(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi all.. i'm back!

thanx for all your congrats and 'sympathy'. meow, hate to say tis, i'm oni an exec, but i had to stay and do as much as i can for our fair on fri. i left close to 1am, but guess wat? i woke up @ 4am!!! hehehe... can't sleep leh, think too excited.

but then again, even waking up so early, we were late for our ROM!!!
hahaha... tell you gals the details when we meet next time. but for the benefit of those who haven't ROM, here's some impt points to note, which i was not aware of b4 i went :

- muz go at least half hour early, to do verification. go to the first floor first, no need to go 2nd flr. bring both your ICs, and witness' ICs, they dun hv to go in w u. no need birth cert anymore coz they can check computer.
- if you are late, dun worrie, they will still allow you to ROM, juz hv to q (i was told otherwise, so was so panicky)
- if u or ur guests are driving, park at the carpark near national library, n walk up the stairs to fort canning. there's plenty of lots & its not far from ROM. ROM carpark is always full.

tho' it started so 'exciting', it was pretty ok when i went for lunch @ straits cafe. aft tat, we went karaoke, and went to cosy bay to drink @ nite, was a very memorable day lor...

my fren was v kind to sponsor some wedding favours which my guests liked v much. show you gals the pic when its ready k? anyway, i shd get my pics later, will see if i hv time to scan some pics then email to you all k?

Are,
Happy to hear that you are really enjoying that day. Please scan in your photos if possible, really want to have a look at your ROM photos.

Cher,
Did you try on flamingo gown? I guess you can decided after you try on their gowns. Some of the gown may look nice but may not suit us. How much is flamingo package, you got the quote already?

What I should do first when visit the bridal shop? Try their gowns first or have a look at their package first? Negotiated when I have decided who to book?

Hello Ladies!

Congrats Are!
Glad you enjoyed ur special day!

I see some of you are raring to meet again

Enjoy the manicure...sorry i can't meet up... will be very busy till after Christmas ... so won't be able to login as often...
but do email me if there's any interesting develpments or if you want to ask me something okie?

So before i go...

Here's the long awaited recipe for Brownies

Utensil:
1 tea cup / drinking cup
1 mixing bowl
1 rice scoop / wooden spoon
1 teaspoon

Ingredients:

Mix the following ingredients together in the following order. After adding each ingredient it is impt to mix well first before adding another ingredient:

1 cup Hersheys Chocolate powder
(supermarkets abt$5)
1 cup normal baking floor / self baking flour
1 1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 cup vegetable cooking oil OR 3/4 of butter bar (250gm)(melted)

3 whole eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

After mixing everything... you should get a smooth brown mixture.

Pour mixture into a small baking tray about 1 inch deep , 12 inches long and 8 inches wide.
Tray can be any size as long as after pouring in the mixture into the tray, the mixture should be about 1 inch deep.

Pre heat the oven at 150 degrees for 10 mins

Put in the tray of mixture in the middle level and bake at 190 degrees for about 15 - 20 mins. You should be able to smell the chocolate when it is fully baked

Happy BAKING!

hello Are...
welcome back..
thanks for the Important tips.. really useful to me as i have made the booking via net. dont know if still must bring birth cert or not..
Were u nervous?
hope u can get the pics and scan and email us...

gd afternn ladies

kk mei

yah lor nov n dec is reali a hot mth 2 wed...
onli hv 2 compete with the weather...
coz @ times rain other times sunshine...

ivory

u can post in the rom thread seekin help...
i m sure there r many nice ger who r willingli 2 share their experiences with u...
hv fun preparin 4 ur rom...

I'm back, MIA for a while cos on leave, finally managed to take time off
wow, so many messages, will keep me occupied for today
lost track of the wedding list, not sure if I've the updated one...

SLK... yep, me a BV bride too! Gone for my 1st app already, after Sue. We got the same makeup artist, Alicia.

