(2003) Brides of year 2003

fishball

hi thanks 1027 n jus,
it's stated in my contract that balance is during PS lor, but I'll try to bargain with them to pay during eve of when collecting photos. Wish me luck.

Amerline n jus,
haha, u two might hv met even b4 our gathering in April!

may

Kare, Sue: i told my hubby abt my preferred sitting arrangement at the dinner. He is fine with the idea. But we have not told our parents yet. So hopefully we can get our way.

Shook: thanks for sending me the text. I have replied to your email directly.

Cat: Oh, i am glad to know i not the only one so slow. I am now working on my invites. We are calling all our friends asking for their address and at the same time broadcasting the date. So i think it is ok that i send out the invites the end of this month.

Shook: ya, i think i put my vegetarian friend as the no. 11 person.

Kare: inserts are not provided by the hotel. you either print on your wedding cards or on inserts. The latter is cheaper. For me coz my printing is free, i have decided to have both western and traditional cards. The western cards to be printed on it will only be in English and that is abt 200 cards. The Traditional one with both English and Chinese text which is only 50 cards, i am printing the inserts myself from an ink-jet printer.

Meeting up? When? most of weekends are tied up with house and weddings. Think weekdays like a friday is much better. What u gals think?

taddess

hi pucca,

Actually am quite mystified what artwork means??? Can someone help me on this?

Hi cin,
Actually not to worry. Until now I have not yet confirm my photographer and videographer! Ha! Anyway went to see Fabian Lin's work yesterday! His work is really great! Need to see another to compare quality before confirming.

jus

hi fishball,

you may wish to use the following pitch:-
(I presumed you would be ordering more photos!) just say that you would only pay upon photoselection
and during your photo selection, you can pay some of it first (the remaining package) and you can withold the extra costs for the extra photos

hope this helps!!! ; )

lin

Hi pucca,

Woww! U topped up about 2K, your pictures should be very nice.

How many photographs initially you have in your packages? U have added another 20 pix- really alot.

In one weeks time, I am called to see my proof photos. I am feeling very excited.

Y

yi

hi jady,

no prob, with the shotglass, you all have to let me know nearer to my departure date then.

weekend approaching again, so happy coz I'm off this sat! keke
so what plans you all have?
me learning knitting with my friend this sat and probably bathing my little puppy too. :p

abrinas

Hi cin

welcome to the thread!!

No worries ... me 2 hv not confirm actual day photographer n songs for the dinner, just the necessary ones only ie. 1st n 2nd march in, champagne pouring n 1st dish. yet to source music for church 2.
Still got time.

Hi pucca

I esp like the one u r wearing blue EG. Nice!! Me collecting my albums this Sat, v. excited.

christmas

Good day everyone,

I oso procrastinate dental trips for years. Recently fiance commented I've got a big cavity that can be seen when I smile

Actually was thinking of visiting the dentist but last night saw on the news dentist more at risk with this SARS thing so I'm a bit apprehensive now.

abrinas

Hi lin

u seeing yr photos soon? which bridal u from? Did not c u mentioning b4 (sorry if i missed it) When's yr wedding date?

Sorry ah, i KPO

pooh

Hi cin,
welcome!

Dun worry i also havent done alot of things yet. Just MTM my gown only be ready in May.

Have not done any stuff for the Guo Da Li yet. My wedding cards still seats in my cupboard. Not yet discuss wat to write in my wedding cards. Also havent look at the song for my banquet.

My hubby havent made his uniform yet. No guest list from him so far. Need him to confirm with me his guest list ASAP. And have not decide on the sword bearers also.

Look like i still have a long list to go.

Hi Abrinas,
so happy hor collecting ur album soon. I still waiting..

abrinas

Hi pooh

Yep, as for your long list, we sama sama

Yep, happy that I am collecting it soon. You've got so many more photos than me so of cos, yr's will definitely take longer than me. Just a week or so rite?

sammi

I am a Oct bride too and would like to join this forum. Just following this thread and saw that Stressed's wedding day is the same as mine, ie, 18 Oct...in addition, same bridal boutique too Flamingo.

