(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

wahhhh this thread becoming more and more busy.
got two new ppl, welcome doris and patrick!!
girls, any good suggestion for a jp becoz im really lost from looking at the looooooong listSSS!!! HELP!!!!!!

Er, Weixiong, just ei ni my ni ei ni mo lor... or see which one is free on that day. Cos u doing it on a pop date (18th right) so not every JP on the list will be free right?

Ahpeng is a freelancer photog... heehee.. ask Suelynn to send u the details.

So Doris, u engaging a photog for ur ROM?

Me doing mine at the zoo!

wah all of your ROM all so happening wan ah... mine think jus maybe book a function room than 2 families eat lunch or dinner only leh... so envy... but i dun have extra cash to spend liao...

suelynn can send me ahpeng details also??? my addy is [email protected]

bear: still thinking shd i engage a fotogr becoz not that much budget... ;p

zoo ah.. happening man! initially tot of doing it at jurong bird park but decided not too becoz it wil cost us at least 6k for e venue & food... n frankly speaking with this amount i can use for my whole ROM ceremony.. including my wedding bands & car rental..

but then i dun mind taking a peep.. ;p if suits my budget i ok..

so suelynn, can send me?? [email protected]

Heehee...

Aiyah, initially my FH also dun want us to spend so much on the ROM too. But i love animals therefore and wanted to do it at somewhere unique. So i asked for the quote and it worked out to be 2.6K inclding lunch, flowers, admission fee and tram rides. So my guests can walk around the zoo aft the ceremony. heehee... FH finally realised that it might be worthwhile to engage a photog last nite... hahaha....

Ya Doris, but mine is for 30 pax. Urs abt 50 pax right???

I dunno if i m lucky or wat. Another person here DH, was quoted 1.2K just for rental!!! I only need to pay $500 for rental. may be just luck lor, managed to get at such a low price.

We dowan to spend too much oso cos trying to save up to go for honeymoon, probably gotta go end of the cos I havnt even have a job yet....But we wanna get someone to take fotos la cos all will be n no one with gd fotography skills among us. No need too ex one. Ok ok can ald lo. Tink I try n ask Sam wong if he free or not again

Bear> urs at zoo lei, its definitely necessary to have fotographer la, so nice the plc

Gals, send u the link ald

bear: i ask for a 30-50 pax quote... e price is abt 100+ per pax!!

becoz they says that e package is meant for min. 100pax..

anyway i'm pretty happy with wat my plan is gog now.. ;p

Greetings fr London!

Wanna welcome doris & patrick!
Great tt our thread becoming more & more active!!!
Anyone care to recommend JP to wxyang & me pls?

bear ah,
i came back fr my china hol & went to work liaoz but hor,i'm s self confessed internet addict,muz come in & check on all of u nice ppl fr a cafe!

suelynn,
most likely doing my wedding bands at Caratell too!How u knw abt tt shop?I've my eye on a Piaget design http://www.piaget.com/uk/swf/home.html. If u wanna see,it's a possession collection-wedding rings,description - wedding ring,flat,18k,white gold.Comments??Which one did u like?

wxyang,
the JP i wld like to hv is booked already

Maybe u wanna call someone in urs or FW's consituencies.

annabelle,
JW st 64 got blk 432 meh?I'm currently at blk 607 st 65 which is my Fh's but moving to 665A st 64 tt we bought together.
I think u paid a reasonable sum for premium flat.U sure to profit if u inted to sell nx time.My FH did fr his current flat.

Greetings all! Welcome Doris and Patrick!

Queenie> Nice. I see that you are in London now =) I am an IT executive so i only know 1s and 0s. So are you going to have a grand entrance on a yatcht?

bear> When did you book the package? Before April 1st? We told him that we have a friend whose venue is much cheaper and it comes with horse carriage etc and he said you must have booked it before April 1st.

Looks like he is not willing to reduce the price but i must say he is quite funny =)

He emailed me yesterday and confirmed that there will be a dinner on the 18th so we'll not be able to make use of the bridal room and the forest lodge for wet weather *sigh*

doris> You asked for a JBP's quote or the Zoo? What are your plans?

hey suelynn,

tks for the address.i will go hav a look.
Is Caratell diamonds like Fairy inc?do i hav to make an appt to go down?

so sian.my FH went genting n i hav to spend my wkend without him.keke coz he tot i will b in HK.

queenie,

tks for remembering us!

read the news dat u b getting 4mths bonus!!

i luv the piaget design 18K white gold,off-centered ring with 2 diamond.

for myself,i prefer more chunky ring.n i wanted to hav exactly the same design as my FH but we r using different materials for the rings for the ones we created at fairy inc.

