(2003) Brides of year 2003

Forgot to add this, sunnyling, $40K for a premium flat is really a lot! I thought the whole pt of getting premium is so that u can save on cash, cos flooring and bathrooms are done for u....

May i ask how much was your reno (excl furniture and appliances)? Just for my estimate... mine's at the blks6XX, very near to josephine, we're expecting to get keys in jun03. Thks in advance!

sun

its femalebridesonline.com
can join us there 2...

naturali

yah lor 2daz many postin hor...

u like embroidery 2???
same same i prefer embroidery 2 crystals...
can add le galleria in ur list lor...
beside them u can check out flamingo ( heard shirley is gd with flowy gowns ), x-zen ( they r famous 4 extra ordinary gowns n also flowy ones 2 ), amanda lee ( she seems versatile in all detailin ), frederick lee, etc...

i m waitin 4 my tickets...
hvnt received them yet...
update u again ok...

hv a great evenin...

wa!! so many threads liao
me veri busy lately...haven't got time to come-in, but will look look see see. Will try to be in 2nite...

Hi gals, thanks for all the infor & I feel more assured. I spoke to my friend today so I think we'll attend each other's wedding since it is 4 mths apart. Both of us don't really mind.

Hi SLK, YES!! I got my invitation card from BV & wanted to email you but was very busy in the office. My FH is not in S'pore so his sister will be going with me. We shall meet up @ PanPac.

Hi Shook, KC is Qinzhong. He is a photo-journalist. The $1.2K is only photography. U can see his portfolio @ www.greymatterphotography.com

Wow Fluffy,
7 times change of clothes! Pengsan. ;-) It's exciting to see Jan brides starting to do photoshoot.

Hi Cherry,
Think my photoshoot may end up later than yours. Will probably have it done in Dec. You can give me some tips. ;-) When's your photoshoot?

Hi Yi,
How's your preparation coming along? I have been here for a long time.

Bluebonnet

flowee jie,

yes, the gif very nice rite? I also want to know how to post them up.. kekeke... and hor, how to put all those smiley faces? I only know how to put this

sorry, didn't call u yesterday coz thursday is always my busy day. All my students' lessons fall on thursday so whole day running around.

The reason why i asked u qian xi is because the manager called many times and asked us when we dropping by to view the venue at farrer park. Then we decide to drop by tomorrow afternoon around 1 pm to take a look. Who knows? we might like the place and end up booking there.. hahaa... else, we will have to drop by chengdu to pay the downpayment this sunday.

Hihi*cyn* n sue
Thx for the info. Looks like we underestimated the photography charge.
We thot it is around $500-$600 coz this is the charges all the bridal boutiques quoted to us.

hi Joy2003
I signed up wif The Edge for studio and outdoor oni... actual day wil be done by fren lo...the basic package is abt $1400 I think... couldn't recall wat's inside cos talked to Andrew (photographer) quite long ago. anyway, we juz agree verbally. wil let u know once i meet up wif him in Dec.
ya agree wif u that Wedding Present is steep, but wat to do lei... like the gowns a lot.. wil be going for my 1st fitting tmr.
wil not be in dis forum so often cos EXAMS COMING!!! Gosh! Stress man!!!

April and Gwen
I'm staying at Rivervale Crescent (wkends oni). it's opp rivervale mall. My reno was completed quite sometime ago and since haven customary yet, can oni stay there during wkends lo.
ya, at least one thing is off my mind.. dun need to wori abt the flat...

good morning gals,
friday liao!!!!!can enjoy a good weekend rest!!!
sweetee,
U got the menu less than $600?? I thot HIPV min $638 for a weekday package?Whoa!!! can tell me?U booked your dinner through bridal show thats y so cheap??
Flowee my fh only got off day next week n he still have to go back to work in the evening, sigh..dunno when can go see all those ballrooms...

Shook,

Well, I guess the budget would depend on how many rolls of film is included in the package itself.

For mine, the bridal shop quoted me $250. But that is purely service fee for the photographer only. It does not include the development fee per roll of film. Normally that is around $40~60 per roll.

Not forgetting the hours the photographer is willing to work...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">*</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">c</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff0000">Y</FONT><FONT COLOR="808080">n</FONT><FONT COLOR="0077aa">*</FONT>

Shook: Talk about underestimating. You are right. I didn't expect photography and videography to be so expensive. Now looks like i have to forget about video. cannot afford. Photography alone very expensive. the one that x-zen recommended quoted me $50 per roll after the 4 rolls included in the package. so expensive. i might just go for the one x-zen recommended and cap the number of photos to 4 rolls. i plan to go for honeymoon so after we priortise, i rather spend it on honeymoon so.... sad case. if only we all have more money. sigh. the 3mths apart thingy. i have to stick to it. my parents insists. that means any wedding from the month of feb to apr and jun to aug we cannot attend right?

