(2004) Brides of year 2004

ever

Hi gals!!

sagi, ya should check more frequently.... cos we all seriously "poisoned" liao... will post very frequently...

Jul 04, wah you faster than me.... was thinking of replying ccy later... but you more efficient!! heehehehee....

ya, ccy... care to share with us yr package with precious moments?? some of us have not book our package yet.... can compare compare... thanks!! oh, OCC is about $60+ per pax, depending on whether you can get a club member to endorse on the contract or not... usually, hotels are more exp than restaurants and weekends are usually more exp.... about $80 - $100 more exp for each table....

sagi

havent been popping by here......ehhh....hehe...cos nothing to contribute!
23237.gif

cin_p, ino, forest
i also dun like gold leh.....doubt i wld wear too....prefer white gold ....ahahha....but seems like older generation prefer gold leh....to them more auspicious colour...

that time my bf bought a white gold necklace for me, then got silver bracelet (the bracelet he bought when he in kl together with his parents one) necklace bought in brunei where we were sent by our ex-co there.... then his mum saw the necklace, she ask me my bf give one har? then i just said yes lor....then she commented....young pp nowadays like white gold hor...

i told my bf leh.....dun want gold leh....but looks like no hope liao...cos his family quite traditional in this sense....then my fren suggested to me get those mixed one lar....got gold(matt) and silver mixed....
hmm....if can, i prefer this lor...

next outing, must take photos

silver

Jul 04,
You are fast ya hee

Not that flash not strong lah but more like their style lor to make their indoor photos looked 'darker'. Err they so call 'warm'
Perhaps also due to the background color.

Ever,
Hey so ve you cfm ur booking with OCC? Me still tentative booking. They nv chase us so abit lazy too hee And also like you gals said must pay $$$ when confirmed.

Oh ya there is any nice country club called Luguna Country Club - http://www.lagunagolf.com.sg/ Was told tat has nice ballroom and food by Tong Le

annmelody

Pebbles and ino,

Actually if you like white gold better you can try buying 916 white gold that would make you mum happy as it would fetch back the same prices as yellow gold.. So getting a necklace and ring in that should make them happy.

For diamond wise, let them know that there's no way to set diamond in 916 gold ( which fetches value) as it's too soft.

Go for GIA certified diamon if budget is not that tight as certified diamond may still fetch some value at those normal goldsmith

jul_04

Hi ever,

Haha! I beat you to it!

silver - Nvm, dunno what u mean. I know nothing abt photography. Think next time I go meet actual day photographers, I'll ask them. Think it's easier to see, than to explain. dun want u to vomit blood

Yeah, I heard abt the Tung Lok rest at Laguna. I think the food quite guaranteed already, since it's by TL.

jan

*Surrender* so many postings!

Hi ccy, have u decided on ur date yet?
Yeah, that's right, u got to see wat's ur budget like and then shortlist the hotels, this will be easier..

Oh yup, heard of Laguna Country Club, yes food by Tung Lok...

silver

Dunno why I am not able to post msg when using my Starhub broadband
Now I ve to purposely use my dial up dan able to do so.

Hi Jul 04,
Haha I dunno much abt photography too tats why could explain to you.

Was told that the ballroom at Laguna can oversee the golf

wendylee

WOW... now back to DIAMONDS!
23239.gif
If I were you... will get gold for jia zhuang as its more vauleable but not to worry that you might not use it... as age grows... slowly will adapt the color GOLD. And you might even pass this set down to your daughter or daughter-inlaw...!

PEBBLES: Then share with me who is who leh...

ever

Hi silver, me also made tentative booking only.... trying to drag until the almanac is out... plus can refrain from paying the deposit!! hahahha.... the person never chased us also... think they'll chase us when someone else wanted the same date!!

ok ok... Jul 04, you win!! oh, didnt know Laguna CC serves TL food... but is the ballroom big?? cos i need a min of 48 tables... heehehheehhee... but quite far also hor... in Changi... my mum not very happy that we chose OCC, cos its very far & not as "branded" as hotels!!

jul_04

Hi Jan,

I'm like super poisoned now right? Actually, I just have no mood to work. That's what happens when you know that you're going to be transferred. Just lose all your drive. Zzzz...

