(2004) Brides of year 2004

jan

Hello to all the DA JIE JIEs!

This is xiao mei reporting! hehe.. I'm the youngest here!
Dun envy ok!

Thanks to NEL line, now i can be home so much earlier!! hehe...

I think for actual day, maybe book 8 months earlier is good enough, no need to book now lah, too early, imagine if i tell my hubby this, think he'll strangle me!!! Book so early for wat!! hahaha..

Jul, u can meet photographers after work wat, no need during the day rite, i think they shld be free in the evenings too, unless they have weddings photo taking but i dun think it's every day rite!

poohbear

Hi cin p,
it's ok =)

Now we're busy looking for furniture for the new house. Trying to sort it all out before the sale is over.

silver

Gd evening ladies....

Hi jul,
Yalor got to wake up early everyday. Well if not going office then can sleep till 9 or 10am lor hehehe

New Otani is at Clark Quay.

Hi Yan,
Ok can I get my bf to call you to arrange and so that he can explain to you the details?

Yalor my bf also asked why so long? Dun think in fact will take so long lah. Maybe the later part is for those interested to find out more abt the package.

Hi Jul, Yan n Yvonne,
Shit I thought GI is on sat! Lucky Jul mentioned otherwise.... if on sun my bf can't join me cos he is working
So shall we 1245pm at hotel lobby? Ya huh, how to recognise each other? Call when there?

Hi Karyinn,
Do you ve the contact no or email for bettle@work?

Hi Jan,
I think ur hubby will faint if ve to book now

Hi ever,
I seen Bettle@work photos when I was at Flamingo. Presently quite like his work. Beside him, you can also conside Nick Goh for ur ROM. His ROM package is $295 and Gabriel is $250.

ever

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">morning gals!!</FONT> TGIF!!!!

Hi Karyinn, thanks!! will check it out with my bf if we decide to get a prof photographer... oh, where's yr ROM going to be held? cant remember whose the one whose ROM is in Sept and havent decide on the place to eat....

Jul, can visit them after work lah... no need to take leave... save your leave for emergencies and other wedding stuff later on....

Jan, howz the NEL?? me wanna go and try out this weekend!!! will hav to depend on it when we shift to our new house next yr....

silver, yr boss quite bad hor.... yours is supposed to be a flexi-time job, but he/she still expect you to go office everyday early in the morning!!!
if the rest of the gals going with their bf/hubby/fiance, then you better get a galfren to go with you!! if not, so boring....

silver, do you hav the contact for Gabriel? which co. is he under?? think need to check with my bf soon.... forgot to ask him yesterday.... he sure say no need professional.... anyone take pics also can..... *sigh*....

Yan, howz yr LO?? me strain my back a bit last nite.... donno why leh... never happen before....

jul

Good morning! It's Friday, It's Friday!

Jan,
Ur hubby already thinks u're crazy wanting to go bridal shopping now. If u tell him u wanna bk actual day photographer, he really will strangle u

Btw how's the NEL? I dun dare to try yet, must let them iron out the teething probs first.

Silver,
Y do u have to go to office? Even if u do, surely once in 2 days or twice a wk shd be sufficent?

I also dunno how to recognise each other. Everyone there will prob be our age &amp; w/ respective partners.

Ever,
I've got lots of leave! So many days that I dunno what to do! I can carry forward this yr's to next yr for wedding, but what abt last yr's? *sigh*

Aiyoh u must take care. Must have been very garang during class last nite.

ever

Hi jul!! i've got a good suggestion... take leave to go gym; spa; mani/pedi and facial loh!!! then you confirmed be a pretty bride by next yr!!!

hahahaha..... no lah, not garang leh... maybe did some exercises wrongly, or maybe old liao... *sigh*

silver

Gd morning gals!

I ve just email you gals Bettle@work &amp; gabriel's wedding package.

Hi Karyinn,
Bettle@work ROM package is $250 for 60 4R. You asked for more pics or ?

