(2003) Brides of year 2003

novgroom

Besse,

Grand Plaza Parkroyal... it is in the spreadsheet.

sue

Hi hi Vin, still drop by to say hi while honeymooning...eh, enjoy your holidays & relax relax relax....see u soon!!

shook

Hihi Pausini
Did u change to another gown to c your guests off after the dinner?

Hihi May
How u feeling? Slept well last 9?
If u can't make it 4 honeymoon on the week of 18th May, defer it to Jun. Dat may reduce your stress

Hihi Vin
So nice of u to "visit" us during your honeymoon

I still wanna go Europe. Current plan is to defer my honeymoon to Jun wif Jazz 4 a free n easy trip. Aiyo, hotels difficult to get, we plan to go to France, Switzerland, then I go to Holland, Jazz goes to England. Wonder if it is difficult to get the hotels there or not.
Check wif u upon which dish did u change to the gown to send guest away?
Enjoy your hot hot honeymoon

Hihi Sue
U wanna book a trip wif Chan Brothers?
Can't agree wif u more. The M'sia media exggerated the situation (Sorry Pausini). My ex-superior n his wife dare not attend my wedding dinner. He said a M'sian girl died fm SARs after visiting her boyfriend in Singapore. So they c dat ppl visting Singapore will catch SARs easily n die.

jus

Hi chensing,

Thanx…
Would you be collecting your gowns soon?

Hi kk,

Thanx! I hope everything will turn up well…. ; )

My photographer actually suggested blue and grey/ silver for groom’s shirt
You might want to try these colours
He also suggested that we a small hanky with similar shirt colour or colours that match your gown to put in the groom’s suit pocket (at the chest)
Alternatively, you can request your bridal shop to provide you with coloured cloth pieces

Hope that helps! ; )

min

Meow,

Heard from my friend says must have urine urn if want to have baby. Dun know supersitious anot. Cos she says she tried hard for baby, dun have. Then her mum remembers she never buy urine urn during the wedding that time and make up by buying her one. Then she got pregant. Dun know ler, she told me one.

min

Do you all keep your nails and polish them for the photoshoot or wait till actual day? During PS, need to wear wedding rings? Cos we plan our ROM to be in Sept, after the photoshoot, so rings not bought yet.

ava

Hello blackcurrant & ariel
Welcome

Meow... before i can even learn I need to know what you are all taking abt!!! ;) all i know is the guo da li... what is He Qing He Li , tiqing ...etc?

hi kk, what colour shirt your groom wears depends on his suit. If he has a standard black suit, a black shirt and plain red tie looks fabulous in studio photos. Or Dark blue with silver tie also ver nice.

For photoshoot, try to use only solid colour ties with NO patterns.

Loose powder? Yah, u can ask to borrow your make-up artist's powder or like what your friend did, ask him for some in a smaller container. If not, go to Prescriptives to buy a custom-blend foundation & pressed powder ($80 + $20 pressed powder).

Hope it helps.

I just obtained samples of the hotels wedding invitation cards. Not sooooooo nice leh. Wondering whether i should print my own cards with our photo on it, but after wedding these cards are usually thrown away. Literally, our "photos" are also being thrown away (as if they dun like us!). Dilemma dilemma ....

may

thank gals for all the comfort and support. I am in a much better form today.

Kare: can share w me yr itinerary for your honeymoon to Italy?

Shook: i was out last nite. sleep like a pig. when r u and Jazz departing? my work schedule only allows me to depart either the end of May or early June. My hubby is so fickled minded. months i go, i ask him europe honeymoon ok...he said no..then now suddenly ok...increase my stress level. make me very mang...loh...

Vin: can u provide me the contact of the hotel that u just mention. Italy is hot..oh dear...how hot? do you think it is easy to do f&e in italy?

