(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi all......

nitegal:
i haven't stayed at toa payoh.... and not started reno either.... still deciding, and my hubby is super busy with his studies too... got to wait till his finals are over then we decide.... hopefully can start by mid oct!!!

cherubies:
i have sort of decided on my gowns design, but i need professional advice (from the designer) to see if it looks good on me...hee hee. btw, i have signed up with Frederick Lee. thot he's pretty creative and his gowns are mostly elaborate and drama!!! - something i like!!!

for WG - more to ball gown, spaghetti, 2 colours (instead of pure white)... elaborate beaded top??!!

for EG - slim cut.... beaded throughout... halter maybe??!!! with a fanciful headpiece.... **just kidding**

how about you?

Hihi *cyn*
I dunno wat is the style n the picture quality of those quotations I got coz we merely ask for quotation to find out wat is the market price, not seriously looking into it. We thot we can easily get a photographer one or two months b4 the actual day.

Hihi Jan
Your package from X-zen is around the range of quotation I got. $300 for 4 rolls, additional 4 rolls @ $50, total = $500. We only budget for around $500 to $600. So, most likely oso make do wif uncle lor.
I thot videography means recording into VHS tape. Could anyone clarify please.
I plan to go Europe for honeymoon. Thot of finding another couple to go together. Then we could help each other to take picture n have more people to chit-chat wif
. The hotel dat I signed up wif has a lucky draw for couples signed up during their promotion. The 2nd price is a trip to Australia. I told my bf if we win dat prize, we go Australia 1st (May cooler in Australia), then go Europe during year end, around Autumn or Winter.
. Very greedy hor.

Hihi May
Poor u, must take care of yourself. Good luck.

Hi Shook: Hmmmm.... not greedy lah. i always also wish for such windfall! natural, very natural!

Europe i not familiar because i have never been there. however, my friend who just got married is currently having her honeymoon there. they took a package. think it either insight or trafulgur (something like that). europe too expensive for me. the exchange rate alone will kill me i guess that's why we drop it from our list. but do keep me updated on places you will be going. i may be able to help since friends do visit europe or the rest of the girls in this thread can help. it's always so exciting to plan for a trip.

Hi May: do take care of health. must tahan, at least until after wedding then concentrate on getting maternity leave! i sign up with X-zen already. a little disappointed because for the design i want, they wanted me to top up $300 to $400. of course cannot since i already blew my budget so in the end i guess i will have to take something else. also my fiance is leaving for overseas stint so we have to rush the gown out so that i can take the photoshoot by dec. sigh. very rush that's why when i sign up we started talking about the gown design. in the end nothing settled because i didn't want to top up. so now she is giving us more time to think about it and she also go and think of some similar designs which don't require me to top up. very sad because fiance wont' be around right until wedding day. makes me detest his boss and company and i dislike being such a bitter person.
how?

Jan, *strange* that's pretty weird that you have to top up $300 to $400 for a design that you want???? Is it MTM?

Shook, my fren's uncle did videography for abt $500 (not sure exact price). He'll provide (I think) abt 1 video tape and 2 VCDs or something like that. If you need any photographers, he could help you source for one, abt $500++ (I think). If you're interested, let me know and I can get the contact number from my fren.

May, hee... getting pregnant is a good excuse...

Gals, do you know any good printers to print the invitations? Ie. the inner piece? Do you know or have the estimated price? I'm trying to figure out how much to put aside for that. Thanks!!!

Hi Sue,

So we are both going without our 'men'

ok, will contact you again before the show.

Hi May,

Do take care. I can understand work stress as I am facing terrible stress on my side now too
Also no time to come into SB often...sigh!

Hi Jan,

Heard from my friend (who is also a customer from XZen) that you really have to be on very good terms with the people there. In the end, they will give you alot of freebies.

As for your hubby's job. Don't be too sad. My hubby is very overworked these days too. I myself is facing so much stress at work and yet hubby is too busy to 'entertain' my stress

Hi NoFuss

I'm considering Sarah Tan or David Lim Lee as my makeup artist. So far not much feedback about David but the feedback about Sarah seems good. Does she have a shop? What's her makeup style like? I'm thinking of something radiant and natural for the day and glamourous for the night.

Hi No fuss,
Glad you like Sarah. I learnt some good make up skills from her myself.
Kelsey, whay don;t you call up both the artiste to see their portfolio first. The chemistry is also very impt, you know.