Queenie> morning! My fren recommend me the shop cos she got do some search on wedding bands b4.Thats hw I know, *wink* I like Piaget possession series, in fact my ring resembles alil like the possesion rings jus dat the diamonds on my ring is lil bigger n lesser but more scattered. In conclusion, I m biased la n the ring u like is NICE! kekkeke

JP wise I tink Mr Chan Kai Yau is gd oso n his command of english is much betta. There's oso Mr Gerad something, chairman of AA i tink. U mite wanna check it out. Heard Mr Chris Chen oso highly recommended.

DH, maybe u mass send to a few plcs n ask for quotes n fr nw u gotta go down to view n discuss ald.

cherz> u FH so notti lei, go genting...kekekek.The human flow at Cartell is not as high as fairy's inc I tink but u jus call to make sure u are being served?

Hi everyone!!

wah.. we have alot of new ppl here.. welcome!!
i'm only MIA for a week and there's already alot of posting to catch up ...haha.. good!

so caratell & fairy inc do custom made wedding bands? wats the average cost for a pair? anyone has fairy inc's address or contact?
btw, my bf & i oso liked a pair of ring from Jorn Rainer but its abit off our budget.. 1.8k+ after discount... so we are still looking at alternatives.
for those who dunno, lee hwa is having 50% disc (even solitares) & today is the last day!!

btw i've confirmed my booking with Legends for my wedding on 18th sept.. gosh, this date is really SUPER HOT!! so many places and good photographer etc are booked up! luckily i still managed to get the lunch (12pm-3pm) hour from Legends thou it is still too short. for those who are not aware, i'm holding my tea ceremony & solemnization there too, tats explains the limiting time. david loh is so over booked on 18th sept, he's got 13 bookings for tat day itself! i'm oso looking for a good & fun JP, any recommendations?

i might b making my gown from a fren who do freelancing, he does make up & hair styling too. my budget for the full-laced gown is abt 1.5k. do u tink its ex? m still tinking to get him to do my make-up & hair on the morning.. very ex.. $500 leh but he's pro cos he's doing for commercial & advertisement too. wats your thot ppl?

hi coco,

tis thread is moving real fast so i usually log in whenever i can.if not,lots of catch up to b done.

details of fairy inc:
Delfi orchard #03-03
tel:6235 5570
its better to make an appt wif them be4 u go down esp wkends ya.

the ave costs per pair depends on a number of factors like the material u r using and whether u want diamonds on yr rings.they do free engraving n polishing for the 1st yr.
i muz say its not cheap.like the one i hav in mind is abt 2.5K for a pair.

yee...a bit mountain tortoise.u doin it at the Legends,meaning fort canning?
y hold yr tea ceremony together?u not having an AD ?

wah david loh is so packed dat day.i very KS n booked him last yr already.wonder if he can still make it for my lunch coz i invited him to stay for lunch.

for those doin rom outdoors,how much ang pow r u all intending to give the JPs?

wow the make-up n hairdo for $500 is very ex leh.i rather spend it on the wedding band itself.if u r willing to spend so much for the make-up n hairdo,y dun u increase yr budget for the wedding bands?as for the gown,i am not sure abt the pricing but $1.5K for a newly made gown sounds reasonable.

cherz> sorry i dun have the number off hand lei. Dun tink JP loh can have lunch liao lei, with so many bookings.

coco> congrats finally found a venue, got many other JP no need worry. Hw much u paying for it per table/person?Agree the mua n hair very ex lei, can engage a famous one liao. Ur fren is who ah? Are u keeping the gown? If so I tink its quite alrite, if not its far too ex lei. Maybe u can consider taking a Bs package, comes with gowns rental etc n with photoshoot, mid range ones. U can take fotos after AD.

Hey was just away for a day and look at the no of posts!

Queenie> thanks for rem us.. u lucky gal! get to jet around the world...

