(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

anise

cherz... dun tink he gonna ride bike anymore.. it's damn dangerous.. guess it time we switch to car.. but all these required alot of $$.. anyway shall c how.. i oso haven been to chinatown.. hubby cant pei mi go.. anyone free to go with me??!?! hehe

queenie... ya dat lady really no integrity.. somemore after my sis realised n said her back, she started shooting nasty remarks thru sms... anyway luckily my sis is smart enuff.. hehe

tmolo got to work already... =(

cherz

dajie, hee not really sg retro meaning not like the retro songs you hear in other clubs.

anise, now car cheaper. last time my hb buy so ex n now he is struck wif higher loan n super old car!

cacphin

hi pple, i'm back.. sorry have been MIa for a eek... really very packed with work and moving house.
I'm proud to announce that i'm living in my new house liao.. hehehe.. first thing is to set up my comp.. coz i wanna watch tv and surf net an do my work with comp.. kekek..
anyway, will plan for a day for u all to come.. but most prob after chinese new yr coz my ID still trying to patch things here and there..
sigh..
still got my living room to hack few tiles where the worksmanship is not that good.. so dunno lar..
will be living with the dust..

teacup

nihpcac: hey, cool.
must be wonderful waking up in your own place.

maruko

hi all...today abit quiet...all bz wif own stuffs...

dajie, u gg london liao ah? guess u shld b on the plane now... :p finally the sun is out these few days...i also hav a fren who hav his AD in karaoke style...quite interestin...my godbro is the person who made the system so im tinkin if i wanna hav dat also...hehehe...

sue, b careful wif this gal leh since she addresses ur hb as "lao gong"...tink she too desperate for guys liaoz...

tweety, u go out wif ur hb's ex ah? me cant tolerate dat one...if she is ard i sure black face whole nite n im sure my hb wont allow dat :p

anise, tink ur hb needs ur attention now since he has been havin recounts of the accident...he muz b very scared at dat time...make sure u take care of urself also hor...

cherz, u went to MOS liao ah? me always tot of the super long queue n dun wanna go liaoz...heard the inside is quite gd now...didnt noe abt the music though...wat u mean "not realli sg retro"?

who's sayin abt gg to chinatown har? me also haven go but quite near to my office...how abt we arrange a day after work to go there walk?

cherz

hows everyone's wkend?went town to shop juz now but not many ppl.Everyone shd b busy tidying up the hse!!got 2 more tops.jialat all tops but only 1 bottom.

Sheryl, congrats, finally got yr love nest almost done!at least some breathing space for you before yr AD. yeah wld love to visit yr place after cny!

joy, hows yr sis's eyes?

cherz

jannie, actually if you Q with yr frenz and chat then the Q will move quite fast. I dun feel like i Q for an hr.

The retro music there is not like those u listen in other pubs.Go experience yrself. =)

suetan

jannie> that gal ah, hb lost contact with her more than 9 yrs ago, it happen b4 he met me. So no need to worry ald.

Went hse viewin with my hb tdy, cos my ils moving. So hb n I went to look at furnitures for his new room. I gonna stay over during weekends so gonna buy a queen bed, hb's old bed is super single. We nt gonna move the stuff to our new plc next time. So looking for cheap bed frame n cupboard. Anyone been to anywhere that has decent looking furnitures n nt too ex. So far, the most budget set we saw is at Brighton, going for $599, cupboard n bed frame n dresser .

maruko

cherz, ya wif frenz ard time will pass faster n u wont realise the queue takes a long time...mayb i will find 1 fine day to go check it out...

sue, lucky ur hb lost contact wif her liaoz...havin such a gal fren is quite risky... :p me dunno where got cheap bed frame n cupboard though...

joyousonline

oh thanks for your concern for my sis!! my sis still in hospital..doc says she has a 2mm ulcer so cannot b discharged yet..sigh..but her eye not that red..still her vision is not that good..can see but blur as if you are seeing thru a folder..sigh..dunno any solution to that..

