(2003) Brides of year 2003

Lilac,
mine's on the #16.
we are very lucky i would say to be able to get one at tis floor at tis time.
So no complaints.... but i personally favor #17( not for tis block though.. cos that's the last flr- too hot).

Hey, can anyone tell me when should i start negotiating/discussing with the banquet coordinator for extras... other than those that were supposedly the standards in the PACKAGE???
Like for my case, I paid the deposit before any discussion/negotiation with them.... does it mean that i have no/less bargaining power?
I receive the contract listing the standard itwms for the banquet we put a deposit for... signed and returned.
Can I still negotiate?? When to approach them??

i realized that 20 sept 03 is rather popular date.I am having problems getting an actual day photographers. sigh... maybe i should change my date..

wannabebride,
hee, me no luck too with my unit/blk no! Better to bet on world cup lah!
So u're on at least 10th floor? That's really lucky, somemore last unit of the blk, no wonder u so happy!

jo, okie okie, will drop that idea abt spying...

flowee,
we have kinda decided on 21dec, i like the christmasy feeling, plus the hotels/restuarents will be nicely decorated too!
Now, we're holding on to 2 tentative bookings, both trying to pressure us to commit by next week.... how?? Anyway i said we need to look at the ballroom again, or maybe we'll check out another place? see how lor, headache lah... when everything finalised i'll let u know, okie?

Actually i like sep too... (my birthmth!) Just that u have to consider that it's a ultra HOT mth for weddings, so dinner venues/make-up artists/photographers/gowns all have to be booked VERY VERY early! And then since it's so popular, u prob can't get any discounts or extra services, just a guess lah... But still it's an auspicious mth, so that shd more than make up for everything else!

Hi wannabebride, just saw your last posting... 16th floor? So nice!! At my selection time, i think all the 11th floors and above all chosen! Very heng leh!

For the contract, if they want to be mean to u, they can say u already sign wat, so no more freebies.... but some hotels are more lenient (esp if they are not popular, or if it's off-peak season), they can still add if u bargain hard enough.... it's true u have lesser bargaining power after signing on the dotted line, but u can still exchange certain things, like give up the anniversary stay for more beer, etc... win-win situation, make it easier for them to justify the freebie lor! And then make sure they dun just say say, make them write down in black and white, in case your coordinator changes person! Why not talk to them now? I'm sure they wouldn't want to risk losing your business, right?

Hi Jo! Yah such coincidental, 3 of us selected #10 Maybe its becos' its not too low and not too high and not so expensive mah.

Wannabebride, mind if you disclose roughly how much you paid for your unit. Cos' I think by now the prices have dropped quite a bit and you probably have gotten a good deal.

naturally

might b stayin put in the yr end plans coz sept is a reali hot mth plus hvnt get a date yet...
by the time we had a date all venues might b taken up oredi...
will update u again...

glad u hv a date in mind oredi...
21 dec its so near 2 xmas i am sure the spirit of xmas is in the air muz b real fun...

u shortlisted restaurants also???
which one???
mind 2 share ur findin with mi???

angelia

if i aint wrong hers is blk 691...

Thanks Naturally. I'll pester my FH to go do the negotiating once the date is confirmed.. like Flowee, my FH is also waiting for the Tong Shu. Hope it's not too late to bargain... cos wat they are giving is really pathetic.

Hey Lilac. When did you get yours?? Cos from wat i know... the price is the same whether you select in Jan or now. Unless you got yours more than a year or two ago( which will be ard 10% higher), there shouldn't be any 'lugi'.
The unit at #9 is selling at 229K, so i guess yours should be ard 230K... since my is 7K more than the #9.. which means it's 1k per floor up.
So did you pay more?

hi flowee,

OIC! You thinking of getting life policy? Yeap, like wat my boss who is a CPA says the BEST investment now is an insurance policy!

Itz okay for all the contacts. I refer coz I find that they are good mah!

