(2003) Brides of year 2003

Oh, mine does not include the actual day photographer. But i told the bridal shop i want one actual day photographer already so they reserve one for me on that day. It cost around $580 for 8 rolls of film lor. For me, easier lah coz one point of contact.

Really happy to hear that you all enjoy the gathering. What a pity I cannot join. Pray hard next gathering don't have this type of last minutes issue that I need to settle.

Pai Seh, never join you all after meeting OH coordinator becos by the time we finished it's already nine something furthermore I need to drive my hubby all the way to Pasir Ris to collect his car from his sister. Ai yoh, just very busy that day lah until ten plus then have my dinner, so ke lian. What time you all leave?

Hahaha, I used my negotiating power again last friday. Can see that the coordinator really buai da han me. Actually nothing much lah, only further discount on the beer cockage, increase carpark coupon and invitation card. Am I too much? I think my greatest achievement is to get a table for free,

Leo29,
Poor girl. You must be starving then. But at least you get most of the things done in the end. Think we leave about 10pm or so.

I'll say you're great. Dun think i can even get such power to get a table free. Not to say those tiny things like invitation card. Wish i were like you.

Next time round sure must join us hor. Especially if you want to enroll on the course ava is teaching.

Hi Cherry,

My printer print wedding cards v fast. The last time I went there, my cards were printed in one day. Morning go in to confirm design, evening can collect oredi. So shld be in time lah. But I have delegated the job to my FH.

Uh...wat details do I need to email u? Me keep on forgetting.... :p

Hi Vodka,

I went down to star cellars yesterday for wine tasting. the lady there was v nice but i think I wld be getting my wines from A+ Wine. The boss gave me quite good discount. For 24 bottles of Gericot Carbernet Sauvignon, he is charging me $16 per bottle (incl free delivery). I think the French wine is better than the Aussie ones which I tasted at star cellar.

Hi Yi,
Yup yup,me will be on leave from 16 till 31 Dec. Then go back to ofc on 2,3 & 7 Jan to close accounts then on leave again fm 7 to 17 Jan...
I wld be flying off the Sydney on 16 Dec so will miss logging into forum....

When will u all be collecting ur albums? Then we can arrange to meet up.....

I'm almost done wif my invitation cards for my relatives n friends. All written except a handful.

So tot go over my ILs place 2 help them write theirs as well. We left a stack of cards/envelopes there cos the last time we went, my ILs insist tat they'll write their own cos tat time their guests list not ready yet.

Guess wat...until 2day their guests list still not ready yet. Some more there's changes 2 the pp they gonna invite. dunno wat they up to, a while say invite tis person then later say dun wan.

Hubby asked them y they din check wif their frens/relatives their full names or names of husband. MIL's reply was ...aiya i illiterate ask alrdy oso dunno how 2 write (she can write chinese). FIL's reply was only 7 or 8 frens left dunno their full name, nebermind lah...just reserve their seats can liao. So we asked my mil 2 call her frens/relatives while we were there. Then she said ...aiya, i'll call 2molo lah or i can write the invites myself or get a fren 2 do it. dunno wat she wans, a while dunno how 2 write, a while can write herself. While my FIL finally agreed 2 giv us his frens' names by next few days.

The best part was..my mil suggested y not just write "ah choo" "ah jiao", can alrdy lah. Then both my ILs still ask y we wan their guest list, theirs just a few tables only, just reserve the no. of seats they need can liao.

OMG
i dun usually get fed up wif them. 2day i was really gettin impatient cos i told my ILs specifically 1 yr ago 4 a draft guest list 2 hav a head count n told them tat 1-2mths b4 weddin, we'll nn the real names. told them invites hav 2 b written properly like mr n mrs or n family n i nn the names of table arrangment 1001x liao!!! n gav them 1 yr 2 prepare!!! Y DUN THEY GET IT!

Sorri, just wanna complain.

Hi Naturally....

