(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Good Morning Meimei,
Gosh! Flooded with msgs again...

Eve & Butterfly... WELCOME TO JULY'04 brides!!!

Wow... seems like you gals dos alot of homework on photographs oredi! Hmm... i thk i will start my photographer search when my date is confirm... hee hee! Btw, u gals are searching for studio and outdoor photographer and not for actual day rite?

~THANK GOD IS FRIDAY!!!~

Dear Doreamon,

Thank you for your suggestion.

Have u engage Dawn's service before? How much notice shd I give her leh? Can I ask her to make my ROM dress too? coz it is very depressing to shop for dress and go home empty handed :p

Hi rabbitwsk,
i took TWP's MTM package w photography - WG (rent) EG (keep) man's suit (keep) and the standard things - $4588 nett.

My new place is at JW st. 61 and evon has just picked a unit there too, just 2 blocks away from me

So which bridal have you decided on?
I've only got tentative booking with M Hotel. I think i might just go ahead with them.

Hi Evon,
Dunno when i'll go to my place again leh..i'm supposed to wait for a delivery at my mom's place this sat, and hoping to go to Ikea also. So think this w/e not likely. When will you be able to collect the keys?

Good morning ladies

Soupie,
U also ROM 2 months ago... Mine is 25th Jun. Yours? Ya, along we tot to rom in our own nest is very meaningful and no hassle. Moreover that's the SARS period only 4 person allow into the ROM. Luckily we 'farsighted'...

cin_p,
Ya! I got my flat in the last ballot.U went for it too?U also stay in the north side? But u know, my q no is 81 and there is only 82 flats. WE 'sian' when we saw this but luckily many pp drop out in 1st day of selection. so we got 11 fl which is not too bad
Oh! Congrads on your new flat. REsales/new? If u need lobang for reno,lightings, electronics, furnitures & aircon I can share with you... We reno our flat (5 rm) with bgt of 18K.

Bigsize,
I jus try on the gown at Allure. I goes into M. I am about 55kg @ height 163cm. So u could get some good stuff there
Allure no rental, only purchase. If you wanna rent, u may need to prepare about 1-1.5K. Dun be too stress hoh... be a beautiful bride.

HI bigsizebride,

U are welcome. I have been to her place to try out gowns but have not confirmed anything yet. As for leadtime, i think it is better for u to call her and check with her.

Yup, i understand the feeling of shopping for the dress and then go home empty handed.

I'm searching for actual day! My studio & outdoor is already supplied by bridal shop, remember?

Hello eveyone

My MIL pl is in JW st 72. I think quite near ur pl. Maybe we cld meet up in near future cos sunday is always our visiting day.

Ikea having sales today onwards... i think u all can pick up some good things there. U all staying there already?

Hey Jul,

So u prefer digital now... Well, for me and yan, guess we kinda shortlist Robin coz he returns back all the negatives, so tot it's a better deal leh.... But of coz will look at the photos and prices first and then decide again! So many decision to make one!!! hahaha!!

hi yvonne,

i am sourcing for studio & outdoor photographer.

hi jul,

the 4 suits are 1 for bf, 2 for fathers & 1 for another elder.

the third gown is a cocktail dress for my soloemnization. may do without it and just get a simple teadress. depends on the budget..

Hi Jul,
Oh ya... is Silver & Yan who are searching for external photographers for studio & outdoor. I've yet to go thru dos photographer list, think must start doing research now cos u gals makes me is making me ANXIOUS again... Errrhhh!!!

Sorri forgotten to check the folder yday...! Now then i remember... hee hee!

My wedding date still far lah! Its in either Oct or Nov... but my personal schedule quite tight as I am working and running my own biz at the moment. So got time, quickly check out everything. Like when we got our hse, we settle our furniture within 1 wk. We lazy to see stuffs so once we see the thing, within bgt, we settle for it.

Binbin, so we know each other one?
Pebbles, u also rom 2 mth ago... which date? Wow, din know May is such good month. By the way, my ROM day happen to be my brother B.Day so easily to remember too...heee...

Hi Doreamon.....

Hey,
What the diff between digital & conventional camera? The effect come out to be very diff? Both can do photo touch up rite??? Which is cheaper huh?

Hi Jan,

I think we prefer digital to film for actual day. Guess PS album still lookd better with film. But then, I may change my mind again, knowing how fickle I am! *sigh* Yeah, so many decisions to make, digital vs film, top up size or not, return negatives or not... No wonder we're all gog a bit cuckoo's nest!

Hi Yan,

Oic! U gave me a shock man. Nvr have I heard of a groom getting more changs of outfir than the bride

What folder????

