(2004) Brides of year 2004

ever

Ya, Jan... think you shortlist the correct bridal shops... Silverlining & Flamingo sort of specialise in organza....

Jul 04, me only need to book GL; function room and buffet... so, can only do it 3 mths in advance... for GL, my bf hav pestered his dad about it!!
my dress and make-up will be from J&M.... so, need to go and choose in Aug or Sept.... *sigh* so, everything must wait until 3 mths in advance!! hahaha... except wedding bands!!! hahaha.... after listening to the person's advice, my bf agree we shld shop around for designs!!

binbin

hi cin, no problem. thanks for the comments on the CS u wrote...hehhehe....can imagine but guess will be better if i go see myself hor?

seagal, oooooh......so u are a happily married gal yar?
19 mths ago...how's married life? any tips to share?

hehhehe angelBB, ur reaction beri cute....
yah have to admit the national costume a bit DUH. initially looks nice lah, flowy and feminine, but comparing to the rest, quite bad loh...
sigh....

elis

hi all! i went to oriental over the weekend. viewed a wedding set up and following is my comment :

1) aisle can be long or short and i particularly like the long aisle- wow, can walk and walk and show off your beautiful gown! but if you are to take the long walk, its better to have a bigger stage else it will be so difficult for those tables behind to see you. the stage size i saw was small. however, oriental says they can increase the size.

2)ballroom do look abit old. but still okie lah

3)floral arrangements for that nite was not up to my expectations. I thought its way to little....maybe thats what the couple wanted. oriental says they can do according to my request too!

4) coordinator/sales person dun have the personal touch. for me, a sales person dun only sell your product! you gotta sell yourself! sales person keep asking me what questions I have...but come on! this is my 1st time getting married, how would I know what i should ask...she should at times give some pointers or what mah..else, she should at least prompt me to ask some questions eg : wat kinda floral arrangements you have in mind?? or do you prefer low tier or high tier cakes etc etc.... i got all these questions from my friends instead! gosh....

ivory

hi hi wendylee..

guess wat time i knock off on Sat? 6+... hai...

gals...

my company wan us to clear at least 3 days of annual leave in June!!! how?

jan

hello!!

Jul, yup yup, now u get wat i meant rite.. so difficult to describe sometimes.. so i presume u gals have cleared ur emails eh? i'll send 2 more later ya!

ever, that's rite, saw flamingo gowns on mags, kinda like them esp one, like the girlish princess look (hehehe..a wannabe princess!!!
)but havent scan the pic yet... hehehe..
oh good for u, ur bf has bugged his father!! hahaha..

happy

Hello Everyone!!

I'm finally done with my negotiation with Sheraton. They will draft out the contract and probably sign with them in a couple of weeks time! Phew!!!! 1 down.....hope to get this over soon....

Mimosa: you will be having your banquet at Sheraton too? 20th June eh? mine's on the 19th June..
so, you have finalised your bridal as well? that is real fast! envy u leh...everything more or less settled...I still got my bridal not settled yet but hv decided on BV.

Onee: ya, i oso dun wanna be too skinny but wat to do...no matter how much I eat still like same size...sigh....will continue to try to eat more...

jan

Oops! i just sent the email and guess wat? It's not Jul's email that has exceeded the limit! Instead it's silver's email!! Sorry!! hahahaaa...

sagi

wah say.......gals......u all win liao lah!!!!!
post soooooooo many msgs over the wkend......even go into archive liao.....
23733.gif

i havent read thru everything yet....later wld scroll back and read slowly.....

check my mail and read this thread at the same time.....very blur now....
23734.gif

no choice....cos i think my hotmail going to flood soon.....

thanks for all the nice pics.....

jan, think u prefer feathery feathery type hor? then u wld like tan yoong?? cos i saw in mag all the feathery stuff....

ehh......gals.. what is diff between duchess satin, organza....and got what else?? i totally blur...

jan

hello sagi!!

haha... tot u give up on us, too many to read!!