Initially when I was going around hunting for bridal shops, I resisted having ballroom gowns as I thought that they are quite common...even though I had tried on a few of them.....but now....I am starting to consider it as an option b'coz it's really a classic that has that sort of ever-lasting look....moreover, it does help to help to disguise a multitude of problem areas such as large hips, thighs & tummy, & big/small busts...One cons though, this style is not suitable if the gal is short....

Enya....I've same thoughts as u....going to tell my hubby for a pre-wedding aniversary.....

din managed to join u all for the dinner...bz shopping for dresses..finally found one at BIFC collection @ marina square. quite like the design with tail bhind. its in turquoise color now hv to find shoes and accesories to match..date is coming nearer n nearer..

hope to join u all for the next gathering..

Hi June,

Welcome to May 2003 Brides.

My wedding is on Jan 2003....:P... thanks or your invitation. Didn't see you there ler. wat's nick you using over there?

My wedding is 5 weeks away, me and my bf haven't got a wedding band...:P Anyone of you already got one??? And shop has good offer???

Hi brides of 2003, I'm getting married next year too, haven't fix the date yet though...

My best friend who got married in May 2002 has recommended me to use her photographer, I've seen her photos, very very nice and am considering, just wonder what do you all choose, hope to share my planning thoughts together with all of you : )

my email is [email protected] (i can tell you the link to the photos to share with you)

Hihi Vin
Aiyoh, haven't got ur wedding band yet, gotta get it asap. Some jewelry shops custom made ur wedding band. It needs 2 weeks to custom made (for normal timing). If u need it urgently, may b they could make some arrangement 4 u. I got my wedding band. I ROMed oreadi mah. I got it fm Gold Heart. Got a VIP card, if u want can lend to u.

Hihi June
welcome to join in the thread.

Okea,
I just went to cosy bay last saturday. The weekend market got sell shoes. Even beaded and embrodery ones. The beaded cost $15 a pair and the other $28. They have turquoise ones if you looking for matching ones.

Good Morning gals!

Shook: Thanks for your well wishes.

Sue: It's my first appt with BV tomorrow. Read about your experience... was also thinking also putting loose powder there, whew! Woke up this morning with a big big pimple on my cheek, so sad
Lucky it's only a trial makeup, not the real one :P

Peabrain72: You also a BV bride? Have you had your first appt? I am quite excited for tomorrow's appt

Jazz: Thanks for your mail

All: I'll be on leave from tomorrow till next week. Finally taking a break..... so happy. I'm going to Bangkok this thurs

glad to know that u all had a fun time. too bad that i can't join u last Friday. Hope to meet up with u all soon. anyway what course is Ava teaching?

gd morning everyone! so envious to hear that the gathering went so well... i will try my best to attend the next one too!

Hello Ladies!

gd morning!

sorry i didn't join in the msg ... till now...

monday blues.....
hee hee hee

anyways, i had a nice time mtg all you gals last Fri
it was nice to be able to share ideas

Meow ;)
me teaching a class?
hmmm
since when? ;)
just share share ideas lah

Anyway, since Friday, I've been thinking of new ways to make wrist corsages ;) so i went to the florist to check it out ;) but they only have shoulder corsages

but i can still show you all how to do it
when we next meet
hopefully after Christmas?
'cos now busy...must start baking cookies soon

materials for tie back or pew deco, i bought it from the 1st indian shop in Arab St...it's $1.50 a metre for organza...very cheap

i bought gold as my colour theme is red green and gold

materials for corsages can be bought from most florist
but my preference is at Far East Flora as it's near my home...

okie... must get back to work

will be back later !

heyo everyone!!!

today is 2 dec 2002 .. in exactly one year's time .. it will be enya's big day!!!! HURRAY!! :D

hi kk mei,

yap, having quite abit to do for my wedding! ;p
sat nite and sun afternoon were spent tying and pasting my invitation cards inserts and ribbons.
so tired, tied 200plus cards! ;p

then also went wine tasting yesterday. hehe
me and hubby not really wine drinkers and both of us have different tastes too, i prefer fruity ones and he prefers robust ones!
overall quite fun! hehehe

hi fluffy,

wow, so good such a long holiday/break from work! envy envy! hehehe
I think i wld only be getting my album in jan, if i'm not wrong! ;p

hi vodka,

me went down to star cellar yesterday liao and alan is real friendly and also saw your order written on their board for 5 dozen rite?

