(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi christmas,

that's a really nice date to have your wedding! like what naturally said, all those stuff that you need to have on the actual day needs to be settled fast, some more your date is popular.. can take your time to source for studio and other accessories. for me, i need to "book" my frens in advance for bridesmaid and helpers cos a lot of my friends are getting married this year, and many people tend to go on vacation at the end of the year...

Hi folks,

I'm getting so excited indeed :D It's actually my birthday too :p We wanted a December wedding and it turns out it's an auspicious day.

Actually, what I have now is my gowns and nothing else. Because I've had them made years ago.

Hoping to book a venue by the end of next week. Still scouting around looking at places.

I think I can get a photographer. Haven't got makeup artist yet though.

Seems like you all have a headstart already :p

Shook: I know exactly what you mean. It's like 2 different teams in the same race to reach destination at the same time but 1 team (my parents) is taking their own sweet time, no urgency and the other team (me and FH) running full steam but kept having to turn back to prod and push them. feel very lousy and tired and worst of all, get comments like " making a mountain out of a molehole", "mess things up because i very hot tempered" etc etc. sigh. at least you got honeymoon done. happy for you. i still trying to squeeze money out.

Pausini: your uncle not being very fair leh. why like that. can imagine why you so unhappy. see how best to tackle him. watch the wine part. last time i went to a banquet, the bride's father and his group of friends non-stop toasting and drinking until her father was drunk and the group of all male got rowdy and nearly started a fight. very embrassing and the groom had to help break up the rowdy group and told hotel to stop serving liquor to them. already know sure got trouble. before march in , they already started on beer and hard liquor!

May: My GDL is on 3rd. MIL decide so i just go with it. hopefully no requests. see if you can avoid the buffet. very tiring to clean up especially mopping and washing. waste money too. plus is there a need, no long to wedding day, can wait right? i sometimes don't understand what they think. My wedding but i have to do all these to satisy parents, parents-in-law because we have vested interest. we want to be happy and we also want them to be happy so that they will be nice to us. round and round we go!

Pausini/May: Don't know who is my actual day photographer. they say will allocate nearer to that day. i already intend to take using own digital to save money because thought the free actual day will do. thanks for the update. i read already. very worried. today xzen closed, tomorrow i will call and specifically say i don't want this Ray, he sound very terrible. keep you all updated.
Jazz: Good for you. I haven't shifted anything over to new place yet. wonder when it the right time because it's not my house after all. how? i keep feeling that now is too early then i start to worry that it will be too rush if i do it later. suggestions? good that you can drive long distance, the scenery must be beautiful. envy. i also hope vaccine come up soon. alot of people sick. praying real hard. as for going home, i say just go home as and when you like. as long as you both ok and happy yeah! It takes a while to get used to it but it's a comfort to know that singapore is so small. lucky us.

HI Shook,

Ya, is free and easy. I just bought the air-ticket then everything on our own. I bought a ticket on 15/05/03 and return on 10/06/2003.

hi yvonne,

i think i saw you yesterday at sophia. i was the couple picking the photos.

finally, got all the photos taken and picked, just waiting for the big day to come.

have you pick your photos ?

Shook:I got ur mail. Can u check ur mail again cos i have done a small montage for u using some of the file us send me.. see if this the style u want. I did a simply one now. if u FH want to continue from here can go ahead too.

Jan: how are u? Yah lor, i will tackle my uncle again when time is near. I have told my FH abt it. i have not talk to my mum abt my uncle yet. See wat my mum said, then i see what i can do.

yve... tats why i say you lucky. me die die hv to be hm everyday, no matter how late, or early... in the morning! ;P like little ger hor... bo bianz...

Ooh, we've got a xmas baby here!! heehee, my fave time of the year!

So u've got the gowns already, planning for studio indoor/outdoor photography? If u are, can ask the photographer for recommendations regarding make-up artist, or u can approach make-up artists yourself.

Have fun with the preps, and keep us updated, okie?

Actually, I've a question:

Is it ok to have a makeup artist who is booked for more than 1 event on that day?

The person I called says she's booked on that day but depending on timing she can squeeze another location. Is that a good or bad idea?

Confirm location of meeting: Esplanade, Senses Western Fusion Restaurant (2nd Level)
Confirm date : 28/03/03
Time : 7.30pm
Attendance : Meow + hubby, Pris, Shirlynn + hubby(?),Besse, Are , Leo29, Feb + hubby, Akira, Yve

Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne, okeanosmao, DK, Amore, Ava, Min, Sunrise, Jing jing, Serrich(?), twinklets, sweetie

Okean,
Those sofa price is almost the same. Not really very cheap, unless you already eye on something, then ask go there and check its ok. Some also can MTM one.