1st app, quite fun but tiring like what you and Sue experienced. Alicia showed me different ways of doing my hair, highlighted that I've got chubby cheeks so can't pull hair all the way back, must keep some strands to cover the roundness
Not used to seeing myself in makeup so felt funny, will tell Alicia to make me look as 'un-maked up' as possible for PS and actual day

Lost count how many WG I tried that day. When michelled asked what I dislike about WG, told her no white but surprise surprise, actually looked good, make me look tan, hopefully translated to skinnier
Remembered, last piece was a tight fitting EG which according to Jennifer, Michelle will make every bride wear so that she can see our body flaw or good points
Will be confirming my design next week, actually, have no idea what I want, may be will leave it to michelle since she's the expert.

Hi, just to join you gers as a Nov 03 Bride... 1 Nov actually

ROM in June 03..

Want to cfm dinner venue by end of tis week. Having a hard time as 1 Nov is a very popular date.

Bridal will most likely be Jazreel Low.. comprehensive and am comfortable with Lynn..

are... good to hear u enjoy urself dat day....

cher.. u pay ur deposit with flamingo liao? or not yet?..

leo.. normally they'll show u their photos first.. then go thru' their packages... then it's up to u whether u wanna try their gown... or they like u to try their gowns...

ava... wah thanks... too bad dun have an oven at home... humph...

welcome onboard yve...

looks like alot of 1st nov bride leh....

hi yve,
welcome... alot of gals here oso on 1st Nov including me.
Do hurry up booked the restaurant/hotel as most of them are taken.
Btw, which dinner venue are u interested in?

Hi Cherry
good choice to use O studio. Is your photographer Jacki Ke? He's my photographer from Milan and I simply love the outcome. Took most of my photos from his work (Milan outdoor photographer is a different one).

Over the weekend, I manage to bug my hubby to finish writing his friends' invites. Now left our relatives to write.

I came out with the Emcee script for my MC. Also done a checklist of items for coordinator to run thru before the banquet on actual day. Went to Chinatown on Sat to buy GDL things and I'm angry I was conned by two shops.Never Never buy from Hui Xing Toys and Dept store at #01-97 Chinatown market. Everything is at least $1 more expensive than other shops. And the lady seller very arrogant and rude. My hubby and my mum all complain too. You can try other shop at #01-129. Also two shops away is a shop selling towels and bedsheet. Dun get from this shop too. I got a bundle of 12pcs "Xi" towels at $10 (after discount!!) and elsewhere I saw it's only $5. Oh God. so furious.

I also din celebrate for pre-anniver for 07 Dec,my FH said i am crazy n wu liao.

For mi,each of us share shard half of it lor for our wedding.

Wendy

aiya....some misunderstanding lah...not 20/12...will confirm the date this few days....
probably just one week b4 my wedding....still thinking whether to take it or not....

dap, got fotos to show me?? so that i know what to expect?? thanks!!

hi Yve,
a warm welcome to you

hi leo29,
i've tried flamingo gowns and tat was my 2nd stop. the package with chris as photographer cost $4588.
1 MTM WG (Rental)
1 MTM EG (Take Home)
1 MTM Mens suit (Take home)
2xHand Bouquet, 8 corsages, car décor (all fresh flowers)
Make up & hair for:
Actual Day & night, studio and a trial Studio n 20pcs 8x10".

hi amore,
hehe, i havent pay the deposit cos i'm a little fickle minded. :P I've put flamingo into the novbrides list cos i tot i'm going to settle for it, but as i begin to visit more bridals shops, I become undecisive. :x

hi are,
quickly scan in the photos for us to see as soon as u got it ya!

Hmm, we've not thot about the videography... most probrably not. Money No Enough!!

Well, I was the one who suggested paying for the Day Photography, Bridal Package and Honeymoon and also the CAr Rental... cos i know i'll definitely top up here, top up there... so to get things my way, I decided to pay for them... gives me more liberty to choose what i want.

Sometimes it really scares me when i think of the $$$ all of us are gonna blow on this whole Wedding thing. Really, after that day... mi gonna turn from Cinderalla to a rag doll.

