(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Helloo..!

Antares, halter is that type where you tie the straps around the back of your neck. A-line skirt is not the super flare ones. So it just kinds of opens up slightly at the bottom creating sort of a "A" shape. You know, I had absolutely no clue as to the types of skirts and so-called necklines till recently too. But I'm sure when you go to the bridal stores, the experts there will be able to "teach" you all the names and cuts. Hehehhe..it'll be fun.
Hey, I didn't know you were a full-time student too! Join the students little club here..hehehe

Besse,
At least you know where else to look for the moment you know you have to change venue. Have you seen the Pan Pac's ballroom? I saw the pictures online and I thought it was beautiful. They have several themes...Amos and I really liked the candle themed one. But as usual, we have too few guests.

Hi NewCOMERS..!! Welcome..!

Irene,
Before I say anything, wish to confirm something. Customary means the banquet here right??
Well if it does mean what I think it means, then it really depends on how much time you have to plan. If you can postpone it, then I guess you'll have more time to enjoy the planning process (and not drive yourself nuts..heheh)But if you think you'll like to have it soon, then by all means do what you feel like. You should be happy. So long as you know you won't strain yourself.

Hi Besse,

In fact i am quite flexible, if i can't get a dec date, i will postpone to next yr. Like wat A&W says, enjoy the planning process and not be all stressed up and then go nuts

However, if i have it next year, the price of banquet will be more expensive, i am truly shocked by how much prices go up each year.

I agree with A&W that Pan Pac's Ballroom looks very nice, and i also love the candle theme, but i too do not have so many guests and it is way beyond my budget.

HI gals,

\A piece of advice from my friend...she had her banquet of about 42 tables and she made a loss of $10K over!!!!

So invite selectively else well....that may burn a hole in your pockets.

hi binbin,
thanks a lot for the information regarding the flats!
i really didn't know about those. so, it's really good information

hi cyn,
yah..not easy long-distance. FH work hard to occupy his time and me study hard to occupy my time
we keep in touch by emails and chat online
unless my FH in singapore, then, we will call each other.

hi A&W,
yeap..me & my FH have already booked the bridal studio. I booked with golden horse awards(GHA) tampines branch before i went back to australia and he went back to japan again. Yeap..we plan & discuss our marriage through emails and chatting online
hehehe.... yes..my 1st choice is Alkaff mansion for the dinner banquet. I'm still deciding whether to have western or chinese dinner. i'm looking at my guests. For sure, i know i can't have buffet because FH side must have dinner. quite traditional in that sense..so, i think most likely i'll have chinese dinner. if i can have international dinner, even better!
hahha... i will have to see the menu.. and see what alkaff can recommend and accomodate me when i get back

hi doremon,
thanks for the suggestion!
i will check out NYDC too. another cake shop added to my list

To all the newcomers,
welcome!!
we can share ideas and give suggestions!

It's only been 2 days since i logged in here and wow so many messages. i have been going out, enjoying the beach
now...got sun-tanned, face red red
hehehhe....
Intend to go 1 day outback trip and try sand-boarding

hi annmelody,
hmmm..true.
maybe i can give suggestion. this is what i do. I have 2 different invitation cards. Those not close relatives & friends, i only invite for my religious solemnization which after that only provide buffet. Those close relatives & friends, i give both invitation cards. Both the religious solemnization & dinner banquet. So, my dinner banquet is only for close relatives & friends

i've confirmed my booking with david loh. he's indeed a very nice person. anyone looking for JP, can consider him.

hi chic
if you're looking at early 04.. some hotels might give you the 03 price. each yr the increment is abt $10-20 but bear in mind abt the GST, it might be 5% next yr. some hotels offer nett price so if even you sign up this yr, it'll not be affected cos of GST (of cos better to state in B/W).

hi lin
regarding your 2 invitations... instead of giving 2 invites, why dun you jus state the 2 events in jus 1 invite. kind of funny to give & receive 2 invites leh. no offence, jus my personal opinion.

no one gog GCW bridal show? =(

hi cyn,
oh..i was giving suggestions to annmelody.
for my case, because some relatives i'm not inviting to dinner banquet. so, if i were to put 2 events in 1 invitation, they sure will come(being kepo). the dinner banquet is only for close relatives. so those closer ones, they get to attend the buffet and dinner. the rest, just the buffet. In that way, my relatives don't complain i never invite them. moreover, dinner banquet is not cheap and i don't like to invite relatives who are being forced to go. The angpow they give, you also can faint!
Because some of my relatives just come to see-see and gossip. As some of my relatives, i never even see for many years, not even New year..but got no choice have to invite.