he recommended us a couple of red wine and wasn't pushy! great service!

hubby and i haven't even start writting our invites, just finish pasting and tying the ribbons only! tired liao! hehehe

I also want to complain my mother. She insist on having a box of cake for each of her friends whom she's inviteing. I told her people dun give to friends only to relatives but she insist and started saying that I don't want to discuss and want to decide on everything. Then she went on to say she dun want to go and deliver cakes and cards to our relatives just leave to dad and maybe she dun want to attend my wedding. I dun need her to come if she dun want to. I'm fine with that. I'm so fed up and angry!!!

wow, omplains complains...aiya it's like that one lah....that's what we call, generation gap rite? be cool and calm, your big day is coming, you want to be a happy and radiant bride don't you?

aiyoh, i haven even write my invites nor tie them yet, still seating in my study room, guess i have to start doing them this week, i also have to pass to my ILs and parents to write also...haha

I don't think i'll be ordering from Prima Deli after all, my mum say cannot get those round ones...aiyoh, then hor i called Prima and they told me $10+ per box for those pc by pc ones....i give up, going to order from Kyo cakes, cost only $6 per box of 10 pcs, quite reasonable and heard that it's nice also....

Fluffy - send me your real name, wedding date, GDL date, ROM date, venue, bridal shop, area of love nest, hp no....

girls, so when can we meet up?? end of Dec or Mid Dec

mornin' gals,

very busy today 'cos of the 2 leaves i taken last week.

Glad to hear so many creatives ideas from meow & ava, & they are really good planners. I think i really way way behind. lol ..

twink|ets ~

hi yi,
just occurred to me, the next day after ur wedding dinner, can just pop over from MC to J&C to return ur gowns,,, very convenient

morn morn...

a pity i cannot make it. dinner ended close to 10pm so i did not call u gals...

Ava,
if u are really opening up a class, i want to enroll too ...

gals, know where to get a double ring box?
i custom made my rings and the box given i did not like it.. red in colour with teddy bears..

so when will be the next gathering..?

leo29, wow you really super... can even manage to get one table free.
in future must really get tips from you before we start buying electrical appliances.

ava, I'm waiting for you class too.... btw you baking cookies for Christmas?? Mind sharing your recipe?? I dun usually step into the kitchen but guess will have to start learning soon..

SLK: enjoy your 1st appt and tell us all about it. Good that u have the chance to go for a break.

Vin: i think now is a good time to buy the wedding bands. So many places got sale. u shld do it soon esp. when u want it custom-made. I bought mine off the shelves from Lee Hwa and had it engraved. It is platinum and it got so many scratches now. I wish i bought mine from Tiffany..hee...but so x. Rather spent in on something else...

Shook: My doors and skirting also rose wood color so i having headache on matching my furniture and cabinets

went to scout for the boutique,
really duuno which to choose.
i am havinf difficulty to choose between jazreel low and Dang

Anna from Jazreel low, she is so friendly and the package is ggod..but photo and gown wise..not too good leh..

dang, attitude but the gown really beautiful and photo also very good but exp..
duuno how??

any advice??

hahah akira,

same here.. i dont step into the kitchen often..
not a cook.. but a cook in making..anyone can give cooking class? i want to attend oso..

SLK : Enjoy your trip. Bring more $$, you might be able to get some things for your new house etc.. or wedding flavors from Bangkok...

May : Your bought matt surface or glossy surface?? Is that matt surface will shown the scraches more obvious??? My MIL-to-be bought a pair of wedding band for my hubby and me. Can I just used that one as my wedding band??? Kekekek..:P... me and my bf told her abt this yesterday night when she show me what she had bought for me, then she claim that both of very cheapoh as the wedding band is a gift from her and her husband.. hahahha...

Me very paiseh coz two three weekends she went to shop for this jewellery for me and she told my bf that all this things cost them a lotz. Should me and my bf get both our parents sth as well???

