(2003) Brides of year 2003

aiyah...we also not $$$, but no love nest lor
so i guess still can go holiday and fly...fly bo pian, else we wun see each other...
you must rest more hor, poor gal, work so hard..be careful not to get sick leh....sounds like so tiring...but hey, you and FH building up a new home mah, sure more tough now
...hugs...

hope you had a good rest last night

hello all,

May: Aiyoh, why like that? i thought bridal sale means they will have gowns they hang up to sell instead of bridal booths like those in Suntec. Ok, don't be upset. Over already. No more next time. how's work? Yah, agree with you, Monday is like mad rush. SLK and me were just lamenting about work and stress and office politics. Not sure why these people like the game so much, they should go and join politics instead of playing it in office. i just detest such people.

Shook: when are you booking with hotel new otani? 35 tables.hmm..... i think not that difficult to fill up 3 more tables. your parents, yourself and hubby and future parents can each take one table. and you need to leave some spare in case people bring extra people. the last time i help my friend to do recep, the list said 2 but 5 turn up. threw us into frenzy because they brought all 3 kids, decide to let maid take day off! lucky we had a few empty seats and have to shift them to another table.

Lynnie: I don't have grand hyatt's contact with me in the office. if SLK don't have too, i will give it to you tomorrow morning. Alternatively you can give them a call. That's what i did, their number can be found in website.

Hi Sue & SLK: You both booked BV right? When you next call them, can check out when will be your photoshoot? I haven't book so if first appointment can delay to end Oct, that means i still got 2 months to search for bridal shop. Last time i check out, some shops said that must take photos in December because Jan and Feb, Chinese New Year, March and April too late. thanks.

May: Cool down cool down, well, at least you know what to expect from such bridal gowns sale next time

Lynnie: Please contact Andy Chia at 64167060 directly. Heard he is a fantastic guy! I am hoping my new coordinator will be changed to him

Jan: I asked BV before about this first appt. They said they normally call their brides up 6 months before the wedding. However, they do cater to 'last minute' brides as urgent as 1 month before their weddings! From what I know, 7 or 8 months is a better gauge for normal bridal shops.

Sue: Thanks for the info. Do let me know when you are called up ya? I will let you know too

flowee,

howz your leg liao?
sprained your ankle must be real painful.
surely hope you are better liao.

me so tired! do project till 2am last nite then got to work again this morning! Sian!!!!

kk mei,

life been boring coz work and studies lor!
no time for hubby so he poor thing stay at home and do housework lor!
dun even have time to accompany him go jalan jalan coz of my projects dateline to meet! Hiaz!
lucky, my hubby is understanding lor!

been staying up till 2am daily to rush my projects so now like panda! hahahaha
never mind, i keep telling myself, i have only 2 months to go b4 everything ends!

mei, lynnie and elaine,

helo to all of you!
glad you all are back coz this thread has been real quiet!

Hi Sweets,
I am on a short term engagement in Hk only..abt 6 months so i am sure to go back to SG. ANyway HK is near SG, so I can go back every month to settle my stuff like WG, EG design. It is nice to know that there are so many singaporean working oversea.....

morning all

hi kiroro...hope you are having a nice morning !
yah, definately an advantage to be able to go back home every month..even just to see family

but you can nice stuff in HK too right ? like jewellery and the kwa ? any recommendations on jewellers there ?

I have just confirmed yesterday evening with Mandarin Hotel on 27 Sep 2003. Anyone tried the food there? Heard its ok.

hi cutie,
i am about 164cm and hubby 178cm.so that
is why i able to wear the cancan WG.

I know Asian suits Ivory but eventually
i choose white as designer my skin can afford
to wear white gowns.both WG and EG MTM.
EG is low back with V neck in front.I like
the EG material like shimmering...

aiya !!i very kiasu mah!!
so must prepared early! :P

beibei...
so by can can wedding gown u mean a ballgown??
actually, the ivory/white theory really depends on the base color our skins

Sounds like you got all your gowns squirrelled away....how about photographers ? who are u intending to use ? I have yet to chose ours yet...headache man!

