(2004) Brides of year 2004

ivory

wendylee

hahaha.. fat hope! im working full day tomorrow lah

ever

Hi gals!!

sent the email liao.... only a few pics, scared Jul 04's email account explode!!! hahahaha

maybe next time we can scan the pics that we like from magazines and email one another.... no need to describe until so "cham"....

silver

Hello gals!

Gd news! I found Miss Universe website from 2004 wedding thread.

http://www.missuniverse.com/index2.html

On the right, there is a drop down bar asking you to "Choose a Delegate". Choose one, and the next screen will prompt you ith "Interview", "Photos", and "Video". Click on "Photo", then "Evening Gown" I think Jul 04 will be the most happy

Ever,
Ok will check my email later. Thx ya!

Sagi,
Huh? Then how? Must be very malu?

Jul 04,
Yalor but I scare when I describe to YC they cannot come up to my expection

Jan,
So quiet tonite?

poox

hello all!!

a little update...i've confirmed my dinner at fullerton and actual day photographer would be choon huat from fastsoup.

so happy i finally settled a few more things

juz told my fiance he can now rest for a couple of months before we start hunting for the perfect ring

jan

hello ladies!!

Wanted to post last night, but encountered same prob as silver using starhub broadband! so now using dial up...

Thanks ever, got ur email! Think the Ted wu's one not bad, i like the soft and flowy kinds...
Btw, when are u going bintan?

silver, i went to the miss universe website to see already... havent seen a EG that i like tho.. btw, this year's contestants not very good eh!

Think for the weekend, only 3 of us will be posting!!

silver

Gd morning ladies...

Jan,
The feeling is no gd rite esp when you want to post but cannot
Btw I ve forwarded you a email from chin leng to me re the starhub problem. You might want to reply to her?

Ya I also dun see any EG I like

ever

Hi Hi!!

oh, Jan... you like those flowy kind... then those pics that i hav may not be to yr liking... cos i like duchess satin, so most pics are what i like!! heeheeehehehee...
oh, maybe i send you a flamingo one....

oh, no interesting evening gowns?? me go and take a look later.... actually, theknot website that silver?? introduce us was very good!! lots of nice pics!! maybe can use the designs for evening gowns?!?!

jan

hi hi!!

Ya loh silver.. troublesome, got to connect dial up to post!!

Ya ya, ever, if u can, pls send me some flamingo ones!! thanks!!!

seagal

Hello every1, I'm back.

Dear binbin, wendylee & Ivory,
So sorry! I missed your warm welcomes posted earlier.

Me sotong first time join forum so couldn't find the archive postings from 30 May to 3 June as I thought they are shown in chrono order. Luckily Forest enlightened me. Thanks a million again Forest!

I love your cute welcome emoticons! Where do you get them ?

binbin was asking when my big day is...
Well, it's been 19 months since my big day. =)
Reading this forum really reminded me of those exciting times I've gone through preparing for my wedding.

If you are in the process of preparing for your weddings, do remember to enjoy yourselves!

There are bound to be times when you will feel very stressed but take it in your stride (where can you find a perfect wedding right ?). Remember to have lots of fun as you go along and you will be left with wonderful memories of it! =D

Wow, talking about Ms Universe. I went to the website too. Can't help but agree with all of you on the national costume! The evening gown is not impressive also .... too common-looking and the colour doesn't make her stand out. I love Ms Universe's EG, it's simple but she looked really GREAT in it!

silver

Hello!!

I just back from IMM... Aiyo super crowded!

Ever,
I like duchess satin too! Hey send me more pics. Btw where you got all the pics ya?

Ya theknot websites ve lots of pics. I ve yet to finish viewing all of them. See until I also blur hehehe

Jan,
Lucky you still ve dial up otherwise can see cannot post worst

keann

Hi poox,
So nice...you are holding your wedding in FULLERTON!! ENVY ENVY!! i saw the prices there too...but i thought it was a bit off our budet...sob sob!! heheheee.....

