(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi silver,

Nvm u have time to think abt YC vs Beetles@Work carefully. Must keep weighing pros & cons lor. *heehee*

Ever, Jan & silver,

Yeah, we are fickle minded coz we want everything! If we are very chin chai, then we wun be in this situation already :P

Yvonne,

we're talking abt many diff topis today :P Must pay more attn to keep up!

i m also Oct/Nov bride.... jus start to look for gown. Went to allure & Dang, saw some OTR and r really nice when I tried on. Went to HOE... saw the Kua... super nice and now i am thinking of giving up EG for it....
Hope to know more of u soon.

Hi Trixie
We are also look a place where can help us got a date around that time. Feng Shui pp can tell? How much would it cost?

Hi rabbit,
Welcome! So ve you decided your date? I like Allure's gowns too!

Hi postpet2 & doreamon,
Thanks for your sharing. More an xin now hehe Think I better go n take a look the diff btw big n small calla lillies. So for big calla lillies, how many should i be looking at?

Hi rabbitwsk, welcome to this thread. most of the time trixie and myself will be at jurong west st 61 thread :P

allure has very nice dress but mostly the white ones will look nicer. dang i called them once..they are quite friendly. you looking at kua...i'm not sure cos i dun think im into kua, my frd wore one and no cutting :P waste our shape lah...of cos me not very slender trying to lose weight...

Hello Evon

Have u bought any package?
I tok to Cindy fr Dang for about 45min...... very nice and creative designer... i feel very comfortable with her. u can go tok to her.
Oh! I went to HOE to look at Kua and theirs are more taped. will go for fitting this weekend.

So shd i be in this thread or to go to jurong trend to look for u gals

Hihi...

Finally doing summary for all my clients. So tired now...

Yvonne,
Actually I am quite ok wif yc's photographer's skill but after seeing beetle@work I prefer the later hehe

Jul,
Yalor, like wat yvonne said it can be very tedious and troblesome.

hi rabbitwsk,

i already have a package with gha..and already choose my rom dress..anyway thk u for sharing

u can stay here no problem...i will look around..the most i will let trixie knows someone looking for her :P

hey, just wondering tt any1 heard of Flying Dutchman doing corporate events & wedding planning? any feedbacks coz we are thinking of getting their services? any1 can help?

Hi perhaps,

I ve a gf who engaged them but still in the progress so nothing to comment now. Mind to share how much they charging?

Hi postpet2,

Great to see you here and thanks a lot for your advice on the Calla lilies. Hmmm...i am only 1.54m so that means the big lilies may be too big for me too. Oh dear, i only taken a look at the flowers but did not carry it.

Any picture that you took for your ROM bouquet? Can share?

How much did u pay for per stalk?

Hi Silver

Date no... mth should be in Oct/Nov. So now scounting around for all these thingy.

Saw u all toking about ROM. Mine is over... 2 mths ago... in my own newly-reno house. I did all the flower arrangement and bouquet myself. Hee... i am into flowers! Have been doing ROM flowers for close friends as gift.

Ya, like the gown there. u took up package already?

Hi silver,

We can be the fickle minded pair! Keep each other company when our bfs give up on us :P

I'm meeting Monica Eng from Vividshots tonite. Excited!

Hi rabbit,

Ic. Mine will be next Jul. Quite interesting to ve the solemnization at ur whole hse ya. Something diff!

Ya bk my bridal wif yvonne creative. Hey I understand that for Allure we ve to buy the gowns n they ve tie wif some photographers n florist? Any idea who they tie up wif n pricing like?

We have planned to ROM in Feb 04 and have our customery on Sept 04.

Anyone has any lobang to rent or MTM the wedding gown or tea dress? Due to tight budget constrain, I tot of not taking up any bridal package. Maybe ask the photographer to take some pictures on actual day and that's it. Btw, I am quite big size. :p

Any comments?

Hi Evon, thanks!

Hi rabbitwsk,
Welcome! Yes, fengshui shifu can help you pick dates also. Me not that particular about waiting for tongshu (of course better if its available). as long as i got a pro to check dates, and our elders and myself feel better, that's good enuff for me lor

i've booked my bridal package too, with The Wedding Present. Their service is really good and i actually went straight to them w/o really browsing at other shops..hehe

Hi Silver,

Their consultant fees seems ok, the rest depending on what u need though. I hv a fren who had wk wif them for corporate events & said they r great. Need 2 koe more abt e wedding division though.....