Hi Tweety,
And actual day photography, shoes, wedding car... that's all I am preparing. :-)
Bought my gown for $440.

flowee jie,

dragon pearl restaurant is at ngee ann city. But i read thru' comments in the forum after msg u here and find that a lot of poor comments on the service. So i dropped the idea.

Anyway have booked qianxi restaurant. The restaurant setting is really impressive and the basic colour is my favourite colour - purple!

The person in charge is actually the Lao Ban Niang - Suzanna. Very nice lady. One advantage is booking the package this year is that we can enjoy free flow of Martell VSOP as well. Suzanna says the restaurant might take this item out if the business is really good next year. But this will only affect those who book next year. So we are unaffected

Hi Sunbeam,

My banquet will be held in Noble House.
Hmm.... I'm curious... why/how you choose 1 March? Coz that's still in the first lunar month. (Same as mine =P) Think most people go for second lunar month. For me, we just chose the date becoz we like it. Didn't look at tong shu or anything. What about you? =P (Sorry for my kay-poh-ness)

Jesz: Wow! It seems that your house is almost there!! => For electrical goods, can go to Ban Kim Chuan in Bedok. Heard from a few people (on separate occasions) that it offers one of the best prices. Brand-wise, I'm not too sure. But i'll be getting a National washing machine.

Hi Gwen!

Think you got it mixed up? Sunbeam's wedding's on 10 March, it's mine that's on 01 March 2003...

Ya, both sets of parents were a little concerned about it being still in the lunar month, but i guessed as long as we are happy, they are too, so...

yes, we referred to the tong shu and it was alright, so we went ahead!

Had my photoshoot yesterday. Didn't have as many outfits as Fluffy though. Almost gave up. The outdoor shoot was fun though.

Had my actual WG and the WG for outdoors, EG, my own tea dress and the Kua (for colour sake :P)

Glad that we only do this once in a lifetime. Back aching, arms aching, face also aching

Haha, hope all you enjoy or enjoyed yours too

feb

mind 2 do some intro abt urself???

kk mei

gd 4 u...
had settled ur banquet venue...
shd b nice coz u guys r the pioneer couple who get them...
wow so gd free flow of hard liquer somemore...
*keke* will get 2 drink mixers durin ur weddin dinner...

last sat mi went 2 check out 2 studio photographer...
still considerin ard which one 2 get...
2nite will b meetin up with 2 actual daz photographer...

btw had bought my simmons matt last sat @ the furniture fair @ expo...
cost us 2.5k with a free $500 simmons voucher...
used 2 get pillows n matt protecter oredi...
might b gettin my dinin n coffee table from melanders...

Hi marchie,

Oops!!! I really got it mixed up!!!
Sorry Sunbeam and Marchie!

OIC, you mean you chose the date first then you checked out the tong shu??

So how's your preparations so far?? Its 5 months from tomorrow......

I'm still concentrating on my house stuff.

I'm a Dec 2003 brides. Hope to meet other Dec 2003 brides so that we can share ideas.

feb,
now I am preparing for my renovation so got a lot of things to do loh... when is your wedding? where is your banquet and what bridal boutique?
Maybe till March'03, then I need to visit my boutique to design my WG and EG....

flowee and ling,
"cooked" means very close in mandarin...hee

I heard simmons matt is good but kinda ex. I have paid deposit for my king size king koil bed already.

Feb, add and join in our compilation of our 2003 brides list....

hi cherry,

yap, i'm having nite shoots too coz i like nite scene lah!

hi bluebonnet,

me nothing much done except fitting now and then leh! decide on my march-in songs already though.

guest list will only settle in nov after my exams and will also start doing the wrist corsage and the container for collection of angbaos etc.
must be real fun then coz can really count down mah! now like still long time leh so not excited at all! hehehe

hi lyne,

i oso bought my shoes off-the-rack at OG. lucky for me, i just need a pair in silver for both gowns!

wow, fotoshoot over huh? mine 2 weeks away!

Hi gals!,

Wow!
Didn't get to log in for the past few days..and there are so many reading to catch up!!
A big welcome to Marchie and Jesz!!

Hey, Jesz, we shared the same wedding date! That's nice!!
So, where's your banquet and which boutique are you with? I am also going for my first fitting in mid-Oct! Wow! You have already settled your home, that's good! A load off your mind yo!