Leo29,
maybe i make a wrong posting to you

Are,
you are even better than me. Throughout my 5yrs with my hubby, we never stayed over each other house with parents around. Since both of us stay very near each other. Only when my parents go overseas, then he accompany me throughout the night.

hi cookiecorgie,

u mix-up again noe heee.... poki posted tt qns to u lah ;p

hi serene,

thks for coordinating tis time. humm...1st we've western then italian, now....japanese hee....

hi pooh,

thanks for sharing ur mei mei photos ...

military wedding .. i quite like oso leh .. got a romantic kind of feeling esp during march in with the sword bearer holding up the swords ..

but too bad .. hubby not in army .. ;) hee

Hard to say, anyway, even if u find one who tells u NOW that he/she is not booked for other events, wat if later on, he/she accepts another booking on your day??? Unless u "bao" your makeup artist for the whole day? So to me, it's okie lah...

Ai yoh, my office air con spoilt, so hot..... Going to be roast pig liao. Have to endure 2 more days, air con man will install a new one on fri,

Yve,

Hee….., I anyhow said one lah, assuming. But there should be a few more travel fair in the next half year..

Are & Meow,

If this is the case, you going to leave your house empty until customary? Maybe your mum will be more lenient and let you stay over when your house is ready. But hor, parent is like that one, they grumble and grumble but will give it up if they grumble until they sian. That mean you win already. I very bad hor, teach you all bad thing. It's very common nowadays to see couple stay together after they ROM.

Now my mum will only scold my youngest sister if she stay over at her bf house. My sister and I already being spared, hahaha…. Basically after we ROM, she already let us go, I mean she knew we going to marry out sooner or later. Lucky lor, if not my house will be empty for 2 year before our customary. Now I spent most of my wkend staying over at my new house.

Are and Meow,

Second tot, Your mum did it for your own good also. At least you will still be very fresh to each other even after married,

hi poki and cookiecorgi,

I m still on the corset issue...
yours is the one withour the cups?
i asked my designer about sewing the corset onto the dress, but he said it's not normally done leh
sigh...

see how-lar.
moreover, was afraid that the corset outline might show
then, it defeats the purpose, doesn't it?

hi 1027,
have fun during the 2nd fitting!!!

Hi pucca,
actually my hubby dun wan it cos he say will get te gan by his colleagues lor.

But i think is romantic so he give in to me.

Gals.

Hehe.. yeah lor, mum oso make so much noise whenever i stayed over.. They prob worried that we cant take care of ourselves.. and the usual.. wat will relatives say when they hear of it thingy!! But guess I stay over when it makes sense, like when I have to meet clients in the east or when we chiong until v late..

Yve, if you say Serangooon and Pasir Ris far, wat abt West and East??

leo29... ya lor, hse will be empty till nov. tats why ask you gers to go play MJ mah, aft tat i still gotta go hm one leh! ;P bo bian lah... my mum wun give up nagging one lor, & i hate to see her black face, so i rather bear with it for juz a few more mths! ;P hehehe... but anyway, i still luv my own bed most!

besse.. i tell u, we lagi champion. we go play MJ @ hubby's fren's place in woodlands. then he send me back to toa payoh, then go back his hse in sengkang!!! hahaha... we always say we huan dao zhui zhui zhui!!

so many postings!!!

Meow,
Nick verbally have agreed with our confirmation and say will send a email to tell us who to pay to... But till now, havent heard from him. Try calling him but he is very busy! So i have to wait until this weekend to check if i have receive it. If not, have to call him again..bo bian.

See u guys discuss about furniture i feel so sad.. cos my house is still under building..sob!!

Gtg... mummy nags again... dinner time!!

Hihi May
I begged my photographer to return all photos to me. I din mention negative. Not sure if he is returning them to me. I spent $1,800 for additional 24 photos n upgrade to magazine stlye album. It happened dat my cousin called n I recommended him White Link. My photographer called me after I left dat he will return all photos to me. He said he can't comply to my request bcoz there r other customers. Bull shit, they double std one. Many White Link brides in the forum get back their photos n negative easily. Some got more photos than me for the same or lower price.
I oso stay in Sengkang. Jazz too. Next time we can visit each other.

Hihi Jan
We gotta save here n there. Tell u something u dun laugh @ me. When I go out wif my hubby, we eat bread n drink plain water most of the time. We oso plan to save on food (uncovered meals) when we go honeymoon. My hubby said sometimes oso need to go wif the gp, cannot always eat our own food. Anyway, we pay the tour package by instalment. My hubby still gotta change his car. His car can tan hang 4 may b another 6 mths.

