(2003) Brides of year 2003

Morning gals!

Adrienne,
How abt a wedding-in-the-park? Fort Canning, Botanical Gardens, Zoo or Birdpark!

That can be quite funky, as u call it... though the costs of a marqee, floral setup, buffet and other logistics could be higher than if u opt for the mundane restaurent... just a suggestion!

Wah Li May!!! tai tai ah!!! i have always been trying to look for that kind of position, but cannot find.. ; P

Hi Flyn,
better find one fast... cos the gowns take time to make and then u may not get the photographer you want. which boutique u thinking of?

Actually i also haven decided on the date... 11 Jan is a sat hor... hmmm..... i was thinking where 18 or 11 Jan too.. : )

Jan, sorry do not know much about reno yet. But why dont you try IKEA. I think you can buy the doors there and fix it yourself. That will save you some money.

hi jan and may,

so glad it's friday! have been so busy the whole day.... came to the office at 7am for conference call

jan, aiyo, no need to be pai seh, that's what friends are for
my hubby is the youngest too, he has 2 sisters so considered only son.

may, i am also hoping my FIL will help chip in abit. he asked for so many tables (17!!) for his friends and relatives at hubby's sister's wedding last year, he took all the ang pows and didn't give a single cent back. maybe he thought he deserve the ang pows since it was part of dowry given by my BIL's family. they are lucky as my BIL's parents paid for the tables given to my FIL.

we are also holding our banquet on a weekday to save some money too.

sigh.... no choice lor, we didn't pick a rich man's son! hahahahahaha! your hubby asked you to go neighbourhood shops? guys are like that... they dun seem to be too concerned about such things.

anyway, lucky we have the sisters here to pour our grievances

have a good weekend!

Hello SLK & May,

I am so glad weekend is here too. Me still at office. I start work at 8am!!!!! Nearly 12 hours of work already. Terrible busy day for me too so tomorrow i am going to eat good meals to reward myself.

SLK, terrible hor, get you come in to work so early just for a call. not that they cannot talk one hour later unless you talking about overseas kind and the people need to sleep lah. then i guess no choice lah. working life is like taht. how's the dieting coming by? I have been so stress at work etc etc, i put on 2 kg leh. very sad. must think of ways to cut down on intake but whenever i stress i eat alot. terrible.

May, will try to go ikea to see but i think tough because ikea's furniture meant for ikea's design. this cupboard of his already donkey years
already! will see how. you both going for the wedding show tonight for allure??? share with me after you go ie if you are both going lah.

17 tables. i thought i in worst shape than you. i am taking grand ballroom. min 45 tables. my family only needs 5 the rest from my FIL!!!!!!! horrors! and they want weekend so that everyone can turn up!!!!!!! shock shock shock was my initial feeling. hoping they will help out abit with the wedding banquet. that one is sucidal!

agree. the guys always bocup one when it comes to gown packages. they ask us to go neighbourhood can loi, no need so expensive and branded. normal coming from them since they only can wear suit. no bare backs or necklines or material to think much about so hahaha, they got no choice lah.

ok, me going home. you all have a good weekend too.

heehee, actually me thot of findin job, but hubby say since now need to prepare for wedding, muz as well stay at hm, can prepare for the wedding.

Hi!Gals, I am also a Jan 2003 bride. My Wedding date is on 11 Jan 2003.

Gals, do you all have any recommend for actual day Video camera man?

Evon Un

understand you had booked your hotel for your wedding already. Are you required to pay any deposit now?

The Oriental Hotel requires us to pay a deposit of $2000/ $3000 by 31 Jul 02 ... and i find that too early lah ... but also would like to book it as it has quite an attractive offer ...