BTW, I have seen your ROM fotos b4 and tot I saw someone like you yesterday at suntec! hehehehe

yi

nod nod but my parents r veri against policys by insurance company... :P

i aint @ suntec city last nite...
was @ westmall... :P

u still owe mi ur pixs hor...
when postin online???

flowee,

OIC! so i made a mistake, lucky i never call up to u! :p

Yeap, still owe you my mini-honeymoon pixs hor! Will surely remember to take from love nest today and post on net for you to c ok!
Aiya, think we should really arrange to meet up!

elderly all like that wan lah, they feel that itz best to have money with us! they dun look at long-term wan!
But my mum is different, she does have a couple of policies though! :p

Elaine,

Now I my face is clear. hahahaha
Finally. Think I dun need to do any more laser.

But elaine, the other time when we meet , i did not see any pimples leh?????

Flowee,
Now busy searching for id hoh.

Gers,

Can recommend what shd i buy in Shanghai, will be going for a few days. Havn't read up what to get.

Bijiou,

Who have you look for for the photographers???

ai yoh, think it is really a busy date for marriage.

why don't you consider Sunday 21 Sept 03 instead. it is a sunday and the banquet is cheaper as well. You can save alot by getting a sunday banquet. Just a suggestions

flowee jie,

defects list can fax over to HDB wan har? heee.. we didn't know, thought have to report in person to branch office. So i guess u must have used very detailed descriptions of the defects. For us, our english bery powderful wan, so we need the officer help to really put down in words for us and she key into their system.. haaha...

Enjoy your discussions with the shortlisted ids. And it is really fun to visit showflats. More ideas will flow in

Yi jie,

Whenever i bite, i make sure i leave marks.. hahahaahaa... i told my hubby, whenever i bite him, means i am in a good mood and i am "fa sao"... hahaaa...

I overlay all the tiles too. The tiles given by HDB are one of the lousiest and lowest quality grade tiles!

This afternoon met with the id remember? So we chose the colours for the painting. 3 bedrooms are light pinkish in colour and the living room is towards white. We also chose colours for the vanity tops for the toilets. The master bedroom one is grey and the one for the common is orange, we try as much as possible to match the wall tiles given by HDB. Then we also chose the designs for the vanity tops cum basins. Well, i realise that if i choose somemore colours, i will go colour blind soon.. hahahaaha...

We also chose doors today. We dun use solid wood coz $240 per door! So we use the normal one that cost $140 per door. We chose the colours for doors too.

My id say can definitely finish before end July lor, coz we told him that we need to "xie tu" end July and move house beginning Aug.

Yi jie, where u go for mini honeymoon?? hehee...actually we plan to go for a short trip at the end of this year. But guess no budget for that
Anyway i may be having a short trip to thailand with mum and a few of her and my friends
Well, husband excluded :P

yi

keke u shd hv tried callin mi on my hand fone...
if tat ger ans her fone might b mi lor... :P

*nod nod* muz meet up some daz...
brin my hubby 2 c ur place...
wana 2 share with u my actual rom pixs also mah... :P

kk

ur rom pixs ready???
dun remember u showin mi hor... :P

ling

yes been buz with my id...
wat hv u been buz with???

kk & yi

tell u gers a secret... :P
i like 2 bite my guy when i am feelin happi & sometimes juz out of no reason...
keke... :P
& he loves 2 leave mi a 'dracula bite' from time 2 time 2... :P

flowee jie,

i dun know why we are so lazy, and we have not even arranged our photos.. hahahaa... probably i am too tied down with those "decision making" and my hubby dun do "girl-thing" - arranging photos wan.. hahhaa... dunno leh, me not very interested in photos nowadays, especially those with me in them.. heee.. probably they make me look so plumpb

Aiyohhhhhhh... as what i have said to yi jie, i also bite my hubby when i am feeling very happy.. hahahaa...

Yi jie, looks like we are all peverts.. hahahaaa....

kk

u seen my rom pixs???
if u hv u shd koe i aint thin also lor... :P

its ok if u dun hv time 2 sort out ur rom pixs...
juz show us wat ever u guys had taken...
no need 2 censor off... :P

kk & yi

ur hubby will give u dracula bites 2??? :P

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - ok lah...I was not lucky for the 1st 2 times mah...remember, I reject HDB twice, so my queue no. was push forward. Actually there was also 19th &amp; 18th floor, but we choosed 17th, coz 19th is the highest &amp; highest no good (leakage + hot) then 18th is facing afternoon sun, also too hot, so this 17th is the best we found, coz near LTR, morning sun + high floor.

