my caterer juz called me yest and say the food we picked are all the exp ones so the price per head is 19bucks which is out of the amt we set so now have to ask them to come up with another few menus that fit our requirement.

all
is it really a must to use a ring pillow?

argghhh i posted n it din appear, dunno wat happen....

wxyang> nt a must to use ring pillow, its jus nicer on fotos. u ask caterer give u quotes for ur budget? Tink per head $12 gd enuff ba

queenie> I int in JHC but I going tink early june lei cos wanna confirm my date then go see her. Empire's design more ltd but the material is thai silk, gd quality cloth. Must see wat Jess offer to mtm my dress cos I cant take satin, too clingy.

Hi all u all heard of captured moments? Their rates are ultra gd, but need to see samples tho. They are offer free rom photography if u take their AD package. Their rom pacakge which includes videography n fotos cos abt $240 with prints somemore if its at rom centre. Waitin for their reply, will let u all know k!

suelynn,
early June is only 2 wks away leh.So if u int to go JHC together,let me knw k.If not,it's ok,I'll go on my own.

wxyang,
r u getting any decorators or does purple sage inclding tt in the pkg as well?
RSYC only has minimal or no decor at all.I'm looking into flowers for table centrepieces,ROM signing table plus corsages for family members & my hand bouquet all using white orchids.Emailed Far East Flora & they quoted me $400.OUCH!

Ring pillow to place ur ring bfe u sign only for afew minutes lor.More presentable esp if church wedding caz u got ring bearer.I'm jz using the ring box.

annabelle,
u gg malacca?Have fun shopping & makaning yeah?

Hi jaslyn!
18th Sept,hot date!Afew of us here are also ROM on same date,i'm losing touch too!

Everyone,shall we compile?Let me start.

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC

queenie>yupe purple sage got do the decor but it is outsource to another company. so far have not got any real quotation yet. once i got the actual quotation i will post it in here and if they got give me sketch of the place being done i will post in here also. the decors will do up the whole place but no corsages lah coz i don think it is neccessary for me and my wife's family. don forget im having the rom same as you too!!!!!^^ wanted to use lilies for the decor dunno how much will it be.

hi queenie thanks... might be going or might be not... cause have appointment with amara this saturday see wether i still want to have e high tea rom slot left. and sunday got appointment with my ID so i dunno wan to go with my family anot.

queenie> i dun mind going together, most impt is must find a day u in sg kekekek. My FH ask me wait for GSS then see if there is anything I want,if still dun haf then definitely go JHC.
Maybe u wanna consider those neighbourhood florist? My FH orders flowers fr holland V, if u interested I ask him for contacts?

hey suelynn,
if u really keen,can email u my roster lor then u pick a date.GSS starts end of this mth right?I dun mind contacts for any florists.Have already been emailing to them but u see,Far east flora is wholesaler & they r supposed to be way cheaper.
Also need lobang for wines as well.

queenie> Yah GSS starts next week! But, cant spend much la, bo lui liao hahha. U can email me at [email protected]. My kuku FH dun have the number of his florist, so kuku, he only knows the plc, he is Zzzz away nw. Will bug him tml. Anyway I did some search on florist last time, u can call n ask if they do deco n get quotes k. Here it goes

http://www.delicatematters.com/
http://www.fareastflora.com/home/index.asp?404;http://www.fareastflora.com/home/index.asp/
http://www.flu*.com.sg/ (change * to v)
http://www.greenpointflowers.com.sg/
http://www.petalsnleaves.com/
http://www.secretgarden.com.sg/Main%20Fameset/Main%20Fameset.htm
http://www.stefii.com.sg/
http://www.wishingtree.com.sg/index.asp
-Amanda's Florist & Gifts - 62358101 (look for Katherine)
-Primula Florist at parkway and you can call Serene at 97820107
http://community.webshots.com/album/168711970oAQzQG

Anyone who needs florist contacts can refer above ok, hope it helps

queenie,

i went caratell today.find dat they hav limited wedding bands in their showcase n its very hard 2 customise if u dun hav a design in mind.me n FH both prefer fairy inc's service.

actually i tot of comparing prices btw the 2 shops.but i can only draw the design of the wedding band i wanted n caratell's designer dun quite get it.so might b a risk doin it there coz i dun get to see the end pdt 1st.at least in fairy, i get to see more samples of wedding bands n then fr there i modified to my likings.so mayb in the end will stick to fairy inc.

twink,

the charges at conrad is very reasonable.

i got my gown fr irene's creation sale.so its not 1st hand but i am fine wif it.

wxyang,

i dun tink i am getting a ring pillow too unless my ring box cannot make it.

thanx suelynn,
i've already emailed half the florists u gv so waiting for their quotes.

jaslyn,
the website is gd.Ring pillows & wedding favours r very nice!

cherz,
it's gd tt u went caratell so tt u hv s'thing to compare Fairy's Inc with ya?I think I shd do tt too!

Everybody,do add ur name & venue to the list pls.

2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside

cherz> look see again? cos GSS is next week who noes rite?=, maybe got gd deals? Still got time so dun worry too much yet.

Queenie> My Fh say its the florist is near the holland shopping centre, forgot the name ald, its the new building nt the cold storage one. K u got time call the rest tat doesnt have website one

Jaslyn, the ringpillow nice lei n nt too ex, I like the corsages! Can look see for Ad, kekeke!

4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club

Jaslyn> Thanks. I will go take a look.

Hopefully, I can lose some weight soon so that I can start hunting for my "ideal" gown...

5.Twink - 11th Sept, Conrad

6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)

hee hee hee went to take a look at the ring pillows jas and they were so cute!! made me wanna get one too hee hee hee
next month my wife gonna choose the gown le so excited... cant wait to see her in one ^^
been looking around for a hotel for my banquet but all need at least 30-35 tables. me and my wife decided we do not need so many table... really at a lost now.... thinking of a way to negotiate wif them.

7.suelynn - 9th sept Registry of Marriage

wxyang> y nt u try restuarant? wat hotels did u went to? Cos unless u look at small function rooms, else u kinda hard to have much bargaining power. Last weekend we went n kapo at the wedding fair, are looking at abt 35-40 tables, the hotels are very willing to negotiate. Whats ur budget? Personal exp with furama riverfront, orchid country club and Amara is good so far. Will be looking for more venues end of the yr. Aiming for grand Corpthorne n Merchant Court

8. DH - 18th Sept, TBD

9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.

suelynn, i looked at fullerton and ritz carlton. my budget is probably ard 20Kplus hopefully we can be able to hit near 30K (hoping parents will chip in hee hee hee) but even that we wont be needing 30tables. at the most 25 only. try rest ah.... hmmm any good recommendation?

Interrace, welcome! From my jobless support grp. hee!

wxyang> u look at those 5 star n 6 stars one lei, no wonder, they need so many tables.kekkeke $20k for hw many tables? Like budget per table? U can try goodwood park, their max is like 25. An advise by many friends, best to pick a place that u can max the number of tables in that venue. Restuarant wise, china club n grand shanghai is gd for the food n ambience!

For me we got alot of relatives n my parents' frens for my side. We havnt discuss the paying of the tables etc yet but definitely paying ourselves , setting aside $10k for banquet n the rest covering by angbaos. Thats our plan only, shall see hw when time comes......Sim tia so ex!