Hi Sweets,
I have already tailor my sarong kebaya (red in color, look like kwa) as tea dress to replace kwa. Therefore I will not be shopping for kwa here. As for jewellery... tempted but no money to buy. It is better to buy the jewellery from bigger shop like zhou seng seng and zhou ta seng in HK...the local tell me to get from the reputable shop...to play safe.
Hi Bei Bei,
It is amazing that you have done so much already... I have yet to confirm my photographer (both studio and actual) ..... Got to do that when I am back this month

Hi Cutie,
Yes, you're right. May is a little late. But can't help it. FH only can come back around mid-April to do his suit. So it will be ready early May, then we'll do the photoshoot. We considered doing the suit elsewhere, but neither of us has the time to go running around.

We're working with Robin on our photos, so we have arranged with him already. Our wedding is end June, and we're not really particular about getting our album before the wedding, though it would be nice. After all, our friends would probably not really have time to look at the album at the wedding. So he said he'd try for us.

Kiroro, Silhouette is designing a sarong-kebaya EG for me. Actually Heath came up with a preliminary design which was what I wanted. So that saves me the trouble. He'll do the detailed design in November, with the embroidery patterns, fabric etc.

When you mention jewelry, do you mean for the wedding day or otherwise? There are a lot of goldsmiths in HK right? Is the gold there better quality/cheaper than here in SG?

kiroro,
thanks for the recommendation, will probably go check it out when my FH and I go over for visits sometime next year

wahh..u and priviledged getting kebayas ah...i am sure you all must have great figures !! envy

Priviledge,
if you FH is currently in US, it may be cheaper to get a suit done here, my FH bought a tux here for a very reasonable price.
I think HK is a hub for jewellery distribution...so the prices there can be slightly better...maybe kiroro can give us a better idea

gd mornin gers

yi & kk

tks 4 ur concern
feelin better oredi

u gers muz take care hor

poor yi
had fallen sick due 2 her buz schedule
muz reali take care hor

elaine

i hvnt check out ur video clip
tks 4 sharin with us ur happi moments

were u @ the bridal sale???
bought anythin???
i caught ling in the channel newsasia shots of the bridal sale :P

jojok

gd 4 u
had settled with ur weddin date n venue
sorie aint able 2 comment on the food coz hadnt attend any weddin dinner there b4

as 4 myself still waitin 4 my pil 2 get a date 4 us after the 7th mth
booked a open date n open venue with tunglok durin their bridal show with x-zen wks back
lookin @ noble hse or imperium as they can hold 3o tables or more

Oh, I did not get Sihouette to design the kerbaya. I got it from louis of Amo Meurs at CHIJMES. I got it at a good deal (don;t ask me how much ;)) it is red in color with 3 phoenix embriodery and lots of beading.....
As for jewellery, I have not started yet cos too busy working and catching up with the final summer sale here (clothing and shoes and handbags)..... I will do some research and update you gals. ;)

Hi flowee,

the food at noble hse is good, attended a wedding there b4; heard that food at imperium is even better & the ambience is great, very grand (top notch restaurants in town).

Shook: i do agree that they bridal boutiques at the sale last sat, u dont see them at Suntec.i am just upset that the sale is more of an exhibition than u know gowns sale.
J&M was so aggressive...kept insisting me and my hubby to sit down and listen to their package - which we dont want...i was unhappy because we got pestered like suntec wedding fairs. Anyway, is over...so forget about it...

but i was alittle interested in DaySpring Bridal becoz they tie up with Everafter...but the comments about them in this forum not very good.
Any comments from you all?

I very hungry, i go for lunch first,..will be back later...