Thanks for the advise ladies.
I dun think i wanna see too much as this will blur me off :P Hows the package like? I was at Tanjong Pagar but it not go into Wedding Present.

Aiyo...trixie thks me for wat leh...when u going to ur hse huh?

rabbitwsk whr u stay? i signed wif gha tamp outlet and my coordinator is very nice...if u wan i can give her contract to u.

halo gals... gosh, i got to start reading from the archives...we gals really like to chat

I have problems downloading the pixs, so please bear with me for a little while before getting the gathering pixs ok???
so paisay, waiting for my bf to recover from his flu before asking him to troubleshoot the PC.

sagi -- so shiok, can go holidays
.... i have not travel for more than 1 year liao...*sign* actually planned to have a short trip next weekend, but mummy say cannot cos the lunar seven month will have started already... *sign* *sign* *sign*
think need to wait till year end then...

silver, jul -- you both are sourcing for actual day photographers now?????? so scary... i have not even settle my BS yet..

speaking of bridal, ladies, i have to tell u this... david lim lee is a real nice guy... me and bf had a good time chatting with him last sunday... initially, we tot that he is those soft soft type of guy, and my bf a bit resistant to those kind... but in the end, he turns out to be fine.. my bf got so comfortable with him till he almost wanted to sign on the spot...

He shown me two EGs that he is presently doing for his client.. There is this red CS which is stunning ... it has a modern cut, sort of sexy, but the material and color makes it very oriental..

When he was showing us the pixs by photospace, me and my bf each know a couple of his... must go ask them of his service and quality of gowns... beri excited now...

Jan -- understand that you are meeting him soon... must tell him that we know each other one ok, so can have more bargaining power... ask him to show u the CS too... i remembered that we actually shortlisted the same photographers, so are you going to get Photospace or your own photographer??

Aside to bin bin,
I stay in AMK. Yourself? I sound like someone u know?

Aside to Silver
Ya, now Allure goes on a new retail concept. But u can just get the gown from here and the rest from somewhere. They do have a list of recommendations with special rate of about S$1.2K e.g Robin and The Edge. The florist is very expensive. So if time allow, I will go for it. But I like Dang too... still thinking.

As for the solenmization in our new hse, we tot its better and easy co-ordination. Jus arrange for buffet and JP to go to ur pl. No need to think of which pl to eat or whose car to sit...

ladies,

need some advise here...
for the david lim lee's package, it seems like he only tie up with photospace and not other photographers.

David is offering a very good package for Photospace service. However, Photospace uses digital camera and that he only burn those pix u chose into a CDRom..

Comments about photospace photos is that the color is more towards the orange and yellow side.. however, both myself and bf dun really mind.

As for Robin, he uses conventional camera and he returns all the negatives. The price difference between these two choices are be at least $500..
the reason why i wanted all the negatives back is becos i am thinking of developing the pix myself and can use some of the pixs as decor for my new place...

ladies, which one would u advise i take?

welcome rabbitwsk & bigsizebride!
26422.gif

rabbitwsk, hey i also got ROM two months.. wat date was ur ROM?
i think it's a cool idea to have ur ROM at your own place.. double meaningful

postpet, hey congrats on ur ROM!

doreamon/postpet, i always thot that long stem bouquets are more for tall gals.. cos the long bouquets would make one look shorter... hmm.. dunno where i get this idea, maybe read it somewhere hehe.. but the smaller calla lilies are quite small.. so the stem dun have to be very long.. think it would be just nice and sweet and not too overpowering..

bigsizebride, i think MTM gowns separately without photoshoot may cost abt the same as a whole pkg including photography from bridal boutique... so why dun u get a MTM pkg but request for just studio photography.. it may bring down the price.. so that u can still save on certain things.. cos besides gowns.. there's the men's suit, bridal car + deco, corsages & etc... and sourcing for all of them separately would cost u much more.. besides some offer free ROM pkg... so that's some savings too

Hi Silver,

U can get the list of Allure tie ups from Annah or Daniel. It include photography, makeup florist and men suit tie ups. I got my gown there but din enagage any of their tie ups

I'm a July '04 bride, dun mind if I join in?
Just like to know if you gals have already booked your wedding venue? I'm considering merchant court. Any comments? Thank you!

