(2003) Brides of year 2003

SLK: good to have you back. glad that your BIL and sis managed to work it out. must have been a tough time for everyone including yourself. sigh. at least now it's over and you can get back on track. your flat coming first quarter next year! that will mean you have lots to do before your actual wedding day? enjoy your trip. you deserve the break.

Jazz: yah. guess we are all in the same boat. big expenses for wedding and yet gst have to hike at this time. wrong timing. we try ways and means to cut expenses and here they slap us with a big whack. sometimes i just wonder .........

May: went to ikea on saturday. don't think you guys want to go on a weekend. i was there alone pushing the cart trying to get the heavy stuff. had trouble with this table top which is just too heavy for me. approach the sales guy (they don't have that many too). when i finally found one and asked for help. guess what? he told me to try my best and fit it into the cart. i told him i need help because i have no strength but he said " can one, just try"! in the end this husband of another lady helped me. and the place was super croweded. don't understand some people too. they go there to browse! met this married couple from old school days. their whole family is there to browse! the place is already crowded with buyers. i really wonder why these browsers must choose such a time to go too. sigh. tiring day for me. spent almost 3 hours just to get my stuff and many of the items were out of stock but they made me queue up to tell me that. sigh.
guess beggars can't be choosers.

Shook: yeah, guess now employers' market. what to do. me also looking for furniture. settled most stuff from ikea except my bed set. recommendations? not too expensive lah. less than $1000 and preferably with 2 side tables! have you tried celini before? was wondering if their service ok? got to feedback on spray painted furniture. my current furniture is from ikea and they spray painted it too. but don't know whether it's because of what, alot of white dots start to form after a few months. they are actually mold. you can clean some off but some cannot, they just get stuck there. that's why i quite apprehensive about getting spray painted stuff especially if it's spray painted over wood.

Vin: agree with the gals. you very fortunte. have not marry into the family but already PIL shower so much love. happy for you.

i haven't bought my ring yet also. thinking of getting it before gst hike to save some money. what do you girls think?

May: Sure sure, will tell you guys more after my 1st appt tomorrow

Vin: Ya, I did think of shopping for some zen zen things for my new place

Shook: Thanks for your well wishes

Jan: Yeah, glad everything is over too, my family really went through a very tough period of time, both mentally and physically
Yup, my new flat coming, lotsa lotsa to get get busy. Am busy checking out with friends on their IDs, contractors etc etc.

Shook: We most likely will paint some of the walls grey color - but the grey will be closer to brown. It is the warm range one. I like the ICI master palette range, u can choose the colors that r unique and not so flat. I think i will not choose wood furniture, too much wood already. Saw some nice furniture at the exhibition in expo that is spray paint. But the way, Jan has described for her ikea spray paint furniture sounds quite terrible. Me hubby dont like walnut, says too dark.
Thanks for your advice on the ring. I think something can be done, they will get rid of matt surface and it will be glossy.

Jan: poor thing. Why didnt u get your gal friends to accompany u? How did u tranport everything home? I know Ikea is terrible on weekends plus so near Hari Raya worst. I think i will go one of this weekday. Alot of stuff out of stock...must be people grabbing before new year.
Yes, u should buy your ring soon..got a lot of discounts.

Hi kk,
ic...hmm..not too sure of the actual price of engaging one Photographer, think should be ard this price...

Seemed like quite quiet recently..perhaps all too busy going tour...you not going for short trip?
Me conserving my leave for honeymoon next year

me oso going on "pre-anniversary" celebration next weekend...

r we being a bit too candid here??
celebrating our wedding 1 yr in adv??

Hi Cherry, Hong and Yi

thanks for consoling...

Hubby and I also left our cards untouched. Although I kept pestering him to do something. I must make a point to complete half by this weekend. It's a long weekend so i intend to buy my GDL things.

Hi Yi
I'm also making the wrist corsages for my bridesmaid. It's very easy, I just sew the little flowers on the ribbons. I've also done the flower head circlets for my flower girls. All in all I save maybe about $50-$100 by DIY. hee..... Hubby say I bo liao (he dun want me to get tired) but I enjoy.

Hi cherry
why cannot order round cake huh? any myth?

Ava,
Those sites are very interesting. Will take time to look through them. But the steps on making the tieback very cheam leh. Think they use flowers right?

Hello Ladies!