Dew ah,
I have booked with Conrad and already paid the deposit to secure the date. Normally hotels wun "pressure" us to put a deposit unless there are other couples are seriously looking at the same date as well and my research on Ritz, Full and Conrad, most weekends in Oct already full (for sure Conrad all gone liao). Oct next year is auspicious mah. I think most hotels are pretty good at the freebies thing. And weekend weddings are always harder to bargain anyway..not to mention in "hot" periods. Just 2 cents

Thanks Sweets,

What Oriental offers that attracts me is that it's giving us the weekday rates, even though my date is on a weekend , if we book by 31 Jul.
But i want to see see look look leh ...

went to a couple of hotels last weekend ... sigh, think my dream wedding of having it outdoors may not come true ...

being guests, would you rather hv it indoor or out? will guests think it's bit "cheap" ? i had Grand Corpthorne & Good Wood Park in mind for ourdoors ... BUT ... =(

Dew ah....I guess "younger" guests like us dun mind an outdoor wedding as much as the older folks...sounds like Grand Corp and GW Park pretty decent mah...what abt having ROM outdoors and banquet indoors ??? cannot ah ??? why your big BUT ?

hi nite gal,

thanks for your compliment...
ya... very far from my working place unless i can find a job nearer to home after my graduation...hee hee..

wa, your home should be near mrt? tho raffles place is still far from your home...

i'm thinking of skipping for cardio to start with...

yep, must encourage one another...

hi LT,
i receive your mail.
will call them.. need to start early..

gals, i'm actually wearing spectacles...but i guess i need to change to contact lens very soon. i have tried contacts a few times but it's too painful... anyone can help to advise how to wear one? and which lenses the best- hard or soft, disposables or normal wear? thanks in advance...

I am also planning my wedding in Oct. Waiting 4 the tong shu 2 b out b4 the actual date can b confirmed.

1027 & JYL, me also Dragon.... So we r of e same age.

My choice of hotel is Merchant Court & Orchard Hotel. Any comments....

hi Jungle Bell..hee
your nick so cute....

when tong shu out ah ???....ah nah ah nah..u all very good same age...hmmpphh...leave me out issit

heee...tell us more abt your planning leh !

good morning gals,

can i just check with you. What hotels is good?

My sis is planning to hold her wedding on Mar 2003 and she now intend to hold a dinner instead of buffet.

She have already check out Raffles and Ritz calton. Sheraton is out as she doesn't want to hold at the same place.

Please help me. I have suggested Merchant Court ,Four seasons, Oriental, and Marina Mardarin . Is there any other good ones to recommend?

Thanks, Adrienne.
I have been together with my hubby for 7.5 yrs liao, hehehehe, imagine that, I am oni 24 this yr. His temper is much much more shorther than ur hubby and he likes to vent on me too.HAiz, what to do. He is a potential MCP, even his buddies say so.
Have been reading rather alot abt you in this forum. So, how is your preparations for ur wedding?
Take care.
Thanks once again

ling,

so rush?? ur sis change her decision recently?

i am interested in restarants. Budget wise, we dun want to spend more than $600. Ideally around $500 or less. Any recommendations? i have short listed a few. So waiting to choose a date, then can go recee liao.

Hotel wise.. i have shortlisted plaza parkroyal. The food and ambience not bad. Maybe ur sis like to give a try?

kk,

Ya loh. she just decided a few weeks back. intially, she didn't even want to go through the ceremony. but my mum totally disagree. so she decided to have a reception instead but yesterday, she says she wants a dinner.

I am helping her to find all the things like video,photo, etc. now, the most important thing is the dinner. so got to see which is good.

kk, if you are planning to spent 500-600. that should be good enough for a lot of places. oriental is like 580-680(got to check out the price -my bil is going to be at oriental) if i am not wrong. their service is not bad.

Li may,

you also 24 this year, which month are you?. wow, 7 yrs. me and my bf only 4yrs together.

Hi there, Ling.
Me born in mth of June.
Heheheheh, 7 yrs liao, very long hor. Every1 asking me and my hubby got get the 7 yr itch ornot.

Hi Sweets,

Aiya, typo error, its Jingle Bell. So blur 1

I think the tong shu is coming out somewhere in Oct. Duno also, leaving to my MIL to decide.

I just finish my reno. Currently sourcing for bridal studio & hotel lor. Quite like Kai's design but he is at the high side. Still cannot decide leh. As for studio photo will choose Andrew Choi,saw his portfolio & think he is quite good. I m not the type that can do pose in front of the camera. Prefer those natural shoots.

As mentioned, still can't decide on whether Merchant Court or Orchard hotel. Do u knw next yr, we hv 2 pay 5% GST. So much more expensive....

Share wif me if u hv any comments.

Hullo Dew!

Sorry ah ... long period of silence there coz damn busy...