Hi silver,

I never go to many clubs. Do clubs have ballrooms? Wow! Never knew that. But if it oversees the golf course, what if the golf ball flys in the window? *hehe*

Hi ever,

How come you need so many tables? I can only muster up 30 tables at the most. Must be because I'm anti-social & dun have any frens *sob*

I think parents tend to want a posh place for their children's wedding. After all, it also reflects on them. But I'm sure after you explained why you like OCC, she understands right? Don't worry, my mum also never heard of sheraton Towers. I'm quite worried my relatives will think it's some 3-star hotel & give me $50 ang paos *chew fingernails*

sagi

let me see.......abt 1 hr when i last posted.....and got 8 msgs liao.....u gals really *pei fu pei fu*

silver,
ehh.....i still dun get it leh..... think i clueless abt photography.....

nvr mind, next time wld ask those photographers....got what "warm" and "cool" style har?? kekkeke.... they can go vomit blood then, explaining to me....

ever,
wah! u going to invite so many pp?? both of u come from big big families??

ccy

Hi gals...
Wow! i see that all of you are v. active in this thread! I juz post a msg an hour ago n got so many response already! hehe..

Kies, Precious Moments - if u go check out this thread under the wedding boutiques section, there's gd and bad. Well, my FH n I decided on this cuz we like d overall look of d shop (1st impression) and the photos are q. natural and don't have those chee na chinese words on it.

And their packages have alot of price range which is gd. and they are flexible in the sense tt if you don't want (in my case we don't want their merz car cuz we got already), they will either deduct off that cost from yr package or give you free additional photos. Up to you. So q. flex.
Mine is $2388 with 1 OTR EG & WG, 5 sets costume for photoshoot, 1 tea dress FOC, 4 corsages, costume jewelery, car deco, hand gloves x2, makeup n hairdo...

We plan to have it next june 19 04.
Hey Jul 04, yrs is at sheraton towers? Is it ex? How much per table ar?

Yea.. i got check up OCC, looks not bad! But only thing is the distance..so far....

Hehe...it's ok, i'm also v. kpo...gals nature!

jan

ok ok gals u win! I admit defeat!

silver, dun worry, ur broadband has no problem, it's coz we posted the previous msg at the same time that's why! Just now Jul 04 got similar problem coz i was a second faster than her when posting!!

sagi

jul04
u no mood work har?? me too.....cos i resigned liao....so now just waiting for my last day....ahahhahaa.... i nothing much to do liao....and nobody ask me to do anything....so i also bo chap.....surf net here lor and chat with u all....

me also not inviting so many pp for my wedding, for spore side lar (maybe less than 100 if i decide not to have dinner, wld not invite those not so close frens).....m'sia side i dun know ...but hope can persuade my bf's parents(esp his dad) not to anyhow invite pp....

actually, not only ur frens mah, also depend on ur parents n their parents etc....if they do business got lots of business associates, then ur guest list wld be very very long liao....and if u have tons of relatives...then also lor....

ever

Hi Jul 04, me also no mood to work.... co. announcing paycut... *sigh*...

hahahha... lots of people ask me that... initially, i thought i need about 30+ tables... got lots of relatives....heehehehee... then my future FIL decides that he wanted to invite all of his frens!!
and he got lots of frens!!!! even more than mine!!! hahhahaha... so, no choice loh... Jul 04, dont worry, you not anti-social... see, you so on, post so many messages!! hahahhaa....

dont worry lah... Sheraton quite famous for wedding banquets... usually, they will ask around for the prices before they give ang paos...

silver

Walau you gals really super leh! I just take a look at other website and there are 5 postings liao!

Hi Jan,
I am using dial-up to send the msg. Broadband not allowed to do so. -sob-

Hi ccy,
$2388 very cheap leh. When did you sign up huh? Btw, comes with how many photos?

Hi sagi,
Sorry huh I not gd at explaining hehe Actually I also dunno how many style they ve. I think 'warm', 'nature' n dunno wat

Hi Jul 04,
Yup yup most clubs do ve ballroom n OCC grand ballroom very nice. Not sure abt Laguna but fm the way my gf described to me like not bad too. Btw, can't be so heng that the golf ball fly over rite hahaha

Hi ever,
Wow 48 tables? That's alot ya? Err not sure how many can Laguan take up. You may want to call them up?

silver

Jul 04,
Your co is doing re-structuring? I know what I mean lah. I been no mood to work last whole mth, this mth must really work liao

Sagi,
When's ur last day? Counting down rite? So wat u going to do after you quit?

jan

hello ccy,

Hey, actually my initial preferred date was 19 June, but this date is quite popular leh, i wanted to booked Mandarin for this date and it's taken up already!! So we chose 10 Jul...

Ya, Jul, once u start posting, u're like non-stop, if not then u'll disappear for a day..haha...

jul_04

Hi ccy,

I'm paying abt $830+++ per table of 12. That works out to be somewhere above $80 per pax. But don't forget to include cost of beer, wine, vegetarian/muslim guests etc in your budget. The "table cost" doesn't include these yet.