You're all welcome ;)
I like the sites also

Akira ...
yes making cookies for Christmas...my special is Brownies ;) the recipe is at the back of the Hershey's CHocolate Container. It's easy
you can do it

I love to back and make desserts

But my cooking skills not fantastic
can survive ;)

Meow...
can y ou just more ribbons
or cloth... like organza, chiffon...depending on your idea...maybe you can email me you theme and general idea... i'll make some sugesstions?

Mine too... Saturday!

But me no celebrations leh!
I'm not gonna mention anything to my FH, just to see if he'll notice the date. I have been the one looking into everything for the wedding.. so it has not been very fun for me. Sometimes, i just wish he'll show more enthusiasm.. else, the excitement, which i had initially, is slowly dying down.

Enya,
Happy Pre-Anniversary!

It is really really very quiet here... hope it will jump to life very soon... since we are all just abt 365 days away from our Big Day.

I'm not a Sept 2003 bride, but a groom
I'll add mine. Seems like 20/9 is a very popular date. Any reason why?

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9, InterContinental Singapore, still sourcing, JW
Faye, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9, MC, Printemps (Malaysia), Woodlands
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9 Hotel Rendezvous, ???, Ang Mo Kio
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Neko, 8/9 , Grand Hyatt, White Link, Yishun
Flowee, 10/9 , Noble House, Amanda Lee n Utopia, Sengkang
AA, 13/9, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Still Shopping, Town area resale
Babylove, 13/9 Mandain Orchard, Bridal Zone, Bukit Panjang
Pacific, 13/9 Marina Mandrian, Bridal Zone, SK
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Sept03bride, 17/9, HIPV, ???, JW
Ling, 20/9 sheraton tower, divine, hil &kc,videolane, yck
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Simon, 20/9, Beaufort Sentosa, Bridal Veil, Simei
Bijou, 20&21/9, Rasa sentosa, AmandaLee & Utopia, Fastsoup, J.west
Aigee, 25/9, Grand Hyatt, Milan, Choa Chu Kang Cr
Wenn, 26/9, Noble House, J&C Bridal, JW
Jojok, 27/9, Mandarin Orchard, Silver Cloak Couture, Temporary at Bedok Reservoir (relocating to Sengkang in 2yrs time)
Calyx, 27/9, Raffles hotel, Ted Wu, Montage, Yishun

hi dap,

Round cakes are, traditionally, meant for new born (full moon) celebrations...haha that's y my mum say not nice to give round cakes....wedding cakes are suppose to be in pcs....

i also want to DIY wrist corsages, where to get those ribbons and flowers huh?? I'm very bad at doing artwork one le...

Yi - Where are you hanging your "Just Married" sign?? at the tail of the car?? what kind of car are you using??

It's a long weekend this week...yippee!! my mum will buy all those GDL's stuff for me, so i can just concentrate on writing the invite....kekekeke....at least when hubby don't help, i still have my mum to help...hehehehehehe..

yeah .. mostly i am the chatterbox here ah .. u gers must PARTICIPATE!! yar lar, he knows the date .. but no "biao shi" ... hng hng ... anyway, he thinks i gone cranky liaoz ... whole day celebrate, n dunno why am i so excited .. my enthusiasm kinda increased when i started flipping thru the new hw brides mag! so many beautiful gowns from ted wu!!!!!!!! my god ...

hello sunshine! i think this pre-anniversary thingy is a good chance to liven things a bit, else it's such a long wait! But most guys won't notice the date lor, so if u don't want to be disappointed, must tell them!

hehe, i'm thinking abt sneaking in an entry in his palmtop, ha!

Hi piper,
are u the one from the PL thread? I'm your xue2 mei4!

hi wenn,

nope, hubby's suits are off-the-rack!
we requested for a suit each for my dad, FIL and BIL so we decided to take off-the-rack since hubby dun mind and wun want to keep the suit anyway!

dun think most of the guys will remember or bother one lar ... cos even during the prep process, my bf was so bored liaoz .. during the bridal hunt, he was always bringing magazines and books along ... yawning away at the boutiques!!!! so pre-anniversary ... i guess v few will bother!!! be thkful he can remember this date a few years later!!!

hi dap,

yap, i oso njoy doing the wrist corsages etc myself. so excited even thinking of doing them!
bought the materials liao and completed 1 wrist corsage too!

hi cherry,

i bought the fabric flowers and ribbons from spotlight and the jewellery chain from arab street! bought an organza shawl from arab street too with embrodiery only S$11, cheap hor!

yap, hanging the just married at the back of the car! i'm using my FIL's mercedes benz, silver in colour!
however, hubby is still trying to source for a convertible coz he wants to drive himself!
but i told him i dun want to incur additional cost on rental of car! :p

I was flipping thru HWB last nite too...love some of the gowns inside...but dunno if Milan will have sthing similar to those that I want.

