(2003) Brides of year 2003

grace.. when u coming? this sat to monday here got those peace tok so alot of road close hor... where will u be staying?... there is actually a shop here call lovely lace... they sell alot of lacy stuff like ring pillows cant rem got candles anot... i dun find things here cheap... abt the same as singapore if u convert...some of the things maybe Singapore cheaper... but of coz if u go to their food stall those along the road one har... definitely cheaper than singapore...

tok abt ring pillow and candles... ava, clyne whoever having church wedding.. need me to help u check?...

yve.. hee maybe the year u born in chiong with her lor... last week my cousin oso tell me this year not good for those born in the year of dragon... say i supposed to go dunno wat temple to pray...

hi everyone, any idea how is the customary works for my hubby is hokkian n me is Teochew cos both of us quite new to it n cos my in laws r first time having wedding so don't no much about wedding.
and glad to be in this group.

Hi Rinoa,
If you wan, I can email you some package info from the shops I have been to. This should help speed up your seaching.
Let me know your email address or email me at [email protected]

Hello Mrs Quake,
I have made up my mind to take either Bridal Veil or Ivory Aisle so dun think I wan to confuse myself anymore by going to more shows.... will be tempted by cheaper offers!
Both shops are within my budget, one slightly more but lots of X-factor and both have photographers I like.
Will keep you all updated on my final answer.

Jady

Naughty Girl!! Beat you... ANGRY?? No lah, come on I'm not that petty ok.

Thanks for remembering to send us the pics.. very broke liao after reno and wedding so must choose a beach resort for honeymoon... rest & relax..

Beibao

OIC, your PS is in July... we are also quite comfortable with Travis and most imptly, we like his work.. Really hope my pics will turn out nice... Keep my fingers crossed..

Do try your best to join us in the next outing, ok? Hope to @@ you =)

to me...actually those custom hor is up to u and your parents... both our parents oso dunno need to be done... but they shld be able to based on their experience during their wedding day wat they do and so on...

think my one shld be quite simple... tea ceremony.. maybe dun even have an chuan oso.. cos our wedding date me and my hubby choose one.. did not consult anybody at all.. so no "time-table" to follow... and my mum not those pantang one... so okie lah... actually i shld follow hakka custom instead if hainan custom coz my dad hakka but leh my dad oso dunno anything so chin chai... my mum oni got one request... is roasted pig...

Leo29.. huh .. now also got "an chuang" ... a new term for me ...
*blurlook*
i'm the 3rd daughter marrying out .. so they simply bochup liao.. anw fine for me.. can save watever hassles ...

i dunno the ping jing part..........

wow! 5 hainanese liao! cool! hee i duno i can noe so many hainaese 1! cos this dialect quite rare lor.

twink|ets ~

Amore, strange leh.. my mom tells me that this year is quite good for dragons.. it is ox that is not good, and i have to go pay money to pray to tai-sui at the temple..

anyway, i will definitely spare my kids of these things.. sometimes dun even understand why we are doing it..

May: Guess what! the photo 5 cannot choose one. It is MTM EG of another bride, the designer wanted me to try this design and he actually wanted to something like this again but he cant make it for my PS. Yah the photo 31 really have long train but he will make it shorter for me cos really too big lor. the designer will make osme amendment for the round halter neck to slightly V. I am taking gown photo 24 and the halter neck for the shot. EG will be taking the dark blue photo 9 and photo 16 that u mention. My friend ask me to wear some diff design but none look nice on me so almost all bustier one. my friend also commented that i didnt try enough but is really tiring liao. The third outfit, i may be taking the japanese kimono or Kua. The Kimono is very nice but didnt. they show me the pic.

I'm having my dinner at a resturant so dun have a long aisle so it is ok lor.

amore,
mine also need roasted pig i guess. depend my mum. think all these customs thingy all deal by my mum. my father bochup king. Think only need to rent a coat & let him be available on tat day can already.

our dates also selected by ourselves. Just look at the CNY calender, see which day can marry & dun 'cong' both our parents can already.
Think Guo Da Li also bah.
Even ROM date also like tat.

twink|ets ~

yve... dunno leh dat day yuan xiao my cousin came to my house for dinner... say dragon this yr chiong with goat.. dunno... hehe anyway now modern days liao leh....

yup yup this year good for dragons leh ... good to marry too. Rats damn good 2... the others not sure liao ....

maybe amore is mentioning of the "fan tai shui" .. ? i think i heard my mum mentioned to me abt this.. but duno this year or last year... noe gotta go temple to pray pray lor ... but she din mentioned later, think our dragon signs shd be ok lar ......

