(2004) Brides of year 2004

blueberry

Ivory & Happybride,

They say it is better to drink warm stuff than normal temperature or cold water. you feel less warm. If not, use heat pad on your stomach, you sure feel not that uncomfortable. Eat food that is gentle for your stomach. Example, liquid stuff. no spicy, oily stuff..
hope it helps.

blueberry

Ivory & Happybride,

They say it is better to drink warm stuff than normal temperature or cold water. you feel less pain. If not, use heat pad on your stomach, you sure feel not that uncomfortable. Eat food that is gentle for your stomach. Example, liquid stuff. no spicy, oily stuff..
hope it helps.

xue

Does anyone of you know what is the unity candles use for and how to do it for the solemnization?

Also, where can I get nice cheap unity candles?

Poshies,

U haven't select the guo da li date? We had select the date that day when we choose our wedding date already. So maybe, can update me when is your guo da li date when you get it? My one is one day after valentine day. This year valentine day like not a very good day for getting married.

ivory

kk
doctors been telling me i will not feel pain after i gave birth.. then again.. its not 100% guarantee i will be free from such pain... still got minority still get these pains after givng birth...

then my hubby keep hinting me quik quik give birth like dat no need be tortured every mth by "auntie".. i say even the doctor cannot guarantee no pain after birth.. he a mongolian physician dare dare say no pain... never!!! wan me to give birth? wait 2 yrs after customary then!!

actually if i take Bai Feng Wan, pain not that terrible.. but then 1 of the gyane i knew say i cannot take these pills... these are for those whose female hormones not enuf then can take... he say my hormones are normal (hmm... that explains the biting-urge symptons PMS) so i cannot take... else i get menorrhagia sooner or later.. so now not taking.. so have to suffer the pain.. nevermind... tonite go home bite hubby...

happybride,
toking abt blood loss.. remember in Aug i went for wisdom teeth removal surgery... sway sway it was on the last day of my menses... i remember after the LA effect has passed.. n i was in pain like hell.. my hubby still can joke say i poor thing.. below lose blood, on top oso lose blood...

blueberry

Ivory,

Me dun feel that pain when auntie come. Just tired and sore and before auntie come, stomach upset.. Hope I dun have pain after I give birth. :p
Do you do gyna check up?? I am planning to do next year. One of my colleagues found cysts in the tube and got it out. They are planning to have children. The cysts might post danger if she is pregnant. Another had cysts and she is pregnant, and no choice got to remove the cyst. She is very worried that the baby might be affect.
Good to check before anything happens.

Proud to tell you gals that I am wisdom-teethless now. Took all my four teeth.....

straw_beri

Hi orosalind,

Yap, have rec'd ur PM. Arigato. quite x. will to source again for it.

Hi Gals...

This thread is veri veri active. having problem catching ur with u gals. read till both my eye almost pop out.

I still dun have my workstation yet if not will def join u gals in the yahoo group. Wait for Me K..

Hi KK,

U must be very brave to have all four teeth at one time....Haha... me too. better to pain once than twice rite.

bitrix

Hello hoshi5 , my wedding on 3rd Jan'04 and my "GUO DA LI" on 14/12/03 therefore I need to have the wedding invitation card ready by lastest next friday. I only need to have a few cards written especially for those elders the rest I can handle ..but it is fine it your FIL not avaliable as I will try to source around chinatown.

Tks for your help!

fairymoss

hello!!!

I MIA for a long time, how u gals? For those who dunno me, I'm fairymoss. See some newbies in this thread, and the wedding list is getting longer, esp the Dec one.

A warm welcome to all newbies!!

I'm very busy with stuffs other than my wedding prep, so didn't come online for a long time. errr..can someone kind enuff to summarise the happenings here? I'm very lazy to browse through the postings for the past few weeks.

tsubame

Hi, do we need a manicure/pedicure b4 the PS? Dunno if will do close up shot of hands or not. My hands not in very gd condition
Any gd nail boutique to recommend?

Am doing PS w/o wearing specs. I dun wear contacts see. Am a bit worried cos my colleagues all say dun wear contacts eyes look like not focused... Anybody got experience?

My PS next Wed, so a bit panicking liao.
Got shoes to go with my evening gown already but still on the prowl for wedding shoes.