Hi nite gal,

wow, reno.... so super busy...
don't be stressed ya...
how? got inspect house already?
*envy envy* me only getting my house next year.

u where got old =0)...

u couple of years.. me like 5 years already, hee hee......as for my course... i'm taking my masters. so now doing thesis, assignments and exams in 2 weeks time...*sigh*

LT,
sorry but never have time to make appointment to visit the beauty salon...will see if i can make it when i'm studying for my exams...mus pamper myself [good excuse hor?!!!]

Hi Naturally

My renovation is about 22K (including electric and air-con but exclude). So you see to buy furniture (basic 1: sofa, cofeee table, dinner table, tv console, bed, matress, etc), toilet and kitchen accessories, electrical appliances, curtain and all those misc thing you need more than 10K (10K is not enough) . Even all those little little things add up you will be suprise that its alot of money. So think you should prepare about 40K

Hi Bluebonnet,

When's your wedding?? End-Jan?? why are you taking your photos in Dec?? very late leh.....my photoshoot mid-nov....

good morning girls.......
9314.gif

flowee, seems like you have most your things settled
hip hip hurray.
9315.gif

blurdoey, why don't you go to amara and take a look. they have new reno.

sorry i can help much on the banquet cos i did not do any research.

Elaine, can teach me how to do the album... thinking of it tilll today..
9316.gif
when are you going for photoshoot???

kk, dun tired yourself ok.

anyone knows how the fully set up sheraton looks like. I only saw the empty one when i sign up.
9317.gif

I just need to know if the walk in is very long or very short. So that I can do my dress tail to be abit longer..

CHEERS!!

gd mornin gers

kk mei

no prob lah...
u can check out qian xi @ farrer park 2...
think its a better place than chengdu...

blury

i think the more impt issue here shd b gettin ur weddin date...
its better 2 get 1 b4 headin dn 2 the hotels 2 negiotate 4 packages...
u aint able 2 book the ballrm unless u hv a weddin date...
furthermore the hotels which u had shortlisted might b 'taken up' oredi on ur intended weddin date no pt headin dn...
juz my thots...

OH yah,

yesterday went to 2 bridal shop with my sis.

first is Allure xxxxxx, their package is quite ok

$2688 for otr wedding gown, mtm eveing gown, groom suit, tea dress. if want mtm wedding gown, add $400.

photogrpaher can choose but pay separately. like 1200 for robin, etc.

then to silhoette, they charge $5138 for all mtm all including photo.

Glad to know so many Nov 2003 brides out there. Mine also in Nov 2003.

Hi Sunnyling

Looks like you have nothing much to do liao after having booked the banquet and bridal package. Like me I have also booked mine and now just waiting for the big day lor..

hi all, my wedding is gonna be in nov 03 too !!! 21st for my solemnization and reception and 23rd for customary cum banquet

so have u ladies bked yr banquet and bridal package?

Hihi *cyn*
So far those quotation dat we got $550-$650 (sorry not $500 - $600)includes 8 rolls of films + service + album + arrangement of album. So, we thot it is around this range. Is there any hidden cost besides this?

Hihi Jan
How much is x-zen charging u for the 4 rolls? Personally feel dat videography is not so practical coz gotta maintain it n need equipment to view it. Not portable. Besides, my bf has a video cam, if need b, use his video cam.
Yep yep, me oso wanna go honeymoon. Gotta allocate the limited budget lor. Sigh...only if we got.... Where r u going for honeymoon?
I asked my mum about how many mths apart can couples attend each other's wedding, she said 4 mths. If it is 4 mths then we can't attend wedding falls between Jan to Sep. Got a colleague getting married in Dec 2002 n one in Jun 2003.

Hi Feb

So where have you book your bridal package and banquet. Ya loh me abit KS keke.

Hi Edde

I had already book my banquet and package liao

I think there will be more and more Nov 03 brides cos the Tong Shu just out not long so think alot of ppl just choose the wedding date. We will have more kaki liao

Hi Cherry,

My wedding is on Jan 4. Currently not in Singapore and will only be back in Dec, so have to wait till then. So excited for you. Remember to share your experience and pixs with us when you shoot your pictures in Nov. Who did you sign up with?

Hi Yi,
I meant to type "have NOT been here for a long time", not "have been here for a long time". Hand is reacting slower than brain. pai seh..

