(2004) Brides of year 2004

jan

hello gals

Hi silver, i didn't surf any website for the designs, mainly looked thru mags for inspiration esp the Style mag think it has lotsa gowns in it!! haha.. COuldn't find any nice ones on the net...

Went to look at Diamond rings today
.. quite good discount now if u gals intend to buy.. But for me, not sure whether i shld really get one coz dunno whether i'll wear or not... I'm the lazy kind, i dun usually wear rings or any accessories except earrings.. haha..

silver

Hi Jan,

'Style' is the name of bridal mag? Sorrie huh me abit sua ku

Diamond is always women's best friend
I like diamond but know nuts abt diamond hee Jan, which shop you went to? Now alot of shops having sale now. Was at soo kee the other day n saw a pair of wedding bands quite nice but we think it's abit to buy now

mimosa

remember me? Mimosa here. Long time didn't post msg here coz nothing to contribute but had been reading the postings all the time.

Anyone of you sign up with Irene's Creation? How issit? I just signed up with them but have not gone for the measurements yet.

Ever,

Are u new to this thread too? Hey, u work in Tuas? Same here!! I also work in Tuas, which part of Tuas are u at? Got to travel so far, and yet we start work earlier than most people working in town. I also start at 8am.

Jul_04,

Oh, u stomach upset? Poor thing, better now? I too got weak stomach, and get upsets easily if I eat food that is not too clean or too raw.

ino

Hi cin_p,

so happy! i bought my wedding shoes at metro marina on sunday at almost 50% off! It's the beaded champagne gold shoes that's abt 3.5 inches...dun noe whether u recalled. n u noe wat, the shoes i got was already 30% off. In addition, i managed to buy the Marina Sq vouchers at another 30% off. I cld use the vouchers there, hence i got my shoes so much cheaper!! i love SALES!!!

Think u shld buy the vouchers too and wait for the metro sales again...the vouchers is valid for 6 mths...perhaps u cld buy the "Peel & Reveal" mask at a very much cheaper px!

Hi Pebbles,
Your hubby so romantic!!!

jul_04

Couldn't resist checking even tho I'm going to work 2moro. *haha*

silver - Wow, gd news for you. Since you've decided on the venue, go for it. Believe me, when you've signed on the contract, it's a huge relief!

Jan - You've already decided on the designs? Wow! You're fast! I'm still loitering ard with no ideas. So the Style magazine has more pics of gowns? I need a mag with lots & lots of pics of WGs & EGs. The ones I see on the Net look very matured. I personally find it's better to buy the tea dress, then you can keep it.

ever - You bought your kua from HK itself? How much did you pay for it? I'm just curious, coz I dun intend to wear a kua. Not Cantonese mah.

Mimosa - Yeah, I got weak stomach. It's quite tedious sometimes *sigh* Btw I finally managed to see my upstairs neighbours flat. The place is so small! Don't understand why the flats are so small these days
But it's quite windy, & out of the afternoon sun, hope it's windy all yr round. Now I can finally visualise my place, I can seriously start to think of designs for my new home

jan

Morning!!

hi silver, yeah, Style is the name of the Mag, it's a newly launched MediaCorp Brides Mag (with Andrea Cruz & Pierre Png on the cover)..
Ha.. actually i know nuts abt Diamonds too!! I went to Lee Hwa and Aspial... The Aspial at City Link is having a storewide 50% coz they're relocating, tot it was quite good discount!!

Hi there Mimosa! Err.. sorry, can't remember u... Care to intro again.. hehe.. Have u booked ur banquet venue yet?

Hi Jul04, yah, tot the ones on the net not so suitable too... So i mainly look thru local mags for ideas
Oh good for u, so now u can visualise how ur house looks like eh..
True, nowadays houses are very small!

doreamon

Hi Pebbles,

Sorry to miss your posting on Friday itself. I did not log on after that. Glad to know that you gals had a great time, i regretted not being there. I went to the dinner as requested by my mum and end up sitting there hearing all my aunties asking me questions on my wedding. When i mentioned that no wedding dinner, some of them started nagging and nagging till i just left the table without saying "excuse me". What a torture for me!