Sue: did u get penalize for the canceling the dinner at M'sia. it is good tat you can keep things simplier for M'sia wedding.
So r u now hoping that Chan Bros will cancel your tour?
Did you get a hand scrub and foot soak at Fave nails? and how long was the whole pedicure and manicure?

amerline

hi jus,

i did my manicure yesterday and it was a disaster, so have to go another time today! sianz! what to do, the price for vanity....where u going for yours?

today got to go TC collect my CS and my FH suit, than got to go dentist to work on my megawatt colgate grin.

i have a guy frd following us to snap candid shots, and carry our barang barang. this type of jobs guys are more suitable

hi chensing,

thks! hope i can maintain my smile under the tonnes of make-up

hi kk,

my FH wearing a black and a red shirt (to match my CS), just change the ties loh. black very versatile, just bring more ties to match watever u r wearing, rather than keep changing shirts!

meow

Min,
Its ok if i dun have any babies.
Maybe his parents will jus nag at him lor.

I'll be keeping my nail and get them "painted" a day before my PS. Of course my index finger needs extension lor. Wedding rings or not on PS is up to individual lah.

Ava,
All you must learn is Guo Da Li. As mention Tiqing - in olden days, if the male like to marry the female. The parents of the male is required to go to the girls family to ask for the girl's parents approval. Get it? Now not really practice, jus sit down together and ask both family what they want like tables...etc
He Qing he li is not related to wedding preparation. It jus means that naturally i need to get those stuffs since i'm moving to a new house, so for those staying with parents need to get new set of pillow, bolster...etc

leo29

Meow,

I also ask my mum about the stuffs last nite but she said she will buy for me, ask me no need worry. So cannot get much information. My hubby yesterday went Bukit Timah, one of shopping centre, he said got a few shop selling wedding stuffs.

Min,

I all along have long nail so will maintance it for PS and actual day. If for me I will buy the ring for PS. But all this depend on you also.

leo29

Meow,

You remember yesterday I mention that pillow, bloster.... have to keep at our mum hse first. Will bring it over at 1 time as our jia zhuang. My mum said no need to do in this way, can keep in our hse whatever we buy. Pai seh hah, wrong information.

meow

Leo29,
Nevermind its ok. We always share info here wah. Well anyway,those pillow, bolster, quilt and covers are all at his house already. That time when we purchase my room too messy, so i say jus put at his house> My house no space liao with all the soft toys, plenty of boxes blah blah blah...

leo29

Meow,

Beauty World, basement have fews. Bukit Timah Shopping centre has one. My hubby cannot tell whether price ex or not becos we still haven't check ard. Let me have your feedback if you go hor.

pausini

May: u seem extremely stress with all the stuffs. got to relax (wah now i can talk!! hee hee) Why jealous of me. me jealous of u lah. I didnt go honenymoon leh... I got a "Big" accident here. look like cant go honeymoon for the time being...
I went to did my nail at Nails Art. and i spent a total of $65 for french and a nail extension.
I took Ivory nail colour with glitter at tip of my nail. Look grand, cos match the clothes.
The nail extension they did for me is very strong. it feel like real nail. now i dun know how to get rid for it.

Shook; I just recall that i forgot to give ang bow to my makeup artist. :p
I give $28 for all the Ah Yee and brothers. I think my hubby give $36 for those brothers that drives. for the Kids, we give $6 ang bow. i dun know how much my hubby give to my brother for opening the door. I think i am very luckily, all the dinner ang bao is able to cover to the extend of my mum tables. We only need to pay abt $200++ so we only fork out $200 for the dinner. My good friends give me very big ang bao, i invited my teachers and their ang bao also very big. All of my guests enjoy the dinner very much. thanks god man!

I didnt change tat many gowns. My makeup artist is only able to do my makeup at 6:30pm so after that i went downstair to mingle with friends. althot i got only 17 tables but i still find no times to entertain all of my friends. Attendance rate is quite high 95% of my guests turn up.

Maya: OK lah. water mean wealth also. Althot rain but still ok lor.... I didnt get a videographer, i only borrow a V.camera and ask one of his brother to help and tape. Not very well done but still can see lor. luckily the V. cam is very good. pix turn up quite clear only that he keep shaking.

Sue: yah u are right. i really hate the reporting in msia. they just like to mess up the truth. my mum is very concern at the begining and she keep thinking shld we postpone it. infact i quite look forward for it. Cos i can take a break from it. but finally we still decided to go in, my MIL is very supportive abt carry on with the dinner. so no changes lor..

kare2711

Vin
Thanks but I found my hotel which is also near the station and it's cheaper. Also I like it because it's near the boat stops. Oops..I made a mistake. I mean I'll be there on 11th June. LOL! I don't have the name of the hotel off hand here.

