(2004) Brides of year 2004

jul_04

Hi ever & Jan,

What's a reasonable px to pay for actual day photography? I tot $500 was enough, but looks like it's not! How how? *headache*

I guess I shd bring my fiance to meet the photographer & see the past portfolio to gauge whether we like the style right? *sigh* Shd have eloped instead...

sagi

wow gals! u all really addicted liao.....even log on at nite.... seems i m the only sane one.....hahahaa
.....no offense hor...
aiyah, cos i havent done anything yet.....n no dates fixed.....so still very lax n relaxed...

wait till i start panicking....kekkeke...

jul04, thanks har.....wld go check my email later....

hmmm.....so all of u sign up with bridal boutique already rite? then choose the photographer already? they got in-house one or tied up with those photographers like andrew, chris ling etc??

ccy

I'm new in this thread but i'm getting married next yr also.

Would like ask around if you guys have decided on any place to hold yr dinner?

jan

Ya Jul, dun think my hubby wants to spend too much on actual day photos too.. Tot $500++ will be enough also..
Somemore dun think we'll do videography, if u gals do this, it'll be more ex, over $1k!!!

Hi Sagi!
ya ya, think u're the only one who can control!!!

No, i think it's only me who hasn't sign up for bridal yet... so totally no clue abt what'll be in my package! Most likely no actual day photos included...

jan

Hi ccy!!

Yeah, most of us have already decided on the venue
How abt u? Have u looked ard for a venue yet and set on a wedding date yet?

jul_04

Hi sagi,

What to do? Who asked me to be so ambitious, take on all the solemnization, wedding & reno projects at the same time? Over-estimated my abilities *sigh* So gotta ask for advice etc etc right? Besides, it's nice to chat with 'exposed' frens. *evil laugh* Next time ur turn to panic *hehe*

Nope, only silver, ever, & I have signed up with bridal. Jan hasn't yet. I believe all our bridals come with in-hse photographer. The ones that tie up with Chris Ling et al are usually (but not always) more ex.

Hi ccy,

Welcome
So you've decided to have ur wedding in Jul next yr too? With the exception of sagi (who hasn't done anything
), the rest of us have booked our dinner venue.

jul_04

Hi Jan,

No lah, no money for videography. At the most just get an uncle to videocam the event.

Oh so it's u posting. No wonder I got file locking error. *growl*

jan

haha... yup Jul it's me
was prob a second faster than u! See, we're so eager to post msg!! haha...
Ya loh, was thinking just ask friends or relatives to help us do the videocam.. anyway, after some time, think we'll just chuck it one side! haha..

Hi Brenda, think one way u could get is to consult a fortune teller.. If not u can try this website http://mindcity.sina.com
coz understand the tong shu is not out yet...

binbin

hi ino and coven...oorrrr....so that's what champagne flutes are huh? me sua ku lah...hehhehee.....thanks.

bubbles, realli? from DI? hhhhhmmmmm.......

ever

Hi hi!!!

Jan & Jul 04 - me also thought actual day pics not as exp... how??
endless things to pay & pay... who said anything about economic crisis?!??! only our pay got crisis, not these wedding stuff!!!! never heard of discounts, only price increases... *sigh*... ya, think need to view these photographers' portfolio... think book in Oct or Nov ok, rite?? donno if the freelance guy that tie up with J&M ok or not?!??!

sagi - hahaha... ya, we very addicted now, especially when we got tons of things to discuss... like diamonds!!! if me renovating my house now, i would hav even more things to talk to Jul 04!! heeheheeheee
oh, sagi, why cant you decide the date yet?? waiting for the almanac?? Jul 04's rite, by the time you panic, we settle most things liao... hopefully... heehehheeeheee... *fingers crossed*

Welcome ccy!! maybe you can let us know yr shortlisted venues/budgets/no. of guests etc.... then we can give you our personal comments??
we very helpful one... rite, gals?? heeheheheheeheee....

jan

Wahhh.. more happening here during lunch time eh? heheee...

