(2003) Brides of year 2003

Shook: U saw my friend jas77 actual day photo? It was done by a colleague's brother. Thinking of trying out someone than take the same person. Alan Dai pricing is among the cheaper range. His office is at Katong Shopping centre.

Cake Voucher is convinence but if we are giving the cake to the relatives who are those elderly one then not the voucher. Some elderly not that modern, they will feel why shld they get the cake themselves. If to those married cousins may be ok lor.

pausini: ur this selection is only for ps. So got another round for actual day? Yeh, is very tiring to try gown. Esp when not all look nice. I remember when i was going round on bridal hunt, the gowns i tried some look so horrid on me.
Oh photo 5 is someone mtm..hmmm...hopefully, the owner no see your pix... no offence...but r they suppose to that? i mean let u try other mtm gowns? I know my bridal disallow, coz the last time, there was this otr gown i want to try but she said another bride reserve for her wedding liao so i cant try. It is only otr. Anyway, just my tots. Good for you that u get to try anyway so that u know the diff in cutting.

leo29... actually, there are quite a few furniture shops in toa payoh tat 'claims' they hv own factory, so can alter design, and price 'cheap'. so it will be my turn next time to ask you how is their worksmanship? ;P

aiyo... wish my mum can be like you gers' mums, open abt pin jing. but can't blame her lah, she oso under pressure of relatives, so gotta put up a gd 'show' for them lor... sianzzz...

Wah! Just a few hours and so many postings...
Me come in when compiling my codes..hehe..think Amore knows what I'm talking abt..

U all talking abt customs?? Hmm..I haven't reach that stage yet..haven't ask my parents yet..

Amore,
actually both of us are having church wedding..yes, if possible, help us to check how much for ring pillows and unity candles in KL..thanks...=P

Grace,
I think I've stayed in that hotel b4...it's almost at the end of jalan bintang..near BB plaza or something..
ya, go mid valley..real big shopping center..

yve... when we went to 'pai tai shui', the horoscope there says tat ox must work hard tis year, but dun expect much in return, & dun aim for too high goals, hard to reach. hubby ox so we took note of tis. so if you take tis with a pinch of salt, maybe 'lie low' to avoid probs? me dragon oso muz lie low tis year. gotta watch wat i say coz there are a lot of 'xiao ren' around me, & i will offend them, esp in the office, & its so true!!!

Beibei

so sorry the outing is postponed.

Hopefully we will be able to meet during next outing.

Hv e-mailed u my mobile number liao! can keep in touch by sms.

me will be walking over to National Museum 2 c d wedding exh (today free entry, hee...), then wait for tym 2 pass then I'll go airport n fetch my hub. Aiyoh, at last the agony is ending.....

Me looking fwd 2 nxt meeting too, though my hub will oso be jealous! <wink wink Serene>

are, then i must work like an ox uh?? already very tied up. *pant* but taking it slow today as it is FRIDAY.. u same as my bro, dragon too..

yve... i think nowadays everybody oso work like ox, portfolio increase but pay stagnant...

me dragon but guess shd be a year younger than your bro, coz i'm 77, but born b4 CNY. complicating lah... always confuse ppl one. ;P eh? i oso seem to be quite eng hor?
its friday!

anyway, i juz went to the mayer warehouse sale during lunch. prices not v fantastic, juz abt $100 diff from new set. but all display sets, so some might hv scratches or dents, but in working condition. bought a washer, hood, cooker, oven. but we like the cooker, coz got all the features we want. so tat's one big load off our mind, now to attack the sink!

Hihi Pausini

Yes saw jas77's photos. U in there?

Alan's charge is the cheapest among all I found.

Thx 4 your comment on the cake voucher. I din think of dat. Shall discuss wif my mum n c if she has any comment.

Agree wif May dat your bridal boutique not ethical to let other brides try MTM gowns.