And go enjoy your honeymoon lar! Stop being online
By the way, hot ah?? Hmm.. this is what I'm afraid. But I just saw the weather forecast and it's 22 degrees? So it should still be cooler in Singapore?

May
I think you have to be really quick in booking the hotels. I very kan cheong that time so I booked early. Even that, the first choice I wanted from Rome was already full.

I don't have the itinery here. And it's complicated because I'm travelling, Paris-Venice, Venice-Florence, Florence-Rome, Rome back to Paris. If you are free, we can meet up and I can show you. In fact, I took my walks from guides which specialised in walks. If you really want, I can make copies. They are really only a few pages (1 place has about 4 walks). I usually do the walks, but never go into every stop they recommend, or I would cut short the walk. It's really good. Also, I bought all the maps to the places. I find that maps are really really useful.

And yes, I do F&E. I will not go on package tours on my honeymoon..heh. I just want it to be a twosome world.

Glad to hear you're sleeping well.

Seeing that you're so stressed, I don't mind if we meet up, and then I make copies of the Walking guides for you. Worse, you just have to follow the walks exactly. No problem.

I can tell you so much about Italy. Compared to Paris, they are actually not easy to walk around. But since Venice and Florence are rather compact, and the attractions are all located near to each other, walking is the best, which is good as it's cheaper that way. In Rome, you need to take the bus but avoid bus #64 as it covers most tourist attractions but also attract lots of pickpockets. All guidebooks warn to avoid them. Also, in Rome, try to avoid hotels around the station as that area is very seedy. But they have very cheap accomodation there. Surprisingly, I find hotels in Paris cheaper than any of the hotels in Italy. A good guidebook to use for hotel locating is
Let's Go guide.

May, don't worry! Italy is really walkable and so easy to do F&E. I love F&E and will travel no other way. The planning is the most siong part but it's also the part I enjoy the most!

kare2711

Pausini
Wah.. only $6 to the kids? My SO was thinking of giving $88 but that's because the kids are from his side. I really don't think we need to give so much right? Just a token anyway.

Also, my mum said that my brother will have to serve tea to us during the tea ceremony and we must give him ang pow. Wah .. didn't know that's true. Lucky I only have one brother. We are already so short of money, and now still have to give out so much money.

For our dinner, the money will all be returned to my FIL or my mum. Don't even know what's the reason for this wedding dinner.

I think after 20, where most of the nieces and nephews' exams are over, I'm going to temporarily stop tuition for a while. I just can't spare the time. Now, I leave home at around 8 and gets home at around the same time. Luckily for me, my SO can drive me here and there at times, otherwise, I would have to reach home even later. And those times are really precious, like I could do more wedding planning. I even haven't come up with my duty list and itinery. Lucky I have Pausini's template to work on.

And I don't have lessons now so it's a good thing I can type this from work
although I should be doing some work. Is anyone like that... I've quite lost my interest in work. LOL!

omveganyogi

I am one of the june bride (1st june) so tiring ...i think bride enjoy the least compare to in laws and i protray a restless and heck care image to them whenever they asked me abt my wedding preparation but i think i just wanna take thing easy and be cool abt it and not being paranoid.

Intend to go to mauritius but too bad all flight suspended to unknow date and we are getting a full refund and change to Bali and hope it will be fun and worth though i am rather disappointed to learn abt this.

My wedding photo will only be ready on last 2 days of my wedding day and hope everthing turn out fine...finger and toes crossed ^^

lkf

meow

gd thing that ur mom is not so particular. 4 my case, my mom also not very "pan dan" but she still insists on certain things e.g. she said she must pay for the bedside lamps i bought last Sat.

anyway the name and address of the shop at Jurong West is Cheok Keuw Co. Blk 506 Jurong West St 52 #01-180, tel 65660311. u can go there to look see look see when free.

min

i will only go for the pedi and mani 1 day before my PS cos me very "cho lor" one. dunno want to spoilt the nail works

pausini

Hi Kare:
If u have alot to spare can give more lor.. hee hee.. but i ask my friends who got married this Jan. she told me $6 is enough and my mum also say that is enough.
Yah, younger brothers and sisters have to serve u tea. after that u give ang pow to them lor.