Hi gals!!

yan, I visited Fairy's Inc before... their Rose Gold range starts from $1.1K ++ for a pair... she was saying something like an add'l $400 for each ring if it's done in Rose Gold... the prices really depends on the designs that you want... if its simple, then wouldnt be very exp...

Wah, i think yr bridal gowns + photos will come up to about $8k?? that's a lot!! gosh!!! better consider carefully.... did you gals shortlist Chris Ling?? liked his works compared to Robin...

aiyo, ask him to change so many times, he sure scold me crazy one.. he keep saying that bride is the limelight, he only supporting role, so dun have to place too much attention on him.. dun know he really mean it or he's jealous...heehee..

Hi ever,

What??? 1.1k for a a pair????? My fiance is gog to kill me....

Hi Yan,

That's why I'm so shocked that he got 4 suits
Yeah, I think grooms feel left out on wedding days, coz nobody looks at them :P

\image {blobline.gif}
A big welcome to all newbies!!!

Hi BigSizeBrides....
I tried on Allure gowns as well...their cutting varies with the different dresses. Sometimes i cld squeeze in M and sometimes i have to go to L.
I'm 1.60m and 51kg...err...actually i think their sizes are quite small leh...

hi cin_p,
hehehe...at least i've found pple who are in the same boat as me....let all of us unite!!!
congrats on yr home sweet home...envy u pple...
me very lazy to go house hunting...my FH also very bz...so currently our wedding prep has stalled...

understand how u feel when u say the designer is leaving. muz quickly rush her to finish up the EG for u...
anyway, i have delayed my fotoshoot till mid-Sept...
Went to Ted Collection for first fitting yesterday... ;-) can't wait to see the sample beadwork! For some reasons that i cannot explain, i feel more eager to see the CS than my WG and EG.

hi pebbles,
thanks for yr comforting words...do feel much better now actually...still deciding on my ROM venue...i have shortlisted the following:
1) OAKS
2) Carlton
3) China Club (but it's so expensive)

Hi binbin,
i love halia...but it's so expensive....would it look funny if i do a ROM in my WG at Oaks?

Yeah, there's 2 vouchers. One for free massage, the other one is a discounted price. So that's the folder u were talking abt! *hehe*

Hi Trixie,

I think I will take up Divine. Waiting for their promotion at October to get a better deal since I still have time to spare.

With a no. of 20 tables, is abit difficult to find hotel ballroom that fit in. I might even consider tung lok at ARENA if I can't find a suitable one.

Hi Rabbitwsk,

When will be the promotion end at IKEA?

Can I join in?

My ROM over already. last year in fact.

Now preparing for customary in June 2004.

Got my banquet venue,bridal & in now in the midst of looking for renovations for my new love nest in Sengkang.

BigSizeBride,

What is your dress size? Mayb I can help wif some suggestions.

Rabbit,

*waves* I need your lobang!

cin_p,

Which sk area are u staying?

This thread is already so busy early in the morning. Very 'on' ah!

Ever, thanks for the advice. It's true that planning on your own can be quite a hassle ya? I attended a friend's wedding, and she looked so tired.. She was still running around during her wedding day to settle some stuff.. Hahaa.. I guess i really have to consider that.. Anyway, which bridal package are you using?

Jan, my wedding date is supposedly on 3rd of July 2004. But CHIJMES (one of the venue we like), is booked on that day, so may have to change the date. When's yours? And where r u holding yours?

Yan, Wow i really admire people who plan the wedding themselves. It's not easy right?? Guess i really have to learn a lot from you if i decide to do-it-myself.. By the way, my friend said MC is not bad.. One of the few places she recommends. She's done a very thorough researh, and has shortlisted MC.. So quite a good choice!

Hi jul and yvonne, nice meeting you.. And thanks for the warm welcome!!

I've actually shortlisted 4 venues:
1. CHIJMES
2. Art museum
3. Asian Civilisation Museum
4. Raffles Terrace, Fort Canning Hill

Any advice on these venues? We're going to see the halls tmrw.

jul, think Rose gold is usually more exp, so need to pay a premium loh.... and $1.1k is for simple designs.... if yr fiance likes it alot, he wouldnt mind paying more, rite?? will be wearing it for a lifetime!!

oh, thought Chris Ling is in the same price range as Robin....

Yan, yr bf only wearing one suit?? thought they'll wear another suit for the dinner or when we change to our evening gown??

when some of you mentioned you are big but your oni weigh 50+kg.... aiyo u are small as compared to me liao.... *lagi sad now*

i m really big size u know...

