(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Enya,

although i wouldn't plan for trips at this time, but personally i feel that Bali is not a SARS outbreak area, and from what i hear on the news there isn't much anti-war sentiment as well...so it may still be an ok place to go if you dowan to forefeit ur payment.

Agree that food is important. A few months back my grandmother and my parents went to attend a wedding at a 5-star hotel, and although the banquet was expensive, they din enjoy the food and commented about it after they came back, and brought it up again whenever they talked about my wedding.. :p

oso: Ya i also plan to buy the GDL stuff later. Think that one can be easily settled.

Thanks for all your comments. Guess it is either i diy the inserts or i get my printer to print.

Shook: the white link staff is horrid. I also agree that the most u can do it to recommend your friend there, whether they sign up or not. It is another question. The lady so commercial. Yucks. I hope you have better luck with your selection this time.

Oh, my Western card is only in English. And my plan is that the Chinese Card has only Chinese words. Is it complicated? I wanted to do away w the Chinese cards but hubby says shld have some cards for the old relatives. Sigh.

I asked for additional 30 cards from Amara. But worried not enuf. Coz printing got wastage one. aiya, i shldnt worry so much lah.

I also have a friend that is vegetarian. Need to ask her if she wants me to cater vegetarian. Must they all sit together?

My office is so small that i dont have the problem you are facing. Why dont you distribute your office invites later. And keep all those in question people as reserved? So that if your origianl list got people that cant make it you can invite these reserved people?

Jan: You call tell the hotel that you got xx tables for foreign guests from hong kong and w these sars, they have decided to cancel the trip so your table is empty. Ask them to b compassionate. Most hotels are. It is a unforeseen circumstance. And you are not cancelling the whole wedding banquet, just xx tables what. Dont fret...dont fall apart..relax...

I am monitoring the situation...dont think i want to book a tour now as things might worsen. I am actually mentally prepared to postpone honeymoon till later. Now Singapore is listed as one of the SARs affected area, i worry that if we travel, we might be subjected to checks at the airport. Hope the situation will improve by the end of this month. Lets all pray.

Pausini: Shook says i can see the montage you done for her. Can u email me? Thanks.

Cream, welcome. Have you signed up any bridal package and banquet venue?

Tingting, how about nature and scenery? You like those? Can consider NZ, Korea, Japan etc... If budget is not a problem, heard that Switzerland is a beautiful place, Scotland too. I want to go Winter Korea, but i think after wedding, no money left for honeymoon... ;-) Just nice Dec and Jan is winter season in Korea, if you like snow and sceneries. Are you still in a dilemma over the bridal package and photographer? Me too in the same shoes as you... sigh.

Enya, very sad that Sars has affected so many people, be it biz, pleasure trips or wedding plans. But from the news yesterday, alot of people are going ahead with their travelling and wedding plans. How does your parents and PILs feel about you all travelling at this time? Did they try to discourage you?

Initially i thought i will only have about 20 tables, so i don't mind the 5th flr ballroom though i find the Grand Ballroom much more beautiful. I think most impt are the food and service. But after coming up the guests list, i may have 25-29 tables. I think it will be very cramped. I don't think i will be able to come up with 35 tables, so Grand Ballrm is out for me

Hi beibei

Me also collected inserts liao!! My dinner cards a bit ma fan .. need to fold the card, then the inserts n then tie strings
Want to save money tt's why tie ourselves.

How abt yrs?
U got 9 more, me got 11 more weeks, 2 weeks more than yrs!!

I m just hoping tt sars will not be delayed till then!!

abrinas,
my invites quite easy just slot the insert into the card and there is a string at the fold of the card so no trouble at all!

me also scared SARS won't be away till then...
if not really in trouble...

for wedding cards to relatives do u know the exact phrase to use for addressing?

Hi chicory,

Me sign up with GHA and my wedding banquet will be at Neptune Theatre Restaurant coz the ballrooms in our choice hotels are taken up already.

By the way, which bridal shop did you sign your package with?

hi chicory,

I'm seriously considering Japan, just that it'll burn a big hole in my pocket! Also, pple say that Apr is the best time to go Japan, and winter is very cold. But I relish the idea of going into hot springs in winter... :p

I'm still wavering bet a value-for money bridal shop and Dang..I'm planning to visit The Edge and Robin Photography to see their photos...if i like them more than the in-house photographer at the other shop, I'll decide on Dang. That's my stand for today.. :p

Chicory,
okie, understand now... think u're handling it very well by asking for his final opinion (hee, just occurred to me, don't show him too many quotes, just show him the one u want, and make sure the other quotes u show him are more expensive, then he will surely agree to take your ideal package!!!
Err... he doesn't read this thread, does he? heehee!