me been bz running to and fro..yesterday be jie mei from early morning, then go back home to sleep a while, then went to hospital to visit my sis, and then rush to attend my fren's ROM and then dinner at peony jade..yummy..my fren also engaged a band to play jazzy music during the wedding dinner..cool..

hey queenie,
any ideas?? but my fren's band not cheap leh..about $600 plus for one hour, one keyboardist, one saxophone, one male and female singer..they are the mc for the nite as well..after that met up with my friends coz one of them came back from hong kong to visit us..so was out till 1plus..so tired..

this morning also went to see my sis and accompany her till afternoon..i went to meet up hubby..we bought instant heaters, ceiling fan and some bathroom accessories too.then i went to my house to put all the things we've bought there..wow..kitchen is being done up..heeee so cool..saw my hood, hob and oven in box..cool..cannot wait to see the finished installation..the kitchen sink is up too! shower screen, toilet doors as well..and grilles..

maruko

joy, u got a rather hectic schedule sia...take gd care of urself leh...ur sis got ulcer in her eyes ah? seems quite bad...did doc mention when will she recover?
ur house almost done up liao...u muz b gettin real excited abt it...

man_tou_bear

gd morning.. finally back to my normal working hour liao... what a mad mad wk it was.. everyday finish work late or work till 2-3am...

I roughly scanned through the posts. Who is asking abt LASIK? i did mine in 2004. Now left with mine right eye with 200 degrees of astigmatism. My left eye is perfect.

Wah u guys talking abt clubbing again ah? was telling m hb abt u all.. i feel very old all of a sudden...

Joy lucky u, ur house so fast finished liao.. mine won't be ready till end feb. 14 wks of renovation. haizzzz... can't wait to see the outcome. currently they are laying the hall's floor tiles and starting to plaster the top floor's bedrooms. still left the parquet in the 3 bedrooms, painting, the electrical wiring then lastly the carpentry.

Sheryl: wah congras!! staying in ur own house liao.

annabelle

MOrning...

HOw's everyone's weekend??? my furnitures all arrived liao wor... busy busy cleaning haiz...

Sheryl, wow u stay in liao ar... soo good...

weixiongy

harlow peeps, was really busy past few days so did not post.
this morning sent out a mail to you all and ah bear replied that i should post more haa haa haa

aiya bear you not old lah. some ppl go clubbing and some dont mah. i use to go every single week even twice a week and now after married like wat da jie says lor find those place not appealing liao. would rather stay at home wif my wife then going to places where you have to shout to be heard and getting squeezed ard haa haa haa

joy, happy to hear that you sis is on the way to recovering. the eyes are delicate organs so i think will need time to heal is lor. prob some tonics for the eye will do her some good. sorry got no idea wat sort of tonic is good.....not much help there....

da jie, you go gan chiong ahhhh got your v-day pressie liao. i still dunno wat to get for my wife. prob get her the fossil watch which fancied while window shopping the other day. been quite sometime since i bought her a watch too. last time was the limited casio baby-g edition. hehehehe juz found out that i can exchange a 25% discount card at DFS(one day usage) with my name card. yessss 25% discount on top of the DFS price. already ordered my name card liao hehehehe hoping to get it soon. my wife wanna buy the lancome new product(eye cream) hehehehe anyone wanna join us for shopping haa haa haa
getting a live jig....hmmm im totally uptight about the flash movie liao so did not think of that. i know karaoke is a fav among wedding dinner hehehehe

jannie a walk along chinatown will usually result in walk and eat haa haa haa coz they got sell alot of nice nice snacks like grilled sotong!!!!! cheese hotdogs!!!!! haa haa haa im going to bkk this friday until tues so i guess if wanna go chinatown will be after that hehehe last year i went down twice ^^

sheryl, congrats on your new house ready liao hahaha must have been very shiok to wake up in your very own home!!!