Hihi Vin
Wow, u spent 25days on honeymoon. V envious. I m in Accounting line, cannot take leave during end n beginning of the mth. How many days leave do u have?

Hihi Pausini
The montage is excellent! How do u make the pictures come out one by one?

Meow
You can get those qipao which is 2 piece one, upper body and skirt. So you can wear it in most ocassion.. hehehe..

Actually nowadays the workmanship of sofas are so so only..mostly made in Malaysia. That's why they are getting cheaper and cheaper. If you are looking for importer from Europe, they will still be very expensive.

Serene
Why not you give Nick a sms, he always use that to chase me for comfirmation.

Long time since I checked the June03 thread. Quite a lot of people participating! The thread is always so long!
Unfortunately, I only check the forum occassionally, and by the time I'm here, I'm lost amidst the new topics.

I'm sure things are going well for all of you, approx 2-3 more months to the wedding. Take care and drink lots of water!

oh pai seh... so sorry for mixing vio and poki up...

Amerline: I always think there is no shortcut in losing weight, toning up etc... you have to see where your problems areas are... are you the plumb kind? or you are overall slim and jus wanna lose some areas like arms, tummy, etc?

Jus: mine's without the cups.. only the tummy area. For me, i jus wanna use it as a reminder to eat lesser... cos i tend to pig out.. i hope that by oct, i can have a trim and tone look without the corset...

1027, actually most dept should have... so no need to go tangs specially. i bgt there cos i had a voucher to use.. i think isetan robinsons also have.. i think not many types... you prob can differentiate by price.. mine is jus the waist corset... without the girdle attached. and no cups... shdnt be too difficult. let me know if you need help...

hi vivace... you're welcome
must share with us the corsages when you're done ok? heh heh, i still haven't found the time to get the materials to experiment
must get around to it soon!

jojok... i'm so happy today
the EE co-ordinator called me up today to say a place in may has been freed up and i can attend that weekend instead of the one i signed up for in aug. i guess with God's grace, all things have worked out

Leo29,
Well we still stay together when we were overseas mah right? Hee

Think i may also leave my house empty too. No choice, i predict they won't let us stay together till our customary. Anyway, even if we stay in also can't sleep on the bed mah. Must wait for An Chuang first.

Serene,
If you can wait. Jus wait lor, he'll remember you one. That's what i did
he knew me quite well liao. So i simply jus wait till he sent me the jpg file then sent back to him. Else, as what Novgroom said, sms him also can. Maybe he rushing some works like my friend's wedding? Heehee

No need be upset, you'll get your chance too. right?

Are,
remember to pester the HDB. They will take their own sweet time one. I ask them to change my door since its cracked and they lost the keys, till now they say they will get it replace by end of this month. Its been at least 3-4months lor.

Novgroom,
from Europe? Wow, that sure cost a bomb. I know Lorenzo is having 30% off selected items.

Meow,

I will try to make it but no guarantee lah.. I was on mc the last week. Today I go back office so many outstanding work to clear still have to conduct training for the next 2-3 weeks... Lagi sianz... dun feel like working liao.. Slog like hell for wat... afterall I am just a contract staff!!!!

Wah... talking abt my house.. so funni... We were told that we have to open the door between 9.30am to 10.30am.. so we went up around 9.40am.. Guess what!!! We could not open the wooden door!!! We tried push the wooden door very hard also cannot open... we were so worried tat we will not get things done by 10.30am. I tried calling HDB for help.. but the person in charge told us that he can only reach around 11 plus...

I keep telling him that we have to open the door by 10.30am ask him if can get the contractors to help asap... He asked us to try by kicking the door... Finally, my husband gave up... He used his might to kick and the door really opens!! Hahhahaha.... then I realised that one of the hinges fron the left side of the door has dropped thats why we cannot open lah....

Tried knocking on the tiles.. all okay leh.. but I never check if the toilet bowl, sink leaking.... Maybe have to go up another day to check...

I took up the complete furniture package from Cellini. $4999 comes with L-shape sofa, ottoman, coffee table, side table, TV console, 2 speaker stands, queen size bedframe, sidetable, dining table and 4 chairs. I find it quite reasonable lah... Lorenzo more xpensive, i think??...

Anyone of you here bought Simmons mattress?? I like the Beautycare Westbury leh but very xpensive... $2K plus... Hmmm... Anyone of you have any feedback on this mattress??

hi pucca,

yup.. i saw a couple who was going to choose their photos

i have not picked my photos.. aren't ready yet.. just had my PS on 17march..
so how many pics u chose ? who was ur photographer ??
Was it difficult choosing the phots?? cos limited to only 20 pics??
i was at Sophia cos i had my ROM gown fit tt day

btw, my ROM is today

Serrich,
You jus sms me if you are coming or not. Me also face the same problem as you. We try forcing it open till my hubby also kick the door. Then it finally open, but the door chip off. So that's why we ask them to change the whole door. How old is your house. Mine already 2yrs old that's why they say the door sag.