wow piang .. i sound so eng today....

twinklets... hehe at least u go see lunar calendar.. mine one i dun even check!... the two of us just see whether the hotel is available.. in fact my grandpa just passed away end Y2001... hehehe think if really pantang cannot get married i think... ROM oso.. choose a date dat is convenient for us and our parents....

apologies for being unable to meet up yesterday....glad that you all enjoyed yourselves....hope that i'll be able to join you for the next gathering

hello there.......

yes, agreed we had a great time last nite!!! thks jady for bring us together - u deserved e ms congeniality award or 'ming xing lian' (star look) heeee ;p

e baton has been passed 2 me, i'm e coordinator/organiser for next meeting in Mar ;)
suggested date : 20th Mar 03 (incidentally 20th oso heee)

shall crack my head for venue to meet n let u gals now later!!

btw, heard there's wedding planner fair @ Taka tis sun - i'll b going!!
cheers to Oct 03 brides!!!

amore, 2001 yr end, tot only 2002 cannot marry?? hah ... even 2003 marry also can be affected??
hee infact hor .. initially we wanna follow like you also 1.. but later my mum said our 1st chosen date NO GOOD, so ... sighs gotta "balik" chose a new date wif reference to the calender lor..

somemore make us pay more tooo .... sigh s...

OOOOoooohhh fan tai shui ahh..
maybe ur mum got do it for ur lor.

But overrall we dragons are good. HEHE.

damn ...my office air con is spoilt .. i'm soooo hot now ...... feel like in sauna ...

leo 29... we haven't do yet leh! hehehe... coz they say 1-2mth can liao, & our hse not ready lor. but we did look thru the kind of material they hv, its wat we want lor. they say they got own factory, so cheaper, & can do any design, & 'claim' tat they make for most of the 'branded' brands. so actually they ask us to go places like lorenzo & tell them wat models we like, & they can duplicate the set! dun noe true or not leh...

amore , thanks..
me going next week. 28th feb...
staying at capitol hotel, golden triangle area..

as for the fan tai shui, i went to pray liao. me sheep so this yr no good. me n fh went to pray in this temple at jurong..

twinklets... thot is get married w/i 100 days if not must wait for 3 yrs?... dat's wat i heard leh...

today i beary happy leh... dunno y... maybe it's TGIF today

ya this yr is good for dragon...think both rat and monkey oso...

hi jan,
you got my pics liao.
abit blur hor?
Thanks for your compliments.
I personally also love the outdoor shots at Pulau Ubin coz itz very natural and unique.
we did not have to pay extra just for the ferry and transport charges which amount to $88.

my bridal studio is J&C Bridal Collections and my wedding dinner was held at Swissotel Merchant Court.

What abt urs?

I think not until cannot tahan lah but as I'm someone who's afraid of cold, i need a sweater on top of a windbreaker. Itz actually the wind that makes you shiver and also visits to places like bondi beach, anna bay where the wind is real strong! when i went to gol coat in 2001, i'm able to enjoy all the rides so no worries but of coz double check on the weather again when you are going as this year, most places temperature very funny, either extremely cold if not hot!

i need to check with my hubby on the hotel we stayed coz if i'm not wrong we stayed in 3 different hotels when we were in australia.

no worries, just ask me and i will help you if i can.
but you will surely enjoy yourself in australia!

gers... it is indeed true tat dragon 'chiong' 'ta shui' tis year. but oni for ppl born in certain years. fan ta shui is ox. there are 2 categories, 'chiong' & 'fan' lor. its diff animals each yr, & diff yr of the animals affected oni. wanna noe why i noe so much??? i juz went to pray 2 wks ago & discovered all these! my MIL said i 'chiong' lor, but actually no, coz diff yr. but hubby 'fan'so i juz pray w him lor... anything to wish for gd health & a smooth yr ahead! ;P

Hi gals... hee.. me most sincere award?? hee.. no lah.. i was nearby anyway... plus im pretty clueless when it comes to preparing for my oct wedding so i need to hear your advises...

yah.. i will chk with hyatt the backdrop color of the ballroom... will prob give my coodinator a call.

yup.. i had fun last nite too.. tho it feels quite like a short session for me.. at least i can remember who is who.. really nice meeting you gals.. heehee

looking forward to the next outing...

