(2003) Brides of year 2003

kk,

tempur is a brand of the bed and pillows. You cna get it from the major shopping centres. but the bed is not displayed out.

I got the pillow , quite good. got neck ache also can become dun have pain after sleeping for a few days.

so my bf seeing that it is quite good wanted to get the bed but i'm afraid bed is different.

You know, today kana nag again. .. kekekeke. I messed up his room again . hahahahha .. he say " you just come back from overseas is it, so messy. you still so messy, dun think about what walk in wardrobe cos how many wardrobe given to you also no use"

So he clean up again. hahahahhaha. dun mind getting nag since he do the clean up everytime .

yi,

she spent so much because she like a lot of photos that were taken. you just got to control yourselves loh. if not, since the samples prints will be given to you, you can go and develop into a bigger size yourselves also.

HI cLUeless and floci,

i think the banquet prices for sept will be higher cos it is the lunar 8th mth. mine was more expensive by $30 per table. And if you wnat those more popular hotels, you got to book fast cos' a lot of them are being book. Call the hotel and ask for catering sales or banquet sales. they should be able to tell you the dates taken up or available.

As for the range of mtm wedding dress , in singapore , it should cost around 1500+ to 2000+ for mtm. for rental, it can range from 800+ to 1800+. that is the mean rate that is going on out there. You do not what to take a package. most of the things are inclusive.

You can just walk into the shop and ask them. There are a whole stretch along tanjong pagar road.(there are a few hardselling shops there), delfi orchard also alot. u can also flip through magazines to see which type of style you like since those more reputable ones are advertise on magazines like herworld or female brides.

For the bridal shop , there are a few which you may have wish to avoid going since they always hardsell. it can be found in thsi forum as well. but there are still happy brides from the shops.

yi

i will definateli drop by J&C after ur gd comments on them...
they r one of the bridal i shortlisted then...
but after hearin the gowns aint tat nice from my colleague, i decided 2 drop 2 the idea 2 pay them a visit...
perhaps next time when u need 2 drop by 4 ur fittin, i go with u lor... ( if u dun mind )

hazel, ling, kk, yi

will b meetin my id 2 nite...
c their workmanship then decide 2 sign up with them or nt...
will keep u gers posted...

ling

ur BIL needs any recommendation on id???
can pass u the 2 shortlisted id contacts...
one of them is a pure id...
their works r advertised in id magz but her quotes r above my budget so gonna get the latter...

flori

welcome 2 2003 brides...

i cant help on the bridal & banquet part coz hvnt confirmed mine yet...

haz

so u confirmed gettin impress 21???

ling,

my customary will only be next year oct maybe. not yet pick date :P

malaysia package very cheap! my colleague took one package, get all the photos developed. and they even went to tioman to take outdoor phototgraphy.

my colleague went to watch the eye. saw something he is not supposed to see.. kekekee..

the brand tempur sounds familiar.. kekee.. probably i see it before.

u still so happy when ur hubby scold u .hahhaa.. if my hubby scold me, i feel so sad

agree with JYL that bride usually wear WG for tea ceremony at IL's place. But one can always be different! moreover, yr gown sounds difficult for you to manuveour freely =0)

well, your timing has to be right then .. after arriving at IL's place, went straight into the bedroom and change ... er .. a bit strange lah, coz' ppl (if there's a lot of guests) will wonder where the bride has gone =P

JYL,
you are right abt having the one and only chance to wear the kwa! =)

so JYL & 1027 are Cantonese? ususally Canto ppl will wear kwa =)

JYL,
nope, hv only looked at Graceful Image at The Oriental's Wedding Extraganza last Sun. didn't even have the chance to talk with the designer to ask what kind of gowns would she design for me ...
sigh ... the models wear all those sleeveless, off shoulders gowns so nice ... but i can't "show off" my shoulders leh ... lots of er-hm ...

