(2003) Brides of year 2003

oscar

of coz u r welcome in sept 2003 brides...

wow seems like 20th sept is a super hot daz...
so many of u gers gettin married... :P

u r a sk resident???
mind 2 disclose ur blk???
mi 2 but hse still under reno...

hvnt finalised my bridal yet...
onli booked my dinner venue...

sept

wow u r a fast worker 2...
oredi booked all ur necessary...
mind 2 share with ur the venue, ur bridal n also who did u get as 4 actual daz???

as 4 myself, m still lookin ard @ bridal n actual daz...

Hi Yi

Thnks for your infor..Relief to hear good comments on The Oriental Hotel.
Only about 4 more months before your big day..So how is your preparation?

Hi Flowee

Me a bit KS lor. But with hotel and bridal package settled, we do not have to worry anymore ...A bit relax liao.. Do you think it is time for us to look for actual day photographer as well. I am not sure on this but seeing that you have already started to source for the actual day photographer . U mean actual day photographer also require abt 1 yr booking in advance? Any recommendation through your sourcing?

Hi Lyne n Yi,

My fotoshoot is 5 Nov. But havent hav my 1 fittin of gowns n trial makeup/hairdo yet. My WG n hubby's tux r ready but my EG n shoes is in the process of 'construction'. Shld b all done by 2nd wk of Oct n then I can hav my 1st fittin.

Hi Lyne,

Read fr ur postin tat u've ur teadress made by a tailor. Do u mind givin me the contacts? BTW, how much do they charge u for the teadress?

I am 26 yrs and in mechanical engineering... my hubby a year older and we are both doing the same thing cos I met him in uni.

Where are your love nests? All ready? waiting?

the compilation list:
The update:-

Sweetie: HIPV
Flowee: Noble House
Bijou & elaine : Rasa Sentosa
Yi: Merchant Court
kk: Chengdu
ling: Sheraton Tower:
Feb: Oriental

flowee 10/09/2003
Ling n bijou n hazel 20/09/2003
blury Sept 2003
Lynnie 1/6/2003
Sweetie 30/11/2003
kk 26/10/2003
Yi 24/01/2003
Feb: 11/10/2003

hi flowee,

tks u...=D for welcoming me....

ya lor...my FIL hd choose some dates 4 us n we decided on this date bcoz of d mth. my bf,dad, god-daughter,doggy as well as our ROM date & bday fall on this mth so we decide this date morever my bday is oso on 20th but different mth. i even hope tat i cn give birth 2 a baby on this mth too as 2 make it more meaningful 4 us....hehehe...

yup..i m a sk resident n i m staying @ 297A. then w do u stay??

i dun intend 2 throw any dinner but must hve dinner @ my grand nanny hm (malaysia) bcoz my mum used 2 b a malaysian.

bt will denfinely go 4 our honeymoon. hvnt decide which country bcoz must c by tat time hw much hve we save lor...we shld b either free & easy o bk pk wif my opi friends.

w hve u booked ur dinner venue?
y dun u go n view "milan wedding collection" 4 ur bridal pkg?

Hihi SLK
Juz a personal suggestion. Perhaps u could check for Jan who r the stuff @ X-zen who served your friend n let Jan knows your friend's name. Then Jan could say she is your friend's friend n ask for the same stuff to help her. Think dat may help Jan one way or another.

Hi No Fuss,

Thanks alot. I'll give her a call. Keep your fingers crossed for me that she's still available for my wedding day!

<FONT COLOR="pink">Sweetie</FONT> - Mine is 30/03/03

<FONT COLOR="orange">Ling</FONT> - Just the album wrap it like wrapping a book. btw, why do u wan it for? Tot u your package already have an album? Why dun u buy those ready-made ones outside, if it is too troublesome for u?

My photoshoot is on 8 Nov.

Jan, you might want to try and talk to them to see if they can give in to help you with the laces or something like that.

Shook, do you mind giving me your email? I'll email you once I get the info from my fren on the photography. I think there's another Jazz in the White Link thread rite?

Saw this thread a few weeks ago but haven't got the time to come in

I'm also a mar bride. Mine is 30/03/03. I think I'm the last bride of the month here

Hv u all got your evening gown? Hv any of you got one tailor-made? I'm looking for a tailor for an evening gown. Any recommendations?

Also, roughly how much does it cost to hv an EG tailor made?

Many tks
Koala

feb

well i m still lookin ard...
hvnt settle with who yet...
mayb u can start checkin ard soon juz in case ur ideal photographer is oredi taken on ur weddin date...

sweetie

my love nest @ sk...
kk n myself r neighbours ( few blks away from each other)
my reno is ongoin...
will b completin by soon...
wat abt urs???

popples

been a while since we last chat...
hows life???