<FONT COLOR="orange">Ling</FONT> - Tat's good to hear tat your face is cleared...Me aiya...still waiting loh. You can't see pimples or blemish to other day, coz I make-up mah...touch-up alot already, so you can't see. The doc told me mine should be at least 5 times to get it cleared but he said the safest is 10 to 12 times...$$$
but bo pian. I wan to clear it.

flowee jie,

i saw ur rom pics. U must be joking!!! U look so slim in the photos!! U wanna compare me to u in photos? hahaha...

Aiyoh, all my photos decent wan.. no need to censor off *wink*

No lah, my hubby dun give me dracula bites.. hahahaaa... he can;t bear to bite me wan ;P

Hi Josephine,

and me too ... will be staying at Punggol .. blk 652 !! i'm glad there's already so many friends even before moving in!

Hi Yvonne (paiseh..),

No prob. Prep is still going on... yet to confirm a hotel venue. most prob traders, the coordinators are so frenly and helpful... dun even have to bargain and they offer me seat covers... hopefully can consider this week...
err.... what else for the actual day?

how abt yours? should be quite alright?

What happen to the rest of the ladies? the thread is so quiet...

bluebonnet, got your photographer already?

HI 1027...
actually Oct is an extremely auspicious month next year...9th lunar month..good for weddings...*grin*

trying to get hotel booking down....havn't done much else yet...

Thanks all,

I wanna be a May Bride but am not sure which particular day. Does the hotels require me to give them exact date? If I'm not able to produce, does that mean I can't book the banquet?

Hey, do you guys look at those lunar calendar? I'm actually troubled over that too!

Hi shirsweetiepie,

Sure can! we also have a yahoo group
once in a while also have gathering

btw, your nickname is veri long

Yi,
The ID told me that homogeneous tiles are non scratch or stain resistance... now I am blur blur liao...

I am also born in 1976 but early part of the year so all of you are still younger than me :p

I am also a 2003 bride to be! Wow!

elaine

*nod nod* understand ur situation...
but glad u finali found ur love nest the bonus pt is nt in the same blk as ur sil...

when is ur major project comin 2 an end???
muz take a gd rest after it hor...

kk

i will get 2 c ur love nest veri soon coz it will b completed by july rite...

then i can go hse visitin @ mei jie &amp; ur place...
muz show mi the rom pixs when i c u ok...

shirsweetiepie

welcome 2 the 2003 brides threat...

how's ur weddin preparation comin along???
r u gettin rom soon??? or oredi romed???

sweetie

homo tile r supposed 2 b more heavy duty than ceramic tiles...
ceramic they r as gd juz tat when u drop somethin heavy on 2 it, the chip of area will b a diff color as the flr tiles...
i personali dun fancy homo tiles coz when u step on it u r able 2 feel the sharp corners of the tile as its not chamfered @ the edge of the tile...
plus the gap between 1 tile &amp; the other will b of a bigger gap than ceramic tiles...
as 4 ceramic its more comfortable 2 walk on coz of the chamfered edge...
our toes wont get cut by the sharp edges...

btw where is ur love nest located???
collected ur keys???
i will b finalisin my id soon...

congrates on ur forth comin weddin in 2003...
btw which mth will tat b???

kk,

You overlay even the toilet wall tiles too? me did not coz find the wall tiles alrite and thus dun wan to waste $!

My love nest paint colour is the same throughout as I'm into ZEN style, my love nest wall is in magnolia colour! B4 I settle for this colour, i chose different colours for all rooms and i got a big shock when i went there to c so ask ID to change all colours again!

OIC, my bedroom doors got from Besglass instead of from my ID, got it @ S$580 each! Itz metal with glass panels! Real nice ones! :p

O, I went Sydney and Brisbane for a short holiday after my ROM. Itz really a nice place!
Still can't forget the harbour bridge and opera house!