if i recall correctly, my P21 blk is 652 ... not sure if we are near, must go back and chk ...

ohhh , what's Silouette's website address?

oohhh found the Silouette website ...

at Stamford house ...hmm nice place ...
JYL, hv you chk out their bridal package?

hi ling,

i wld surely ask my hubby to control me when selecting the fotos coz no point spending so much on the fotos that nobody will be interested after the BIG day! ;p Rather spend on our honeymoon that we will remember forever!

like you, my hubby always does the cleaning up too! hez a neater person than me! so better still, since i'm taking part-time course, he cleans up lor!

hi flowee,

J&C OTR gowns are really not nice but if you want MTM, the designer, Cynthia is rather good!

you will be kind of disappointed by the OTR gowns but dun be disheartened since you are doing MTM. Do your homework, look through magazine for what you really want and Cynthia will comment whether looks nice on you and wat is suitable on you! Likes her personal service!

hehehe, i'm confirmed not related to cynthia (hehehe, you know wat i mean!)

i'm gog for my 1st fitting in August, itz a tuesday, if you dun mind why not, you can come along and give me your comments too!
Then maybe you can try try a few too leh! scare next time go and try cannot fit liao coz put on weight!

Ling and yi ah...sure sure, i will remember...it's just a mixed up lah..hahah

Kk!! sorry sorry! think i came back form leave is it? then so many emails..i think i accidentally deleted! sorry la!
me selected the one in jurong lor, next to where i am staying now.

flowee..me dun know yet..Henry still have not fax me the revised quote.

flowee,

thank you for your help. but I dun think they like any suggestion . cos hoh, actually my FIl have lots of contacts in doing house and very cheap somemore but my BIL did not want to use them. cos scared the girl dun like. so don't bother about them. otherwise, I will be wasting my breath as well so I will just save my energy for something else. Thanks anyway, if I get the house, then i look for you ok.

kk,

yah, m'sia package consider very cheap. you know i sign up one photo taking only . cos about rm6388. got 2x30pcs of 18r.
one is the magazine style which until todya i cannot see one in s'pore that is as nice as the one i saw . and one is full page photos only.(the magazine style will be more than 30pcs cos it is 30photos but will be here and there. so may come to 35 or even more pages) also got 120pcs of the prints . and i will be going to mersing to take photo. (also in johor but it is kampong type of style) then the gowns is otr ones loh. then a small book for my mum's side. and the 40r roll up poster as i said and 2 table top and etc.

Then i will be signing another with divine johor. that will cost around rm3988. (i am still waiting for their shows).
1 otr wedding gown(but i will pay to get mtm and to keep)

1mtm evening gown to keep

32pcs 10r album
men's suit x2 mtm to keep
S$180 to do the car and flower in singapore
dunmo got what else.

Wow, you in oct 03?? later than me hoh. and you sign up already ah. you fast man.

Errrr, what did he see????????

btw, which bridal shop is your colleage with? i just wnat to see her what's her comments/??

Yi,

your 1st fitting in august?? can i go and KPO.??

kk,
I very happy when he nag at me
like to see his irritated but cannot do anything to me face. hahahahaha...But you know hoh, i want what also get what, not shiok at all kekekek..

Hello May & SLK,

Japan! Which part? Tokyo? Full of envy. : )
wish to go too!!!! in fact, shortlisted it for my honeymoon. terrible lah. think of it almost one year in advance. that's why i must save here and there. japan is so expensive. no chance of me going overseas. my job is deskbound and my company is a local one so kiss overseas work trip goodbye.

May, good to hear that you are feeling better. yah lah, know sure got bad and good reviews but this one really bad because my friend's parents and all the relatives of the bride have negative remarks lah. cannot take it, must find out why. good for GH to have feedback. service industry, reviews are a important source of marketing. bad word of mouth can kill one leh. yes, will take both your advice to be happy bride. when you leaving. must tell us, then it will just be me and SLK. can you still access internet????? must tell us all about your trip!