Yup ever, think Oct/Nov book photograher shld be fine... Sighs.. got another thing to bug my hubby! He'll sure faint!!

Ya, everything for the wedding seems to be increasing and increasing!! Urghh...

Yeah ccy, we very helpful one!! hahaaaa..

brenda

hi Jan,

Can recomend good fortune tellers to me, I got no lobang on this.

My friend already bought the tongshu, have you got yr date?

BTW can give me details of Yew Kuang, is he a actual day photographer.

ever

you gals are fast!!! me haven't finish typing and you gals already hav new messages!! my messages slow man.... still replying to the postings in front.... cant catch up with you gals liao!!

smurfy

Hi Mee Mee,

will heed your advice and wear bikini there with high heels.. so easier to take off... hahaha...

Hi Blue Lake,

Thanks for your compliments. I love the gold color gown too.. but I haven't discuss with my Bridal coordinator yet. Not sure if it will look nice on me, scare that my "tyre" on my stomach and tummy will show. And also not sure if I am suitable to wear mermaid kinda gown....

Just some updates, cos I blur liao:
Date & Venue & Bridal
07th - Smurfy (Raffles The Plaza), Lezen & Ted Collection
15th - Blue Lake(Merchant Court), Kai Bridal
21st - Ocean(?), Pageup(Noble Hse), Everbliss
28th & 1/3- mee mee(Orchard Parade Hotel), Graceful Image

Please advise if there is any discrepancy or updates

jan

Wow ever.. taking my breath also.. *pants* so many postings leh!

Oh Brenda, the tong shu is out, where did ur friend buy it from, think a few of us wants to get it???!!!
Yes i've got my date thru the website.. ermm.. i'm not too sure abt fortune tellers... maybe the rest of the gals can help u

Yup, Yew Kwang is an actual day photographer...

sagi

aiyoh u gals really "zhou huo lu mo" liao.....kekekke...

ccy
welcome welcome
23191.gif

ya, like what jul04 has mentioned, i m the only one with nothing done yet...so wont be able to give u much advice.....but they can lor....
ya ya, like what they all saying, they very helpful one.....

jul04
there u go.......want broadcast to everyone i got nothing done yet har??
23192.gif

nvr mind, next time u all can give me tons of advices liao......hehehee...

ever
hopefully by the time i start panicking....u all very "seasoned" liao, then can become my "shi fu"
23193.gif

antares

hihi girls..
It had been quite a while since I last posted msg here..:pP No choice lah.. recently too busy with project plus this thread is moving in the speed of light..:pP can't catch up..:pP

Glad you all enjoy the gathering...
Did u all take photo or not?..like last time when I was younger, we always took gathering photo..:p

ino , binbin,
the champagne flutes look very nice leh..

but what can we use them for?.. For display?

take care girls...

silver

Gd afternoon ladies...

Wow one morning only so many postings ya. Hey I just email you gals a email on make up artist fyi.

Hi brenda,
If you are waiting for tong shui think it will be out after lunar 7th mth. Otherwise you can visit Trinity Art @ 65381433 - they will based on you n ur hubb dob n time of birth.

Hi ccy,
Welcome! Ya most of us (except sagi) ve decided. How abt you? Shortlisted any?

Hi sagi,
Those that has in house photographer, usually they do not tie with those 'branded' one.

Hi Jul 04,
Hey understand fm my gf tat Thomson Wedding offers pretty reasonable for actual day photography leh. You might want to double with them.

Hi Jan,
I saw Andrew's photo while I was at Flamingo. Personally find that his indoor is more toward 'warm' style. As I prefer natural one, I will go for Chris Ling or Beatle@work if I am using them but if you like 'warm' style, Andrew would suit you.

Hi ever,
I ve no idea wat's Andrew presenting pricing but my sis is happy with him.