Dear Girlfriend,

I feel pai seh to mention my size here but i really need help lor. I am size 18. Can you help me?

hi Butterfly,

are u sourcing for ROM venue or dinner banquet venue???
actually its not that different to DIY, and if i am geting david to do my gowns, think he will help out in the preparations..

ever, chris ling is much more ex than robin.
the rose gold so ex.. the lady there told me its around 10% more than white gold. the price u quoted includes diamonds? if its just plain rose gold, any idea how much it will cost?

he say one suit enuff liao.. but i highly doubt so... maybe i give him a surprise and ask david to mtm another suit for him... of cos, out of my own pocket la..

doreamon,

BTW how's your back? Hope it's better.

Think for you I will recommend small white callia lilies of about 6 stalks then add some orchirds at the side... saw a bouquet like that at and tempted to get that for my wedding as well

Hi yan, the 4 venues are for the wedding dinner. For the ROM part, i'm still looking into the possibility of having it in my church. On the same day we have the ceremony. Is that possible? But ROM date really depends on when we get a new flat.

As for wedding gown, i was thinking of getting it from auction. My friend got hers from e-bay auction. It's brand new and it's very lovely! She was so happy with it. The seller is really good and honest. He has about 20 gowns on sale every day. So my friend recommends that i get the gowns from auction. It only costs her US$349, equivalent to at the most $800. And it's yours to keep. Good deal right? But she said that i should try which type/model suits me before getting the gown from auction. Cos it's quite a risk. Hee..

Rose gold is more ex. And it's true that they need more rose gold to fill the same volume as white gold. That's what the lee hwa people told me. I've always liked the rose gold in lee hwa. The one imported from france (i think). But it's so ex! I think now they have a 25% discount.

My fiance and i are thinking of getting platinum. It's more worth it. Rose gold and white gold needs polishing every now and then cos it'll turn yellow. But platinum is more lasting and better quality too.. Goldheart has a new collection. HAven't tried it yet. But it's not bad..

Hi Butterfly,

My wedding's on 3 Jul too! So coincidental
I've bked Sheraton Towers for my dinner.

Hi ever,

1.1k for simple designs is really ex. I think if we dun get any diamonds, might still have a chance. But w/ diamonds, or too complicated a design, think we can forget abt rose gold already

Hi Yan,

I think nobody realises how many suits the groom has. Honestly! But then, it'll be nice to get ur bf another suit (of a very diff colour so that it's obvious he changed).

Butterfly,

U can have ROM together with church. That's what I'm doing. Church & tea ceremony on 3 Jul, then dinner on 4 Jul.

Nvr tot of getting WG from e-bay. But how to try the cutting & size? And how do u know that the seller is honest? Sounds very complicated, yet very different leh

hello!

Butterfly, my wedding's on 10 Jul 04, having my dinner at Mandarin

Hey, CHIJMES will be a good venue, it's like a church wedding too, or maybe u can have ur solemnization just before the dinner starts? But ur date is booked rite? Do u give them another date to make tentative booking?
FOr the other venues, i'm not too sure, never really seen them...

But actually, buying from ebay can be a risk too.. Maybe u wanna consider abt this.. Why not visit Bridal studios first and then decide from there?

butterfly,

then how u do the alteration for the gown??
i think those at lee hua is purple gold.. its very dark in color rite?? rose gold is milder, looks more like bronze. am i rite ever & jul??

Hi annmelody,

Thanks for your concern. My back is much better already, just try to avoid walking too much, too fast, no mopping, not too many housework within a day, no exercise - going to grow fat soon!

I tried to avoid all the above if possible but sometimes, our area like very dusty due to lot of construction work then my hse will have a lot of dust, see already cannot tahan, i will start to do housework. Once started, won't stop then at night got backache lor. :P

How is your house? Everything done? When can i pop over?

Hi girlfriend

Congrads to your new nest!
My hse has very simple reno. No custom made thingy except for 1 cupboard in masterbed rm and kitchen cabinate. Our bgt for everythingy incl furniture is 30K. U may like to talk to my contactor, very realiable and nice uncle, who is in biz for more than 18years. He reno my hubby house last time and we took him because history means credibility
U wan the contact for other places we go also?

Oh dear, i posted a message in Flamingo's thread by mistake!! So pai seh!! hahaha!!
Was day dreaming while looking at Flamingo's thread... urghhh...
Anyway, this is wat i wrote:

Hey silver,

Did u mentioned that Beetles@work is 1.8k for actual day?
Coz i just went to their website, it states 1.2k for 300pc 4R and negatives or CD ROM.

Yan, their pics are not bad, they quote 1.2k for studio & outdoor pics but for 20 8R and CDROM for exposures....

Trixie: am thinking dun get the keys too early cos im afraid might crash wif my ROM. so will choose a later day if possible. actually went to ikea and didnt see anything nice except on sofa..wow...sit liao dun feel like getting up, it's new arrival maybe u can drop by and take a look. u hv my contract rite? once u really to go down just give me a buzz...