Hi Bigsizebride,
Do you ve a budget in mind? Like wat soupie mentioned, it might be more x to ve it separately. Alternatively you can consider Allure. They are selling their gowns starting from $499

Hi rabbit & CC2,
OK thanks!

Hi Yan,
Finally see you online ya! You must ve a hard time reading all the msgs ya

Can I check how much is David charging? Understand he does work within budget rite? Ve not seen Photospace's work b4 so no comment but to me it doesn't matter if it's digital or conventional camera cos to me more impt is must like their way/style of taking photos n artwork. Btw, fm the CD you can print out into photos too rite?

Hi eve,
Welcome! Been to MC for wedding dinner early this yr. Food did not turned up to our expectation cos MC's 'record' has been very gd. But again perhaps it's only that day. You might want to check MC thread for more feedback?

hi ladies... & welcome newcomers...

i bought my hse today... haha... it's at sengkang. i guess i'll be busy with reno pretty soon...

ino, initially i'm also like u.. wan the best of everything but fh doesnt appreciate & commented tat i'm wasting $$$. felt so dishearted & lots of disagreement.... told him i like doing all these & i dun even bother him abt it, so why shd he make so much noise... hee hee.. then he keep quiet.. haha.. i think as long as u dun ballon too much.. i'm sure he'll ok. good luck...

went for my EG fitting today... had a bad news.. my designer is leaving.. so sian. hopefully she can finish my EG's detailing b4 she goes.

doremon, silver, postpet2, soupie
i like calla lily too... thinking of having tat as my PS bouquet. not sure how's the effect... thot of having 3 stalks, do u gals think tat's miserable?

hi rabbit
wow, u had ur rom at ur new place. tat's interesting.. izzit a hse warming as well? did u get ur pl at the last balloting? =)

Hi cin,

Congrats! You bought a new or resale? Must be very excited ya.

I also trying to find out how many stalks better n should go for big or small calla lily. You gals ve any photos to share?

Hv just decided to hold my wedding in July 2004. So here i am..

Wow.. You guys have done a lot of research! I'm just beginning to do mine.. And i don't know where to start.. Any advice? Was thinking of foregoing the package thingy and plan everything ourselves. What do you think? Is it too much of a risk?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">morning gals!!</FONT> Its friday!! yippee!!!

Welcome, eve &amp; butterfly!! most of us have booked or tentatively booked our wedding venue... guess we're all the more KS type.... eager to get married!! heeehehehehehheheee

yan, looks like you're confirming yr BS soon!! think its impt to feel comfortable with your designer and photographer... why dont you visit photospace and Robin personally?? then you &amp; yr bf can guage which photographer you guys are more comfortable with.... personally, i prefer photos taken with authentic cameras.... cos, if you wanna re-develop the photos taken using a digi cam, it will be more expensive... and if you print it out at home, the pic might not be as nice, unless yr printer is of very high quality....

butterfly, me prefer to take a package to save the hassle of liaising &amp; co-ordinating with different parties.... there'll be lots of nitty-gritty stuff to do prior to the wedding so, i prefer to do less co-ordination work if possible... and i think package will be more value-for-money.....

hello!!

Hi eve &amp; butterfly!! So when will be your wedding dates?
Yup, most of us have already booked actually! hehe..
eve, think merchant court should be quite nice venue, though i've never been there for weddings yet..
Butterfly, if u have the time and patience guess it may be good to plan everything urselves, but can be quite a hassle too i guess... Actually do u mean the Bridal packages?

Yan, yup, will mention ur name to David! heheh.. Oh, he's not the soft type huh, was expecting that actually and told my hubby to be prepared also.. haha.. I would also prefer Robin coz can take back negatives, but top up $500 is it..hmm.. will decide after visit to David first then.. But agree that i also prefer conventional camera and not digi cam...

