(2003) Brides of year 2003

rhs

Thank's 1027, Amerline, HF. Guess my expectation was too high, I thought I can try several styles. My designer/make-up artist must hate me since I insisted I wanted to try many styles

serrich

Same here. Had my PS taken sometime in late June.. now waiting for my album to be ready... Haven't select my actual day WGs and EG.

Havent start planning for my wedding... The resturant manager asking me confirm the no. of tables asap.. Also wants us to confirm the menu by Aug....

Wah.. I think will have a hard time deciding on the no. of tables... Have to come up with the guest list for both families and frens not easy leh.... Also dunno if all can make it or not...

serene,

Yup.. Have received your mail.... i like the design but will they be using fresh flowers??

babyvon

May i join in tis forum? My customary's on 30th Nov. I've oreadi had my PS....wait'g to collect the albums in 2mths' time.

But hvent done up the guests list nor liaise with the htl. My in-laws prob mtg up with my parents next mth for the guo da li. M i too late?

mt

HI Just me and BabyVon,
Welcome to this thread

I haven't seen the final of my WG, not seen 1st fitting of my EG, not done my cheongsam (though I bought the material... having a figure crisis).
PS next month!

Haven't done guest, not collected cards, not printed yet.

My detailed schedule and helper's schedule still halfway abandoned.

Guo Da Li sort of found a date (didn't search almanac, just found a weekend 4 weeks before AD). Listed items need for both parties, my mum's side prepared the trousers, wallet, belt and tea set to be presented to HB. HB's side I'm going to delegate to HB to remind and settle. Both parents haven't met up in a while, just HB and I conveying messages

Aiyah dun worry RHS, i think its better that you come clean with your make-up artist and let him / her know what you like or dun like. Its better this way!

After my first photoshoot, i also told my make-up artist certain things i liked / didn't like, and he appreciated my honesty so that he would know my preferences better, hence do a better job!

Anyway if you feel bad, just give your make-up artist a slightly bigger ang pow on the day of the wedding lor!

besse

Hi babyvon

Welcome to the forum!! no nid worry lar.. we oso not liaise with hotel yet.. guest list is furthest from our minds..

Parents have met up last month, but must meet one more time cos quite inconclusive a discussion.. so no worries..

Err gals, how many tables is the norm that our mom should ask? my mom asking for 8.. but how you gonna give the tables to the mummies? via angbao money.. or she will collect all angbaos for the relatives??

Sweetie, Leo

Ya, i trying to take it easy this whole week at work.. keke.. now switch off.. think boss give up!! *grin*

wink

wow....guess this is the most siong period for Nov brides cos got so much things to settle ;(

are, you look sooo good in ur fotos...must show us more fotos after u have made ur selections okie?
as for the feng-long bedsheets..i bot mine at one of the shops in Beauty World shopping centre, paid about $80+ for king size sheets.

am looking for some appliances like TV, fridge, washing machine....any recommendations, gals?

wink

wow....guess this is the most siong period for Nov brides cos got so much things to settle ;(

are, you look sooo good in ur fotos...must show us more fotos after u have made ur selections okie?
as for the feng-long bedsheets..i bot mine at one of the shops in Beauty World shopping centre, paid about $80+ for king size sheets.

am looking for some appliances like TV, fridge, washing machine....any recommendations, gals?

leo29

Me too was worry on the guestlist and actual day attendance. Already afraid cannot meet the min table qty and now my friends one by one are telling me they're getting married this year end or early next year. Within the 3 mths interval so cannot invited them so sad .......

Serrich,

So early to confirm the table? From my knowledge, our hotel allow us to ve the final confirmation 2 weeks before our dinner.

cin

Hi Soyabean, Sweets,

We went Fiji for our honeymoon...spent 8 nights there, and 3 nights in Auckland where we had a stopover... should have extended the trip lah...didn't want to come back haha...

rhs

My hair is short mah. On my trial make-up I only said I want simple one so he didn't do anything to my hair. Only comb and use hairspray. But now I feel that I should ask for more 'drama' style. Hence I'm asking for 2nd trial (must pay of course). But a bit worry that he cannot do anything to my short hair.

leo29

Besse,

What i know from frds is 5-10 tables. But all this depend on numbers of your relatives. I should said all invited relatives & parents frds should be seated at bride side table. And all ang bao shall be given to our parents. Tradition way lah.