Hi Ever &amp; Jul,
Yalor, he used to be more flexible but now insisted us to go back if we dun hit his quota and he keeps coming out wif new rulings. Sigh...

smurfy

Hi Ocean,

Raffles the plaza had also converted to Electronic Parking System (cashcard system) but the coordinator told me that still can redeem using the coupons. Instructions on the phamplet say:

Redemption/Complimentary Ticket Holder
*Please redeem your ticket at CashCard Top-Up/Redemption Kiosk located at Lift Lobbies A and B of Basement Carpark.
*Place redeemed CashCard in your vehicle's IU before driving to Exit.
*Do no remove CashCard from IU while you exit.
*Parking Charges, if any, will be debited automatically from your CashCard in IU.
*Drive through once barrier lifts up.

Not sure if it works the same way for all CashCard parking systems.

I am also having same question as you: must still buy another wedding bands? My ROM ring cannot be worn already, too loose. If I buy another pair, what date should I engrave? ROM date or wedding date *blur*
25412.gif

jul

Hi ever,
Your suggestion is really worth considering! I'm a bit suagu, never been for spa / pedicure / manicure. Really must start going already. Can go for facial too! My complexion is blah!

Oh dear, must be careful to observe urself. I'm quite worried that I'll get osteoporosis soon

Silver,
Sigh, what to do? Times r bad, so ur boss makes sure that he drives u pple to the max lor

blurydoey

good morning gals,
finally finshed my closing...
annmelody,
u mean your sis-in law requested to make another one?or they chg the designer until forget to mtm for her..must be really scary not knowing wheather the gown is ready or not for the wedding.
cin_p,
sherlene not bad, but she didnt tell the new designer what to do with my gown, ended up like rojak...sigh..somemore my bridal shop dun allow me to get otr, if I were to get otr, i got to pay.
really jialat..my co-ordinator is not helpful so no choice I got to source outside, dun want them to earn my money..Very bad experience with my bridal shop.
pebbles,
ya lor, u must pray for me, yest I overheard the boss calling up to ask abt salary basic..kekeke..this mth will annouce the increment liao..
silver,
its so cheap for the mani n pedi..thinking of trying it to maintain my fingers before my wedding.

doreamon

Hi Pebbles,

U got mail. Need to check something with u.

HI Ivory,
Thanks for offering your help. I got my photographer already.

wendylee

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">SILVER</FONT>:
Hi, thanks for sharing... Oh, its the same info that they posted in their websites. Eeee... will think about it then... their work really not bad thou'
Regarding the nail thingy, of course will sign up with their 10sessions package. But Im still wondering how's the skill like... cos the one I went in orchard area somehow kali kabo... can see that the nails are not smoothly painted... and Im those of very yim chim type... See next weekend free to go down anot... cos nowadays schedule very tight... gona exams sooOoOoon...

karyinn

Hi Jul,

You can take leave go out with friends ;).. how i wish i got leave, so can take and go walk walk shop shop :D

Hi Silver,

The contact for Beetles work is 62998823

Hi Ever,

My ROM will be at Regent hotel Summer Palace Room
.. just a small room that can hold 2 - 3 tables

Hi Silver,

I request for 120 pics, kelvin is kind enough to agreed :D

karyinn

Hey ladies,

I still thinking what location to choose for outdoor shooting during my ROM. My Makeup at Tanjong Pagar.. any good suggestions?

amethyst

On rings.... then do you still wear your engagement ring? How to wear engagement ring together with wedding band? cannot find band that'll go well with my engagment ring leh.... any recommendations? Maybe have to wear on different hands.. feels farnie.

ever

Hi Karyinn, so cool!!! at Regent!! you mean kelvin's package include outdoor shooting?!?!! hhmmmm.... not sure of any nice places near tanjong pagar... so, you doing the photoshoot before your ROM??

oh Karyinn, you wanna email yr particulars to Jan so that she can include you as part of the "july 04 mailing list"??

pageup

my htb and i also face the same dilemma, don't know whether to put rom date or actual wedding date. In the end, we give up, we just have our names engraved on each other's rings.

