(2003) Brides of year 2003

Are,
I was thinking,for our ROM, when we sign our cert right, we'll put our bouquet on the table and doesn't this make our hands very empty? I hope you understand what i mean. Of course if you going to wear something like accessories right?

Going for food tasting this coming wednesday..hopefully the food will be up to our expectation..the good thing about the hotel is that they are flexible in allowing us to choose from different menu..so we picked those expensive items like abalone & shark's fin. My parents insist that yam paste with ginko nuts is a must for teochew..anyway it's my favourite too..must eat more during the food tasting as i doubt will get to eat it during the actual day..hehe..

will be ordering the techeow biscuits this weekend..so ex..cost $16 per box..no choice as it's a teochew custom to give it to relatives..surprisingly my PILs are rather modern when it comes to wedding cakes...they prefer cake vouchers than the physical cakes as it will save them the hassle of delivering them...but my hubby find that it will appear more sincere if we can deliver personally...i feel that as long as our relatives do not mind, there's no harm to mail the vouchers together with the invitation cards..anyway, they can exchange the cake for something else at the cake shop if they don't like the wedding cake..

We are half way through the card-writing process. Realised that the envelopes are very plain with only the guest's name...any idea to make it less plain? I actually paste heart-shaped stickers behind to seal up the envelopes..hubby find it bo liao..i feel it will add a personal touch to the card..

Hi SLK: I definitely understand how u r feeling. I was very excited abt the trial make up previously as well. I think it depends on individual make-up artist. Mine prefers to work on a clean face. The foundation they use is very good, can cover the pimple marks on my face. However, after the trial makeup, the makeup artist & Michelle kept reminding me that I hv to cleanse twice and wash my face twice to remove all traces of make up because it was really heavy. My makeup artist told me to continue with my regular facial so that can clear off those marks faster. Tell me abt it after yr appt, okie. I attended my friend's wedding @ Hyatt last Sat, food & service was very good. So, u've made a gd choice. Enjoy yr BK trip!

Hi May: Noticed that Linn Kong is yr studio/outdoor photographer, I just saw my friend's album done by her, very nice & natural. She captured every right moment. I think she will be a rising photographer.

hi meow,

sorry leh, but i duno where is cosy bay..can u tell me where?

i'm also a beginner in baking..bake cookies a few times but not so nice as in those shops..gonna try many times b4 i can do the rite way. me too, only know how to cook simple dishes, those complicating ones really duno how liao..maybe we can gather at one of us house n learn kitchen affair...hee...

Hihi Jan
Din u get ur siblings 2 go Ikea wif u? Poor girl, sai yan. U muz b a v strong girl.
Celini received both gd n bad comment in the forum. The recommendation posted by ppl who bought fm Celini is to look 4 Christine @ Marina Sq, Lily Tan @ IMM
Oh spray painted furniture is not so gd, I thot of getting spray painted furniture fm White Collection. Hm.....
Gd 2 get ur ring now. There r many promotions going on now. I have a VIP card fm Gold Heart Jewelry. I can lend it 2 u if u want.

Hihi May
I won't b painting the wall in my hse coz it is oreadi painted when I bought it. So restricted to light yellow (wall color) n maroon (skirting color). Now dat Jan commented dat spray painted furniture is no gd, I gotta think twice getting spray painted furniture.
Gd dat u oreadi got the color scheme 4 ur hse. Much easier when it comes to selection of furniture.
Wow u oreadi settled ur actual day photography. How nice. My hubby only met up 1 photographer. The other photographer dat we wanna meet up said will fix an appointment when she is available. Till now still now news.

