(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

need to ask u gals some advise. is it alright to customary and ROM in the month of June? one of my fren told me its not good to hold wedding in the middle of the year leh. Anyone pls help thks!

Haa haa... Jan! Didnt realised the word 'boutique' also... hee hee! MC Buffet is $19.90+++ per person with complimentary a bottle of wine for the couple!

hi hi girls...
ribbit,
yup had my rom in May, i think it was quite a popular month, mine was on the 18th of may..
everything was over so soon, kind of missed it, alot of prep but i must say it's all worth the efforts so now it's planning for the wedding..
how abt yrs??? how's your planning coming along???

Cyn,
yup yup, binbin is rite, me at punggol, near near, just one mrt station away...and lots of the 04 girls stay in SK too..
so now u looking into contractors liao ah...this part will be a even bigger headache ah...as compared to the wedding prep

Ino,
Have u gone for yr CS fitting ah?? decided on your rom venue liao...??? i think those which u have shortlisted are really tough choices cos they are all equally good..
so good luck !! but whichever venue u take...it's the occasion that counts..:") and im sure u will be equally as happy..

Bigsizebride..
dun feel so shy lah....but hor i must agree the girls here are mostly slim slim one lah...ahahah...me also big size and i know what u r going thru now...i used to be size 18 when i first started my gown hunting and i really hated it, all those bridal shops will really give u the most irritating looks...u can look around as u still have a fair bit of time...do abit of comparsion and see if its worth doing your first option..else go for package...u can try JL collections, their gowns are relatively big and even Jawn happy ever after ah, think soupie got your rom dress mtm there and she's very happy with their service...i know of a few big brides whom went to that bridal and so far,all good comments..
if u want low end ones, that would be mine, bridal zone, they got quite a fair bit of big size gowns, one of the reasons why i sign up with them was cos of the price , the lady that serve me was really nice and also i manage to fit into their gowns...ahaha..that's why..so please take yr time to do some shopping before u decide..
Happy gown shopping!!!

hey evon..i tink u can buy frm carrefour for the flowers..if u dun like the hassle,u can buy the tea bags frm any supermarket..

btw wen is ur wedding?? i'm nt sure but there're comments abt nt doing anyting 4 the wedding during the lunar 7th mth..nt so gd i guess..
the 7th mth is 2molo i tink..

What is GWP? do you mean grand copthorne waterfront (GCW)?

Hi rabbitwsk,
wah..you so lucky to get such a prime estate! But must be quite expensive hor? Is yours a 4- or 5-rm?

hi fencnef, well...i will go check it out...thank you

my rom is in sep..me not superstitous but im only left wif my guest list and food list..so nothing much i can do now too :P i think im only concern abt my diet now

hey evon..

my rom was last yr dec..v.nice memorable experience..

yah..rom nothing much 2 do except 2 decide who 2 invite n the makan session after the ceremony..
haf u pick ur dress 4 ur rom?

hi fencnef,
ohh...you had urs liao..can share ur pixs? :P:P
our guest list is getting longer n longer everyday..hahahha...one ppl pass to another n another...dun invite paiseh..gosh..on list now abt 60 ppl

ya just chosen the week before last...

we've done up an rom website..dun wanna post it here..paisey..mayb u gif me your email addy??

wow..60 pple ah..??heehee..we had abt 32 guests dat time..we tot it was a large no liao..& cos it was a mon..paisey 2 ask many pple 2 come as need 2 take leave too..

ohh...u can send it to [email protected]
i'm also doing our own homepage and invitation using html :P:P very proud of my work :P:P
ohh...mine is on a tue but at nite so my guests have to come down after their work

hi fencnef, thks for sharing will go view shortly...sorry my homepage still under construction suppose to comply everything there...but maybe can show u my invitation instead if u dun mind

doreamon,

I have started my reno and think will finish by end of next month. Have not got my furniture as yet though.