Yup, saw tan yoong pics on mag, quite nice but.... out of budget! Not intending to spend more than 3.7k actually...

Duchess satin is the smooth smooth material, organza is the translucent, softer material... think my description is bad!! Maybe the others can advise!! hahaha..

poox

hello pebbles
me decide not to have professional videography done...just getting some friends to do it

Fastsoup is actually quite reasonable....esp if u're looking at journalistic style...and choon huat the photographer is a very nice guy...if u want to see his package let me know.
no time no hear from u....

forest

hello gals,

this thread is getting so unfamiliar!! so quiet these days!!!

cin_p, binbin, soupie,
did any of u gals managed to find the 1st contestants gown? rem some1 mentioned tt the 1st contestant wore a really nice white gown or something.. me very interested to look at it leh..

seagal,
no problem! u'll get the hang of the workings of the forum in no time! we were all newbies once!
n wow!! u got married 19mths ago!! so, how's married life huh? think alot of us in this thread wld appreciate all ur advise on maintaining a gd n healthy marriage life rite?!

ivory,
so busy at work har??? how come?? wat r u working as huh?? think its really tough not to hve enuff rest on wkends... i'm already complaining of not resting enuff with 2 wkends!! how i wish we hve a 4-day work week instead!!

sagi

hi jan

finally skim thru all the postings.....hahaha...

oh i see.....think i can roughly imagine it....ur description not bad lah..... hmm...think i wld like organza then......kekeke..

actually, i like divine couture gowns..... but very ex too.... shall see how....

very sleepy today.....zzzzzz...
yawn.gif

jul_04

Just back from lunch. The sleepiness is starting to kick in already. Zzzz...

Ever,
Oh, so not too bad. Not that many things to do for ROM so u wun be so stressed

Jan,
No! Dun send yet! I haven't saved the pics of the gowns u gals sent me, so my email is still jammed!

Your 3.7k includes photography or not?

Hi sagi,
Was wondering when u would show up *hehe* Tan yoong very, very expensive leh.

jan

sorry Jul!!! I've sent already... but i didnt get ur mail bounce back...

Yup yup, 3.7k including indoor/outdoor photoshoot, but excluding the actual day photos..

ino

Hi soupie,

A tulle is a material with very fine netting effect. It gives a very fairytale feeling to your wedding gown if u use it in large quantities, esp in those big ballgowns. My designer said i cannot take a lot of tulle as it will make me look fat! It's only for tall and very slim gals.
;-)

Another disadv is that because of the netting , it gets easily entangled with objects e.g. your own ring, etc...this will spoil the tulle.

Hi cin_p,
did u go arab st to have a look?

Hi sagi,
Ya lor, take your cheongsam to Ted collection and see what they can do. If it's just adding crystals, i think u can get other seamstress to do it or even DIY to save $$$.

For me, i'm using beads and crystals to DIY my own Guestbook and photobook...also to save $$$ and to make it more unique.

;-)

jul_04

Hi Jan,

I got a quote from Hilarion Goh. Way out of budget man! Think it's something like $1,200. Then must include $250 for 2nd day of wedding. Can strike off my list already...

HEhe... Did u consider that u might be tempted to top up for more photos? Better reduce ur initial budget so as to allow room for expansion later on

jan

Yup Jul,
I did think of the photos part... but right now i am quite firm that i dont want to top up to get extra photos! haha dunno by then will get tempted or not lah, but my hubby sure dun want to spend more also..
Anyway, was thinking no point having more photos, as the album will most probably end up in the shelf collecting dust 2 months later!!
so i must keep thinking it this way!! haha..

cyn

binbin, it's always better to see with ur own eyes..

ino, i did went down. only spend 15 mins there. rushing off for facial. saw one at royal textile - french silk chiffon. it'll probably look nice as EG, but not CS. *sigh.. i'm stil having headache for my EG leh... duno how?