Morning girls...
welcome rabbitwsk &amp; bigsizebride!!!
Rabbitwask,
i had my rom 2 months back, same as soupie and did it at my parent's palce, i think it would be more meaningful for u to do it at your own place..

bigsizebride,
i agree with soupie, it will not be any cheaper to get your gowns seperately, u can check out Allure, their gowns are lovely and it's going for $499, and for some bridal package, it doesn't really cost much if u can control yrself on the developing of photos then u will only be paying for the initial package cost and some includes rom and tea dress too, im also quite big size and i sign up with bridalzone, my rom package includes rom and tea dress too and i paid around 2.9k for it..
do look around and u will be surprise to find a bridal package that fits yr budget..

Cyn,
congrats!!! so u got a new flat or resale..?? must be so excited now rite..aahah, can't wait to start on the next research.

Hi Trixie,

How are you doing? For me, more or less, I have decided which bridal boutique to take up and as for the studio photography, will finalise after the final visit to the last photographer at this coming sunday. Finally, almost settled.

These 2 weeks will have appointment with the hotel banquet consultants. This is really a big headache. Location, budget, food...etc. Didn't want to spend too much on the banquet as anyway it was just a few hours thingy. So, other than M hotel, do you make any other tentative booking with other hotels?

Hi rabbitwsk,

Welcome! Nice to see you here. Even though I did not choose them as my final decision, I can say that their service was good and was impressed by their evening gowns. Pay a visit to them if you like.

morning gals and warm welcomes to eve and butterfly....

eve, MC was one of the hotels which i shortlisted.. i had a hard time deciding betw MC and oriental.. Oriental won becos they have nicer poolside... Personally have not tried the food at MC, but reviews on it are quite good... Will be attending a dinner coming sept.. let u know more then..

Butterfly, i agree with both Ever and Jan.. Those package BS will be of a lesser hassle, but u must like all the items that they are offering.. For my case, there isn't any BS who can satisfy my standard of gowns and my bf's standard of photography. Hence we decided not to go for those package BS.. its a little bit troublesome, but, its also the joy and fun of planning for your own wedding..

Yes Silver, David does work within budget.. we told him that our budget for him (without photography) is between $3k to $4.5k.. reason for this hugh range, is becos we have not decided on what items we want.. we may need to MTM at least 3 gowns, and 4 suits. So have to factor all these costs in.. and not forgetting my jie mei's gowns... siong ah!!!

i am more towards conventional camera, cos i think it can last longer.. however, for photospace, they only burn those images that u have selected into a CD rom, and ever is right, it does cost more to develop digital photos.

I want all my photos back, and i also afraid that Photospace will pressure me to develop more of his photos.. actually one of the reason why i want to separate my photography and gowns is becos both myself and bf HATES hard selling, so we do not want to subject ourselves to the hardselling tactics of those BS.

Hi soupie and silver,

I did look ard for the bridal package and most of them cost abt 3000+. Moreover, I am quite big size so i think they will surely tell me this cannot dat cannot and ask me to add this n that... sure add up to quite a sum of money.

I know i know... u must be think how come this woman so "lei jie", funny and stingy... hehehe :p

In order to cut cost for my fh, i tot of just getting a gown n a tea dress and will ask the photographer to take some pictures for us on our actual day and that's it. Alternative, i have suggested to my fh that we only take the photos after our wedding... i know, i know, u all must be thinking how come this woman so "lei jie", funny and stingy... hehehhe :p

Well, my idea of photoshoot was in the end of the day, it will end up in the storeroom and i tot we can spend the money on some other things like home improvement or honeymoon or on things we like...

my frd who just got married abt 3 weeks ago has recommended her photographer to me. He charge $500 for whole day photoshoot on customery day, no extra charge even if he has to go to the house as early as 6am, 300 photoshoot and 2 cd that contain the photo... my frd said he did a good job...

my frd also rented a "Ultimar" (not sure of the spelling) 6 seater car. She said it is very spacious and it cost her $400 for 2 days rental.

Well i m still considering on all the possibilities on how to settle this. Does Allure sell BIG SIZE gown? or rent them? or any recommendation on any bridal shop who charge reasonably?

Having a headache on what to do now....
Any suggestions to me?

hi Jan,

What do you mean by additional $500 for negatives?? I tot Robin's package for direct sign up includes negatives already?? he quoted me $1,800 for 100pcs of 3R proofs, 1 no of 8R table top, 30 pcs of 8R photos, and all negatives return.. to upsize the photos to 15R, one need to top up by $800.. he did not mention anything on the $500 for negatives lei... dun scare me lei, me running on tight tight budget liao lei..

hhehee....
sorry i think i repeated this sentence twice "I know i know... u must be think how come this woman so "lei jie", funny and stingy... hehehe :p"

pai seh....