Amethyst, I saw some girls wear their engagment ring on their middle finger and wedding band on their ring finger. You can try that if your engagement ring can fit your middle finger

sneaky

hi silver
thanks for the info. the pics on the website don't seem appealing leh...

just as wendylee had mentioned, i'd like to try it out first before i sign up for the package...

the only thing that enticed me is the distance...too near my home liao....everytime i pass by, i'm so tempted to walk in...

karyinn

Hi Ever,

Frankly, i was a bit regret getting Regent as my ROM venue. Because the schedule seem so control
... I will start my Makeup at 8am. 9am should be ready, then have to rush to a location to take photos and rush to Regent hotel. The time seem so rushhhhhhhhhh.. i get sweat easily, i sure sweat until my Macara also melt :p.. Then I have to solemnize at around 11am or 12pm. After that start eating. The Photographing Package only 6hrs. After eating , kelvin will say "goodbye" liao..

If I ROM at the fort canning. Then i can go anywhere i like to take photos then take my own sweet time to invite friends to a hotel to eat buffet. Some more easy right. Too bad i have put my deposit to regent liao
sob sob....

ok .. will give Jan my particular.. :D..

trixie

Hi Evon,
Our savings were mostly wiped out after renovating the house. I took a company reno loan at staff rate. For the banquet, i'm expecting to lose at least $4k. So we're targetting to set aside at least 15k for the whole thing (incl. bridal, ang baos, car rental, etc.).

Hi jamci,
We'll forego cos it's too expensive! Anyway, most times, the food will turn out diff from the actual day lor. Seems like lots of ppl have complained about their fish and sharksfin, but still not much improvement? I visited the M Hotel thread and have an idea more or less which dishes to avoid liao

yvonne

Good Morning Gals,
Just came back from my Co Annual Medical Checkup. Is sure a cooling friday, so shiok if only i can sleep slight more at home. By anyway, is FRIDAY so CHEER UP!!! Hee...

Hi Ever,
I went for my LO class yday at orchard cineleisure, quite siong man the instructor nv stop at all for H20... cheong all the way! But ok la, stl can take it. Im trying out Hi/Lo next week (upgrade liao)...haa!

Jul, Silver &amp; Yan,
U gals wanna meet at hotel lobby, 12.45pm huh? Can la we carry a pcs of paper wif our contact nos then sms each other lor! Or shd we assign a coordinator to gather all the people? Hmm... i leave it to u "Meimei" to decide... I kena SUCKED blooded too much just now and canot think liao!

Wow Karyinn,
Is nice to hv yr ROM outside! If only we got extra money I will do it outside too! Now every must "SHEN" and save up bit by bit cos house not settle yet, very siong one leh!

Btw Girls,
Can I check regarding the "PIN LI" and "JIA ZUAN"... my mum told me she is taking tables n keep the angbao from us during wedding dinner, wat you gals think huh? Like that very siong leh for us... Errrhhh!!!

jan

hello ladies!!

hehe.. busy today..

ever, Jul, the NEL is amazing! Last time it took me 1hr to get home in hougang!! But now with NEL, i can get back in Half an hours' time!!!! Wow, so wonderful!!! hehehe... U gals can take train next time, so fast and convenient! But so far, all well when i took the train, no stoppage or anything... yet! hehe..

Hey sure Karyinn, u can email me at [email protected] with ur real name, contact no, wedding/rom venue and dates, birth date...

silver, dun get too upset ya
... now bad times that's why..

jan

Is ur mum asking for other Pin Li too??
For me, my parents wont be asking anything else, so we're giving the tables to my parents and let them keep the ang pows...
It depends loh, some girl-side parents will return the ang pows to u...

yvonne

Hi Jan,
U staying at Sengkang or Hougang now? Im staying at Hougang now...hee! But the NE Line doesnt passby my place, so stl hv to tak a freeder services to reach my place.