hey, you not bad huh... DIY ur beads & crystals...

forest, i'm sorry... cant remember who's the 1st contestant... i'm getting old, brain not working =)

ever

Hi Sagi, i liked Divine also!!! when i attend Style weddings bridal show, their gowns very nice!!!

ya, Jan... shld lower yr budget for some expansion later.... cos i think they usually give 20 pcs and the album looks very thin.... so, most people take about 30pcs loh... although now you very determined, but when you see yrself so pretty and yr hubby so handsome in the sample shots, you'll change yr mind!!! hahahaha... then they'll tell you its a waste not to develop more when you two already spend 1 whole day doing the photoshoot.... i think its real difficult to choose 20 from 100 over shots!!!

binbin

hi forest, what do u mean by 1st contestant huh? did u mean the champion? actuali, i also find it funnie. saw in the straits times that the champion wore a white strapped lovely EG, but in the site i directed you to above, it din show her in that. she was wearing something else instead. me also looking for that EG leh, can't find... hehehhee... :eek:

cin, which facial did u go to huh? is it ur regular? me right face got much blemishes after my ROM. went for many places liao, seems to be very slow recovering leh....beri sad leh. last time my right cheek not like that one...

sagi

hmm..... quite quiet hor......this thread....
23753.gif

forest,
hahaha.....rite on.....just what i wish for too... 4 day work week.....cos the wkend is nvr enough...

ino,
wah.....u can make ur own guest book and photo book ahh?? how u do it?? u buy those guest book already then add details to make it more unique...or u do it from scratch?? if from scratch, how u do har??
buy lots of paper then wld need to bind it nicely rite?? sorry ahh, i quite blur....
23754.gif

jul_04

Hi Jan,

Ever's right. U'll surely be tempted when u see so many beautiful pics of u & ur hubby. Very hard to say no, esp when u have to reject 80 photos out of 100 ok!

Ever,

So are u interested in 1.2k actual day photography? If u r, can try Hilarion Goh. But really too ex for me lor.

sagi

hi ever

hi five! hehe.....the other day walked past it cos went the tour agency to ask abt the bintan pkg....then saw the gowns they displayed on the mannequin.....wah.....very nice!!
definitely wld drop by there when i go boutique hunting with my fren..... *excited* cant wait....think wld go see others like jazreel low, le galleria and allure.... now allure is only selling gowns rite.... i was thinking if can find nice one there, can just buy it lor..

jan,
ya lor....like what ever said.....pp normally wld top up photos one.....depends on how much u can resist temtptations.....hehehe...

i got a fren.....she top up almost $5k cos her initial pkg is $3k ++ then final bill come to $8k ++... she said her hubby lor...cos pp looking at those photos commented he looked like andy lau, leon lai, blah blah....wah diff angles look like diff stars....hahaha.... no wonder top up till siao....

think better to negotiate for more pics in the first place..... better still, to take back the negatives... then next time can develop on ur own lor....but i think most bridal shops want u to pay before they give u back the negatives hor....

ever

$1.2k??? no lah, too exp!!! me didnt really set aside much budget for actual day PS leh.... *sigh* need to squeeze some funds out for the actual day PS liao...

silver

Gd afternoon ladies...

Wow one morning only so many postings! Me read until blur leh.

Ever,
So the customise wedding bands is btw 1.2k-1.4k? Err is this consider reasonable or x huh cos I ve yet to shop for wedding bands. The oni one I saw which me n my bf quite like the design was fm soo kee n cos of the sales, its $900+ per pair.

You gals now talking abt actual day or studio/outdoor photography?

antares

this thread seems a bit quiet.. how come har?

hi seagal,
welcome to our thread.

pai seh.. my welcome message came a bit late cos' recently din come to this thread quite often ...:p

hi sagi,
your cheongsam is from Ted's collection ah?
must be very nice lor

hi Ivory,
how come u knock off so late on Sat wan?...
terrible leh.. even weekend also got to work...

hi ino,
u making your own guest book and photo book?..must be another creative girl around..hee..

btw, what is photobook? U mean the album...