I haven't c your photos yet. Dunno wat happen to my hotmail a/c. A message said dat it is not available @ the moment.

fishball, what wedding exhibition is it?
can tell us more about it?

poor thing you, very cham to live alone when hubby is outstation. my hub will also be leaving the country for his reservist this coming july. oh no....

Pam: lad to know that you have narrowed down as well. Will also keep you updated on my decision for thephotographers. I have made appointments with Andrew Choi tomorrow and Andrew Tay on next Friday.

Rinoa: Yes, I'm with UOB and so I'm able to get the $300 discount for the White Link package. But on top of that, I've managed to 'negotiate' on quite a few things to be included. I told the sales person that I will only make a decision (whether to take up the offer) after I see the show today. But after much consideration, I have more or less decided to stick to Dang.

Tingting: I'm not surprise if they do that. This promotion actually help them to generate more sales.

Shook: I was in there. U cant recon me see how fat i am *crying*. U havent rx it? but ur email ok leh i dun have any error report from ur hotmail acct. wait a little while lor. If still dun have i resend on monday ok.

regarding the cake, better to check with ur mum. like my MIL have given instructions to my FH that they will buy the cake and not the voucher to show relatives and my mother the sincerity. Aiyo, up to her lah. I think most of the time, i just reply "ok lor" to avoid conflicts.

May, Shook: actually i dun want to try other MTM gown cos not very nice to do so, still some one precious EG. If i am the bride i also wldnt liek it. Designer said he want to see whether i wear that design nice or not as he wanted to do something similar for OTR and if ok for me he will made and let me wear anyway the gown not quite ready so i am just like a model for the dress for a few minutes only. like MTM liao hor. may be if the designer able to get something similar up on time i may take it. I dun know whether the bride wld know. better not but i am very careful will the dress. Actually there is one with the halter neck too n OTR is already booked by another bride and they didnt let me wear it. fair lah.

are, you make it sound like its a war.
also thinking of getting appliances from Mayer but going to wait until maybe Aug/Sep cos house not ready yet... hubby say even if got place to store, warranty period could run out even before we had really used the appliances.

clyne, hi there, long time no 'hear'. according to my colleague who lives near our future homes, the building is coming along nicely and the interior seems to be done up to 20+ floors already.. can't wait. looking forward.

Pausini: forget to comment on your earlier msg abt detox with apples. Unfortunately, i dont like apple. So cannot embark on this detox diet.

akira... oh no! we din think of tat!!! the oni thing tat's in our minds now is tat we need to determine wat we want to buy so we can design the kitchen, so since the price is reasonable, so we buy lor... ;P it is really a war!
esp with my class starting next mon, i will hv less time to shop with hubby, so watever time we hv hv to spend on the hse things lor. we so long nvr pa tor liao!!!

Hi Yi,

Can you check for me which hotels you stayed and let me know. Will you recommend to go there?

I checked wif Chan Brothers, they quoted $1468 for Gold Coast/ Syd/ Mel plus 5 nite acc and domestic flights. All on Quantas. Wat do you think?

Fion, your bridal in JB, muz be cummbersome to travel to and fro but save a lot of $$ hor. Where is Kia Hiang Rest? Is it at Bukit Merah if I'm not wrong?

Wah Yi, you give angbao until so much ah. I only gave abt $200 odd. I got not many niece and nephews and cousins. Your ang bao sure beri big one lor.

HI Shook,

You can bring the things that you mention once you buy it to put in your new love nest or you can bring over on your "guo da lu" or your wedding day.. all is up to your convenient.

For me, for those thing I bought in Singapore with my MIL (except "shang dou" ceremony stuff), my MIL just asked me to put in our room. And for those I bought from Malaysia, I bring my bf place on my "guo da li"

Hi rinoa,

there was a discussion here on that advert last year, somebody posted that it was a Vera Wang gown, u know that famous US designer whose gowns are gorgeous but very ex! The Link carries her gowns, i think. If u like that kinda style, can try Bridal Veil, the designer Michelle Huimin is reputed to be Sgp's Vera Wang. I think a bustier neckline suits most people, give it a try lor!