If u really like MM a lot, wat u can do is ask them to bring the min no. down to 25 or 30 tables for the Grand Ballroom! Of cos that means u would have to pay a premium, prob abt $20-40 more per table? Then have another option whereby if the no. of tables go above 35, per table price will go back to normal. This is wat exactly we did at Hyatt, cos we are afraid we cannot meet the min, and yet we love the ballroom so much...

Enya!
Can u ask the agency to postpone the trip? Just for a few weeks? The situation is so worrying now, with the end of war nowhere in sight, and SARS spreading so fast, think even if u go holidaying now, also won't feel relaxed? But if u do decide to go, remember your masks (and use correctly!)

May:
I have sent shook's montage to ur office acct.

Jan: Hang on! we are only a month away from our wedding. Dun lose out to stress!
I havent even plan my honeymoon, so SARS dun really affect me much on tour. Guess may wait for the next NATAS fair which is end of the year. FH just change job and will be going to the new coy on 14. So he cant take leave for the next 3 months beside the wedding.

Shook: Dun bother abt WL. No point so angry with them. Just be a happy bride. So u going down to chose ur gown again? Shook, like u i have alot of colleagues that i have being working together but in diff project. I am in this coy for 6 yrs. However, i dun have enough tables to call all so when i send out email invitation to my colleagues, i asked them to keep to themselves and not spreading the news. So i was like married off in dark! hahaha... There is even on mgr, very thick skin come and ask me when is my wedding. NO choice have to tell him cos he keep asking me abt the date. He even told me dun place in in the mgt table. The fact is i have no intention to invite him and the higher mgt, so where got mgt table??????

Oso:I got problem sending to ur yahoo acct. it stated that ur yahoo acct is not valid? why har?

Sue: wanna try NailArt by Serene. Seem not bad! i've never being there but look like they have very good comment. I may be going there a day before my wedding. I never did French manicure before.

may: French Manicure nicer or classic one nicer? I find french Mani very weird got two color. Why is that so. So two color mean is french mani?

My GDL is on the 18 Apr this month. Am i the earliest here?

Heh, like to find out from all. During the dinner. is both parents sitting on the same table or separate table? I just talked to my MIL yesterday and found out that she is giving one table to my mum and i am suppose to sit with my FH side and my mum have her own table to sit with my siblings? Reason cos i am married into their home so i have to sit with them. (ok make sense) but didnt my mum sit with my PIL too?

Hi June brides, any of you making contingency plans becos of the SARS thing?
My in-laws are so worried that I'm going to call the hotel today to discuss options. My Fiance & I agreed that our church wedding will still go on, though. Never mind if people don't come. It's between us and God.

beibei

For the relatives, my mum and FPILs will write themselves, so sorry, cannot help you

Hope the sars will go off soon.

priviledged
No, no plans actually. Just praying v. hard that it will be ok by then. Like what my friend say, if it's still not ok by then, the world is ending soon. But have discussed with FH is that if it does not go away by end Apr/beginning May, will call hotel to discuss options ... maybe delay or something.

hi pausini

got your email. thks... but havent got the time to c yet

u going for the french manicure? i tinking of that too. btw when is yout wedding. paisey me very blur one.

so no one had postponed or do any action abour the SARS for the banquet?

Venue: Arab St & Spotlight (if time allowed)
Date: 12th or 19th of Apr(both saturdays)
Time:1230pm. (Take lunch first then shop)

12th - Amore, Shirlynn
Not Attending - Yve, Feb

Min,
Its ok if you want to meet us later. My plan is after meeting at 1230pm, we go for lunch first then cross the street to Arab st for purchase. You can call any of us who's goning to be there and ask where we are and you can come and look for us lor.

Nope, we hv not discussed abt this yet .. only briefly mentioned to each other .. hope tt this SARS will end soon .. otherwise i'm afraid tt banquet may hv to postpone

we also just praying for the best. i may have to travel to china either end this month of bgn next month as well....so really praying hard....

Meekoo: Mine is on 03 may, same as Peabrain and Cat. I'm still thinking shld i do french or normal manicure. Dun know nail will be long enough to do French Manicure. Meekoo, if i am not wrong there is still some file that i could get thru ur mailbox due to size. Can u list out the file u rx so i can resend those u didnt get it.

Pris,
Congrats to you....

Although your fears came true, you must be very happy and looking forward to be mummy. But only now must rush with all the wedding prep lor...

Pris,
Congrats to you....

Although your fears came true, you must be very happy and looking forward to be mummy. But only now must rush with all the wedding prep lor...

Hmmm... is honeymoon a must?