Hi Bin Bin,

Received! Thanks for the email. Well...i guess what i am going to do is shown him your beautiful ROM photos, try to bring him down to makan and at the same time, meet up with Carol. Hopefully, after meeting with Carol, he will be much comfortable.

So u are with Jessica too? Hmm...i have always wanted to try out her eye treatments but always no time. Have been hearing gals who tried her eye treatments mentioning very good for dark eye rings. Me too have very dark eye rings, hope to pay Jessica a visit soon.

Hi Ino,

I agreed with u that the Sales this time round is good. Guess that the retailers are all trying to bring in as much crowd as possible.

For those looking for wedding rings, can go Goldheart or Lee Hwa. Goldheart is having 20% off storewide for non members and 30% off for members plus vouchers. For Lee Hwa, 50% for some range of solitarie. Applies to GIA and HRD diamonds too. OVer the weekends, went with my friend who was shopping for wedding bands and was shown a E colour VVS1 solitarie at only $1400. The original price was $2800. Should be a good time to get wedding rings or "Si Dian Jin". Check it out!

Btw, of course, Tianpo and Poh Heng also having 30% sale. But, we never went in to see.

Soo Kee too having buy a diamond and get another free sale. Went in there too but my friend was pissed off by their poor attitude. Two boutiques also the same attitude.

ever

Morning gals!!

hi mimosa, ya... i guess i'm new to this thread... didnt see your postings before... anyway, me worked in the far end of tuas... so, are you a July 2004 bride as well??

i paid about S$250 for my kua... actually, me not cantonese too, but think kua quite nice so decided to wear one as tea-dress!! heeehhheehee

Jan, so happy for you!! went shopping for a diamond ring?!?! me saw lots of sales too, but didnt wanted to pressurise my bf cos his job is quite unstable now.... try not to spend unnecessarily...

Jul 04, now you can seriously think of designs for yr house!! yr neighbours quite friendly hor, let you all view their flat...

jan

Hello ever!!

Well, i think i dun want the diamond ring already...for now..haha.. coz not sure whether i'll wear it or not.. I'll spare my hubby this time!
Tho i wld say the sales is really tempting but maybe wait till next time lah! haha..

Urghh.. suffering from severe monday blues!!

jul_04

Morning gals!

I'm having Mon blues too. Bad case *sigh* are we going to have to go thru this for the next 40 yrs?

Ever & Jan - My upstairs neighbour quite nice right? He's a HK guy who migrated here. He's fixing up the whole flat by himself, even the kitchen cabinets! The only thing he got a contractor to do was the aircon system. Wow! I was so impressed. Yup yup, now I can start to think of some nice (AND CHEAP) designs for my hse

Jan - Is the Style bridal magazine the newest edition, or is it sold out? Can't seem to find at my neighbourhood shop.

coven

morning morning!

i like some WB designs from Goldheart. Lee Hwa .. hee .. like but over-budget and my finger doesnt do justice to the rings!! hahaha

hope u gals had a nice wkends

jan

hello Jul04..

Ya, ur neighbour very friendly leh.. hehe.. And so amazing, he fixed up his own cabinets!! wow!!

The style mag was out quite sometime back, think it's sold out already...

ever

Hi Jan... guess its only the two of us posting in the morning... heeehehehee... wah, you so nice to yr hubby, dont want yr diamond ring... heehehee.. ya, if you dont think you'll wear, its quite a waste of $$!!! ai ya, next time ask him to get something else for you loh!!

me suffering from Monday blues too!!!! and whole body aching!! yesterday exercised too much, thought my body can take it!! hahahahaha... sigh, old liao... must exercise at slower pace...

jan

hello!

ever, ya, we are the only ones posting b4 9am i guess!!

