(2004) Brides of year 2004

happybride

my family n hubby say i hv too high expectations, tt's y i dun like my makeup. i post in yahoo liao, can u gals help me see?

dora

Keann

Saw the flood in Melbourne on the news last nite... quite bad right.... that's one more reason for you to want to come back to Singapore right??! Take care yah!!

Madwoman

Welcome home!! Aiyah I tried so many cos I want to try all possible designs and cuts mah.... When I started I only know I look better in A-line skirts, but dunno what other cuttings suit me... so try everything lor
. you know lah, we this kind of far from perfect figure... must find something to hide all those excess baggage mah

madwomaninattic

Hihi Dora...

You sama sama as me. I also think ONLY A-line fits. Then heard that bustier also can. Confusing leh... So thats why also think must try to try many designs too but I thought if the designer or coordinator is "sharp" enough, they will know more or less what fits and flatters our kinda figures no meh??

I think I am so jetlag... must go & sleep more...

DJ - Hopefully you get my email in time too

hoshi5

hi beatrice,
i think most of it done.. my FIL ordered the catering one,(I will check which catering my FIL ordered from and let u know okie??)
and also the AD photography & videography.
Do u think I shld engage my own photography as well? coz I'm not sure how the photos wil turn out to be, but will it be a waste of $$?
Lucky u! Urs is a weekend so will hv lots of guests. Mine is a wednesday lor... so dun think a lot of pple will turn up!

Where did u buy ur GFL stuff?

dora

Madwoman

Yah lah... they will suggest lah... they were the one who suggested bustier and A-line skirt.... But vain mah.... this is the one and only chance to try gowns of every design you can think of leh.... of course must try mah

hehehe... jetlag ha? better dun go back to sleep in the day....if not tonight you will be wide awake when the rest of Singapore is sleeping

orosalind

Happybride,

Saw ur msg on gown design but not the make-up topic leh.

-------------------------------------------------

Btw, gals, I have post a website in yahoo grp to the gown design and my ROM photos too. Do feel free to drop by to take a look.

Whose ROM photos is that in the photo folder (besides mine)? I cant seems to find the name leh.

blurq

hi orosalind,
Thanks for the console.
Yes, have actually look ard for a few shopping centres already. And some more can update my link points, sounds auntie, rite? :p

I will be going NZ for honeymoon. Was thinking of postponing the trip too if there is not enough $$$ left.

hi happybride,
I have seen your photos already...think will reply in the yahoo grp instead!!! Hope to see u there!!

orosalind

Hi Blurq and all,

I can seems to go into the chat room leh. Always got a msg saying that there's problem connecting to server. You all oso hit this problem?

Blurq, u r not aunite lah, cos me oso like that. I like to update my link points too and most of my link points come fm purchases in Burger King but now BK no more issue link points liao so I find it hard to earn points nowdays. Guess cant change much freebies by the time it's gg to expire.

Btw hor, no worries lah. My mattress brand may be more ex in NTUC Mega but other brand may not be so. In my process of comparing prices for electrical appliances, I realise some shop selling one model cheaper but other models more ex than other shops. So as long as u dint pay the highest price for that model which u buy, that's gd enuf.

ivory

wah... i go into the yahoo message board.. i see until i luan leh...

orosalind,
those wedding favors pics u post one ah?

amethyst

Hi smurfy
Did orchid send you the instructions for the ang pow box, if so can email me also? thanks!!

question: my MU also ask me to dye hair, i got very black hair, feels very sayang to color it leh...

jamci

hi cat, wow u really fast leh b4 4% Gst somemore. I got my house this year jan so it's quite hard for me to purchase these big ticket items last year. I can guess how long your house had been empty.

blim

Cat, once the lenses are properly placed onto your eyes, you can't feel it... Sometimes I have to look at objects at a distance to check if I'm wearing my lenses or not.

Jamci/Cat, I more "pathetic". Only managed to get dining table and mattress so far. It is really difficult to get furniture of the right price and right design and right materials to your liking. After I got my beloved dining table, I happened to read an article about fengshui in the house. It says that glass-top dining table is not auspicious because it is transparent and signifies food falling through. Hmm.... We bought frosted glass dining table. Not very transparent. Anyway, better not be too superstitious or our lives will turn topsy-turvy...

jamci

Hi blim, i also bought a glass top dining table too. If really want to be too superstitious, should have find a fengshui master to do it in the first place at least more accurate rather than based on the article cos they can do calculation based on your house direction. Of course there are some common sense items we should avoid like mirror facing u while u are sleeping or stove and sink cannot be in straigh line....etc. Those are quite common. Like my dad said, some ppl like to collect ships and the placing is very important too. If u place the display items in the wrong direction, u can lost a lot of money. If u place correctly, then u will have fortune. Ship represent wealth. So he advised me not to anyhow purchase items especially ancient items from overseas too.

emms

hello, I am an Jan 04 bride, just found this forum and looking forward to some great interaction
Does anyone here skip the montage at the reception? We are both very shy and don't want the focus on ourselves... now we are concern that the meal will be too boring for guests..

jojok

I would like to enquire for my sis who is planning for wedding in Dec04. BTW, I just got married in Sep this yr. Does anyone know of any restaurant that have partition to close up your wedding to the external guest? She prefers some privacy. Looking at only 10+ tables of guest.

smurfy

Hi Poshies,
Do take care.