Bluebonnet

Ling,

thanks for ur concern! Ur gifs all very very nice
And so cutee!

Flowee jie,

Tomorrow will be dropping by to take a look lor. But my hubby dun sound keen to have it at qianxi. Well, maybe got to see the place first, perhaps he will change his mind.. ekkekee...

Any idea whether Dragon Pearl Restaurant is good?

Hi Sunnyling!

Okay, looks like i underestimated... thanks for sharing!

Flowee...
Yar lor, i'm beginning to realise i like embroidery work better, will check out those shops u mentioned! So fast it's weekends again, guess u're planning more bridal shop visits tomorrow?
Have fun!

Hi Sunnyling

I have booked my bridal package with Jazreel Low and hotel Banquet at Oriental. I dun think we are KS cos if now you go and booked for the hotel banquet, most have been taken up liao. Some even booked for year 2004 already. How about you? Which bridal package and banquet have yor booked?

Hi Edde

Mine is on 8/11/2003 and dinner banquet on 10/11/2003.

Hi Shook,

Shouldn't think there will be more hidden costs. How was the style and picture quality of those recommended by the bridal shops?

I din take up the option from my bridal shop, coz me afraid they'll send an "uncle" to take the pictures. My bridal shop has photographers but not those wtih established reputation. So, I din dare take the risk.

Anyway, I quite like one of the forum user's actual day photographs... so, we chose Andrew.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">*</FONT><FONT COLOR="0000ff">c</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">Y</FONT><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">n</FONT><FONT COLOR="0077aa">*</FONT>

I am also a 2003 bride. Glad to know that so many of you are so active in this forum.

Hi Yi

Understand u are attending a wedding dinner at Oriental this weekend. Keep me posted cos' i have also booked with Oriental and not sure on the food.

gd afternn kk mei

erm where is dragon pearl restaurant???
i aint sure abt this restaurant u mentioned...

gers

can anyone help 2 give feedback on dragon pearl restaurant???

hi feb

welcome 2 2003 brides threat...

u wana 2 do some self intro???

flowee,

first , you got to copy the gif to your hard drive.

2. you got to open the excel file and then go to your start up menu, under accesories , there is a character map.

3. find the icon that looks like open and close bracket and chose it. copy to the excel file.

4. when you are keying in the "add a message", you got to put \image(filename) then they will prompt you when you are going to post to upload the gif.

to see the bracket, you can simply go to getting started under the forum guide, there are steps to follow. my is half pass only.

ling

huh so complicated one ah???
then dun wana liao...
think fbo nicer hv more icon 2 chose from...

anyway i c u 2nite ok...
might need a lift 2 the nearest mrt...

Hi Shook

Your quotation sounds reasonable. xzen's recommended one which is with their package. have to pay $300 for 4 rolls, each additional roll is $50. when i ask them who are these people, they didn't want to reveal the names. just said that they have experience. i have a feeling may be like what *cYn* said, uncles lor. actually if in the end my budget tight, uncle for no uncle, as long as the price is right, i will just take the package. limit to 4 rolls then. as for videography. thought it means they can burnt it into a cd? you mean videography means those VHS tape? oh nor, i sotong if this is true. now i am confused. can help if you understand?

honeymoon. hmmmmm
thought of it makes me happy.
final destination not set but thinking of Eastern side of US, Japan or Canada. You? can share info then we can plan!

jan to sep 2003 cannot attend wedding. oh no, i have 3 colleagues getting married in Jan 2003. think i better go and ask my MIL and my mother again. so many rules. sigh.

Hi Feb

I book with Bridal Zone at Marina Sq and tentatively book with Concorde Hotel. My banquet is at 14/11. Seem like our wedding is quite near

flowee,

ya loh. quite complicated. but more fun to see more icons moving around. like live up teh place. but the forum dun have that much.

no problem. i see you tonite.

Welcome feb!
Any things settled so far?

Wow! Ling and flowee,
you gals so "cooked" huh? heehee
Go market together some more.

shir, all the best for your exams, when exams over, then can concentrate on your wedding again.BTW, your place is very convenient, dun have to worry abt food n necessity items!

I'm a Mar03 bride too
Mine is on 15 Mar. Just shifted into the house yesterday. I'd booked my bridal &amp; banquet. Planning to go for my 1st fittings at the end of oct02. Hope I'm not too late...

Glad that this thread is started

i am a march bride too! 01 march 2003, so i guess i am the earliest... :p

guess like most of you here, i am totally clueless as to what else to be done after settling the banquet and bridal stuff...

marchie

Hi Jesz,

Great to "see" ya here!