Ya loh, was thinking quite waste of money to buy, better to save the money for the wedding!! hehe..

Haha.. for me, i dun have the habit to exercise regularly, very bad rite!

ever

Hi hi Jul 04, so you're around too!! ya, think the Style mag sold out already.... dont even wanna think about the next 40 years!!! me think about the next few years already damn sian!! sigh..... think i wanna be a tai-tai.... everyday go shopping, manicure, facials etc... hahahhaa...

Jul, maybe should ask yr neighbour to help you with the reno!! should be cheaper, rite?? heeeheeeheee.....

binbin

hi hi girls!!! nice meeting you girls last friday, esp Cin, AngelBB, Ino, forest and soupie! Ino, so u went back to the sales and buy it huh? hehehe....how come neber buy on friday night when we were there? hehhee......dunno abt you but sometimes hor i will purposely walk away from something i wanna buy very much, and see if i feel sad/wistful. if i dun, means i can dun buy. if i do, i will go back to grab it...hehhehehe...
glad u got such a good buY!!!

Cin, yar! thanks for telling us metro opens till 11pm that day yar! me so happy manage to get a blue blouse and a red checkered dress..hehehehee.... ;)

ivory, doremon, sagi, silver, coven, dun worry, there'll be another outing one kae? next time must come......

ivory, i also think the expression on ur FH's face when he whipped out the tortoises must be worth a million! he is also beri sweet...

binbin

hi seagal! welcome to the thread!
23054.gif
. when's ur big day? as for the clarin's question, think Forest can help you....but think she not in these few days leh....forest forest.....

jul_04

Hi Jan,

So disappointing. Was looking forward to seeing lots of pics of 'normal' gowns. Then I can just show the pics to my bridal shop. Oh well... Maybe next issue?

You very nice to ur hubby, don't want the diamond ring. But maybe he'll surprise you with it? Anyway, he can buy diamonds for you next time after ur customary too. By then, no more wedding expenses, so you can get bigger ones

Hi ever,

Why are you at work so early? If I can, I'll turn up for work at 10 am earliest. Hate climbing out of bed in the morning.

I think my neighbour will take a very long time to do my reno. He's a retiree, so he's taking his own sweet time with everything. But I looked at the cement base he made for his cabinets, & they were so smooth & even. Think it'll be better workmanship than contractors.

Yeah, told my fiance I wanna be a tai tai too. He just looked at me & shook his head.

ino

hi binbin,

i will hesitate to spend if it's an expensive item. That pair of shoes cost $100 leh...i have this strange habit whereby i leave it to fate. If i'm fated to have that thing which i like, i will be able to buy no matter which day i come. I din buy it on Friday nite as i need some time to think over. in addition, i knew i was going to marina sq on saturday as i went for my bridal measurement...so there...it's a risk that i've to take lor.

Hi Doraemon,
Agree now that the diamonds seem more affordable. Went to Soo Kee as well for their 1-for-1 offer. Din like their promo diamonds range. The "free" diamond that they give is all of commercial grade...come to think about it...it's like having 2 diamonds at 50% off. i rather go for the Lee Hwa promo whereby i can get good GIA dia at 50% off.

looking for WBs? Can try Fairy's Inc. They've got great service and great jewellery!

wendylee

Morning Gals...!
23063.gif
Enjoyed last outing?

WELCOME SEAGAL!
23064.gif

DOREAMON/COVEN: Hey, read about mentioned sale at Goldheart? No discount for WB right? Koaz... the price was revised ion 21May liao wor... meaning have to pay xtra $150 for the pair. E color and VVS1 costing $1400?!?!!?!? Which outlet??? TELL ME TELL ME!!! Me havent got mine...