Hi Jan,

Feeling the stress of keeping up already right? *haha* Now you know why I'm so obsessed with checking for new msgs.

Hi sagi,

Yeah when you're quitting, pple mostly leave u alone, unless u have a lot of backlog of work. So gd right? Can surf Net & chit chat while waiting for your last paycheck. Btw is ur bf M'sian? Is that why u have to hold ur dinner in Msia?

Hi ever,

Oh no! Pay cut? I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I dun get pay cut. Already so hard to make ends meet. *sigh*

Hi silver,

Did you get a file locking error msg? That means someone is posting b4 u, so u gotta wait ur turn.

jul_04

Hi silver,

Not really re-structuring but something like that. They're going to transfer me from off-site back to HQ.

Jan,

Yeah, I'm very unpredictable right? I have this obsession prob. If you dun c me posting, I must be on leave / on course / mc. *hehe*

silver

Jul 04,
This is the msg I get :

Due to previous abuse, users from your internet service provider are not permitted to post to, administer, search, or otherwise participate on this board. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Please contact Chin Leng if this problem persists.

Have email Chin Leng and waiting for her reply.

silver

You gals must be looking forward to go home rite? I still ve to go back office for meeting
Will continue tonite

sagi

jul04
ya, my bf is a m'sian...... so gotta hold the dinner in m'sia lor.....anyway, all my relatives in m'sia too....though different parts....

silver
waiting to knock off.....kekekek.....finally..... going to borders to flip mags while waiting for my bf....

dun post too many msgs at nite hor...cos i dun log on at nite.....then every morning, sure eyes pop out!

jul_04

Hi silver,

Chin Leng is a guy, I believe.

Someone must have been abusive/fraudulent previously. So affected you.

How come ur working hrs are so weird? Mine's the 8.30 to 5.30 boring working hrs.

ccy

Hi..
like i said, they have alot of price range to suit yr needs for the bridal package.

Mine is one of the cheaper ones.

got 15 pcs 10*12 pixs, 1 20*24portrait, 24 pcs 3*5 pixs.

Actually, we decided on having our dinner at Xuan Inn, this restaurant at International Building.
But i hop can find out hotels that have gd price range.
Hey anyone got comments on Amara Hotel?

elis

my wedding is also on 19th june! i have already ROM and chosen the bridal package but have not chosen the hotel yet.
choosing hotel is such a headache! on 1 hand, i dun wanna waste too much money on expensive hotels and on the other hand, i would think its once in a lifetime thingie and would want to have a unique experience

to date, I have streamlined downt to oriental, marina mandarin, inter con or conrad. personally i really like conrad but i really think its not cheap. thus am viewing all the other hotels first and if none of them is able to suit me, than will go for conrad lor...

my photoshoot in dec. gown trial in nov. and the designer ask me to anytime inform her what kinda gown i want and can anytime go down to try gowns....other than this, nothing much to do liao..

oh yah! not to forget, gotta try to shed off some pounds....any suggestions on how to lose 3kgs???

what about you gals????

cyn

pebbles, forest, ino, sagi, annemelody..
i'm jus like you gals.. will put the gold aside.. mummy will say, " nvm lah, if dun like, next time trade in for white gold." so ma fan rite... cant imagine putting those gold items over our neck and hands.. *sigh..

ino, you din bring ur glasses out during the gathering huh... my figure no good lah... hip big, waist big, everywhere big... actually, wat you have describe is more or less wat i wan.. but not too sure abt the knee slit with ruffles.. cant imagine leh... thinking of a slit, but duno how... dun wan all cover up also... arrhh.. headache man... how does the front look like huh? wat material? think i'll have to go arab st or ppl park one of these days to source for material...

binbin

hi cin! i agree with Ino leh! i think u have a nice figure, all tall and graceful looking....def can carry mermaid cut well one! Hor Ino? hehehheheheh
realli lah, why u say u waist big big?

happy02

Hallo,

Pebble
I been thru to quite a few id around 5. Prices is roughly there, maybe diff abt $1 - 2 k. Next time, if you goin to renovate, you can ask me lor...

jan

Hello gals!!

I'm back at home! hehee Now i can read the msg here slowly at my own pace! In office afraid ppl may see that i'm always on the net, so just hurry skim thru and post!! haha...