Hi amethyst,
She haven't sent it to me.

I wanted to trim my hair. When should I do it? I am now 2 months awasy from my AD already, should I trim it now?

keann

Dora:
Yea manz...i tik the storm is quite bad...actually, i dun really feel that it's so bad....it's like raining and raining...but yesterday's storm didn't come and today also no storm...reported got storm...but no have! Am staying home all the time now watching vcds...so should b fine in sheltered places.....

As for gowns, my white gown is a bustier kind...cos i dun tik i suit like gowns with straps...so bustier is best for me.And my gown comes with a sew-in hoop...but on top of that, I got another hoop...so make it more POM POM...looks like princess...heheheee....

Madwoman:
Hope you can recover from jetlag soon....VERY SOON..it's my turn to be back....hehehee.....but melbourne n SG not much difference...only 3 hrs....so dun tik will have much of a jetlag!!

Ok all...talk to u all again.

blurq

hi orosalind,
Hee hee...din know that u update the link points too...we have another thing in common again..

Ivory..sorry..too many postings...maybe we are too excited!! :p

orosalind

I finally managed to log into internet after so many hrs of trying liao.

Blurq,

Sori for not able to reply u cos I cant log into internet. Dunno y.

Think we must be twins in prev life... hahahahahh

blurq

hi orosalind,

It's okie..I was thinking how come after the fire drill, I din see u...:p (juz joking)

Ya lor..so many things in common..think happybride can't stand us!! :p

orosalind

Hey, u still in the office?? Tot u left liao.

Stupid fire drill, waste my time. I took the lift down otherwise, tmr no nid to come to work liao cos I nid to run down fm 42 flr.

I got some problem with the mattress thing and I post it in yahoo group liao. Do give me ur comments, k?

cyn

i'm getting panic.. haven even buy any GDL stuff.. collecting my invites tomolo. hopefully it's nice..

emms.. i skip the montage due to budget. but wil be showing morning highlights.. i also worried tat my guests will be bored. duno how to create the atmosphere.

ladies.. jus curious.. anyone here having dinner at gcw on the 7th?

carebear112004

Hi, so envy you yoyo, event got the suite decided! sigh... I am still looking for a banquet place, not sure Raffles Hotel or Fullerton. Some brides also suggested the Asian Civilisations Museum, which I love too. My wedding is in Nov-Dec, I think mostly likely nov, cos they say it is good "11" : )

What do you recommend? my boss has recently "sound" me that I will be entrusted a big project. am a bit worried now on how to cope...my colleague says it's good to engage a wedding planner, what do you think of Andre & Peirre's wedding planner? I think they suit to work on celebrities wedding more... personally, prefer to have a more low profile wedding planner. Do you know which are the ones? I am thinking of engaging Triston for the photography though....I saw a few on the list, one of the brides highly recommended dee(THE) SYNERGY, EVEN her groom said she is Excellent! They both loved her service that is so personalised....not so easy to find one that can provide good service i think, afterall, wedding is so individual...maybe I should think along someone with Asian Civilisation Museum coordination experience, did heard about the difficulty in terms of logistics too....I don't want to be caught between the outdoor catering and the ACM. but surely my hubby loved the venue, indoor and outdoor facing the quay...

carebear112004

Thanks Fanny, what do you think of Triston? I might be considering to engage him for our photography. he is a very low profile though, heard some good feedback, like he don't have top up this and top up for that etc etc...

bitrix

Hi hoshi5! I have bought my GDL at chinatown although I have comment that it costs more compare to the one in residential area at jurong but it is a trouble for me to go all the way there .Anyway the auntie at chinatown are very experience so it is not a problem.

It is a waste of $$$ to engage your own photography since you already have unless you do not have confidence with them. Think about it!

smurfy

Hi Ocean,
I want to trim my hair at the ends and to layer my sides too. If I do it now, will it lost the layer effect by then? Any hair salon that does good layering to recommend?

Just browse thru my hotel package and saw a rough guide given by them:
2 months b4 wedding
-arrange wedding invitation cards for printing
-obtain floor plan
-review guest list verses hotel room size
-selection of menus (Chinese/Muslim/Vegetarian)
-arrange food tasting if required

1 month b4 wedding:
-arrange appointment to finalise details
-attendance (guaranteed & expect)
-select menus (Chinese/Muslim/Vegetarian)
-beverage arrangement (Beer/liquor/stout)
-programme for the evening
-floor plan
-audio/visul arrangement
-enterainment (own arrangement of karoake, band performance, etc..)
-selected songs
-terms of payment (credit card authorisation form)
-duty free liquor declaration form

10 day prior to function:
-update on any changes or other additional requirements
-fax the following to the hotel
*Function sheet and floor layout
*Programme and selected songs
*Credit card authorisation form
*Duty free liquor declaration form

48 hrs prior to function:
-confirm guranteed attendance
-fax final floor layout

Hope it helps the rest of the Feb brides out there

fi_fi

Hi Oraia,

Sort of, Hve actually booked my bridal packages liao. But dan still searching 4 banquet. Tentatively hve block d date @ CP n wil b viewing d ballroom dis sun. now, confused ler as wanted 2 hold in Rasa Sentosa initially. But inconvenient ler.....