last sat went for a AD at The Pines and i can say the service is really bad. firstly the waiters are very slow and not very observant. imagine my glass was actually emtpy a few times and had to ask the waiter to refill it!!!! and after the food was served the waiter will come and ask if we still want the food like after 10-15mins!!!! i mean the plate was not even half cleared and he can ask that kind of question. there was one instance where you cannot find any waiters ard at all!!! the fish was overcooked and the noodles was too dry and the shark's fin was too bland. really the most terrible restaurant i have been to.

man_tou_bear

So quiet here.. I m back but go nobody to chat to.. desperate enough to reply to Weixiong's mail to tell him to come in here. where's Jannie and Tea and Sue??

Hrmmm Weixiong, u good at animation? i m thinking of having an animated photo montage but a fren said its abt $600. haizzz.. now also sourcing for videographer.. so if u guys got anyone to recommend please let me know ok? We actually didn't wanna have one bcos of the disappointment we got from our ROM VG... but after seeing a fren's one, we tot we might want one.. so now sourcing lor...

Where's Pines ah? its a club right?? hrmm that bad ah???

i also dunno what to get for V day leh... normally we dun spend a lot on it cos a few days later its my bday then another few more days is our anniversary...

maruko

bear me here me here...been bz this morning...dun hav time to even go toilet...now can relak liaoz...me dunno abt any VG...if u noe any let me noe also leh...

weixiong, me gg hkg next wk...so dunno if can arrange a walk to chinatown or not...if wan will hav to b this wk...next wk is gonna b a hectic wk for me... :p

anyway made up my mind to leave this coy liaoz...oredi had a coll tender liaoz...tink boss will b surprised when i tender also...intend to talk to boss when im back from hkg...haven told my family though...dunno how they will react...

weixiongy

hehehehe bear ah, if all the dates that close might as well lump it all together and celebrate lah. that way can save also ^^
the pines at stevens rd there lor. its a country club and yes it is that bad. no im juz beginning to learn it hehehe for me i think videographer is juz filming all that is happening at the wedding when you are at that place. don think they will go out of the way and go film other ppl. so practically i think VG is optional don see anything special in it leh, i mean i got my own camcorder so can juz ask a fren to help me out to film if i want and i can ask him to juz go and film around ^-^
when you coming to town again?? long time no lunch with you liao leh...

jannie, as long as you know wat to do after you tender im sure they will support you lah hehehe
taka basement already open shop liao lor. juz now lunch time went to take a look and quite a lot of stalls leh thou my fav is still Lavender hee hee hee

maruko

weixiong, tink will suffer quite a big paycut after i left...sigh...this industry is so unstable...guess i juz cant work here anymore wif this uncle ard...he's drivin me crazy...

man_tou_bear

Weixiong, hrmm this wk will gd for me. spending Wed till Fri at my HQ so can meet for lunch anytime soon... U beginning to learn animation? my hubby has no time to learn, neither does he wanna give me the $$$ to get someone else to do. Haizzz.... Ya lor normally i will only get one pressie.. kinda sad right? at least for all of u, u will get one present for V day, another for Bday and another for anniversary.. i get only one.. here i go grumbling again... haizzz. me the grumpy bear.

Ya that's what we thought also that VG was optional. until we saw my fren's wedding video! cos the bride will nv get to see how the groom kena sabo during the morning ceremony hence we felt that there might be a use for it. so now scrambling to look for one lor.. my frens in the nov thread already got their VGs in Nov last yr!!

Jannie chat more lah! i m sure u and Weixiong wanna get out of junior member status right?? heehee.. Wah u wanna tender now ah? have u found a job? may be u can try looking for a job first then u tender.. more security dun u think??

maruko

haha...bear me tryin my best to chat more liaoz...didnt u realise me quite active lately? :p
actualli i will b gg over to my hb's company to work...his side shorthanded...so asked me if i wanna go over lor...im quite ok wif it since i noe most of the ppl there n the work...some more dun hav to go thru interview...hahaha...

man_tou_bear

Oh so u have a job waiting for u liao.. but u not scared u see ur hubby everyday that it becomes boring? or that u will argue over work stuff and bring ur arguments home or vice versa? me and my hb cannot work together one.. we work very differently...