i think it's quite common oredi. Some of my friends invite certain ppl to their church wedding and dinner banquet while some only dinner banquet. so, it's something similar like that

just want to share my wedding preparation story

After my engagement, my FH bestman fall for my bridesmaid
well..while me & my FH have been busy emailing each other on wedding preparations, our bestman & bridesmaid were "busy" emailing each other too
our bestman have been trying to persuade our bridesmaid to go out with him by using our engagement VCD as the bait. hahahh

i don't know what will happen.. but i did told my bridesmaid, whatever happen btwn them two, i hope that they still become my bestman & bridesmaid
if not me & FH will have headache.... hahhah

if you girls have any interesting wedding preparation stories, share wif me leh

Lin,
Thats really sweet...bridesmaid and bestman. Aiyah too bad it isn't love at first sight for the both of them otherwise it'll be so wonderful. But true also lah, should anything happens (touch wood),it may affect your wedding. but I'm sure they are both mature enough to know that. Oh yah, does Alkaff Mansion actually have an International sit-down dinner? Thats sounds really interesting cos normally I only see International buffet. But I know what you mean by inviting only the closest too. Initially I thought I could have a tiny, tiny wedding of maybe 100 ppl max! Then when my bro got married, I was shocked to see almost all my relatives fly up to attend. Relatives alone already took up 8 tables. Talk about ang pao...wah liao..after my bro's wedding, my relatives and I nearly fainted when we saw some ang paos only had $8 (Sis-in-law's side). Thats pretty rude isn't it? I think I'd rather they just not give at all...

Ask you guys huh....Must I invite all my colleages in the future (when I start work)even if I don't know them? Cos I really want to keep the wedding small, plus no point spending the extra money if they are not close right? I told Amos that I don't intend to invite colleages (unless we've become friends already)and he said no matter what, I should still invite...just to be polite. Like what Annmelody said, must invite wisely. We hope we can at least break even when it comes to the cost of the dinner. Keeping fingers crossed!
Also, we are going to specify on the invites no kids under 12. Cos very expensive lah since they don't really eat but yet we still have to pay the full price. Worse if ppl have to bring their maids along too. What do you guys think? Is that too harsh?

Chicory,
If you are having your banquet next year, is it possible to book first and try and see if you can secure the current price? Not sure if the hotels will let you do that but you can try.

So next year GST will be 5% huh? Hehee...haven't been keep up with current affairs.

Antares,
Are you still looking for a hotel? I checked out Crown Prince hotel...their price is arund $600plus/table but its for weekdays.

hi A&W,
yup..i've not heard of international sit-down dinner. so, when i come back, i see what alkaff mansion can offer me.

About your colleagues, probably you can just invite your boss and those working in your department / team.

It's up to you if you want to specify no kids under 12.In my opinion, it's a bit harsh. Not very nice to write that in the invitation card. maybe what you can do is to inform your mom. And your mom will tell the relatives herself.
Just like my mom, she ask me whether i will allow children to come too
if not, she said she will just tell the relatives. It also depends on the situation. whether your relatives are open-minded regarding these things..if they're traditional, they might get offended.

hmm, regarding your sis in law relatives, i agree with you it's a bit rude or they're just plain ignorant.
But then again, wedding banquets is meant for the couple to throw for celebration. We cannot expect much.

Even though i'm not expecting much from guests, as i think wedding banquets is meant to throw as celebration, i don't mind losing some during wedding banquet. But, i would expect a bit of courtesy. During my engagement celebration, i did receive only $6 angpow from not close relatives.

Being realistic and depending on the couple's budget, i guess the invitations are quite personal. All depends on the situation of the family and the couple.

i wanted to hold my wedding celebration at orchid country club at first
The ballroom that looks grand have a minimum requirement of number of tables. If you don't meet the minimum requirement, you can only use the function room.

hi A&W,
wonder if you have the same feelings as me. how i wish i can invite my overseas uni friends. but some of them haven't finish their studies yet and they can't be there for my wedding
sometimes, i even have this thought of having my wedding on-line for a while during dinner banquet. But don't know how to set up.

hi ppl, heard that today at HDB there is Walk in selection of 4 room flats at 9 locations. e.g. CCK, hougang, Pungool, sengkang, Bukit panjang, jurong west/east etc.

c if anyone interetsed. bye for now, gotta go off....

Thanks for all the advices.

I think maybe if i am to book banquet for early 2004, they may allow me to do so at the current price. But i want to check out Marina Mandarin, they are giving $30 off per table and free flow of beer, but must have banquet b4 31 Dec 03. Must plan carefully to minimise loss...

There are actually quite a number of hotels which is $600plus/table for weekdays and weekends.

Hi A&W,

I think if you are not close to your future colleagues, you can don't invite them. I have an example here, my fren's fren has a new colleague who jus joined her company not long and invited all her colleagues to her wedding, they are not close and if don't go, they feel bad cuz' she invited them but if go also don't know how much ang pow to give cuz' not close. For me i want to invite relatives and close frens to my wedding cuz' i want to share my joy with them, i don't want my new colleagues to come jus for the sake of coming and stress them. That's jus my personal opinions lah.