Jamci, I also only considering videography due to budget constraint. But will like very much to share the morning events with dinner guest. And to keep too, cos it's the morning events & tea ceremony with parents and close friend that's more personal. So maybe considering only videography for half day. But will see see, will settle for just photos. But then during dinner a bit nothing to do/see for the guests

binbin

hi cat, it's really up to you whether u wanna do pedi and mani for PS. i did, and i dragged my FH along hahahhaa..
there is a nice place i wld recommend. It's Nail Sparkz at Burlington Square. Get the girl called Penny to do it for you. She is really nice and very experienced too. The place is so relaxing, the chairs are massage chairs and the theme is balinese.
spa mani is $25 while spa pedi is $35. But if you do both together it's $48 if i am not wrong.
tell her I recommend, can refer to me as the girl who likes dogs hahahhaa.... :p

hoshi5

Ok! Guess the timing's a bit tight...
I think Chinatown will be a good place to source, shld be able to find it.

Ur Guo Da Li so early?... I actually wanted it earlier too, but my PIL told me it's usually 1 or 2 wks earlier only... so we are having it on the 1st Jan... my AD is on 7th.

tsubame

Thanx BinBin, suddenly very conscious abt budget now so thinking if no need then save the $$
But mani/pedi not that x. Maybe just try mani cos not likely to close up shoot feet right?

But I can only go after work the day b4 the PS so wanna find somewhere near my workplace. So will be looking for someplace around Raffles Place or City Hall. Do they entertain 7 p.m. appointment? Me never go b4 so everything dunno.

shinchan

Cat,
I went to Nail Arts by Serene to construct gel nails & manicur. Quite good. At least my short & small nails look proportion to my hands liao..
I have seen some PS albums where the hands are featured in the photo, so my thgts is better do up my nails properly, rather than regret later...

I think u shld wear a pair of contact lens, & u shld start wearing it at least 1 wk b4 ur PS, so as to get used to it. For my case, I'm lost w/o my lens or glasses...

Dun panick abt ur shoes search. Jus get a chin chye pair as our gown is so long, won't getta see the shoes. U will be more heartache if u were broke or dirtied ur AD pair on PS.. Jus my 2-cents worth...

CC2,
So how, have u settle ur shoes problem? Sad to hear that ur shoe broke during ur PS...

shinchan

Hi gals, jus attended my close frens' wedding on sat. I was one of the ah yee & my HB being the oic, our final conclusion is SO TIRED!!!
Both of us & the newly-wed simply knocked out the next day... Can't imagine when it's our turn, now mixed feeling liao, both phobia plus anxiety hahaha..
But we certainly learn a lot for what to look out on our AD. Good experience..

cc2

Hi Shinchan,

There's a hole on the heels. can't really be seen lar...dun want to waste $$$ to buy another pair

jamci

Hi cat, it is better to do manicure lor. As for your feet, no need to do lah...cannot see at all.
I even wear black slipper on my PS for comfort

So u are still deciding whether to get half-day videography. If your budget allows, i would encourage u to get for memory keepsake

As for me, my budget had exceeded a lot already especially on the AD photography...etc. Both of us prefer a longer and better honeymoon so we need to put a stop on our budget.
You can ask yourself which options u place on the first priority like 1)honeymoon 2)gown...etc. So plan within your budget.

jamci

shinchan, wow u had so much fun on your close friend's wedding.
Any good advise for us to look out?
This sun will be one of my hubby's good friend wedding too. Think they will sabo her over midnight so i better take leave on mon if not i cannot wake up for work...snoozzeee oink oink.

blurq

Ivory, u r so funny leh...

Ya..I heard before that after birth, we won't be getting cramps anymore...but how true izzit huh...

kk/strawberri/ivory,
envy u gals leh..how come i dun have wisdom tooth wan...i dun have wisdom meh?? :p

strawberri,
Dun worry..will wait for u..if u want, gimme ur email address, i send u the details first..

blueberry

strawberri,

No lah. 4 at one go, you might as well kill me.. 1 teeth in one year...

blurq,

maybe you have but dun know. my mouth structure is small so when the wisdom teeth grow, can feel the extra thing at the back (gum part) and the teeth is pushing the rest of the teeth. two of them need surgery and two normal extraction.
Maybe your wisdom is hidden somewhere :p
Better than me, no wisdom now....