I guess my parent ask for 5-8 tables. My parents are so lazy...., till now still cannot tell me the exact table they want. Must go back and fire them liao. For my case, all realtives Ang Bao will goes to my parents.

leo29

Feb,

You mean which fitness center i go or what type of workout i go? I catch no ball... ;)

Besse,

Who is the lady that do your mani/pedi in indulge? Good? You going to indulge today, right?Actually i want Clara to do for me but she will out for shooting next tue,

Oh no...., wonder is Besse on half day leave today. If she is then she can't read my posting. Anyone out there can help?

are

welcome babyvon and justme...

wink... thanx for your compliments. i plan to chk out chinatown then beauty world if can't find. i'm trying to finish my 'book' of pics so hopefully by next gathering i can bring? ;P targeting to finish during the 7th mth since can't do anything else. as for electrical items, i juz bought a TV from harvey norman. abt $100 more ex than wat we hv found outside, but they are now offering interest free installment for 2 yrs, so quite attractive for us cos tight budget.

gals... fyi, ikea also giving interest free installment i think with OCBC. can stretch $$... ;P

besse... my parents will ask for 6 tables. how we will go abt is my parents will collect all angboas frm my side, then give us $$ for the remaining tables. eg. total 13 tables, then they will pay for 7 x actual cost/table. for my sis's wedding, they collected quite a lot so my dad gave $6K for 8 tables tho' each table costed $500+.

leo29... all the gals there are pretty gd. with meow's recommendation, i asked for jane, but clara did my pedicure @ the same time, and sarah (i think) did my 'repainting' when i went back again. i heard jane and sarah are the bosses. their 3rd partner oni comes at nite.

are

oh leo29... can do me a favour? when you go indulge, can you tell jane to call me? she asked me tat day abt some staff discount tie-up with my co, and i found the contact liao. but she haven't returned my calls. me want to go do pedicure, so waiting for her offers. ;P hehehe...

pausini

Also dun have any place in mind.. how???

Yesterday i was on hlaf day MC because of headache, my colleague ask me why the GP didnt give me more days i said i also dun know.

Now i am down with flu again, guess because got myself with a few raindrop. Think of it i shld have ask for today MC rest at home and now dun have to go and see doctor again.. So stupid rite..

Keep getting MC.

may

Oh dear, plse take care of yourself. The wet season seems to be back. It keeps raining. Take an umbrella with you so you wont be caught unaware.

If you dont feel good better go c a doctor...and get lots of rest.

let c what the other gals have in mind.

skank_jenna

hey gals!!!

i'm a newbie, would like to join u ladies in this forum .. may i??

you gals seem to be alor more prepared than i am!! i have yet to do any planning yet and my wedding is slated to be Nov 18!!! What's worse, i am in the states and won't be back till August! i'm really getting nervous!!! we've only just decided on the venue ... i guess dat's @ least the first step?!

panic ... panic... panic

leo29

Meow,

OK, i will look for Jane. You very quiet nowaday hor.... do come in and yiak yiak yiak lah.

Are,

Ok, I will remind her provided i remember lei....

Feb,

It's Amore! If u r the shy type, this definitely a good choice becos all their members are ladies. Other fitness center are mostly unisex. I took up their unlimited package, $330 for 3 mths and can use their gym. They also ve once a week-12 session for $180 and twice a week-24 session for $290. I give you the number at bugis junction, 6336 6822 you can call them if you want to know more. But i suggest you to meet them up, tell them why you want to join, they can guide you which class suit you.

babyvon

Hihi Ladies,
Wow! Thks for all the WARM Welcome!
Tis thread's so active tt i cld hardly catch up!

Cld i seek help as to wat to do dur'g the Guo Da Li? Both my hubby & i are hokkiens? We reali hv the faintest idea wat's expected? Pls, somebody, HELP!!!