Regarding your question, Yes! i had to pay a deposit to secure the date. Also coz i snatched the date from another conference organiser ...

eh, weekday rates for weekend wedding is damn worth it! If you like the ballroom, just grab! Weekend weddings are few ... imagine 1 year only got 52 weekends. If you like me ONLY want it on a Saturday, then all the more you must book early!

Welcome Jingle Bell !!
Orchard hotel is quite nice, the room is big and square. Somemore the reception area is quite private ... no need to share with another couple. I also saw the rooms and i esp like the dressing room!

ladies, i heard the tong shu will be out by the end of the 6th lunar month.

oh yah, as long as your wedding is on 01 Jan 2003 onwards, everybody pays 5% GST.

If they quote you a Nett rate for a wedding next year, then you dun have to worry further lor!

Ling,

actually i am thinking of having just a simple buffet lunch to replace the dinner coz i think it is much simpler and less costly. And good if we can fly off that night for honeymoon.. keee.. but i never think of skipping the tea ceremony as i think it is a must to show respect to our parents and older relatives.

i check liao. oriental seem to be pretty expensive too. and there is no free flow of beer. so if add up everything, it will turn out to be rather costly.

Hi 1027,
Understand that the Orchard hotel ballroom is only exclusive if u book a min of 60 tables. They have actually 3 rooms, so if it happen to hv 2 couples than it will not b exclusive. Quite messy, as guests come & can't find. My 1st choice is still Merchant Court, their main ballroom is exclusive but the min is 35 tables.

Is it? The tong shu will b out by end of 6th lunar month. It'll b easier 4 me, cos I hear a lot of dates have been booked even it is still 11/2yr 2 go.

I don think gt hotel charge Nett rate right? They usually say +GST +Service charge +govt tax. Very siong leh.

How's ur planning & preparation?

Hi Jingle Bells

Yah, few hotels charge nett rate these days. In fact, getting them to give free flow beer is already a killer.

My preparations? Aiyoh, if i tell you, the other brides in this thread will "scold" me again !!!

oh yah, in that case than Merchant court is nicer
coz stoopid orchard hotel ballroom is served only by 1 escalator and lift that are situated almost next to each other....
if there are 3 wedding dinners going on at the same time, its damn messy !

aiyo..so many taxes ah....how much is service and govt taxes ah ?? I know GST will be 5% next year....any ideas how to calc ?

Hi Sweets,

Service charge is 10% & 1% govt tax. So if your table is $600+++, then it is $699.93 per table.

SLK & May,

How are the both of you? May, you getting out of town this weekend right? SLK, how are things?
By the way, saw this article in the forum of theweddingfair. maybe you guys want to check it out. very scary, on the disposal of photographs. seems like the bridal shop sold the unchosen photographs to those garang-guni man!

How many ppl U inviting kk?

Btw Li May... Am getting ROMed in 2004... not sure if we can afford the ceremony but am logging in so I can learn more abt the expenditures and the experience... lol I jumped ahead in the "course of life" so I can give tips on pregnancy and delivery and taking care of baby more than I can with weddings first... heehee

Hmmm how does he vent it on you?
My gets all nasty but he doesnt hit me lah if he did I'd kick his ahems... but he only gets all mean and angry and yells and grumbles and nags non-stop... I'd put my foot down on MCP-ness. Marriage is about respect both ways so U better make sure he remembers your feelings are as impt as his. Sometimes cannot always give in... Remember when u get married u will be living with each other in the same house under the same roof. It is different from living with your parents and seeing each other everyday or once in a while.

I hope that your relationship with him will be a loving and fulfilling one esp if it is 7.5 yrs already... but remember if there is even a shred of doubt, walk away and walk away clean. Dun be bullied and accept it. If you want to stay on, be honest with him. Sit him down and have heart to heart talks. Maybe you could even find out why he is so MCP... =) Maybe you know already... but the whole point is don't bottle your hurts inside you or one day U will erupt like a Volcano... =p

Let him know that you love him and that relationship is based not just on love but trust, mutual respect and honesty and that a relationship that has these as its foundation lasts longer and is stronger. That is how I start my heart to heart with my FH at first. It has become a good habit and we are closer and better off being honest with one another. Trust bloomed and mutual respect followed. Love became stronger

That's my advice... anyway why they say behind a successful man is a woman is coz us gals are the one who improve them... wink. Remember God made Eve after Adam... lol

hi jan and may,

jan, i am fine, thanks.... just very busy at work
i am on course this thurs and fri, so lotsa things to clear by thurs.

ya lor, we also took grand ballroom..... my family only need 8 tables. sigh!

hey, i also eat alot when i am stressed! die lo.... so stressed lately... better start watching our weight cos our PS is not many months away hor.

