(2004) Brides of year 2004

jan

Morning!

No problem ladies!

Eh ever, didnt expect u to log in last night! hehe..

ever

morning gals!!

me cant email the pics to you gals... when i scanned the pics from the mag, the pic turned out very blur... cant see the design and beadings properly... so, no point emailing.... sorry!! you gals go browse browse loh, if got nice gown designs, then you gals can buy the mag....

jul

Good morning
It's Thursday, just 2 more days to endure! *yippee*

Silver - Oops! Sorry, I meant ur bf call me next wk. Too confused already

Jan - Another update? Wow, our thread is getting very happening. Really have to organise some sort of get-together session to meet everyone.

ever - So kiasu *hehe* Must get a head start to reading the postings issit?

yvonne

Hi Gal,

Is good to start it early for wedding preparations so as you will have more than enough time for it. As for the banquet venue, it is advisable to book it slightly earlier like one to one and a half year earlier. Normally, december is quite a hot month, so book it earlier to prevent disappointment.

Is good to start doing some homework before finalising anything.

silver

Gd morning gals!

Just pop by in case you gals too active hehehe

So beside Jul & I who else going for the GI show? Jul, shall we meet at lobby first n go in together?

Ok going out now....

jul

Hi silver,
Nowadays u always wake up so early. If u didn't have to go to office, what time will u get out of bed? *hee* Just curious...

Hmm... I think Yvonne & Yan are going too right? Actually, I'm not really sure where is Hotel New Otani.

Jan,
Yeah, we're like die-hard SBO fans. Just cannot resist!

beetles @ work

Hi silver

very sorry about the bounded email. my email administrator was enjoying his beef hor-fun and forgot to maintain the server.. haha.. kidding..

our email is working fine now.

Bernard and I will be happy to answer any queries you have, just give us a call.

Kelvin, Beetles @ Work
www.beetles.com.sg

yan

Morning gals,

silver-- the offer sounds great.. am i able to get two passes? one for my FH as well.. we are thinking of signing up together...

Jul -- yapz, me going GI show. New Otani is the one at liang court right? i dun mind meeting first

wendylee

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">PEBBLES</FONT>:
Hi, eeee... if $8 only painting of the nail color then xpensive lor... orchard plaza there got a nailshop whereby the only buff/shape/polish/color only (so-called xpress service lah) cost $8 for hands and $10 for legs... the service so-so... skills so-so... but if <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">SILVER</FONT> mentioned west side nailshop costing $10 for full treatment (all the above including removing the cuticle) $10 is really very cheap.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">SILVER</FONT>:
Hi, if beetles@work got email you the quotation... pls share with me... me wana see how's the service/quotation/items inclusive. Thanks!

sneaky

hi pebbles &amp; silver
yah, it's cheap...to recap...the charges are as follow: -

paint fingers : $5.00
paint toes : $8.00

Hope there's no change...the last i went was before my ROM (05.05.03)...

trixie

Hi Evon,
Wah, serious?!? $2 also dare to give!

Hi jamci,
oic, so where are you going for your honeymoon? Not tired to fly immediately the day after ah? So you're going for the food tasting? If so, lemme know cos i'll be forgoing that.

How much is your package with ewalkingcat? interesting name...

trixie

Hi tinklebell,
yeah lor, didn't expect intercont to be that price range also. but then they give 2 nights in the shophouse suite. must have priced that in as well!

same for me, marriott is too expensive! Think will strike that off the list. Already for M Hotel's $800 per table, i scared will lose too much, as i confirm already will lose on relatives tables.
Need to cut loss!

A fren told me most ppl either give $60 or $80. So hopefully most will give at least $80 given that it's at a hotel (despite M Hotel not being very well-known). Actually i more or less set on M Hotel liao, just keeping my options open since i've still got time

So have you made any tentative bookings yet?

Hi gal,
Yes, it's good to plan early lor. Like Yvonne says, dec is quite a popular time to get married so if you have a date early, you can still afford to pick and choose
Actually my hubby was very 'cool' about getting a date! I forced him to go with me!

mimosa

=) I can't agree more with Sneaky.

Since ROM, everybody says that we are very loving, and says that I got myself a good catch!

I'd be going to Bali later with family and hubby. Any girls going there? maybe can update u all when I'm back.

BTW, has anyone seen Tiffany's collection of jewellery? Haven't been there but going there to see jewellery for si dian jin when I come back. si dian jin has to be gold issit?

What is jia zhuang? given by bride's side or groom's side? pin jing is from groom to bride issit?

yvonne

Hi Jul, Silver &amp; Yan,
I will be going to GI show too. Btw, got things to makan over there anot? hee...if not 1-5pm so long how to kill time?

ivory

hi doreamon,

u wanna email ur ROM details to me? I have a couple of frens doing professional photography, i can help u to email to them

evon

Hi Trixie...
Of cos serious lah...tat's y lor...how to survive?

