(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Jul, if we have the ROM + church together, then what happens if my pastor is not an appointed person to do the ROM stuff? So we must do the process twice? Where are you having your church ceremony? I was thinking of having mine in Trueway Presbyterian, but they only go through the bookings 6 mths before the actual date. So i'm not sure what happens if my date is booked by their members. Cos they give priority to members.. Hiksss..

As for the wedding gown, my friend bought the corset type. And the back is the ribbon type where you can tighten and loosen it accordingly. Very risky, but $800 only leh.. Very tempted.. Ha haa.. You can see whether the seller is honest or not by checking the previous deals he has made.. Previous buyers will write comments about the seller. Like that lorr..

Jan, ya i was thinking maybe should check out some of the bridal studio 1st. But most of the time, they are very pushy ya?? They force you to sign the package straightaway. Can't even move your bum once you're seated in the shop.. HA haa..

Yan, i think lee hwa has some rose gold. It's their imported collections. More expensive. I love the one that is half rose gold, half white gold. Diamond for the ladies, guys don't have. Sounds familiar? The cutting is perfect! But expensive.. Hiksss..

Ever, who do i contact in J&M? Who's the contact person? Thanks..

Hi Yan,
Thanks much for the photo!!!

Hi Jan,
Haa haa... lucky nv disclose any 'SECRET'... hee!

Hi Butterfly,
Personally I think get it locally is better, you can actually see, try or feel the gown. Why would you wanna keep the gown? I've nv tot of keeping WG... ???

Chijmes is a very romantic place for holding church/wedding dinner cos of the long aisle and is white (so pure and clean)...!!!

Btw, my tentative wedding date is on 19 June 2004. Wedding venue will be at Grand Copthorne Waterfront... hee hee!

Chris Ling, Andrew Choi, Utopia, Montage and Photospace I think all quite high end photographer rite?

I thk the rose gold is pretty X to me... mine is only $700+ from sookee (same as Ever) and my friends oredi thk is X cos they had theirs for only $300-500!

yan, can you reduce the size of the pic?? maybe the file size will be smaller.... did you save as JPEG or JPG file??

yvonne, u got the fotos? i got a notification that yours bounced..

Ever, is there any difference with JPEG or JPG? it is saved as JPEG image.

Butterfly, i tot all church pastors can be justice of peace, who can solemnized a couple? Maybe u wanna check out ROM's website. Think they have the whole list of JPs from ministers to grassroot leaders and religious members.

For me, my tentative wedding date is on 10 Jul, (same as Jan) and my solemnization and dinner will be on 11 Jul (same as ever). Dinner will be held at Oriental. Have not settled my BS yet, but seriously considering David Lim Lee.. Like his work and the good thing is that i get to keep everything that I tailor made.

Hi Yvonne, well, maybe doing the auction is not a really good idea after all ya.. Hikss.. I haven't really done much research too.. So don't know where to go.

Anyway, I'll be leaving for Melbourne this sunday. Was also thinking on the possibility of having my photo shoot in Melbourne. What do you think??

Yan, mind sharing your photos with me?? Curious.. Thanks..

Hi butterfly!! not all bridal shops are pushy... but i think you need to list down yr expectations before you start on bridal shops hunting... my recommended checklist is as follows:-
(1) Wedding gown - MTM or OTR?
(2) Evening gown - MTM or OTR?
(3) Tea dress -MTM or OTR? to be provided by bridal shop or to be purchased elsewhere?
(4) Men's suit - MTM or OTR? to keep?
(5) Photography - in-house or "branded"? there are pros and cons of getting in-house and branded photographers... it depends on yr preference...