Kare: really very true that giving ang bao to the helpers and kids can easily come up to 1K or more. so u really need to spare this money for all this. Best to list out who u need to give.

why the $$ goes back to them? cos they paid for it???? how abt ur own friends tables?

Dun mention abt the template. we are all ehlping each other.

kare2711

Pausini
No lar. I don't have more to spare. ha ha. Even if I have, I think I'm more willing to spend it on myself. Heh heh. But it's true, isn't it?

I think I will try to persuade my SO to give less. I don't like him giving them so much and then grumbling that he has no money ..

My SO wants to pay his father back the money because he paid for the tables.

As for my mum, well the in laws gave her 10 tables and she paid for the extra 9 so my 6 or 7 tables will come from her. In that way, she is actually paying for my tables. I asked her (we are very open with one another) to give me the extra money from my tables, if there are extras. If not, she will absorb the loss. If only I can have all the money from the tables. Sigh. It's like my wedding, and friends give me the money but I don't get to keep it. But that's a Chinese wedding, isn't it?

soyabean

hi omveganyogi,
wow... hehe.... quite a mouthful with regards to ur nickname...
welcome to the thread.

hey, looks like u r the first of our jun brides to tie the knot...

which bridal shop and banquet are you with?

jus

Hi Amerline,

Luckily you did your manicure yesterday
If not nice can ‘re-do’
I am doing mine at Pinc tonight (a bit early considering my PS date, but the person is fully booked) (at Mid-Point)
My manicurist is Wendy
She’s pretty good and recommended by a friend of mine for her ROM

You took half day leave?
Otherwise, totally no time to do so many things… hee hee

Thinking of dropping by Bugis Junction during lunch time (with another friend) to show her… hee hee
What time are you going?

Yeap, a guy friend would be better
They can carry things
Hahaha

Hi 1027,

Normally invitation cards are being ‘thrown away’ after your guests read them
Like you, I also wanted something nicer for the cards
Actually, you can always buy ribbons and tied around the card (to make it look nicer)
That is if you have the time
(my FH said that it’s a waste of time since nobody is going to keep them, but hee hee, I ‘bo-chap’ – but of course-lar, not too exp hee ; )

amerline

hi 1027,

i did it at Jean Yip total during my facial, so sad that its damaged! I will definitely complain to jean the next time i see her.

anyway i am going down to nail arts (at shaw) during lunch to re-do my manicure. do u think i shd do nail extensions? like very wasteful for PS hor? hmmmm very stressful decision....

hi jus,

i am going down ard 6 after work, 1/2 day not approved
i am working in an inhumane company. *sob sob*

Wendy from PINC is very good, nice lady to chat with. She did a manicure for me b4, during the ZA roadshow at Suntec city. she is good with nail art.

my wedding card will also have a ribbon tying round it for the romantic effect heehee my ex-bf is designing my card for me.

totoro

hi pucca, hmmm select only lor.

can only collect one week before my big day so will upload it..heehee..

so happy...

are we going anywhere???any gathering??

may

pausini: what big accident r u talking abt? aiyah the honeymoon is not confirmed yet...my heart wants to go to Rome but i just dont have the time and energy to call the hotels up. It is alot of planning work to be done and i cant do it last min. u very lucky tat you manage to cover your dinner cost...i very happy and hope the same for
me too.

We plan to give our helpers $18 ang bao. dont have extra to give also...told ah yees that we will not be giving any door ang baos ...no more $$ liao. but my hubby prepare one just in case he gets sabo...

Kare: my wedding is next week ..i dont know if i have the time to meet up w you or not...alth it will be very helpful..let me ask hubby.

MY first preference is to cover just italy and maybe cross over to Switzerland? So i want to go to Rome, Venice, Milan and Florence. Maybe for a start if u can, fax me the walking maps and then let me know which hotel u r staying in each city? If i got no time, maybe i book the same hotel lor.
We have been to Paris, so dont intend to go. How r u traveling within Italy eg. Florence- Rome, Venice-Florence? By rail? How much is the ticket. Which are the guide book i shld i go get?

shook

hihi May
Gd dat u r better 2day

Jazz n I plan to go honeymoon in Jun. I can't b away beginning n end of a mth, so it will be mid Jun.
Your hubby v v noti.