Hi, Serich and Meow,

Read your postings. really funny especially Serrich. I think it will take some time for HDB to come and change the door. There are crack on my main door, just reported on Monday. After reading your postings, a bit worried when they will rectify the cracks and defects in the house. If not, I can't start renov.

besse,
I am not the one complaining about the distance lah.. it is FH who complain, maybe because he is the one driving lor..

are,
was just looking at nov brides list and found that your wedding is also on 1 Nov!

Went to the gym last evening for the first time since 2 weeks ago.. so shiok to run and sweat it out. And found that weight is creeping up again..

Thanks for including me for the outing. Just to let you gals know, I had resigned from my current company and will be moving on to another company. Therefore, I am not too sure if I can make it this time (AGAIN!!!). Really feel bad about it, everytime also got reason.

But will let you gals know ok, coz I will be working in SUNTEC, so is pretty near.

yve... yup! same-oh same-oh...

meow & serrich... u 2 so funny. i'm sur eyou & FH had a gd laugh aft tat?
my flat is also 2 yrs plus, but dun noe if got the problem when first open door, cos FMIL went instead of us. come to think of it, we've not checked it carefully, oppss... hubby got a lot of things to do liao!

Shook: Using the animation option provided my powerpoint. I used "Fade" option to do the animation of letting the pix appear and disappear. U can also play with the timing when u want the pix to appear. Is this style ok for u or u have anything special u want very much. I see whether powerpoint can do it.

Yve..

ahaha.. me oso not complaining, unless i have to take the train all the way 2 his place.. but he has been v nice these few months, and come fetch me.. so no chance to complain.. Muahahha

tonite going to pop by at gym.. i have 1.5 weeks before taking my measurements for the gown.. must try to lose as much as possible... now going low on carbo..

Pris.. mai sian, me looking forward to meeting you gals .. hehe.. it's the quality of the company that counts, not the quantity! ;)

hi christmas... really envy U getting married on Christmas Day & yr bday.. (shuang xi ling men) initially i oso wanted to wed on that day but my FMIL say no good cos she's afraid tat most of the pple will go for holidays.. so no choice we changed it to 20 & 21 dec la..

enjoy the process of the preparation!

hi gals..

at least u gals got ur own home whereby u can decorate wat u want .... i dun have .. i juz move into my FH's hse wif his mum... i dun have anything tat belongs to me there.. inviting my frens or family over next time still gotta think twice & scare whether will make their place dirty or not ...

really envy all of u here tat have ur own lil' lovey nest.... so good ....

U gals have fun in Friday meeting .. got fotos must share share hor.

twink ...

hi ally & everyone,

i will be meeting Alan's partner and Eric for viewing their portfolo this Friday. Eric is a videographer who oso in the same team with Alan. if I take up their package together, they will be giving me a disc of $50. so, for less than 1K, I can hv both photo and video taking on my wedding day.

Hihi Pausini

I sent 12 photos. U put in 5 photos in the montage. I tried putting 3 other photos using the animation n played wif the effect. It is fun!! Is dat all I have to do after I got all the pictures? How to add songs in? Oh yes, I gotta get jiu lang mang de shi fm u.

I like the montage v much. U r a genius!! I gonna show to my hubby when I c him tis weekend. Thanks a zillion

hi twinlets,
I am moving in with MIL too. So yeah, I think I will miss having the er ren shi jie. But on the other hand, I will save on the headaches of renovation. Maybe I lazy lor, I was thinking if I have a new home, die die also need to engage ID cos I dun want to run around doing everything myself. Hopefully I have the money to engage ID lor. We will consider upgrading and getting our own place a few years down the road, when the family gets big. With me moving in, total of 4 in FH's house; FH, MIL, BIL and me. If kid comes along and BIL still around, it will be a squeeze. Better for kids to have their own rooms mah and a place to study.

yve,
i see, i see... But at least u both can able to have ur own place & have 2 ren shi jie next time rite?

yes .. will sure miss having the 2 ren shi jie .. but wat to do hor ..

twink

twinlets,
hahaha. dun think will have er ren shi jie lah. if get new house, probably means got kids already.. and MIL sure move in with us as FH is eldest son.. where got er ren shi jie? only chance is when we go on holidays without kids or when we are 80 years old!