Sianzz.. monday blues..:pP

cyn

binbin, i went to citra sari at boat quay. the same place where i had my massage. they're using dermalogica products. quite good. remember i told you abt the anti-cellulite massage promo. it's $399 for 5 sessions including 6 sessions of arm or leg toning...

oh ya... they gave me a few $38 vouchers, if you interested, let me know... i can pass you the voucher.

wendylee

IVORY: Hey, your co. AL transferable? If yes, then you kua sa to my name lah... me needs tons and tons of sleep Zzzz
23756.gif
I can FULLY make use of YOUR AL and sleep until ROT!

jul_04

Sagi,
So u got a thing for soft, flowing gowns too. Never been to Divine, where is it?

Ever,
So u're in the same situation as me. Never budget enough for the actual day PS.

Hi silver,

Welcome back! Hehe...

Nope there are rings that are as cheap as $400 per pair. It all depends on whether it's gold/white gold/pt etc, got diamonds or not, customised or OTR, is the shop 'branded' like Lee Hwa etc.

Yeah, I'm trying to calculate how much budget to set aside for actual day photo. So far, i budgeted abt $500. So famous photographers are definitely out for me

ever

Hi sagi, Divine is out of budget for me!!! their package is about $5k+++..... not sure about Allure selling gowns only.... but quite wasted to purchase the gown leh, cos no chance to wear again and need to maintain the "whiteness" of the gown....

Ya, usually need to spend quite a bit before they give you the negatives FOC or by paying a nominal sum.... but i understand that the negatives they used are not the normal sized ones, so not all photo-developing shops can re-develop those pics...

jul_04

I didn't know Divine was so ex! It's out of my budget too

Gals, I heard that Her World is having a bridal show at Shangri-La right? any of u gals going?

keann

Hey poox, can i take a look at fastsoup packages?
my email:[email protected]

Pebbles: I have booked Amara for my wedding in May04....so i am the super KIASU one too...hehehee..book earlier this year....even the banquet manager said i was a little too early...hehehehee.....
Hope tat you have a nice PS in Perth....scenery is so much better out here...and weather nicer....when are you taking the PS?? i am either taking my PS in Sep or Nov....definately spring time!! flowers blooming and LOVE IS IN THE AIR...hehehhee...

Have a fun week !!!

Talk to u all soon!!

binbin

hi Cin, what is the facial like? it is effective? how much and how long issit huh? sure! the voucher sounds great, maybe can use it to try!
mind telling me more abt the facial? does the place specialise more in body or face?

sagi

hi antares
no leh, my cheongsam not from ted collection.... i bought it in m'sia for chinese new yr....ehh... cant really remember the name....think it's chinatown or something.... ;p
the rest were suggesting that i can bring it down to ted collection, see what they can do to enhance it.... hehehe...

wendylee
i also very sleepy now.....see u yawning...i also feel like...
23757.gif

soupie

yeah... this thread is so quiet over the weekend that i can even hear the mice running around hehehehe

ino, oic! but still can't really visualise wat it's like.. hehee

forest/binbin, i think seeing the top of the ms universe gown is as good as seeing the whole gown liao kekek.. cos the rest of the gown is really simple.. not much design.. with a slit and a small train if i remember correctly

binbin, funny they had the video of ms south africa in her gown how come didn't have the ms universe one??

sagi

jul04
divine is at the mandarin hotel.....level 3...
ya ya, i like soft flowing type of gowns.....kekeke.....like so feminine and romantic...
23758.gif

ever
sooooooo ex ahh??*faints* i know it's ex but dun know it's sooooooo ex...... sigh....no hope liao.....nvr mind, wld still pop by to go try the gowns....hahahahaha..... at least can wear the gown awhile......hahahahaa...