SLK, my friend will only be going home this weekend. she will get us the details. sorry, thought just to share with you. no need to trouble your BIL if not convenient, we can always feedback to our own co-ordinator. but do help me to thank him for being so helpful!

Hi Beemer,

If you really want to solicit for business to rent your BMW in the forum, as communicated through e-mail, we would appreciate if you can respect our requirement that you need to be an advertiser. Thank you.

Hi gals... many thanks for all the concern =)

Yea I am website designer too... and I have been out trying to get clients. Am freelancing see. My company deals with multimedia of a nature that I cannot disclose here... I also do freelance photography so gotta leave my son with Dad sometimes and run outside to shoot for clients.
Kaelen hates it when I am gone coz he doesnt get his nummies has the bottle stuffed into his mouth. he prefers my milk to formula & y not itz better too!

My com broke down on me and I was quite frustrated but itz fixed now. In any case I have 2.

Facials... do they work? I only went for one in my whole life and boy did it hurt. But now to think of it... labour was worse.

The ceremony expenditures are so high... I think by the time FH and I can hold ours... white hair sprouting already. Kidding... prob loan frm parents and pay back with instalments.

I'd rather elope or hey do a beach potluck wedding with close friends and relatives... fun and cheaper & I dun think they'd mind. =)

Anyway anyone is free to email me... if they dun see me online oft enough.

Hope we can all meet and have an outing soon. =)

Hi Adrienne,

Yup, I'm both a freelancer + a company attached graphic/web designer.

As for the rates, I do not wish to disclose here as I would like to take part as a bride & not to promote my services.

I hope you understand.

Are you gals chating 2nite? Wait for me hor...

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - Haven't book your banquet &amp; package yet? Try to book by this year, so tat you only pay 3% GST
wat's id?

<FONT COLOR="orange">Ling</FONT> - Does your freckles still come out after the treatment? My process still slow...

Good Morning Jan and May,

May, I hope you are recovered or almost recovered now
I also envy you leh. Wish I can go on a trip now too. So stressed with work

Jan, no worries, you will definitely get your chance to go to Tokyo next time
It's really a costly country to go. If it's not for work, I don't think I can ever afford to go there leisurely. btw, no worries about my BIL. He's a very kind and helpful guy. And thanks for sharing the feedback with me

May, when are you flying off? Enjoy your trip ya!

yi jie and other gals,

did u all change ur taps during reno? If u did, do u demand that the old taps be given back to u all instead of the contractor taking them away?

Morning gals,

I am feeling much better today and hope that by next week, i will be ok with my hearing.

I am flying next Sat and will be gone for slightly more than a week. Will be going to Osaka and Tokyo. Actually i find that things are not that expensive in Japan as compared to US. I was there earlier this year for work and quite enjoyed myself. The exchange rate was better and had a great time shopping at the 100 yen stores. I bought so much rubbish..hee..hee,,

However, it is raining lately and still got typhoons so hope all will clear up by the end of the month.

Jan: If you really confirm about Japan for your honeymoon. Let me know, can give you some advise. I had the chance to tour Osaka, Tokyo and Kyoto earlier this year with my hubby...it was very tiring for us, coz we had to walk and walk and walk, my legs nearer fell off my body but come to think about it, we really had fun though.

Aiya, dont envy me lah..i sick of traveling. i want to stay home with hubby...everytime i fly i miss him and worst i spend more money buying this and that...

When u have too much of a good thing..it is human nature to get sick of it ...

hi ling,

sure why not? let me know if you all want to come along but itz on a weekday!

hi kk,

yap, I change the master room toilet tap but oso dun know where is the old one liao coz never notice since we oso dun want!

but i know the entire sink was left for us which we threw away liao 2! hehehehe

Halo, I am new here. I am a Jan 2003 bride, have yet to make any preparations except getting a bridal package for Bridal Zone.Have been sourcing for venues for banquets, coz of squabbling with hubby, hence everything on halt.Could anyone kindly tell me what should I do next?

hi, Li May,

Welcome here. What happen??? why squabbling???