Meow

I was in yesterday but too busy to leave any words, I receive your quote from Monica, may I know when she email to you bcos is different from the 1 she email to me leh, the 1 she email to me is more expensive. Can you let me know so I can negiotiate with her If I am interested.

hi dap,

the jewellery chain is to make the wrist corsage length adjustable. initially wanted to use velcro but decided to use the chain instead coz nicer!

yap, bought the organza shawl from a chinese stall there. sorry i forgot the shop no. liao but itz the stretch with shop no. 97 (elling crystals etc). i think itz worth the $ coz itz quite nice and looks like those u get from boutiques! hehehe

hi jen,

me also gog down for food-tasting this sat!
rather upset that my hotel is unable to waive the corkage charges for my wine!

mum oso calculate the no. of boxes of cakes she wants liao, wow itz 40 boxes!!!!!!
will order once MIL also confirm the no. of cakes!
how i wish i can be like you, mail the vouchers and cards instead of going down personally! :p

for my cards, i would just write the name coz i think i dun have the time to add any personal touch.

btw, will like to check with you all on the pin jin on the day of GDL, should that be given by my hubby or PILs?

Seems like the big day is gettin nearer n nearer!! All goin 4 food tastin, mine will b tis Thurs.

I'm 99% done wif my friends n parents guests invites. Cant proceed to write the invites of my colleagues cos nn my ILs 2 finalise their list 1st 2 make sure tat i've space 4 collagues.

Oso managed 2 prepare a tentative seatin arrangement of my frens n guests last nite.

morning ladies... more refresh today hehee... yest abit stone stone...

i tried looking for those books in MPH and times.. cannot find... maybe will try popular...

meow... i know u working in SAF... but SAF oso got shift work huh?...

meow.... think hand bouquet shld be ok liao... coz in the beginning they will ask u to sit down... oni until ring exchange then they ask u to stand up... after ring exchange they will ask both of u to hold hands and exchange vow....

Sue: I am glad to hear that Linn Kong is good. We went down to meet with her before deciding on her. The other photography was Andrew Tay which i like too but my hubby feels that he is over used. I like Linn studio though very cozy and i think i will feel comfortable for the studio shots.

Shook: No lah, i have not chosen my actual. Linn Kong is my studio/outdoor photographer. Who is the one that your hubby have met up? Actually no need painting also good. Painting cost at least 1.2 K so x.

Morning gals!

Are,
You working in bank?

Meow,
Working in SAF? As Officer? Must be very fit lor!

Twinklets,
What you do last nite, huh! Stealing chicken, hahaha.....

Sunnyling,
Would you mind to share with me your package from
BZ? I will be visiting them soon.

Gd mornin ladies

Yi

Cum 2 think abt bein a hsewife, how I wish I can b 12…
But when there’s onli 1 sole breadwinner, we aint able 2 spend our money as freeli as we used 2…
Furthermore hv 2 reali count n calculate every single ‘jia yong’ given 2 us…

I wld like 2 own a flower shop 2 but 1st hv 2 learn the flower arrangement trick… :P

My tv n home theatre system is a gift from my parents…
Since my dad is a sony supportor, it’s a sony 29’ vega tv n a sony home theatre system with standin speakers…
Max like it veri muz n he had spent his daz fixin them up…
But seems like our tv pt hv some pt…
Nt able 2 tune 2 any channel from the pt…
Hv check with sk town coucil but they hvnt get back 2 us…
Wonder kk mei hv this prob???

N 2 sb ger frenz dropped by my pl on sun 2…
Tat nite nite my sis dropped by 2 help us deco the xmas tree…
The tree is onli 2 yrs old bought by her…
We brought over the tree coz her noti doggies r veri curious over the ornaments till they bite them n even pull the tree dn when its was @ my parents pl last yr…
The theme 4 the deco is the red n silver on a green color tree…
Last yr its was pure silver…
The ornaments r the old ones we bought last yr…

Ur mum also bought u si dian jin…
Tats nice since u can 2 sets of white gold which u r veri game 4…

Mike n u muz b buz with ur invitation cards…
Soon its time 2 send them out oredi hor…

Kk mei

How hv u been???