Maybe you could pop by say Oct? Hopefully by then my furniture would be in already :P

Pebbles,

How's your reno discussion going on?

Hi Trixie,

GWP stands for Goodwood Park Hotel and GCW stands for Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Hi Fencnef,

Thanks for the details of tunglok. Noble house, not bad. I thought of it too but thinking of the changing gown part and no hotel room provided, that why I gave up the idea.

How everyone at work?

Pebble,
Oh, ur rom is one week bef mine in May. Ya that mth is a good mth, there was 3 days for us to choose. My wedding planning? Oh...now looking for dinner pl cos we feel that it is very much important due to the limited availibility... i tot this is more stressful! Finding gown is more fun...hehehe... How about yours? Next year when?

How everyone at work? Its about knock off time.

Thanks. We are glad to get the flat too. Have stayed there for about 2 mths and my hubby is finally adjusting from his 'west end' life to the crowded central area.

Fen,
Why not go balloting? I tot Tao payoh flat not bad. Anyway, now u got Bishan also very good location. Is it facing the park? When u got the keys, i can share w u some lobang...

Trixie,
Thanks... its indeed prime area and $ is also very premium. Mine is a 5 rm...

Evon,
You are inviting 60 to ur rom. Should be ok la... my crowd at my hse was about 48pp! One gd friend joked that each person movement is only within 1 tile. Hee... but turn out ok and everyone enjoyed themselves that day. Oh! it rained at the moment we signed on the paper... Rain of Joy, I think

U got ur JP?

Hi rabbitwsk,

Wow...today u so late then log in? Today really blue man...lucky going home soon..

I'm not sure yet it might be more or less abt 50-80 ppl...wow...ur hse alone so many ppl can go in meh? hahaha...interesting..ohh...hopefully mine dun rain if not they will be no food :p:p

yap yap...'booked' my jp liao...

wow, I sick for 3 days and so many postings liao ah....

Dear A&W,
Ya, most of the shops in Singapore cater for petite size ladies and it is difficult to find a gown that suits me. I did consider MTM but dunno how much will it cost me. So did u manage to find your gowns in Canada?

Dear Forest,
I live at Yishun. but after marriage will be staying with my FH at Bukit Panjang.

Dear Pebbles,
Thank you for your encouragement.
I have read the threads on Jawn and noted that their package are abit out of my range. Does Bridal Zone has big size gown for me? How are their charges and package like?

Can i book the bridal package or MTM gowns 6 months before my customery? isit too late? Has anyone sign up with Wang Jiang Lou for wedding dinner?

thank you.............

Hi gals! Anyone realised I was missing? *hehe* Had to attend some weird briefing the whole day. :P

Hi silver,
If it's $1.8k, then it's a very gd deal, esp since it comes with collages! What does ur bf think abt u giving up the YC photography package?

Hi Jan,
So u enjoyed the NDP preview? Did u get the tickets from the balloting too?

Hi butterfly,
Oic. Well, I guess if ur church is renting the bldg from them, they'll expect u to pay for renting for rehearsal too, I guess. Sorry, what's ACM?

Hi ever,
What preps have u done for ROM? Actually, I'm not sure what u need to prepare for ROM, other than the gown, decor, venue & caterer.

What abt just using fresh flowers for hair, & even for wrist? U can buy a necklace since ur gown is bustier. I think if u want a very sweet, fresh look, using flowers will be nice. But also must see what design is ur gown.

hi perhaps3,
Read your posting. Unless you're overseas or damn really busy that you can't do your own sourcing or plan your wedding, then it's worth it to hire a wedding planner. If not, think it's still better to do yourself.

Hiring wedding planner got advantages & disadvantages. If the wedding planner make lots of mistakes while preparing...you also feel very cham like that.. heart also ache. In the end, also worried. Still the same pressure and worries if you do yourself. Don't forget charges & services are still the same also. You must tell them what pricing you're comfortable with. But usually they have their own contacts which varies. And usually on the higher-end.