Stressed, how is Shirley gonna be in 2 places on the same day ah? Becoz i know that she always does the make up and hair do herself..my group of gf who married are handled by her...

amerline

hi jus!

yes yes thats me
i went back again last nite with my hubby and paid a deposit already. ended up trying so many pieces! i oso convinced another bride to sign on, she was leaving already, than see me try than got stuck too! after that she tried on every piece i tried too

small world eh? heehee so shall see you around.

so ladies, is the outing still on? hope no one is being affected the SARS virus and decide to quarantine themselves. I have friends that would not step outside the house other than for work

pucca

taddess,
artwork ah .. means tt ur pix will be touched up with some pastel art on the background.. actually got more .. but i dunno how to explain liao .. :p paiseh .. tts wat i saw from the sample they showed us..quite nice effect though ..they will not remove those background taken outdoor lah .. i hope .. :D

lin, hee .. yalor ..actually hv a hard time to decide which to reject ..coz most of the pix turned out quite well .. since hubby dun mind then we pay lor .. :p

abrinas, tt is actually green color (duno name of the color) .. its my EG .. :p .. there's actually some beadwork behind .. but too dark .. can't see it in the pix
u managed to make them to let u collect on sat ah ?? .. so gd !! .. i still hv to wait @ least 2 wks ... sigh ... getting bu nai fan liao .. :p

i tink can start buying stuff for GDL liao .. not the food part lah .. the wat lamps lah .. basin lah .. etc etc ..will be gg with my mum to buy

btw.. anyone know wat's the gold price now ?

beibei

pooh,
think me the most kiasu of all!!

collected inserts alerady..so shd be slotting in the inserts..buying GDL things next weekend.test wine next week too.songs already confirmed just waiting to meet my hotel coordinator early May which I felt quite late liao!!

most worrying is honeymoon!my hubby already got discounted fares for our NZ trip but due to SARS we can't book yet...got to pend for a while...

pucca

beibei,
where did u get the wine from? from ur hotel?
same here ... tinking to start buying stuff for GDL nx wkend .. :p

taddess

hi beibei,

How much is the wine? Contemplating whether to buy wine... How many guests do you have and how much wine are you going to get for your guests

pausini

May: I havent told my mum abt the sitting arrangement yet. Dun know how she will think.
Thanks for the compliments. As long as shook like it. Wah, printing ur own insert. Actually is a good idea. My msia invitation card is done this way but i PAID pple to do it. So stupid, waste $$. All my uncle faults!

Sue:
Kare: U cant heard the music of the montage too?? I am quite ok with a quick gathering, cos most of my stuffs is quite done. infact, i do scare i will forget something. Guess i will have to ask my Married friend to counter check for me. OK i cant make it on 11 apr got coy DnD.

Shook: give it a try, may be u can wear the two piece gown.

Cat: oh i mistaken another CAT? very confusing!

Sue: i never know tying the cards with the golden string can be very tiring. I was doing it for the past two nites, using the left over string that my good friend passed me after her wedding. Well, still left a few cards with string cos not enough. I think i just glue them will do. No point buying the string for only 5 cards.

Oso: I did include the underscore but it just give me error. no idea why!

Meekoo: I have sent out Jass77 part3 montage. hope u get it this time.

Oso, May, shook, Meekoo, Cat, Jazz, Kare: I have share out my new hse photo to u. check ur email ok. May: i sent to another email, not ur coy one.

FH remained me not to share out the hse pix to those i dun really know. security reason, he said pple may base on the pix and break in. Quite true so he told me never reveal our address...

beibei

taddess,
my hubby was the one who liaise with the wine cellar each bottle can range from $17 to $22.we shd be getting 2 cartons only.we have roughly 400guests at the moment.

lin

Hi Abrinas (abrinas,

I will be seeing my proof photos on 12/4. My bridal shop is Seletar Broadway. Likely, my actual Big Album will be completed after 2 months later.Hopefully, it will be in time for my wedding date.
Wedding Date: 22/6/2003. Hope to chat with U further.

wen

Hi Bom Bom,
Of the three you have mentioned, been to Dang n Divine. Personally i prefer Divine. Their low back ball gown is breathtaking. I was served by Kim and think that she is v professional and know what will look nice on you. I tried 4 gowns and the fit and cut is good. Maybe it is because i wanted a big ball gown so cannot find anything i like in Dang. Didnt go to divine cos hubby said no low back and see thru for wedding gown. If you need more info about bridal or photographer, can email or call me. I will be happy to share.

may

Pausini: I also cant hear the music in Shook's montage.
Oh yah, how's the situation w yr uncle?