Ask you gals hor...do you gals hv a lot of saving before your marriage? Reno loan do you think it's worth getting from the bank? Dinner do you think have to set aside one sum of money?

yvonne

Hi Trixie,

Have not made any tentative booking yet. Still waiting for the wedding date to be fixed. Have ask "guan yin" to choose an auspicious date for us cos by the time waiting for the tong su to be out will be late Dec already.

Have selected 3 dates, but waiting for the best among of the three. One is on Tue, sat and sun.

Actually, I have shortlisted ST, Marriott, Oriental, Mandarin Singapore.

Quite like Marriott, but really have to make a difficult decision,cos I'm afraid that the loss will be great if I choose there. Will discuss this matter with my hubby. He is quite supportive with my ideas. He gave in to me alot of things, even though he felt that phototaking is much more worth while to spend more money on it.

jamci

Hi trixie,
Maybe London &amp; scotland (still planning)
Yes, i will be going for the food tasting.
Why you forgo?, should try so that you can make comment to the chief if the food is not satifield.
My package is $3600 with photography. I also found the name is interesting.

jul

Hi Yan &amp; Yvonne,
So you gals are going too. Good good, the more the merrier. Uh, but where is Liang Court? Sorry, I'm a bit of a mountain tortoise, dunno anywhere except Orchard Rd

Hi ever &amp; Jan,
U two make us sound like a bunch of yakking aunties. But the, it's quite true also right?

jul

Oops! Almost forgot. Yvonne, yes, there's food. But I think it's the q up like buffet style type. Not the sit down type. *sigh*

karyinn

Hi Silver,

I am too Kan Chiong, worry i cannot get photographer on time. So last night, paid and confirm with a photographer liao :<

yan

liang court is the one near clarke quay and riverside walk. can take bus at the bus stop opposite penisula plaza. cant really remember the bus number, can check the directory listing at the bus stop.
if not, take the NEL and drop at clarke quay station and walk down from merchant court..

yvonne

Ok Jul, as long as got food no harm going there (look see look see) cos already signed up bridal elsewhere. Go there copy some get some ideas or design also good...hee!!!

Yeah now got NE Line is more convenient to go... just alight at clarke quay st and walk over.

So Karyinn,
Which photographer u signed up with? How much is the package?

Jul, Yan &amp; Silver,
How do we meet? How to recognise u gals? Hee... bring a rose along? hee...

angelbb

Hi Hi!!! :D

Haven't been here for sooo long! So many postings ah? Nails, spa &amp; PS... sigh... I got nothing to contribute, cos I not taking PS.

Hi soupie, pebbles, Lin, Me also east side kid! Talk abt Katong Laksa...yummm... I tried abt 3-4 stall liao, still think no. 49 the best! Which ones did you all try?? After marry, will live lagi east-er! Simei loh...
So I'll have to change all my supper destinations to Changi Nasi Lemak &amp; Bedok 85 Bah Chor Mee! Kekekeke.... jialat... just keep thinking abt FOOD!

keann

Hi pebbles,
Welcome back...haven't heard from you for a while now. Yes i am stuffing my face everyday with food....but actually i am a chicken rice person..i can eat chicken rice for dinner everyday. Hehehe....

I went to meet the girl with the albums yesterday...she brings the albums in from australia. I bought 2 albums from her...to slot in 4R pics..she has the black book ..kinda like a scrap book kind...that's quite nice...but photos has to be laminated first...or else will have lots of fingerprints on it.

Poox: So where is your new lovenest? Not sure if you will find this tip helpful...when i did my renovation last year...i cut out all the pics that i like from mags and paste them in a scrap book, sorted them according to kitchen, bedroom, living room, etc..this is much easier to explain my idea over to the contractor..and to reduce misunderstanding.

For my contractor, i used Prestige Image. They are average only...the contractor that i had was so so only...a lot of supervising is done on my part....but their carpenty and tiles laying is very good....they have good workmen but lousy contractors..and prices are quite reasonable. Hope this helps....i did quite a bit of homework on reno...so if you all need help...just shout for me..hehehehee....

Hope to hear from you all soon!

jul

Hi Karyinn,
Wow! U sure are fast! Which photographer did you book?

Yvonne,
Yeah lor, treat it as free Sun pm entertainment. Bring rose? so corny! :p

Yan,
Thanks, I'll prob be going with my bf, so he shd know where to go.

Ever,
Yeah, it's my Sat off. *yippee*

poox

hi keann

mm...i just had chicken rice...my fav too

so u bought the albums...good!! i'm gonna check out the gal i met at IP who can tailor make albums.

my lovenest would be in sengkang. bought an ec so not much reno required. infact we're not going to do any reno just buy furniture :p

your reno info would come in handy for pebbles.

thanx anyway
anjoy your stay.

onee

Kiki : Yup, FH briefly mentioned the figure.