Wow! Your house is fully done up already?? I mean, all the furniture and decor stuff.

Hello...have been so busy and stress with work...my desk is a mess and i have no time to chat till now... Hope to lose weight during this terrible period - i am so overwork and stress that i almost scream at my boss...i tahan...tahan...

so frustrated that i am plotting to be pregnant asap after marriage so that i can be away from office and enjoy maternity leave...

Hi Gwen, mine not really fully done up yet ... My curtains coming in tomolo. For the whole hse, think only the bathrms r fully done up
. Now sourcing for a TV console, a mini hi-fi set for the master bedrm, fridge &amp; washing machine. Anyone got any lobang? Any good brands to recommend?

I posted a msg on DIY bridal packages and was referred here as most of the brides here did theirs DIY ... err, am I in the right forum? hee

My wedding is in 2004, but do research 1st ... I'll be getting a professional wedding album so am I rite to say left makeup/hair artist, wedding gown, tea-dress and 1-2 wedding gowns rite and bouquet? Anything I left out?

Gowns I shd be renting from bridal shop lor cos if individually go outside and buy troublesome ...

How much wld it cost to rent (on average) a wedding gown, a tea dress and 1-2 wedding gowns from shops like Divine, Silhoutte, Emmanuel,Ted Wu or Tan Yoong? I hope they won't keep promoting their 'packages' to me ...

Can u all tell me what is the avg total cost of DIY?

Hi everyone!!

Yup, had 7 changes of outfits...really v tiring. Had to redo hairstyles and touch up make up. I had 2 WG (1 is my actual gown and another is for outdoor shoot), 2 EG, 2 Kwa and my cheong sum.

Cherry - Right now going to focus on my guest list and wedding cards and also choosing my photos for the album...How much does it cost to pay for printing of wedding cards??

I had my photoshoot early becos I am afraid of the monsoon season when it'll rain... moreover the wedding album takes abt 2 mths to be ready... so based on my estimation, I will probably get it in Dec...hopefully b4 I go to Sydney for my church wedding....

Hi Tweety! I don't think I'm the one who's in a position to dish out advice, becos I seem to be quite disorganised! But I'll still kaypoh and add in my 2 cents worth hehe.

On my list, the most important thing is to find a location for the wedding, becos if you want a good auspicious date, some of them are booked as early as 2 years in advance. E.g. September is always a very popular month. Even if you're like me and don't believe in auspicious dates, it's still nice to get something big settled and out of the way. After that, it'll be gowns, photos, makeup/hair, accessories, bouquets and floral decor (of location, car, church etc), invitations, wedding rings. I'm not sure if I missed out anything....

I can't give you any advice/tips on renting from bridal shops becos I'm planning to tailor-make both my wedding and evening gowns. Maybe Nofuss or Koala can tell you more about it.
Personally I thought it's even more troublesome to get from bridal shops, becos I don't like a lot of the sales tactics used. I like to be left completely alone until I've made up my mind. Although having said that, I have very little time left, so I might just cave in to getting from bridal shops.... don't know yet.

For me, I'm budgeting about $2k for gowns, makeup/hair, actual day photography, flowers and decor.

Hope this helps, cheers!

thanks for the warm welcome.

gwen,
will be having my banquet in grand plaza hotel. how abt u?

joy2003,
me not using x-zen's photographer for actual day...have engaged Albert Chua from everafter...

HI Ding DOng,

thanks for recommending Sarah Tan to me, I went down to see her last week &amp; found her to be very nice. I got good vibes abt her &amp; placed my deposit already. In fact her manicure &amp; pedicure packages are also very reasonable &amp; i intend to do my nails there as well next year. Thanks again for the recommendation.

Hi Tweety,

I am DIY-ing my wedding preparations. Sunshinekid is right, the most impt thing is the venue. As for the rest, as long you know exactly what style of dress / make-up etc you want, it is not difficult to source for, only thing is to compare prices. Anyway you have enough time since your wedding is in 2004. I read from the forum that Hitech printers offers a very good deal &amp; I intend to check them out for printing of my wedding cards. I paid $1000 for a MTM wedding dress, but rental only. Make-up &amp; hair costs abt $428 as I am hiring Sarah Tan (she seems to be highly recommended. As for flowers, I haven't gotten any quotes from any florists yet. Hope the info I gave helps.

Hi Sunshinekid,

did you find time to call Ben Foods ? Just wondering, bcos I might also want to serve wine after all.

Guess all of you here are busy with other stuff, as for myself, I try to log in here as often as I can bcos it helps me to destress by sharing &amp; getting ideas from the rest of the brides.

Cheers ....
Nofuss