PEBBLES: WOW, so envy... mine duno when got such good effort!
23065.gif

ever

Hi Jul 04, me hav to start work at 8am every day... cos me got co transport, remember?? initally, me not used to it too!!! i used to go to work at 9am.... yr neighbour is a retiree?? no wonder he got so much time to do his own reno... ya, usually retirees got lots of time, will do stuff carefully and slowly... that's why his workmanship so good!!!

hahahaha
my bf gave me the same answer as yr fiance!!! keep telling me it's not very possible... maybe housewife can... cos that means do all the housework and no facials, manicures and shopping!!!

smurfy

Hi Mee Mee,

Me too. I oso very flabby, will be a bad "advertisement" for the bridal if any couple walks in..hahaa....

sagi

yo gals

i also mon blues......
and i m wearing blue too...haha...

not feeling too well either......got diarrhea and last nite woke up in the middle of the nite.....now feeling soooo sleepy....zzzz...
yawn.gif

cyn

ino, good buy man... u mean they allowed discount for voucher? ai ya, shd have bought it.. think the discount is over. the 20% storewide only til yday. glad tat u bought ur shoes. izzit similar to the range tat i show you?

binbin, you're most welcome... i also wan to shop mah.. very sian rite.. duno why the shops here closed so early. by the time we finished makan, they closed shop already.

jul_04

Hi ever,

Well, it's gd that you've co transport. Makes a lot of diff to morale in the morning, esp Mon morning. At least you are guaranteed of a seat & can sleep till ur workplace.

Yeah, retirees normally can take their time coz not involved in the rat race. Really very good workmanship! Simple, but of high quality. I think maybe by the time I finish my reno, he's still doing his. *haha*

Hi sagi,

I'm wearing red, as in bright red, but I'm still feeling blue. so it doesn't help! Might as well tell everyone that you're feeling blue. Anyway you're leaving the workforce soon. so envious...

angelbb

Hi gals! Wah... me been wanting to go orchard for the sale leh, but so far these few days stuck with other programs, so only managed to go Suntec, Bugis & Parkway... :} So how's the "situation" at orchard? Crowded ah???

Ino, glad you got a good buy! Me thot actually I wanted to go back Metro on Sunday, but couldn't make it cos go family gathering. Luckily you went back again! Hahaha!
Think its really fate hor....

coven

hi ino,
where's fairy inc?? *scratch head*

hee ... i not crazy over diamond rings now. used to splurge on them couple yrs back (bf said heng else he die.. -_-)

hee ... usually when i shop, if i see something i like i try not to buy it. just in case its impulse. like ino .. walk off and see 'fate' or not. hee

jan

hello ladies!

Jul04, yeah, maybe wait till after customary eh... haha.. But i was greedy and tried on the 0.72carat one for fun yesterday, and he said why do i need such a big one for?!!! haha.. But no lah, dun think i want so big one either... pai seh to wear!!! Scarly ppl think i'm some tai tai or wat!! haha...

Oh well, i can't imagine myself still working 40 years down the road too!!

Really blue monday, am wearing a new pair of shoes and it hurts!! urghh..

coven

orchard ... very crowded. crowds started on fridya nite liao .. -_-

on sat, i just quickly went robinson to get bedsheets and champagne flutes and FAI DI CHAO!!! (get away chop chop!)

jul_04

Hi Jan,

Wah, 0.72 carat! Never wore such a big diamond before! The biggest I tried was 0.59 carat. In the end, fiance bought 0.56. Shd have tried the 1 carat for fun right? I mean, I'll never get to wear it in real life, so might as well have some fun. After all, trying is free

It's very quiet today. Think everyone has gone on leave for GSS!

forest

hi galz...
me dint login since last thur... well, jus wanna say.. it was a very good outing!!!
very happy to meet up with Pebbles/CC2/Blusher/Binbin/Cin_p/AngelBB/Ino/Soupie!! N thanks to Pebbles for making it HAPPEN!!!

pebbles,
thanks for copying the proposal tt ur FH did!! It was sooo ROMANTIC leh.... envy envy!!

ino,
WOW... great for u!!! got ur shoes oredi huh! too bad, dint get u to show me when we were walking arnd metro.. hee hee.. but it sure is a good deal!!