Hi gals, so many of us here, very easy to lose track who's who!

jesz, if u like OM, can wait til their warehouse sale(the most recent one abt 2 weeks ago)we went and bot a console &amp; dining table at 600 each.cheap!

joy2003, i think no matter how many tables, "pin jing" still should give, anyway, usually the girl's family just take a token amount like 88 out of 2888 and return the rest, so more like for the significance of it? perhaps u guys can discuss when u have the food tasting wif both the family.

actually reely happy to see so many of us here, at least more advisees
Me has been busy wif the house, buying tiles, heater and all. wah add up alot, starting to keep track of the amount $$$ spent.

Question time: i've got 30 downlights for living, dining, 2 passageways and bedroom, reasonable or too much? Any good lightin place to go? we went wif our id, but still cant find a suitable pendant light for dining and studyroom...

one more...i've only designed my gown n not gone for any fitting yet. wat about u gals? is PS in dec too late?

OOPS, yak too much again

I am also a Dec 2003 bride. Wow seems like some of you are quite fast yah - in settling on your bridal boutique and all. I've only had my venue confirmed and attending church's marriage preparation course in Feb

Great to be able to share some ideas here.

Any of you going for the Wedding Coutures 2002 bridal show this Sun?

Hi Sweetie

My Actual is on 8/11/2003 and the banquet is on 10/11/2003. The date per your list is believe to be the actual wedding right- Should be 8/11/2003.

hi flowee,

venue: four seasons hotel
bridal: ted wu
photoshoot: chris ling
actual day: KC Wong (greymatterphotography)

me now waiting for house to be ready for occupation and renov next year.....so gotta nothing else to do... ;-D

gers

any1 hv any idea which bridal ties up with utopia???
beside bv, ted wu, flamingo, amanda lee???
m interested 2 get travis as my studio photographer...

Hi Vodka,

So sorry...she's a personal friend and has migrated to Canada. She stayed on to do my teadress before flying off to meet her family over there.

Well, I got my cloth from Arab Street. You can also do so and just get a tailor. It shd not cost more than $200.

Hi:

Jan: i am not sure if half lace gown must top up or not. So far, they only tell me full lace then need to top up. Anyway, i am sure they can subsitute it with something else that you need not top up?

Is anyone going for the couture wedding show on Sunday. I have not registered yet.

Hi Koala,

I'm getting a cheongsam tailored made (it'll act as my evening gown) from Amor Meus. Workmanship is really good. His bead work is fantastic. But not cheap though. He's located at the 2nd floor of The Theatres by The Bay Mall. You can't miss the shop.

Cost wise, it all depends on what material you chose and how elaborate the design is. Have you tried searching for a dress off the rack? Might be cheaper though.

Hey Flowee,

I think Utopia ties up with Emmunuel B too.
So, have you decided to sign up with Travis?

I will be going down to sign up this weekend. I won't go to the bridal fair. Need to work this weekend..sigh..

popples: me want to do something since i am a bit free now again....
9442.gif

and i slowly do. cos'i see that you do until very nice. so i want to learn but seems complicated to me...
your_image.gif

sep03: your date is 6 sep 02 or 03??? so are you choosing the small,medium or big book for your actual day?
9443.gif

feb: yah. oriental have a special chef just to cook for the banquet so you can be assure of the food.

9444.gif

bijou

u confirmed with travis oredi???
ur bridal will b with jawn???
how muz r u payin 4 ur bridal???
gd 4 u ur bridal settled oredi...

m tempted 2 sign up 4 the promotion package with travis still considerin...
will either sign up with a bridal who ties up with travis or get the promotion package n get my own bridal...
2 little time but 2 many bridal 2 check out...

will b attendin the bv show...
heard utopia hv some freebies if sign up durin bv show...
will check bv out...

Hi flowee,

I haven't sign up with travis yet but more or less decided to engage him. He said he will call us to fix an appt before sun.

I guess if you aren't too picky about the size of pix in the album, it might be worthwhile to find those bridal shops that tied up with utopia. Usually they give 8R albums.

As for bridal package, I haven't got the time to look around. I need to check with Jawn how much will the package cost if i get TG to do my make up (might have to top up?) becos the overall cost may be similiar to other shops. I am keen on silhouette as well..

Hi Kelsey,
Thanks for that. Roughly how much does your cost? If u dont want to mention u can e-mail me on [email protected].