I saw a Kebaya top in HWB....look gorgeous...think that one suitable for tea ceremony..

hi naturally,

ya lor...i'm from the 1989 to 1991 batch...u leh? so u all know how old i'm now..

piper: yeah,kebaya looks nice. me intend to make one as tea dress .. if we have the budget, and if i have the "peranakan" type of face!!! heehhehehehehe then can wear for the end of the dindin, to say goodbye to everyone leaving the banquet mah!!! ;P

Piper,

Dun wori, coz only Naturally knows your age... unless all of us here starts tracing each and every thread here in SB, then your age will become a open secret liao!!! Dun wori, we won't bribe Naturally!

I din know HWB out already lei... must go grab one soon!

MEN... sometimes it gets so frustating seeing my FH so 'bo chap', that i just wanna strangle him!!

Enya,

is the one with the blue trimmings one right?? tot it look good for tea ceremony...

Initially, I wanted to tailor a cheongsam for my ROM, photoshoot & tea ceremony...but very lazy to source for tailor...oso worried that my figure not hourglass enuf for the cheongsam.

anyway, milan lending me a tea dress...see whether their kua shiny enuf or not...maybe take their kua instead. but then again, my sis, who took the milan package oso, wore kua during her tea ceremony. i'm worried that they will give me the same kua as what my sis wore!!

evening gals...

wow today very busy.. & most novas seem like having monday blues.. tok lesser & less active..? heheheeheh

Ava,
thanks for the 2 links. Wow chim ahh...

i doubt i'll be doing much handicraft stuffs myselves. Too retarded fingers liao

Btw I'm thinking of drawing 2 comical character of me & FH & frame it out. haha.. & put besides the canvas poster. hahaha.. crazy idea..

ok, gtg start pack my stuffs liao. Ciao gals!

twink|ets ~

i dun wan a kua, bcos it costs 300 plus for me to rent one .. for that amount, i can top up additional 100 and get a BEAUTIFUL kebaya from amor meus .. ehheehhe which i can KEEP n wear again leh ... so if we have budget, and i look good in it, i will want that! ;P

yeah, HW brides out, but nothing much leh .. like the same same one, think the overseas one "Brides" which has a red cover much more to see!

yi,

we were offered OTR for guy's suit oso.. but FIL wants to make suits for all 4 of them in Mauritius. he will bring 1 suit over during our ROM for FH to try b4 they make 1 for him. sharon of J&C said that we can change the suit for other stuffs

Akira,
You dam hiong lei, dare to negotiate salary with your boss.
There is a shop at AMK central, their electrical appliances is cheaper compare to big store. I think a hundred different. My dad bought quite a nos of item from them already. Let me know if you need the address, I'll get from my dad.

HI SLK,

YOu should shopping and get sth for your new house.

HI All,

Is just a jewellery, the main things is can get well in future which is more important.

Hope everyone of us will have a happy life.

since u've got an actual day photographer already, y not use him? Like dat u save arnd $500-600. Just brief him on wat 2 take lor. My package oso includes 1 n I'll supply d films. If u like, u can hire another videographer to capture d moments.

But basically, I think d photos wun be dat bad or dat gd 4 actual day, cos all candid shots mah. Anyway, those actual day photographers in other weddings I attended look like they anyhow take, one click n dats it. U noe wat I mean?

piper xue jie, u mean 88-91, and not 89-91? aiyah, we're still considered very young, no need be shy abt age, haha! i'm a yr younger than ya! But did somebody here say want to bride me??? I don't mind! hahahaa!!

If our guys don't remember, then we have to remind them lor! Else if we don't insist, they'll get used to it and then become even more bo chap!
Must "train" your guy one, hehe!!

Hi Jan2003,

You haven't ROM?? I forgot abt the GST things. Yeah, should go to get our wedding bands ASAP. Like all others say, we should get it during the sales period.

hi simon,,

welcome

i think the 20th is quite popular as it is a sat & it happens to be in the 8th lunar month lor...

aiyarr .. ageing process is double the speed for ladies one .. esp for me. just celebrated the turning of a 1/4 of a century ah .. so sad so sad!!! my bf kept saying after 25, everything falls apart and withers for ladies!!! *boohoohoo ...*
that;s y cosmetics companies always invents products to help us fight against time and the law of gravity .. ahahahahhah

hi annmelody... welcome to our thread. of coz we can share, if you read our history, you wld realise tat we share on everything! (almost lah)

we juz had our first gathering, which unfortunately i missed... think meow or sunnyling will give you the list later to update us on yourself so you'll become part of our ever-growing family in no time! ;P

Hi Totoro,

Why don't you give Jawn a visit? Look for Susan or Euzart
Yo will be impressed by what they can offer! But they are more into MTM gowns!