I'm not going for honeymoon. Cos we spent a bomb on our house. We're thinking of taking 2 months leave and just bum at home :p

But if I ever go... wanna go Finland to find Santa Claus :D

Currently, I think I will go for:
Banquet: Traders
Photography: Hilarion Goh
Makeup/Hair: haven't seen anything nice yet. maybe need to DIY.
JP: haven't called any yet either

Rest of the things... haven't had time to think about it (oops)

Anybody knows good seamstress whom I can bring my mom and mom-in-law to? I think my mom is more excited than me!

Hi PUcca,

MY email is [email protected]. Hmm...did you all do the invites phrasing yourself or ask the printer to do it for you? At the same time, BeiBei I wanna ask you a question, your dinner venue is also MM right?!! Did you go to the recommended printer? I wanted to do hotstamping but the printer says I can only do printing on inserts but looking at the sample given by the hotel, inserts seem to be rather blur cannot make out the words clearly. Do you have such a problem?

taddess,
my hotel is at MM too and I did go to recommended printer and their service is prompt!!no leh I chose a color which suit both red and ivory and they look great!!!When u printing your inserts??

Hi wedsoon,

i having mine on 1st nov 03 too! let count down! where are you having yours?

congrats, pris...!!!!

hope there are more good news coming!

hi Bei Bei,

I will be going down this week. So it is all right the inserts? Oh thanks for giving me this reassurance.

Hi Pucca,

Received your link to view the photos! They are really great photos...I especially like it when you let down your hair. It makes you look more jovial and fun loving...An the outdoor photo which shows the sun setting is also very nice!

I am only going to view mine tomorrow. So excited.

Pausini: i got your shook's montage. Thanks. I just took a quick look. It looks great. Good job done.

Shook: at least you have the skeleton for the montage and can move forward. I need to start selecting my photos this weekend. I have been procastinating.

I went to Nailarts to do my nails for ps. I think the price is very reasonable for the service rendered. Chris attended to me and it was not a bad job done. If you want to do french mani, plse keep your nails long so that it is nice. Otherwise do the normal one. What is classic manicure? I like the french one coz very natural looking. But hubby says it looks too natural.
I think i will go back to Chris for my actual but not too sure if i want to do french or normal. Ny nails just keep breaking. Thot of painting it purple to match my evening gown???

Welcome wedsoon,
you want to sent youe details to me as well? Please sent to [email protected] with the followings:
1)Nickname
2)Real name
3)ROM date
4)Actual date
5)Birthdate(DD/MM/YY)
6)email address
7)Bridal boutique
8)Actual day photographer
9)Photoshoot date
10)Dialect of bride & groom
11)Venue of banquet
12)Contact No.
13)new home add(area)

Tealeaf1,
Your saw the list i sent? Many brides falls on the same day with you right? You want to join us in the next gathering?

hi tealeaf1, me oso on 1 nov. ;P

pris... congrats...you are certainly faster than any of us, from ROM to customary to being a mummy! ;P

meow... i wun be able to attend also. got things on.

hi lin n eustoma,

I'm sorry that I'm only sharing my links with the gals I've know here in the June thread.

Hope you understand.

Have a nice day.

thanks taddess for ur compliments ..

i think the long hair u are referring to for my indoor pix, its fake .. hee .. all my hair were bunned up for indoor pix

only the long hair for the outdoor pix are truly mine .. :D

HI EVERYONE,

Are,
really? great! where are you holding yours?

Wedsoon,
i visited BV a few times but din signed up with them. I signed with Blushblush in adelphi (just below a floor from BV)...

Meow,
thanks so much for inviting! when is it?

hi everybody....

seems like quite long din check this thread liao...

Elaine in HM right? wonder how's she...

With current situation (war n SARS)... no mood to plan HM... will do so onli after customary. Planning to go for those "book today, fly tmr kinda pkg"... oct is off peak, no hurry.

Hi pucca

U look very cute n really relaxed in the pics. V. nice. No lah, u not fat. U shd c me. Me bigger than u.

Noticed u got bugs teeth 2, me also hv.
So we r both cute gals

Hihi Jan
Cool, dun fret. As long as u meet the min no of tables,your hotel shd allow u to reduce the no of table. Afterall, they haven't prepare the food wat

Hihi May
Hmm...1st time I come across invite in 1 language.
Painting your nail purple will definitely match your EG

Hihi Pausini
I gonna re-select EG. I want to select a flair ballrm gown. If I can take the 2 pc WG, I will confirm the flair gown; if I can't, then take the straight cut gown. I told WL I want 2 have variation of gown.
The thing is I have a few v kpo colleague broadcasting 4 me. Tho I din announce my marriage, quite a no knew abt it already. I gotta invite mgt level coz my office has abt 50 over staff n our organisation structure is v flat. I have a colleague getting married in Jun, another in Jul. The Jun one oso headahce over invite. @ least she can eliminate 1 big dept coz she doesn't deal wif dat dept. But I can't
Your mum will sit at the table for the bride's family n u sit wif the groom family.
Most likely I will do manicure n pedicure myself.