But i think colleagues are usually quite 'auto' to give the 'market rate' that is enuf to cover the cost of the dinner, embarrassed if give too little cuz' see each other in office everyday.
I think sometimes are the relatives that contribute to the 'losses'. They bring the whole family but maybe only give for two adults. Or sometimes two persons attend but only give $60. Maybe you can explain to them that it is going to be a very small affair due to budget constraint, so no maids and small kids. I think they will understand.

I wonder if all the hotels provide kids' menu or not? Whether hotel will charge cheaper for kids' menu since kids dun eat that much. I read in the forum that a bride actually set aside a table for kids with kids' menu.

Hi A&W, thanks for the info on hotel. But I need to have my wedding banquet on weekends cos' I want the church wedding to be on the same day. I think the chruch wedding only hold on Saturday (not too sure abt this). So Crown Prince is out for me lor as the weekend dinner will be $700+..

For Orchid Country CLub, I went to a friend's wedding last year Dec, the ballroom is real huge! with very high ceiling! It seems a bit too big ..the place seems so empty...:P and the mood very strange...heehee.. just my personal view lah..I think there are pple who like it..
But the place where cocktail reception is served is really very spacious and grand, I really like it..

I think most likely I will take Novotel Apollo, their weekend banquet is also abt $600+ per table. I am meeting the coordinator this saturday. I will see how then..

Your wedding banquet is held at Conrad right? Pretty expensive there. I had the same problem with you, I also don't know if I shld invite my future colleague, scared not enough places.

Frankly speaking, I agree with the general view that it is usually the relatives whom contribute to the "losses"..:P

Hi Chicory, I think the idea of having a kids' menu on a separate table is pretty cute.
However, I am wondering if parents will be against it?..

hi chicory, 1st fitting involves trying on certain gowns, her showing u her materials, and u deciding which gown design you like.

btw i just went down to Divine last evening to book my package. realised that the price for my package wirth robin went up by $100 liao. it's 5088 now....
but i still get the $500 off lah. the package also refres to those by picture box and another photographer i forgot which. Thus, it is best you go down urself to see the price again, coz my old list is outdated liaoz.....

for your hotels u listed, all beri nice. just that hitlon ballroom aisle is L shaped hor, tot u may like to know....and there's pillars around too. u asked abt which i booked huh? my wedding dinner will be at conrad.

good luck!

Hi Girls and of course not forgetting Amos..

It's being a while since i last come in ah and so many new brides to be..
Welcome to our warm and happy family...ehhehe...and all the pretty brides to be...
17772.gif

Cyn,
me and some of the oldies are going for the GCW bridal show tomolo, u goiing to??? maybe i can msg u when im there then can meet up with u..
also regarding the JP, im also trying to get hold of David myself ah, really very hard to get hold of him like what BinBin mention in the earlier postings, i hope he will be able to make it for mine cos it's on a SUN....
so in the end, where did u put your wedding band?? me also keep it aside so i won't see it else my FH will sure want to wear it...

BinBin,
so have u found a venue for your solemnization yet??? i think having it at the Botanic garden bandstand is a good idea, i think i know what u r toking about, very romantic feel one plus it's the garden theme too...but one thing u will have to do up yr own decor rite...As for me, still carrying on with my plan will be having my rom at my dad's place, will have a small garden and invitie my frens , might be having my rom in the afternoon then have lunch after that will have BBQ for dinner cum my birthday party cos it's the weekend before my birthday..ehehhe...just thinking only, dun know if my frens can tahan partying the whole day on a Sunday..ehehe..

Annemelody,
hello,no time no see yr postings and also no time no see u lah...how's your studies coming along??? and gown selection, decided on your gown already???? i think u will look really nice in a buster maybe for for the simple modern looking kind with embroidery and a little beadings cos when u march into the ballroom the lights will really bring out the beadings...

Doremon,
glad to hear that yr house is ready already, me now also thinking if i should have my renov done before my wedding or only do up my house after the wedding itself...most likely i will be collecting my keys in end mar...that's the lastest i can defer...but will see how things goes..

Antares, I think having a kids table is a good idea, but like you say, maybe parents and relatives may not like the idea.

Binbin, so first fitting involves all these, then i think i still got time

wow, $5088, that is very expensive leh, the $500 off is very good
hmmm... i thought with the $500 off i can keep my budget around $4k
But still good to check out their other packages, i think the other photographer is Chris Ling.

Oh, I did not know the Hilton Ballroom is L-shaped with pillars. Then i should not consider it then. Thanks for telling me

Conrad is very beautiful, saw the pics on bridal magazines.

Lin,
how's life in Perth??? is it still very hot over there??? Wish i can go sand sufting too ah...can't wait to go back there with my FH...really brings back lots of nice memories when we go back there..
As for face condition, u try not to go for too much sun-tanning else u will be too tanned..also drink more water, think the weather there quite nice so shouldn't get too much pimples unless u really eat all those oliy food but i think it's quite hard for u to control what to eat here rite, all the yummy food in perth...
Read in your postings, u r having long distance relation with your FH ah and for 3.5 yrs, i only had a 6 months long distance relationship with my FH cos he graduated before me and i couldn't stand it already...u must be a really strong girl...