My mum said if give table then PIN JIN give little la... i thk she will return back some as what she said. But she will keep her side relatives angbao lor. By the way, now stl got "SHI DIAN JIN" given to the bride for JIA JUAN or izit during tea ceremony then my MIA give one? Abit confused on all these tradition custom??? I get all MIXEED UP...

wendylee

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">SNEAKY</FONT>:
Heyo...! Didnt know you are West kids ah... pls do try out then feedback to me yah? Me very tempted to sign up the package cos its very cheap considering full mani or pedicure at $10each session can even treat it as regualar maintenance...

ever

Hi Jan, Yvonne!!

Yvonne, for LO and HI/LO, is the workout more on legs or arms?? havent try these lessons before... we giving my mum maybe $1k for "pin li" and 8 - 10 tables... she'll be keeping the ang pows for these tables... as for "jia zuan", i think that's the gifts yr mum has for you... not gifts for her...

Jan, that's cool!! no need to squeeze into buses now... think NEL still not that crowded, rite??

Karyinn, dont worry.... i think its nicer to hav the ROM outside... more privacy and personalised...

evon

Hi Trixie,
Least your company is giving you a reno loan @ staff rate not like me still hv to get the loan from the bank really having headache if I should get a hse now. Now my job also getting on my nerve...sian sian sian

sneaky

hi wendylee,
yah, i'm a west kid...been staying there in the past 14 years. indeed, it's quite cheap loh...i shall go see see look look tomorrow...hahahaha..my husband sure nag if he knows that i spend money on such things again....

yvonne

Hi Trixie,

Is true that after the house reno, majority of the savings are wiped out. Have to start saving from the scratch again. I'm also stopped buying things into my lovenest too.Anyway, just left with the bed, mattress and 2 bedrooms blinds to buy.

Will $15K there be enough for all the stuffs? My newly-wed cousin asked me to set aside $5K loss for the banquets excluding the tables given to the gal side.Is really costy. I have made a rough estimation, it added to be abt $20+ excluding the banquet.

Which block are you staying? My hubby is staying at Jurong west too, block 645.

elenne

poox you know what? i think my FH may know yours. Cos his friend having wedding dinner at fullerton on same day as you. he is in MOCC rite?

hi pebbles

jan

I'm still staying with my parents in hougang only go to my new house in sengkang for weekends... hehe.. Oh the MRT just opp my house, so quite convenient. Yup ever, it's not so crowded like the other lines, but still no seats when i go back tho..

Hi karyinn, yup, maybe go for short honeymoon... but havent plan yet...

yvonne

Hi Ever,
Yes, Hi/Lo and Lo is not mainly for legs and arms but all over body. They do some exercise during cooldown lik crunches for abs and leg lift for butt/thigh...etc so is an overall toning.
Oh i thk i've to negotiate with my mum on the tables and PIN JIN. If PIN JIN more then table lesser (vice versa), is fair rite? If not, very siong for HIM or both of us!

Hi Jan,
Ur lucky to stay near MRT line, so ur dos who benefit whereas we taking bus to work one 'ZAO YAN' cos SBS changed some of the route and prolong the interval of each bus! Every morning hv to be sure at the bus stop at this particular time, if not, got to wait 15-20min for another bus to come! Errrhh..... SO UNFAIR rite! I thk if u read newspaper, alot of ppl are complaining!

mee mee

I face the same problem for the rings too! Now having headache looking around for the 'right' wedding band.

trixie

Hi jamci,
From feedback given on the M Hotel thread, seems like fish is not fresh. So may be wiser to avoid having it steamed. Some said deep-fried is better and quite nice but depends on individual lor. Some ppl might feel that deep-fried fish not 'presentable' enuff for wedding banquet.

Another thing is the sharksfin is too watery and the tiger prawns are not really that big. But overall seems the prawns are good. I've compiled a list of recommendations from prev M-brides. Will let you know later cos the list is at home

Hi Evon,
How much do you intend to loan for the reno? Was checking for fren...now interest about 7.5%

For us, it did lor. Cos my hubby only started work about 2 yrs and he was not very good at saving, esp since just gained financial independence. I myself was quite spendthrift also. So the savings wiped out by the furnishings we bot.

dun scare me leh..excl. is it possible to lose 5k on friends/colleagues? I think for me, won't lose so much from the other tables lor, i hope! My bridal is 6k, so will have about 9k to cover the rest of the banquet related expenditure. You think not enuff ah?