Oso, i've decided to ask the angpow $ frm my parents despite the no. of tables. M i wrg to do tt though they're very understd'g? But times r reali bad! M oreadi prepared to mk a loss for the banquet.

Hi Wink,
I'm us'g both LG fridge & wash'g machine...it's been 9mths...so far so good!

Hi Are,
May i view ur fotos pls?

leo29

Babyvon,

So early for the the GDL? Suppose to be few weeks before our wedding. Did you mix up with Ti Qing? If your parent don mind then it's OK for you to take the angbao.

babyvon

Hi Leo,
Oops! I tink u're rite...My in-laws prob mtg my parents to ti qing next mth, aft the lunar 7th mth. Guess i mix tt up...Hehe! Paiseh!
Thks for highlight'g!

So, mus my mom state wat she wans for the GDL dur'g the ti qing? Thks!

meow

Babyvon, Justme and Jeanna welcome to Novas2003

Could you sent your details to [email protected] with the following:
Nickname:
Birthdate(DDMMYY):
ROM date:
Actual date:
Venue of banquet:
Email Address :
Contact Nos :
New Home Location :
Name of Bridal :
Photoshoot date:
Actual day photographer:
Dialect of bride + groom:

Leo,
I see all of you busy preparing the guest list and such. Looking at mine like very bad. Jus argue with my dad this morning about the number of tables he require. From 10 tables increase to 12. Sianz then he say one of the tables only 5pax. I told him either to remove them or add in another 5 more to make it full. Then he say i didn't even ask my hubby how many tables they want go ask him for what?? He's those very thick skin type. Dun want to loose face...dun want to call to confirm attendance type but jus reserve say this whole table for this family and that family. How to make it? So to stop me from getting more upset. I prefer to remain quiet. But i'll still drop in everyday to see see look look lor. Then also think of my PS photos also very upset lor.

itch

Hi 1027

Any advice har? think i'm the worse person to ask! if u ask my hub, he'll probably tell u to keep me out of the preparations, cos i panick too easily!! i was sweating over where to buy my wedding shoes, table arrangement (which is prob the biggest headache!), and worrying abt my pimples healing on time for the big day! good thing i went to see the dermatologist early!

oh, 1 piece of good advice, try to delegate duties to your trusted friends and relatives on the big day. u won't want to worry abt things on that day, cos it can really bog u down! if things happen to go wrong (touchwood), just laugh it off. no point getting upset. my tea ceremony was one big mess, but i bo-chap lah. it'll also be quite pai-say if the photographer took pictures of my black face right?!

in the end, everything worked out beautifully, thanks to friends and relatives. really, make sure u assign someone to be in charge of the liquor, the tables (like if there're a lot of empty seats at some tables, the person-in-charge should be able to pick those out, and combine the guests. otherwise, there'll be a lot of wastage, not to mention the additional costs!), the ang pao $$$$...

oh, regarding the lamps right, i didn't have those. thank goodness! good thing they come battery-operated these days. heard from some old folks that last time, theirs was candles, and they really had to make sure the flame doesn't go off, otherwise bad omen.

chris ling's good huh? i didn't use him, my brother did. i used ray ong instead. very happy with his work!!!! =) =) =) oh for info, chris also brought my bro and sil to labrador park. his specialty, i think!

mt

Welcome to Jenna too! Hop on this thread and I'm sure you'd get things done along the way

Meow,
5 pax for 1 table? I'm inexperienced but that's costly if you don't have "extra" guests. I'm asking my hotel to provide 4 larger-size tables (that can squeeze 11 pax) in case of kids under 12/ or maid. If they don't need extra portion (eg. sharks' fin), we won't be charged.
Every opportunity I will harp on how expensive it is to have empty seats to my PIL and my mum, not sure about PIL side (ok, very worried about my PIL side... my MIL also can tell me dunno which table only have 8 persons... I freaked on her! Then FIL prepared a proper guest spreadsheet... even though I already have one and passed to HB but negligent HB forgot to print for PIL and now paiseh since FIL put in effort, must use FIL's work).
My mum will call relatives to confirm attendance.