Oh Utopia Photography very good wif journist styele but very X!

sagi

jan,
orh....so u havent signed up bridal pkg yet? have u start looking?? which ones u shortlist leh??
hmm.....no i dun mean the actual day photograpy, but the studio ones....
oh ya, which led me to ask.....normally the pkg dun include actual day photography one har??
ever, jul04, pls help to ans..... u all very helpful one .....

n for ur pkg, the studio photos....done by in-house photographer???

hi brenda
welcome! pai sey, cant help u on that..cos i totally no clue...

ever

Hi Brenda, can you confirm with yr fren if the tong shu is for 2004?? cos the fortune teller told me it'll be out in Jul/Aug... i went to this fortune teller at Ang Mo Kio, but not sure if he's accurate or not... me still waiting for the tong shu... only made a tentative booking based on the date he "calculate" for us... if you want the address, email you tmw...

sagi

hi silver
what is meant by "warm" style??
23194.gif

i also prefer those natural style one..... hmm... i wld have another thing to fret abt when i start making my decisions.....hahhaa...

silver

Walau you gals scary leh! I posted one msg oni n I ve so many to read now heee

Brenda,
Tong Shui out liao meh? Where your friend bought it?

jan

Hello silver!!

Yeah, take ur time to read ya!! haha.. Hmm, actually will consider Andrew's pix is cos think his is sort of the cheaper one for the "branded" photogrpahers.. Yup, heard abt Utopia but yes, it's ex!

Hi sagi, no leh, haven't started visiting the bridal shops yet, but kind of interested in silverlining and flamingo at this moment.. will see how..
Yes, all bridal will have indoor/outdoor pix but some will be in-house, but usually for the Designer bridal, they will work with those "branded" photographers like Chris Ling etc..

coven

hee ... drink champagne or wine. told bf tat i very gian to drink some sparkling wine so we went to buy the wine first then went on to look for the flutes. kekeke... more fun to use a nice glassware to drink. use normal cups like no fun liao :p

jul_04

Wah... I went away for less than 1 hr, look at all the new postings. What happened?

Hi brenda, welcome
Sorry I don't consult fortune teller, so cannot help you.

Jan - Yeah, Oct/Nov book actual day photographer still ok. No need to rush out & book so early. must pay deposit one you know...

Ever - U can ask Adrian if he does actual day photography. If not, maybe he can recommend someone he knows. Yeah lor, neverending list of things. The moment u settle 1 item, the next 2 items pop up.

wendylee

SOUPIE/FOREST: Meaning gg to DI would still be cheaper than FairyInc? Im so blurred now... which is which? Or FI's quality is better?
23204.gif

PEBBLES: YES lor... got any gathering photos to share??

jul_04

Wah!!! My boss interrupted me for a few min, & an avalanche occurs! *drowning*

Hi silver -

Yeah, I know Thomson Wedding has tie-up with actual day photographer. But I wanted to c if the outside ones are cheaper. Looks like not! And what is 'warm' style?

Hi sagi,

For my package, the album is done by in-hse photographer. Most of these one-stop bridal shops will also offer you optional actual day photography too, but it's up to you whether you wanna get them. Usu the additional cost is cheaper than getting AD photographer from outside.

ino

Hi soupie/Bubbles
No wonder the gals noe so much abt diamonds. They only use good quality diamonds. However, if one of the daughter is from DI, then i wonder whether their workmanship is good anot...I was previously thinking of using them to design my "jia zhuang"...now i will seriously reconsider...

Hi Cin,
Aiya, at first i wanted dia jewellery...nice nice and sparkling but then pple also feedback that dia jewellery do not fetch as much value as gold jewellery...i'm also in a dilemma. How?