The wedding planner you mention, they're new in that branch. But heard their corporate events are good. I can't say much also now too....until my wedding is over.

Hi nedhelp,
From what i heard is the "sixth month" of the chinese calender, since June is still "Forth month" to "fifth month", should be okif u not particular abt it. I'll also be holding my wedding in June 04, and my mum is ok with the date.

Oic..hehe sorry still not quite used to all theses acronyms

GWP looks really lovely but out of my budget.

Hi Evon,
So where will your ROM be?

hi questy,

thks lot on yr views.

ladies, how do u all decide on the wedding date? do u go by tung shu (almanac)? 2004 tung shu still not out yet rite?

Hi ladies...

Lin,
Hey how ve you been? How's ur wedding preparation?

Bigsizebride,
Hope you are feeling better now. It's best to bk 9mths in adv cos photography will be 3mths b4 wedding day, gown will take ard 2-3mths to be ready and also to discuss the design of gowns...

Rabbit,
Yes recived! Thanks! I went to YC new shop & Allure today cos my gf is looking for ROM dress. For YC tho they are chinese speaking but their gowns n photos not cheena type (I cannot tahan cheena too) but again it's best for you to see urself. Hey I like the back of the gown which is on display hehehe Oh ya, they going to increase their price soon so if you interested try to go down soon and look for Yvonne (she is the boss). Tell her you been referred by Serene, think you can bargain for more.

As for Allure, I love their gowns! Althought their gowns are not X but if you add up everything (gowns, car, make up, bouquet, photography) it can easily comes up to 4.5-5k.

Forest,
No problem! Hey dan ur personnel should try to tie wif PF mah hahahaha

Hihi...
Today rather quiet ya?

I went to yc new shop at tanjong pagar today. Look at their photos again n also to find out if w/o photography wat will happen to my existing package. Yvonne will less of $600 but package may become more itemize. Not that worth it lor so most likely will stay put.

Jul,
For those who ve not sign up wif any bridal, I would recommend Beetle@work cos it's rather worth it!

Yvonne,
Doesn't whitelinke provides any accessories? Perhaps you can check wif them wat is suitable? In fact they may be able to rent to you FOC.

Hand bouquet for rose cheapest I found is $40-55, lily can b $60-70 but there is one at Amara that quote me $55 for lily. If you ve the design you can bring it down for them to quote you. I will email you later.

Ever,
Where n wat kind of wedding decor you shopped?

Jan,
Ok I will check wif the hotel. Btw, how much per table huh?

Butterfly,
ACM would be unqiue. If I am not wrong there will be a wedding going on this sat you can drop by again if you like to take a look at actual wedding day.

Btw, for ACM you ve to rent the place and arrange for own catering n florist rite? You looking for buffet or sit down?

silver,
i'm ok..thanks
nothing much to prepare except double check properly before signing anything and pay.

BigSizeBride
Well I'm not planning to buy a gown from Canada cos my aunt wants to make me my gown. So I just went to a couple of places here to try on the style...see which type suits me better cos once its made there's no turning back right...heheh
As for MTM gowns, you'll definitely have to shop around to know for sure. Hmmmm....a friend of mine had her gown made at Flamingo for about $1200 or $1500...can't remember the exact price but I know for sure that it's not more than $1500 (she gets to keep the gown). Is that around your budget?

hello

Still feeling blue today!

Yup Jul, realised u were missing! hehe..

Btw, silver & Jul, how come u gals say beetles is worth it, coz there are actually quite a no of photographers offering 1.8k for studio & outdoor shoots... Robin is also 1.8k is also quite worth coz can get all negatives back leh... And my hubby dun mind digital.. Silver, can we take back all the negatives for beetle's package?? Actually am confused, what's collages & montages?? hahah!!

silver, Mandarin's table is abt $800nett, quite value for money...