So when's ur date? n how's ur preparation going?

Hi Piglets,

So we'll b d same day bride
. Btw, wher ur banquet @? how's ur preparation 2?

annmiko

Yup, still at. On and off come in.

So qiao. I booked him quite early in early Nov 03. You got approach him? Sorry abt it. Guess this will happen when we all have the same AD. Actually he didn't really say he can make it. He just said that if he's not called for in-camp training, he will be our AD. So I'll pray very hard he won't go 4 ICT loh. He also never ask us to give him deposit. He said wait till he can confirm his schedule loh. So not really confirmed in a way but book the day with him liao loh. Sorry sorry.

Have you gone to the bridal shop and have a look? 25 tables still quite huge scale. My sis is currently working in that hotel now! hahaha....you pay deposit liao? See if my sis can get some discounts for you. She's a Shatec trainee attached at the hotel so not sure if she can get you more freebies. Will ask her to try.

hoshi5

Just went for my food-tasting today. One thing settled, more to go!

I also haven't buy GDL stuff, but just went down to chinatown to look for some accessories!
Hey! Bought a tiarra at only $10!!... Some more there got lots of variety!... Maybe u gals will like to go down and take a look!...
No time to look for GDL stuffs yet.. ;p

Now got problem looking for big projector coz my dinner will have abt 50 tables! Any idea where to get?

tsubame

I have a full length mirror facing my bed, although a bit to the side. Pinned on wall already then noticed.

If my parents no complain then I generally ignore Fengshui. Aesthetics & practicality more important. Afterall, I'm the one whose going to live in it.

shinchan, my MIL got something to say regarding kitchen, like stove cannot face water elements like bathrm/sink/washing machine (dunno abt side by side though), so consulted her properly before designing the kitchen cabinets.

I dun even have a dining table cos no place to stuff it. My place is 4 rm, kitchen no place, living rm taken up by my luxurious dream sofa (which my dad says can double as bed already
). But I figure cos I always eat in front of TV & HB in front of PC so dun need anyway.

hanyan

Hi ladies!

Wah, some of u oredi started getting furnitures. Hm... duno when I can get keys to my hse. Can't wait to do up my plc oso

I have selected my bridal gown and EG almost done up liow. So looks like I am the earliest ah! The BS ask me to select gowns and do design, fittings etc.. so i juz go along :p

Well, can't login fr office, so wish u gals a nice weekend!

orosalind

Hi Hanyan,

Me oso like u, have not gotten keys yet. Was supposed to get it in Oct 03 but there was some delay due to contractor getting into financial difficulties. Have rec a letter fm HDB that they will issue the keys in Apr 04 / May 04. Since it's quite close to my AD, I buy what I can buy first lor. Then I wun have to shop ard too much nearer to my AD. Moreover, it's a good time to buy now due to the extra 1% GST next yr and a lot of promotion gg on in Dec. Or maybe I'm too KS???

My SIL bought her home theatre and TV 6 mths before her flat is ready and she got real good bargain for it. Can get that price now.

hoshi5

Will try to contact Han again... luckily he's still available on my AD.

The tiarra can be found at People's Park, 3rd floor, above the hawker centre. Only went to 2 shops but there's really lots of variety there! Highly recommend it to all brides looking for accessories!

nnyl

hi orosalind

I am also thinking of buying some of the stuff now, but then hubby say too early, wat if say we change our design, or measurement out. so going to postpone later, say May/Jun then buy, during GSS. But it's gd to buy now, considering GST, only thing is the warranty 'loss' and storage charges if any.

orosalind

Hi Lynn,

For furniture wise, I oni book the package but design I will choose when I'm abt to call for delivery. So design and measurement is not a problem for me.

As for warranty loss and storage charges, I wun have problems too cos the mattress which I bought, warranty will oni start from delivery and most shops are offering free storage up to one yr maybe bcos economy is bad now. So for me, I dun see the problem of buying early. But if u intend to buy fm sale, I think they will not store FOC for u as what I understand from my frens. GSS is oso another good time to buy but I think I dun want to rush at that time cos by then, I have to get ready for wedding cos it's v near to my AD and oso I still got to take care of on-going reno works.

orosalind

for electrical appliances, it's beta not to buy now cos prices will def drop few months lata but I get all prices ready so by that time, I can just call up the cheapest one for the new price and order.