(2003) Brides of year 2003

are

oh toking abt reno... meow, how's your *hunt*??

i've finally a glimpse of hope tat my reno can start soon. gave up on the previous 1 cos he can oni start in mid june, i'll die! last sat, a fren's fren came & talks are pretty ok, now waiting for his quote. hoping real hard its reasonable & we can start work soon.

i can't believe reno is so tough man. aft a comment my fren made last sat, i finally decided tat the 2nd wardrobe i asked for is quite impossible & ridiculous. so we decided to remove tat, & juz a simple decision like tat will save us over $1000!!! now we dun hv to shift lights, powerpoints, or do false ceiling. & i finally realised i was so unreasonable & my lao gong was so kind to give in to me & make do with it even tho' its ridiculous. i muz admit i can't see the big picture at all!!!

may

shook: well at least you have settled your honeymoon. Got something to look forward to. I am still undecided yet plus w the war, my hubby is even harder to convince to go us or europe. anyway, i told him i dont care, i definitely not going back to work after wedding coz this 2 mths leading to wedding, i have so much things to do at work. I literally got to finish all the stuff b4 wedding. cant stand it....i am so tired. plus, 3 weeks before wedding i got to travel for a week.

Me house the concept is very simple but i still spend abt 23K. This does not include flooring and toilet coz mine is a premium flat. Ya, the windows are a killer. Tat why i am so tired after i move in. Think i lost some weight man..doing all these housework....

I finally got your email and saw yr wedding card text. Thanks. It really helps alot coz the hotel just gave me a plain card w no words. So you got both English and Chinese text side by side? Quite a good idea.

Pausini: u sound really busy over the weekend...i think all of us are starting to get stress as our wedding dates approaches.
Yr uncle sounds like he is taking advantage...why is he inviting his friends to yr wedding? Do u know his friends? And it sounds like they are coming for free food and alcohol.

Shook: mine GDL is also on May 1. MIL says 1st and 15th day of the lunar mth are good dates so no worries.

I quite upset w MIL, she says on GDL that day we need to do a buffet catering at my new house for hubby's relatives. Why do i have to do that? I tot only the gal sides do it if they want to do that they can take the opportunity to giveaway cakes and invitation cards. It is quite silly to have buffet just to give the wedding invites to the groom side relatives. What a waste of $$$. Plus on that day we will be busy what.

Pausini: i am going to be in the same shoe as u for the tea ceremony. Now MIL is saying that we need to prepare some food for the relatives. Hubby told her we wont cater coz we do not have time to pack the house. But she says then we must buy back some food for the relatives. I now very sian...i wonder who will have the time to go buy food. MIL actually says she can cook curry and bee hoon in my hse... to my horror....i told her nicely no need to get too exhausted on that day coz she will be very busy...

Help....

pausini

Shook: No lah, i nearly DIY over at Msia when i went back. I just stand there and see how it was done and make sure it was done correctly.
Singapore insert is done by T.Dragon. Tired, cant do so much myself.

So 1st may is good day. 1st may cannot for me too late. My wedding 3rd may leh! hee hee..

I dun think is full montage cos some cant get thru ur mail box. ur mail box full again.

Jas77 have a total of 38 pix in the full montage.
it really depend on u. Actually, we wanted to play two songs on the montages, but my colleagues advise me dun. Cos pple get very bored if the montage is too long. Worse if ur wedding dinner is delay and by playing the montage which will further delay the dinner. So i suggest to jas77 we finished the montage using one song. She let us handle the montages. i only let her see the product in the morning of her actual day. TO give her a surprise. Luckily she like it.

Are, u asking me to help on the montages or u want to do it urself?? is ur video, in AVI format?? If u need 80 pix, most likely u are going to play two songs so all the pix can get in. i think 12 pic is a bit too many leh. i wld suggest, u put in more pix of both of u together. best if the pix can see distint transformation of both of u.

Do u mind i ask, how does the courtship started??? if u can play out how he ask u to be his gf wld be very nice. OR how he proposed to u.

yve

are,
yeah, I think reno is tough too. Luckily I no need to do reno as moving in with FH.
We are waiting for homemakers exhibition at end of april to early may to buy our furniture.. FH say go on the last day, will get better discounts.

meow

Are,
hunting seasons is over. Time to rest.
Have already got 5 quotes on hand. All prices are very close. Left only 1 to complete his quote. Then will make a final decision from there.

