(2003) Brides of year 2003

oso32

Hi pausini,

remember the last time u mentioned that u couldn't send the montage to me cuz mine is a yahoo addy .... is it still the case? purposely created the account as the capacity is 6mb. do u think u can try again? trying to get my friends to help me with the presentation, but just in case they can't, might need to resort to doing 1 up myself!

Hi May,

think i'm not much better than u! also have not collect my cards yet, though went to the printers to settle the printing of inserts last sat. just received the fax sample from the printer and need to finalize on wordings etc b4 proceeding with the actual printing.

as for music, have more or less decided on the type/theme to use throughout the dinner, but still haven't found the march-in song leh! my FH would always wonder why i get so stressed up over such "minor" things, but to me, the choice of music helps to set the right mood for the whole evening mah! MAN ... so insensitive!

wedsoon

I will be having my wedding on the 1st Nov 03. Seem that a few of us are having our wedding on 1 Nov 03. Let's count down together ;p

Hi pris,
Congratulation and take good care of yourself.

min

Hi, Pris,

Congrulations! no kia ki to discuss on bridal package with J&M as you not taking your PS this year. But it's good news. Your FH and in laws must be very happy. You excited about it?
Wat happened to your deposit paod to J&M & Furama Hotel? Will you get a refund?
Look forward to hear from you. Baby Boy or Girl?

Hi Meow,

Wat are you gals planning to go to Arab St? Buying something for the wedding? Remember to let me know. I miss the last round gathering. Will try to join you all.

ally

hopefully the SARS scare will be over by sep *crosses fingers*... we'll just have to pray that all will turn out right.

shirsweetiepie... my PS is also in jun!
when is yours? mine is in late jun.

priscilla

HI all,
Thanks for all your concern and wishes.......
Just discuss with my MIL and she suggest having the wedding in June03 instated of having it next year.
I am only 1 month pregnent so baby will due in around Dec2003.
So if having my wedding in just 2 months time and I will be rushing like hell.
Will keep all of you update on my progress and you all will be the first to know whether its a girl girl or boy boy.
So sian lei, me the youngest in this thread and I am the first to have baby, so now I am a June03's Bride but me will still stay in this thread and will not go to June03 thread.

Hi Min,
No lar even I postpone my wedding Furama allow me to do it but don't have free flow of beer lor and as for J&M, my bridal package is open for 5 years mah so anytime can take lor but I think I will be having my PS earlier then you.
But no worries now cos now MIL want to bring it forward.

meow

Pris,
Have you seen a gynae yet? When's the due date? Your hubby must be very happy.

Girls,
There will be another gathering in this month. The purpose is for those who wish to get materials(ribbons and flowers) for their wrist corsages for the Ah yees.
Venue: Arab St & Spotlight (if time allowed)
Date: 12th or 19th of Apr(both saturdays)
Time:1230pm. (Take lunch first then shop)

If attendance and response is very bad, then we may jus postpone to next month or maybe later
Girls,
those eyeing on the paper flowers i brought that day. Can find some similar ones at Spotlight. Think price around $2.99 or $1.99

chicory

Hi Tingting & naturally,

Yah, it's me
. I typed too fast lor, tried to cancel but too late cuz' it got posted. I wanted to post it the 2nd time using my correct nick, it doesn't allowed me to... ;-P

At least your hubby does show his preference, i got to rephrase my questions by asking him which gowns i look better in. LG is good too, for i think Doreen seems like a very nice person.

Hi Sunnyday,

Welcome
! There are a few bridal shows going on in April... Jus in time to check out the various hotel venues...

priscilla

Hi Meow,
Searching for a gynae but the gynae have to come from Mount E hospital cos me planning to have baby over there. Hubby is half happy and half worried cos he is having another burden so abit stressful for him.

meow

Pris,
I agree with you. Money is a big problem if everything comes at the same time. Imagine if you have your own house too? Headache loh. Nevermind, i think you'll be staying with your in-laws for the time being. haha. I can play with your bb right?

shirlynn

Hi Pris,

So you will be having your wedding in June 03.. but have you choose a date yet?? You have to call Furama fast hor to check what are the dates available....

For PS...you have to chop URGENT !! TEll them to speed up..

If you are getting a gynae..from Mount E.. were that be ex?? Or do your company pay for it??

Tell your hubby that he will be getting rebate off his income tax... stay happy... As the saying goes.. "chuan dao qiao toh zhi ran zhi"...

naturally

Chicory,
Maybe your hubby thinks u look good in every gown?
I think Susan and Euzart are nice folks too!

