(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi cookiemz,

raffles ballroom was booked already? so fast. i'm sure you will find the right venue for your banquet.

as for the design of gowns and ps, ya still got. i'm having my ps in may. you have done major stuff except for the banquet. once that is done, then it really comes down to the nitty gritty details.

yup, just church and hopefully honeymoon on that night or the following day. hee hee. =0)

Good Morning

Yes! The outing was great... Really nice to get to know u all better.

Jady, thanks for organising the outing... =)

Hi Fion,

Your pics are very nice. You have got a very sweet smile.

Sorrie, my studio pics are not scanned cos dun have scanner at home.

hullo all morning!!...

wah so long nebber come in... thread sooo loongg liao....

hehe my mum oso hainanese... but she say dun need the golden ball... she just want roast pig...

sweetie... ya confirm my gown design in late dec... going to my fitting once week mar... hehe beary excited now... looking forward to it!.... mine both a line....

yve... its better to hv someone pour tea lah, i think. still gotta pour the leftover away, then wash the cups for next round leh. wat i know is the tea is usually red dates, logan tea, so each cup muz hv red dates, to signify 'tian tian mi mi', and the person drinking cannot finish all, juz sip oni. anyway, if your side chin chai, then can juz use normal tea lot. as for the siam, its juz for the moment you and hubby step into the house lor. my BIL oso gotta siam us.

Jing Jing,

I DIYed my bouquet for ROM. bought calla lilies from Far East Flora (Thomson) and ribbbons from handicraft shops.Basically arrange the calla lilies in a manner pleasing to you, scotch-tape to secure and wrap the long stems with ribbon to hide scotch-tape and decorate. Total costs including costs of flowers for experiment comes up to $25 compared to $120 I was quoted for by some designer florists. Looks pretty much the same as those they had on their brochures. But if you are looking for a short bouquet then I guess its better to get something from a reputable florist. My favourite is the Flower People at Raffles Hotel.tel 63373477

DK, wat i heard from my mum is the 'golden ball' is from the bride side, as a 'jia zhuang'. but i'm not so sure abt the groom side being hainanese leh, my family oni two girls! ;P but i always tot pin li is usually dependant on brides' family's 'demands'. so will u be in traditional peranakan attire as well? so nice! actually i wanted as my tea dress, but scared ppl mistaken us for peranakan, and parents unhappy lor...

hi sue

ps just over last sat... quite fun and very tiring.... slept the whole sunday!

the prima deli voucher u guys talking about is for cake to relatives or friends?

do we need to give cakes to frds and colleague? very confused?

do every bride need "4pcs gold"?

amore, hi long time no 'hear'. so good to see you again.Still outstation in KL? take some pics during your gown fitting to show us okie?? I haven't decided anything yet but prob going to stick to A-line + bustier.. not so demanding on figure. ha ha. its uncanny how many Hainanese there are in this thread.. when I was in school I hardly had any classmates who were Hainanese.

priscilla, welcome.

akira... yup in KL now... going back Spore this evening... hmm will be station here til Apr..

okie no prob...will take photos mine both oso bustier... but EG is a two piece... but leh... not those really revealing two piece lah!.... just expose abit on the waist... heheeh will be seeing it in mar!!... so happy...

eh i developed our gathering photos... at spore now... maybe will scan it this weekend then email to all of u.. okie?!... then will let those who are not there guess each one of us!

from wat i understand hor the golden ball is for ur ancestors... something like offering.. cos I rem my uncle got married dat day the two golden balls are placed at the alter... and think now not easy to find the golden balls.... think oni the place near albert sq/tower have it?

welcome on board pris!

Peabrain & sue: dun know why the ofoto.com having problem sending to those yahoo account. all the yahoo accounts cant go thru. I try again later cos i am now uploading the 2nd selection. So can send to all together lor.

Sue: yah if FH really want to go to Korea then i will choose to visit during their winter so can ski.

May: I suddenly remember i came across one detox method which was published in the newspaper. It is the "apple" method cheap and easy. All we need to do to detox is to eat apply for 3 days. only apples. then can take light tea, most prefer the peppermint tea cos it wasnt that strong as we only take apple for whole day. of course beside tea will be water. take the red apple, dun take the green one cos it is too sour for the stomach. wanna to try? i wanted to try next monday. anyone interested? at least we do it together go motivation.