Yve,
I've seen pretty nice sofa there. But don'y quite like the ones that can lift leg up want. I find it ugly. We still prefer L-shape sofa. Some still have the option to choose the L you wanna place then those fixed ones.

pausini

May: No matter wat still have to settle the msia dinner. actually it is fine for me to give him one table cos it doesnt cost too much after the conversion from Rm to Sin$. i even ask him who shld be taking the ang bao. he said he will take the ang bao. I was shocked, i was thinking why shld i give him one table, he take ang bao and not my mother. Then nvr mind, he still want so many alcohol from me. i really feel like ***K him liao. he thot i am very rich! cos all the dinner in msia is fully paid by my PIL. My mum ask 10 tables from her in msia and 1 is given to my uncle cos he told my mum he wanted one.

traditionally, my FH need to give one ang bao to all my uncles. so they can like buy me things during the tea ceremony. So now is like if this uncle is asking so much from me, which shld i still give him Ang bao. really make me angry, our relationship used to be very good. Dun know why my uncle becos like this. Hope, he dun go too much.

Wah, i think urs is worse then mine. U need to hold buffet two times at ur new place. Is ur MIL helping u to clean up? At least mine is willing to do it. I dun really want to think too much abt it. My mum keep telling me to let it go. She said i think too much liao.

If she is willing to clean up for u then still ok. Yah, dun let her miss up ur kitchen. Some MIL really funny. i guess wat she wants is to let the relative see ur new places.

pooh

Hi Abrinas,
i am hoping the artwork will be nice. But i think mine should be the plain one not much artwork one mah. Dunno why take so long..

Hi blurblur,
uyp my hubby work in Navy. We will be having a military wedding.

pausini

Jan: who is ur actual day photographer. there is another posting and there are a few bride complaints abt Ray from x-zen. Are u taking him for ur actual day PS?

yve

Meow,
MIL complain that it very difficult to clean the floor under that kind of sofa.. hahah.. think MIL and I will win this time.

hf

Serene

dun think can join the gathering on 24 April.

Poki

your first fitting this week right? can share your advise after that. will you bring along a camera? dun know if amenda will mind?

Vio

can i have the website of your actual day photographer again? thanks

hf

Serene

dun think can join the gathering on 24 April.

Poki

your first fitting this week right? can share your advise after that. will you bring along a camera? dun know if amenda will mind?

Vio

can i have the website of your actual day photographer again? thanks

tingting

: ) was thinking about it, but not sure whether it's allowable cos i'm not gg to hold my wedding there.. I was advised to check with their wedding planner...maybe sometime closer to the PS, which is still several months away..

are

yve.. do they hv gd discounts? hmm... 2 bad, can't wait till then to get our bed. but i dun like to go exhibitions, the ppl there v hardsell, feel so stressed man.

meow... wah.. u so lucky, oni deal with one contractor. me and hubby headache man... got 6/7 contractors to speak to and liaise with... sigh.. so which contractors you asked to quote you? when you intend to start?

maya

Wow! Some of you going to a lot of trouble to arrange for some things...... I will not have any montage show for guests. I will not have specially printed cards, just take hotel ones. If need extra, look for blank cards and do own inserts. I have not decided to go honeymoon yet, thinking only somewhere nearby - $$ factor and the war/disease factor...... oh dear me! wondering if I'm just too bochap too?? But I really have no time, am very stressed with work and whatever we are doing for the wedding already. Not roping in anybody to help bec I don't know what they can help with??

Mom came to my new hse recently and it was like nag nag nag. She has very diff ideas of how homes shld look like and I had been delaying her coming over to see my place bec I know she won't like what I've done. My colours very strong, and a lot too......

abrinas

Hi pooh

U nvr know, scally they do nice artwork for u just for the thingy tt u top up quite an amt?
I for one topped up quite an amt n i expect them to do it nicely. If not, they r going to get it from me

priscilla

Hi Meow,
Haha, when your house ready must call me lei, cos your new house is just behind my block, at my corridor can see your block liao, then next time me free free go up sit sit for coffee........hahaha

BTW, my hubby can't make it anymore cos after that I meeting another group of gals for KTV so I think he won't be going anymore.
So this make our grand total of turn up is only 14 peoples.