For me, i chose all-in-one shop in the end cos i prefer dealing with one shop for all my ROM and wedding stuff and they provide 15R photo album at a lower cost. If you emphasize more on gown designs and photography skills, then you might wanna sign up with a designer boutique that ties up with the "branded" photgraphers... such designer boutiques are usually not pushy too, so no worries about their service standards!! You can contact Chris at J&M... they're very flexible and i find their photographs quite nice too!! but bear in mind that their OTR gowns are very simple, so its better to opt for MTM...

if you intend to take designer boutiques, then i'll recommend the following (some of the gals here will recommend these shops too!! we've similar tastes!!):
-Silverlining
-Dang
-Jawn HappyEverAfter
-Flamingo
-Bridal Veil
gals, any others to recommend??

Or you wanna try David? Free-lance designer.... you can read yan's previous postings...

Good afternoon everyone

My hubby told me St61, some quite near Jurong pt. Are your hse near? Oh! that Pionner pl - r u all refering to the wet market that is still under construction? My MIL pl is jus opp.

Yvonne,
Ya! Me going Kua wih another 2 friends tomorrow. Told some friends that I am going to have tt instead of evening gown... they not really support but i tot its different loh! Also going to La Gallerie...
Yes, we can go together.... When is ur big day? Maybe i will see u in the beautiful kua first......

Fenc,
dun think i go IKEA cos almost everything buy liao... i contributed to their sales S$800 when i reno my hse... enough already la huh

Thanks for recom TWP, will pop by tml too. ur package fr there?

Hi Butterfly,
MELBOURNE!!! Is winter now rite? MEL is a very beautiful place, me & bf enjy our trip there in May!

I thk 1st of all you need to do yr HOMEWORK like us... hee! Go visit few bridal shops, attend bridal show, browse thru some bridal magazine and get some ideas before you make any commitment! Of cos, set a budget!!!

Hi Yan,
Ive recd 2 files from you... 1 of them is reduced file size. Do you hv a winzip? Can zip up/compress the 2 files?

hey rabbitwsk..

wah..wat did u buy frm ikea for $800?? do u tink sofas is a gd buy there? they looked chic to me..i can't buy anyting yet cos' i havent get my keys leh..
so saad..

btw when's ur wedding har?

Thanks, yan!! received!! but the pics are huge!! got a shock when i open the mail... heehehehehee...

butterfly, you going Melbourne for studies or tour? a bit rush to plan for photoshoot now, rite??

Hi Yan,
The files are really HUGE... take so long to download, so total I've got 2 files from you (1 reduced file size 1 only 1 pix)!

Gals, actually my bf know Chris Ling and Dave Wee both are photographers and they are in the same camp.
But we don't intend to engage them cos is quite awkward to work with a familiar person esp. photographer, you noe what i mean?

Hi Doreamon,

mine r bundle of 8roses... but here, cannot think can attached. I can email u.

U shd able to get good rates from Far East. I am regular to Far East at Upper Thomson.

Hi Rabbitwsk,

From my own opinions, I feel that as long as you like it, just do it. Do not really care about what others say. Is difficult to please everybody.I feel that is special to wear kua instead of the evening gown cos everybody is wearing evening gown on their wedding day. I'm considering to wear kua for my banquet at the "song ke" section. As long as the kua looks beautifully and elegant, why not?

My big day is not fixed yet. I'm considering a few dates. My hubby and I are going to pick our own wedding day despite of waiting for the tongshu or asking from the fengshi as I do not really believe in all these thingy. Most probably will be around end of Nov or early Dec. How about you?

yah yah i agree wif yvonne too...
in fact, i dun noe y ur (rabbitwsk) frens nt supportive of wearing kwa during dinner..so far, i saw a bride wearing a vera wang gown for the day and kwa for the dinner..i'm quite interested 2 noe why the frens tink otherwise har?

if u got chase hong kong's serials..u'll notice brides wear kwa wan during the wedding dinner and yum seng..hee..

Hi Ever, thanks so much for your advice! And the details you provided. Thanks! Lots of research to do ya.. I guess i really have to start planning asap.

I'm going to Melb to do my final semester in Melb uni. I'm still studying. Hee.. Going to be a young bride next year lor. I'm only 21. But my fiance is 28, and we've been going out for 4 years.

Photo shoot most probably doing it in December. During early summer. So hopefully not too hot, not too cold. He hee..