Hihi Pausini
Wat happen to u? Wat accident did u have?
U give ang pow to driver n photographer or not? Do u give another ang pow to your receptionist n ushers who helped u in the day?
Wat!! Need to give ang pow to the kids? Whose kids? When n where to give? Bride give or groom give? All these not in my budget leh. Sigh..
Is your photographer Alan Dai?
U v lucky can cover your dinner cost. I m v worried we will make a huge loss. My MIL invited all those ah um in her neighbourhood. Catered a bus to ferry them somemore. Ah um no income most likely give v little $.

Hihi Kare
I oso hate to go holiday in hot weather. Where did u get those guidebooks for Europe?

For gals who r going free n easy to Europe, u worried of language barrier?

pausini

Hi May & Shook: tel u abt the accident later. Dun want to add on now... Dun worry, nothing really serious.

Kare: yah lor. that is the tradition. As my MIL promised to give 4 tables to my mum so all ang pow she keep lor. infact got half of her table is my colleagues but since i am taking up her seats i will give the ang pow to her.

May: If ok with ur helpers then shld be fine. As long as every1 happy lor. It suppose to be a happy ocassion and those who willing to help will not mind too much of the ang pow u give.

Actually, my open door ang pow is the ang pow for ah yee. so i didnt give extra for my ah yee anymore. Althot my Ah yee ask for very very big sum but when my hubby give them the an pow they have actually know how much to keep so really fine. Ayway, up to the couple. dun worry too much ok.

Shook: u wldnt believe the nos of ang pow u need to give. have u ask ur mum. i dun want to mislead u. i tell u who i give as a guide to u. No need to follow hor.

1) Ah yee
2) brother - helpers
3) own sibling - younger one will server tea to u. then give them
4) other small kids, not married one - after all the tea ceremony (both side)
5) makeup artist (at nite)
6) driver
7) photographer
8) Mei ren (if u have)
9) brother who open the door for groom (reach bride hse) and bride (when reach groom hse)

i think that is all.
yah my Photographer is Alan Dai. He is very humourous. All the elderly pple like him very much. He have a sweet tongue and even my teachers like him oh cos i placed him to sit with my teachers. I think u need to allocate a sit for the photographer. Do u?

meow

Thanks lkf, will go take a look when i have time.

Shirlynn,
Have not decide when to buy them. Dun worry, i'll inform eariler.

meow

Leo29,
Beauty World got sell those stuffs meh? Never really see that leh. Will check it out too once i finalise what to purchase from my MIL.

jus

Hi Amerline,

Good that you manage to retain the friendship with your ex-bf
For my case, still friends but seldom keep in touch
You even manage to get him to design your card… ; )

Yeap that’s her
Am planning to go for nail extension
My nails are all bitten wth ridges
So bo pian hee hee
Agreed, kinda wasteful, but wat to do, I am vain hahaha
So must psycho myself that it’s worth it… hee hee

Din managed to go to TC during lunch time
Got last minute changes ; (

kare2711

Shook
You all are also leaving mid-June? So we might be able to meet when we're in Italy!

I learnt French previously so I won't have much probs in Paris. And I'm picking up Italian now so I think I am able to scrape through. But I know of friends who went to Europe without any knowledge of their languages and they did well there. I think as long as you're polite, any language works.

May
How many days did you allocate? I think if you want to travel to so many places in Italy, you need to have more time.

For me, I've having about 3 - 4 days in one area, so I'm only doing Florence, Rome & Venice in Italy. I'm not doing Milan because I heard from numerous sources that Milan is very commercialised and not as pretty as the other cities. If you want to do four cities, why not try Capri? Heard it's very very pretty.

You seem to have many days of honeymoon? I think Switzerland is a very good idea.

I'm more of those kind who wants to cover the city thoroughly as well as slowly, so I'm not crossing over to another city. I choose Paris because we won't be doing much exploring .. just go to the major sites as well as shopping. And I love Paris
So this time, on our honeymoon, I'm only exploring Italy.

start if u can, fax me the walking maps and then let me know which hotel u r staying in each city?