DH> Yup i booked before April 1st. In fact i booked it on 23 March.. So aft seeing all the venues, which have u and ur wife decided upon?

Cherz> so are u getting the ring from Fairy Inc?

Coco> where are u having ur dinner? booked a place yet? restuarant or hotel?? Ya i think $500 is very ex lei... will rather spend it on my bands... U looking for a full lace dress??? think its more than 1.5K. and if u wanna custom make, u better do it soon!

thanks bear, cherz, suelynn for your advise

i will be doing my AD with the solemnization on the same day. am having a sit down 7-course chinese meal at Legends (yup its at fort canning park) and it cost abt $428+++ per table but alot of things are not thrown in ie wine/beer, wedding favours, trial tasting of food is dependent on no. of tables booked (i have abt 20 but they need min of 25) etc... so i might end up paying ard $500+ or more per table.
before lunch, i will hold the tea ceremony either in a smaller function room or poolside (but worry it will be too hot!)

my gown will be fully laced!! so i tink 1.5k is still alrite but its not gonna b french lace though or it will cost much more!! the designer is using taiwan lace which he said is good enough

most likely will get him liao so 1st measurement will be in jun & he needs abt 2mths to get ready, not too soon though cos i might put on or lose weight so i have to maintain my figure!! oh, he oso asked me to tone up my arms hahaha!!
i oso find the make up & hair abit too ex... tink we can get one at the region of $100 or less righte??

hmm.... ok i will check out fairy inc & might increase my wedding bands budget hahaa...gosh, pocket burning BIG hole liao!!

cherz> how fortunte of you to booked david loh.. but since he's so packed, dun tink he will stay for lunch. i tink i will give $28 to jp.

suelynn> i have paid $600+ deposits with whitelink abt 2yrs ago.. this is a rom package which consist of only OTR tea dress & OTR groom's suit & make-up. and to pay full package, the gown will still be OTR which i cant find any designs i fancy during my 1st appointment few days back

i might use the rom package to change to MTM groom's suit or bridal shots..
abit disappointed with whitelink's design (maybe my package is not ex tats y they gave me not-so-nice gown to try hee) and abit hard-sell.

so have u gals took up any bridal package already? a guy fren of mine chalked up 9k+ in his leh!!!

Gals, talking abt BS, goodness....we went to the newpaper wedding fair at suntec, got swarmed by lots of BS. Since we got nothing to do, we went n sit down n listen to wat they have to offer. Regret deeply, kanna "fan" by Mr n Miss Wed**** Club. Told my Fh I dowan to see anymore BS until next yr liao.

coco> wah, u paid for whitelink's package ald ah? Dun waste, maybe change to pure fotos one say u dun have AD cos ur dep quite a lot lei. For makeup n hairdo tink u can get jeanie yong, she's having a promo for rom, comes with bouquet, its $200. Find her too ex for rom......

Saw orchid country club ytd, kinda like the plc oso, will be going to the wedding show to see see look look hw its like. Price oso quite cheap.

suelynn> so did u take up any BS eventually? are they very hard sell? i dun like it.. prefers more personal touch @ reasonable priced package. if your AD is not near yet then take time to scout & compare around 1st. i took up my whitelink package 2yrs ago w/o finding out info.. feels kinda shortchanged.. din knw the OTR gown is so different from my dream gown

so i will try to exchange the 'rom package' with something like photos. wont waste it. btw who is jeanie yong? do u have her contacts? she's good huh...

a fren of mine oso said orchid country club is nice, go check it out!

coco> U can go to main pg of sg brides. Her website is shown there. Saw her portfoilio, nt bad. I nvr sign up cos AD still so long lei, in 07. We doing some research cos end of the yr need to shop for venue, they increase price every yr....probably book a plc early next yr. YC had roadshow there oso, they were pushing for the bukit tinggi package which I tink I mite as well go msia to take...siao lei $1k more to go there.

The coordinator at OCC is very nice oso, they say so far no enquiries for 2007, but if we really interested, then can make exeptions n give us 06 prices. She's nt pushy n she give us special price to OCC wedding show in july oso.

Gd morning... what a wet morning...traffic jam at Stevens Rd...

Coco> wah u have done everything liao.. u are very efficient hor?