Yup Jul, got the ndp tickets thru balloting, well, the shw was quite norm lah, like wat we see on tv normally.. but worse part, got a bad seating, the fireworks was on my back... aiyaaa..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Morning gals!</FONT>

Wow!! jul, you attended the briefing until 8+?? poor gal...

yvonne, jul's idea of using fresh flowers for the hair is great!! can check it out... saw in some threads that a simple calla lilies bouquet will cost about $40+ and above...

silver, me went to Concourse for some balloons, hanging papers (donno how to describe...
to hang across the ceiling or against the walls) and a flower arrangement.... and then went to Bras Basar for invitation cards.... the invitation cards are quite exp... so, decided to DIY afterall... heehehehehee.... maybe getting some organza cloth for hanging as well.... havent decide.... was thinking of doing without it as the cloth may be quite exp!!!

Hi cubby,

u can try to go down bugis. there are quite a few ppl who can help u pick a date. i've pick mine on 5/6 through one of them.

BigsizeBride,

I went to Wang Jiang Lou before. It looks oki to me. My FH doesnt like the staircase &amp; the layout of the place.

Wat is your capacity like? My cousin held hers at Noble House by Tung Lok in Shenton Way, I think the ambience and the food is not bad. Mayb you should consider. Its around 400+ if I am not wrong. If not, the restaurant @ Miramar Hotel is not bad too. I nearly place a deposit with them.

Most bridal shops provide MTM services but you need to give them at least 9 months to tailor the gown. What is your budget like?

Hello Lin,

girlfriend frm FBO here! :-) how is your venue search? Confirmed already?

A&amp;W,

I am a flamingo bride... :-)but i signed up a package wif them

hi yvonne..

i like 2 hold my wedding at hotel too cos' of the hotel stay, but my hubby doesnt like loh..

hi rabbitwsk..

my flat is behind the singapore scouts association wan..
do u haf lobang for furniture shops around dat area? AMK oso can..

Hi nedhelp,

We selected the period based on our work schedule, most importantly FH and myself are not tied down by work commitments loh. Otherwise, think it's alright to have it in mid year. But again, it depends on individual, comfortable can liao lor hor?

Gd morning gals!

Jan,
Ya most photographers charges $1.5-2k for studio n outdoor but it comes wif 20pcs or so of 8R (usually) or 10R. You have to top up for additional photos or if you want them to do artwork or collage album. Whereas Beetle@work comes wif 20 pages of collage album (which is 40 over pcs of photos). Collage album means some of the pages will be a few photo in a page instead of just one per page. Sorry huh I very poor in descibing hehe Yes they will return CDROM of all exposures.

Ever,
My gf is thinking of DIY decor for her ROM too. Quite X to get florist to do it. How much they charge for organza? We saw IKEA selling $9 per M.

Zao An...

Hi Silver,
Since you like bettle@work so much, why not ask them to take yr actual day photographs? Ok, will go Amara's florist to check out their price!

Hi Jul &amp; Ever,
Fresh flowers like wat...(orchid, rose, forget me not...?) I saw some artifical flowers/crystal hair accessories the other day while shopping don know whether is it appropriate anot? Also, what color shd i choose (white/purple)? Can you imagine PURPLE hair accessories, PURPLE necklace, PURPLE dress maybe PURPLE eyeshadow!!! Haa haa... do u thk white can go with pastel purple?

Will consider talking to Whitelink again on the accessories and hand bouquets part! Hmm... does any of yr BS provides all these for ROM?

Btw Ever, does yr make-up artist come to yr place early am to do yr ROM makeup? Do they charge for transport?

Hi Hi!!

silver, can ask yr gf to make a trip to Arab st... may be cheaper and definitely more variety!!

yvonne, you can try white flowers with a tinge of purple?? or white/translucent crystal accessories?? if you're getting white/translucent crystal necklace, then maybe can get purple hair accessories... wouldnt look too "purple" lah...
oh, my fren introduced me to this group of gals doing part-time floral stuff... msn you the website address later.... you can take a look and maybe email them to give you a quote...

yvonne, my BS provides the hand bouquet and make-up... not so sure about the hair accessories though, but will definitely bargain for it... (",) but i think i hav to go to the shop for the make-up.... since its FOC, dont think they'll travel to my place....