SLK, when is your photoshoot? I haven't even booked a package yet. how? like very tight. getting panicky. stress at work too. everything is priority, rush rush rush so i munch munch munch. ate a whole packet of M&M in the morning. terrible. lunch was super heavy too. bad for my weight. have not been able to lose any. in fact i put on 2 kg.

hi jan,

hmmm.. thinking of arranging my PS in jan. which means to say i must start my gown selection soon!

sigh, i also munch munch munch non-stop. lost abit of weight then eat again.. so can never maintain the weight... so sad

dun worry, still got time, take yur time and pick slowly k

Hi SLK,

I thought of having my PS in Feb but my hubby say CNY so no one will work. If we take it in March, it will be too late. January is only 5 months away leh. how to lose weight. plus i am a sweets person. recently ate alot of ice cream. cannot resist. think we both must try harder. i can't seem to lose weight. not an easy task especially when i have to work late. where got time to excercise? plus i cannot get up early to excercise because so tired. terrible, so many excuses.

bridal package ok huh? still got time? good, i actually haven't really decided. i stop going around after short listing the 3 i told you about. lezen just moved their shop to mandarin hotel, got promotion package. i will go take a look again. last time i went,they don't have much gowns.

ok, meanwhile you take care.

hi kk mei,

howz your reno? shd have completed rite?
by the way, your entire reno cost is quite low.

mine is higher coz of my false ceiling, custom-made tv console, dining table and top cabinet.

must be busily cleaning and furnishing your love nest now!

now got to start planning for wedding huh?

hi jan,

ya lor, that is my worry too. i take a long time to lose weight but put on weight VERY fast! also forever giving myself excuses....

remember to choose wisely k?

you take care too gal!

yi jie,

thanks for sharing so much with me via sms last nite.. kekeke...

reno should be completed by this week. hope so lah, coz sunday we have to "xie tu" already and next sunday move our things in. there are always last minute things that crop up. hahaha.. like changing the door below the hob to sliding door, etc. But overall fine, and we are still happy with the works.

So now we are just waiting for the sliding door to be up, the painting to be done the second time and the washing of the floor and the installation of shower curtain rods.

i also have false ceilings at the entrance of the door and between the 3 bedrooms. 1 false ceiling around $100 i think.

Then i added 6 shelvings in the 2 bedrooms.. so that cost me another $600.

And i have a solid wood table at the entrance to pray to "tian gong", so that cost me another $200.

My solid wood shoe cabinet cost me around $960.

My installation of all lightings, electrical works and heater cost me around $730.

I change the toilet doors to sliding doors, cost around $220 per door and change the bedroom doors and each bedroom door around $110.

So the above all raise my original quotation price.. kekekeee...

Hopefully they wash the floor nicely and then i can do more cleaning up over the weekend. in fact i have washed the floor myself but hor, as i wash, 15 mins later the place gets dirty again! So dusty *yucks*

so early need to plan for wedding? kekekee.. i heard that tongshu is out already. so maybe mil will go get a date. yes, i am currently looking for restaurants and have shortlisted a few. but not yet decide which one. depends on the availability.

kk mei very forgetful wan.. need to ask yi jie again..where are u having ur wedding dinner? MC?
kekekee...

hi kk mei,

your false ceiling and doors are so cheap?
like i told you, my sliding door separating my master room and study area cost me S$500 liao!
and the bi-fold door at the kitchen entrance is oso S$750!

i have false ceiling in my living area, foyer area and above dining table but none in my bedrooms!

my bedroom doors are changed too but they are not part of my reno contract. we bought the doors separately from besglass at imm at S$580 each. itz expensive because itz metal with glass panels!

u were asking abt cornice yesterday? u mean you have it in your house?

o, tong shu is out? then i must inform my fren liao! lotsa of fren getting married next year!