Suelynn> u like OCC? will be going for a dinner at OCC in Oct. Will let u know the ambience there...

zzzzzzzzz.... wanna slp!

wah morning... the thread moving so fast... cant catch up...

hi queenie have blk 432 at st 64 cause the old jurong side near hong kah secondary school... hehe thanks think e price will increase also cause jus in front building a stadium and swimming pool... hehe like condo at the doorstep...

jus visited the wedding planner last saturday and got a package from WL... think they're not bad with their reviews and stuff...

Bad news... gotta postpone my ROM to this NOvember liao... cause my AD also postpone because of my FH sis so unreasonable say we cannot do wedding before her... *sAd*
kao_angry.gif
got into a huge fight with my FH. his parents side with their daughter more.

Oh dear Annabelle. what happened??? why can't u do the wedding before her? u are just getting ROM right? how come like that??? can't u just ROM only and leave the AD till later? so won't clash with her right?

this kind of things also want to quarrel.. haizz wedding is supposed to be happy right?

morning!

so many posts!!!! cant catch up le!!!

DH: I got my venue @ Amara Poolside Gdn & JP David Loh & BS from JHC. I asked e quote from JBP but realise we gotta come up with at least $5k for venue & food.. at little stressed... but now at least with 5k i can settle my attire, venue, bands & tpt.. ;p so quite happy

everybody, check with u all... i can on efile on 23/6/05 issit?? (my rom date is 23/09/05)

wah, 1 morn so many posts kekkeke

anna> agree with the rest why rom oso gotta postpone? Its jus a legal ceremony mah, won't clash with ur fsil leh... Dun quarrel k

Doris> u can efile on 23th of june but urs is away fr the centre can do it anything to 2th of sept cos no need to snatch time slots like me....hahah!

Hi everyone!!!!!!
Of caz remember y'all lah.U r my "face-less" support group leh.Come back only faster faster come in here loh...

cherz,
caratell 6251 2292,look for eric.Nice patient guy.
Er...yes,we worked damn kcufing hard for bonus man.Anywayz,timing is gd too!Heehee!!!We r one company everybody will knw our bonus.Make others green eyed monsters.

suelynn,
JP Mr Chan Kai Yau married my FH bro but he's booked already...sianz!

annabelle,
wat the hell happen with ur FSIL?Watever it is,dun create bad blood k.
I see but thot tt blk 432 hor is street 42 leh.

DH,
nothing grand to my ROM lah jz simple but exclusive.Heehee!

hi suelynn,

so u meant i no need to rush to efile la?

but mine is not a hot date right??

btw, who else uses ahpeng for PS during ROM?? good bo??

doris> cos its diff to efile for solemnisation away fr the centre, there is like quota for those at the centre. Those done outside got no quota one so no rush regardless hot or not the date.

I havnt found fotographer yet lei, still looking ard, ahpeng definitely out cos she is taken on my day. Pretty interested in edwin at iwerks oso. But I still looking la.

Doris> so ur rom dress fr JHC oso? I tot of signing up for their rom package lei, u went n draft ur dress yet?

Hey Queenie! welcome back! heehee ur nameless support group.. i like that name Da Jie!

Ya don't need to e-file so early Doris, cos urs is outdoor, won't clash with those that wanna do it in the registry itself.

Me going to file only in late July...

tanks gers... dunno tot i must efile asap if i wanna do on a certain date.. ;p real goondo..

suelynn: yup... not so fast most prob gog to Jess in late June.. still got time.. but i ever saw quite a no. of gers desgin... not bad in fact, afterall it boils down to individual liking...

my FH in fact may not want PS... asking friends... so i @@ ard first.. if within our budget may get 1... but exceed.. then stick to frens.. we already got 2 frens ready to help us.. ;p

I still looking ard, hope can find something, if nt then I go take up jess, giving myself till end may.

Doris> we nt inviting alot of ppl so frends cant really help la kekkeke. Dowan to blow too much of the budget, anyway I will go n ask Jess their full bridal package is hw oso.

sorry queenie wrong info to blur liao... my house st wat i also forget... ya very bad fight last saturday nite... i really dunno wat to do... thanks gals for all your concern... my FSIL is a very unreasonable and stubborn person (cannot say to much as she may be in this forum too) watever... now tat we've gave in i think she's really happy rite now althou i'm still furious inside. but as FH wants to give in and my FIL also sides with their daughter there's nothing i can do... am jus lucky i dun have to stay with them after marriage. now still too angry to go over to his place...

seems like their happier to marry off their daughter than their son's wedding.