cin_p,
oh oh... forgot to ask.. how was the peel n reveal huh??? how does it feel after u tried it on ur hand??

doreamon,
hmmm... ya lor.. heard quite alot of ppl who said tt going for facials/massage at BI always makes them sleep!!

binbin,
ya lor ya lor.. nv come in for a few days liao.. n had to clear quite a ton of emails this morning....

welcome seagal!
i've tried a few therapist at institut clarins... m most satisfied with jeannie.. she's very detailed.. massage pressure is veri even on both hands.. n very meticulous in checking ur skin condition, explaining wat she will do etc..

actually, i jus paid them a visit last fri.. n jeannie was sooo nice to customise a facial for me tt day (actually, they hve pre-defined facials ones...).. cos' i mentioned to her abt my huge pores.. n tons of blackheads... give her a try!! n do let me know wat u think of her!
BUT, do book her at least 1-2 wks in advance.. she's real HOT!! out of 6 sessions i had, cld only arrange 2 with her!!

ivory

hi gals.. its Monday bluez again… when can we ever get out of this bluez symptoms…

hi cin_p / binbin

*drying my tears* okay.. I dun sob.. so u gonna arrange the next gathering?? *grin*

hi doreamon

poor gal.. have to go thru those aunties bombarding.. huh?

hi binbin

ya… especially when he try to look “han2 qing2 mo4 mo4” u sure burst out laughing cos he look like a mickey mouse… kekekek…

sweet? okay lah.. oni this time.. dun ver wish for another romantic or sweet moment again

hi seagal

welcome welcome

hi wendylee

dun envy lah.. u jus keep telling him abt all the proposals u’ve read so far.. mayb he will come up with something special too?

cyn

angel, orchard is very crowded. better to shop on weekday. all these crowd make me give up on shopping...

coven, if i'm not wrong, fairy inc is at delfi orchard.

forest, peel & reveal huh... seems not bad on my hand.. but duno how it'll react on my face leh. heard tat EArden is for mature skin. afraid it might be too strong for me. i've sensitive skin lah.. so can you find ur way to mrt? hey, dun forget our kopi session huh... =)

ivory, i'm afraid no one will turn up if i'm the organiser.. i'm very bad at it leh... why dun you organise lah, i'll definitely support you. *grin*

ivory

cin_p

i can organise.. but sure ended up asking u gals to buy tickets and come watch our dance performance one, so better not.. next better player??

pageup

Haven't post for one week.
Buzy buzy.

Went for my first appointment yesterday. I spend almost 2 hours trying on gowns. Gosh! It was tiring, the gowns were quite heavy and almost impossible to put them on without help. Anyway, I manage to find one OTR gown
but not evening gown.I think I have to MTM

Mee Mee and smurfy, I also want to lose some weight and tone up a little
Trying hard to discpline myself to go to gym regularly and avoid fattening food..hee hee

jan

Jul 04, I'm here!! hahah..

Ya loh, 0.72 carat too big already, maybe shld go for 0.5 will do.. haha.. Next time i shall try the 1 carat..
Scarly it's even bigger than my finger!!

Just had lunch... very full and sleepy..

jan

oh btw, who's the diamond expert here? Jul 04 are u one? hehe.. was wondering which is more valuable, princess cut or the normal is it called Round Brilliant?.. sorry dun really know all these names... haha.. Think princess cut ones are more modern and "in" rite?

jul_04

Hi Jan,

I'm not an expert, but I can share what I know. When I first looked at diamonds, I was also blur blur. Dun even know what are the 4 Cs
. Only after I got my ring, then I started to pick up some terms here & there.

FIRST C : Carat

Self-explanatory. The bigger the carat, the more expensive it is. Sometimes jewelers like to call them "pointers". 30 pointers means 0.3 carat.

SECOND C : Clarity

This is how many bits & dirts are embedded in the diamond. Starts from IF (internally flawless), VVS1 (Very very small inclusions), VVS2, VS1, etc. More flawless, the more ex.