Anyway,
Do your bridal shop provide the photography for actual day?
2. videography.
3. makeup (think brizal zone is providing this)
4. I think that should be all for this momment. more things will come as the day nearer.

hope it helps.

elaine,

is it we book this year is still 3%. but by the time we pay , they may say the prevailing gst. remember it is +++. ai yah. stupid those ppl who think of this 5% gst. pay tax also not so high i think.

My face . haizz, dun say already. half cleared half got . but very light ones. think got to do another time. the stupid doctor ask me to do again that day but i tell him i dun want. you know hoh, when i go out the nurse say i shd come back another mth later and ask the doc for discount. THink i will do one last time next mth and thats it.

wow, hi Li May

you are more ermm "narrower" than me... hehe. tot i was already very behind time when i was sourcing for my location last time. (in the end, we not holding dinner!)
when in Jan are you thinking about?

As for the squabbling with your FH, why dun you both sit down and list the requirements than satisfy both of you? anyway, care to share whats the disagreement? : )

Hi Tarsier,
Thanks for ur fast response and concern.
My tentative wedding date is on 13th of Jan.
My Fh and I had shortlisted several hotels and we actually made a trip down to Amara and I fell in love with it. A few days later, we went down to Concorde and he fell in love with it (coz he had his co's D&amp;D held there). Eversince then, once we talked abt our wedding venues, we will start squabbling.
Sorry for the long winded.

Hi, Ling.
Thanks for your concern.
Bridal ZOne does not provide videography and photography for the actual day, but we had decided to get the photographer from Bridal ZOne coz the rates are rather reasonable from the others that we sourced. We are still considering abt the videography.
They provide the makeup for both shooting and actual day.

oh no......... but maybe can discuss what made both of you fall in love with the respective hotels? sure can come to a consensus one...

I fell in love with the ambience and atmosphere at Amaram, while my hubby felt tat the wedding consultant at COncorde will do a gd job.
Hiyah, me can't really talk to him, once start to talk, WWIII will be on the way.
Tarsier, mind if I ask u how old are u and wat are u doin presently?

yi jie,

if the whole sink is returned to u, then the tap should be on it rite? kekee.. i saw my old sinks with the taps in the storeroom. But hor, i dun see my shower taps. i changed that too.

Hello SLK &amp; May,

SLK, found out info based on my friend's memory. The wedding was on 8.6.2002 and the bride's surname is Lee. The wedding is on the 4th Floor. She cannot remember which room but she wanted us to feedback that this is her 3rd or 4th time attending a wedding at GH. The past few times were good but this time she felt the drastic drop in food quality and was really put off. She assured me she is not the only one put off

Very sad, i booked GH also partly due to her good reviews. Wedding should be a happy affair.

May, good to hear you are feeling better already. Still have a week to catch up on rest so you must take plenty of rest. So nice, you and hubby went Japan. How long did you both stay having to go so many places. Me no courage to tell my hubby want to go japan for honeymoon lah. He's job now not very stable so I am trying to keep all these to myself. Don't want to presurrise him.

Already he is thinking of doing away with the banquet. By doing so we can get a flat since don't need wedding package too. Whenever he say this i really don't know what to say so just keep quiet. I don't mind not having these. They are actually requested by our parents so.....

Anyway, you got chance to travel on company's account so make the best of it. Money i feel is to be spend. we can't bring it with us to anywhere. if we are happy why not? as long as we don't waste money i feel it's ok to make ourselves happy. life very short only. Come to think of it, we are at the half way mark already should value it even more.