Questy : Will check it out this weekend. Sigh as I browse around, more options came by leh... I've got a friend who could do floral decor. If this is the case, gotta do my DIY sums to see how liao...

Sneaky : Ya lor, it's a comfort on thoughts of a nurturing relationship. Also good to be put to trial in managing situations...

Mimosa : Wah Tiffany's collection as si dian jin ah
FH brought me there before he proposed to guage my preference last year, hehe a plot to test ring size too
. It'll be nice to have Tiffany's WB too but they are expensive for my budget. Tiffany carry contemporary design and it'll come up to a hefy sum for 4 items. Guess if your PILs are not particular, non gold items are just fine too.

I'm not very sure of the traditions, accordingly to my Mummy (modernised version lia)... Jia zhuang are given by bride's side whereas pin jing and si dian jin (for Teochews) is from the groom side. As to the contents and practices, it varies on expectations of PILs loh.

yvonne

Hi Jul,
Me working this saturday... Sian sian sian!!!! But nvm my sat is aws quite idle one, can chit chat here and kill time...hee!

Any1 not going with BF/HB/FH to the GI show? I definitely drag my BF to go with me...sounds fierce hoh...haa!!!

Later going for my 2nd aerobic class... kee! Prepare to sweat it out and ache for couple of days liao...hee!

ever

Karyinn, how much is the ROM photography package and what does it consist of?? havent decide if shld get a professional photographer for my ROM....

Yvonne, which lesson you going?? me going for pilates tonite!!

take more photos during the bridal show, k?!?! then can show us!! heeheehee....

jul

Hi Karyinn,
Is Kelvin from Beetles@work really good? So what shd I do when I look for photographer, just call, make appt, then go see samples of his work, followed by discussion of price?

Ever,
Hehe... I tot u were gog to save a bit of money &amp; not get professional photographer?

Yvonne,
Yay, time for u to work those muscles *hee* Dun exercise so much till u can't go for the GI show this Sun!

ever

Jul... you so bad... "suan" me!!! "mei da mei xiao"!! hahahaha....
must learn from Yvonne, ask you to respect yr elders!!! me tempted mah... donno can trust my bro with the ROM photography or not... scarly he distracted by all the food, then how?!?!? no nice photos to keep.... *sob**sob*....

yvonne

Ever,
Me going orchard cineleisure for LO class again...hee is only my 2nd time! So i see ur goin g bugis village for pilates?

Yeah Jul,
Tone up tone up...keep fit!!!

karyinn

Hi Ever,

The package is $300, 120 prints...
.. when and where are you having your ROM?

Hi Jul,

First thing is to call up Beetle work first, check with kelvin if that day is available. If he say YES he is available. Then you make appointment with him and go to his studio and see the pic. You must see his pic then decide if you like his style
.. his place also quite easy to find.. just 5 - 7 min walk from Farrer Park MRT.

ever

Hi karyinn, the 120 prints is in a CD-ROM or printed and put in album?? 10R?? sounds reasonable.... my ROM is in Nov 2003.... mostly likely holding it at a condo's function room...

Hi Yvonne, so you going for LO.... thought can meet up with you.... heeheeheee... some other time then!!

jul

Hi ever, the BIG sis!

Pulling rank on me? Pls lah, how much older r u than me? *haha*

Surely ur brother's not that bad? But actually from what Karyinn said, $300 not that expensive right? So maybe u can consider then. Yeah... got ROM photos to c soon.

Yvonne,
Keep it up! I'll join u someday...

Karyinn,
Oh thanks. I think when I'm free during the weekenss, can go take a look at his work. actually I'm thinking of actual day, not ROM photography.

ever

hi Jul xiaomei, ya will consider loh....

oh Karyinn, is he very "booked"?? usually, when shld we book the photographer for the actual day?? dont wanna end up with no photographer on my actual day!!!!

karyinn

Hi Ever,

120 shoot is print in 4R. and put in an album and you will be given a CDROM. So you can go to any photo shop to do extra printing to give your friends and relatives

Hi Jul,

I think normally weekend the photographers are busy running "Show" hehe.. so they should prefer you seeing them weekdays
.. that's my guess only :D..

karyinn

Hi Ever,

For actual day, if you want to get professional and creative photographer. You have to book asap once you have confirm your Actual day.
Because most of the time their schedule is taken up very fast.
Now i kept chasing my FH to decide the actual day. So i can starts to "gear up" and look for the BEST out of THE BEST photographer :p.. hehehe.. but he kept saying i am too "Kan Chiong SPIDER" -.-.. he want us to settle the ROM then decide on the actual day. He is right also because the TON SHU not yet out

jul

Hi Karyinn,
Oh, then I must take leave to go see them on weekdays? So boring... I have leave aplenty, but my fiance can't take leave as much as I do. How? *sigh*

Ever-BIG-sis &amp; Karyinn,
No need to be so kan chiong right? Surely abt 6 mths b4 wedding day is ok?