Yvonne, wow so when you were there in Melb, i was there too. So where did you go? Did you have a good time there?

Anyone knows where i can do a free online planning for my wedding? Cos i'll be away from my fiance, so if the guest list / contact numbers can be uploaded online, it's going to be more convenient.

Hello doreamon,

yeah lor...after i've been to the florists, i decided to DIY.

I did not get from Far East...I got it from Ji Mei Florist...Its at the same place as Far East, Joan Road.
Personally when i went to Far East that day, i tot their flowers is not as fresh as Ji Mei's. So i decided to get from Ji Mei instead.
Their stock comes in every Thurs and Sun. So i got mine on Thurs, in time for my ROM on Fri..hehehe..

besides calla, i did my own table deco as well. i merely put 30 stalks of light purple China roses that blooms real big into a square glass vase that i got from Ikea. Put in white forget me not as 'fillers' and viola, one table deco done. I did 2. I placed both on the solemnisation table that Alkaff did for me together with my Ring pillow and bingo lor...hehehe...

after the ceremony, shifted the 2 vases to the dinner long table and act as table deco again...so kill 2 birds with the same pot of flowers lor..

i try to get the pics uploaded and send to you for reference.

You got colour theme?? The china roses that i got are light purple and has fragrances..(stronger than normal roses). so when eating, can smell the fragrant rose as well...hehehe

haha, then yvonne, can ask your bf to ask chris ling whether got discount or not for me and Jan??? jan interested??

haha..Yan, i dun mind but dunno convenient for Yvonne to ask or not.. hehe.. Yan, Actually what's his actual rate like? If it's much more ex than Robin, then no use coz even with discount can't help much too i guess!! hehe..

hi Fenc,
Curtains already about 400 plus for the whole hse. Plus here and there somethings... went there 3 times to get all thingy...

Things from IKEA r not so durable so prepare to change after 3-5 years. I also like their sofa but we found one in Courts which suits our measurement better. Depend on wat u wan la. Where u staying? when get keys?

My wedding in Oct/Nov tentatively... u bk everything liao?

Hi Postpet2,

My colour theme is baby blue. Wanted to go for Lilac but friends commented too mature looking so go for baby blue. My gown is pale yellow.

Sure sure....i am more than eager to look at your flower arrangement and bouquet. U got my email?

Hi Rabbitwsk,

no prob, butterfly!! juz do some homework and get some feedback from the threads here!!
its good to start planning early, but guess it may be more difficult for you since you'll be in Melb... how to visit bridal shops like that?? when you come back next yr?? Wah, you're really young!!! think you can try femalebridesonline.com.sg or weddingfair.com.sg......

yvonne, since you know Chris Ling, why not get him to be yr actual day photographer?? no need to pai-seh what.... business is business... and i think its better that the photographer knows you two... will be able to capture impt and significant shots!!!

Gd afternoon ladies...

Wow today so active ya? All wkends mood liao?

Hi butterfly,
Welcome! Well each has its own adv. Like what the gals mentioned if you bk separately you gets to pick n match wat you like but do prepared for more work n might be more costly whereas package will be cheaper n convenient.

Btw, how many pax are you looking at for wedding dinner? Buffet or chinese dinner? Cos SAM can hold up to 12 tables and ACM 15 tables. Chijmes & Fort Canning can hold up to more. Btw, there is a wedding event going on tml at SAM.

Hi yan,
I received ur email! Thanks! Wow you even factor in jie mei gowns ya? Btw, any idea how much he charge for just MTM WG & EG?

Hi jul,
How much did Monica charge you for actual day?

Hi ever,
I like chris ling too but too X!