Yi,

me wanna come your house too!! i missed that other time 'cos i having exams right!!
so when can we go? please don't wait till oct/nov ...or else i can't go again! hehhe

ling,

yah lor..singapore bridal shops hor, if we want magazine style type of album, should be more expensive. i am maybe going for that too, if less budget constraint.. kekekee...

my colleague is a "he" :P

my hubby liked fame bridal a lot, so that time i was very excited too.. so we dun mind signing up early. anyway, we dun want to shop around for the shops anymore, very tiring and see until blur.. kekekee.. so we decide to sign up lor. i took the rom gown from fame bridal. so far so good and i am happy with the service

wow..so u must be really tiring when the times come for photoshoot coz u got to manage with 2 bridal shops! But guess the effects will be really different! And it will be a greater experience

yi jie,

do u have metal storage racks in ur storeroom? where u got them from? I want "L" shape one. Which shop is cheap and good?

Oh dear, Jan. Dont worry too much. I am sure everything will be fine eventually. I too feel that wedding banquet is more for our parents than us, but what to do..it is a face issue.

If i have my way, i also wanted to do away but my hubby the only son so die..die also must have and then i eldest daughter some more....

I was there with my hubby for about a week. It was very rush, he joined me halfway through my business meetings. So while i worked, he went sightseeing. It was very packed, we wanted to see everything in a very short time. And we purchased the Japan Rail Pass which was very worthwhile allowing us to see the three cities while traveling on rail.

hi jan and may,

jan, don't worry too much. like what may said, i'm sure everything will be fine.

may, guess what? i also wanted to do away the banquet.. and my parents are ok with it. but likewise, my hubby is the only son so die die need banquet.

jan, we are also paying for all these ourselves, also saving real hard. i'm sure more than half the people in this forum are in the same shoes as us, so you are not alone

take it easy ya?

btw, thanks for the details, i will let my BIL know

hello all jan03 brides,

i might be holding my wedding on 17/1/03...haven really done anything yet except decidedon the venue and the bridal shop.....why MIGHT...b'cos both of us felt that Jan is a bit of rush since we have not done anything yet BUT my FIL INSIST that we hold our wedding on that date.....we really don't know what to do now....

can you gals tell me whether i'll be rushed to do things instead doing them relax relax....both of us cannot be rush 'cos we'll make hasty decision since we are very undecisive p

me? 1976 one... havent pass birthday yet...
i working lor... (why huh?)

wat abt u leh?

Guess I'm not alone afterall... I thought I'm the only one far behind time. :P Mine is on Jan 11. I haven't decide on my boutique yet but will do so this weekend!! :P

Li May, maybe both of u shld look weigh the pros and cons on why each of u like that particular hotel, take into consideration like location, food, ambience, etc. Compare the list and then decide or shop around again till u both like to hold your wedding.

hazel, you want to go, i also want to go. you also starting to renovate your house soon hah?

kk, i like to take photo and be mei mei . so it is ok. i know that the phototaking package is split into 2 days. but for the divine one, i dun know it is 1 or 2 days. but i will take the photo taking one in jan or so. divine will be later maybe in may or june 03.

Really looking forward to it. so when are you going for the gown fitting and the phototaking??

SLK, we are also paying everything ourselves. So it is really tight too. i am hoping that my hubby family can help out with the house reno too. But we dont want to open our mouth yet.

Because money is so tight that's why i chose Amara hotel. Within budget and i managed to negotiate for a weekday rate on a public holiday. So me and hubby felt that this is really a bonus. Initally, i never even dare to think of having the banquet on weekend coz it is so expensive.

Now, i am trying to save on the bridal...but abit hard leh...my hubby asked me to go to neighbourhood shops like Ang Mo Kio, Jurong etc...

ling,

i dun look nice in photos. so i can't imagine how i look in wedding photos.. hhaaa.. but i guess i will be really excited and i guess perhaps with makeover, i will look very different :P

when is ur customary?

Not so soon lor. I haven't even settled a date for customary. If customary in oct, i presume jul/aug then need to go for gown fitting and photoshoot?