Hi Min,
Why J&M ask you go for your 1st fitting and photoshooting in May and as mine they ask me go in June to take my measurment and in July then take my photoshooting? I thought my actual day is 2 days ealier then yours but my photoshooting later then yours.........so funny!

pausini

maya: like all brides we get really stress up with all the issue pop up during wedding preparation. Just like me, i got stress up due to MIL request of having tea ceremony at my new place, then my PS, now my uncle is like taking advantages of me. however, when time goes by all these will go off. or i can say i simply bo chap. we got too many things to take care.
Are u the one who also dun like ur PS? care to share why? if i am not wrong ur bridal shop is just a few shops away from mine (jazreel low).

Yah i really envy those who did so much for their wedding. actually, i think a wedding planner can help to ease so much of our complaints.

Maya: it is still ur hse. mother is like that. just let them nag. Sometime my mum also nag, i just let her be and give no comments. after that i just let it go. think too much i will die...

maya: are u on the operation or the admin side? are u an officer?
Have u found ur actual day photographer?

jady

Hi Amerline & stressed,

1st, welcm amerline
so glad to find u gals staying in sembawang too!! which blks u gals stay?

stressed, u so funny..dont worry,i'm sure your xiong di wont bring yr hubby along:p

poki, hows yr house preparations? my flooring & painting shd be done by this wk. they already start making my cabinets & wardrobes in their factory. finally found & bought my sofa!:p

jus & cookie, u gals wearing corset beneath WG & EG?

may

pausini: what did yr mom said abt yr uncle behaviour? Ya loh, it does appear did he is taking advt, thinking yr hubby rich. Why shld he keep the ang bao. This is really too much. Even though the wedding table is cheap in M'sia but the ang bao shld go to yr mom.

Not 2 buffet lah...just one...on GDL day. But must get some snacks for tea ceremony. i very sian...she never volunteer to clean up my hse..leh...i am going to get hubby to ask his sisters to do it. dont care...we r spending two nights in the hotel ...how can afford the house to be in a mess. The more i think abt it, the more piss i am.

Jan: ya loh..saw in the thread that someone is complaining x-zen actual day photographer...think u better check w x-zen is it Ray.

besse

Meow

Me confirmed with The Wedding Present (TWP) Bridal liaoz.. Meow meow.. please update! Thanks..

*whew*.. one thing on tasklist down!

Nov Groom.. glad you enjoyed! China is fun and cheap too! hehe.. so the cheongsam nice?? where did you mk it from??

pausini

May: my mum say never mind. If i cant get my mum to do anything i will have to do something. Make sure he dun over do with the alcohol. The alcohol i am talking abt is all red wine. Not BEER, is red WINE. too much right. *arghhh*

So fix to have GDL at ur new place? MIL all very funny sometime. Always have funny ideas last min. what reason for actual day tea ceremony at ur new place. Can give excuse that ur new hse not that convience as hers?

My mum always commented that i think too much. Too "jin jin ji jiao" so many things i said cannot.

Sorry May, i cant give u a good solution & suggestion. We are in the same plight! Dun want to gve u wrong suggestion and worsen the relationship with ur PIL. Just glad that we are not staying with them now. *sound so bad* haha...

amerline

hi jady,

i am staying at 589C, "moved in" last Jul. Actually its my FH and MIL staying there, I am a weekend guest

u must make sure they clean up ur floor after the painting, they tend to ignore the less obvious spots like joinings and corners. had a hard time cleaning it myself after everything was completed

btw, anyone has suggestion wat color shoe to wear for a baby blue EG? i dun like the color of my EG but my FH swears it looks great. sigh....

sweets

Pooh,

so how will your WG be like ? since its MTM...have u MTM yet ?

Abrianas, I've just resigned from my job in US, so came back for a while. Will be relocating to China where my FH is posted to after the wedding. Next month just going there to "set up shop" a bit...kekeke...enuff facts to satiate this curious kitty not ?

jazz

Pausini, so preparations almost done? Your wedding coming up fast rite? So you will be busy with the guo da li?