363 more days to go for me!

heyo heyo

he paid 5K for the bridal package, rest i top myself, includ the extra studio fotos we are going to have etc etc. and i offered to pay for actual day photographer / videographer. things like accesories i pay. dinner he pay. house we share... we have budget for everything lor. so if we blow budget on one item, immediately cut on the rest. think my bf v good, he v thrifty and budget conscious, so every item we sit down and discuss what we want, how much we want to spend .. happy me going to be with him forever!!! ahahhahaah *ROU MA HOR?* ...

Cher,
Hmm..., flamingo give 20pcs 8x10 photos only?Anyway it's ok lah, I set my budget at $3000+ only so it's out of my range. I just call one of my friend, she said seletar broadway gown and photos look nice but their ppl was not so friendly when she visit them. Maybe just her luck.

For me, we have a joint account. each month, we contribute a bit into that account. so our wedding exp all paid from that account..

but he contribute more coz he's earning more than me.

think for our house next time oso will be like tat...things for the household, take from joint account. things for self, pay from own account.

It's good to have a budget for everything. Both of us juz take everything as it comes. We din work out any budget, just deciding on everything as it comes. And we are both aware that we are in a very dangerous situation mann... we'll probably freak out when we add the sums. My man is not thrifty and i'm totally hopeless! But he's quite good at bargaining ... he's complaining that i always push this kind of 'dirty' job to him.

One thing i really appreciate about my man.... he's willing to give up buying things for himself... just to get me something which he knows i fancy, but knowing i dun really need it.

yeahh ... think the way my bf sees me spend ah, he's quite skeptical of opening a joint account ... scared later all gonez v v fast ..somemore we both like 2 spend alot on food!!! ahhaahhahahahah

Hi Wenn,

did you visit the shop that I mentioned?

Hope u find something there.....

rdgs

Are.... ur solemniser and mine same leh...dunno is it the same room... the centre one?...oso gold certificate tube!...

yah the solemniser is the same.. i went to afew fren's rom, all the same lady...

are,
congrats again... u look very natural and relaxed.
think i will be quite nervous and tensed up...

ya... the JP was a really nice lady. i was so nervous when i went in, thinking i will get it for being so late. but she was so gentle, joking, tat i was quite relaxed lor. tat's why i was laughing rather than tearing!

i was actually quite tired. but i guess the sprint up the ROM ramp woke me up! hahahaha... but was quite happy with all my close frens around, and went fr grp to grp to tok lor... and of coz, get teased for being later than everyone! ;P

grace.. u dun hv to bring birth cert now. juz go to the 1st flr office, & press 3 for e-file. then wait for your turn for verification. its quite easy, but we were so panicky coz we tot we missed our turn! ;P

Hi Ivory,

i guess we couples sometimes too eager to put everything into the preparation and end up run out of budget. So must really learn to control myself very hard.. haha... anyway, good luck and hope everything run smoothly according to ur plan!

Hi Flowee jie,

This year is more like "winter season" for singapore. Last few years dun recall it actually rain during december. But this year tend to have more rain this month. A good thing actually. Much cooler and mood better

Hi Fishball,

Oh, u shopping for clothes for the new year? I dun even know what clothes to get for myself if i go shopping now. Isn't any fashion trend recently rite?

For tea ceremony, my hubby also encourage me to wear kua. But i told him i can't decide on that coz i haven't seen myself in that yet.. keke... anyway besides the kua, i heard there are other traditional kind of clothes too. Some wear the kua for sending off of guests after dinner. What u think?

My shoulders pretty broad lor. So i always think i may have problems wearing those which bare the shoulders like strapless for e.g. But then in another thread i read that those with broad shoulders are encouraged to wear strapless gowns. Are u having MTM gown?

Wow, u caught me in other threads too? haha..

Are,
You look relax. Your make up also very natural. You make up yourself? You very chin chai hor, never even set your hair. My make up on my ROM was very thick, make me look like old auntie. My hubby always tease me, so angry.

Ryan,
So you got a new shoe har!

Akira,
When you reno your hse. Me still owe you AMK shop nos. I don't have a chance to see my dad. When I wake up, he is sleeping. When I sleep then he come back. Wondering what job he is holding, chef lor, they work till very late one.