PS can always re-take as anniversary
As long as you are happy with the WG for your march-in. Ask your AD photog to take more?

Hmm we only go-between our parents and figured out what each side wants for GDL. Haven't thought about Ti Qing leh.

mt

My mum will take a token pinjin, and she will have 12 tables guests paid by us, we'd collect ALL angbaos and return her 8 or 6 tables worth.

are

meow... dun be too upset k? i went thru tis whole jazz during my sis's wedding, ppl turned up in odd numbers & we had to do on the spot planning. but somehow, my dad was quite steady & handled it well. tis family whom we invited 4pax turned up with 14 pax + kids!!!

i think better dun argue too much also. cos it might be useless, cos you will never know the turn-up. my parents also refuse to 'take attendance' so i've juz set aside 2 extra tables for each side. i feel tat tables with 8-6 pax is fine cos last minute got ppl easy to put here & there.

so dun worrie too much k?

just me

Thanks Ladies. :)

Hi Besse,
I'm having my wedding banquet at OCC, and bridal studio is Jazreel Low Collections. Have yet to settle my guest list and such...seems so many things to do and dunno what to start with.

I see some of you have already seen your photos, can share your joy with me too?

besse

Hello Leo

i had my mani and pedi done by both Rachel and Caragh.. hehe.. felt like queen.. 2 of them doing me at same time
1st time was Jane.. but she's not in today.. Rachel oso v nice.. sweet and chatty
din do french mani. took the papua pink pearl instead.

i v chor lor. now 2nd fingie on left hand kena a bit paint chipped off cos i tried 2 wear watch..
haiz..

Don worry abt filling in guest list lar.. will be fine one.. just need lots of last min re arrangement creatively..

besse

Meow..

don be sad.. chirp up ok? Hmm.. whatz with your PS? don worry la, like what the other gals said, take more on your AD.. after, Nick is good ;) Am sure you will be meimei for your AD..
I would take him if he's avail, but too bad Nov Groom is a step ahead of me

shall we come out for dindin again? i don mind organising this time round..

Gals.. what you think? meet up for dinner one more time?? Say 1st week August??

Err.. thanks for input to my table qns.. will hv to be diplomatic in handling my parents..

K nite nite. i go zzz liaoz.. pray hard for me tomorrow won rain...

meow

Thanks girls.
But if i'm needed here, i'll always be around. I'll let my hubby do the talking with my dad. Think i'll blow up again jus by taking to him. Won't be going home tomorrow

jenn

thanks for the welcome ladies

meow, i have sent u my details. sent me a reply via email to let me know u've received it okie? Meanwhile, dun be too upset abt ur dad thingie. perhaps u should explain to him (especially he dun want to lose face) that it'll be very embrassing if the actual attendance is way lower than the expected attendance. also means u and hubbi will burn a big hole in ur pocket! so to prevent this "embrassment" , it is alwaiz good to call his friends / relatives to confirm their attendance. anyways, dun worry too much k!

as for ur PS, agree wif the rest, just take more on the AD lor!!! actually, i will personally put more focus on the AD!!! it's the once-in-a-lifetime thingie! it's nice to capture AD moments!!!

for myself, i may not even have the bridal photos taken. just the AD. dunno yet! still have to tok to fh!!!

hey ladies, do u have icq or MSN? this thread is moving sooo fast!!! i'm almost breathless!!! if u have icq or MSN< we can chat online too! my icq no. is 122481814

jenn

hey MT

thanks!!! hopefully i'm not too late into preparation! really panic now!

when and where are you holding ur banquet? i have yet to confirm my hotel venue, but we have decided on the venue already. i guess the actual negotiation wif hotel will have to take place when i come back to Singapore!

yve

Besse, weather looks good after the morning shower!

1st week of August is fine.. Actually, August is good time to meet as we cannot do anything for the wedding during this month.

Meow, I am sure Nick will take lots of nice pictures on your actual day.