Thanks for sharing yr home photos. Yr bed frame looks like mine. where did u buy yrs? i got mine at Ritz Reyman. We got similar ideas for furniture. ha... i like your clock in the kitchen. How big is your house? Is it new or resale? your wardrobe is nice - how much did you spend? Mine is a walk-in wardobe and i find that it looks very untidy.

Actually, why didnt u get a l-shape sofa? the coffee table you got actually it very long. Mine sofa is so big that me and hubby actually lie on it to watch tv...

I see u got mattresses too. u r now staying there during weekends?

I like your broken marble floor. Got no gaps it is easy to clean and not like mine which is homogenous tiles from HDB and it sucks.

taddess

Hi beibei,

Will 2 cartons be enough? Cause for red wine unlike hard liquor guests can drink quite alot. With the hype on red wine now, many guests do drink red wine. I don't want to provide something then spoil the mood subsequently by telling them that it has ran out and thus no more for them to drink....HIYA

are

hi tealeaf... so i guess meow's list has answered ur questions?
wow, juz realised frm the list tat we hv a few common pts, 1st, i'm staying in toa payoh now! & i'm oso a hainanese, same as ur hubby.
so where's ur new place? so gd, u get to stay in TP, i oso wanted but can't afford, so no choice gotta stay in SK so near to my PILs.

shook

Hihi Kare
I oso can't hear the music in the montage.
Hotel only provide cards, not insert. Gotta buy color paper to print the inserts.

Hihi Pausini
Your hse is beautiful!!. U got an ID to do it? I like your living rm, dinning area, the blue color kitchen cabinet door and wardrobe. I oso bought the Ikea mirror. Haven't fix it yet. Is it difficult to fix? Where did u get those racks for the kitchen? The clock in your service balcony is nice.
I oso hope I can take the 2 pc gown. My mum doesn't really agree to it. Think she finds it too revealing.

vivace

hi shir and ally,

thanks for ur concern, I will need to find others to be mine jie-mei liao...

as for me, i signed up with Santiago and my PS will be end of this month, any nice to place to suggest for outdoor?

so, where it is exactly, ally?
mine is at sky garden... we went there again to take some pix on our ROM day...

shirsweetiepie

Hi Ally & Vivace

I sign up wif Lezen.will be hving my PS tis end June. dun know oso leh .. FH & I luv outdoor, therefore will hv more outdoor then studio.

Hhahahha!! my proposal is @ East Coast Beach...

Wow!! Vivace,ur FH oso so romantic...

pausini

Hi may: Can u heard the music of the montage i send u that i did for my friend? I wonder did u need to download the song too. never mind lah.

Uncle situation? I havent talk to my mum, scare later she say i am too stingy. Wait till my 2nd sister is ard. at least she can help to back me up a bit.

I got my bedframe from melandas. I actually saw one bedframe from Ritz Reyman but hubby dun like it. We realise the price for melandas have gone up, may due to the 4% tax.

Guess wat, i only have one clock in my hse. that i only hang it at my kitchen. I havent found a nice one to place in the living room. I bought this in Pasi Malam. Only cost me $13 and have music every hour. But it consume battery very heavily. i got to change the battery every 1.5 months.

Mine is a 4 room, 103 sqm is a new hse but i got it thru ballot and the unit is vacant for 5 yrs. Brand new unit. hee hee... More like a standard version so i have to do the flooring.

I got my wardrobe from California Closets. cos us abt $1.6K but is a fit in closets and the guys say we can move the structure if we move hse. My closets is only 6.5 ft. a bit ex but hubby and i like it. Wah, u have a walk-in. I wanted too but i cant do it there is no way for me to knock down the wall, so i forgo it. Alot of friend who visited me, comment that my wardrobe is very small sure no place for my clothes. but i got top and bottom hanger so actually enough lor.