I also like that advert very much, in fact it was one reason why i chose hyatt, heehee!

Are,

I think my aunts they all wouldn’t ask about the this. So my mum got no pressure. Ask your mum no need to tell them the actual amount you give her, mark up the amount lah.

Same as you, I went to the temple at paya lebar road. So many ppl lei.

Yve,

We also lei. The sifu said our character are very different so have alots of argument. He said I always bully my hb so tell my hb how to deal with me. At least I know where i go wrong so try to tune it back. He also told my hb not to argue with me becos I can argue things that I was in the wrong until become his fault. Base on animal, by right should be my hb bully me becos he is tiger but it's turn the other way round.

We are naughty Ox!

Yve,

Althoug ox this year no good but i always tell myself, tong ren bu tong ming(different life for differnt ppl). I always look at the bright side.
Go and pray tai shui lor! Hope he can bless us this year to turn bad things into good things,
and make our life go on smoothly. You know other animals fan tai shui but ox chong tai shui. Sound serious hor!

How is your health hah? I saw a book last time saying Ox health no good when young. Me always sick.

Are and Meow,

You got your house key already?

Hi Jan,
Ya, is quite troublesome but really enjoyed preparing for my wedding. Anyway, the photos also turn out well. So, really worth it! Ya, if really cheaper compared to the Singapore Bridal Shop, and the packages also got a lot of things compared to Singapore Bridal Shop. Really worth it la!

Yes, at Bukit Merah - Kim Tian Place actually. But is not the restaurant that i want for my wedding dinner. But what can i do, is my Father in law make decision for us. He said is his friends open the restaurant so much give his friend a "face". But anyway, dont look after already since is over. Dont want make myself angry.

Hi! Cherry,
Ya, Kia Hiang Rest is big &amp; spacious and the food also not bad. But the services really cannot give comment!!!!!.......you should know what i mean...

Hi Rinoa,
My wedding venue is Fullerton, when I booked also not much choices left..... there are many Dec 28 brides around.

Last night was really-really fun! So nice to meet u gals :-)

hullo jady, thank's for organizing our outing. Receive ur pics already. Ooooooh .... the place is sooooo beautiful! *drooling* Will definitely show them to FH

1027, my 1st facial was with Jessica but now I'm with Emily since she's the only one doing extraction without tools. You can actually request for Jessica if u want. So u'll join our next outing?

beibao, glad it can help

poki, who knows maybe that Koh Chang is more beautiful than Mauritius *kekeke* Me also tempted to go there leh

vio, Mar 20 shld be fine with me

fishball, it's nice ur hubby is back in town. U have a great weekend, ok?

Have a nice weekend gals!

Leo29,
Yeap, i got my keys many months ago. Now starting to look for renovators.

Everyone talk about guo da li and ping jing, i got nothing to contribute.
No idea what to do. Dun even bother to think about all these yet. My mum also dun bother whereas my dad very particular. Any ideas how many tables does your parents ask from the groom side?

So sorry that i was not able to join all of you yesterday
too busy with work
; (
glad to know that you girls enjoyed yourselves
hope to be able to join in for the next gathering...

have a great weekend ahead!!!

Read from the papers last week that due to romancing singapore activities, they are holding wedding related exhibitions and fashion show this sat and sun. Wonder whether i have time to drop by taka

Hi Pricilia,
Welcome to the forum!

Twinklets,
My FSIL is the only daughter married to our only brother, so my mom feels more of the need to give "4-Dian Jing". So far they only to find 3 items of jewellery...still one more to look for...
How much they spend on it...about $3K plus...good timing cos when they were sourcing for the 4-dian-jing..many places were having post-christmas sales...but the diamond earrings was not on sales though...but very nice leh...envy..