Icechoc/Lin/Indigo,
I also very pro East one, grew up in the East was so sad when my parents shifted to the North but good for me, my parents will be shifting to the EAst again, can't wait to move back to the EAst, such a EAst kid ah me..ehehe..
me also wanted to get my future lovenest in the East one cos near to my parents but far from IL's place but too, all resale flat and didnt know they had new flat then, Icechoc, u must be so lucky to get the flat in the east lor...and that place near the old airport road is a good location...think like u girls, we would perfer to stay far far away from our in laws but Puggol also very near the EAST , just get yrself to TPE and will reach the EAST soon...

Indigo,
My wedding will be in May but not on a weekend like u cos it's those good dates for us kind of thing lah...mine will be on a thur nite...now still looking around for hotels, nothing is firm yet execpt my bridal lor..

As for your bridal package, take yr time, go round and see which one u like, it's very normal for u to like the Service at A but the gowns at B, but i always believe as long as yr gown is MTM, and their service is good and everything is well communicated then u should be quite safe...but of course u must also see the workmanship of the gowns lah...for mine, i went for the service and photographery cos i know most likely i will be taking MTM, too big, bet they wont have anything nice to fit me..eheheh

Wendy,
I was the one who wanted to have my solemnization done up in the art museum but drop the idea in the end cos it's too ex and they only provide chairs and basic stuff. As for inviting your colleagues for your wedding, i guess it all depends on how close u r to them but what Amos say is true, must invitie them though its true we need to be selective with our guest...but i think it would be rude if u r working in the same dept and they r not invitied to yr wedding....

hi pebbles, sigh.......not setlled on a place yet. these few days, apart from bieng busy wiht all my work preparations, been calling up and checking out so mnay places for ROM.....sigh.......worse come to worse, will hold at ROM loh, then go somewhere to eat who will open early for us....
the bandstand hor, can only hold 30 plus ppl leh, standing...somemore me will bring in table and 5 chairs, even worse right?
what do you think huh?
or what do you think of having the entire thingie at Oaks Grill and Bar huh? do u find it weird to have ROM at restaurant?
Or what do you think of holding my lunch at blue ginger? fantastic service, but my guests wil be divided into 2 floors (exclusive for us)....scared they feel ledt out......sigh.....*pull hair*....my FH also been calling places to check out, he said he will reserve one hour of his time every day to do these, so i wun get too stressed. hehehee.....

chicory, actually me wedding in march next yr, but helen last night suggested my first appoint to be in April. hehehhee so urs sept could be april or earlier.... ;)

Ivory,
i have send u a copy of the contact list..

Wendy,
will be sending u a copy of the contact list for all the 2004 brides, maybe u might want to add your details to the list too..

New comers!!
Please send me your personal details and i will add on to the list..

Include the following details..:-
Name/Nick, Bridal package, Hotel,Future lovenest,HPhone no,email address, ROM date, Wedding Date and also Date of birth.
will be looking forward to yr emails..
oh my email is [email protected]

pebbles
yup, i'm gog for the show too... probably can meet up...

as for david loh.. why dun you drop him an email, he'll sure call you back. tat's wat i did. now then i realized, few of my friends have engaged him too. he's really popular. oh yeah, he'll give you some suggestions too.

i jus keep my ring inside my drawer... for the 1t few days, i would jus take it out, look look for awhile then put it back... haha.. but the urge dying liao.

Binbin,
i would think if u have so many guest in hand, better drop the idea of having it at the bandstand, will be too cramp and the guest might not like it, i think having it at Oaks is not a bad idea, think theres nothing wrong having yr rom at the resturant as long as u like the place, u r the main star, as long as u like it and u feel that it's a good place then the guest will just come and give u their blessing...weather they like it or not...u make the shoots

Cyn,
i got yr hp no so will give u a call when we reach there, think might be meeting up with the oldies frist...u goiing with your FH ah...

pebbles
FH doesnt wan to go so i'm gog with a friend from FBO... he jus finds it bo liao so i shall spare his agony... hee.

hi pebbles,
it's summer now
yeah..me trying to find ppl to go sand boarding before semester starts again. yah..keep drinking water and going toilet. hahhah
hehhe..yeah. now a bit tanned coz go beach. IceChoco is me

i hope to get a flat in the east..havent been looking around. Coz me overseas, FH also overseas. will start looking around when we come back.

hi chicory,
i like that idea of setting a table with kids menu. hmm..maybe i shall consider that!
clump all the kids together..moreover, they will also feel happy, as they have their own gang!
interesting

Setting up another table for kids is fine, but who's going to be at the table to take care of them? Put 12 kiddies at one table, and it's going to be pandemonium! HARHARHARHAR!