Oh no Yan, i tot u mentioned the price diff between photospace is $500??? No lah, i didnt mean the negatives itself is $500 more. I have no idea abt the prices yet..hehe.... But if it's $500 more for Robin then gotta see how much is David's package first then decide...
Oh, u gotta make many items, ya then David will be a better choice for u i guess!

hihi cin! congrats!!! new or resale?? u got it from the WIS? u must be beri excited now...which block isit? scarli near my friend..

rabbit, oh i see. now lah, u said u got ROM at ur house... i like to be able to visualise the place loh, so asking where u stay hehhee... btw, ur nick sounds beri like my nick to my friends...
hehehee....

u got ROM 2 months ago?? me too leh...i think soupie also asked u same question...which day is it?? so ciao hor.... so when will ur wedding be?

actually i made a mistake in my earlier post.. initially i tot robin's price is $1200, but later go back and check, me n bf got shocked... his basical package is $1.8k.. and we still intend to upsize.. initially tot its $600 for up size, then realise its $800 to upsize.. nearly flipped over when we see the price.. so now, the difference is more than $500. do u intend to upsize the photos?

did anyone mentioned abt fairy's inc rose gold wedding bands earlier in this thread?? i tot i remember reading abt them... i paid them a visit and love their rose gold rings.. anyone has any idea how much does it cost?? rough gauge will do..

Hi rabbit, bigsizebride,
Welcome to this thread

Hi bigsizebride,
If u are thinking just to get a simple gown and teadress, u can try to get Dawn. She is a seamstress that i know who does MTM. Her charges are as follow:

Teadress: $250
Gowns: $300.

What i suggest is u call her and told her u are on tight budget and she will try to work something out for you.

Her contact: 94595856.

Hi Cin_p and Silver,
I think 3 stalks is fine, the question is should be big calla lilies or small calla lilies?

Wah.. seems like quite ex if it's 1.8k, if like that then guess it'll exceed my 3.8k budget rite... Dun even think of upsizing then... Hmmm... unless we take photospace then can meet budget i guess, but i dun really like photospace leh.. sighs..

Think it's ever and Jul who like the rose gold rings..

i think lets not let this affect our decisions first.. we are trying to bargain with robin, if we succeed, we will ask him to include u in as well.

actually me a rather dun up size the photos. use the money, develop d pixs outside myself.. should be cheaper.. heehee maybe i should also cut david's budget... see how la..

in the meantime, we are keeping options open. do u know of other photographers who use convention cameras?

ok thanks.. yup, let's not let this affect decision first!

Ya agree, develop ourselves shld be cheaper!! And we can develop as many as we like!!

Did u consider The Edge? Believe they use conventional cam too... The rest i'm not too sure too, how abt Beetles at work that silver mentioned?

Hi gals! Wow, what happened, so many msgs?

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Butterfly</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="119911">eve</FONT>,
Welcome welcome!

Hi <FONT COLOR="0000ff">silver</FONT>,
Monica Eng is a very chatty person. We stayed abt an hr at her place, &amp; she entertained us with so many jokes &amp; stories that we cracked up non-stop. Very comfortable with her. Unfortunately, she doesn't do digital. So we are still considering...

Hi <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Yan</FONT>,
Hi! MIA for so many days, u're lucky it was very quiet for the past 3 days
It's okie, we'll wait patiently for the gathering photos.

I'm starting on actual day photographer to distract me from my gown woes. If not, I keep thinking abt the gowns, &amp; I'll get really distracted &amp; upset.

What are David's charges like? I guess if u really like him &amp; feel comfortable, then why not sign up? But 3 gowns &amp; 4 suits? U planning to do those fashion show during dinner issit? *LOL*

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Jan</FONT>,
I used to like film. But somehow after seeing a few photographers, I find myself starting to sway towards digital. The photos are really very clear, &amp; the colours are so rich! But then, film gives a very classic look too, which is very nice for PS album. *sigh* Another dilemma!!!! *arrggh*