Kkk teachin u how 2 play mj ah…
Dun worri u will b an expert after long hrs of practicin…
Ur pl hv mj tiles n table ah???
Mayb one of these dazs can play 2gether…
I aint gd @ it also…
But can play 4 fun rite…

Wenn
Its been a while since I last drive 2…
Hvnt tried my dad’s auto car b4…
Used 2 drive my guy’s manual car then…

hi su

welcome 2 the 2003 brides threat...

meow,
thanks alot for yr kind help...Cher will be helping me get the Sookee one.
*Appreciate it****

amore,
thanks for telling me how it goes.. have went to a couple of Roms before but kinda forgot how it went...
btw,my fren knows how to make the beaded necklace and braclet...

are,
i am excited for u too... its going to be Thursday soon..do keep us updated okie.

Wow blissz, $1200 seems expensive.
I'm paying Fast Soup (Choon Huat) $800 for 8 rolls of EDITED photos (ie 288 pics).

Hmm, on hindsight, $1200 may not be THAT expensive afterall. Working backwards, your're paying $108 per roll of 36-exp film.

Choon Huat's pricing is $50 per additional roll of film (over and above the 8rolls included in the package). Slightly cheaper ... comes with album and he'll deliver to our home too!

Have u considered Choon Huat ?
He's a very nice guy, very unassuming...

Saw ur postings about the pre-anni! N it just hit me as well!!! I'm unknowingly 'celebrating my pre-anni in Thailand! Wonder if I keep quiet abt it, will my hubby realise it!!?? Heehee.

Hi Yi

for me, the ribbon that i sew my flowers will be long enuf to tie a butterfly knot so i'm not using any fastener. Think it's easier.

For Pin Jing, traditionally should be given by PIL just like the si dian jin but nowadays hubby will pay depends on family financial. In my case, hubby pays for everything.

Hi Vodka
how did you arrange the sitting arrangement? Friends and colleagues sits behind and relatives sits nearer to stage? Also what method did you use? Assign each name to each seat or assign eg. table 1-5 to relative for free sitting? I have such big heaadache.

Hello ladies!

Got abit of a breather now....

I was just thinking last night ... most brides where their buttom-down pyjamas (or something else) during the make-up session in the morning of the wedding.

I an understand that ... just in case the bride crumples the dress, etc but my gown requires me to pull the dress over the head. Would this mess up the hair or smudge the make-up? Worse still, stain the gown with the make-up ???

How ah like that? Should i wear the gown first, before the hair and make-up artist comes?
Maybe wear my gown first, and then to protect the gown wear another layer of pjyamas on top?

Headache headache ... so many issues to pay attention to. Eg. still can't decide whether to have studio photoshoot. If i decide to do, must really accelerate my diet program (or rather, quickly start the diet now!).

How has all your planning been?

I read that some of you alredy got your si dian jin. I'm not familiar w traditions, and neither has my mum in law mentioned, what is guo da li and an zhuang ??

Sigh, my FIL is hokkien, and my MIL teochew. They've given us alot of financial support for the wedding and house so far, and since my MIL never mentioned about the si dian jin, i really dun think i should hope for any right?
*sobz*

just to check whether you all will be sponsoring attire for your ah yees and brothers...for me no intention as it could be rather costly, also not dictating dress code..they are kind enough to help out liao..they can dress what they like so long as it's not outrageous..hehe.. perhaps the wrist corsages for the ah yees will be their identity!!

now contemplating whether to do away with the serving of wine/liquor. most of our guests are not drinkers..anway, my hotel is giving free flow of beer, also it's a sunday, doubt pple will drink a lot since following day is a working day..what do you gals think ?

grace... hee it's the memory... but i must say it's beary fast... it's like u step into the room... and within 10 mins... u are pronounced husband and wife in the eye of the law.... okie... i'll try and look for books first hehe... got prob mayeb then need to go thru' u to ask ur frens... heee

are.. u on leave tmrw?.. going for manicure/pedicure??... for actually wanted... deen make appt so in the end did not do any!