Hi gals...

Lin,
I guess you are right. I shouldn't be expecting from the guests. Think the reason why I was a little unhappy about my brother's wedding was becos some people just didn't have the common courtesy lah. I mean we have a wedding celebration and we want everyone to enjoy themselves. I personally don't mind at all if people don't give ang paos, I mean its really up to the guests (especially if you can't afford it, just come and celebrate with us). But I think those who deliberately gave the small ones were those who were really returning the "favour" maybe. Dunno...maybe sis-in-law's mom used to give that amount at some other person's wedding. Anyway.....its not important.
Hey about the online wedding idea...I don't think its that hard. Well you'll need a webcam. I'm not sure how you can film everything though (I'm not a very advanced person
But I guess you'll need to have the wedding (say the solemnization) in a place with internet connection. So perhaps you can have it in a hotel. Then you can hook it up and position the cam at a place that will be able to capture you when you walk it and the ceremony. Not sure if it'll work. Hmmm...you think those videographers will know how to do that? I too have a few friends that I want to invite. Well I guess I'll still ask them, whether they can go is another problem cos flying to S'pore from here isn't exactly cheap.

Cyn...
HAhahaha...you sound like Frodo from Lord of the Ring...HEhhehhahha...very cute. Always have the URGE to put it on. CANNOT..! MUST TAHAN!

Well gals,
thanks you for all your comments. I think I'll only invite the closest colleages and the boss. At the most, if my future colleages say stuff like "why you never invite me" then perhaps we'll just have another little mini gathering. See how lah, for all you know, maybe I'll be unemployed when the day finally arrives.
But its really true lah, don't want ppl to feel obligated in anyway. They won't have fun so why put others in misery right.

Antares,
So you going with Novotell huh? Well hope you have fun when you meet the coordinator. I think if we really have no space for colleages, they should understand lah cos we made plans for the dinner waaaay before hand. Yah, Conrad is not exactly cheap but we really like the place and Amos' parents didn't object to the price so it made it easier for us to pick a place.
I guess we'll just have to save on other stuff.

Pebbles,
Looking forward to that contact list. Hey your initial idea of having the solemnization in the museum was really cool. I don't really remember what the museum looks like anymore though. But I can imagine how much they'll charge you just for the setting up. In the magazine here, there was one couple who had the reception at some museum. So dinner and the solemnization. Very beautiful.

About the kids, I don't really have any young children from my side of the family but I'm not sure if Amos' side has any. Think asking his mom to tell their relatives is a better way than printing it on the invites.

Hmmmmm.....did I miss out on anything else??

Oh one question!! So for the bridal stores in S'pore, you have to make appointment with them and they give you a date just to go back and try gowns?? So meaning I can't just make an appointment and go there and try on gowns straight? Pls help!

Bin Bin,

You sound really stressed out. Try and relax.
Have you tried Fort Canning? Not sure if they do weddings though. Pasir Ris Park? Very far too. Well if having it in Blue Ginger is going to split up your guests, then don't think its such a good idea. Unless you run up and down very often or just place ppl who know each other very well together, then it should still be fine. You poor thing, really pulling your hair out.

Lin, Indigo & Pebbles,
I also grew up in the East, so when we were getting our own place, i decided to buy resale in the East, cuz' that time the balloting of flats in mature estates are not very frequent. I had missed out on the balloting exercise for those new flats facing the condos opp. the bedok reservoir. I even went to HDB to enquire about those en-bloc flats near Tanah Merah MRT, now still in the process of building, those flats really has a good location, but the person at HDB wasn't very friendly and helpful, told us those flats are reserved for those residents affected by the en-bloc exercise and not for the public.

Lin, when you are back from your studies, might be in time for the flats to be completed and released to the public for balloting.
The flats near to Old Airport Rd also very good location, near to East and Central.

Amos, as for the kids table, i guess must arrange one or two older cousins to sit with them to look after them.

Binbin, wow, your wedding in March next yr and first fitting in April, that's fast. Dun stress over your ROM, yah, have you checked out Fort Canning? I think can do solemnisation there. The last i heard is that the place is closed for renovation, dunno whether completed or not.

binbin

i did my ROM solemnization at the actual ROM- it's only a 20 min thing and it's alright really. What really matters is your reception after, esp if you're planning it small and cosy.

I had my reception at Jing Rest'nt (the old Lan Kwai Fong at 50 Eu Tong Sen St) and it's under the Tung Lok group- the food was modern Chinese- 3 course set lunch for 33 pax (~$28+++ /pax) and I only spent about about $1200 plus corkage! You should give them a call. check out http://www.tunglok.com

They even prepared place settings (with names) and decorated my tables for me. Theres great photo ops there and it's so Chinoi- I loved it!
They had cushions with Mao Zedong's face on their day-bed chairs and it was such a laugh to have photos in such a chinesy environment!