Ok since i'm now taking my time, i shall read the postings carefully again and post!

ccy,
Think silver knows more abt Amara, heard from her it's not bad rite since they renovated??
Or maybe u can try M hotel/Furama Hotel/Orchard Parade Hotel (Tung Lok food)/Plaza Park Royal (at beach rd)/Copthorne Orchid(Tung Lok food)/Concorde hotel, maybe they're within ur budget too

hehe...do u gals realise I like to help out do research when any of u asks for banquet venue?!!! haha.. Love to do that!

ever, usually wedding banquet is like for parents, always the case where they'll invite more than ur friends!!
Jul, u got 30 tables also quite a lot leh, i only got 22 tables!! hahaa..

So Jul, when will u be transferred out to ur main office? U mentioned it's in Newton or Novena rite?

sagi, think we'll still posts tonight, but i guess not so frequent!!! haha..

Alrighty, that's all from me for now!!

happy

Hi Elis,

we hv nt decided on the exact date yet..bt maybe 19th Jun too...wow! seems like quite a number of people getting married on that day. Do u happen to know if it's an auspicious day?

u r fast man! photoshoot in dec??? gown trial in nov???? do we really need to hv a photoshoot that early?? but i guess it's good..it allows you more time to play about should anything goes wrong eh...

i'm so so sorry...i cant help you on shedding pounds coz i always lose weight very easily...and btw, i m trying to put on weight!!!

jan

Hi ccy,

I just read from the June 04 brides thread, seems like 19th June is really a very popular date, perhaps u may wanna start looking and book ur venue fast in case of disappointment.

jan

sorry gals, me again, just can't stop posting!!

just wanna say, do u gals realise we're really talkative!!haha.. We still got abt 1yr 1mth b4 our wedding and our thread has got 600++ messages already???!!!

keann

Hey pebbles,
so you studied in perth before? my bro just graduated from UWA...as for me..m doing my final year..can't wait to go back to singapore...!!he he he!

Australia's wedding gowns are quite expensive, i went to a few to check out olediz. I bought my gown from Ebay...it's from one of the online stores..they have a store in the USA too.Can send you the link of their online store if u haven't got a gown. The WG is gorgeous...but have to alter a little. I was a little sketical when i bought, but thank god...all turned out quite well. I am waiting for poox replies about the MTM gown....can't wait....cos i am going back in July...and got to settle quite a bit of stuff...then got to be back here for my final semester....

But i will be having my photo shoot in melbourne this coming spring which is later this year.... i like the kind of pictures better here...it is more like capture the moments kinda of picture...and the weather here is so much better to take pics...have booked the photographer olediz...so hopefully, all will turn out well.

I went to check out many many hotels....conrad lah...mandarin..oriental..ritz...marriot...four seasons...so many !!! i like four seasons and conrad..BUT $$$$$$$$$...amara is value for money on a weekend. Yes natalin (Amara banquet manager) told me that the reception area may be shared if the smaller rooms are taken up....but i am just taking the risk....i fell in love with the place when i went into the ballroom.

Oki...hope to hear from you all soon.

silver

Gd evening ladies....

Jul 04,
Oh Chin Leng is guy? I always tot CL is a lady. Paishe hehe

You forgotten I am in insurance? Alot of ppl feel that insurance is very flexible - yes I admit that but irregular too. When you ppl knock off dan it will b our working hours. Gd n bad lor

ccy,
Xuan Yin's food quite nice rite? My first job was at International Building and we like to go there for dim sum. Hopefully the standard remains. Btw, how much per table ya?

Oh amara? Yes just renovated - very nice. Always passed by cos my bf stays ops mah hehehe As for food wise I ve no idea but think they ve promo now - $688nett per table.

Jan,
I am like you - like to help to do reseach. My bf said I very kpo, not my business I also interfere hee but cant help leh, just to share mah. That's why thought of becoming wedding planner but too bad spore mkt too small....

poox

hello dear ladies!!

it'd been a busy day for me....

hi pebbles and keanne
just to clarify, my friend mum doesn't own a boutique, just sew gown for one of the boutiques here. My friend had to check if she had time to make gowns for more people...but my friend is flying off to states would only be back in 2 weeks time so gotta wait...

keanne, i was just thinking....since your wedding is almost a year away, are u sure u wanna alter so early? what if you need to alter again nearer your actual day?

dun worry if my friend's mum can't help u gals, think there are some thread where the gals recommends some steamtress...can go cut and patse it here if i can still remember where to find :p

i only went for amara tea reception last sun, nicely decorated ballroom but food (buffet) not that good...too feel variety and not very tasty...but love the chocolate cakes!!

guess the dinner would be better :p just some personal comments...

keep the thread alive!!