forest

wah ino,
agree with sagi n antares! u sound like another creative gal! actually can do ur own guest book n photo book! very nice.. hve the personal touch!!

cin_p,
oh.. its alrite.. i also know its difficult to rem.. but jus wondering lor.. cos' i cant seem to find the white nice gown...

binbin,
hee hee.. me also dunno which contestant.. but i kinda recalled some1 mentioning abt a white gown tt looks fabulous... so, jus asking if any1 rem who tt contestant is....

abt ur blemishes, how abt consulting a skin specialist instead? i did see some threads with recommendation for good skin specialist... altho' i hve no experience with any.. but i feel tt seeing a skin specialist will b more effective.. cos' its like focusing on clearing the problem n stronger than cosmetics pdts... jus a thot....

cyn

binbin, it's quite a new place... they're more into balinese massage.. the lady doing the facial, lynn, is very experience. i'm doing the deep cleansing facial - $100, 75 mins, if i remember the term correctly. they've dehydrating, purifying, etc.. ard $80, 60mins. i've the price list at home, if you wan i can fax it to you tomolo. you can use the voucher for a try. they're trying to get more members, tat's why they have this voucher thingy lah.

jul_04

Sagi,

haha! U're so funny. So shiok even to wear the gown for 2 min right? Why dun we all go try gowns together? We can schedule 5 shops each weekend. Then by the time of our wedding, we'll have visited every bridal shop in Spore

ever

Jul 04, dont think me going.... me still thinking if shld buy Her World Brides... maybe bring to Bintan to read!! hahahha..... me very lazy, went to a few bridal shows before... but that was when i havent choose my venue and bridal package...

ever

Jul 04, you must be joking, rite?? 5 shops each weekend?!?!??!
then yr wedding & housing project sure cannot complete on time!!! hahahahaha.....

jul_04

Hi ever,

Oh, I've only been to bridal show at Imperium (X-zen), Sheraton (Emannuel B) & Oriental (Graceful Image). But those only feature 1 bridal per show. And I wasn't paying much attn to the gowns at that time. Too busy sourcing for banquet venue.

Was thinking maybe can go to a show w/ many bridals to see the gowns. Plus never been to Shangri-La mah

Well if u need mag to read at bintan, then might as well buy Her World brides. Maybe more useful than those gossip entertainment mags? *hee*

sagi

jul04,
5 shops each wkend??? like that our wkends sure burnt liao......hahahhahaa....

think at least one hr in each shop if u going to try on the gowns rite??
the other time my fren n i went after work....only managed to see one shop.....somemore nvr try or see any gowns....cos the person refused to let us see...only show us photo albums of couples.....n when i request to see the gowns, only showed me pics.... bah..

spent ard 20 mins in the shop.....by the time, all the other shops are closing liao.....sad ahh...

wasted trip....cos both my fren n i decided not good.....photos not the type we like.... n gowns so so only.....happened got a bride trying on the gowns....so we manage to see 2 WGs n 2 EGs... i dun have the wow feeling when i look at the gowns lor.... unlike divine's.....but hai.....it is so ex....no wonder it is so nice!

sagi

jul04

oops, forgot to add.....i also nvr buy her world brides....cos like nothing much......
the bridal show got which boutiques har??
if u got go, must update us hor.....

ever
when u going bintan?? this wkend?? enjoy urself..... ya lor, like what jul suggest, u can buy the mag to go bintan n read.....

ehh....i nvr even go a single bridal show leh.....ahahahhaa... *faints*

jan

wah wah wah... how can u all post without me posting!!!
Read till blur too!!

If need to top up photos then how?? Coz the standard package from flamingo or silverlining is already $3.5k onwards?? sighs!!

hahaha... Jul, 5 shops each weekend!!! No time lah!!