May: I am not wrong, dayspring having bridal show at sheraton in october. seems like we still have time to search around so you may want to check them out at the show. i haven't visted them before, price ok? if you like, just go ahead. there are usually alot of negative and positive remarks. yah lor, over already don't think about it. be happy ok.
i looking forward to weekend already. this coming month of september i got 4 weddings to attend. almost 2 per month. going to go broke but very happy for them whenever i think of it.

SLK: yah, think most of the shops i ask say 7 to 8 months. when do you want your photoshoot? i thought of having mine in feb. this will give shop 2 months to get album out. u? it's good you need not go for first appointment so early. more time to check out designs!

ok, i have to start work. lunch time over. so full want to sleep. had thai food and chendol!

flowee,

how's your leg. i've been quite busy these few weeks. rushing for the year end accounts.

so how's the latest thing for the nFP???.

Elaine,

i have not see the video yet. haven't go home yet cos only my house got broadband.

flowee, you see me?? did you see my bf??? am i fat on screen???

jojok, congrats to you . so have you settled your bridal shop and things like photographer ,etc.. cos sep is a packed mth.. got to book in advance.

KK and Yi,

study hard, finish these last semester and relaxxxxxxx...

for me, i just sign up with divine .

Hi Sweets
yup the Can Can gown is more like a ballgown
so look like Cinderlla which I have always
wanted since young so I managed to get it
for my wedding!
as for photographer on actual day, yet
to finalise as I might engage those video/photographer package.This shall be
finalise at later stage.
but for indoor/outdoor shots,i already
booked the photographers from my bridal
shop...

yi jie and flowee jie,

i just got a copy of the wedding handbook today. Can look through for more ideas on wedding venues. Now i have shortlisted a few more. Maybe will also look at Dragon Gate, Prima Revolving and Chengdu restaurants.

tonite got lecture, but playing a game called the beer game. so should be pretty relaxed i hope.

Hi jojok

My brother-in-law held his wedding at Mandarin and the food is quite good. But the food tasting was not as good as the actual wedding. Which floor is your ballroom on? I remembered that my brother-in-law’s ballroom is at 4th floor.

Hi: I am back - i also very full. Did not eat breakfast by the time is lunch - starving. Somehow, for my diet purpose - i think skipping breakfast helps. Kinda shrink my stomach.

Jan: is it Dayspring having show ah...where did u get the details? Oct i am very busy, will be out station again for a week and i will collect keys for my new flat too. so will be very busy...i was thinking of settling the bridal by this month. if possible. I am also thinking of photoshot in end Feb. Feb is a short month plus Chinese New Year so it will be tight. Their package reasonable under 4K for mtm package and i kinda like the photographer they tieup with.

Fiona: actually i do not like digital photography but on second thoughts alot can be done with digital shots especially the colors. Did you see the sample photos they had at the booth. The colors were so vibrant. Actually, that is what i look out for. I prefer outdoor shots and vibrant colors. Do not like those Taiwanese style with blur background or portrait shots. Prefer lifesytle. I am not model quality so features not that nice and sharp to zoom in.

Hi Jan

I check out the website, I do not know why I cannot find the telephone number. :-P

Hi SLK

Thanks a million for your help! You are my savior!

this thread seems to be very quiet.....looks like not many ppl getting married in Jan hor....so how's everybody??

Hi Kiroro and hi everyone,
Glad to be back and sorry for being missing in action for quite a while....Have been going outstation alot lately and will continue to do so till end of the month. Hence, can't always frequent the forum.

So Kiroro, you are in HK now? Must be quite fun being on overseas assignment.

How's planning coming along? I have finally booked my church (phew, I had some difficulties with the church booking initially) and will be renovating my place soon (yippeee but also feeling clueless since I haven't started scouting for ID company yet. Any recommendations and tips?). As u know, I have confirmed my gown designs in June and will be taking my measurements end of this month (so excited).