THIRD C : Colour

Starts from D, E,..., H, etc. D is the most colourless grade, then followed by E, etc. More colourless, more ex.

FOURTH C : Cut

Some cuts are round brilliance (round), princess (the squarish type), marquise (teardrop) etc. It all depends on what you like. The round brilliance is very clasic & traditional, so not as trendy as the princess. The angles, proportions & polish of the diamond all contribute to it's brilliance.

In summary (whew! So long-winded), a diamond is very personal. What I like is diff from others. Of course, if we have unlimited budget, we can get huge diamong, IF, colourless, & perfect cut, but must be practical. You have to decide for yourself which of the C you can sacrifice.

ever

Hi gals!!

wow!! discussing about diamonds!! wah, 0.72 carat really big.... think will attract robbers' attention!! hahahaha...
Jan, not sure what you meant by princess cut?? is it the name given by the shop itself?? cos the "brilliant rose" name is given by Soo Kee... its a round diamond with more cuts than usual, so are much brighter... they patented the cut and gave it a special name.... hmmm.... princess cut?!?! or is it squarish?? me like diamonds a lot but didnt really do much research on them!! heeeheehee....

Wah, Jul 04, you already hav a 0.56 carat diamond ring ah.... *envy**envy*.... me still waiting patiently for mine.... hahahahhaha.... me really amazed by the way you & yr fiance saved!!! can saved up to buy diamond ring, throw banquet, renovate flat.... Cool!!!! need to learn from you two, man!!!

jan

hello!

Wahhh... Thanks Jul 04 for ur kind explanations!! haha.. Ermm.. wah, diamonds also have 4Cs!?!! haha...

Yup ever, princess cut ones are the squarish ones..

jan

Btw, u gals have the actual photo package from ur bridal studio rite? Coz i received one quotation from Nick Goh - photographer, think he's quite popular for wedding shoots, but no idea how he knows my email, but if u gals want, i can send it to u... his cheapest is $500++...

jul_04

Hi ever,

Haha! The diamond is paid for by interest free installment, so it's more affordable. Besides, the ring is paid for by fiance, not our communal moneybox. And we also scrimping on bridal shop & reno. What to do? Money is not limitless, dun have $100k!

Brilliant Rose is a modified round brilliance. which means the shape is the same as the conventional round brilliance, but there are 66 facets, compared to 58 facets. But personally, I find the brilliant rose not very fantastic. But again, diamonds are subjective. Every gal likes something slightly diff, unless you want to compare by size alone!

Hi Jan,

Yup, diamonds are the original 4Cs ok! Dun underestimate the art of choosing diamonds. Actually I also dun know how to choose. It's easy to rem the theory, but when the diamonds are in front of you, can't tell the diff!

Does Nick Goh specialise in actual day photography? My bridal package doesnt include actual day shoot, it's optional for $500 extra. Can you email Nick Goh's quotation to me, I'll take a look? Thanks!

binbin

hi forest ah, u got one of the girl's nick wrong lah..hehehhee...it's bubbles who went on friday, not blusher....hehehhehee...

coven! yeah, fairy's inc is at delfi orchard. and i do agree, their service is superb, and sincere. two young girls owned it, but they have damn good tastes!
go check it out, they sell (and custom made) ring pillows, paradox shoes as well. what are champagne flutes huh?

cin, hehehhee......yeah the shopping life in sing not as happening as in hongkong right? so much night life? hehhehee.... but then again, if the shops here like HK, think we'll be poorer than we are now....hehhehee...

ivory and cin, think i also cannot make it lah....hehehhehe...!!! ;P

jan

Hey Jul04, have sent u the email... anyway, i fwded to the others as well fyi...
Ya, think he specialise in actual day photogrpahy...

jul_04

Jan, thanks a lot! Must show my fiance to see whether he likes the photography. I think gals are always concerned abt gowns, while guys only look at photography!