Ya i noticed u chat more liao.. must hit 500 post to be member i think... heehee....

Hey i m thinking of having a real wedding cake.. U think is that necessary?? its abt $500 for a cake...

maruko

no lah...my hb on the run one...he wont b in the office so its ok lor...dun tink we will argue abt work stuff ba...
wats the diff on gettin a real or fake cake?

man_tou_bear

Okok... gd for u... me and my hb argue abt how i teach my classes.. haizzz...

Real cake can eat, fake cake cannot lor.. heehee.. real cake is smaller and fake cake is free....

maruko

haha...i also noe real can eat n fake cant... :p
i mean wats the issue of gettin a real or a fake? u wanna distribute to guests after the dinner? if not den dun hav to get a real one lor...
WAIT...somehow i feel like i dun ans ur qn...hahaa...mayb u wanna rephrase ur qn...

man_tou_bear

Hahaha seems like a qian bian wen da ti... heehee.. what i meant is, is it worth getting a real cake? will be feeding abt 200 ppl and the cake will cost abt $400-500... just seeking ur opinion lor.. cos i dun wanna have a typical wedding so tot i would have a real cake as something different.

maruko

ic ic...now i got ur qn...hehehe...im not sure abt it actualli but last time i remember as a child i often go weddings wif my parents n we came back wif the cakes but it ends up not being eaten n thrown away...dats my family's "thing" lah...we juz 4got to eat n its spoilt...hahaha...dats my opinion... :p

man_tou_bear

No lah i m not giving the cake as the wedding favour.. not like the fruit cakes we use to get when we go for weddings lah... I m gonna cut my cake during cocktail reception and will distribute it before the start of dinner. cos i foresee that dinner will most prob start at 8-8.30pm so will cut the cake at 7.45pm for them to eat first lor...

zenth

Hey all, dh is back to contribute to our target of 7000 posts. All of us are simply amazing in keeping this thread alive. I think for most of the threads, once the rom over the thread also over.

At long last we have decided on our id... been a long search ever since i got my keys last march. Read about alot of problems with house renvo so i tend to get very paranoid hence the long delay.. today just "started work" at 3pm.. so i'm on half day....The coordinator took a hammer and hammered off few pieces of cement in the kitchen....as cny is drawing near, they will only be doing our flooring and resume work after cny.

zenth

anna> THanks for the dav's contacts....think quite close to where i am staying :eek:) how is the workmanship for a-star eh? i am still shopping around for air-cons leh....currently short listed Toshiba, Panasonic and Star Mex.

zenth

ajie> ear candling very shiok ah? gotta ask my wifey and see she wanna go anot....i am still having headaches as to which fridge to go for also... shortlisted miti, panasonic and hitachi (highly recommended by the sales staff.. dunno how reliable)

zenth

maruko> i'll let everyone know once i finalised "my turf" to sing.. all of you must come and support me :p you found a new job already?? if not tahan for a while more.. look for a job first before you tender lo....

zenth

cherz> I miss my granny too.. she passed away almost 10 years already..she took care of all of us when we were young and she always buy alot of tonics for me when she goes to china....it is a pity that i do not get to dream of her now.....hope she is doing well...i believe there is certain truth in communication through dreams loh... so i don't think you were thinking too much that time.

zenth

rachel> These few weekends i have been shopping around best denki, courts and harvey norman to shortlist fridges, hood and hobs. alot of heachaches sia as i really do not know how to choose.. hehe...glad that you got good deals for your fridge and washer......also thannks for the gdl advice ... will take note when it is our turn to purchase gdl stuff..