About my photo taking...got quite a good deal. Went hunting for many photographers here....finally got one....not too bad...he did 2 singaporean couples before..
The package includes is abt $1400-1500:
250 -300 proofs (abt 4R size)
all negatives
1 blowup
all proofs in CD
Full day photography (any location i choose)
Make-up and hair do is abt $120 here...not that bad!

i didn't ask for an album cos i wanted to make my own album....didn't want to spend too much on these extras....
How much did you pay for the actual day photographer? I am looking for a make-up artist, photographer for my wedding day as well...so can share share your prices???

Also...did u all heard about the ticket price slash by SIA......it's so cheap to go back now...BUT sigh...i got my air ticket like a mth ago.......

Anyways...hope to hear from you all soon!!

jan

OH good!! Can post!!

Helloooo my dear ladies!!

Yup, i tried the knot website, correct, see until blur!!!

Went to orchard today.. very crowded too!! Sighs.. couldn't control, bot a pair of shoes!! OK, no more buying for this mth!!! hahahaaa...

ok, back to gowns, i think i still prefer organza, now dilemma, dunno which neckline, maybe spaghetti for WG and halter for EG...

jul_04

I shopped for 3 hrs today, but only managed to buy 1 blouse. So pathetic!
I tot GSS, so shd be able to buy at least 5 outfits that I can wear from Mon - Fri. But alas *sigh*

ever,
Thanks for the pics. Will check my email later. Hope it hasn't crashed *heehee*

silver,
Thanks for the link! Now I can admire the EGs to my heart's content

You know, the disadvantage of MTM is u dunno how it'll turn out. Either u & ur designer cannot communicate the design properly, or the workmanship is not up to std. So dilemmatic! Think I shall try to find something OTR first, worse come to worse then MTM.

Jan,
So u like soft, flowing gowns huh? Well, u can gear ur bridal search in that direction then. Me? I keep getting torn between the bustier ballgown w/ long train, or something totally different, like slim gown, with different design etc. How? *sigh*

poox

hi keanne

yup...i'm really happy i can hold my wedding at Fullerton...my fiance and i simply love the place. since this is once in our life time event, we decided to go for what we like of course with some calculation

yup your photo taking sounds like a good deal.

i'm also making my own album but can't seem to find nice albums with acid free paper...think these albums are quite ex....but australia has some really nice ones. if u have any lobangs there can help me buy???
check out this link, i'm looking for these types of albums hopefully at lower prices?

http://www.lifeeditions.com/

jul_04

I finally got to see the EGs on the Ms Universe website. The gowns on the website are different from those in the actual competition. Those in the competition are much nicer! Those on the website look very common & not very classy. Dunno what's the problem here. So how to I get my hands on the actual EGs worn by the finalist? *sigh*

silver

Hihi...

Jan,
Can post liao? Oh great!

Since you already know wat you like, you can seach according to that area. Btw, ve you tried any gowns so far? It's advise to do so cos sometimes what we like may not look the same when we tried on it. Just my thought hope you dun feel offended ya.

Jan & Jul 04,
Hey at least you gals bought something. Last wk I went shopping and only bought some stuff fm bodyshop....

Jul 04,
Hey for EG, I am planning to look at the OTR first too cos I really dun ve much idea of the design. Also, if we can find something we like from OTR, we can change it for other things eg, more photos....

Oh the EG for Ms Universe website is diff fm actual? No wonder me n Jan can't find anything nice....

keann

Hi poox,
The paper here is HORRRGIGGGGGBBBLLLEEE.....i am serious....actually australia stuff is expensive n not nice..my personal view lah! The albums here are very old fashioned and not that nice...i was wondering if i can find some nice ones back at home...can't wait to go home and do some marketing!!!!!

But checking out the link now....

Laters...

jan

hello gals!!

A hot Sunday!!

Wow, Jul, tot u'll be too busy to post this weekend!! hahhahaa... Yup yup, for me i think it's hard to find clothes that i like, but i can easily find shoes!!! Bad bad, better stop shopping for this mth!! haha..