How about you? (Din manage to read thru all the postings...paiseh)Hope to be able to catch up with you real soon

Hi May

My FH doesn't like digital photos coz he said can see the flaws clearly. We saw some portfolios of other photographers and can see quite clearly lor
but I was thinking not much choice since most of them use digital now...yeah I also don't like the taiwanese style type!

jojok

tks 4 the feedback...
since we booked an open date n open venue
the venue we chose will b subject 2 availblity

imperium pricin aint like normal tunglok restaurants...
their wkdaz package starts from $638+++...

kk mei

chengdu is definateli 2 'no no' 2 hold ur weddin dinner...
been there 4 a weddin dinner in june this yr...
din leave an impression 4 mi...

the walk-in is thru the tables set up 4 ur guests...
my frenz ( the groom ) he is like draggin the bride 2 walk faster so tat they will reach the stage asap...
super small walkin space is catered 4 ur walk in...

as 4 the food wise, the plates aint change after the diff course...
even if they intend 2 change ur plate, they 'dragged' the plate off the table n left my chopsticks on the table..

as 4 prima revolvin, i had shortlisted them 2...
but i cant stand the revolvin surroundin durin my walk in...
so out... :P

world trade centre currentli under reno...
so muz of hackin n re routin of the roads...
but heard from frenz the food nt bad...

juz my thots...

ling

nfp class is goin on well...
teresa will onli c mi in 2mths time...

yes saw ur guy n urself in the channel newsasia news...
saw ur guy 1st then c u...

so wat did u get 4 urself durin the sale???

lynnie

wow so lucky of u 2 win lcd screen durin the fair...

Hihi Jan
Now we come out to 38 tables coz I invite the spouse of my colleagues. Dun intend to invite my colleauges' spouse initially coz too many of them. However, I know some of them. So, ok lar, want to invite, invite all, fair to everyone. We confirm to book Hotel New Otani lao.

What, RSVP 2 come 5!! Scaring
. One banquet manager told us to expect 5% no show
of the invited guest list. It is a norm. Another banquet manager taught us to confirm 1 table less than the RSVP list. So, if all turn up, make use of the reserved table. If not, dun hava waste 1 table.
All banquet managers told us to book the min no. of table required by the hotel and increase the no. of table after RSVP from the guests. That's y we were worried when we only have 32-35 tables.
How soon u gotta book bridal package depends on:
- u getting MTM gowns or OTR gowns. Bridal shop needs at least 2 months to tailor make your gown. OTR only need some alterations so take shorter time
- how soon u wanna have your studio photos. If u wanna display it during your wedding dinner. U gotta take ur studio photos 3 months before ur actual day coz the photographer needs 2 months to process studio photos.
If u have to pay GST for your bridal package, you might wanna take into consideration if u mind paying 5% GST. For album photos in addition to what u have in the package, GST will be charged at the time u choose the photos n being invoiced.
Most bridal shops are closed for quite a long period during Chinese New Year. Last time I visited Milan, I was told to exclude Feb from my estimation.
The studio processing time and tailor made time may differ from shop to shop. It is good to check with the bridal shop u choose.

Hihi May
Feel so sorry about ur unhappy
experience at the bridal sales. Feel so guilty
coz I was the one who brought this up. A thousand apologies.
I was luckier in the sense that I booked the bridal package, so juz gotta repeat booked already booked already. The joke
is one of the sales promoter for White Link approached me, the other staff from White Link told her
I m a White Link customer.
Many sales promoters at the bridal fairs are freelance promoters. They tend to hard sell. I m irked by them too. So, I can understand how u feel. Cool cool okie. Give me a

May: I think i saw it in the herworld brides magazine. tonite will i will go check it out. yes, think i want to wrap up the bridal by this month. oct, nov i will be busy. hmm... i also want end feb but worried that they cannot come out with the album on time. our wedding is 2nd week of May leh. i think read about someone in this forum who didn't get her album in time for her wedding banquet. keep me inform who you signing up with. i will do likewise. me still not decided.

Lynnie: Sorry, was not able to help. It's great that SLK was able too. She always a big help! Keep us inform if you going to sign up with GH. when's your wedding date. mine on 10, May on 15, Sue and Fiona on 25 and SLK on 29. Vin's in Jan 03.