May &amp; SLK,

thanks for the comfort lah. pai sei
give all of you extra worries. yah, we too. didn't want the banquet. face face face,sigh. you both marrying only sons. tough. me abit better just that he is the youngest so the baby of the family. his mum say "last wedding in their family loi and last chance for her to host a wedding dinner so die die also must have" tough hor? hahaha!

yah,agree alot of us paying off the big sums ourselves.not easy. i wanted to change the doors for the built in cupboards under his window. that day went to ask one of the shops at IMM for quotation. told me $1200! we both got shocked. decided no choice i got to stick to old cupboards. it's just that they are so old. wooden doors i wanted to change to glass panels so expensive. any suggestions? it's just four panels of glass!!!!! they want to rob me. so expensive.

Tarsier, me two years younger than u. Juz graduated from poly, right now, staying at hm be yellow-faced.

Fyln, thanks for your advice. Will be weighing the pros and cons. Perhaps will be sourcing another hotel other than COncorde and Amara

kk ah datz my cuz's gf's photo at http://www.geocities.com/mysgphotoalbum/index.html
(index2 is my son's godma...)Those were the fun fun wans I did for them... but I dun really freelance much these days doing photography ...I just like to do for my frenz relatives to brighten their day... so if I do for u itz foc and fun fun wan ( NOT BUSINESS... Chin Leng dun kill me...)

My focus now is really website designing for corporate... as well as writing scripts for short films... sighs I want to take part in scriptwriting competition but must submit by November and I still got so much more to revise in my script. Pengz.Plus got a 50 over page project upcoming for website design. So busy and so tired from feeding my kid round the clock... tho' I very much the bonding of breastfeeding.

I am wondering why us Chinese dun ever think of HDB Void Deck weddings? I think they are quite funky stuff. Have them in the evening and make it classy altho itz downstairs... I dun wan a mundane restaurant wedding leh... hmmm... trying to think outta the box... any suggestions? My HDB site has this big place to hold funerals/weddings/RC events in and I was thinking of utilising it...I guess the bad thing is lack of privacy huh? But I think the community thing the Malays have going for them is kinda funky sometimes.

Lee Mei: Whenever u feel a squabble coming on, walk away from the fight and instead get a glass of water and count to ten. Alternatively if itz @ night, tell him "letz both turn in, cool down and talk about it tomorrow when we are in the right frame of mind."

My hubby and I believe in being honest to each other. A relationship is build on trust and we have to respect each other's trust in the other. When angry, we shouldnt keep it in to explode in the future but to sit down and talk about it &amp; deal with probs constructively.

Argument if constructive is good but if destructive ( finger pointing, venting anger) ...datz bad.

If there is anger hanging over you both in an argument, let there be a quiet time to forget about the squabbling and to remember why you fell in love with each other in the first place. Then when you both are less angry and ready to communicate (not yell), look at problem in constructive light and talk about it nicely to each other.

My hubby has a very quick and bad temper and likes to vent it on me (when com spoil, ppl bump into him never say sorry, day is bad, colleagues give trouble etc) but I have been telling him to reflect on these episodes after his anger is more or less disappeared. He sees things in a better light this way and slowly has learned to not blow up at everything. Our heart to heart talks meant that we blew up at each other less and communicated more. Our relationship has grown as a result.

adrienne,

but i dun think older generation would like to hold wedding in the site HSB provided. kekee.. coz the place also use to hold funeral wakes wan. They will say it is inauspicious lor. Sometimes when walking past the site, my mum ask me to walk at the side, and not thru' the right centre. So i definitely know she mind this idea :P

hi hazel,

the gals have not been to my love nest yet lah!
difficult to arrange a day everyone is free leh!
my class oso starts liao and itz on mon, wed and fri. So you guys got to let me know when? :p

hi kk mei,

i answered your enquiry on the metal racks yesterday through sms liao hor?!