As for Jazeel, i was told that alot of their gowns are actually pretty old already! If you are getting their MTM then no problem but if you are getting OTR, i won't advise you to go Jazeel!

Hi cherry
Oh so it's because of new born symbol. but in chinese rounf cake can also represent yuan yuan man man...haha i thought of it myself;)

I also bought my fabric flowers and ribbons from Spotslight. I shop between spotslight and Artfriends (Bras Basah) Artfriend is cheaper than spotlights but lack in variety.

Hi Yi
what is the gold chain for??? I'm also going to Arab Street soon. wanted to go last weekend but too busy. Trying to find an embiodery shoe for my kwa. My friend bought one pair for his grandmother for $17 only. Wow your shawl very cheap somemore have embiodery. will look out for it.

hi wenn,

hubby not particular abt the suits and his size is normal as told by cynthia so we took OTR lor.

hubby says all attention on the bride on the big day anyway so dun need to bother abt himself! hehehe

Hi annmeloday,
Welcome welcome!

Twinklets,
Not monday blues lah, I think you all finished all the convesation last friday, hahaha...

Serene,

Well, u can spend some time deciding whether u want to look for another photograher or not

Not going on any holidays lor. Want to "pia" tuition to earn money mah.. kekeke... if not until July when i go NIE i broke liao.. hahaa...

My hubby and I have talked about honeymoon. Might be going for a very short trip like to Hong Kong. We went there before last year, and intend to go back there again next year end lor. When we are not so budget tight, then we will consider other further places like Aust and NZ.

Girls,
Just imagine next yr this time, we are all married
and some of them maybe even already back from honeymoon.

oh well... me not looking forward to the holiday, coz both hubby and me hv to work on hari raya... and its rite aft our ROM... sianz... bt bo bian..

Are,
dun be upset. Me also no mood. I still have to work 24hrs for christmas day. Isn't that worst too? Maybe yours is worst since its right after your ROM. Anyway Congrats to you. Getting excited? Three days more only
All well prepared like your bouquet....? Where you ROM? At the centre itself? Maybe can tell me too if they allow you to bring your own ring pillow or box can?

Welcome annmelody,
Can sent me your details to [email protected] with these info?
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal
I'll drop you a copy of our details in
. No worry the girls here are very friendly to help.

Grace,
do you really want a double ring box from Lee Hwa? I can get it for you FOC. My friend is working there. But it'll be the white one with some little yellow border if you've seen them before.

Sunnyling,
Seems like you disappear for some time? Where are you? I've sent you the quotation from Monica liao. Please check your mail.

hi meow... ya, me getting more excited. all things planned, will get hubby to call & remind the florist oso. but work is quite busi, so will prob feel the excitement oni on wed. ;P

oh ya! haha... was reading abt you gals toking abt the rings, but forgot tat i can provide the most updated info! hahaha... will keep a lookout on thurs, and 'report' aft tat k? i oso using the white box from lee hwa.

ladies... any of u or ur frens noe how to make accessories like necklace, bracelets using beads/crystals?... i wanna learn leh....

are & meow.. y u all need to work during holis huh?

amore... i think there are a lot of books and websites tat teach you the basics. then its up 2 you to create your own designs!

me ah... have a roadshow lor, no manpower so i have to go help...

Amore,
Dun forget where i work? Or you dun know where huh? I work in SAF. They have shift duty. Even in the past when i'm not with SAF, i also work during holidays. Somemore got double pay, cos i used to work in service line.

Think check with Ava, maybe she knows how to. You also interested huh? Me also leh. I even bought my beads from Thailand. But haven't start yet.

Thanks Are,
Will wait for your reply. Do you think getting a bouquet is better or wrist corsages?

meow... do you mean for ROM? of coz bouquet lah, if you ask me... if wear wrist corsages, wun you look like a 'bridesmaid'? tats wat i feel. but my bouquet is very very simple. juz 9 stalks of long stem sunflowers, simply tied. din want something to elaborate, and tis is cheap too! ;P