Fed up with my bridal shop. they refused my request to to collect 1-2 days earlier. Day to collect is actually Monday n FH ask me to check with them is can over the weekend or not cos after work go very rushing.
The one in charge of photos straightaway say no w/o even bothering to check. So frustrated. Somemore i top up so much money. Hai ya!! Give my FH excuse tt magazine one is hand made n takes time n also, last month a lot of photos to do. Surely will delay one.

abrinas,
me born in the yr of rabbit mah ... so got bugs teeth lor .. hee

u've already selected your pix right? now is to collect the album? so fast ..

dun be angry .. man gong chu xi huo .. ;)

Shook: then my wedding card will be very unique hor. ha ha...

But is it weird to have purple nail polish for the day in my WG?

Your EG will be 2 piece - wow - u must be very slim to be able to carry it.

Pausini: i intend to have one 1 vip tables where all the parents and grandparents plus me and hubby will sit together. I always feel that it is terrible on the wedding banquet, the brides parents have to look over the other table to see their daughter. I told my hubby i want them to all sit together. The siblings from both sides can take the other vip table. So what if i am marrying to the groom family, it still a happy occassion and i want my parents to be near me.

hi pucca

Me tiger so u 2 yrs younger than me (i think so ... my 12 zodiac not v. good) me old liao. drag a couple more yrs to give birth i gao ling can fu liao

me selected my pics 2 mths ago liao. Nah, man gong chu xi huo ... hope so. most probable reason is b'cos our wedding's in June tt's why can afford to delay.

Bugs teeth is cute then I also cute though not as obvious. I am selecting it tomorrow very excited but also don't wish to spent too much money! How much you gals spent on your extra photos???

taddess,
dun worry about the inserts!!they are really alright!u think i shd write all inserts then slot into the invites or slot in the insert then write?

me only chose extra 18photos..cos dun find them very nice so top up about $1000

hi beibei

If u want, can write then slot ... wait for ink to dry 1st mah. I no choice cos mine hv to fold n tie. better tie properly for my mum n PILs otherwise wait anyhow tie, v. ugly

hi taddess

me chose extra 30 ... top up abt $1800.

All not v. obvious one lah. if v. obvious, then my mum will be the 1st to drag me to shorten it liao cos will look like dracula but just instead of side, it's in front.

ye ye, we r the cute bugsy gals ....

Hi pucca,

i like the pics with the sunset. I didnt manage to have the sunset pics.

Hi taddess,
mine is on page one lor. 1 add another 22 page extra for $1776. Total i have 44 pages with 120 pics (Some pics big and some small)

Hi Babbit, Shirs and Ally,

Me also v.worried abt my wedding dinner,
coz I hv friends and relative fm Hong Kong and China...don't know whether they can attend or not
... if they couldn't make it, I got to look for others to be my jie-mei also...
really sad, if those best friends couldn't attend to my wedding...

tingting, hot spring in winter sounds good to me too. Which part of Japan are you looking at? The package with Robin and The Edge is $3888 rite? How about Photospace, you are considering them too rite? I am considering between Linn Kong and Beetles. I think The Edge is not bad from the album i saw at Dang. You are served by Dang the other time you visited her, how you find her? I am served by Cindy both times i went there.

Naturally, thanks for your compliments. No choice lor, i got to be the more hardworking one in terms of research cuz' he doesn't have the time. The idea you suggested is very good, but both Jawn and Dang are quite on par in terms of pricing, though Dang is slightly more expensive but she offers more things in her packages. Can i ask MM to lower their min tables to 30? Seems like abit drastic? I dun mind paying slightly more per table.

Cream, i am still deciding between Jawn.Happy.Ever.After or Dang for the bridal package. I think there is another bride here who also signed up with GHA and wedding also on 28 Dec 03, so coincidence.

I am now regreting signing up package at Everbliss already, saw another boutique nicer, how how how how how?

BTW, any advice on wat undergarments to wear, coz i have a low back WG that cuts down to slighty below the waist level.

you can try the strapless low back bra that i bought from triumph. not sure if it'll be as low as your dress tho ...

what i did was to use a handiplast as a marker. I tried on the low back gown and stuck the handiplast at the level where the gown reached. with the handiplast still stuck on me, i went shopping for the low back strapless bra.

hope this help.

erm, why are you regretting everbliss? did they offend you / do something wrong?