Me and hubby shelved all holiday plans this year coz must save $ for the wedding dinner in Jan next year!

flowee,

i oso wan to show you my rom pix and min-honeymoon pix mah! so sure must arrange to visit my place coz fotos at my love nest now!

hehehe, hubby used to leave "dracula bites' when we 1st started out but there was once colleague saw the bite and make fun of me so nw forbid him to do that anymore! But i do give it to him! hehehehe

shirsweetiepie ,

welcome to this thread! So whenz your wedding?
booked your banquet and bridal package liao?

sweetie,

glad your ID clarify the difference to you liao!

my house is done in homogenous tiles but i dun feel the shary corners cutting my foot lah! But itz up to individual though!

hi gers,

I'm so sad that korea lost yesterday!

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">elaine</FONT>, don't worry..i'm sure u can finish your project on time!
"jia you"

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">flowee</FONT>, think after i speak to the caterers, i will take a break till dec... hee hee... i have also chosen my makeup artist yesterday... so more or less everything major are done... just those details...which are very complicated...*sigh*

<FONT COLOR="119911">yi</FONT>, don't be sad ya... cheer up... ok?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">sweetie</FONT>, hi!! me also '76 baby, 1st half of the yr...

I have checked out with Hilarion, Ray ong of photolanguage which they are already booked. I am currently checking with Fast soup, and vividshots. Any other recommendations?

I am having my banquet on sunday, 21st. Sat (20th)is the church wedding and tea ceremony. No way to push everything on sun cos my fiance's church doesn't allow sunday wedding mass anymore. Also,my parents prefer it to be two-day affair so no choice have to split into 2 days and have to pay more for most services.

hi cherubies,

thanks for your concern, me sad coz cannot i like one of the korea player lah! Nvr mind lor, can c him again on sat! hehehehe

wow, therez alot of 1976 gals here hor! me also 1976 gal but year end, nov!

hi Jo Jo,

I actually got someone to select the date for us coz it will be a lot easier when you're searching for venues.

Its actually quite a headache for me to search for venue coz we're looking at 55 - 60 tables! sighz... wish i can just have a small and intimate wedding ceremony..

Hi Sweetie and Shirsweetiepie,
Congrats and welcome to this thread.

Elaine,
think your face looks fine to me. Wish you got clear face soon.
how much the doc charge you?

Flowee,
I am not busy wiht anything at the moment. Will be flying off to Shanghai tomorrow morning .Maybe get some cheongsam there. Read from the books that they tailor nice qipao there: then end july, i will be going to HOngkong to for tour and also look for my aunty. Maybe I will buy kua from there since it is so cheap.

This year like holiday year to me.
Must go to as many country as possible before settling down. Cos' my bf plan to have baby once we have our customary wedding.

Girls,

If you want me to get anything, just message me.

Cheers!!

hi tarsier,

me din join in the discussion coz my wedding preparation all settled. I have decided on banquet and bridal package liao mah!

so join in discussion with other gals in other threads regarding home &amp; decor! :p

u gals got your love nest already? &amp; where?

Really? I'm lucky then ...i started sometime mid-last month. Got my hotel of choice but had to change my original wedding date.

Gotta be quick then. Heard that the latest version of the tong shu will be out for circulation end of this month !

when i was checking for ballrooms, quite a number of them already had tentative bookings ... couples were supposed to confirm when the tong shu is out.

not to mention wedding couples got to fight with conference organisers for the ballroom!

Which hotels have you shortlisted?
I have some, with rather good bargains. If we have similar wedding size, maybe you can bargain for them as well.

Good luck !

Bijiou,

Wow, then your makeup artist and everything will be two day .

I have to check wiht my BF's brother for theirs. Their photographer is also quite good. will get back to you on the numbers . He charged them 2000 if i am not wrong . this includes the photo montage and the videography. Their is also a two day event cos they are holding two dinners. one in singpaore and one in malaysia. Think maybe you can get a lower price.

Dun worry. everything will be fine.