Me will go to buy my wedding bands by nxt week as this week bf not in town. Hope I can get sth soon.

Guess wat? Gals, i have the same thots abt a PRE-ANNIVERSARY!! We're having a weekend stay at JB on 21st, but it was later then i realised it's our "pre-anniversary", haha, just as well, another excuse to celebrate, heheee!!

Enya... u are really SOOOOOOO EXCITED, heheee!! HAPPY PRE-ANNIVERSARY!!!

Freesia,
ya lor, me quite short, but i suppose a pair of high heels will do the trick?

Grace,
Most jewellery shop have double ring box. Mine was from Lee Hwa, they have double ring box. Its those plain white ones. Aspial's is black ones. Thought the look with teddies looks nice wah.

Ava,
Got lah, you are suppose to teach us to make our corsages remember? Step by step leh. What's shoulder corsages? Never seen one before. Got sample? What pew deco? U mean pewter deco? Whats that? Never seen them too? Got instructions on how to tie tiebacks or not huh? Maybe even different style.

Vin: Mine is matt..as my hubby love matt stuff. Actually over time, matt will become gloss...so not much diff. R u planning to get a wedding band with diamond? I didnt coz my engagement ring is a diamond ring. So i didnt spend alot on wedding bands, i bought a plain one for everyday wear. Also, i dont think men should wear diamond...diamonds are meant for women..ha..ha..

My friend got hers from Gold Heart, i tot hers is quite nice and a better make too. If u intend to wear your wedding band every day, just be prepared for scratches.

I dunno about using the bands that your MIL have bought. But my MIL also bought me a ring (dunno why too when we ROM). She didnt buy one for her son so we cant use that as wedding bands. I think it is up to you, our generation are so much more practical. If u like the design, i dont see why cannot. U just ask FH to buy diamond right for you instead?

I think it cant be help that MIL has to spend the $$ to buy the jewelleries for you...think it is a teochew custom? It also shows that she loves u mah...if u feel bad..later during chinese new year, u can give her bigger ang bao loh..or after u get your bonus, give her some $$ to shop? Just a thought..

yeahh ... today is pre-wedding .. but me bf bz with work ..no time 2 celebrate leh!!!
so bo pian, me celebrate alone with all the magazines i bought .. hahahaahhaahahhahaha

waaa .. go JB somemore .. dun do hanky panky stuff ah!!!

totoro,

Firstly u got to think what is the most important thing in your wedding package?photos?makeup?gowns?
things listed in the package?

from there only can u know which bridal shop suits u?cos some bridal shops are good for its photos but gowns wise it is so-so.

maybe have a discussion with your hubby to finalise on your bridal shop.

hey... for those who are trying to pick up cooking, i've got a tip... try using those 'packaged sauces' from supermarkets, like lemon chicken, sweet & sour pork, etc. my personal fav is this thai BBQ chicken wing sauce. very easy to use, juz follow the instructions on the back, and the results are very tasty!! i'm also not tat gd in cooking, so i love these sauces, easy short-cut to great dishes!

Hi dap,
Well, mothers are like that one...i remembered my parents saying 'i dun want to go for your wedding' when unhappy things happened during my 2 bro's weddings. But in the end they still turn up.
Well, i guess this period of time we are busy, and they want us to consult them for everything...and disagreement happens easily.
Dun be too angry...got to be a pretty and happy bride right?

Hi Cherry,
Aiyo, audit check cos my contractor is one of the hdbay's recommended one....but thankfully everything should end by this week, then can start cleaning and move in our things slowly. Our rooms are all filled till we have not much space to walk liao :p
Me also thinking of ordering the GDL cakes from Kyo, but they are all the way in the west, and deliver free only when we purchase over a certain amt right? May have a problem here cos i think my parents only want 2-4 box for 'yi si yi si' only.

Sigh, though i have collected my cards, they are also sitting in a corner of my room...guess it's time we buck up and start writing liao

Me only collecting album in mid Dec i think. Havent call to ask yet.