Actually, daughters do get that from their mom too..Mom actually ask me about it but i still feel it is not neccessary... can do w/o the "4-dian-jing"...it jus for people to see only mah...
I'd prefer my parents to use the money to buy themselves a tour/holiday...or some better use.

Many couple frens actually share to pay for their own wedding my Kor &amp; Me too), only the extremely lucky ones got their wealthy Groom's parents to pay for it. Nowadays the "Ang Baos" can hardly cover your dinner expenses, so how can U expect person to pay for U...can lah! my FFIL actually wanted the dinner at those "Balestier Long Feng restuarant". Thank goodness, my FH said not way man...
I actually went to a wedding (paid by groom's father), his father engage those Old Karae OK frens to say in their wedding...imagine like hungry ghost festival dinner...pity the young wedding couple...it's like the father is the one getting married instead...

Dunno what happened to my previous posting?? Rec'd a call fm Conrad that I can pick up my invitation cards already &amp; next mth can go for the food tasting.

Hi Pausini: I rec'd yr photos. Thks. For EG, I like you in no.9, the dark blue ones. No. 16 looks slightly dull on you. I think you look better in bright colours. For WG, No.24 is very nice &amp; I like the back of the gown. The halter one is nice and it will be better if you can get a V-neck halter. This will make you look slimmer.

Hi May: My bridal boutique told me that if I want to look taller, then I shld not hv a cut in the waistline. Better to have a full panel becos the cut in the waist will divide yr height into two &amp; makes u look shorter. That's y I go for a full panel gown.

Hi Shook/Maya: Pausini is right abt not to give cake vouchers. One of my cousins did that &amp; some relatives (the senior ones) feedback that it is not sincere at all! Better please them then to let them gossip. That's why my mum said that better to deliver the cake to them personally.

Are,
Still deciding to have the Noyna Kebaya or not...
Cos U really have to get the right fit for it...
Once i have my bridal settled ...wif more time a might make a trip trip Malacca to find a tailor for that...if not i might do w/o the Kebaya lor.

Btw, i think Today(Sat) &amp; maybe tomorrow got a documentary on Channel-U about a Kebaya talior, who is near my Mom's place....Her workmanship very good but very expensive ...she charges about $700plus for hus the top only!
My mom jus bought one kebaya top wif the sarong for only $200 today...with alteration to fit somemore....of course embriodery a little diff compared to the above...

hi DK,
Thanks for your advice, what I don't really know is what should we buy for my customery wedding I also not really sure.
is it a must to change our bed cos we bought ours for only 1yr plus?
My eldest sister was saying can buy new bedsheet can liao, is it true can do that?
My mum side is also prenanakan they have the sarong kebaya but after my great grand mother pass away they give away all of it cos they thought we all young people won't be intersted in all these, such a waste.

Nowdays it is so expensive but Malacca maybe cheaper cos few mths back I was there n it is really cheaper then SIngapore n their prenanakan shoes r very nice too. MAybe can try wearing it with your prenanakan clothing.

Me so sad,
I actually wanted to book M hotel for my wedding dinner but when I went to the M hotel thread in this website, I found out another person have already book it n its on the same day I wanted, so sad...... but the person actually wanted 10th floor ballroom but have been taken so she took the 2nd floor ballroom that can take up more people n that is the ballroom I wanted so much but really hope that person could give up her date cos I heard that she maybe changing her date to her chinese birthday that is few weeks later, everyday praying to god that I could have her booking......

Priscilla,
Dun be so sad ok.
Jus pray hard loh. Does she knows you there? As in chat with them in the forum?

Yeah, i've been to Malacca too. Agree their shoes are very nice and slightly fashionable.

Akira,
ya, I'm waiting patiently for the house..whenever I pass by Bishan, I will see the 2 towers sticking out but dunno what's the progress inside..

leo... infact all my auntie uncle beary modern.. by right last yr CNY.. we cannot celebrate lah... but we still do....

meow hahaha same here.. my mum and hubby mum oso dunno wat to do abt guo da li... in fact oso dunno shld let our parents meet anot... coz my mum and dad no request/demands...

clyne... will help u to check...wat's ur budget like?...