BTW, have your check wiht 'o' studio. Their is also not bad and think their photography package cos like $580. you can go down and take a look at their work. there are a number of photographer to choose from. If you like jaki's work, it cos $1800 which i think is too expensive.

Hi bijou,
For videography, you can contact the ken chan
93873716 HP. He charges quite reasonable and still got slot for sept. Have seen his work. feel that it is quite good. He also have contacts for phtotographer. maybe you can give him a call.

GOOD MORNING EVERYONE!

HEY NATURALLY, I WENT HOME TO CHECK...I SHORTLISTED THE UNIT #10-342 AT YOUR BLK 645...IMAGINE WE COULD HAVE BEEN NEIGHBOURS...
OR WERE YOU THE ONE WHO SELECTED IT ON DAY ONE HUH???!!

HMM LILAC, SO HOW?
YOU 'LUGI' OR NOT??

JO, THE UNIT I SHORTLISTED AT BLK 638A WAS #08-433. BUT FH PANTANG... HE SAYS 'SI SAN SAN' DOESN'T SOUND GOOD LEH.. ANYWAY IT WAS TAKEN.

I THIK WE ARE VERY LUCKY TO HAVE GOTTEN THE BLK 600+ SERIES... I HEARD IT IS ONE OF THE MOST SOUGHT AFTER. DON'T YOU THINK THAT OUR AREA IS NOT THAT CONGESTED.. WE HAVE LOTS OF OPEN AREA.. BASED ON ALL YOUR DESCRIPTIONS, WE ALL SEEMS TO HAVE QUITE A NICE VIEW... ROOF-TOP GARDEN LAH, FITNESS AREA LAH, PLAYGROUND....ETC

HOPEFULLY, IT REMAINS THIS WAY... ONE OF THE SOUGHT AFTER AREA... SO THAT THE VALUE OF OUR FLATS WILL GO UP.

I'M HEADING TO KL THIS AFTERNOON... SO I BE MISSING THIS FORUM FOR A FEW DAYS... HAVE A GREAT WEEK AHEAD!

Piah seh 4 the late reply. U know lah,me newbies in here, so rather slow in reading the replies from each other.

YES YES! I beary much wanna join in this fun-loving group here. Can I have the Yahoo Group link? Can add me? Feel free to contact me for further gatherings..... then I can also get to see see the beautiful sweeties I had been toking to all the while as well neh ! ' So where r u gals meeting up again?

Hi Yi

same as u( hopefully, i din read the replies wrongly, I will be staying on a high level storey as well-19th/21 storey @ Sembawang.-5Rms. Any one staying there now or going to?
Maybe we can mit up and drink coffee one day ..

Enjoy ur upcoming trips leh ...

Harlow Flowee

Always get to see ur nick ard the forum, think u must be a regular here. :P
Can tat all of u here r experts liao.... so colourful wif all the sweet expression faces now and then ..
No, haven't ROM yet &amp; same goes for the wedding process.. in the sourcing and planning stage..

Yup yup!!! Seems to be lot of 76's dragon gals her lah .... too bad, I am younger .... 79's baby ya !
So am I the youngest one here? So gd leh, gotta to many " da jie jie" to give me advices !!! Hurray hurray! ;P

Ling, yup, gotta a long nick, coz I always favour " long long" things leh (Opps!)

Got to go for makan liao, tok to u alll again
Enjoy ur day!

hi shirsweetiepie,

my love nest in jurong but not high floor lah, mine only 5th floor! chose there coz:-
- PILs like it;
- Near MRT;
- Great views; and
- Quite windy!

hehehe, my current house now on 17th floor so gotta get used to lower floor. one plus point is can take the stairs as a form of exercise to lose weight! hehehehe

renovated your love nest already?

AHHHH! WANNABEBRIDE, WE COULD HAVE BEEN NEIGHBOURS!!!

No lah, wasn't me on day one, i got my flat in dec last yr... i thot it was already selected then?? Maybe they gave it up later.... oh no, i think i'm divulging too much abt my new address, shh....

Have a good trip!

flowee jie,

Yah lor. Our units all at proximity to one another, so make house visiting so much simpler

Sigh, if only mei jie chose the unit opposite her current one, she can wave "hi" to me everyday.. hahahaa...