o, my wedding is on 24 Jan 03, Friday. Yeap at Swissotel Merchant Court!
getting excited over seeing my gowns soon! hehehehe

hi yi jie,

yes, u told me ur sliding door. but urs solid wood with glass panels rite? hahaha.. mine just for toilets and not so big, so definitely cheaper than urs :P

how come ur bi fold door so expensive? got flowery design izzit?

wow, yi jie, u really spend a lot on doors!!! my bedroom doors only change to wood ones.

i have simple cornice in the living room only. actually we did not ask the id to do. but he do it for us. and at first he say free, but yesterday we saw him charging us the cornice at $240. Then we forget it coz he did not charge us for lots more things like shower rods (which are more difficult to install coz our sliding doors blocking), sliding doors under the hob and etc etc... and sometimes we dun like this dun like that and he will remove the thing and install new one. So considering the good service, we pay for the cornice! kekekee.. and moreover, we like the cornice very much, coz it really makes the place look different although it is a simple one

wow, so u need to give lots of ang pows next year! u cannot be ah yee liao rite? kekekee..

i love fridays too! but then, guess my mil won't like it coz she prefer weekends. So we want to have it on saturday. we know that guests very sian to attend dinner on sunday rite?

Hi Jan and SLK,

I have been sick again. Down with a terrible migraine. Went home yesterday after coming into the office for 2 hours and sleep for 5 hours. Today, must better.

I also very stressed, i got two huge ulcers..man. One down my throat...and i got to fly off this Sat...

Jan, i also have not choose my bridal... there are just too much to do...

To lose weight, try not to eat too much carbos. I have cut down on my rice in take, esp. at night...think it is working...

I have lost a little and i stop eating breakfast too...if hungry, i just eat biscuits and drinks lots of tea..that helps too...

kk

wow ur reno done oredi ah....
gd 4 u...
mine will dong tu on 2nd aug...

u mentioned abt shortlistin banquet venues???
which one u hv in mind oredi???

just to let you know that if you are interested in the hair removal, the machine is here next mon and tuesday. i will be going on the 29 830pm slot.

cheers.

hi kk mei,

yap, mine is wooden door with 3 panel of sandblasted glass! my bifold door is also wood with 2 vertical panel of clear glass! yap, you are rite, i really spend alot on doors but the doors from besglass are very nice, so no regrets at all!

married liao still can be ah yee lah! especially for close frens, no harm if they dun mind! already told my best fren that although i married first, still wanna be her ah yee when she get mnarried!

dun like sundays so choose friday coz no good saturday dates for us from Dec 02 to Jan 03!

sorry for MIA ing for so long. Only recently got my internet connection up

how's everyone? For me,
nothing to update as yet. No plans to execute yet as of now.....only thing settled is the wedding banquet.

Just receive a promotion on the X-Zen Bridal show coming up going to be held at Imperium Chinese dining @ Ngee Ann City on 26Aug. Anyone going? I tot of attending it......
its $18 Nett per couple.

I"m going to attend at Haytt wedding this coming Saturday.....shall share more laters.....

flowee jie,

yah u are going to dong tu next friday? i read ur msg in another thread

me meeting mei jie this sun to see her flat. want to join us? and if u dun mind, u can drop by my flat too

me only going for restaurants. Rivercity at excelsior, orient ocean at miramar, grand city at city hall. checking out plaza park royal and merchant court (from yi jie) too. Any recommendations? This are the more convenient locations we can think of. We dun want orchard area or bukit timah area. kekeke...

yi jie,

yup. although our final sales invoice from the id is $2500 more than the original quotation, we take it coz we have no regrets! we have added in so much things along the way, so it is hard on him too. kekekee...

really? my colleague told me married cannot be ah yee liao, can only see see look look, but cannot make fun or wat lor. kekekee...

actually i also hope no weekend dates available for us so we have to settle for weekdays. hahaha..weekday package and menu much cheaper!

hi may,

oh dear! how to travel when u are so sick

the weather is bad... so many people falling sick. at least one person will be on MC in my office lately. please take care huh.

hmm.. i think i must stop eating breakfast too! :P

kk

u r headin 2 mei jie place on sun???
wat time???
i will b droppin by durin the wkends 2 check if they hv retify the prob...

2nite meetin my id 2 look thru the detailin...
sat will b chosin material accordin 2 her...