zenth

cacphin> congrats on moving into your love nest...another big hurdle completed liao.. now can focus all your energy on ensuring that you'll be very mei mei on 06/06/06. How much are you selling your shower heads eh? I went to check just now and those provided by hdb kinda old liao.... currently checking with hdb if they can replace them.

zenth

bearie> i think 1.1k inclusive of all the sands and haulage.. though i have to pay an additional $150 for the removal of debris.. think that one charged by town council....tired of bargaining liao.. scare wait i bargain too much then in the end they don't do a good job for me.

zenth

Re real cake, in my honest opinion i do not think it is necessary loh....but if you do not want a typical wedding then can consider.. can also having custom wedding favours.. better still make your own cake.. more meaningful also

zenth

joyous> yeah, just started today.. so sourcing for all the electrical appliances now loh... thanks for your contacts for kong tai... probably would give a few others a call to check and compare the prices...hope that you sister is feeling much better now...is she discharged already?

zenth

anise> jiayou jiayou!!! better not to ride bike anymore loh as it is really dangerous... though it can be convenient at times especially during traffif jams.... i wanna go get class 2 licence but my wifey don't allow.. heh

maruko

bear, mayb get real cake is quite gd lor...den they wont starve while waitin for the latecomers... :p

DH, wah seh...u realli noe how to "add" posts...hahaha...so many all of a sudden...im sure we can hit our target soon...hehehe...
got a job offer from my hb liaoz...spoke to an ex coll n he seems quite repulsive of me gg to my hb's coy...anyway oredi made up my mind...

cherz

Joy, busy wkend for you! I also have to attend two roms in mar & may. The couple for the mar rom haven’t even started their preparations. They were saying to ask for our advice and contacts after cny.
Imagine how gan cheong we were last time!

Sue, cheapest bed would be to just lay the mattress on the floor without a bed frame. My hb’s bed is like that.

Do you need a bed frame to “an chuang� As I know some people adjust the position of both the bed frame and mattress to the correct position during “an chuang†while some just adjust the mattress.

Anna, you be able to stay in like Sheryl soon! How is OM service so far? Share any bad experience as I may get my furniture there next time.

cherz

Bear, hows the process of lasik? Is it scarey? You can see the laser cutting through your eyes right? I wished I had perfect eyesight too. Hmm but now no $$ to do lasik also.

You have any tuition lobang for me? I wanna earn more $$ too.

For videographer, I haven’t done any research on that yet. Mayb Sheryl, Rachel & DH will be more familiar. I had two friends using tr*asur* production. No complains from them. Not sure abt the market rates. For them, tink its abt $1K for the AD video plus express clip shown during the banquet.

I don’t think its necessary to have a real cake. N how are you going to cut your cake before the dinner? Where do you cut it? At the reception area??
I feel if you want to have a real cake, don’t use money to buy. Bake one yrself. That would be more meaningful right! I attended my uncle’s wedding. My uncle baked the cake himself. Of course its juz like a normal size birthday cake. And the couple fed each other after cutting the cake.

zenth

Harlo all, re videography, i used tr*asur* productions for my ROM. Will continue to use them for my actual day. ..the express highlight package cherz described is $1588... if you need te contacts let me know.

I am not sure about an chuang wor.. i would think the mattress should be good enough.... mine will be built-in so i won't be able to adjust the bed frame..heh

suetan

Cherz> my mil will nag one if we dun get a bed, cos so say hard to clean the flr need to move it up. N nt gd for me cos I have sinus plus we need to anchuang etc. So need to get a bed frame. Else I jus wan to lay the mattress on the carpet.Our geomancer say anchuang the mattress , sheets n blanket must be new n arrange by the parents.