May, my gown is of purple/pink embroderies and beadings, with purple flowers in the hairdo. I wasn't wearing the veil. There were 3 of us, my hubby, my photographer and me.

Shook, oh ya hoh, forgot that the invitation for relatives will be given at the guo da li... thanks for the reminder!

Jan, I'm most prob the driver most of the time 'cos my hubby very rusty in driving. No choice lah. But I drove long distances before, so not that bad. *crossing my fingers* Hopefully, they got some vaccine or something like this by then, if not the full cure. Think the number of sick ppl in Hong Kong and Singapore is rising. Very scary... I've shifted all my things out over the weekend, so staying at my new place now. Feels pretty sad 'cos I'm more homely and do like to linger at my parents house if I can.

min

Hi, Pris,

1st fitting in May and photoshooting in July. Which date did you arrange for photoshooting in July'03? 1st fitting in May'03 cos Susan says I may able to get something OTR. If not, then MTM. If can get WG OTR, then my evening gown is MTM. I got only either one MTM, not like yours leh, two MTM.

novgroom

Besse
the cheongsam is nice, white silky colour. We got it at one end of the bu xing jie, called 'hua hua qi pao'. Actually I think the darker colours are nicer.. maybe next time got chance ask my wife to make another one lor.. hehehe.

priscilla

Hi Min,
NO lar me also only WG MTM and EG OTR but can't find what I want then can MTM, my hubby suit also have to MTM, how about your hubby one?
Me not sure when going for photoshooting cos call up today and Susan is off today, only tomorrow then will know then I let you know lor.
I thought MTM gown then need to go earlier to take measurements but what I felt funny lor, if you going to take OTR then you no need go so early mah, but for my case I confirm MTM and they put me in June..........really don't understand their system....so confuss.
So did you manage to wavied off your outdoor photoshooting transport?
If can me also going to request too.
So planning to go where for outdoor shooting?

cookiecorgi

hi everyone!

errr....Jus.. no leh...mine dun have cups one.. jus one pc of corset ar the waist area.. it kind of keep your tummy in... can be quite tite but can get used to it...

1027: yah.. i intend to wear the corset to remind me to watch wat i eat and to remind myself to straighten my back... i love to eat.. and i tend to overeat... keke

Jady: i haven decided on my gown yet... I am using the corset on a daily basis...

serrich

I might not be able to make it on Friday. Just learnt that I will be scheduled to conduct training for this week. Might have to work ot... somemore Fri month end....

Really sorry abt it. Anyway if I can leave early, I will join you gals....

Y

yi

howz everyone's weekend?
this thread has been pretty quiet today hor.
me busy in the office today so din post any msgs.
btw, hubby and i have booked our 15days europe tour pkg in the natas fair on sunday already.
will be departing in june if min 15pax booked for the tour.

the natas fair is pretty quiet though with the war and sars virus going ard, nobody dares to travel.
after the natas fair, i went ECP with my family and had a great relaxing sunday.

hi elaine,

big day this sat rite?
must be busily preparing for it huh?
how u feeling now? excited?

hi jady,

howz your reno gog on?

hi taddess,

when you travelling to spain?

min

hi pris,

I think they ask me go earlier just in case can't find OTR then in time to do MTM. Hubby not tried his suit yet. Have not call susuan to discuss on waiver of the transportation fees. If you managed to get her tomorrow, let me know if it can be waived.For your case, do they charge you additional for your hubby MTM and both WG and EG MTM?
Have you paid deposit for the package? They throw in my ROM bouquet, make up and rental of gown. Have you ROM?
Have not decide where to go photoshooting yet. Will let you know once I confirmed.
How much did they charge you for each additional photo? Is it specify in your contract?
Cos verbally Susan agreed to reduce the charge for each additional photo to S$70 but not specify in the invoice. I read from the J&M thread that someone bargain till S$60 each. Tot of trying to bragain with Susan.
Got to consolidate and call her once to try to get negotiate with her on all these.

meow

Confirm location of meeting: Esplanade, Senses Western Fusion Restaurant (2nd Level)
Confirm date : 28/03/03
Time : 7.30pm
Attendance : Meow + hubby, Pris, Shirlynn + hubby(?),Besse, Are , Leo29, twinklets, Feb + hubby, Akira, Yve

Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne, okeanosmao, DK, Amore, Ava, Min, Sunrise, Jing jing, Serrich(?)