Yup, silver & Jul, think have to try some gowns first... somemore, the designer may not really sew wat we have seen on magazines, or if not then may not suit us... sighs... so troublesome!
Ya like the organza material but i saw some satin material ones also not bad leh... really too many that i like!!!
I like the satin ones coz they usually have train but organza ones seldom have leh...
silver, TheKnot website really make me blur!! hahahhaaaa...

Jul, maybe u can try out some slim cut gowns to see how it looks on u or not first... easier to decide huh...

silver

Gd afternoon ladies....

Very quiet sun here ya. I just back fm appt at Rivervale Mall and guess wat (cos this is the first time I drove to SengKang so I asked my gf from there how to go back to town. Who knows her direction sala and I end up going pasir
Lucky still find my way back hehehe

Jan,
I am also abit like you - like abit of both (organza n satin) but so far seems to look better wif most satin dan organza. But again when I tried YC gowns, one of their organza quite nice too

I ve the same concern too of whether can the design deliver to our standard that's why I am looking for mag to show her. I very scare my describtion is not gd enough and turns up to be diff from what I want....

jan

hello silver!

Yeah, weekends generally quite quiet... sighs, back to work tom!

oops... wrong direction back from sengkang! Yup, last time when we're still new to SK, my and my hubby also got lost, drove in rounds!! hahaha...

so far, i saw 4 designs from TheKnot which i like... all so diff, wondering which kind to take! Maybe gotta ask designer for some opinion by then! But i think sometimes can't really trust designers, coz some just do wat they like and not wat we like!

silver

Hi Jan,

Haha so I am not the only one. Just checked with my bf, I should ve go by TPE (SLE) instead of TPE (PIE)

I also saved 4 diff designs fm The Knot! Thinking of copying one of them as EG. Will email you gals the pic later. Jan, email us the designs lah!

poox

hihi keanne

really surprise to hear that....mm......so far only found a shop in citylink that sells pretty nice albums but still ex...and simple....

jan

Ok silver, i'll sent the pics to u gals! But think i'll send u gals slowly lah, if not jam up u gals' emails!! hahah...

jul_04

Hi silver & Jan,

I tot u gals weren't supposed to post coz the rest of us will get lost on Mon? *hehe*

I only bought 1 blouse this weekend. So disastrous! I'm very, very disappointed this weekend. Ended up not going to Expo coz too busy delivering red eggs. Then the shopping expedition also not successful. *boo hoo*

Jan -

Slim cut gown, no figure to wear leh. Hips too big, how? Diet also no use, coz the body shape is fixed

Yeah, designers can't be trusted. They'll either not be experienced enough to know what looks gd on us, or they'll recommend the gowns which are the cheapest to make! \clipart(angry}

silver -

It'll be great if we can find OTR gowns right? Then we can save money. I dun need to top up money to switch to MTM, & u can exchange for more photos. So good right?

The Ms Universe website's EGs are really wrong. During the show, I saw many sexy gowns, like high slit w/ long train, or low back. The trend seems to be towards slim cut gowns with slits & train. And the hairstyle was very simple. Mostly loose with curls / ironed straight.

keann

Hi poox,
That is my personal view...cos the designs here are very average only....i hope to find good ones in singapore .....if i see any good ones..will update u!

silver

Hihi...

Jul 04,
We been limiting our postings liao

Ya dan can save $$ for photos or top up lesser for MTM men suit which can keep (more worth it).

Oh dun worry, no mails bound back fm ur a/c so not burst yet

ever

Morning gals!!!

Jul 04, thought you too busy to post during weekend?? but still see a few of yr msgs!! hahahaha.... me busy this weekend, so didnt log on... luckily, not too many msgs!!