secret_garden

hi everyone!,
so busy with work
now just got time to peep in n say hello!
how's everyone doing?
wait i find soem time to scroll your msgs then reply okie?

u all now talking abt wisdom tooth?
i still have 2 on top
can anytime take out by extraction. heng ah!
the dentist, my frined's bro say anytime i feel liek taking mc just come down n extract hahaha!

hanyan

Today on mc, having flu since last Fri and now coughing quite badly. But this means I can come here n catch up with u all ;)

Ivory,
I was around at the beginning then coz' of a shoulder condition, i dun use pc when i get home n oni restrict to usage at the office. But now I am almost ok oredi so can start using my pc more

Btw, I happen to have the same wedding date as blurq. She was actually doing the compilation of the Oct brides some time back

Blurq,
My bridal studio outsource the groom's suit to one tailor shop. We oso hv option of doing it at other places beside the one fr the package, so we are looking around. Since my fiance has suits oredi, he tink no pt getting another, so rental is one option we considering. Then we can oso save the $ for other stuff

Someone mentioned abt doing pilates? I have always been wanting to take that up. Anyone doing that now? I heard some gyms have pilates classes but duno if it is the real thing. If I dun remember wrongly, that mediacorp actress, Wong Li Ling (hope I get her name rite) teaches pilates but duno if she stil does n duno where.

Btw, may I oso join in the yahoo grp? My email add. is [email protected]

yoyo

junior : i m not taking the ballroom... mine is actually the si chuan duo hua resturant... is your food from there as well? did the hotel offer u a night stay? mine hv one night

happybride

hi Hanyan,
i am doing pilates now, gyms more expensive then their classes are mixture of newbies n 'old students' so more difficult to catch up.
i doing it at Sports For Life Clubs, at least they have different levels, but need to depend on the instructor too...
lucky for me all the students in the class have the same standard, so i am not so stress... hehee
the price is about $103 (12sessions)

convoy

i'm a oct 04 bride as well... new to this thread...
new.gif

happybride - i've seen you at other threads b4...

know you guys were talking abt the wine fair last weekend... I was there wif hubby to check out the wines... managed to get a few good lobangs... think around $15 per bottle (is it cheap for wedding dinners?)... but pretty good stuff, like the taste...

if you guys are interested, i can pass contact to you... not wif me now.. with hubby.. or maybe we can order all together and squeeze them for better price...

hanyan

Welcome convoy!

When is your wedding?
And thank you for your info on the wine. I m wondering is it too early to buy wine for our wedding? How do u keep wine to ensure it won't turn bad?

Happybride,
Do u find u benefit fr ur pilates classes so far? It is tough? Coz i old liow n muscles stiff, scared I can't bend n stretch...haha...

Hmm... any other gals here wld like to learn pilates? Mabi we can join together.. I need the motivation! Hehe.. if i go alone, sure find excuses not to attend :p

convoy

hi hanyan...

thanks for the welcome...

for the wine, it's not advisable to get it now, unless you have proper storage (=big wine chillers)... just sourced for contacts so that we can call them up 2 to 3 mths b4 the wedding and order...

of cos, by then the wine could be a diff batch...

but good thing is that there were even a few dealers who were willing to do on consignment basis... but their wines were slightly more exp (around $20+)

orosalind

Me back after one day leave yest. Wow, I have missed out on so many postings (even have to scroll rite to the top to locate my last postings and read fm there).

Blurq,

Rec ur invitation and has joined liao but like no one there hor?????

Happybride,

Dun worry, u r not alone. I oso country bumkim dun noe how to use the Yahoo Group.

happybride

hi convoy,
Glad to see u here too... how's ur search of BS?

hi Hanyan,
it more on stretching lor, but i lazy so no practise at home, posture still not nice on ROM, so sad, too used to the hunching

happybride

hi orosalind
miss u...
so quiet yesterday, all so busy except me hahaa
i went into the yahoo group, nobody there n nobody here too : (

which brand mattress u buy?

orosalind

Hi Happybride,

Ya, miss u and the rest of the gals here too. Cant log into the thread when I'm on leave or over the weekends cos no internet at home.