Hi wendylee,
i think DI may be cheaper. However, i was comparing prices of loose dia and i realise that DI, Lee Hwa and Soo Kee ain't that cheap...
I went to Taka...their GIA dia are cheaper for the same quality.

soupie

wendylee, i didn't say which one is better or which one is cheaper lah... cannot compare both of them cos they provide different services, one is apple one is pear how to compare?.. fairy's inc gives more customized service like they can custom make or give u suggestions or even design ur wedding bands for u. they do not have lots of diamonds at the shop where u can pick and choose. most prob is u tell them ur budget and details of designs and quality of diamond u want and they'll try to meet ur requirements and even suggest wat sort of designs are suitable for u. DI is more like a typical goldsmith shop where there's lots of range for u to choose from, but they also have loose GIA certified diamonds lah.

jul_04

So strange... Now that I'm checking, there aren't any new postings. I think it must be me! The moment I go away, there'll be many more msgs.

I'm going away now for meeting. shall come back & check again

jan

haha.. yup, Jul 04, think ur timing is very wrong!! hehehe

Yup, everything must pay deposit, that's why my hubby doesn't want to book everything so early!! But to shut me up, guess he has no choice loh, otherwise everytime bug him with this and that!! haha..

jul_04

Hi Jan,

Yeah, my timing is very wrong. Sneaked out of the meeting for a while. If my boss calls, then no choice. But right now, I can enjoy some peace & quiet. *hehe*

My fiance also complaining abt why I'm so kan cheong. I keep telling him that we have to book early to get the date we want, but of course gotta pay premium in the form of deposit.

But nowadays he's quite obliging. Maybe because I changed tactic. Instead of screaming, must try to look pathetic & very poor thing. If I don't go window shopping in Courts, I'll be so sad & disappointed. Then he'll bring me there

jan

Eh, Jul, u very naughty huh, sneaked out of meeting!! hehee

Yeah, must learn from u, look sad and pathetic... ok, will try that!!

bubbles

yes, soupie is right. Can't really compare. One gives very customised service while the other is like a typical goldsmith shop.

Anyway I was told that even in DI, they also offer a range of very well-cut and good grade diamond, have to ask from the shop to show you kind.

cyn

ino, i'm having the same problem leh.. i prefer white gold & diamond too... but my mum wan sto give gold... which is somethings i dun like to wear. true lah, gold fetch value.. jus dun like lor.. i also headache leh. how how?? draw lots?

any idea for ur EG? yday went daniel yam to try a EG.. quite like it. abit of mermaid cut, low back, velvet material with some pattern. quite elegant looking... maybe work towards this design. but hor, i also like cheongsam leh... trying to combine the 2 look... how how??

ever

Hi gals!!

Jul 04, ya me agree that must use soft approach towards guys... i always nag my bf about ROM/wedding preparations until he "bua da han"... now, i always "request" for his attention... heeheheheehee... better liao... finally wanna start drawing up the guest list for ROM... told him i cant do any deco pieces if he dont wanna confirm the no. of guests... he even volunteered to go shopping for deco materials with me!! yippee!!!!!

Jul 04, think you really seriously "poisoned" by SB forum... hahahha... sneaked out of meeting to post.... hahahahaha.....

jul_04

Hi Jan & ever,

Yeah, really zou(2) huo(3) ru(4) mo(2)

Jan - Must try the 'soft' approach. I think guys are quite manageable when u use this method. *haha*

Ever - So you discovered the method to 'manage' ur bf too huh? Very useful right? Got immediate result! *hehe*

pebbles

hi hi girls,
so happending ah...
i see all of u are toking about diamonds ah..
me dun really know much abt it lah...
but hor...
cin p,
me also like those white diamond but as usual lah, mummies just loves gold so much...i guess u have to tell them, if u waste the money on gold, i wont' even wear it so better to buy white diamond...ahahha...

forest,
hey u blur blur ah...mix up all the nicks liao...ahahah...

wendylee,
didn't take any group pics lah..i only manage to take some pics of the few girls...i was rushing off that nite so forget all abt it lor...maybe during our next outing, we can take lor...

ccy

Well for wedding studio, have decided to go with Precious Moments.