Gals, have a question to ask. How many tables do you parents ask from your hubby for the banquet? And if your parents ask for 10 tables, then how about the 'Pin Jing'? Does your parents still ask for Pin Jing? If so, how much should they ask? Sorry for asking all the questions, I am really lost with all these customs. Hope to hear some advices. Thanks!

Hi April

Yes, God will certainly be with you and give you His utmost blessings! So, how's your preparation?

Hi Gwen

Yup, I should also be settling for my food tasting in Dec. How's your home preparation coming up?

Hi Shir

How's your first fitting with WP? What kind of design did you choose for your WG and EG? I am going for my first fitting about 2 weeks time.. Rather lost now..not sure what design and colour to go for.. Any advice?

Hi Sunbeam

You have engaged Albert Chua, that’s nice
He did my gf's wedding and the pixs turned out great! He is so a nice guy. How much is his charges? I remembered it around $1.5K, right? It's rather steep for my consideration…

sweetie

oh u mean 'close 2 each other'???
we r classmates 4 personal make up lesson lah...

as a matter of fact, there r other 2003 brides 2 b who hvnt been loggin in here...

i am a dec 2003 bride too.
we've booked reception and church. picked our photographer for studio and outdoor photos. still looking for actual day photographer and bridal studio. be good to hear where everyone else is at with their preparations.

hi babydoll,

glad to hear from you too. i'm shortlisting my banquet venues at the moment. too many to choose from, a bit blur blur now.

flowee,

the simmon bed heard a lot of range is it. we may be getting the simmon bed also. so fast hoh.80%.

sweetie, so you are going to desing you gown in march. good good. then they can do slowly and nicely. i'm going to do mine in jan. also let them take their time to do.

Hi Flowee, Sweetie

Sorry flowee, missed out your question earlier on.What do you want to know about me ? Hmm...I'm 26 and doing accounts..

My traditional is on 8/11/2003 and dinner on 10/11/2003. Hv booked my hotel banquet at The Oriental and the bridal packaghe with Jazreel Low Colleciton. So far nothing much to be done just have to source for my gown design lor...

How abt you all? Age? Occupation?? Me kpo kpo also..

Hi EL & babydoll,

My venue & date is almost confirmed.
- the venue we chose was the first and the last ( which means it's the only one ) we been to. Never tot of signing up or even having a banquet, we were there only for a dinner and it just happened.

As for my bridal boutique,
- I did not go shopping around ( in fact i have never stepped into any of the boutiques )
- but i've already have one in mind and will probably sign up with them very soon.

Studio & Outdoor Photography,
- I've also decided on my photographer already, though i've yet to meet up with him or really see what he has to offer.

Actual Day Photography:
- actually have already decided on one but later i picked another one, so now i've to make a real tough decision betwwen these two.
- so my bookings for my Actual Day photography has been delayed for 2 months already.

Ever since the booking and paying of deposit for the banquet, there is no turning back. And from there, all my preparations are short and sharp. I've decided not to do too much of 'shopping ard'. So everything is gonna be based on my intuition and instincts. I've learned my lesson after my Actual Day photography ( now i've a hard time deciding ), so now i'll just stick to what i've already in mind. So for me, it's always gonna be just ONE CHOICE.

Of course, It's good to really shop around before committing, I strongly recommend that, coz only then do you really get the best deals around. I'm just hopeless when it comes to making choices, it's too painful for me!

I find myself weird too!

Hi sunshine,

wow! you are really efficient leh! i thought the bridal boutique will usually include photography?

I'm deciding on the banquet venue. Already signed the bridal package but due to certain circumstances, the actual day photographer and the bridal car are not included.

Now have to decide between a few hotels. Really don't know how to select.

Where are you holding your banquet? Mind if you share?

Hi babydoll,

Have you chosen your banquet venue yet?

I am better this week. Last week was hell. i ot every nite and hubby got to pick me up.

Jan: Glad to know that you have finally signed up but poor thing it is going to be so rush for you. Did you have a chance to try the gowns? Why do you have to top up? You getting full lace gowns?

I can understand that it is hard for him to be away but i guess there is nothing you can do except ask him to quit. Try to get one of your girlfriend to accompany you for all your fittings and design.