Meow,
How you find Paris Bridal designer? Who you approached?

Anyone visit Santiago at Bugis before and white link? Comment?

hi yve,

welcome to this forum..
u also a 01 nov, where do u book yr dinner venue?i'm also a 01 nov actually but i couldn't find any available dinner venues that i wan on this date so hv to change to 16 nov which i prefer 01st better...

i found one at plaza hotel which has vacancy slot for 01 nov but fh find tat not worth for the table n somemore fd not so nice there..
in the end, cfm booking at dragon gate on 16th..
so gd for some of u all who found places to hold dinner on 01 nov..

Hi Ivory,

I've already reply u on the solemnisation at rasa in the other thread, tat u posted. If u need to know more, just ask me

Me left wif invites for my colleagues...veri headache...due to limited space of ballroom, i cant invite all of them but if invite tis person n dun invite tat person oso not veri nice. been crackin my head on tis n still cant cum 2 a decision.

Not veri productive last wkend...only managed to
- passed my song lists to a fren to burn CD
- feedback food tasting to Conrad
- gav out a handful of invites

Very bz wk ahead:
- meetin FL to discuss my cocktail dress design n skin rejuvenation treatment tis Wed
- TY's EG 1st fittin on Thurs
- Company's D&D tis Fri
- Finalised details with Conrad n buy GDL's stuff tis Sat
- GDL on Sun
- send out all invites for frens n colleagues by tis wk

Hi cherry,

ur re-shoot sure mei mei cos experienced liao...hehe. hav fun! is ur makeup artiste ponnie hsu?

My GDL oso tis Sun...so 'gum'.

Hi dap,

thks for warnin us abt the shops.

ya think dat lady beary nice... coz i heard from my fren who attended her fren's ROM... say the lady beary fierce... think is another lady..

OMG, half day not around and this place is flooded.*shock*
Welcome back Are. Did you check for me regarding the ring box/pillows? Jus wanted to add something to what Are has commented.
Grace, this info is for you and other too whos' not ROM and use e-filling for the ROM.
Today i went to River City for dim sum buffet. Since both FH & i were bloated. We decided to go walk walk at Fort Canning Park and to submit our ICs. The reason is: We need not be there at least half an hour just to wait and submit IC for verifications and to sign our declaration papers. Can go anytime as you wish before the actual ROM date. As what Are has mentioned, go to first level and press 3(for e-filling) then wait for your queue number to be called. Then go to counter and produce your IC (best to bing witness ICs too because you still need to show them on that day, else no need also) and read and sign some documents that regarding that both of you are first time marrying. In this way, you can save your time as you can arrive 10mins earlier that day will do.

Leo29,
I've not decided when to go for first fitting. Probably Feb or Mar. Might take PS on june lor. Me no designer, but they told me she's not bad lor. Want more details i ask those Paris brides(who take MTM) for you.

Cher,
No worry. I agree with you too. She look stern if she don't smile. Anyway, i won't be getting MTM, mine only OTR loh.

Ava,
Not decided what tiebacks i want. I'm confuse over some terms. Maybe you can help me out. What's Pew? Is it those for church wedding benches? The what's tulle? Is it material or some sort of ribbons? Why so busy? Preparing for christmas celebration with your friends i guess?

Hi Ryan,
Nice of you to drop by here to chat with us. Dun quarel with Are here ok? Else we dun know who to side liao.

Welcome Yve,
Could you sent me your details as in the format below to [email protected] and i'll sent you a copy of details on all brides to be here.

1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location (area)
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Ok, the updates:
01 Nov - Are, Antz, Cher, Grace, Serrich, Yve
02 Nov - Furlin, Padre, Nov bride, little rabbit, Josephine, Icy
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC, Happy
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz, Twinklets
16 Nov - Okeanosmao
22 Nov - Putise Baby
23 Nov - Leo29
25 Nov - Edde
27 Nov - Akira
28 Nov - Amore
29 Nov - Melody
30 Nov - Sweetie, wind2000

Sorry for some typo error. Only realise today when i open the file. Accidentally change Okean's and Serrich details. Once again to all. SORRY.
Will sent the correct one once Yve sent me hers.