Talking about wedding jewellery... I think if you haven't bought any, better consider getting platinum instead of white gold because the 'white' will actually fade off due to constantly wear. Hubby and I bought platinum wedding bands but engagement ring is white gold, solitaire diamond ring. I wear both rings together, and due to the fact that I am always carrying my notebook around, the engagement ring can see the 'gold' part oredi... so sad!
I brought it back to the shop and the salesman told me, white gold is like that one... if you wear it all the time, have to take it back to the shop occasionally to get the coating done. (But he didn't tell me that when we bought the ring). Should have chosen a platinum one (but was trying to help hubby save money) ;(

Anyway, just to update you gals... I went for my first fitting yesterday. I'm so happy that my WG turned out really nice!! But I guess still got lots of weight to lose so that got perfect figure to go with the perfect gown! Another month to my PS!!!

annmelody, a belated welcome.

are, counting down...two more days to ROM..must be getting more excited by the day.

leo, would appreciate if you can email me the contact for the electrical shop in AMK. thanks.
btw I booked with Le Galleria, their package and design quite value for $$$ (thou might not be dirt cheap in absolute terms).. you might want to take a look too.

ava can share your brownie recipe?? thanks. wanna surprise hubby

busy...gotta get back to work.. try to pop in later..

Hi Flowee Jie,

Talking about town council. Until now still have not settle my leakage problem ARRGGHH.. they say problem solved and will get back to us. Until now still have not. I still found yellowish leakage from the pipe above.

The TV thing no problem leh. The delivery man came and just auto tune then can already. We never touch anything.. kekeeke...

Our mini combo come with $50 HMV voucher. So good, we can go shop for our favourite cds
We also get a free DVD "Swordfish". But funny lor, coz our player cannot play DVD, dun know why the shop give us DVD.. haha...

Wow, the doggies real mischievous ya? haha.. guess my dogs no longer interested in such stuff since they are old already.

My hubby got the mj tiles from his place.He carried them over the other day. Real heavy. But the table at his place, cannot carry over.. kekee.. so we used the dining table instead :P We just place a cardboard on it and start playing lor :P But we intend to get a table from the rivervale plaza furniture shop this thurs evening and carry it back to love nest lor.

I only know the simple stuff. A lot of other things like "qing yi se" etc i dun really remember.. kekee.. anyway i can't build them properly too.. ekkeek.. so i just remember to "eat" and "peng" lor... kekekee... at least something to do over weekends.. u know, sometimes weekends very boring wan, nothing to do.

amore... no problem u can ask me.. i ask my fren.
she is making a crystal bracelet for me at the moment.

i be going for manicure/pedicure too. interested in the french mani/pedi...
read the forum that this place called indulge is good.. any one try before?

hi bobomagic!

hehehe, u going on holiday too? Ok, let me pass on enya's good advice... dun do hanky panky stuff har, but if u must, be careful!!!

grace... ya been there... but not for manicure.. for my makeup lesson given by sarah... it's actually beary near my office... i have a few classic manicure complimentary coupons.. u want? until 15 Dec 02..

Wow, everyone going for food tasting this week, me having mine on next Wed.
Argh....everyone started on their card writing liao....guess i must really work hard this weekend to produce some results by next week. Hope to start giving the cards out so that i can RSVP soon. *sigh*
i realised that most of you are very creative and thoughtful to do the wrist corsages yourself. Maybe i should give it a try too...will go take a look at Spotlight this weekend

Jen,
i only sponsor the dress for my bridesmaid who's following me throughout the day. As for my 3 other ah yees, no mention of it :x
i guess it's good to let them wear something they like and are comfortable in loh.

As for the free flow of beer, guess you need to consider your parents' friends and relatives...if they drink, good to keep this item.
As for me, got 20L barrel free, but most of our friends dun drink beer, so just keeping that for our parents' friends/relatives loh.