I bought Slumberland, dunno if it's good leh cos I din do research before buying. But my hubby (who is quite particular on mattress) says it's comfortable. For me, every mattress is the same leh :p

U oso looking ard for one?

happybride

hi orosalind
i cant login when at home too, no internet too.
not buying one yet, just doing some research, saw on tv dont know where got mattress sales, is yours bought there too?

orosalind

Happybride,

Where is the place?

I bought mine at Aero. They claim that theirs is the cheapest and if I can find cheaper one elsewhere, I can get a refund.

Mine cost $798 (actual price cost $1800). If I took the bedframe, the whole thing (inclg mattress) will cost $1296. Dunno want to take the mattress or not leh cos it's those PVC type of material, not as lastin as compared to wood.

happybride

hi orosalind
it's on tv, i no need to buy yet so bo cham...

if u are not getting the bed frame then u need to buy elsewhere?

hubby say wooden one no good, cos he always kick (midnight go toilet blur blur) the frame, v painful...
i will be buying the dulope (dun noe how to spell) one, the top n bottom mattress type
so even if he kick oso not painful

orosalind

Hi Happybride,

I think u can oso try to go Aero and see then compare ard cos Aero oso got Dunlop on sale. $590 and with the bedframe that u r toking abt (it's called divan - dunno if I got the spelling rite), it cost oni $1088.

My bedframe most likely I will get from The White Collection cos I have booked a living and dinning package with them but I have done some calculation and found out that I still got some balance amt left which I can use it to buy a bedframe and 1 side table. The package cost $2888 but I am entitled to select up to $3374 worth of furniture.

happybride

hi orosalind
we have new topics everyday... heheee
i went to Balestia Plaza (mall) the white collection recently, i saw a bed frame v nice, with side table attached...
like a branch with table at the end of branch, v nice n unique, can go look see look see.
but provided that u no need the drawers to store things...
if u need the drawer space (like my hubby), then u will not like it lor

nnyl

halo
I'm finally back in s'pore. Had a very nice hol down under
dun want to come back *boo hoo* So many things to clear at work. Now taking a break to chit chat a bit.

Anyway, i think blurq starts a yahoo oct bride? let me join in, [email protected] Tks.

see a few new 'faces' too. Welcome!! and wow.. u gals have started buying furniture? Any gd lobangs to recommend? Trying not to burst any more budget, further more we might not be staying long at new place either. So think no need to buy super expensive and durable furniture, a bit better than bata (buy and throw away)can liao. orosalind, is The White Collection good? Where's it located? so far i quite like celini.

happybride

hi lynn,
welcome back.... heheee
1st time i talking to u... : )
the white collection is under Novena i guess, u can find them at Marina sq, balestia plaza , hougang plaza etc...

i personnally prefer Casta (forgot how to spell) Italy, their sofa more comfortable, higher back more suitable for tall ppl

orosalind

Hi Happybride,

Good mah, got new topics then more interesting hor?

I know which one u r toking abt liao. I find it unique too but my hubby dun like it leh.

If u all looking for something which u can store a lot of items, try this divan whereby u can lift up and store things underneath. Ii find it quite good in saving of spaces.

Hi Lynn,

I find their furniture not bad lor. Very modern looking and price wise very reasonable. I give u an eg on the package which I have booked. Based on the price I paid (which is $2888, excl GST), I am entitled to choose up to $3374 (excl GST) worth of furniture. I have look thru their furniture and some of those I like are as follows:
1] Dinning table with 4 chairs - $988
2] Sofa - $798
3] Coffee table - $299
4] TV console - $499
5] Bed frame - $599
6] 1 side table - $199

Total cost $3382 but since I have got the package, I oni nid to pay $2888 + top up another $8 (cos $3374 - $3382). Find it quite worth it cos I just nid to pay $2896 for furnishing the whole house.

As what Happybride mentions, The White Collection can be found in Marina Sq, etc. to add on, they oso got an outlet in Furniture Mall.

I think Celini and Casa Italy is more ex as compared to The White Collection so it depends on whether if u got the budget. For me, The White Collection is ok cos prices quite reasonable and furniture quite modern. Oh, btw, The White Collection oso can alter the length etc, of the furnite to meet ur needs (some customisation is ok).

orosalind

Btw, ya, Happybride is rite, The White Collection is under Novena (so is Modern Living).

But I find Novena's furniture a bit outdated as compared to The White Collection and Modern Living. Probably that's y Novena's furniture is cheaper?