Just Me, you are with JLC? Have u taken your pics? When's your AD?

wen

Hi Okeanosmao / Leo29
Finally, went for Body Combat (similiar to Kickbox) at Planet Fitness. My legs are aching now. Not as bad as I thought. Didnt give up half-way. But very pai-seh. My coordination is always wrong. People right, I left. People kick first, then i kick. hee hee...

This afternoon, will be going for pilates. Heard that it is more on stretching so dont have to run around so much. Right?

I need to get proper attire &amp; shoes. Anywhere to recommend???

shook

Pausini
R u feeling better? Is the GP u visited your company dr? Usually company dr v niao one. My company dr doesn't give mc unless the patient has fever. I m the type who dun have sick appearance tho I m v v sick. Sometimes I sick till I feel like dieing but no fever, dr won't give mc. If I visit the GP @ my home, the GP gives me mc v generously. Sometimes I even go to work tho I have mc as I feel not necessary.

May
How abt Marche? Think there r many choices n each of us can pick our choice, especially Pausini, I m fairly worried wat food suits her.

sunnyling

haha been MIA for quite long never write anything. Update: My outdoor ps been postphone to Sept cos it rain the day of my Outdoor (sad sad sad) and my indoor Ps will be this tomorrow. And abt the parent meet up I really confuse, Do we have to had a parent meet up?????? cos my mum say no need leh just told them wat to get and buy so I duno abt the meet up.

Hi Wen

Abt Body Combat, I am very interested can you tell me how much per session and where you take your course????????

lkf

welcome all newcomers.
TGIF
manage to sneak in today finally...the speed u gals r moving is astonishing, i could hardly catch up :p

meow

dun get too upset or worry over the tables and ps photos. I also face the problem of my father not very willing to take attendance, his guest list keeps changing, so me also very worry. luckily my mom more firm, she asked my dad to come up wif the name of the guests first

i guess we really have to give n take a little bit here, like wat are's sister had experienced, u may want to brief ur co-ordinator or family member doing ushering beforehand to help u to look out for such tables and made some re-arrangement there n then.

hv u selected ur photos already? to make up for tat, take more pictures on ur actual day. u hv a very good photographer n i always think tat it is more meaningful to capture the actual day events for momento.

lkf

are

u really look so gorgeous n so sweet...i like the photo where the background is a bright orange door. u look so glam in the grey EG.

are

wen.. i'm also going for my first pilates class tonite! ;P heehee... also dun noe wat to wear, but heard from colleague its longs + sports shoes. but i brought shorts as well also.

sunnyling... hihi!!! long time no hear... gd news... my hse is ready for 'swimming'. juz waiting for a supplier i noe to get me my mahjong tiles + table then we're SET! ;P hehehe...

sunnyling

Hi are

Yaya long time never write but I do read all the posting but been kind of bzzzz so never post anything but I do MSN with Feb and know all the update. Cos I thk Ym and MSN is much easier to keep contact

Wow you looking for sponsorship ah hahahaha. So when you get your mahjong tiles and table remember to jio me ok I queue 1st. I saw your photo and you really look very sweet in the photo. Btw what is Pilates class?????? me very suan gu.

Galssss

Anybody know any places with ancient feeling which can take photo????? the best is those temples which is no longer in use. Please provide some information. Thank you.

wen

Hi Sunnyling
I went to Planet Fitness.....
Dont have to pay cos company is corporate member so each day can sign in 10 persons...
Now they have promotion. If you sign up for 1 year membership, you get another year FREE.... You can call them at 62359622 (Great World), 64383833 (Far East Square) &amp; 6820900 (Suntec) for more info.

Also can try Amore. There are a few girls in the forum who went there.... They have 2 packages.
1 - Aerobic &amp; Step $120 for 10 sessions ;
2 - Power Package (include Yogo) $180 for 10 sessions.

For me, i just try first. Not sure how long this interest can last so didnt sign up w any fitness centre.

Have been wanted to ask u - where &amp; how much did you get your tea set? Very nice... i m thinking of getting one..
thanks!!!