Amore,
yah lor. I agree with you. When i ROM that day, we already arrange them to sit together during the recep, but his parents very quiet thou my parents try to talk to them.

Clyne,
So what did you buy back from thai? Anything related to wedding?

Jing,
You got your bouquet done? You still need my contact? Please settle them fast, or maybe hubby behind your back already settle liao?

hi flowee,

sorry hah yesterday help hubby do housewk like changing bedsheets, mopping the floor etc as today we are celebrating my mum's birthday so no time to do housework today, tatz why never log on to the chatrm yesterday. finish everything plus make sandwiches for hubby at 11plus so too late to log on after having my shower.

i wld surely log on if i'm free.

today, i will be celebrating my mum's birthday and tomoro, hubby bringing me to farm mart to see animals
never been there b4.

u looking for wedding shoes? u buying off the rack or MTM? I bought my silver strappy wedding shoes from OG Albert.

hi jan,

i will check with hubby asap and let u know. Our package then was S$1.7k+ for 8D/7N to Sydney/Gold Coast.
Really enjoy ourselves then coz got a few more young couples like us in our tour group.
My tour pkg is with SA(UIC) instead.

as for angbao, we gave S$200 each to both sets of parents and S$60 to siblings and close nephews and plus the rest = S$1.5k but like i say we got back S$800+ from in laws. hehe

hi cherry,

hubby and i still celebrate V-day, courtship anniversary, rom anniversary, birthday, christmas by buying gifts (either big or small) for each other coz we dun want each other to take each other for granted after wedding. the feeling of buying gifts for each other like last time park toh times. hehehe

Thanks Meow and Akira,
Got my hand bouquet settled liao. Settled with a florist opposite our office building, cos my hubby will be knocking off late on the eve of my ROM. That shop closed at 8plus.. and it's nearby. More convenient. Most florists close at 6plus.
Be using tulips, freesia, some other wild flowers.. Cost abt $80, haha, got 5% disc cos our office is nearby..
Meow, Thanks for asking..
To all,
Have a great weekend!!

Jing,
Do remind the florist to give you some tip or flower food to keep your bouquet last. I was told not to put them in the fridge, for its too cold for them. Place them in a air-con room will do. Do show us your photos later.

Congrats to you!

Hi gals &amp; guy,

MIA long time liao!!! got to read all the postings...WOW headache man!!

Meow,
Nick jus increase his prices.. more expensive..do think will be getting him.. thank for your info..
im still drifting.. dun knw wht to do... getting lazy.. hais....

Hi Ladies!

Finally settled my bridal package and photography. We place a deposit for Dangs MTM package with no photography at $3288. For photographer, FH and I Andrew Choi is well worth the $$$. We went to see him yesterday and look through his albums and packages.

FH was so taken with his style and impress with the picture and portraits on the wall that he didn't mind blowing our budget! Heheheh.

Just to share the package with you ladies

Dang (MTM package w/o photography - $3288):

MTM WG (rental)
MTM EG (keep)
MTM teadress(keep - Singapore Bride Membership)
MTM Groom Suit (Keep)
4 make up by Kelly Chavel (trial,studio,day,nite)
* No extra charges for separate day wedding.
6 Corsages
Bridal car decor
Ribbons for 2 accompanying cars
Free rental of accessories

Photography (Outdoor Only by Andrew Choi - $1500)
30 8Rs in album
CD Rom of Album photos
8R Table Top framed photo
* Additional 2 8R photos if you use the Citibank Flexible payment scheme (Valid till Mar 03)

In total - $4788 for bridal and photo packages.

Serene Sng,
You sure he did? How much he charge now? I took the $1500 package. Unsure what it will be now. Which package will you be getting?

You getting lazy, me getting headache with all the reno stuffs. Now still sourcing for contractors.
Yet still have a lot of things to do. Sian...