Wah, at least you gals managed to buy shoes and top.... sometimes, it's not easy to find stuff during sale!! me trying out a bikini for sometime.... went to buy yday, but only got the top.... bottom sold out.... was thinking of getting a nice tan.... in preparation of my ROM!! hahahaha

oh, by the way, went down to Fairy's Inc.... they actually do customised wedding bands and proposal rings... one of the owner who attended to us showed us some designs that they have. Recently, Rose Gold is very popular, cos it can't be found in shops easily. She mentioned that they didnt wanted to take pics of designs that they do cos they dont want other couples to duplicate what their previous customers design for themselves. Cool, rite?!?! She encouraged us to shop around first and see if there's any unique designs that we like.... but we're not supposed to ask them to replicate exactly!!! She also tell us that its ok to buy from other shops if the design we like is simple and can be purchased from normal shops... *sigh*... think i need to shop around first and decide if we wanna customize.... now, our minds in a blank.... dont even have a design in mind!!

Oh, i better go check my email before it "explode"!! Thanks for the emails, gals!! will see the kind of gowns you gals like!!

pebbles

HIHI GIRLS!!!!
It's Monday again...
MOnday blues!!!
Poox,
congrats!!!so i guess u really can take a break for a while..
so u r left with videographery rite, how about yr bridal, u sign up with any???I love fullerton's ballroom but hmmm...way off my budget ah...better not be too gulity and ask for too much...else will burn a very big hole..I have seen Fast soup work too but think he's quite ex too hor...but like what u say, once in a lifetime..just have to work really hard and save up for what we want..ehehe..

Keann,
yup me studied in perth..
i was from Curtin..
so how's life in Melb..???i think u r getting quite a good deal for your PS ah, i did some research for Perth last year during my holidays , i will also be going back perth for my PS this year...so have to try and save up for other expenses...ahahha..

so when will u be coming back..??? will u have enough time to look around the hotels..
the pple here are really KS ah, if u book too late, might not be able to get the dates u r after...maybe u can look at the hotel's ballroom from the internet first, so u will at least have a rough idea which hotel is the nicer ones

jan

Morning!

Jul, we managed to burst ur hotmail ah... pai sei..we've already tried our best not to email too much!! hehehe...

jan

hello ever!!

haha.. so it's u that's busy huh!

Cool, get a nice tan!! I always wanted to get tan but can't, coz i'll only get red and sunburnt but not tan!! Boo!! Too bad for me!

Oh, so how Fairy's inc charge for customised rings?

jul_04

Morning gals!

Couldn't get up this morning. Mon blues attack again *hehe*

silver -

Thanks for trying so hard not to post too many msgs

My email acct is busted. Can't send anymore, unless I delete some emails. They threatened to close my acct if I dun clear it w/in 5 days. So fierce hor? *sulk*

ever -

Can't help logging in. Very worried that there'll be many, many postings to read today.

Wah! Someone wears bikini! I dun have the guts to wear lor

What's rose gold? And roughly how much does Fairy's Inc charge?

Jan -

You're very tempted to customise your rings is it? But u already got ur wedding band right?

Well, at least u get red. If I suntan, I'll be copper for a few days, then it'll turn black, like chao ta pork. So xian...

ever

hi hi!!

ai ya, me also scared to wear bikini, but need a nice tan, so no choice... heeheehee....

the charges depends on the type of gold you want and the complexity of the designs... for example, if Rose Gold is used, an add'l 10% charge is required on top of the original price... their prices can range from $400 to ..... for eg, there's one set of Rose Gold bands where the gal's one is very thin with tiny diamonds at the side (ie, cant see diamonds from the top) and the guy's one is normal sized with lesser tiny diamonds, cost about $1200 - $1400 (cant remember the exact price)..... ok, Rose Gold is actually pinkish in colour... quite unique, but my bf dislike it!!! he prefers it in two colours, eg. white gold & yellow gold... but we saw a pair of Rose Gold ones with plated white gold... he thinks its quite nice... cos can see two colours.... but the problem with plated ones are that the plated portion will go off after you wear it for sometime... so, the ones with the lowest maintenance are those in their natural colours... Rose Gold is naturally pinkish and "bright"... Natural White Gold is a bit "goldish" and looks matte.... so, we much prefer natural white gold...