Can you gals share with me where did you choose for yr dinner venue? And approx. how much ar?

pebbles

Hi hi fellow Maybrides to be...

Guess i have miss out on quite a fair bit ah...sorry ah...busy with work ah so hardly log on and didn't see the thread so thought it's dead liao...so glad there's still postings..
Must keep it going ah..

happy02,
sorry ah, can't help u much...i have not started my sourcing for contactors yet so can't give u comments on those two ID firms which u have gone too, but have u view their work, ie, look at the workmanship and how's their pricing...??? have u visited many ID firms or just these two...

Keann,
hi hi, u got your WG from aus ah, i think aus got nice gowns ah...dun know about melbourne though but i think perth as got really nice gowns...i used to study in perth and went back for holidays there, manage to check out some gowns there and i think they are lovely however, the prices are really ex ah....so when will u be back for your holidays ah...and when will u be coming back for good, u like amara hotel ah...??? i think that hotel is cosy and after their renovation, they look good , mordern looking , how many tables are u looking at...???? one thing i dun like about amara is they have a common reception area and if your wedding falls on a weekend, u might be sharing the reception area with some other brides,what other hotels have u check out???? If u need any help just let us know and we will try our best to help ..

poox,
hey how have u being...???? any updates or not..?? i read that u have a fren whom mom's owns a bridal ah...can check if say i want to get a MTM EG down up for my mom,how much will it cost ah, just a simple one...

jul_04

Hi ccy,

When's ur wedding? And how much is ur package with Precious Moments? We are all very kpo gals in this thread

Jul_04 - Sheraton Towers
Jan - Mandarin Singapore (Orchard Rd)
ever - Orchid Country Club
silver - RS Yacht Club

Actually the dinner depends on your budget. You can get from $500 - more than $100, ranging from hotels like Park View to posh ones like Ritz-Carlton/conrad. You got a budget in mind? Mine's >$80 per pax. Still have to factor in costs of beverages.

forest

cin_p/ino,
ya lor.. me agree with pebbles.. cos' if mummys give gold... we jus leave it aside.. nv wear.. very wasteful..

i hve a suggestion:
usually, they will buy u jia zhuang.. n give u jewellery for the tea ceremony also... u can think abt buying white gold n diamonds for jia zhuang.. then, 1 pc of gold jewellery for the tea ceremony lor... cover all areas!!! hehehe

pebbles,
ya lor... got all mixed up!!!

sagi

wah.......u gals really.... i think i must check this thread quite frequently.....
23230.gif

suddenly i realise that i nvr pop by the bridal boutiques and svcs thread nowadays..last time when i first joined this forum, i always go there to read pp's comments abt the different bridal boutiques....but nvr post lah...nothing to contribute also
23231.gif

this forum really got tons and tons of things to read...... can read until see stars...

jan, ever, jul
ya ya must give him that type of pathetic look.. then he acede to ur request...heehee.

silver

Sagi n Jul 04,
'warm' style's color is darker. Err.. hope you will get it hehe

ccy,
Care to share with us how much is Precious Moment's package and comes with what? -kpo- hehehe

For me, I will be having outdoor at Republic of Spore Yacht Club. What's your budget and looking at rest or hotel?

ino

Hi cin_p,
Your figure quite good lor...so can take mermaid cut. For me, i have to take A-line.
Saw Daniel Yam's gowns, is the gown limited edition?
If you want to combine, my opinion is that you can even opt for bare back or transparent lace for your back and a mandarin collar (cheongsam type). As for the bottom, you can take a mermaid cut with some high slits...hehehehe. My bridal shop did one that is similar - a cheongsam with mermaid cut and a knee slit filled with ruffles...my FH tot it was very unique and nice.
;-)

As for jewellery, will have to c c and look look. i was told that if i dun make upz my mind fast enuff, i will end up with a dragon-pheonix bangle.
;-P!!!
That is really motivating, yeah?!?!