What is your theme? Perhaps i can email you some links?

cheers,

Binbin,
hope u r feeling abt...dun be so stressed out over your rom thingy, remember u still have a bigger event to handle which is yr wedding..

Cyn,
oh, i will call u when i reach lah cos will be meeting the oldies and FH first before going there..

Lin,
wow...summer ah, must be super hot ah...so u enjoying your summer there lah..last summer rite since u will be coming back end of this year

Wendy,
i understand how u feel regarding the ang baos from relatives, that's also the fear i have,my relatives will most likely with with 6 pax and give only ang bao for 1 pax or like what your bro got, $6 in an ang bao, it's really shocking considering most of them should know how ex it is to hold a wedding in a hotel nowadays rite...
As for fitting at the bridal, best to make appointment with them first esp those designer's shop like ted wu, BV etc else they won't entertain u , i tried walking in without an appointment and they are not very happy about it..
oh also, mind giving me yr email address again, me too lazy to look thur the pass postings...Thanks in advance

Chicory,
so u got your flat in the EAst already ah, me also wanted a flat in the East but guess the timing wasn't rite ah also didn't want my ILs to think im getting a flat near my mom so best solution is to get one which is far from both side of the parents...

hi A&W,
Don't worry too much about those relatives. i considered these kind of ppl not close lah..normally the close relatives won't do these kind of thing. They have basic courtesy and if they know you're their niece, i'm sure they're more than happy to join in the fun. It's always the not close relatives that just kepo kepo. Invite who you think you want to share your celebration.

oh..the bridal shops right... you make an appointment with them first. Then try the gowns. Then, target which bridal shops you like. If possible, try to sign up at a bridal fair. Because they will have promotion and they give out more freebies!
Yeah?
Hmm...we sure got lots to talk about when you come back! Hmm..probably we can even go bridal shopping when i come back!

My online wedding..hmm, yeah, really have to figure that out! My FH want his brother to do the video. He's not quite interested in hiring professional videographer. But he's more interested in hiring a professional photographer. Hmm...i think i will have to figure that online thing
Will update more..once i figured it out.
Yeah..those overseas friends want to fly to singapore not cheap, so, that's why i thought of doing it online

hi Amos,
hmm...probably can get 1 or 2 older cousins to be with the young kids. Or 1 aunt to be with the young kids.

hi chicory,
i was aiming for that en bloc flats along Tanah Merah!
Yah...hopefully i can get in the East. I'm willing to wait until i get a good location.

hi binbin,
don't stress too much yeah!
i scared later when coming to your wedding..you even more stressed!

hi pebbles,
yah..enjoying my last summer here!
pebbles, don't worry about what your ILs think... if they ask why, just said "mother...now modern oredi.." heheh...

hi girls...
today is my 5th year anniversary with FH!
so happy... FH send an anniversary email. so touching, i almost tear
At different locations & weather, it's so hard to believe we can withstand this long...and getting married
I'm having summer here in australia, about 33 degrees now and FH is having winter, 8 degrees in japan.

Binbin

dun stress out... mayb try Bt Timah Hill Reserve? or Bt Batok Nature Park? or Little Guiling at Bt Gombak? i mean dunno if u can hold your solemnisation there, but a few more options for u to chk out?

me initially oso wanted a outdoor solemnisation.. in the end we decided to ROM at the ministry itself to save money instead... very unromantic but in exchange for a better wedding banquet will b quite worth it lor

pebbles

thanks... receive liao
will try to update u asap

i've just signed up package with Popular Honeymoon last nite... now to confirm the date and book venue lor...

dear a&w and chicory, yes i have considered fort canning b4, but like you said, it is under reno....:P pity, coz its an ideal location.

littlegirl, hehhee welcome.
think you are new here tat's why u din know why i am looking at outdoor locations now.
well, the history is....my rom at registry is booked at 9am, followed by church, then lunch. bUt NOW, decide to tak eout church to next yr. in this case, 9am too early mah, coz end liao too early for lunch. so either we look for rest who can open early for us, or we do ALL things outside.
that's why me lookin arnd lah....

lin, pebbles, ivory...thanks for the kind words.
sigh.....me not so much stressed as a bit fustrated lah...coz like cannot find ideal place like that....dun worry lah me wun stressed until jia lat jia lat one.....hhehehe at most i crazy until suddenly burst out laughing at my desk.... hehehehhehe....joking joking......

anyway, my FH strike upon a beri good idea of holding it, at Sky Garden in suntec...
it is beri good idea coz it is a special place to us ..... *blush*...so i have called up and make some checking....awaiting for the final result now....still checking....will keep you guys updated...

take care!

oh a&w forgot to answer u. u have to call bridal shops up, say you would like to make an appt to understand more abt their package and their gowns. then when u are there, they will usually ask u whether you wish to try......dun need to tell them this over the phone. if they dun ask when u are there, just say u would ike to try their gowns they will usually oblige.
sometimes it's not only the gowns, diff shops give diff packages deals and diff offers...have to choose carefully.