Jul 04, you can save out all the pics that we emailed you and delete the emails loh... if not, sure cannot take it!!!

jul_04

Hi ever,

U booked all ur stuff for the ROM already?

The charges u mentioned is for 1 ring or 1 pair? If it's $1,200 for 1 ring, then it's quite unaffordable already
Besides, my fiance hates the thought of wearing diamonds.

I really hate it when I have to decide on designs. Need designs for WG, EG, wedding bands, flat, etc! I'm not a creative person, so it's doubly hard for me. *sigh*

jul_04

Yeah, must save the pics then delete the emails. Or else need to have 10 email accts to store all the pics *hehe*

jan

hi hi!!

Jul, no lah, just wanted to know the prices out of curiousity!! hehehe...

ever, now i'm confused!! white gold is a little goldish? Tot white gold is silver? Or is there a diff between white gold and natural white gold?

jul_04

Hi Jan,

I was told my some salesperson at Lee Hwa that white gold is an alloy og gold (which is naturally yellow) with something else that makes it white. But because the base metal is gold, then after much wear & tear, the colour of the ring will turn a bit yellowish. But of course, since she's selling platinum rings, must take w/ a pinch of salt.

Another salesperson from Tianpo told me that maintenance for white gold is cheaper than pt. That is, when u wanna replate the ring to cover scratches, dents etc in future, it costs much more to plate pt. But then, she's selling white gold.

I think both have a point lor

ever

Hi Hi!!

me havent book anything for ROM yet.... most of the stuff can only be booked 3 mths in advance... oh, the price is for one set..... for that set, the gal's one is $700/$800+ but the guy's one only $400/$500+... actually, if you dont want diamonds, it'll be cheaper.... unless you want super complicated engraving!!!
hahaha, me also not creative, so maybe get the bands OTR... difficult to think of nice designs!! but the "sian" thing is that lots of people will wear the same wedding bands!!!

ya, Jul 04 is rite... white gold is about 75% yellow gold..... the really "white" white gold that they sell outside are plated... so, may need to re-plate them in future.... if I get those natural white gold, then there'll be no plating.... so, it's a bit goldish in colour!!!

jan

Thanks Jul!
Really no nothing abt jewellery!! hahaha...
Last time we bought ours for quite cheap less than 1k from Goldheart, mine is with 3 small pieces of princess cut "diamonds" but i wont call it diamond lah, too small, it's more like a stone!... my hubby says dun need to spend so much lah, so that in future he can get a big diamond ring for me... hmm..ok, shall wait to see whether got or not!!
haha..

jan

hello!!

ever, then it's considered quite reasonable!! Jul, u may wanna consider too!
Yup, correct, OTR can be very common, like mine, i saw one girl in my office, she got a bigger one but same design as mine, that means with bigger diamonds!! hahah.. a bit pai sei rite!! But actually we still haven't wear our rings, waiting till customary then we start wearing! hehehe..

jul_04

Hi ever,

Can only bk 3 mths in advance? So strange. I tot only ROM has that limit? Would think that the hotels/ restaurants / bridals/ salons wanna get ur business asap.

Hmm... if it's abt $1,200 for a set, then can consider already. Coz fiance did say spent not more than abt $1,200 on our wedding bands. But then if the hse reno turns out expensive, or we forgot some wedding costs, then maybe gotta cut budget. I shall ask him this weekend. *hehe*

Yup yup, my enagement ring is white white gold, that means plated. But nvm lah, if I dun like it next time, next time then I set the diamond in yellow gold lor. *haha*

Hi Jan,

Princess cut diamond really quite 'in' now right? Even the criss cut from Goldheart is using squarish diamonds.

I think maybe won't get diamonds for wedding bands. Since fiance hates wearing diamonds, & I wanna have a similar pair of rings, so shall forego the sparkle stones. Also, as u say, have the danger of pple w/ similar rings but bigger diamonds. *hehe*

ever

actually, their prices quite reasonable cos all customised to yr designs.... so, must be prepared to pay more than $1.2k, i think....