Poor Annabelle...

Haizzz some ppl are like that.. what to do? just hope u don't be too bitter abt it... just close one eye lor... i know it is easier said than done.. think if it was me i would be super duper mad too...

hi annabelle> is your FSIL older than your FH? but rom-ing before her is alrite wat... my younger is getting married before me initially, i have no plans until next yr but the master told me to have ceremony before him so tats y the rush. since your FH & his parents insist this arrangement & u really dun mind, then let them have their way. or your life will be jiat lak in future. agree, luckily not staying with them hehe...

bear> me efficient? bor bianz ah... cos i only have tis amount of time to prepare & the date is so hot!! but good lah... faster get it done then i can relaz abit later. i still haven't found my JP thou.

queenie> is JP Mr Chan Kai Yau good?

doris> u only need to file the notice 21 days before the date if you are rom-ing outside the rom bldg

thanks bear... i'm furious too... i knoe my FH is sandwiched in between but i feel like so 'extra' u knoe wat i mean... ppl are willing to put u behind leh... dunno lar... see how lor... at a lost now...

good afternoon^^,
manage to get a jp today during lunch hee hee hee he is the second one in the jp list who put down his hp number haa haa haa his name is Mr Teo Chong Tee. this thurs meeting the caterer to discuss about the menu too bad the venue decor is not free or else can do everything at one go. probably have to arrange with the decor to go dpwn to the school again to talk about the layout ^^ so excited!!!! getting closer closer to the date hehehehehe

anna, ni zhen ke lian... but let them have their way now... coz the future is longer.. angry for awhile now beta than future dispute more right?

wah, u all damn fast hor?

anna> Talking abt bo bian, yah sometimes no choice but to give in cos dowan the rest of ur lives to see their black face rite?

wxyang> congrats finally found a JP! Somemore talk abt layout etc. Nothing is done for me yet, except getting my wedding bands....

anna> i agree with doris, ren yi shi zhi qi, feng ping lang jing. tui yi bu, hai kuo tian kong. since they so particular about it then bo pian let them have it their way lor coz no point fighting a battle which you can hardly win esp with your FH clamp in the middle he will suffer one.(not meaning he is the only one suffering lah) sometimes there must be some sacrifices made now to ensure happiness in the future^^

sue>> things will fall into place one don worry. when it happens im sure you will be amaze at the speed which things progress hee hee hee (im amazed myself too) me juz ordered wedding band too, getting the one from lee hwa, kizoku series.

ah bear> hows your preparations liao?

Back after running around the last few days.

Suelynn> Looks like we'll finalise on The Gazebo at Raffles Hotel. Went to recce the place and me and my wife loves it.

Coco> David Loh is extremely popular sia. I'm still without a JP for 18th Sep. You got your photographer and JP already? I also agree with the rest that mua and hair quite expensive. I read that the normal quotes are 200-300 pls.

Do BS decide on which gowns to let you try? I thought that you'll be allowed to choose the gowns that you like? Or normally they will choose those that they think are the most suitable?

Bear> Ahh, no wonder BH was so certain that you booked it before April 1st. Looks like we'll give up having our ceremony at the zoo coz we prefer having it at Raffles Hotel after viewing a few venues.

Doris> I see. Very nice to have David Loh as our JP. JHC stands for Jess Hautue Couture? So many BS in the market, headache sia.

Annabelle> Sorry to hear that. I don't understand how come you cannot do wedding before her *sigh* Don't be upset

Queenie> Sorry when is your ROM again? Thinking of getting Mr Chan too. Yeah, it will be very nice to have the ceremony with yatchts as the backdrop.

Wxy> Congrats on getting your JP. So you arranging for a florist to decorate the place? You doing it in school hall?

All,

Any comments on TWD bs? We went down to the newpapaper fair too and sat down to listen to Mr n Mis Wed*** Club and TWD. We kinda like the outdoor shoots but not sure hows their gown and service like? They have been around for a long time so should have some standards? :P