Yi jie,

No lah, i just overlay the floor tiles. I dun touch any of the wall tiles.. hahaa.. i find them ok leh...

You chose shocking colours for ur rooms rite? hahaha.. i want simplicity, so to make things easier, we chose just 1 colour for the 3 rooms. The id so happy when he know that we are only using 1 colour for 3 rooms and another colour for the living room. It makes his work much more simpler.. hahaa...

I went to australia after my graduation in 2000. I went there with 4-5 other classmates. We went to sydney and gold coast. personally i prefer sydney compare to gold coast. i find gold coast a boredom! Hahah... i hate movieworld! and luckily i never go dreamworld.

Me and my hubby have decided. We may be going to australia for a honeymoon after next year custom.

whether homo tiles will cut, i can't experience it out yet. I need the whole place to up first. Try walking on them for a while then i will know.. hahaa... now i still wear my shoes while walking on them, so can't feel ;P

korea put up a fierce fight already! I am very sad they lost too
*sob* *sob*
I like the goalkeeper a lot.. heeee...

I heard that one of the korean players look like one of the members of F4. Is that true??

shirsweetiepie,

Finally i found somebody younger than me! hahahahahahhaa.... now i am not the youngest meimei here liao

I can promote to jiejie liao

Hi Yi

Nope,yet to get the keys from HDB yet .... but really feeling excited &amp; is looking forward to it leh ..

KK Jie...

So I will take over u and be "shirsweetiepie mei mei" liao leh ...I will then be the adorable baby from now on ..... :P

So sian leh, lost the motivation for my current job, any recommendations?

kk mei,

Same here, wall tiles ok so onli overlay floor tiles coz scare of falling down when the floor is wet!

No lah, I chose pastel blue and green for my bedrooms and magnolia for living area but the blue and green is damn awful so end up whole place same magnolia colour and it looks so nice! Very cozy and zen look lor!

Me and my hubby plan to go Europe for honeymoon but it depends on whether we lugi or not after the dinner! :p

coz my love nest is ready and personally dun feel the sharp edges and being cutted while walking barefooted in the living area leh!

Personally, like one of the Korean players instead! Real sad they lost too! But nvr mind lah!

shirsweetiepie meimei,

hahaa... happy being an adorable meimei.. heeeee.... i dun think i am an adorable wan, maybe just being plump

Which line are u in? Dun ask me about jobs, coz i am also facing the same problem as u. I have applied for new jobs already, so still gotta wait. Well, what to do? economy so bad

Anyway i have applied for teaching. Any of ur friends into teaching?

Yi jie,

Yah lor. they say the toilet tiles are not only slippery, but they will forever be dirty no matter how we wash them.

Hahaha.. where are u having ur dinner (sorrie, me can't remember all the things in the forum.. heeeee)? We also scared we lugi, so decide to have the dinner at a restaurant when the time comes. But still havent decided which one to go to.

I guess there is no cutting feeling for the homo tiles. My brother used them in his flat, i see nice, that's why i chose homo tiles. When i go to his place, no cut feelings leh. And there are 3 kids at his place, so shouldn't have such problem lor.

Last nite i watched the game just because korea was playing in it. Guess tonite i will give the game a miss and watch channel U instead.. haha..

Hi kk Jie

I am working in a financial information institute. yap! I am plump plump 2 !! Tryin hard 2 lose some weight, before I reali get to try the gowns on my wedding day .. :P

Yup, have a friend in the teaching field.

Ya man!!! I am tired of going home to " do homework" afetr a day of work .... going thru the newspapers and recruit sites. sigh sigh!

Wat bout u ? In such field? Sama sama??

Hi Wannabebride, I selected my flat in Nov 01. So I lugi a bit lor, mine is about 234K. But I am still glad to be able to select a unit which I like
and not to mention, all you future neighbours around! Actually I din know that our plot is so popular, at first I thought that since it is a bit ulu and ecd so late, most people will not choose our area. Cos, my selection was on the 2nd day mah.