Yve,
what kind of sofa you eyeing at? L-shape too?

Leo29,
yeah, think that way will be easier for us but yours also got plus points mah. You save in this way right?

Pris,
Then i can ask you to go for my house inspection lah?
But you can't really see my unit, its block by the lift. Ok, will let you know once it is done. But it haven't even start yet. Maybe by next month will have a confirm answer on who to get to do our reno.

Besse,
Ok, will update it tomorrow morning and sent out to all again.

Novgroom,
your wife must have excellent figure. Dun think all will look nice wearing a qipao. I believe i'll look ugly if you ask me to wear one, cos i have very broad shoulder. Even my colleagues asked me if i know how to swim. I simply tell them, how can a cat swim? They are afraid of water.

Serrich,
you try your best to make it lah. If can make it, jus give anyone of us a ring.

Also a small reminder. Someone must bring along the list in case some will sure be late. This will be my first time meeting all the new faces.

min

Hi, Meow,

Pity I can't make it. I think those going will stay for a while on 28.03.03. If I can finish my things earlier, will try to pop by. I don't want to commit, just in case I can't make it. So if I can,I'll pop by later to say hello.

shook

Hihi May
I asked my hubby whether want to carry on wif our honeymoon plan. He said it is in fact safer to travel now as the security is tighter. Talk abt Sars, the situation is getting worse in Singapore. Not safe to stay in Singapore too. May b convenience your hubby tis way.
Gd dat u loose wt fm doing hse work. No need to diet.
Yes I printed the Chinese n English text side by side. I oso have a pair of foreverfriend bears in b/w my hubby n my name in the English text which is not shown in the draft copy I sent to u. The final copy is stored in my hubby's niece's hard disk. My hubby keeps the draft copy only.
I never heard of ppl holding buffet on guo da li since they will b busy distributing cards. You MIL has 101 funny ideas. Really waste of $. Is she paying? Tell her your mum wants u to go round wif them to distribute invitation cards to your relatives.

Hihi Pausini
U mean montage is shown only once b4 the dinner start?
I cleared my mailbox. U shld b able to send mail across to me now.
R u using powerpoint to do montage? My hubby tried but not nice. I need some help fm u.
Our courtship started fm star gazzing. How to play out the way he asked me to be his girl friend or the proposal? Thru wordings? We dun have pictures on dat.
Wow your uncle really too much. Give him 1 table, red wind still want ang pow. Does your mum know abt his requests?

Hihi Jan
Hope your actual day photography is not fm Xzen. Tell them u dun want Ray as your photographer if u take up wif them.

Hihi Maya
Old ppl usually have different taste fm us. Not easy to pls them. I always try to brain wash or convenience. If still can't work, blow my top
19215.gif
. Dat's y my mum say I have bad temper
. But I oso close 2 eyes sometimes. Then nag nag nag complain complain complain lor.

Hihi Jazz
Wu, I love pink n purple combination. Your gown muz be lovely!!

pooh

Hi Sweets,

i going to MTM this coming sat. Havent decide wan to MTM my WG anot. Will update u next wk.

Hi blurblur,
i think abt 8 or 10 lor. My wedding held at Holiday Inn Park View.

wat abt u? when is ur wedding?

abrinas

Hi pooh

the most try to pyscho them further, try my persuasion skills. If cannot, also boh pian liao then i sad only lor

Why u don't want to MTM yr WG? I thot u wanted to at first?

Hi sweets

Yep, satisfy me liao *meow*

meow

Yve,
same same, me also on L-shape one. But not the leather one. Very warm, my hubby sure complain hot after sitting a while. It'll get those micro suede ones, i like the feeling too.

Min,
ok. If you manage to drop by, must say hello. Dun peep peep hor.

pooh

Hi Abrinas,

I may MTM my WG. Not so worry abt WG cos there is 1 WG OTR that i also find it nice so that can be a backup lor. I confirm will MTM my EG.

I wan to made sure my bridal shop can have both my gown ready before my wedding then i MTM both.

I didnt tell them i wan to MTM my WG so see wat they say lor.

Hi blurblur,
are u having a military wedding also?