grace.. 28th i going penang with frens.. hmmn dunno where is hotel is.. hope is near bukit pintang... this is like our orchard road... there are two major shopping centre KLCC and Mid-valley... if u wanna go chinatown... try to take LRT but if ur hotel is along bukit bintang, no LRT... can take cab.. their chinatown is call petaling street.. er normally go petaling street hor the cab dun go by meter... just becareful..
I'm staying in a hotel near KLCC...

are.. wah beary chim.. all those really make pple confuse...

for fan tai shui, it is goat and ox.. so fh and me have to pray..

amore,
haiz, 100days also apply to grandparents? heh, my MIL waive this rule, otherwise I have to marry now.. cos my grandma just passed away in dec 2002 too.

as for my an chuang and weddings date, we went to sifu at si ma lu temple to ask for date.. paid 38 for the two dates and timings.. guo da li is the same day as an chuang.. like that leh, both parties (bride and groom) cannot complain as date is chosen by neutral party.. MIL wants to go back there to look for meipo.. pengs..

juz to share some info... 'guo da li' shd be a chosen date. wat the fortune teller told us is tat juz hv to check tat the date doesn't clash with both side parents & ourselves. coz if calculate siblings involved, hardly any date left! we not v comfortable w tis lor, coz its not a sat. wat my sis did was juz check tat the sat b4 the wedding is 'ok' on the lunar calendar. its usually 1 or 2 weeks b4 the wedding.

'an chuang', oso learnt from the fortune teller, is the physical action of 'putting the mattress on the bed frame'. wat he told us was tat we gotta do it on a 'gd' day, b4 a certain time. we oso not comfortable w tis, cos delivery can screw up & we wun feel gd if we miss the time. so we prob will refer to the calendar lor.

my mum said pin jing any amt oso can, cos she will oni take some anyway. but guess it still has to be 'a few thousand' coz my nosy relatives will ask her & i dun want her to lose face lor. anyway, its our money, & i'm sure she wun take a lot. i hate these relatives man!

juz to share some info... 'guo da li' shd be a chosen date. wat the fortune teller told us is tat juz hv to check tat the date doesn't clash with both side parents & ourselves. coz if calculate siblings involved, hardly any date left! we not v comfortable w tis lor, coz its not a sat. wat my sis did was juz check tat the sat b4 the wedding is 'ok' on the lunar calendar. its usually 1 or 2 weeks b4 the wedding.

'an chuang', oso learnt from the fortune teller, is the physical action of 'putting the mattress on the bed frame'. wat he told us was tat we gotta do it on a 'gd' day, b4 a certain time. we oso not comfortable w tis, cos delivery can screw up & we wun feel gd if we miss the time. so we prob will refer to the calendar lor.

my mum said pin jing any amt oso can, cos she will oni take some anyway. but guess it still has to be 'a few thousand' coz my nosy relatives will ask her & i dun want her to lose face lor. anyway, its our money, & i'm sure she wun take a lot. i hate these relatives man!

hi cherry,

received your email liao.

my 1st cny ah? was good coz 1st time giving angpaos and spend a total of S$1.5k but we got back abt S$800 in total from in laws.
i oso just came back from my short trip to bangkok coz my honeymoon only after june this year. hopefully can go europe which is my dream destination.

spend my v-day in bangkok shopping and eating.

yve... did u go to level 3 above the market, & the person is called 'ah sok'? coz the date he chose for our an chuang oso same as guo da li. but we not following, i hope, coz we gotta do it b4 12noon & it will be too rush for guo da li. i stay in toa payoh & hubby in sengkang! ;P

amore... sorrie to confuse you! ;P but anyway, for those who believe, can juz visit any 'tai shui' temple and check out the relevant animals & the yr born lor. the one i went to on paya lebar road has a chart there. but it think muz do in 'zheng yue', i.e. by lunar 30th of 1st mth lor.

Hihi Meekoo
Cakes r for relatives only. Given away by the brides. Groom dun need to give.
Initially my MIL told my hubby he will give me 2 bangles. Later said give him $ to buy watever I want.

Hihi Pausini
Both me n my hubby prefer color photos

Hihi Vin
My hubby saw Alan's work. I din. So no comment. Alan charges $480 for 8 rolls of films. No surcharge @ all. His contact no is 9759 1469
Check wif u when does the bride's mum give the things (eg sewing kit, brushing set, towels, pyjamas, etc)? During gou da li or ?? Let the groom bring home or we bring to love nest?

Hihi Maya
I m also giving out cake vouchers. Cakes v troublesome. Cake vouchers can let recipient change to anything they like besides cakes n the voucher last for a year. I only know Bangawan solo n Prima Deli sell vouchers. My hubby said better to buy cake vouchers fm cake shop wif branches all over Singapore then convenient for the recipient.