Rabbitwsk: i seriously dunno whr is st 72..hv to browse around, anyway dun think it's too far also. well i've key collected my keys just went to choose tis tue :P:P

hello ladies,

pop in again...

for the calla DIY that i did, i bought 2 packs of 5 each.

each pack cost abt $13 i think.

i dun have my pics at the moment yet...trying very very hard to remember to upload it...hehehe...after ROM super lazy...

Doreamon : So have you decided on your flowers yet? Its quite simple to DIY leh..
Luckily turn out better than i had expected.

Hi rabbitwsk
st 72 is where my hubby lives
which blk is that? he's at 745...

i'm not staying at our new place yet, though it's move-in condition. my hubby wanted to wait till after our customary wor.

Hi Evon,
it's quite nearby, but not exactly walking distance to st 61. there's also no direct bus..very sickening right? so my hubby have to either walk 20mins to our place (he walks quite fast) or take bus to interchange to change to another bus. sigh...so near yet so far.

okie, will sms you when i next go to my place

Think for 20 tables, you can consider grand copthorne waterfront's new ballroom if it suits your budget lor. it's min. 10 tables but the ballroom is not done up yet tho...

hahaha... so what did the flamingo gals say to you??

I have send u the photos already
. The files are very big, so have to send separately as two emails...

Jul -- ur mailbox is full. Do u want me to send it to your company email address instead?

Sagi -- the second email, with the second pix got bounced... but both pixs are actually the same la. if u wanna look at the second one, let me know after u clear some space in your email. i resend to u.

Calling for Karyinn -- you MIA for beri long liao lei.. coming back to this thread??? Btw, your mails bounced as well. Do let me know if u want those pixs.

Yan

Jan, you so funny!! think the gals at Flamingo thread must be wondering why they couldnt understand what you're asking!! hahahahaha....

butterfly, i signed up with J&M, a bridal shop in Tanjong Pagar....
gowns, suits, photos, flowers, etc all provided by the shop.... save the hassle of running to diff shops.... my bf hates that!!! my tentative date is 11 Jul... at Orchid Country Club... ya, agree with the gals that it may be risky and inconvenient to buy from ebay... will need to find a seamstress to do minor alterations, rite?? oh, the range from Lee Hwa is their FJ collection.... quite nice, but very exp!!! even customising at Fairy's Inc may not be as exp!! so not worth it lah.... ya ya!! good idea to hav the solemnisation ceremony together with the dinner!! can save the trouble of planning 2 events... heehehehehee.......

yan, the rose gold range is different from their purple gold range.... think the FJ range can be found in Aspial shops and selected Lee Hwa shops... can go see see and get some ideas....

Hi Trixie,
Really? Aiyo...knows nuts abt the area yet..I so happened to know that they are going to build Pioneer dunno wat at St 61..hehehe...more shopping for us..

Ok lah no sickening lah..can walk be healthy lor..whr u working huh? who knows can go work together..hahaha...

sure...thks

Hi Rabbitwsk,

Had my lunch already. Tom Yam was much okay. Juz reduce you intake of deep-fried food will do. My office canteen was at renovation till end of October. So, have to bring food from home for lunch. Save $.

I have went to HOE last Saturday too. Have a try on 2 kua. The kua was nice. Rental fee is $268 for the normal kua and for the more complicated was about $298. Might be going to rent their kua for my wedding. Have a nice trying. Maybe we can go down together if both of us are really going to rental their kua. Enjoy your weekend.

Hi Trixie,
Thanks. Enjoy your weekend too. Maybe next time, we can meet up near your place with the others too as my hubby is staying around there too.

Thanks yan, i recd the pics!! hehe..

Think karyinn may have forgotten abt us... saw her posting in other threads leh..

No, flamingo gals havent posted anything yet, so guess no one saw my message yet.. anyway, pai seh to go back see also!!

havent been here for some time liao..wow so much activity in this thread...IKEA's sale frm 2dae until 17 aug.. has anyone went down to check it out?

hi rabbitwsk..

haf u check out TWP? their gowns and service bagus loh..hee..

Ya, agree with postpet that DIY is very easy. In my ROM, I did my own table flower arrangement and my cute little rose bouquet. Its really value for $.
If cant decide what flower or which size, I wld suggest go to Far East Flora to have a look. They have many many in that big cold fridge rm.

Hi Postpet 2,

Wow!! That is very cheap for calla lilies. Where did u get it from? Far East Flora?

I want to try DIY liao then.

Hi Rabbitwsk,

U got any picture to see too?