I think my evening dress will be like a halter top made fm chiffon...material that is soft. Light gold in colour.

My bridal dressmaker is charging me $350 w/out the material, which I think is reasonable. But want to make comparisons before I go to her.

hi tiara,

I'm not going. In fact, have not gone to any bridal shows yet. Are you going?

I am also a Dec 03 bride! Seems like I am the slowest...

I just fixed the date and right now, I am trying to source for the hotel banquet.

Is it too early to book for a bridal boutique now?

Hi Shook/Jan,

I think X-Zen has a few people serving only. The boss herself, her brother are the main casts. Actually I also went down to X-Zen before I signed with BV. X-Zen did tell me that I must top up money for complicated designs. They pointed out one gown to me which my hubby and me think it's simple, yet must top up money. Wonder how they define 'extras', thought most WGs come with all these?

Anyway Jan, not to worry, Cindy did tell me that initially they are quite inflexible with them. But both Cindy and her hubby are quite easy-going and humble, they managed to build up a very good rapport with the boss and her brother. So eventually, they thrown in many freebies for them. So try and be more chin-chai with them ok?

bijou

will b goin 2 check out some of the bridal travis tie up with this wkend...
some of the bridal they offer 15r pixs 4 utopia photography package... as 4 those who offer 8r pixs, can top up 2 get 15r pixs...
gonna do some 'accts' b4 commitin which bridal n studio 2 engage...
we hv intended 2 get back all the negatives...
gonna include tat amt in2 my bridal package...

Hi Jesz,

Have confirmed my WG and EG already. Since I can find them OTR, need not MTM, can exchange for more pics. ;P

April: I used downlights for all my bedrooms and my living and dining room. Used 31 in all. So I dun think 30 is too much. =P Quite decent lah.
As for pendant lights, what type are you looking for? Modern or classical?

hi sep03,

i find his book unique. you know what, he is my sis friend's friend. that's how i know him. think the first time my sis sees his work was 1 to 2 years back. i fall in love with the book.

so i have two photographer. hilarion goh and kc cos both are great. but of course i have ask for their permission first to make sure it is ok. have not decided which book to choose. think the medium one looks better.

Hi Ling Sept 03

You mean you have taken hilarion goh and kc for your actual day photograhy? Can you share with us the package? Did you all intend to have any videogarphy as well ?

Aiyoh,

SLK: I think i know who your friend is then. She did sing praises of xzen in other forum too. that's why i thought they not bad and decided to sign up with them. but i guess not many people can build up that kind of rapport with the staff lah. your friend even help out at their bridal show. now too late to define extras already. since i already got a taste of what extra top up means. so got to compromise. hopefully she can come up with ways to help me cut cost. so far i agree they are nice people. i just wish to have my gown for my big day. we only marry once.

May: i not going for the show. alot of things to settle before hubby leaves. he won't be back until one week before wedding day so we have to rush out to get all the stuff ready. sigh.

Shook: you very cute. thanks for suggesting. sure can use good suggestions like yours!
good to know we all try to help one another. thanks for volunteering to come with me. will sure call upon you if the need arise. i hope to get all the stuff done by dec 02. do you think my design will be out of date by may 03? this is one of my worries.

Sue: agree with you. we can all come to this forum to chit chat. it helps to us to deal with stress because we are all facing similar problems.

flowee,

my ang bao for the last sat wedding was abt S$100 odd, consider quite alot liao hor?

another one this friday. me busy ah yi-ing!

btw, i'll try to make my own ah-yi's wrist corsage after my exams. looking forward to it leh!

btw, howz max?

feb,

dun worry, the place is nice and the food is nice too. a bit of fusion!

ya lor, about another 4mths to my wedding but i haven't done anything yet except gog for my fittings. fotoshoot in 2 weeks' time and will start really preparing in nov after my exams on 01 nov. will try doing my ah-yi's wrist corsage, angbaos holder etc. must be interesting.

after my exam, then can really count down mah!

sweetie,

my love nest in jurong west.
hubby same age as me as we are born on same day, month and year!

hi vodka,

I have already been to about 3 fittings liao and my fotoshoot is on 14 oct.

gog for another fitting this sunday. itz my 4th fitting b4 fotoshoot! a lot hor! dun know leh, keeps having to alter. hopefully, everytime itz alter smaller and not bigger. hehehe

hi lyne,

tailor-made teadress should be nice.
is it a cheongsam?

Cherry, its too early to book your bridal boutique now. Generally you need to book nine months before your wedding. The boutique needs 6 months to design and make your dress and have all the fittings etc. Then 3 months before your wedding you do your studio/outdoor photo shoot, so your photos will be ready a week or two before the wedding. It doesn't hurt to book earlier, but when you book you have to pay a deposit.