For banquet venues, u may want to call up the hotels to schedule appt to view their ballrooms before the bridal show. Usually they offer some perks during the show, so better to wait til the show before u sign up. If u're afraid the date might be taken up, can try to make a tentative booking first. Oh, and usually u can bargain for extras or exchange items in the package, eg. exchange 2nd night stay for 1 more barrel of beer, etc...

sunnyday

Thanks, tingting, naturally, chicory, I have not done anything yet.. So worried now.. I'm thinking of Grand City becos the place is so easily accessible and the food is not bad.. but not too sure if plc is still available.. will check it out this weekend.. as for bridal shop, i'm considering going JB leh.. cos it's so much cheaper..

may

Shook: ya i am so glad too that i dont have to make the trip. It is just a relief and plus it is so near my wedding i am just reluctant to go.

I plan to play the montage just once before the 1st march in. I am getting my brother to do it for me after i have selected the photos. Which i am taking forever to do so. I told him to do it in Flash but he prefers to do in powerpoint. He is lazy lah. My hotel is providing the LCD projector foc. my problem is the laptop.

Abt your bridal shop, such people do exist loh. Frankly speaking even my photographer was hinting to us that she dont earn much from tying up w bridal shops so need ask couples to buy more photographs directly.
But u did a good thing by suaning her back. So superficial.

Can i also take a look of what pausini has helped you do so far for the montage?

pausini: you are such an expert man...think u can strat a business helping wedding couples do their montage ... If shook says ok to me seeing her montage can u send to my office email.

Oso: glad to know that i am not the only one that has not done anything abt the wedding cards. BTW, for inserts do you think the printer will print for me only 50 sheets? I need the inserts only for the chinese wedding cards. The western one i am printing it on the card. Can i have the contact for the printing of the inserts?

As the wedding date draws nearer, i start to feel a little panicky and i dont feel like tackling the outstanding tasks - eg. wedding cards, montage and music. Am i normal? I suddenly feel very sian...oh dear...how ah?

Y

yi

hi flowee,

yap, mike is a HRC fanatic and likes their caps, mugs, glasses, T-shirts etc. for me, it depends on their designs for the specific countries, so far I like the surfers' paradise one I got from gold coast.

As for LV, mike ask me to get it if they are cheaper and my colleague also asked me to get one for her. :p
me not really into branded stuff but see how lor, if nice and like it then buy.

oh, cookie dun barks when we reach home but she will be really happy and wag her tail.
tatz one thing good abt her, she seldom barks. I just made an appt for her last vac next week and then she can go out liao. hehehe
can't wait to bring her out jalan jalan.

yap, I bath her once a week but will check on her eyes and ears everyday. :p
I have already learn to cut her nails liao and have also trim her fur once as she can only go for grooming after her vaccination.
she stay still for me to do them at times, so thatz why i find her well-behaved.
At times, she will do things that makes mike and I laugh! hahaha She is really our little cookie!

may

Shook: i just remember that you printed your own inserts. How you type the chinese words? Wonder if you can email me the document and i edited from there.

pausini

I think i am the only one in office & quite free one.

May: I am not expert, i saw others who did way way better than me. More pro one. If only i can be like them, i may thinking to start up, i will send to ur office.
May, i print my insert at T.dragon. Really not worth the $$ to print only 50 pc. Cos T.Dragon charge 200pc of insert for $100 and the min is 200pc. even if u print lesser still $100. ur free printing service dun have chinese printing??

Are u over-worked?? Have u got all the Guo Da Li stuffs. I am also lazy to follow up the tasks for wedding. My friends are more anxious than me. SO u are not the only one feeling this way!

chicory

Naturally, i don't think my hubby thinks i look good in every gowns, jus that he doesn't want me to bother him about the decision-making, he doesn't like the idea of an elaborate wedding in the first place ;-P

I have made a tentative booking at Marina Mandarin, but i am afraid that if i go beyond 25 tables, the ballroom on the 5th flr will be too cramp.

Sunnyday, JB's packages are definately much cheaper, i know my hubby would much prefer going to JB to get the bridal package, he says he doesn't mind the travelling as long as can save money. The price difference can be $2K and more. And i heard that the photo quality can be quite good too.

naturally

Hi sunnyday,
If u are really worried, u can check up yellow pages now and call Grand City to see if they are available.
One thing abt JB packages, unless u drive, it's gonna be very inconvenient... u may end up trying to settle things over the phone, and wat if there's a miscommunication? At least here, u can go over to your bridal shop as often as u like.... just my views lor!

naturally

chicory,
even so, must try to make him feel involved in the wedding preps... tell him u're doing this for him, and u want to look pretty for him, so naturally u need to have his views!