Think positive ...ok.

Joy2003:
1st fitting went on fine juz that it was too loose... keke.. the designer asked if I'd lost weight but dun hv lei...
I oni tried on EG..both my WG n EG r MTM. EG is a toga top made in thai silk and WG is a bustier wif embroidery on duchess satin.
If u r lost, look for designs in bridal mags and pick those that u like. cut it out n show ur designer. For me, I went gown hunting somewhr in March. Went to try different gowns at different bridal boutiques to see which suits me.... then i look for similar designs in mags and then ask the designer to improve on it.

4 the tables, my mum ask for 12 tables and yes, huby stil must give pin jin.. any amt wil do but of cos.. dun give too little la... think at least $2K onwards...

Hello everyone,

finally Monday is over. so busy attending meetings the whole day i have no time to do my own work. terrible. tomorrow will be another rush rush day i guess.

SLK/May/Jazz: my package MTM. No, my gown not full lace. just the bottom half of the dress but they say to them it's full lace and need extra work so have to top up.
didn't know that not full dress lace also considered as full dress lace. sigh. anyway, may just compromise to have the hem of the dress lace. see how.

SLK: your friend is ex customer or current customer? i not very good at talking. so is my fiance so ...... plus now already sign package, cannot bargain already. think we both lack social skills. freebies? what do she mean? sorry to hear that your hubby too busy to entertain your stress. i know exactly what you mean. plus i don't have many friends can fully understand you. nevermind, just give them more time then when they free, you can pour out all your stress.

May: yes, tried on a few gowns. taking the ball gown because those natural waist kind of dress made my tummy buldge out. very obvious so taking a semi full ball gown, not the full can-can. exact term i also don't know but will ask the lady again when i next meet her. cannot quit lah. he just got this job after being retrench so we have to stick to it no matter what if not no money to pay for dinner, end up we will be washing dishes.
i just have to be more understanding i guess.

it's good to have all of you. at least i have friends to talk to.
ok, talk again tomorrow.

Hi EL and Sunshine

we have chosen our banquet venue and booked it - Grand Hyatt.

EL I found that it helped us to make a decision about where to have the banquet by comparing packages, visiting the hotel and also listing what is important to us.

Normally the bridal boutique includes photography, but its a good idea to visit the photographers if you have time, to see more of their portfolio and to see if you feel comfortable with him/her. My FH and I did this as good photos are important to us to preserve the memories.

Hi Kelsey,

Sarah has her own shop at 33 Mohamed Sultan Rd, 2nd floor of Orange. The shop name is Indulge, besides make-up they also do manicure & pedicure. She has this bridal package that costs only $58 - includes manicure & pedicure for bride & a manicure for groom. Even if you want additions like crytals to be pasted on your nails, she charges only $5 per hand (up to 5 crystals per finger). I find the charges very reasonable as I know of some shops that charge the crystals at $2 per finger !!! You can drop by to look at her portfolio, she has done a few editorials & fashion shoots. I am sure that with the right communication, she should be able to give you the makeup you want. She is really quite nice, young & trendy too.

Hi Ding Dong,

who are you hiring for your actual day photography ? I finally got a luncheon dress at Celia Loe for $189, plus shawl $89, total $278 - a bargain considering the fact that my bridal designer quoted me $600 for it. Glad to enjoy the savings. Btw, have you planned anywhere for your honeymoon ? I haven't, but thought of going to either New Zealand or Melbourne/Sydney, far cheaper than Europe.

Take care & hope to hear from you all soon
Nofuss

Hi Joy2003, *nod nod* it's really a great relief that the renov had completed *PHIEW* My banquet is at Imperium. It's great to know someone who share the same date!
Food tasting is scheduled during Dec02 & that's when both parents meet also

Hi Gwen, great to see u here too & so many Mar03's brides
So how is your gowns? Had confirmed? Your wedding date is 1 of my buddies's birthday

As for the tables, my hubby had mentioned to give 10 tables to my parents.

Hi Jan, my FH is also not around. He will be back only in early Jan so I've been doing most of the things myself. Never mind lah, we have to be more understanding & just drop by SB.com to chit chat with u gals more often to exchange ideas lor.

Hi SLK, I will email you next week.
Looking forward to that. Oh yah, Mian called me & my 1st appt is 21 Nov.