Yi,
Agree with dap on the pin jing - used to be paid by PIL in the past. Nowadays it's much dependent on individual family's financial.
My bros paid for it themselves whereas my MIL is going to pay for it.

Me going to let parents from both sides settle the GDL things themselves when they meet during food-tasting. Do you all think it's alright?

i have actually told my MIL the things to get once, but she dun seem to believe in what i say and then called up my parents the next day to ask what they want....
*sigh*, really having a hard time coping with her....

my uncle just called me yesterday from Bangkok that he bought wrist corsages for me for my ah yees already...hehe don't have to make

Yi - the shawl is so cheap...must go and look look see see....40 boxes of wine means the corkage is very ex leh, if the hotel cannot waive, can they reduce the charge?? for the pin jing, it's given by my hubby....

jen - i don't think it's necessary to make the card less plain, coz most of the ppl throw them away after the wedding anyway but you still can do what you do for your close frens, guess they'll be the ones most appreciate it. no intention to pay for the ah yees' clothes, not necessary lah, unless you want them to wear the same thing....for wine, we only intend to get a few bottles and have them with our close frens at the hotel room after the dinner since we are booking an extra room for them too....if you serve wine, you must serve a lot since most ppl will drink wine rather then beer or hard liqour (we'll only serve beer and hard liqour)

saw my photos yesterday, Andrew is great, i like the photos but i don't like my hairstyle, makes me looks older..

hello ladies,

morning~
gosh.. i've missed so many interesting chats.. btw, will there be any classes on cooking, baking & handicrafts coming up? If yes, I also wanna attend! I can imagine how interesting it can be with all the NovBrides learning together.. heehee..

btw, i need all of your advice. I have initially shortlisted Flamingo as my Bridal Studio, but thinking of changing it to Seletar Broadway. How ah? Any comments?

hi annmelody,
belated welcome to novbrides.

Leo29

My package is $3388 (forgot liao around there), 22 or 24pcs (must check my receipt) of 18R photo, 1mtm WG 1mtm EG, 1 album for my mum (3r or 4r - also must check my receipt), 1 mini album 2r, rental of FIL and my father Coat, 1 Tea dress for rental, car, actual day photographer (can deduct $$ if you dun take the car or actual day photographer, I will not be taking the photographer), the rest is quite standard (I couldnt remember the rest). Maybe what else you want to know you post it here and I reply you.

hi flowee,

welcome back, long time never "hear" from you much here! ;p
ya lor, mum bought me to soo kee to choose what i like so bought a diamond bracelet and pendant with chain last sat.
mum wants me to choose something more expensive but i dun wan her to spend too much so choose moderate ones!
also bought for my mum her clothes for my banquet, let her choose something she likes and comfortable with!
great to be shopping with my 2 elder sisters, mum and my 2 naughty nephews on last sat!

oh, my TV oso 29" wega and home theatre system is pioneer one, oso with standing speakers! ;p
wow, already got friends visiting your new place liao huh?
so any comments from them? sure very nice rite?
stayg there for weekends liao?

mike and i spend alot of time pasting and tying the invitation cards buy still leaving it there unwritten, lazy lah!
but i complete 1 of my wrist corsage liao! he he so happy!
this weekend, doing the ang pow box and just married sign!

me oso bought some cookbooks, trying to learn how to cook but no time to learn leh! hehe

as for the tuning of the tv, itz done by my electrician and just takes a while only! ;p

this sat, gog down for food-tasting and my dad, FIL and BIL oso gog to choose their suits. if thatz settled, another item off agenda!

hi kk mei,

wow, learn to play mahjong hah?
me not into mahjong coz i find it a very lengthy and tiring game so aren't able to join u all liao! hehehe

Hi trnity,
mine is a contractor.. I am using impress21.

Reno done liao. If u wan to look at the pic of my hse can send me a email [email protected] then i send u the link.