Kare: I tried the halter neck too. i think the bridal shop shld allow the bride the take pictures during the selection. Some of the gowns i tried look nice on me but doesnt turn out nice on pictures. I show my mum the pictures i took and the dress she suggested me to take is also the one i have chosen. think the next fitting is a few days before the PS. This time rd really need to bring mummy down cos she used make dresses for people.

Shook: OK, u not taking B&W pictures? actually i find the journalistic pictures turn out very well in B&W but my FH dun like.

hmm... wat's the diff between a-line and princess? me & hubby sort of settle our mind on tis gown we reserved from our 1st fitting, so unless i see anything else better next fitting, tat will be it. but i dun noe how to describe to you all the design leh... its a bit flare at the bottom, no train, & got little flowers in pink w green leaves all over. its a bustier, but i may get them to add shoulder straps coz i dun feel confident enuff to wear a bustier! ;P

amore... i oni know the hainanese restaurant in jurong east hv the golden ball, which i saw on TV. i think last time ppl use it as an offering for many occasions. so fast your gown is ready? it muz be real exciting to see your design become actual gown!

meow... i juz rem tat we saw really nice beds from picket & rail warehouse store at stamford hse before. the design is quite nice, & they are v sturdy. but we can't buy coz they are oni available in dark wood colour, & since our rm will hv parquet, it will be too dark. such a pity man, coz we haven't found an equivalent set yet.

halo flowee,

yesterday is my 1st time logging into the SB Chat and when i went in, you just logged out as told by fishball.

now i shifted to new place, you can let me know whenever you all are inside so that i can log in too, okie?

hi cherubies,

hope you'll get your keys real soon!

Hi Jan,

I have just emailed you 3 of my wedding pics.
Feel free to comment.

As for australia, when i went ard may/june 2001, it was quite cold. there was a night at sydney and the temp is 9 degree but other than that, the weather is rather cooling in the day especially at gold coast.

1027, yes! cos we got along so well & basically chatted non-stop fr 6.45 to 10.30pm!!
next organiser is vio. we tend to meet at least once evry mth except maybe sept(cos we all bz with preparations liao)..haha. it'll be either a tue or thur.

*wave* to fishball : Miss Congeniality ah!! wah, i'm so flattered! wait till i tell amos, he'll probably 'beng(4)'!hehe

poki, i joking when i say u blurest leh...no offence ah:p u know me lah, i'm a playful gal..
i'll email u later the koh kood island pics but hoh, sometimes pics nice real place not so beautiful. u noe wat i mean? if u talking abt samui or Phuket, then i can brief u on these.

Hi Pam

have booked raffles the plaza for my wedding venue. What abt you??
there was not much choice left by the time i decided on that date....most were taken up already

you r right, din want to go lotsa shops to confuse myself...
btw any ideas on the price range for the packages from most shops???

will be heading to the show @ GC too...

see u pple there!!!

Hi Jan, I got your fotos. You look great. I like the shots taken at Pulau Ubin. Very natural. The background oso very special, something you cannot find in Sing. Did you pay extra to the photographer to go there? Also kpo, which bridal u went to and where is your dinner held at?

So was the temp so cold in Aust until cannot tahan? Did it rain all the time or was it jus cold wind. I'm afraid if go Gold Coast in such cold temp cannot play those rides and walk around. Will a windbreaker be sufficient in the afternoon or need a few layers of clothing? Sorie hor so many qns.... keekeke... sua ku lah. 1st time go there. Which hotels did you stay? Were they good?

Erin: I like all the intrincate designs on gown but somehow, the gowns just don't look too good on me. Glad to hear that you are abole to take their designs.

Pam & Rinoa: I'll be going to the show with my FH as well. If you guys want to meet, can email me. I'm just there to see designs only.

I actually went to White Link at Marina Square last week. I was offered a special promoton package under UOB and did some fabulalous negotiation with the sales person even though I didn't have the intention to sign at the moment. I manage to convince her that she should offer me the negotiated package after the show cos I want to see the design first.

Can't remember all the stuff in the package but is quite comprehensive (include car and actual day photo). The total cost is about $4500. Most probably, I won't sign up with them cos I really want to use Andrew Choi or Andre Tay for my photography. If you guys are interested in signing White Link, we can meet up and see the sales person together then you gals can take a look at the negotiated package offered to me. That way, all my 'negotiation saliva' won't go to waste mah. Heheheheh.