Hi Jan,

Below is beetle@work's charges :

Studio/Outdoor Photography
Basic Package @ $1200
* 20 x 8R prints in an album
* CDROM of all exposures

Premium Package @ $1800
* 20-page 15R Collage Album
* CDROM of all exposures

Outdoor Package @ $800
* 20 x 8R prints in an album
* CDROM of all exposures

Outdoor Package @ $1000
* 20-page 15R Collage Album
* CDROM of all exposures

$1800 is the premium package n it comes wif collage album which I like hehehe

Hi Jan & Yan,
Haa haa... sure noe u gals will look for me! Got to check with my bf 1st cos he dun see him often only during reservist! So not very closed friends but noe each other kinda. Btw, how much he charging? Need to do comparison first between his package & others. But i thk he is charging more HIGH end side one? U gals like his photographs...? I thk Robin is definitely cheaper than Chris.

Hi Butterfly,
Another young meimei... I went Melbourne Great Ocean Road, Penguin Island, Animal Farm, City tour...etc. Love the great ocean road ride, very spectular and nice scenery!

Hi Ever,
Not very sure yet cos we hvnt start our photographer search/comparison... ! Thk we won't go for too expensive one cos budget constraint again... hee hee!

yah loh..i heard tings frm ikea r nt durable..
i like the wardrobe and bed set, costing abt 1.5k..nt sure whether if its worth the $$$..
i'm intending to get "smaller sofas" like the 2 seater sofa in ikea, which sofa did u like frm Courts? however, i found dat most shops selling the cushy leather types, which we tink will take up space in the living room..

we bot a resale flat at bishan..waiting 2 go for the 1st appt..

my wedding oso in end oct-nov too..
so far i booked TWP and IG aldy, this coming tunglok fair i will book for banquet...

Ya, u all are right man! Basically some say Kua make u look fat la, too traditional la. But like what u say,everyone wear evening gown so we can wear something diff. Moreover, I am a cantonese so like this very much.
saw the HK series, Da1 xi3 zi1 jia1 which talks about Kua making. Its an art
I appreciate the stitches and embrio very much....
At least I found some ka ki here...Yeah!

well...there are some things from ikea not as durable but the sofa shld be fine, when there yday and saw a sofa very comfy..

fencnef, when is the tunglok fair?

rabbitwsk, u going to wear kua for ur dinner?

i tot kwa straight-cut wan..?? how come kwa makes one look fat har?mayb i got the impression dat one doesnt "reveals" the figure much since its looked loose on the person?...
any advice?
i like embroidery so naturally i like kwa too..

hey evon..

tunglok fair this sun..it will be taking place at imperium loh..
yah..i love the ikea sofa esp. the kipplan range, can change the sofa covers and they are in lovely vibrant colours..

Hi Rabbitwsk,

You see, there are supporters in this thread supporting you to wear kua. So, go ahead with your idea.

Your wedding date will be early than mine. I can see you wear kua first.

Hi fencnef,

When is the tunglok fair? The one at Imperium?

Hihi...

Gals, I am thinking of using candles n rose petals on the tables. Tho outdoor but mine is still seat down dinner so any suggestions on how to improve? What kind of flowers are more suitable?

Hi doreamon,
You mean 3 stalks for big callia lily? Really must go down n take a look.

Hi bigsizebride,
Do you ve a budget in mind?

Hi postpet2,
Hey share wif me ur photos too k? My email is [email protected]

Hi girlfriend,
Welcome!

fencnef, kwa will really make one looks bigger in size. if you're a very slim person it will be nice. i've got a frd who wore kwa as well cos of her in law..very traditional..she's already big in size, wear liao..aiyo...i tht wat happened to her. of cos it's up to individual just wear according to your customs.

ohh...really? wow...will go and check, but any idea if they can accomdate 50 tables? the ikea sofa dunno which range but it's new really comfy...sit liao not wan to get up :P

Hey, i wan to know abt the Tongluk fair too.

Fen, i stay in AMK, very near ur pl lei... next time can meet or come by my pl... since wedding date also so close (if u not pan dan) My pl sofa is a 2.5 seaters, fabri though, get at Courts at $650 with extra cover. I have friend own a furniture factory, u may wan to drop by his pl at Sungei area. Wan more contacts on other things, I also can share.....
Abt Kua, ya its a bit taped. I will go try tml and tell u gals what happen.