Hi Lin,
congrat!!! today 5th with yr FH, im sure he send u a real touching mail hope u didn't tear in front of your comp in uni..that was what happen to my fren, she also had a 3 yrs long distance relationship with her FH now they are happily married, her hubby send her a really touching email and she teared in uni and we all thought she was checking her results..eheheh..
As for my ILs ah, i dun really care lah but i guess i won't want my FH to think i want to stay far far away from his parents so i got my current place which is quite good as it's near to the East and there's also a nice seaside..eheh..
oh as for inviting your uni frens, i will be inviting some of my frens from overseas, those close ones whom being bugging me to get married i guess if they are yr close frens, they won't mind spending the air fare just to attend your big day..

Ivory,
no worries girl, i will just update it as and when there's changes, there are also a few new brides so awaiting for their details...my FH frens' signed up with Popular honeymoon bridal and their wedding photos are quite nice...

BinBin,
so u found yr JP yet, remember that guy i was telling u about, David Loh ah, he's very popular ah, seems like most of the girls getting rom in May is getting him,now i panic already, i still can't get hold of him, always thought it's very easy to get JP...

Bin bin,

I just remembered a place. What about CHIJMES? They have a beautiful courtyard and so many different restaurants there.Lei Garden is very nice..food is good too. Not sure if they let ppl do solemnization there though. Maybe you can try and delay the ceremony for a little while then you can stretch it till 10? And drag it a little more after that..say take pictures and chat etc till 10.30. I'm sure the restaurant will definitely be open by then. Or if you tell them in advance, they should be able to let you in a little earlier...at the most, you can wait a while inside the restaurant before food is served. Can have dim sum! Its a very nice restaurant. I don't know...what do you think? Is it Do-able?
Well laughing when you are stressed is a good thing. I do that too...better than getting depressed
You know, if you don't mind, all you need is a table to sign the papers and everyone else can stand cos solemnization doesn't really take that long right. Its really nice that way too...and you won't have to worry about renting chairs etc.

Pebbles
My details...eeerr what do you need huh?
E-mail: [email protected]
Wedding Date: We've decided on Dec 30th 2004
If you need any other info, just let me know ;)

Lin,
Congratulations!! All the different weather huh. Aust is really hot! Its -20degrees now and its snowing...cold lah but quite fun too. So would you rather be somewhere cold now or you like it hot?
When are you going back again? Your wedding is definitely before mine right. So yeah, maybe we can go look-see look-see together. If the online wedding is a little difficult, maybe you can just make a special CD of your wedding (a montage or something)and burn copies for your friends. Amos and I intend to do that. We'll just give it to friends who are close or who are unable to attend. All that can be done yourself. Edit the video your future bro-in-law is going to film. Doesn't have too be the entire wedding, maybe just a 10mins CD with the highlights of the day. Oh the beauty of technology!

Aiyah personally, Amos and I are both very certain that our relatives won't be that cruel. In fact, thank god most of my relatives came for my bro's wedding! They really helped him cover pretty much the entire wedding.

Ivory,
Where are you going for your honeymoon? I really hope we can go somewhere even if its just for a few days. Go somewhere nearby to relax together for the first time as husband and wife.

Thank you for your answers gals. I'll remember to make an appointment with those bridal stores before I go. I know what you mean when you say they get a little unhappy when you just show up without an appt.

dear lin, congrats! so sweet of ur FH...
it's really difficult, long distance, but beri glad and happy for you that it's gonna be a beautiful journey....

hi a&w, where's lei garden huh?

yep consider chijmes b4 but didn't think their restaurants would open so early leh, seems more like a hippy place for night owls....
but was thinking of trying too.....see how the suntec one goes....*cross fingers*...

pebbles, we have managed to reach david loh. he is soo nice
.....but he is yet to get back to us on whether he could make it for our date and time...we dun really wanna rush him too since we have not decided on venue even....:o

Pebbles

ya.. those contemporary ones are quite nice.. im just worried abt their skills for ethnic costumes.. seems like they dun have much examples for me to see.. n im thinking of ordering i set of wedding costumes from China.. haven't decide on which tribe yet.. so keeping my fingers crossed

Wendy

hmmm... we haven't toto of going for honeymoon yet leh... mayb after the wedding if we still have extra cash then we just make a short trip lor... so pai seh, me so big liao still havent go out travelling at all

it depends on wat type of bridal shops that u go to.. like those designers one, they are very busy so sometimes they will show u face
so far i never make any appt when going down to any bridal shops.. me n my bf will just stand outside their shop n look at their sample albums n wait for them to approach us.. those who are customers oriented will approach and invite u in even if they are busy like the one i went to last nite.. although they have a couple of couples to attend to, they still talk to us and let me try their gowns, ask their designer to draft a rough design to my liking after seeing the gowns dat i've tried.. i mean, i din find the "datz it!" gown, cos i too big size liao, can't squeeze in their gowns.. nor did i see any fantastic fotos.. but we still sign with them cos i feel they still quite okay.. and the shop near both our homes, so travelling time will be short for future visits