Hi Shook,

How's Alan's work?? My friend would like to engage a photographer, do you mind to gv us his contact???

Is S$480/- for 8 rolls?? Is that any sur-charge??

Hi Pausini,
Sorry, will let you know the gown later.

Oh good! hopefully i can join you all for the next meeting ! sounds like so much fun!
*excited*

Thanks for organising Vio !

Thanks Are and Novgroom, i'll take note on that.

Welcome Priscilla,
If you want, can sent your details to me at [email protected]
with the followings:
Nickname
Real Name
Birthday
ROM Date
Actual Day
Venue of Banquet
Email Address
Contact Nos
New Home Location(Eg Punggol)
Name of Bridal

Jing,
I got my bouqet at $48 from my hubby's friend. She owns a florist. I got ranunculus for my bouquet, if you've seen my ROM photos. You can also choose freesia, roses, calla lilies, tulips and many more. What type of flowers you like. If you want, i can give you the details later. She import flowers from holland.

are.. if i'm not wrong... princess cut got 6 pieces sewn together.. then a-line can be 2 or 1 piece to form the dress....

hihi ladies

TGIF...
wasup 4 the wkends???
i will b checkin out my bridal shoes else might nt b able 2 find it b4 my 1st fittin in late mar...
any recommendation???
wld like a closed toe shoe 4 my WG n a strappy one 4 my EG...

yi

how come log in so late???
u can 'find' mi online after 9pm @ nite...
will sms u when i m online ok...

kk mei

heng u understd wat i m tryin 2 say!!!
i like the puffy feelin!!!

jady

hows ur gatherin last nite???
lookin 4ward 2 meetin u on the one we r hvin!!!

ladies

still no show of hands who wish 2 attend besides jady, yi, elaine n myself???
dun shy shy lei!!!

Jady: thanks for organising yesterday outing!
Was great knowing you gals...
now I can relate the face to the nick

Heee..actually my hubby waited for me from 9.30pm..he was very jealous that we chit chatted for so long that I forgot all abt meeting him...heheee

Thanks for reminding me abt the backdrop for my banquet..just called my hotel to check out the color
Btw, you mentioned abt a shop near Bukit Merah that sells cheap electrical appliances, mind if you can give me the address..i am working near there..so thought I can drop by during lunch time to lok around.

Hee...me not so 'xian qi liang mu' lah...i can be quite fierce at times...think I got double personality..hehe

Hi ladies, anyone knows besides Begawan Solo, which other cake shop can issue cake vouchers? Dun feel like lugging boxes all over the place.

Meekoo, mom told me that cakes are usually only for relatives. Friends, no need.

Those trying halter necks, look at your shoulder shape too. If you have narrow or sloping shoulders, they don't look too nice.

Also, can anyone tell me the diff btw dutch over, saucepot, stockpot? What can they be used for? Buying kitchenware and saw them in papers today. But the 3 mentioned look abt the same. Dunno which one to buy.

Leo29,

Ehh I’m pure hainanese.. think u confuse liao.
Hehehe .. Actually I dunno whether Roasted Pig is only meant for Hainanese or not.. hee cos I saw them during my sisters’ wedding ..

I’m not sure of the trotters too… hmmmm…
HEHEHE ya lor u so damn notty!!!! She really got the sim leh, very nice of her.

Hahaha u siao 1 .. u noe other pple dialect u dunno ur own 1…
Ur parents noe or not???
Me cant help u .. noe nuts even on my own dialect.. let alone othes… kakaka

Yve,
Ya lor, agreed wif Are, u can juz get your auntie do lor. Infact hor, my “Xiao Gu” poured for both my sisters’ wedding. Guess she’ll do for mine too.
But maybe ur family more traditional… hmm.. ??

Are,
I noe the xiang qing hehe heard u gals mention last time. But hor, I very “gian beng” leh. I wanna demand more from my FH.
hahahaha I noe I’m damn material + cruel .
17807.gif

WOWWWWWW the guo da li sound chim to me …
A lot of things gotta learn hor. Ehh agar when gotta guo da li??? Any idea? haa.. u sound like my advisor...

DK,
I dun think all hainanese practise tat lor.
17808.gif

But for mine I unable to see, cos no doubt FH is a Hainanese but he follows his mum techow’s way.