Hmmmm abt the real cake, I tink a small cake for abt 50 to 100 guests wld be gd not too big nt too small n its entertaining oso. But then to cut it earlier when there is nt so much ppl like nt "happening" enuff.Its up to one's preference. My hb suggest my parents tango during our AD, I was like.......hahahha!

queenie30

Yup!I'm in cold & wet london.It's 8hrs behind sg.Time for dinner soon while u all r nice & warm in ur beds.
This trip,most of us like preferred to be alone so I went to supermarket alone jz now after lunch with some of them & instead of gg back to the rm,I decided to spend afew $ here.

Congratz sheryl!
U have joined another club-Home owners!To think tt i've stayed there for close to 6mths.At 1st it felt weird for me but now every time i open the door when coming home,it really feels gd lor.A plc to call my own.

DH,
try ear candling lah.It's addictive,jz ask sue.

ah bear,
i had a real 3 tier wedding cake if u recall.My fren did it.If u need the stands,i still got it.Though may not be big enuf for ur need.
I also had a videographer,let me knw if u want the contact.

cherz,
i got my stuff fr OM.Service ok.No bad experience but minimum wait for delivery is 2mths.

queenie30

wxyang,
u ordered the games yet?I simply cant wait.Getting excited!!

DH,
most of my stuff at home r panasonic caz they consume less energy & they r nicely designed too!Some other brands may be gd but they look bad.

Anywayz,if anyone wanna a band or watever at ur AD,i got lobang so let me knw.I'm jz helping not my side line hor.

It's only abt 6pm here but really dark liao.I miss u guys!When we gonna meet up agn???????

joyousonline

LATEST NEWS

WIS for SEMBAWANG, WOODLANDS AND YISHUN!

HDB is launching 406 units of 4-room and bigger flats for sale under the latest Walk-in-Selection (WIS) exercise today. These flats are located in Sembawang (186 units), Woodlands (147 units) and Yishun (73 units). The overall flat supply comprises 179 units of 4-room, 24 units of 5-room and 203 units of Executive flats.

Booking Procedure

2The Jan 2006 WIS exercise is conducted at the HDB Hub Sales Office in Toa Payoh. HDB starts issuing queue numbers on a first-come-first-served basis from today. Applicants will be given specific time slots during office hours to book a flat, from 20 Jan 2006 (Friday).

3The list of flats offered for sale and the sales brochures are available for collection at the HDB Hub from today onwards during office hours. Interested flat buyers can also log on to HDB InfoWEB, e-Sales at www.hdb.gov.sg for more details of the WIS exercise. Information can also be found in HDB's advertisement in today’s Straits Times, Lianhe Zaobao, Berita Harian and Tamil Murasu. A notification will be sent to all applicants who have subscribed to our e-mailing list.

Show Flats / Sample Units

4To provide applicants with a better idea of the flats on offer, three show flats in Sembawang as well as six unfurnished sample units in Sembawang, Woodlands and Yishun are open for viewing. The show flats and sample units are available for sale in this exercise. More information on the show flats and sample units are in Appendix 1.

Temporary Withdrawal Of Walk-in-Selection Flats launched in Apr 2005

5The Walk-in-Selection (WIS) of flats in Jurong West and Jurong East was launched in Apr 2005. From 1 Feb 2006 (Wednesday), HDB will temporarily suspend the sale of flats in these towns under the WIS to take stock of the balance flats as well as to include some flats that become available for sale before the subsequent launch planned for the second quarter of 2006.

6Homebuyers who are interested in buying a flat in these 2 towns have up to 28 Jan 2006 (Saturday) to visit our Sales Office at the HDB Hub, Toa Payoh, during office hours and book a unit on-the-spot.

7Homebuyers who are interested in flats in other non-mature towns such as Hougang, Punggol, Sengkang, and established towns like Bukit Merah and Geylang can continue to book a unit at HDB Hub during office hours.

Enquiries

8For enquiries, the public can :

-e-mail [email protected];
-call the toll-free Sales/Resale Customer Service line at 1800-8663066 on weekdays from 8 a.m to 5 p.m;
- visit the Sales Office at HDB Hub at Toa Payoh during office hours.