cyn

binbin, i'm blushing liao leh... i've big tummy leh... u know i can never fit a gown at my bridal shop.. either cant zip up or look like dumpling. they say i hide my tummy pretty well.

jus now went to Amor Meus at esplanade. tried a cheongsam.. like it very much. their embroidery is very exquiste. flow nicely at the back of the gown.. sexy man.. the best thing is i can fit into a size S. haha... but it cost 2k. very very ex.. service is good. the designer even give some suggestion to blend the cheongsam my victoria theme.. *sigh... dun think i have the budget for tat. hopefully my bridal shop can copy... i doubt the quality will be the same.

mimosa

Hello Silver,

Paiseh, no wonder I can't find my msg in 2004 thread. I post in the wrong place!!! I thot this is 2004 wedding thread. No wonder none of u remember me. =( Me blur. My wedding in June 04 not July 04. My mistake, paiseh paiseh. Eyes blur, see the wrong thread. =p

Ever,

I'm working at Tuas West Dr, near Raffles Marina. How about you? Tuas South ah? Sometimes I go to my other site at Tuas South. Very far hor???

Jul_04,

Oh, u went to see your layout liao? So how? u dun like it ah? But new house is like that, a bit smaller, but it's still ok for just 2 of u mah. smaller space, less cleaning. =)

kiki

Hi elis,
Don't think I can advise you on losing weight, coz I am a failure in this aspect. Sigh, I am 8kgs away from my target

Happy:
Wah... envy you leh...I am the exact opp of you. put on weight real easy.. Care to exchange some hormones?
kekeke, just joking...
Well, gals, so far I only know a few people getting married on 19 June..so can't really say is auspicious...
I don't have anything yet...not ROM gown, no bookings for anywhere and no bridal package..

silver

Hi Mimosa,
You very cute leh! Well we always welcome you here
So how's ur preparation so far? 2004 thread so many ppl, no chance to really talk to you ya...

ever

Morning gals!!

Jan, think you seriously addicted!!
ya, I expecting my wedding banquet to be like an MNC's annual D&D!! hahahahaha... agree with you that we really talkative, plus all of us no mood to work.... so, even more postings!!! Jul 04 will have a hard time reading all these messages later!!

ccy, i think Concorde Hotel's package is about $630 / $650 +++ per table. Initially, wanted to take that but ballroom too small and dont look very grand... the food is not bad though....

Mimosa, blur you!! no wonder you say i'm new to the thread... and me blur blur, also agree with you!!! hahahahha...
ya, me working in Tuas South.... really far, didnt expect myself to travel from one end to the other end to work!!!

silver, can understand the nature of yr job... one of my good fren also in insurance... so, where's yr office?? maybe you know my fren!!

doreamon

Hi wendylee,

I don't think the make-up inclusive of transportation lei. But i will check out with her when i do my trial with her on June 28th.

I did not look at the setting of Soo kee's diamond. We just got pissed off with their attitude and walked away. As for Fairy's Inc, i have not been down there yet as i already gotten my wedding ring. But have read abt them in a bridal mag. Maybe after June 19th, i will just pop by.

I agreed that usually older generation prefer to give us 916 gold. Me too faced the same problem. So the best alternative is to get those that have both. Or another way is u buy 916 gold then plated them in white gold after the wedding so that you can still wear the jewellery. But advice is if you do plating, as time passes by, the white gold will just tarnish away and plating have to be done once again.

If any of you are looking at getting those jewellery with both combination - white and 916 gold, can go look at Poh Heng. Their collection much more trendy than Tian Po. Pricewise almost no difference. Service also much better than Tianpo.

Hi Annmelody,

I tried to search the contact no. and will post here later again. Keep a lookout

silver

Gd morning ladies...

I thought I will see Jan's posting but ever is earlier today

Ever, my office is at alexandra....

Going out now but can't help must login to check msg first
think I will ve hard time reading all the posting when I am back .

jan

Morning!!

haha.. yup, today post a bit late eh...
Feeling sleepy today... Still got 2 more days b4 weekend!! hehe...
Jul 04 shld be logging in soon...

Oh mimosa, u saw the wrong thread!! No wonder, i can't remember u!

sagi

morning gals!
wah.....u all really good.....

jan,
u seriously addicted liao.....at nite all ur posting wor.....kekeke....

hi mimosa,
i remember u from the other thread......

hmm....so ur wedding is in jun o4?
hee...one mth earlier than all the gals here.... except me....no fixed date yet....hahaha

elis

so kiki in the same shoes as I am.....trying desperately to lose weights.....i will be contented with losing 3kgs. i am not greedy