Just to add my details here. Finally decided on Divine for my bridal package.....had a hard time deciding b/w Divine and Ted Wu.

Smartie

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9, InterContinental Singapore, still sourcing, JW
Faye, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9, MC, Printemps (Malaysia), Woodlands
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9 Hotel Rendezvous, ???, Ang Mo Kio
Smartie, 6/9 Conrad Hotel, Divine, Utopia, Ang Mo Kio
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Neko, 8/9 , Grand Hyatt, White Link, Yishun
Flowee, 10/9 , Noble House, Amanda Lee n Utopia, Sengkang
AA, 13/9, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Still Shopping, Town area resale
Babylove, 13/9 Mandain Orchard, Bridal Zone, Bukit Panjang
Pacific, 13/9 Marina Mandrian, Bridal Zone, SK
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Sept03bride, 17/9, HIPV, ???, JW
Ling, 20/9 sheraton tower, divine, hil &kc,videolane, yck
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Simon, 20/9, Beaufort Sentosa, Bridal Veil, Simei
Bijou, 20&21/9, Rasa sentosa, AmandaLee & Utopia, Fastsoup, J.west
Aigee, 25/9, Grand Hyatt, Milan, Choa Chu Kang Cr
Wenn, 26/9, Noble House, J&C Bridal, JW
Jojok, 27/9, Mandarin Orchard, Silver Cloak Couture, Temporary at Bedok Reservoir (relocating to Sengkang in 2yrs time)
Calyx, 27/9, Raffles hotel, Ted Wu, Montage, Yishun

guess what! i cant only reply all ur posting at this late nite.

Jan2003: my users chose a wrong date lah. No choice. Its work! still have to do it. i only stay over at my users place till 4pm.

Shook: i think u more unfortunate than me leh!
Wah, u got all ur stuffs too. i am now looking for a side console for my telephone. and some deco area. I am also looking for a ladder too but too big to bring it home. even with taxi still very troublesome. I forever finding this hor! hahaha...

May: which bed? u seeing so long then get it. u mean all the previous exhibit also display the set too?

peabrain: good that u enjoy ur fitting.
Forget to add something. That day at expo also bargain like mad. then manage to lower to 1k+ then when the salegirl write the order she include the 3% GST. i thot is included, ask her to wavier it she say cannot cos this is to give "govt" one.

now looking for a home theate system. My FH is crazy abt it. he surfed net everyday to see got good bargain. Anyone FH here also into this?

weclome Yve

leo, dun worry, not in a hurry, house not ready yet. me just being ks. thanks for taking the trouble.

ava, thanks for the recipes.

are, thanks for sharing your ROM pics. You look radiant even though you had been working late. Other than being fortunate, I think Ryan must be a v nice guy.. cos you married him.

Hihi Pausini

Wat, u still working @ 1:11am on Tuesday morning?

My hubby pushed the front car seat to the front, put dwn the rear car seat, open the boot n put the ladder thru. B4 doing dat, my hubby measured the length of the space then measured the length of the ladder 2 ensure dat the space in the car is long enuff.

Not enuff budget to have a home theater system lar.

Morning all!

Very happy today as have decided on Suntec for dinner. was down there to look at it last evening. The original couple had to postpone theirs as it clashes with a more senior relative's wedding. So now I got Suntec Ballroom 1. Very lucky hor??

okeanosma:
before suntec, we actually looked at Prima Tower revolving restaurant (okay, if u dun get sick by the turning which starts after the champagne pouring), tung lok seafood gallery (out of the way at east coast macs).. Also waiting for reply for Amara and Mandarin Orchard (they checking on tentative bookings)..

Are: Can share your ROM pics with me?

astrud,
aiyo!why your bustier too tight??!!

did u have your measurement taken correctly by your designer??

Hope your gowns suit you well at the next meeting!

How's everyone else going???6months to go!!

Clyne, too late lah.. posted more than 10 minutes ago.. nevermind.. nothing much there.. HP also not my personal one.. ha... junk mail? already getting lots of them..