SLK: way to go!

Hi astrud,
Have not hear from you for a long time. I have finally selected Silhoutte as my bridal salon and confirmed a bustier ball gown using duchness satin. Had went to the Catholic EE course last month and shouldbe confirming my priest for the wedding day. Other than that, I have not done anything much really..... Will be back to Sg mid of the month for a couple of day, hope to finalise the photography portion.
Have you went to the EE course as well ?

Its been a long time since I m back. Been very busy with my work, outstationed.

HK, I think Andrew is charging abt $65 for 8x10 each. R u going to see him? U select ur bridal studio?

Sweets, congrats to u. U r going to be very busy. Wat ur feeling now? The day is drawing nearer. Keep us posted.....

May/Jan,

I am trying to do my PS in Jan if possible. Cos I heard many bridal shops close for many days during CNY in feb. So better be a little kiasu and get it done earlier.

Lynnie,

No worries, it was just a phonecall to my BIL

Jan,

You really make me blush

Hi flowee

Sorry I did not won the LCD monitor screen from the fair. I got monitor from a lucky draw after I bought a videocam. So buy 1 get 1 free! Ha ha!

My hubby is a lucky star, he always win prizes. Just recently he won a Sony digital camera!

hi astrud...

nice to "meet" u...I am also new here....

when's your big day ?

beibei
congrats...must be nice to be able to carry off ballgown style...
I also wanted, but did not look nice in it

have a happy wednesday everyone!

hi flowee,

thanks for your concern
me better liao lah although still struggling wif projects! Hiaz!!!!

i'm already planning how i can really enjoy planning my wedding after exams although itz still abt 2mths away! hehehe

howz things wif you?

hi kk mei,

me and you sama sama hor!
nvr mind, another at most 2 mths to go
anyway, i still have another 10 lessons to go and its exam preparation liao!

so i will preserve! u 2 must fight on okay?

btw, me never attended any wedding dinners at the restaurant you mentioned so i can't give much comments, sorry. ;P

hi ling,

long time never hear from you.

hi lynnie,

you have a lucky hubby huh!

hi cherry,

ya, you are rite, this thread is abit quiet these few days huh?

i'm also a Jan 03 bride. my big day on 24 Jan at Merchant Court.

Going for my trial makeup and choosing my fotoshoot gowns tomoro! quite excited though!

Hi Yi,

wow you're taking photos so soon?? and your wedding date is later than mine leh....
my photoshoot will only be in Nov...

so what else have you prepare? my PIL and parents have not met to discuss anything yet....do you think i'm a bit lag behind already? hmm...nothing much for me to do except waiting....my 2nd fitting will only be at the end of this month.

flowee jie,

ok, i look into chengdu thread and find that the comments no good too. the customer service level is zero. hahaa.. my hubby lor, he say he eaten the food there before and the food is super at a low budget per table.

i have just got a quotation from Roland restaurant at marine parade.. supposed to be a good restaurant as PM Goh always hold his NDP dinner there for his marine parade residents.. kekekee.. and it has a long history of 50 yrs already. so i have shortlisted it too.

yah, i heard about the revolving layout at prima. but i have not gone there before, so i dun know how i will feel when i hold my dinner there. anyway we will pop by every restaurant when we start hunting, perhaps next week onwards. will tell u the outcome. kekeke

yi jie,

tired!!!! yesterday lecture totally lost! today have to catch up.. read the textbook already, not so bad lor.. but still got the case study.. headache!! need to hand up 2 weeks later but now my team still dunno what is the correct answer. none of the teams done it sucessfully yet

Hi jingle Bell...
no lar..nothing much to fuss about cos still very far away ...

Wishing it was happening tmrw lor ...heeee
how have you been ? dun work too hard hor

Hi Flowee,

Yup, I was there & I saw Ling on the TV too.