Shall I make copies of the walking maps (they are not detailed at all; so you need real maps)and send to you? There are at least 10 pages for one city so I think it's more logical if I send it to you.

And do pardon all the writing and scribbling on the map.

I am mostly worried that you're not able to get hotels, esp. in Venice. And I think that should be your first priority. I will also make copies of the Let's Go Guides pages on accomodation and send them to you. Can you email me your address? The thing is .. for the hotels that I've booked, you might not be able to get rooms within such short notice. But if you're willing to pay, I'm pretty sure you're able to get hotels though.

I won't recommend a guidebook per se because different people have different likings. For something useful but wordy and quite boring, I think Lonely Planet is good. Otherwise, go with Eye Witness. Very colourful! I will be using the rail a lot. And thanks to Vin's tips, I will be buying the Saver Rail pass in Singapore. The price is highly inflated but after much research, I think it's still cheaper for me to use the pass as I'm travelling Paris-Italy and back so it's more worth it. But if you're travelling just within Italy, then skip the pass. The individual tickets are very cheap in Italy and definitely a better deal. Also, there are many trains going from Florence to Rome, Venice to Rome etc. in a day so I don't think you have to make reservations in advance. But if you're still thinking of going to Switzerland, then I think it's safer to book that train in advance.

Tomorrow is my better day, I'm not so busy. So it'll be a good time for me to print the walking maps for you. And then I'll send by tomorrow too, so that you can read up a little before your wedding.

kare2711

Pausini
Yah I'm equally curious about your accident. Hope everything turns out alright though. But since you said your day went very well, I think the accident is almost forgettable, huh?

pausini

Kare: Dun prompt me lah. tell u when the time is ripe. May be after ur honeymoon. Dun worry i am fine.

Look like the next one is Meekoo and is she on leave?

may

Shook: noti is too mild a word to discribe my hubby...he is driving me crazy...as if i not stress enuf, now change his mind. And make me feel horrid...part of me...just want to give up and take the package tour to korea and settle all this headache...but part of me really want to go Italy...SIGH...at a loss...

i m worried abt the language barrier. it was tough when i was in france and madrid. But ok for me in Japan.

pausini: aiyo..dont keep us in suspend leh...r u...ahem....ahem..u know..expecting.....

Kare: u r a lifesaver.....my angel!
i was thinking of being there for 10 days...maybe dont go Milan and go Capri...i also thought just drop by a city in switzerland...i also dunno...there is this euro select pass that allows u to hop 3 cities across the border...r u buying that? I will email you my address...thanks so much for copying the stuff for me. I think it will really help me alot...

hi amerline, i frequent nail arts (shaw centre) often also. Who did your nails?

I get Janet to do my mani and pedi, but Serene is better at nail extensions, nail art etc.

Pei Shan is also not bad.

actually har, i dun mean to be rude, but how do u do any work when you return to office? The nail polish still haven't harden very easy kenah scratch by keyboard right?

Jus: no lah, i dun like ribbons and strings. Think i will just do something plain. I like the idea of having a photo on the card, but what u said is right. Everyone will throw the card away after the dinner!

Ex-bf? wow ... your fiance doesn't mind?

leo29

Meow,

Confirmed have! My hubby was there yesterday. I think not much ppl know. Was informed by his colleague. They bought those stuffs there for her sister wedding.

kare2711

Pausini
Okay.. wah .. but you're going to keep us in suspense for so long????

May
I got your address already. I will send everything off tomorrow.

I didn't buy the Euro Select Pass. Since I'm only in Italy & France, I bought the France & Italy Saver Pass. US$209 for 4 days consecutive travel 2nd class.

I really help the materials will help you.

jus

Hi 1027,

Hiya… not me-lar (Amerline’s ex bf is designing her card)
I seldom keep in touch with my ex
Afterall, he has his own life now
Dun bother him-lor
My FH doesn’t mind but I prefer not to
Hee hee

Yeap, a photo would look nice too
You can colour-photocopy them, then cut and paste
Hee hee – can save some money
But of course, effect not as nice as using photo paper