We have a bride with Marina Mandarin too, Enya, and like wat i told her, the food at MM is great! Maybe u want to change to a bigger ballroom just in case you exceed 25 tables?

may

Pausini: my free printing service offer to print for me too but i feel quite bad coz only 50 pcs. I tot of getting them do the western card and the chinese one, i do myself. And quiet ma fun coz they r printing on the cards and there may be some wastage or damage. As they need to do a couple of test prints to get the alignment right. It is offset printing.

Overwork...dont think so lah...but now quite tense in the office coz of SARS we have to cancel some events then got loses. Boss face quite black but i dont give a damn. i wish i dont have to work man.

aiyo, i still have not even settle my actual day photography. i think my parents also taking things slow...dunno my dad go and source for his suit already or not.

Of course, i have not buy the GDL stuff...will do so end of the month. GDL is on 1st May.

amore

hullo ladies..

congrats Pris.. take good care of urself ya?..

another outing ah?.. hehe this time on Saturday.. shld be no prob for me... hmmn but I can oni make it on 12... 19 wont be in SG...

erin

hi sunnyday,

A warm welcome to u! Glad to have one more person to talk to.

hi ting ting,
thanks, I've received it. will be discussing with my fh later to see how he finds it.

meow

There will be another gathering in this month. The purpose is for those who wish to get materials(ribbons and flowers) for their wrist corsages for the Ah yees.

12th - Amore
Not Attending - Yve

If attendance and response is very bad, then we may jus postpone to next month or maybe later

min

Hi, Pris,

Dun worri. Things will go smoothly. Just that a bit rush for June'03. Two months to go only. Youngest and first to be mummy in this thread, Next time, when your kid is older, you still young.So it's not too bad. Yap, have to call Furama quickly so as to see if there is still available dates in June'03. You can still join us in the next gathering to buy the stuff for wrist corsages since your wedding in June'03, Rt?

sue

Seems like most of us will be having our GDL on 1st May. My mum also suggested that date.

Hi May: Phew!! Glad to hear that you dun hv to go China. I would reject it if I were told to go there.

Hi Pausini: I think what your emcee said is quite true abt the montage. I intend to flash my actual day event during my dinner since most of the guests in S'pore would be interested in what's going on during the M'sia wedding. I hv also send my card to Tdragon for printing, they seem to be the cheapest so far.

chicory

Hi Naturally,

As he is doing his part-time study, he is pretty busy with his work and study so i don't want to add to his stress, i try to short-list the choices then seek his final opinions. I guess i will be able to get him more involved during his school break. But then now is the crucial period where we have to decide the bridal package, hotel venue and photographers but his exams are coming.

And if i tell him i am doing all these for him, i know he will tell me i don't have to cuz' he doesn't want to host a dinner in the first place, he jus want a simple tea ceremony. Since he has compromised, i guess i shouldn't be too demanding and should be happy that he leaves the decisions to me and doesn't impose any budget on me or forced me to go to those hard-selling bridal shops

Yes, i also read alot of good comments on MM food but the next bigger ballroom is the Grand Ballrm, need to have a min of 40 tables, maybe at most can bargain till 35 tables. I don't think i can hit this figure. So maybe i have to look for alternative such as Holiday Inn, Orchard Hotel or Marriott. But then they might not have the date i want.

sue

Hi gals: I need some suggestion for salon to go for french manicure. Preferably somewhere in town. For those of you who had PS already, did u go for manicure? I'll be having my PS on Fri & would like to go for one on Thu. Any recommendations? I've never been to one before. Thanks in advance!!

cream

Me a dec bride too! Mine is on 28 Dec 2003. Care to share your views on your preparation for wedding? Hope to learn from all of you in this thread.

tingting

hello Cream,

wow, we really testify to the fact that dec is a popular time for weddings!

Gals, what are your plans for honeymoon? I'm at a loss planning for it! Anything else besides beaches? Not really a sun n surf person..

meow

12th - Amore, Shirlynn
Not Attending - Yve

besse

Pris!

Congratz!! What great news!! Hehe.. looking forward to hearing if it'll be a bb gal or bb boi!

Gal, me went for gown design today. Fun! Next week take measurement.. hee.. oni one week to cut down cut down.. Keke

enya

i am back .. damn frustrated ... sob sob. booked a tour to bali, and supposed to fly this friday .. but the recent SARs outbreak, plus war in iraq, i am really frustrated whether i shld fly this friday?!? but i have already paid, and i can't seek a refund .. work has been stressful, and i really need a break badly!??!?! BOO HOO HOO ...

oh yes, been caught up with buying masks and antibacterial washing gel, until i forgot about wedding preparations!!