Wow!! Ur family got 3 weddings ah!!? Wow !!!! Guess all of u must be very busy for this whole year thr!!
But think is only 1 guy marrying , the balanced 2 is gals rite?
If 2 guys, think ur parents even more shiong hor?

Hmm sound like ur FSIL got nice 4 jian jin. How much in total around? I got NO idea how muz 4 dian jin is . Scully FH no $$, he gotta use our joint saving to buy.

Yo amore!
Long time no see too.

Think here we got 4 of us Hainanese? Anymore ? Hmmm..

Twink|ets ~

Yve,

Ya lor, pour tea lady can be anybody. My SIL married that time, I was the one that pour tea for them. If family member got the animal that chiong with you, they just cannot see you Jin Meng and Chu Meng that all.

Are,
I roughly know the location. When is your sofa ready? How long it’s take? Did they show you any sample? How is their workmanship?

Your parent really very chin chai hor, ti qing also no need. Good lor!
I don’t think I can escape. I feel very awkward when they meet up. I guess mine they will come to my hse and Ti Qing. If not, we will do it during food testing.

Twinklet,

Ai yoh, my parent also don’t know. My mum said will ask around when it’s near. She also the type that do things last minutes. Want to vomit blood already.

I tot guo da li date was suppose to be pick by the sifu that pick your wedding date? I think Guo da li was another important event lei. An Chuang also must pick good date.

Did your mum mention how much they want for Ping Jing?

my mum say dun need ping jing... she say she marry off her dotti not sell away her dotti... but my hubby and I will still give her an ang bao...

Hi Yi,

Sorry for MIAing so long...went to Cairns for my honeymoon...everything was great, i even went for hot air ballooning, awesome! the great barrier reef is magnificant....

How's your first CNY?? Actually a bit pai tai here, giving away ang pows actually feel good (athough heartpain initially)....like giving blessings to the kids....>=P

amore...and all the novas!

i will be going kl next week...short trip..
anything interesting to buy there for the wedding?
or any interesting n cheap things at all...

thanks hor for yr advise..

so happy.. finally can get out of singapore...
grin..

leo29,
well.. MIL has listen to some pple and even my BIL has to avoid me.. strange hor..

anyway, will talk to FH and get him to get these ideas out of her head..

TGIF!!!

flowee,

yesterday's outing was great! we all chatted non-stop fr 6.45 to 10.30pm! we planning nxt outing mid march too! but then agn, i'm the most talkative in the group lah...dunno whether they can bear wif me or not...keke

ya, i looking fwd to our outing 2 wks later!!

my wkend go see bathrm accessories & lights loh. & go get order my hob/hood/washing machine & fridge loh & meet contractor to chg kitchen tiles cos i 1 2 chg colour again...:p

hi serene,

u r welcm! of cos i want everyone to look pretty even in photos mah, so must remind u of backdrop colour.
everyone can be fierce at times, if not kana bullied! but u got the most wifey look(not yellow-faced wife lah, it's goodi wife look, not so naughty like me..keke)
will email u later.

cookie, remember to go ask abt your hotel's backdrop too.

u gals got my pics?

me MIA for a long time..very busy now..

Just managed to read the most recent postings..

Hey, me also hainanese..

Talk to u pp some other time..

Shook: i was also at JL last evening. Finally bought my wok - very happy. It was quite a good sale.

Meeko: if i not worng. The cakes are only meant for relatives - not friends - and only given away by the bride side. No need for groom side.

Maya: i also dont know the diff for the pots. u meant want to surf the net to find out more.

Pausini: saw you pixs. Thanks. ur FH went with you. Which one did you choose for ps. I tot you look nice in halter design. esp. the v-neck halter in photo 5. Do you prefer the gowns with distinct waistline? I tot u look great in photo 16 with the gentle u or v waistline.
I like photo 31 where the v-back looks nice and the train very grand leh... imagine wearing high heels and walking down the aisle. your hotel got long aisle for marching in? Photo 25 & 33 also got nice back.

Seems like you gals have great fun last night. i did not join in cos I had a dinner last night. will like to join if there is another one...... /clipart{happy}

Hi poki,

My PS with Travis is in July. Find him to be friendly, me and my FH are comfortable to speak to him in chinese.

Hi rhs,

Thanks for the website on bridal gowns you provided ! I did find a couple that I like and printed them out for my research./clipart{wink}