Jan - Kia Hiang Restaurant is big and spacious rite? Heard that the food's not bad!

Yi - Din celebrate v-day, nothing special for us lah, nvr celebrate b4 anyway...>=P

amore, well. it was such a relief that my MIL did not mind about the 100 days thing.. It is my grandma, dad's side.. imagine getting married within 100 days or 3 years later.. how to get married happily? think this is a hokkien tradition.

are, not third floor, second floor, corner, near to the bridge to the hdb block next to market. It is a guy. MIL approached someone along the road and she said she needs to go back and check then give us a date a few days later. We did not like this so we went to search at the market. This guy was recommended by a incense shop. He looked thru the tong shu and gave us the dates and times, wrote them on a red paper.. He also did some fortune telling lah, make us happy abit. We will follow the date/time given. An Chuang in the afternoon on 18 Oct (2 weeks before 1 nov) and i must jin men from 9 to 11 on 1 nov. hee, means fh has no bed to sleep for 2 weeks..

Hi Beibei,

Yeah, since so many can't make it, better posptpone it....but thanks for your effort in helping to organise this...
Guess we got to meet some other time then.....

Uh Oh. Beibei, let me know if it is really postponed. Gotta tell my mum that I'm coming home for dinner.
Next time I cannot do Fridays anymore. My schedule has changed and actually tonight I'm skipping another engagement for this!!

joyful!!!!

I was trying to locate you but cos u didn't give me your hp number so really stressed!!I was also planning to postpone it since so many can't make it...
lucky u log in to forum...ok shall postpone the gathering...thanks for appreciating my effort...really hope to meet all of you the next round!

priviledged,
just sms u..so we confirmed postponing ok??
think next round we do it on mid week??

gals,
the first meeting for June 03 brides is officially being postponed.

Beibei,

Solly for adding onto your stress! I knoe not easy to organise an outing for so many pple....yeah, like priviledged, i also postponed another gathering for this one...but guess can't be helped lah....

I think might be harder to meet as our wedding date draws nearer and everyone got so many things on hand to do...it's nearing to March and about 3 mths countdown to JUNE!!!!!

Amore,

Hahaha, my mum also said "you tot I sell pork one har", when i ask her how much Ping Jing she want. Treat me as a pig!!!! No lah! This are old time when they describe this. Anyway, I think we will give my mum a few K. A small token to her for taking care of me all this years

You are right! It’s either within 100 days or after 3 years. You really modern hor! Simply bo chap. Of course you are happy lar, coming home soon. Somemore can see your lovely hb.

Yve,

If really chiong, it’s better to avoid lor. Anyway, we got nothing to loose. My wedding
chiong horse. Lucky only 2, nt very important ppl, my brother galfrd and my sister boyfrd. But anyway, when my hb come and fetch me, my whole family will hide in the room until he enter our hse. This is our family practice.

Yes, this year ox very bad. That why when the master choose date for me, he need to be very careful. Hee…, I quite superstitious and had pray the tai-shui ye already

Are,

Sound good. I will pay them a visit if I’m free. Must ask where is their factory. To see whether they got bluff us or not. I believe they are doing carpentry.

yve... tat's the same guy! ;P eh, he said some gd some bad things abt us leh, so we juz listen & try to do as he says lor. but the things he say quite true lor, esp me & hubby's temper! ;P

Hi Pam

thanks...will send you an email...

oh..does anyone know the gown in DBS Advert..life is beautiful....i love that gown....am trying to look for a replicate of that....but have yet to know if that sort of neck line suits me.

mrs quake...are you with UOB???

are, really uh??
yeah, he said somethings that are quite true also.. but take with a pinch of salt lor. i think he is right that i am smarter than my hubby lor.. *wink* but i have to be patient.. fh and i are both ox, very stubborn.. we have to be patient and give in if necc, dun quarrel..

wah, if ox is as this year, means i high chance to be in my Co's retrenchment list?? haiz, life is always like that hor.. good in one aspect, bad in some others.. always in balance..

leo29, cheong on cheong MIL, but end up BIL also has to hide.. a bit too much eh?? anyway, look open a bit.. life goes on.. retrenchment goes on..

flowee, ya, if i MIA, u can call & interrogate me!!haha....when's yr photoshhot agn? i forgot...(i v absent minded one..sori..hehe)

eh...i think i was also offered the UOB "promotion package" 1 year ago?! it's an interest free instalment cum an amount off the package price is it? I was then told that the promotion will end in about a month's time.. maybe they recycled the promotion..