MM is good good good! my wedding is on a weekday, so min. requirement is 35 tables .. heheheheheh i onie like the grand ballroom neh. the other 2 ballrooms okie ... but the grand ballroom is even better!! and food is good .. MUST HAVE GOOD FOOD!! cos my frens and relatives onie remember weddings by how good the food is, and hardly remember what slide show we had, how was the ambience blah blah blah ...

min

Hi, Meow,

What are the plans on 12th or 19th like? Just want to see how long we will take so that I can plan my activities. I will let you know but I may not be able to meet you all at 12.30pm sharp becos I have something to attend to on late saturdays' morning. If I join you all at a later time, will it do?

oso32

Hi pausini,

my yahoo account is [email protected]
thanks in advance

Hi may,

i'm getting my inserts done by jasvy. it's only slightly cheaper (approx. $8/- for 200 pcs) than t-dragon that pausini recommended. but t-dragon is more conveniently located at excelsior hotel (city hall area). but since we made our way to jasvy last sat, decided to just settled it there lor.

agree with pau that might not be worth it to print just 50 inserts. if i'm not wrong, though jasvy charges based on per piece, still have to pay $80/- for the mould (mine is hotstamping)no matter how many pcs u print.u might want to consider doing what i think shook did ... print the chinese version using some chinese software.

i oso have not gotten my guo da li stuff. mine is on 3rd may and my mum says dun need so gan cheong ... wait till nearer the date then buy, if not very "din teh"
guess i can leave it to her! mum's always the best

shook

Hihi Oso
How u print your insert when u haven't receive your card??

Hihi May
Of coz I grap the opportunity to suan dat White Link staff. Tis fellow seems to avoid me everytime I go there. She does it very diplomatically but I can tell. I have to admit she has gd taste in choosing gown tho she is not a designer. I told her I recommended 2 couples but White Link din get the deal. Then she asked who served them n defended herself.
I asked her to give my hubby 2 suits on my actual day. She said if the bride I m bringing sign up wif White Link then she will speak to her boss. Ah say man, I told her the best I can do is to bring potential customer to White Link. I m not in sales line, I dunno how to sell. Tis shld b your job!! Aiyoh buy durian oso dun guarantee gd one wat. Y dun they pay me commission rite
Sure u can look @ the montage Pausini did 4 me. I only sent her a few pictures. Her friend's one is more complete.
I dun quite understand how u mean u have Chinese n English cards? U mean the Chinese ones have both Chinese n English wordings whereas the English ones only have English wordings? I have both wordings in my insert. The file is stored in my hubby's niece's hardisk. I gotta ask him to get fm her. Out of curiosity, Y u din ask your free printing lobang to print the Chinese cards as well? Bet Amara will give u more cards if u need them. We asked 4 more cards fm Carlton.

I v vexed over who to invite in my office. There is a new staff joining Finance today. Not so nice if I dun invite her since we r in the same dept. If I invite her then like so funny, dunno her dat well. My immediate superior is a vegetarian. Sian dat means I gotta spend xtra $ to cater for vegetarian food. He is an Indian fm India v miao one. May suffer loss if I invite him. There is oso a new temporary HR executive.....sigh....

jady

wenn, i dnt mind going HM together leh..but i'm looking at after mid oct....dnt think yr timing is then rite?

flowee, u collect hard rock t-shirts, i collect hard rock shotglass!!..

yi, i may also ask u to help buy shotglass can?
all my lights quite cheap,each less than 100 except my 2 living rm lights cost 125 each but still cheaper than yours lah:p

wonder how elaine doing....

will invite u gals to my house when finish, no nid for me to post pics..:p
tat is if u gals dont mind seeing my simple(no design) house with only few pieces of furniture..haha
cos i'll only be moving in in oct mah..

jan2003

Pausini: haven't tried to call hotel to reduce table but i doubt so because hotel quite rigid. haven't gave out cards too now that nothing is fixed. with news that sars is airborne, everyone panic, who still dare to attend wedding? very stress. work and this is making me crumble. don't think i can hold out very much longer.

Shook: dont' fret. just invite who you want to. not that you will be in that company for your whole life. i have decided not to invite everyone that's why i not broadcasting my wedding. that's exactly what i told my boss.

May: good to hear you didn't go for that china trip. safer this way.

need some advice. i also know everyone is vex and frustrated about sars but are you gals still going ahead with original plans for honeymoon? when are all of you leaving for honeymoon?