SOFA! i wanted to get one L-shape very much, infact i wanted to get the same series of the L-shape sofa , the one i am getting now. But look at my living room, if i place the L-shape it will turn my living room very small. so we forgo the idea, only get a 3 seater. Like u, i wld like to have one so i can lie and watch TV. I got the rectangular one. U got the square one?

yah, i have place and slept on the mattress, staying over during the weekend. Will An chuan - just place a new bedsheet. My neighbour thot we very rich, just getting the unit for weekend "chalet". *faint* who wld buy a unit there and treat it as chalet?

OK for the flooring. Urs is very nice too. heh u never show us ur bedroom pix leh...

tealeaf1

hi are,
ya,we do have a lot in common! same wedding date!
my new place is in TP lor!! we got a resale a year plus ago....

where you signed up for bridal? where you holding your wedding?

ally

hi vivace and shirsweetiepie,

i prefer outdoor too... that's why i got the photographer who's better with outdoor shoots from my bridal studio
some nice places to consider: changi beach/sentosa (for the sea pix), historical buildings like red house at katong or churches. can't think of any liao
must think of more places soon

my FH proposed to me at Fig Leaf at fort canning. very intimate and romantic restaurant

pausini

Shook: thanks. I think my hse is in a mess. promise i will show May so i ask FH to take some pix. FH was complaining the hse is in a mess to take pix. No my contractor is Unimax. No design. i only did very basic items. My FIL fixed the mirror for me, he very delicate person. I dun think my FH is abt to do it. Now i am urging to learn from his dad cos we cant depend on his dad forever.

I got the rack from Hoe Kee Hardware. they have a branch at IMM. Does that near u? The Rack cost me $150. i think i spent ard $400 in all the alu ware. Can be quite ex...

Kare: i did my printing of insert at T.Dragon and the paper is FOC but is normal paper. Tracing paper need $$

abrinas

Hi pucca

Ya, quite relieved. Got my FH to talk to them n they say ok.
U just wait 2 weeks, i wait 2 months liao. Think pooh also waited as long as me liao. So now u know why i kan cheong

Wah beibei, u fast man!! meeting hotel in May is quite early. My one just tell me to meet him 2 weeks b4 my wedding can liao. My hotel manager is a cool bird

Yr wine 2 cartons only ah? How many bottles in one carton? Mine is 6 bottles in 1 carton, i buying either 4/5 cartons. Not decide yet. Me got special rate from my subsidiary office.

i think tour better wait a while to cool off further better.

No need so worry abt sars lah .. must hv faith in s'pore's health system n control... actually i worry 2, can only an wei myself like that lor.

Taddess

I also think like tt but was thinking nvrmnd lah, if not enuf then boh pian liao. Worse come to worse, open the hotel's one lor but i think tt one quite ex hor.

Hi lin

I think i remember u r from Seletar. I m correct
shld be able to rush for u one lah, still got time. 2 mths counting fm 12/4 is only 12/6. Still got 10 more days then yr wedding mah.

meekoo

hi pausini

thanks got it. it great work done. are they together very long time already?

thanks for sharing your hse pic too. it look great and good taste! maybe when my is not so messy, i will also post up the web for you guys to see.

so are we meeting? it will be fun.

oso32

hi pausini,

pai-seh! omitted the .sg in my email address!
no wonder u have problems sending to me. my sincere apologies!

hi shook,

the printer has a sample of the invitation cards given by my hotel, so they could do the inserts without me giving them any cards. since that's the case, no hurry to go down to collect my cards from the hotel yet. would prob wait till the insets are ready liao then go pick them up.

i chose a nicer paper for my inserts ... a bit translucent but thicker than normal paper. costs 20 cents each pc. a bit heartpain, but ... heck lah ... guess can afford that little bit more for the nicer results.

got to get ready to go out for appointment with customer liao! actually quite skeptical abt going out lately, but what to do? just try to be more cautious lor. u gals take care too!

stressed

Hi Sammi,

U no worri! My wedding make up will be done by another lady. So now I cannot change my mind......hmmmmmm..... Anyway where is your dinner held? mine is at Raffles Hotel.

okeanosmao

no lah meow..guess maybe interpret wrongly..oops..
wat i mean is the cost of material..

pris,
know abit only..but wat most of my colleagues n gfs said was tat - listen to the elders lor..cos yr first bb mah, alot of myths involve so better not take the risk..

shook

Hihi Pausini
Dun find your hse messy. U gave the design to your contractor?
My hubby tried to fix the mirror, he said the hole behind the holder is v small, wonder how to aim when drilling the wall.
I stay at Pasir Ris, IMM is quite far for me. Do they have other branches?