So have u found the banquet venue and bridal shop?

Hi 1027

Well, what drew me to greymatter was their photo book....tot it's really nice and special....

Oh is it?? Maybe I should consider Fastsoup too...Does it include a photo book too?? What about Andrew Tay from The Edge?? Any comments??

Like wat you said, think you whould wear your gown first followed by your pyjamas...

Dun worry, think we still have ample time...me oso no news of my si dian jin yet but my mum will give me dowry....

As for guo da li, should be two weeks before my customary....don't sure about my an chuang though

flowee,
auto easier to drive
no need to practise one...

yi,
must remember to let me see ur actual day photos next year
u taking journalistic or normal type?? black and white or colour???

Hi dap,
i start by doin the obvious 1st. for relatives, i grouped them accordingly to family e.g. whole family of granduncle 1 seat tog. For frens, same thg, grp them accordin 2 the 'gang' they hang out wif n try 2 make 1 table. Then those relatives not enug 2 form 1 table per family, i try 2 c how many per family n try 2 merge wif another 1 or 2 families.

another thg gotta take note is tis person might not get along wif another so make sure they r at least 2 tables away. oso most of my frens might noe a few others fr another grp/gang. so for those who noe many other grps frens, i'll 'use' them as 'standby PR' 2 form a table. it's really play by the ear sometimes. for those who has 2 seat wif 'strangers', make sure they r not alone or try 2 place them wif some others tat they might click e.g. i place my hubby's Uni schoolmates wif my Uni's schoolmates cos they r study in AU so might b able 2 start a topic durin dinner.

Hope the above helps. Me oso havin a headache wif my table arrangements, it's really easier said than done. Anyway, just prepare a tentative one 1st n when all ur guests RSVP, then re-arrange again.

welcome wendy!

hi naturally...ya...me shud be from 88-91 batch...count wrongly...another evidence of age catching up with me!! boo hoo hoo..

Jen - no intention of sponsorin ah yees n bros outfits. most of the bros hav suits n ah yees will get their own evenin wear. whenever i helped out frens' weddin, oso get my own clothes. as for servin beer only, it's really up 2 u cos u r the host.

Hong - u better sound out ur parents n ILs 1st abt GDL b4 food tastin. Just 2 prevent any unhappiness n surprises n oso 2 manage expectatns of both families.

hi wendy!

So how's your wedding preps? Care to share? Btw, your pre-anniversary will be this sat! haha, u must think we're crazy huh?

piper, how can u say u're old??? Next time i won't dare to admit i'm only a year younger than u, hahhahahaa!! Just kidding...

Hi 1027 !
It had been a really long time ... looks like i've got a lot to catch up ! =)

Hi everyone !
it's good to see so many ppl ard ...

hi cherry,

i oso dun like my hair durin PS so now tinkin whether shld i change makeup artiste. change must incurr additional cost n no guarantee tat he/she will b gd.

Cher,
I personally dunlike Seletar Broadway. They always show us photo of models. Of course they take very pretty lah as compare to us.

Amore,
Yep, SAF got shift. But also depends on the place you work. Some dun need to work shift for ladies.

Leo29,
Not necessary SAF is fit one. You got see fat ppl wearing uniform too didn't you? I'm only a specialist.

Sunnyling,
that time she sent me was 16 Nov. How much did she quote you? Can forward one to me? I would like to see the diff too.

Sweetie,
Of course will hold hand lah. But even sit down must also meh?

Amore,
Yep, you'll sit down. But when you sign, won't the photographer take a photo of that moment? Even if he does, i got no accessory so it looks empty? Aiyo me very troublesome one.

Grace,
you are welcome. I'm wondering how soo kee's ring box looks like?

grace... the coupon if from indulge... how u want me to pass it to u?.. maybe u wanna make appt first?.. when u here i go there and pass to u?.. i oso nebber done manicure b4 leh... dunno how is it like...