Jan, thought should wear the wedding bands after ROM?? you two cant bear to scratch/spoil the rings, rite?!?!?

Think need to go shop around more often for designs.... but my bf quite busy leh... think can only start in Jul.... oh, by the way, the person keep emphasizing that sufficient time should be given to them so that they can produce our ideal wedding bands with the best workmanship!!! they need about 1-2 months.... if earlier, even better.....

jan

haha Jul, guess most guys finds it weird to wear diamonds!! my hubby's one is plain one, so his is much cheaper!

onee

Good morning Ladies,

Bow Wow : Harlo
... I've not confirm hotel and bridal pkgs. Plan to finalise by end July 2003. So which bridal pkg are you with?

Elis : Hehe, true hor... Happy shopping for hotel, can be tiring though. Looking forward to your best deal. BTW., which bridal package did u sign up with har? I'm on budget, no spare for slimming liao, gotta go on diet and exercies loh... Aiyah, me too snacking away... Bag a bottle of Poppa Dum and Ruffles chips last weekend, sinful boy... For whatever decision, go with your preference, afterall it's you and your FH's big day. I personally feel that there's this option to post question in this forum, read with an open mind to pick for details like service. Other details should be in accordance to your preferences, okie. Let's chat and have fun while preparing for our big day

Happy : Good luck to your negotiations, Sheraton is nice. I like Bridal Veil too but I'm on budget so I am searching for alternatives. I was advise by BV that 9 mths in adv is good enough. you are definitely in time
... Good leh, u slim down automatically. But watch your weight nearer your wedding okie, not too skinny oso lah

Girlfriend : Harlo... I agree, Amara seems a better choice too (personal opinion). Where r u holding your banquet? How's bridal pkg search coming along?

Mimosa : Harlow Harlow
... So we'll be married on the same day!!! Wah, you are all done liao ah. At least all bookings have been made. So now can relax a little and activate say 4 mths prior wedding loh, hor? 10K??? Dun think I can afford this luxurious budget for slimming. I go gym and watch diet loh...

Sneaky : Harlow... Wah most decisions made. Must been anticipating the day liao. I envy those who's made bridal and hotel decisions. BTW which hotel and bridal pkg har? I love details than decision making and I am at the stage I dread most, decision making !!!

Kiki : Take it slightly easy when slimming okie. For most of us in this thread, we will have 365days to go. Take it as a commitment and not hurry for result as hastyness will drain our adrenalin. I'm a good example. I'm already a little tired of going gym 3 times a week liao. Try treadmill if u can, if not take the stairs if you can but not at night alone. Watching spicy, fried and sweet foodstuff does helps. And try to take small multiple portion of food okie.

Probably ard 4mths prior big day, cut down on carbohydrates foodstuff like rice, noodles. But it doesn't mean you cannot take the no-no food leh. You can still go for chicken wings perhaps once or twice a week loh. These are my recommendations lah. Please adopt them at your discretion hor. Most importantly, let's all stay as healthy, glowing brides.

All Ladies : Please pardon me har... I'm starting bridal search and have a few in mind. As we are in the decision making stage, i need solicited feedback on services, dun mind hor... Hence, will ask you where you've book and your advices okie...

jan

ever, both of us not used to wearing rings, so we tot can delay wearing it will be better!!

Oh, yup, then u shld shop for designs soon, or search for ideas on the net if both of u dun have time to go down to shop for it...

jul_04

Hi ever,

Pay more than 1.2k? I hope not! Maybe if we dun use any diamonds, it'll be cheaper. *hehe*

I have more than 1 - 2 mths to spare! In fact I have 1 yrs time for them to produce the best workmanship. *haha* But still have the problem of coming up w/ a design...

Hi Jan,

Yeah, many guys dun like diamonds. No matter what I say, my fiance refuses to have a diamond. So no choice lor...

I saw a few of the photos u sent. Now I know what kind of gowns u like already. Actually, I also like the soft flowy gowns. Dun really like the duchess sation type, must have a layer of organza over it to soften the look.