I bought a EG (D&D dress) for both myself & for my sis. I was thinkin to wear it to my hubby's sis wed, & my sis one, she's going to wear on my wedding

Mine cost $100 (with alteration)
Sis cost $90 (without alteration)

I went for my 1st fitting liao
Like my EG veri much...also my WG but the color prints are not out yet, so still cannot see overall yet. But it is veri long, 40" I could feel the weight on it

Hi Ling, thanks. have not source for bridal shop & photographer.

Anyone has any suggestions on bridal shop & photographer?

Lynnie, yes, my banquet is at level 4 - Mandarin Court. think its the same as your brother's.

Hi Kiroro,
So has the tailoring process started for you yet? Mine's a bustier gown too, though I'm not sure if it looks pouffy enough to be a ballgown. The gown would be having 3 layers; comprising of a bottom duchess satin layer, followed by a tulle layer and silk organza on top with long train. Bustier is duchess satin with beading on the front and back. Should be taking my measurements end of the month after I return from all the flying.

I have not attended EE yet but I have signed up for a session in Dec. Church and priest for wedding day confirmed already (phew...because I had so much trouble finding the right church). So there's also nothing much to do at the moment except going for fittings and looking at IDs for the house.

So you are looking at photographers now? Have you shortlisted any yet?

Hi Sweet,
Nice meeting you too...My big day is on 14 June 2003(Sat). Yours on 28 right? So how's prep so far?

Hi Kelsey

I have booked my banquet last year. Mine is at Merchant Court. so where have u decided to have yr banquet?? how about yr wedding gown, photoshoot?? care to share?? Since we both are married on the same day, u can email me and we shall discuss more about it??
My email address is [email protected].
Hear from u soon

Hi Astrud,
As I am not in the town, so I cannot start the tailoring yet. But I will be back for a couple of day during mid of this month to take the measurement. I have sort of confirmed my WG design but still have no idea what I want for EG. As for photographer, I do not have much choice (due to budget) most likely, i will go with Lynn Kong. Trust me you have lots to do once you start the renovation process...... Enjoy the fun !

great to know there are so many june brides right here! my big day is 22 june 03...same as cutie. let's share 'xin-de' along the way huh :P

hi kk mei,

sian hor? wat to do?
like my hubby says, we choose to study so must preserve and i will. u must too ok?
so these few weeks, really no shopping, movies etc for me lor!

tomoro gog for my trial makeup and choosing of gowns for fotoshoot liao. kinda of excited lah! but tonite must rush projects again! sian!!!!!!

Hi May,

I'm new to this forum, searched for Everafter, that's why I stumbled in here
I also went to the bridal gown sale last weekend and I really like Everafter's photos, especially those at the beach. Just now I called the photographer Albert to arrange a meeting. I asked him about Dayspring, but he said he did not tie up with them.

Hmm.. any idea?

Hi wabbit!!!

Another addition to the list! WELCOME!!! Where will your dinner be held and hv u booked your bridal package?

lynnie

ur hubby sounds like a lucky star...

yi

things r gettin ok here...
nothin muz done rgdin marriage...

kk mei

roland is a gd place 4 gd food...
but the deco nt veri appealin 2 mi lor ( pardon mi )
its best tat u & kkk 2 check out the diff venue u shortlisted...
then finalised with the one most suitable 4 u guys...
its ur turn 2 get buz with chosin ur weddin venue...
happy searchin...

popple

oh another EG 4 ur weddin???
looks like u will b buz changin from one outfit 2 another on ur weddin daz... :P

so u had ur 1st fittin???
gd 2 kow u like ur WG & EG veri muz...
mi waitin 2 catch ur weddin pixs...
a 40" long train...
tats real long...
so do u need the sphagetti 2 help 2 support ur long train???

jojok

4 mtm gowns u can sign with ur ideal bridal 9mths b4 ur weddin date...
as 4 otr 6mth advance will do...
happy searchin 4 u r ideal bridal shop...