Evon, to wear Kua for dinner and tea cememory is wat i hv in mind now. I am pretty firm on it unless, i look weird in the Kua tml...hahaha

Dear Silver,

After reading all the advises, i am in a dilemma. shd i take up a bridal package or rent the gowns and ask the actual day photographer to take some fotos for us.

Can I rent and mtm a wedding gown n a evening gown or a kua under $1000? not sure wat is the market like, so the amount might be unrealistic.

or i shd contact Dawn to mtm my gowns like wat Doreamon has suggested?

pai seh.... i very luan :p
budget contraint... so need to spend our money wisely....

Hi bigsizebride,

You can try calling David @ 9826 7887. He is a freelence who does MTM gowns, photography n makeup according to budget. So far brides who worked wif him are very happy wif his service.

hihi Ino, no lah, dun think it's farnie to wear WG to oaks for ROM. but how come u are wearing WG leh? it's ready liaoz ah? what about wedding day? when u go there din carol show u photos of brides wearing WG? i am sure with some proper deco that place can look grand. ur WG wun look out of place....

rabbit, no lah we dun know each other hehehee...just that i kaypoh ask u only.
when u said 2 months, i tot ur ROM was in March. but i super blur, now is July liao!! hahahhaa..... so blur.

hi girlfriend, welcome welcome!!! which month will ur wedding be? how's prep so far?
26476.gif

okok...will do so when i've got it uploaded. hopefully over the weekend lah..

Doreamon : of cos i got your email lah...

Silver : for your candles and rose petal suggestion, i've got a photo taken from some website when i was doing research, its more of a table deco. Think they used roses and hydrangeas...

you can adopt and perhaps customise it to your preference.

looks something like that

26477.jpg

oki..
so many postings in a day.. very ruan!

Doreamon,
I am also in anchorvale. Which block are you in?

Bigsizebride,
Dont fret. If you want to get simple gowns. I recommend you to Bjorn @ Marina Square. They have gowns for all sizes, including yours. I agreed we muz save money but its once in a life time & i think cannot save too much. Maybe it will b good to get a simple package with simple buffet lunch.

binbin,
My wedding will be in June 2004. Venue,BS & actual day photographer settled. Now thinking abt videography & renovation. How abt yours?

Rabbit,
yes please, share your contacts & experience wif me. my email is [email protected]

Sliver,
Hello~

Garfield: 1 May 04/Orchard Parade Hotel/Precious Moments
Poox: 8 and 9 May/Fullerton/BV/Kim Studio D'Fia/Fastsoup
keann: 15may/Amara Hotel/Free and Easy..kekeke...haven't found anyone yet..but
pebbles: 6 May04/GCW/BZ/Beetles@work.
marigold:1st May/OLPS/No Banquet/Kowloon
elenne: 22-23 May/Fullerton/BV/Kim/Choon Huat/Kriston(haven't booked)

marigold: thanks for going through all the trouble of typing it up!

anyone interested in balloon deco: my friend used this company called "periwinkle" to decorate the church with balloons. quite nice.

kriston charges as little as $10 per person i think.

Hi Silver

Yes, correct address but i got delivery failure.
Never mind I go back and try again...

See u all tml aft i try my Kua....

My my...this thread is so active now! me having prob catching up leh.

hi rabbitwsk,
i support your decision! me also thinking of wearing kua, but during the tea ceremony lor.

yvonne's idea of wearing it during the 'song ke' time is also very good! since rent already, must make full use of it

so your own place will be at AMK also? is that a resale or you managed to ballot for a new flat?

hi fencnef,
yeah, kua tends to make one look bigger cos it's straight cut, hence doesn't show figure. The material plus the embroidery makes the outfit looks heavy also, further adding to bulk lor. But must go and try before you can tell. Once in a lifetime thing, so will be more memorable if can wear kua

Hey Evon,
me working in tg pagar, capital tower. wat abt you?