Hi Yi,
Wah...really envy you...free printing of cards. At least can save some costs ;p
You are doing your own wrist corsage, so thoughtful of you. Me thinking of having wrist corsage for my ah yees too, but dunno where to start, so put that idea aside.

Meow and Akira,
Thanks for your Kua Jian, hahaha... ;)

Akira,
Electrical Appliances!!! Electrical appliances cannot bargain one lei? What tip you are refering? Me blur man.

Grace,
I think no need to get a good looking double ring box becos when during solemnising, you will ask you to place the rings inside a crystal bowl instead of the ring box. Maybe you can check with those just ROM, mine was last yr. Last yr, I tot of doing a heart shape cushion to place my ring on it but later give up the ideas becos of the what I mention above.

Are,
Will having too much of the sauce that u mention spoilt our health? I mean it may have fan fu ji(Prevent it spoilt), wei jin etc....

HihiSLK
Have a gd break n enjoy ur trip

Hihi May
My platinum wedding band oso scratched liao. The jewelry shop which I bought the wedding band said I can bring the ring back for service. He advised us to bring it back when the rings r badly scratched coz only 1st time service is FOC. Perhaps u like 2 check wif Lee Hwa if they can service the ring 4 u.
Cherry is closer to rose wood, but v much lighter. Walnut is in vogue now but 2 dark. Thinking of getting furniture fm White Collection as they have different choices of color. Feel like getting red n beige.
Last sat I went furniture shopping n discovered dat some walnut has red base which may b close 2 rose wood. Sigh.. dunno wat color 2 choose now.
Do u have any color team in mind?

Hihi Vin
U v xin fu. Both ur bf n fmil love u v much

leo29, I mean tips on your negotiating skills.. instead of buying at the major stores, we can buy at the smaller shops some of which supposedly sell the stuff cheaper and negotiate for maybe free delivery??? just an example.. anyway I think negotaiting skills v impt and useful... when the economy picks up can use to bargain with boss for higher pay.. ha ha..

meow,
actually i wanted to get from Leehwa... got them to custom made and then their workmanship is terrible.. went down to see the rings at least 6 times... in the end the refund us.. just imagine.

so this pair of rings, we got from chinatown, one of those hongkong Shifu to make for us..
so the box not nice.. red in colour with golden teddybears.. heeheehe

hi leo29,

thanks for telling me abt the rings. i will need to check with ROM..

anyone have u thought of putting the rings on the cushion like in church?

afternoon ladies...

grace... if u still wanna custom made another ring...actually I went delphi dat time... there's this jewellary shop called Fairy Inc... their rings are nice... and they oso do custom made rings.. can try...

Err... enya, but that's the whole idea, to do hanky panky stuff!! hahahhaaa!!!

hehe, u can celebrate on this weekend lor, somemore long weekend!

hi amore..
thanks but i got my rings yesterday.
knew abt Fairy Inc, have talked to Sandra before..

ava,
thanks for yr links..
looking thru them for more ideas...

hi wenn,

ya lor, and also my hubby's evening suit tie is rather special kind, so if i dun koe how to tie, hubby can just pop by to J&C and ask cynthia to tie for him (as advised by cynthia). hehehe

guess all of us gonna keep our cool this period coz when we get busy and things dun go our way, we wld flare up! :p
i also argue a few times wif hubby over wedding matters but have told each other that we shd discuss instead of quarrel. :p
as for parents and PILs side, remember not to upset anybody coz at times, they do have our interests at heart.
so remember gals, we all want to be mei mei on our big day so cheer up okay?
letz the preparation stage be as peaceful as possible so that itz part of the memories to mah!

hi cherry,

me and hubby just tied the cards only, oso haven't write the invitation cards yet coz i got lotsa of handicraft to do like my Just Married sign, wrist corsage and ang pow box. hehehe

hi hong,

ya lor, so sweet of my cousin to print the cards for me at no cost coz he source for the translucent paper and itz printed in matte gold too which is not cheap lor.

yap, i'm trying to do my own ah yees' wrist corsage, ang pow box and Just married sign. see how they turn up first! hehehe