Hihi May
guess u muz have thot my 2 pc gown shows my bare tummy. No lah, there is a layer of translucent material from the bust to buttock. It creates kinda can c yet cannot c effect. But my mum still finds it revealing

emailwendylee

Hi all Nov brides,

Can I ask ask.... this "NOV BRIDES" supposed to get wedding/marriage in the mth of Nov? How about those ROM in Nov, can join? Mine has not been finalised yet, but should be around Nov/Dec this year to ROM.

jus

Hi Amerline,

What a small world!!!
So you have decided to get a tea dress and an EG?
How much did Don charge you?
I took the package, 2K for 3 pieces (only 2 with beadings)

Hi Sammi,
welcome!
have fun in your wedding preparation!

pausini

Oso: I am trying to send the file over now. dun worry have omitted the .sg

shook: fixing the mirror is really a challenge. i dun know how it was done but FIL manage to did it. Careful with the mirror, the edge breaks easily when u try to tighten it.
for the gown, u dun have to let ur mum know abt the dress. is that a EG or tea dress? If u dun have to wear it in the day just put in at ur new hse. SO ur mum dun know. Wear it at nite, haha that time u mum want to object also have no choice liao...

shook

Hihi Oso
How does the printer knows the size of your card? Different card comes in different size, U mean it is your job to cut the a4 paper to fit the size of your card?

I visited dentist last week. He asked me to extract my wisdom tooth, dunno whether to go or not now dat the news said dat SARs passed easily thru dental care. V worried.

amerline

hi jus,

yuppz, singapore is only soooo small

I paid for a teadress (orange color) and men's suit, the EG is pending coz i am really on a budget and i spend $3K the other side liaoz. He charged me $1100. If i were to go back and get the EG it will be 600. i chose a beaded bustier with a lown skirt (with short train).

beibei

taddess and abrinas,
one carton is 12bottles so 24bottles shd be enough and I dun want the risk of using wines to get drunk and create trouble at my wedding though.be safe than to be sorry..me attended weddings recently but hardly see anyone drink wine or hard liquor.But it depends on your guest's profiles...

shook

hihi Pausini

The 2 pc gown is a WG. My mum knows it bcoz I brought her to select gown. Y I brought her there is bcoz she wz v disappointed wif the ROM dress I chose. She said the ROM dress v old v dirty. She likes to doll me up fm young. So I can imagine how lousy she felt when she saw me in such an old dirty dress on my registration day.

jus

Hi Amerline,

oh, you mean you have already chosen the EG, now deciding whether to get it or not...

Ok-lah... i think his charges are about there
yours are all OTR? but i think that their OTRs are very nice and unique as well -- sometimes even better than the MTM!
is your orange tea-dress a cheong sam? with small pink flowers and green leaves? and some light beadings?
if that's the one, then the price that you got is a steal!!!

I supposed that the most important thing is that you must like the design and the gowns

one thing i like about them is that their services remains as good as the first time i set into the shop, despite the fact that i only took a very basic package from them

so far, how do you find them?

abrinas

Hi pucca

Me doing montage ... getting my actual day photographer to do it cos he knows how to. He's actually the photographer for my best friend's wedding last year, did quite a good job ... will prob get him to do for us cos know him liao n know his style n he knows our style so will be easier to work with

But will hv to decide where to put the projector cos my ballroom got pillars. this one is a headache

cin

Hi hi, wow this forum sure responds fast!

Taddess - yup, we also considering Fabian lim...his works sure are impressive aren't they?

Abrinas - what songs have you chosen for your first and second walk-in? i really don't know what to use... think some songs like From This Moment, I swear and Truly, Madly Deeply are nice, but have been beaten to death already...

Oh yes, can anyone tell me what is the bride's side supposed to do or give for guo da li? i'm the eldest daughter, so my mum is kinda clueless also...

Btw, which bridal studios are you all with?