I would love to but his actual day very X! $1.2k for basic package n $1.9k for collage album package. Kinda of out of my budget

Btw, I found another florist which is even cheaper. They charge $30 for 10 stalks of roses n $35 for 3 stalks calla lily. If you want them to deliver to your hse there will be a $15 charge. Below is the address :

Orchard Florist
221 Henderson Road #05-14 Henderson Industrial Building S(159557)
Tel : 62764486

The other 2 florist that charge $50 for roses are :

Floral Affair
165 Tanjong Pagar Rd #03-K2 The Amara S(088539)
Tel : 62210065

Green Palette
#B1-38 Parkway Parade Shopping Centre S(449269)
Tel : 63422300

Ok silver, get wat u mean... Hey so which is better, Robin or Beetles... Quite like Beetles pics, Robin's one more like the norm type but from the web site it states we will have 120 3R pics + 38 pics of 8x12 inches + negatives + 1 8R table top, but dunno whether got collages or not... Which is better huh?

But first of all got to see what's the gowns price package like first from David. If it's out of my budget, then gotta take photospace.

Yup silver, can try Arab St...

Yvonne, yeah fresh flowers for hair shld be nice..

rabbit,
oh didn't know u had yr rom in May as well, i got quite a few frens who rom in May as well, think it was a good month lor..
so u shortlisted any hotels so far or do u intend to have it at the restuarant...u r rite to say, hotel is more important cos there's only limited ones which u like and not to mention if yr date is a good date, u will have to be super KS...
my wedding will be May next year and done most of the stuff liao, now im into sourcing for renov stuff...

annmelody,
still sourcing for contractor...have not decided who to engage yet..will keep u updated..

doremon,
how's your rom prep coming along, done with all your decor and wedding favour???

bigsizebride,
if u r thinking of gettting those lower ends bridal, u can always opt for MTM gowns lor, so confirm will have gowns for u and i know BZ has got relative big gowns, u can pop by their shop and take a look, look for my co-ordinater Xiaopei and tell her yr main concerns, she will show u gowns and tell her, u r worried that u can't fit into the gowns, as her to show u gowns for PS which have yr size...cos for actual day u can always opt for MTM...
no worries, xiaopei is very nice and when i first approach her, i also told her my main concerns are not fitting inot the gowns...i paid $2.9 for my package cos i didn't get their car, so if u need to rent their car from them , just add another $250

Lin,
how are u??? started yr new semester already???

A&amp;W,
miss your postings yesterday...
i agree with u lah, if the shipping charges are so ex, pointless shipping it back and u might not even need them anymore, i also sold most of my stuff away before i came back but i think shipping from aus is much cheaper than shipping from cananda

Morning ladies,

Jan, I think u mixed up Robin's two packages. I have copied and pasted his two packages below. His package A is $2.5k and Package B is $1.8k.

Package (A) Studio &amp; Outdoor Photography
- 120 pcs of 3R prints
- 38 pcs of laminated 8" x 12" prints completed with an album.
- 1 pc of 16" x 20" portrait with frame.
- Negative returnable.

Package (B) Studio &amp; Outdoor Photography
- 100 pcs of 3R prints
- 30 pcs of laminated 8' x 10" prints completed with an album.
- 1 pc of 8R table top
- Negative returnable

Hi Jan &amp; ever,
Ok will try arab st.

Jan, robin's package does not comes wif collage album. For me I like collage album so Beetle@work will be better to me lor. Oh one more thing I realised is that some photographers (can't remember is robin one of them) just sticked the photos on every page of the album where as some do laminate the whole page. So again it's individual preference. Perhaps you would like to meet up wif both b4 decide lor. Btw, wats robin's website huh?