Hi Shook, not greedy lah. If I were you, I would ask for the same thing. Gd luck to you huh! I think I came across u asking a 'Sue' in one of the thread whether she is from the May thread. Hmm, I think there's 2 Sues in SB.com

Hi all! Nofuss, I still haven't had time to call Ben Foods, been crazily trying to rush my school assignments that are due this week. So, sorry I can't let you know how negotiations went....

Actually, I was just wondering, do I need consignment wine? I was thinking that occasionally, places like Carrefour has super cheap offers for wine like $9.90 a bottle. I have tried before, and quality was not bad. Do you think I can just buy those? $9.90 should be a better price than what Ben Foods can give right? Even if I buy too much, I can always keep for my own consumption. What does everyone think?

I still haven't looked for a photographer yet!! Anyone found one already?

I'm Jan bride too. 11 Jan in fact. Din noe tat tis is a hot date until I read tis thread.

Time really fly. Started weddin preparatn in Nov 01 n suddenly realised my weddin is just 4 mths away.

Hihi Jan
Oh no, hidden cost of making gown. Agree wif SLK, b nice to them, bribe them .... buy them makan coz these people dun have proper meal due to their nature of work. Then u end up in a win-win situation lor.
Really hard for u dat your hubby is away. Tell us your problem lor. We give u moral support. If u need someone to accompany u to Xzen, I can go wif u if I m available. I work in Gateway, walking distance to Xzen. But juz to like u know I try not to comment on your gown. This is bcoz the professional @ Xzen seen so many brides, so they can judge which gown suits u better than me.

Hihi Jazz
I m not getting videography, budget constraint lar. Could u please help me to get the contact no. for photography. Thanks a million.

Hihi Sue
U r rite. In Hotel New Otani thread, I asked another Sue if she is u. Remember your banquet is to be held @ Conrad, so confused to talk to u in that thread.

Hi Nofuss,
Glad that you have found your luncheon dress. I saw a nice dress taht I like too at Celia. Think it was only $149 or so. Still cintemplating if I should buy.
Actual day photography- I am tryiung to get a church fren to do it if she is free. SHe's quite good.
As for honeymoon, think we are going to China. Need to have dinner there or his family and friends - a convenient honeymoon I suppose.

But seriously I wish to go Krabi - somewhere where we can both r&r. But there is budget constraint and what not. See how lah...afterall more imptly we are together now...

Hi Jan,

My friend is a current customer. Her wedding dinner is next month. She seems to be on fantastic terms with them, will always sing praises for X-Zen.

Hi Sue,

Looking forward to see you. I will be going with one SB girl who is also meeting 2 other SB gals
Seems like an all-gals meet up, so exciting

hi gers,

I'm back again!

hi feb,

oriental ballroom was great. no worries! the coordinator was very helpful too.

btw, i'm 26 this year and in human resource line.

hi flowee,

wow, reno completing soon so itz really cleaning time liao le!

me having another wedding to attend this friday and also ah yi! me very busy hor! hehehe

hi vodka,

welcome to this thread too!

my wedding is on 24 jan, a day b4 lyne!

my fotoshoot will be done in 2 weeks time.

what other things have been done for you?

hi ladies & gals...

i m not sure if i m welcome 2 join in this thread??

i m oso a september bride & my date is also d same date wif most of u....n tat is 20th sept 03.

guess wat?? i m been ROM 4 3 yrs le....=P n i had been staying into our new hse in sengkang 4 abt 2 yrs +....

i had juz sign up my wedding pkg thru "Milan Wedding Collection".

gd mornin gers

feb

u sure m faster than mi coz u oredi settled ur venue n bridal...
as 4 myself still lookin ard @ bridal...
as 4 venue oredi booked... :P
currentli buz with reno works n also bridal n actual daz photographer searchin...
weddin date on 10th sept 2003...
mi turnin 26 in nov in architectural line...

ling

simmons hvin sale @ taka this comin wkend...
u can drop by 2 take a look @ their beds...

yi

u mentioned b4 abt bein ah yi...
so hows the ang pow like 4 the last weddin???

sept

welcome 2 the threat...
mind 2 self intro...

hi all sep brides...

my solemnisation cum wedding dinner would be on 6 Sep 2002 (haven't found anyone else with the same date though)....

Booked venue, bridal and actual day photographer already!...

Anything else i can add?....