Our place is at blk 652C st. 61

evon

Trixie: So much meh??? We will take the max I guess but the NTUCthrif is only 4.50%p.a. flat rate my fh already said very high...

ocean

Smurfy, yap, also heard from some of the gals that it is possible for complimentary parking to be provided even though it is ERP system.

But the restaurant told me if I really want it, then I will have to pay for it!!
I was so disappointed when I hear this!! So now checking around for advise!!

Hmm... for wedding bands, actually I dun need so many lah... only the one I had for ROM. Maybe because I dun like to wear rings loh... Last time my hubby bought a pair of rings on my birthday, sort of like engagement ring lah... at the end i also din wear... kekkee...
Oops, i forgot to wear my ROM ring too....

So nice, u gals are like more or less quite prepared for your wedding, unlike me..... Sigh... Really busy at work and yet not being appreciated! Very stressful esecpially since last year end and till now, it seemed to be worse!!

ever

Karyinn, did you buy yr ROM dress or what?? i'm getting mine OTR from my bridal shop... if i cant find any nice ones, I may tailor make... me planning to go on a short trip after ROM, but maybe no honeymoon after traditional ceremony next yr... no $$$!!!!

Yvonne, is LO like aerobics?? cos i wanna do very siong exercise to lose weight... now, kickboxing shld be the most siong... me went step lesson before, but mostly on legs...

ya, think can lah... yr mum will understand... i also told my mum that times are different... wedding expenses are usually borne by both parties and not the guy... so, cannot demand too much from her daughter!! hahahaha.... or you ask her for more dowry loh!! hahahaha....

karyinn

Hi Ever,

My Bridal shop provide my ROM dress, make up and hairdo.
I not going for any short trip after the ROM. Because I want to save the money for Taiwan photo shooting next year March ;) looking forward to it.
My gown also OTR ..

yvonne

Hi Ever,
If u wan siong exercise, try HI/LO cos got hops and jump sure very good! KB I've yet to try but will go for it next time...hee! Btw, the band for NB rite (I heard is out of stock) where can i get besides AMORE? Do those sport shops selling?

ever

Hi Karyinn! Wah, you going Taiwan for PS!!!! Cool!! *envy**envy* think will be very fun and different!! PS in Spore like very boring hor... always Sentosa, Esplanade, beach... *sigh* but why Taiwan?? thought people usually go Australia or Paris?? oh, which bridal shop are you with??

Hi Yvonne! ok, will try HI/LO when free... me prefer pilates on weekdays cos dont sweat alot!! heeheehee... lazy hor... then i can go home and shower... no need to shower there... me never attend NB before, so not sure what kind of bands you need...
think sports shop shld hav, rite??

ever

hahahaha.... yvonne, you ask the same qn as me!! Karyinn, hope you dont mind... we juz being curious and kaypoh!! heeheehee...

yvonne

Hi Trixie,

I'm not so sure. Cos my estimation is based on the followings:

Bridal package: $5K
Actual day photography + video : $1.5K
Pin Jin: $6,888K - $8,888K
Guo Da Li: $1K
Ang Baos: $1.5K
Bed and Mattress:$2.5K
Banquet loss(excluding table given to gal side):$5K
Total:$25,388K

The banquet loss I estimated to the maximum, cos you will never know what will happen. Is good to set it higher.

yvonne

Hi Ever &amp; Karyinn,
I dun thk im goin anywhere after ROM cos just came back from Melbourne/Sydney in May. So save up for "REAL" honeymoon then...hee! I've got few places to consider for honeymooning: Mauritius, Maldives, Europe or NZealand. Hee...abit greedy hoh but dun noe got the money to go in the end anot?