I have started preparations early, as I am overseas because of work, so unlike most of you I don't have the luxury of conducting preparations with as much spare time. So don't worry Cherry, you are not slow at all.

Tiara, I can't make it to Coutures Show, sounds good though. Please keep me posted on how it went!

Hi Vodka,

Our weddings are on the same date. Mine is oso on Jan 11. I've done my photoshoot and am waiting to choose the photos for my album.

I had a tailor made cheong sum done at this place called D'element. It's quite good and I am v satisfied with my cheong sum. Mabbe u can try them...

Hey Flowee,

Can you let me know which are the bridal shop that provide 15R pix album from utopia? And how much izzit to top up?

So, i guess you are not going to sign up with Travis this weekend to get the freebies??

Hi Lyne, i hav a tailor currently but wud like to explore more choices. I oso get my fabric fr Arab St's Collezione n China Town's Terence. I'm veri skinny so have to mtm most of the time.

Hi Yi, wow 4 fittins liao! I probably hav 2 the most cos my bridal designer will hav the gown all done up includin details like embroidery n beadings etc on 1st fittin.

Hi Fluffy, can giv me the address of D'element n oso how much do they charge?

hi aug

welcome 2 2003 brides...
so far among us there aint any aug bride 2 b...
u r the 1st one 2 get married after the 7th mth...

hows weddin plans comin along???

yi

$100 odd nt so bad wor...
coz heard from my gf her last ah yi's ang pow is onli $30 odd... :P

wow oredi lookin 4ward 2 makin ur own wrist corsages...
muz complete ur outstdin assignment n also study 4 ur final papers...
gd luck in ur forth comin papers...
then we can go kopi n shoppin again liao...

max juz started his new job 2daz...
shd b fine lor...

Hi Vodka,

D'Element is at 10 Anson Rd, #02-74, International Plaza. I did a full length lace cheong sum for $500 ( incl lace fabric). Their workmanship is quite good. You can go down and have a look. Their tel no is 62214344.

bijou

as far as i koe, bv, ted wu, emanuel b, flamingo n amanda lee ties up with utopia...
their packages ( except bv offerin 15r pixs )offers 'super 8r pixs'...
4 upgradin 2 15r gonna top up $600 ( if i aint wrong )...
accordin 2 travis, u can purchase ur neg n prints either by payin $800 or 2 top up ur pixs 2 a sum of 1.5k the neg n prints will b returned 'free'...

the promotion package is over my budget 4 bridal...
dun think i will b takin it up...
will b checkin out those bridal utopia ties up with...

scenio 1:
bv comprehensive package its @ $4980...
utopia package with them will b 20pcs of 12x15, 1pc of 8x10 with frame, and return of selected negatives which i find pretti reasonable deal...
most prob i will top up the pixs 2 get the neg back...
which will b abt 6.5k 4 bridal...

scenio 2:
on the other hand if i took up 2.1k package, i might nt b able 2 get my ideal bridal within the range i can afford...
juz my thots...

nthin confirmed till this pt of time...
wat abt urself???
hv u confirmed ur bridal???
how muz r they chargin u???

Hi Ding Dong,
good to know that you also saw a dress you like at Celia. Is it a long or short dress ? I bought a short dress, light pink with spaghetti straps but has some sequins at the hem, so it looks ok for a luncheon. The shawl will make the whole outfit look more formal.
Btw, where is Krabi ?

Hi Kelsey,
I hope you are able to get Sarah for your makeup on the actual day. Btw, how much did Amor Meus charge you for the sexy cheongsum ? Did you have a design in mind or did the designer sketched one for you ?

Hi Sunshinekid,
the wine at Carrefour is a good idea if you can get one bottle for roughly $9.90, far more affordable than on consignment basis. It is a good idea. How many bottles you reckon you have to purchase ?

Nofuss

Welcome Aug &amp; all those tat just join our thread!

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - ya, since a long time since we chat...me was veri veri busy last week...but now better liao. sian more pimples again
u busy? after CP, your work got pile up? Maybe we can meet up again?

<FONT COLOR="orange">Ling</FONT> - Its not as complicated as u think, only veri 'siong' to do it (time). Give it a try

--------------------------------------
can I ask you gals normally how much do u gals bao for an ang bao for 2 person? a weekday ang bao &amp; a weekend ang bao? Is $120 enough?

I got 7 wedding dinners to attend before my wedding
$$$ fly away...