Binbin,
so sad ah, i called up the 3 popular ones including david and he cant make it, seems like alot of pple is getting rom on that day so in the end i called up those JPs on the list and manage to get a lady dr to do it for us, will be meeting up with her next week cos she says she likes to meet up with the couple before the rom itself

Ivory,
hey getting the gowns from china is nice ah esp those KWa and stuff...not a bad idea

hi A&W, I won't say I will definitely take Novotel Apollo lor, but I think most likely will. See how the meet up with the coordinator first..hee..:P
If parents din object, then I think it will be easier.
Conrad is the one with 12 per table right?

Hi Lin, congrats to you too.. U and your FH's romance can be written into a story loh. so touching and sweet..
Happy for you too...

hi Binbin, so sorry, I can't suggest any good place for your ROM..
cos' my ROM is just a simple one, held at the ROM itself. Hope you can find your ideal place soon..

hi pebbles, u are consolidating the 2004 brides' particulars right? So far, my date and venue still not confirm. I will email you once confirmed ok?..
xin1 ku3 ni3 le4....

To all girls who would prefer to stay in the East:
Have you all ever consider resale flats? I think resale flat is bigger than those new flats, right?

Have a nice day to all...^_^

Hi there...

Bin Bin,
There is a Lei Garden right inside CHIJMES...the restaurant is kinda in the middle of the place so you can't miss it. Cos the restaurant serves dim sum, they'll definitely open earlier compared to the rest of the pubs and ang moh restaurants. So if you have quite a large number of ppl, I'm sure they can work out something for you. Set lunch per table that sort of thing. Perhaps you can go down and see the place, then try to find the manager of the restaurant. But since you and your FH have sweet memories at this place in Suntec, I hope you can get it too. There's nothing sweeter than having a wedding or any important event in a place where all the romance begins. Or whatever sweet memories you guys had.

Antares,
Yeap Conrad is the one with a table of 12. Quite good also. This way we can fit more into a table then perhaps we won't have to spend more money on a few extra tables. Oh have you considered Robinson International hotel or something? Its on singaporebride.com...on the list. What about Concorde hotel? Is that still around?

Yeah, I've heard that re-sale flats are much bigger compared to the new ones. But sometimes when you buy a resale one, not only do you have to spend more on the flat itself, but you'll have to spend money to get rid of the existing fixtures and stuff. So there are pros and cons.

Ivory,
Same boat lah...we can only go if we have extra money left. Then again, dunno whether we can take time off from work too
So all the best to us lah
But it'll be really nice to go off for our honeymoon right after the wedding.

Pebbles,
You need the venue too? We are having it at Conrad.

Hi Wendy,
yup yup, i have added your details to the list and i remembered u r having it at Conrad, just send u the updated listed but pending for the rest of the girls details..

Antares,
no worries, take your time!! hope u r happy with Novotel service..:_)

have a good weekend girls!!!and Amos!!

hi pebbles,
heheh...luckily i check my mail at home. learn my lesson oredi
During 1st year, when i didn't have internet at home, i have to go uni to check. There was once, hehe...i check during lab after i finish lab work. Then, i teared. The lecturer thought i so stress with my work and very homesick!
so paiseh... he started to talk to me, to cover up, i said i receive email from home...actually he didn't know it was from boyfriend! hehehhe...

hi A&W,
The CD thing, i did that for my engagement too
My FH edited it into a "movie-like" and burned it onto CD and passed it to his close friends. That's why he didn't want to hire professional videographer for our wedding.

About the weather, sometimes, i prefer summer because can go sun-tanned in beach. But i like autumn the best!
Yeap..my wedding is before yours. Hopefully i can get a dinner banquet when i come back!

hmm..honeymoon..why not go for cruise? or go to those island like Langkawi, Mauritius etc..beach resort area. Me & FH thought of doing that. Because honeymoon is something special, and definitely you always stick to each other like glue. Wouldn't feel like going for shopping or sightseeing.

hi Ivory,
wah..the idea of getting 1 set of costume from china is unique!
Must share share your photos with me when you take PS

Is Popular Honeymoon a bridal studio? Where is the shop located?

hi Binbin,
i like what your FH proposed. Having your ROM at your romantic & special "place" is a good idea!
If you can get the place, go ahead with that. It's going to be very, very memorable for you & your FH.

hi Antares,
i was planning to do a drama of our love story, videotape it, edit onto CD and show it onto the projector during dinner banquet. aiya...me so ambitious...don't know whether can do all these! hehehheh
I've got so many plans...but all bits & pieces of here & there.
sometimes..i feel i plan too much oredi...heheh